View Full Version : Ryan Porteous
20-07-2022, 08:49 PM
While he keeps the club hanging on drop him. No point playing someone who is playing very poorly when he clearly wants to bugger off somewhere else. Not buying that he's our best defender. On this form he's far from it.
20-07-2022, 08:51 PM
I’d sell now. He’s clearly not on his game.
20-07-2022, 08:54 PM
Cash in and put towards the next managers January rebuild.
20-07-2022, 08:54 PM
Nail on head.
20-07-2022, 08:55 PM
Yeah sell him and use the money in our premium bonds account!!
But in all seriousness I agree
20-07-2022, 08:55 PM
Awful for the goal tonight.
Pointing at Campbell to close someone down instead of doing it himself, eventually does it, dives in and gets skinned.
20-07-2022, 08:57 PM
We always said that when he matures he’ll be a cracking defender but the problem is he hasn’t. Still repeatedly gets himself sent off, waves his arms about when a team mate makes a mistake but makes plenty himself.
Hibs is his level.
20-07-2022, 08:58 PM
Get what we can for him and rebuild that defence
Paulie Walnuts
20-07-2022, 08:58 PM
He’s Hibs standard at best. Said it for ages and he shows absolutely no signs of getting past that level.
Anyone saying sell him, nobody will be in for him whilst he will cost a significant fee as he simply isn’t worth it.
bringbackbenny
20-07-2022, 08:59 PM
based on this season his value will be quickly falling
20-07-2022, 09:00 PM
One of the most overrated players there has been at Easter Road. Has got away with murder with the Hibs support because he is a bam.
AdidasHibernian
20-07-2022, 09:01 PM
Said it for long enough he is a liability too often and can't just play the game easy at times.
I would sell and use the money to upgrade the matchday experience as it certainly isn't going on the squad by the looks off it.
20-07-2022, 09:03 PM
He's playing like he wants Hibs to let him go for less than the fee they've stuck on his head if anybody want's him this season.
OsiersHibs
20-07-2022, 09:03 PM
Sell!
20-07-2022, 09:04 PM
Wouldn’t be arsed if he left tomorrow.
20-07-2022, 09:04 PM
Get him tae f***
Been terrible, if rocky or hanlon was laying as bad as him the fans would be going mental
20-07-2022, 09:05 PM
Wouldn’t break the bank to renew his contract, put it that way.
20-07-2022, 09:06 PM
Ge tries to coach players through the game whilst he continues to make basic errors.
Imo, he comes across as a Billy big baws albeit I don't know him
He needs to screw the nut, sign a new deal and concentrate on his game. Or put in a transfer request and leave this mo th so we can get something for him
CL0762
20-07-2022, 09:08 PM
If there is genuinely an offer on the table from Hibs in the region of 8k a week, he’s an absolute moron if he turns it down.
20-07-2022, 09:09 PM
I'd give the shirt to McClelland or bring someone else in. He's playing like someone who can't really be arsed. LJ would gain a lot of respect if he dropped him I reckon. Needs to play players who are fully committed to the cause.
1875Sean
20-07-2022, 09:10 PM
Too busy screaming at everyone else on the pitch when he isn’t performing himself, not sure if many teams would be interested but if we get 800k-1m we should take it
20-07-2022, 09:10 PM
If there is genuinely an offer on the table from Hibs in the region of 8k a week, he’s an absolute moron if he turns it down.
He has several times.
18Craig75
20-07-2022, 09:15 PM
If only he was as good as he thinks he is. Mad how far he has regressed in the last year.
20-07-2022, 09:16 PM
He's hopeless. Always thought this. He's just an idiot that thinks he's some big time player
MikeyS
20-07-2022, 09:16 PM
We always said that when he matures he’ll be a cracking defender but the problem is he hasn’t. Still repeatedly gets himself sent off, waves his arms about when a team mate makes a mistake but makes plenty himself.
Hibs is his level.
He should sign the offered contract and pray to God he us lucky enough to have the career Paul Hanlon has!
LewysGot2
20-07-2022, 09:17 PM
He's not coping with the additional responsibility of playing on his "wrong side". He's getting caught wrong side of forwards too often and is not doing well the things we normally would look to him for.
Is his head not in the right place? Possibly.
Rocky was by far the better of the 2 tonight and took far more responsibility
20-07-2022, 09:23 PM
He shouted in Morelos’ face. That’s his entire reputation as a Hibs hero amongst our support.
Sure as hell can’t be for his defending.
20-07-2022, 09:24 PM
Making careless mistakes, diving about like he's been shot, screaming abuse at younger players when it was his own fault....etc etc.
I know he is struggling on the left but that's no excuse. Needs to move.
Zambernardi1875
20-07-2022, 09:26 PM
think hell be away or already knows hes leaving. has looked at this squad and new signings and thought **** this im off
tonyrougier123
20-07-2022, 09:27 PM
Drop him for mcgregor.
A real hibs man a real centre half!
JammyDoidger
20-07-2022, 09:28 PM
Boys doesn't want to be here. No hibs fan would put in the sort of performances he is for the club, and no hibs fan would accept that from his team mates. Sign the deal and lead by example.
Drop him for mcgregor.
What about the mad notion of signing a centre half and playing that centre half?
Aside from Rocky we have muddle through with the defenders we’ve got, and I think the last time we signed an actual centre half was Adam Jackson.
JammyDoidger
Drop him for mcgregor.
Mcgregor should have been back in already.
tonyrougier123
20-07-2022, 09:29 PM
What about the mad notion of signing a centre half and playing that centre half?
Aside from Rocky we have muddle through with the defenders we’ve got, and I think the last time we signed an actual centre half was Adam Jackson.
I’ve been saying sign one for ages.
Still waiting!
20-07-2022, 09:30 PM
I don't think the rashness will ever leave his game as it's innate.
Lacks game discipline, composure, and needs a proper experienced centre half next to him to verbally knock the self-absorbed arrogance out of him and to concentrate on the basics of the game and to focus on improving his overall game. His game is full of immaturity.
20-07-2022, 09:30 PM
Boys doesn't want to be here. No hibs fan would put in the sort of performances he is for the club, and no hibs fan would accept that from his team mates. Sign the deal and lead by example.
Accept that from his team mates? He’s been as liable as anyone else for the poor performances.
20-07-2022, 09:41 PM
As an auld geezer who has seen his share of bad centre halves Porteous must rank as one of the worst. I could not believe what some people have said about him on here such as future Scotland captain and the like ! Never mind getting money for him he is lucky he isn't on a free transfer for his displays, Get him out.
20-07-2022, 09:44 PM
Drop him for mcgregor.
Jack Ross's biggest mistake not doing that for the Scottish Cup Final.
JammyDoidger
20-07-2022, 10:20 PM
Drop him for mcgregor.
Mcgregor should have been back in already.
TheHarpy76
20-07-2022, 10:21 PM
Nowhere near as good as he thinks he is.
Average at best tbh.
20-07-2022, 10:22 PM
As an auld geezer who has seen his share of bad centre halves Porteous must rank as one of the worst. I could not believe what some people have said about him on here such as future Scotland captain and the like ! Never mind getting money for him he is lucky he isn't on a free transfer for his displays, Get him out.
Wait what? Porteous ranks as one of the worst CB’s you’ve seen for us?
I know we’re all pissed off mate but that’s utter nonsense.
gaz1875
20-07-2022, 10:22 PM
think hell be away or already knows hes leaving. has looked at this squad and new signings and thought **** this im off
He' not exactly playing like the superstar he thinks he is to merit that decision.
20-07-2022, 10:23 PM
Something does feel a bit off with Ryan at the moment, though I can’t quite put my finger on it. It’s a vibe rather than anything particularly tangible.
NC1875
20-07-2022, 10:26 PM
I like Ryan but he’s not as good as he thinks he is. Would do well to get his head down, sign a new deal and show everyone he is a good player
Hibs3-2
20-07-2022, 10:26 PM
Haha i cannot believe some of the absolute drivel i read on this site at times but this threat tops the lot.
20-07-2022, 10:28 PM
Wait what? Porteous ranks as one of the worst CB’s you’ve seen for us?
I know we’re all pissed off mate but that’s utter nonsense.
👍🏻
20-07-2022, 10:28 PM
I think you can see it in his play at times when the attitudes not quite there.
Far too casual tonight on the ball and no tempo. One second half in particular just side footed it down the line between players. For me passed the buck to Rocky too much when he is the more comfortable on the ball.
Never fancied him with the pen.
Mikey_1875
20-07-2022, 10:30 PM
Something does feel a bit off with Ryan at the moment, though I can’t quite put my finger on it. It’s a vibe rather than anything particularly tangible.
For me he is just being extremely casual in almost everything he is doing. He reminds me of a kid who has just learned to put bend on the ball and that’s all he is doing.
The passing isn’t crisp or done with any urgency. It just seems to be floaty bendy balls across the backline. Complete lack of concentration again tonight getting caught wrong side of his man exactly the same as at Bonnyrigg.
The penalty just looked like a lazy leg leaning back on the ball too but i’m probably going over the top with that.
20-07-2022, 10:32 PM
He’s imperfect, he’s making mistakes but there were aspects of his driving forward in both halves that I really liked.
I’ve been critical of him and I think he can and should be doing better, however - we’ve seen Hibs without Porteous, last season and this. It really isn’t a pretty sight.
This is one to file under “be VERY careful what you wish for” imo.
Although I do accept fully that there’s something up with him.
20-07-2022, 10:33 PM
For me he is just being extremely casual in almost everything he is doing. He reminds me of a kid who has just learned to put bend on the ball and that’s all he is doing.
The passing isn’t crisp or done with any urgency. It just seems to be floaty bendy balls across the backline. Complete lack of concentration again tonight getting caught wrong side of his man exactly the same as at Bonnyrigg.
The penalty just looked like a lazy leg leaning back on the ball too but i’m probably going over the top with that.
If it’s not a derby or against the OF he just doesn’t seem to give enough of a ****?
Maybe that’s a lazy analysis but that’s how it feels sometimes watching him.
I think secretly he wants out of Hibs and is regretting not going in Jan 2020 when his stock was very high and he could have gone out on a high.
I do think when he ticks we tick and he’s very important to how we play when we play well.
20-07-2022, 10:33 PM
There is comment on kickback saying our 2 CBs will be trying to be Hollywood with dives, & histrionics, and coughing up a simple goal to a shankland while their 2 CBs will be quietly going about their business
Ask anyone who was a defender & (sadly) the Jambo has a point.
Hollywood antics are for no.10s
Forwards should have pace
CBs should be steady & reliable
We've got Doidge & Porteous & we are bottom 6 material with those jokers
20-07-2022, 10:34 PM
There is comment on kickback saying our 2 CBs will be trying to be Hollywood with dives, & histrionics, and coughing up a simple goal to a shankland while their 2 CBs will be quietly going about their business
Hollywood antics from the team that gave the world Stephen Presley and the magic “finger in the back faint”?
20-07-2022, 10:37 PM
Concerned that ange postcode lottery will try and get Porto on the cheap
20-07-2022, 10:39 PM
On the whole, I’m pretty worried about this hibs team coming up against hearts.
They’ll bully us and play us off the park.
Greenio
20-07-2022, 10:41 PM
There's a new scapegoat every few weeks.
Wright
Campbell
Rocky
Now Ryan
Dip in form, it happens
20-07-2022, 10:41 PM
On the whole, I’m pretty worried about this hibs team coming up against hearts.
They’ll bully us and play us off the park.
I don’t think I’ve ever been worried about playing Hearts.
The weaker team or the team in the poorer form has come out on top enough times over the years.
I’m concerned about this game though.
This Hibs side just looks like it has f all about it and looks substandard all over the park.
There are so many flaws they could potentially exploit it is frightening.
20-07-2022, 10:44 PM
The weaker team or the team in the poorer form has come out on top enough times over the years.
This Hibs side just looks like it has f all about it and looks substandard all over the park.
Haha I’m not too sure that’s correct.
It’s usually goes:
If hibs are poor and hearts are better, hearts win
If hibs are better and hearts are poor, hearts win
If we’re both poor, hearts usually win
20-07-2022, 10:46 PM
Haha I’m not too sure that’s correct.
It’s usually goes:
If hibs are poor and hearts are better, hearts win
If hibs are better and hearts are poor, hearts win
If we’re both poor, hearts usually win
My life as a Hibs fan. Brief relief from it over the Stubbs and Lennon years and had a few good wins a tynecastle in recent years but yeah, that’s how it goes, by hook or by crook they win more than we do.
20-07-2022, 10:49 PM
My life as a Hibs fan. Brief relief from it over the Stubbs and Lennon years and had a few good wins a tynecastle in recent years but yeah, that’s how it goes, by hook or by crook they win more than we do.
Aye they were decent times, probably the best I’ve seen consistently against hearts. I’m still sure they won as much as we did against them when we had Stubbs/Lennon, but just to have won as many against them as they did against us was seen as a good period for us.
I did enjoy they two wins at tynie. I remember going to tynie over the years and just hoping to see a goal so we had something to celebrate. It’s great being a hibs fan.
But aye, excitement is building for the new season. Haha.
20-07-2022, 10:50 PM
We desperately need the new signings to emerge as first names on the team sheet. And these are coming in a key positions we are relying on them to be up to standard. Haven't seen it from Miller/ Kenneh this far.
In fairness I expect our full backs to be a key part to the way we play going forward and Cadden at LB affected us badly as he cut back on his right every time. Once he is moved back over and the new LB comes in that should give us a better balance and see those link ups playing forward.
20-07-2022, 10:54 PM
I hope Melkersen gives him dogs abuse.
Any time that poor lad makes the slightest mistake Porteous is all over him. Even tonight McGeady cut in and hit a shot straight off Melkersen and somehow Porteous had a go at him.
I’ve said it many times, he needs to check his own game first.
McGregor and Gray are two proper captains, you would never see them acting the way Porteous does.
He again sold himself for the lead up to the goal tonight.
20-07-2022, 11:01 PM
based on this season his value will be quickly falling
Seasons no even properly started lol
Paulie Walnuts
20-07-2022, 11:06 PM
Any time that poor lad makes the slightest mistake Porteous is all over him. Even tonight McGeady cut in and hit a shot straight off Melkersen and somehow Porteous had a go at him.
McGregor and Gray are two proper captains, you would never see them acting the way Porteous does.
Yup.
His attitude towards his team mates is a load of pish. Walks about like he’s Maldini barking at everyone yet plays like Lee Wilkie.
Needs dropped but unfortunately our shambles of a squad doesn’t really allow that.
CL0762
20-07-2022, 11:12 PM
If there’s one thing that ****s me off about Ryan, it’s exactly that.
He done it again at the end after that McGeady cross into the box.
Straight at Melkersen, it’s bang out of order tbh.
20-07-2022, 11:14 PM
If we’re writing off one of the three completions we enter every year, then I suppose we can have a wee laugh about the season not having really started.
20-07-2022, 11:18 PM
If we’re writing off one of the three completions we enter every year, then I suppose we can have a wee laugh about the season not having really started.
I’d suggest a players value won’t be affected by 3 league cup games and no actual premiership season games played.
21-07-2022, 07:01 AM
I’d suggest a players value won’t be affected by 3 league cup games and no actual premiership season games played.
I’d suggest the way he is playing his value will very quickly depreciate and he won’t get the move he’s clearly wanting.
Not as good as he thinks he is, and he costs us goals regularly. Needs sidelined and Darren put in for the season start (if it were me).
Good player in there, no doubt, but attitude is all wrong. Needs to learn more of Paul and Darren’s pitch attributes and focus on his own game before having a go at others.
21-07-2022, 07:04 AM
I’d suggest the way he is playing his value will very quickly depreciate and he won’t get the move he’s clearly wanting.
Not as good as he thinks he is, and he costs us goals regularly. Needs sidelined and Darren put in for the season start (if it were me).
Good player in there, no doubt, but attitude is all wrong. Needs to learn more of Paul and Darren’s pitch attributes and focus on his own game before having a go at others.
Or alternatively get a left sided defender in and let him play where he should be.
21-07-2022, 07:09 AM
Don't talk pish. We have just been emptied out a cup.
One the Jambos are desperate to win.
21-07-2022, 07:20 AM
Don't talk pish. We have just been emptied out a cup.
One the Jambos are desperate to win.
Not yet. Clyde beat Falkirk away in the league last year
21-07-2022, 07:22 AM
Darren will be 37 in a few weeks, he is not going to be playing first team football this year.
21-07-2022, 07:40 AM
I think the way he's playing indicates his mind is already elsewhere. He either signs the contract on the table, buckles down and concentrates on improving his performance or he tells the management he's off and we can get in someone who wants to be here. If someone comes in now to buy Porteous, all well and good - if not, I'd rather he was just a back up player and we had a starter who wants to play for us.
SickBoy32
21-07-2022, 07:56 AM
Letting Porteous, one of our best players, follow Doig out the door this summer is only going to result in the first team becoming even worse IMO. God only knows who Ian Gordon would find to replace him!
For me it's absolutely crucial that Porto stays (whether he signs a new deal or not), gets his form back and begins to drive the team on again - there certainly isn't many others capable!
21-07-2022, 08:10 AM
Letting Porteous, one of our best players, follow Doig out the door this summer is only going to result in the first team becoming even worse IMO. God only knows who Ian Gordon would find to replace him!
For me it's absolutely crucial that Porto stays (whether he signs a new deal or not), gets his form back and begins to drive the team on again - there certainly isn't many others capable!
It certainly doesn't look like that when he's been directly at fault for both goals we have conceded against lower league opposition.
21-07-2022, 08:16 AM
Not yet. Clyde beat Falkirk away in the league last year
We slaughtered them, that in itself tells a story.
SickBoy32
21-07-2022, 08:17 AM
It certainly doesn't look like that when he's been directly at fault for both goals we have conceded against lower league opposition.
Certainly directly at fault at Bonnyrigg, very harsh to fully blame him for the penalty last night IMO.
Comfortably our best centre half, regardless of recent form (which admittedly has been poor) - and losing him now would only further weaken a low quality squad.
Paulie Walnuts
21-07-2022, 08:20 AM
Porteous didn’t have a good season last season and he’s actually showing signs of regression this season.
I honestly don’t think we’d be any worse for replacing him.
21-07-2022, 08:25 AM
Certainly directly at fault at Bonnyrigg, very harsh to fully blame him for the penalty last night IMO.
Comfortably our best centre half, regardless of recent form (which admittedly has been poor) - and losing him now would only further weaken a low quality squad.
He could have just marked his man, but chose to shout at Josh Campbell instead, then dive into a tackle and miss, which lead to the ball going into the box. He could have just held his man up in the corner and tracked him accordingly. The amount of passes forward he launched directly to their left back I was losing count.
21-07-2022, 08:31 AM
No doubt at all that Porteous has improved massively since he made his debut. Also no doubt, in my mind at any rate, that he hasn't improved to the level many thought he might. He's still immature in a football sense and after 150+ games that's a concern.
I remember chatting with George Craig a few years back. He was always open about things and he was almost overflowing with excitement about Ryan. 'He could play for Manchester United' was one of his lines. Does anyone really believe that now? I'm aware there is a joke in there about £80M defenders. He did caveat that by saying the mental aspect of his game concerned him, as was the case for any young player. He said you only really know how cut out someone is for 1st team football mentally after they have played a fair few games. How they learn, adapt and grow as players. This chat was just after Ryan strolled it at Ibrox in a 2-1 win (the McLaren penalty game) which was one of his first starts in the league.
I'm not convinced the mental side of his game has developed in the same way his physicality has. The barking at team mates looks forced and is often unmerited and little more than a cover for his own errors. He can still be rash and undisciplined and his momentary lapses are still there for all to see. A focused and motivated Ryan Porteous is our best defender by a mile. this current incarnation is neither of those things.
SickBoy32
21-07-2022, 08:33 AM
He could have just marked his man, but chose to shout at Josh Campbell instead, then dive into a tackle and miss, which lead to the ball going into the box. He could have just held his man up in the corner and tracked him accordingly. The amount of passes forward he launched directly to their left back I was losing count.
Aye didn't cover himself in glory to be fair, and the ball did end up in the box.
However the ball then left the box and ended up about 30 yards from goal, before our midfield dynamo gave away a very cheap pen to gift them the lead.
We seen at Falkirk what this team is like at centre half without Porto, both him and Hanlon need to be our defensive pairing again this year - the other 2 don't look good enough for the SPL.
Shudder to think who the recruitment team would come up with as a potential replacement for Porto too
Greenio
21-07-2022, 08:40 AM
Offt
Paulie Walnuts
21-07-2022, 08:48 AM
No doubt at all that Porteous has improved massively since he made his debut. Also no doubt, in my mind at any rate, that he hasn't improved to the level many thought he might. He's still immature in a football sense and after 150+ games that's a concern.
Thing for me is, I don’t see a player that has massively improved since his debut. Ryan came in and was an exceptional talent and looked every bit a first team player from the minute he stepped onto the pitch and would go to the very top. Scotland international, EPL stalwart.
Fast forward 5 years and he’s arguably found his level at Hibs. If he leaves it’ll be for bottom half Championship I’d suspect although I’d be surprised if anyone wants to part with a fee for him.
I reckon he’s improved in some respects, but not all that much. It’s still the same mistakes, the same reckless tackles, the same getting caught out and getting into the same nonsense gamesmanship on the pitch. He’s had 150 games now and I don’t trust him any time he goes onto the pitch against Rangers not to get sent off. I probably trust his temperament less now than I ever have. He almost seemed more mature when he broke through.
His development has fell off a cliff for me the last 2 or 3 years.
21-07-2022, 08:52 AM
Aye didn't cover himself in glory to be fair, and the ball did end up in the box.
However the ball then left the box and ended up about 30 yards from goal, before our midfield dynamo gave away a very cheap pen to gift them the lead.
We seen at Falkirk what this team is like at centre half without Porto, both him and Hanlon need to be our defensive pairing again this year - the other 2 don't look good enough for the SPL.
Shudder to think who the recruitment team would come up with as a potential replacement for Porto too
I dont think Rocky was the problem at Falkirk. In fact he was the one driving forward when the midfield proved so inept.
The way Porto is playing I think we will see Hanlon when fit and Rocky paired for a spell . Porto is all over the place making basic mistakes, bullying team mates to hide his mistakes and some of his Mons Meg style cannonball passes nearly take the receiving player out rather than being weighted properly to allow them to drop the extra cushioning touch.
He has what it takes but his learning and his mentality issues are becoming a hinderance.
cameronw-hfc
21-07-2022, 08:55 AM
Porteous didn’t have a good season last season and he’s actually showing signs of regression this season.
I honestly don’t think we’d be any worse for replacing him.
I'd argue last year is his most disappointing to date. A lot of us felt like that would be the year he would finally sort his stupidity out, yet he was sent off needlessly a few times, cost us games and had some silly off-field issues.
This year has got off to an even more worrying start so far.
21-07-2022, 08:55 AM
Thing for me is, I don’t see a player that has massively improved since his debut. Ryan came in and was an exceptional talent and looked every bit a first team player from the minute he stepped onto the pitch and would go to the very top. Scotland international, EPL stalwart.
Fast forward 5 years and he’s arguably found his level at Hibs. If he leaves it’ll be for bottom half Championship I’d suspect although I’d be surprised if anyone wants to part with a fee for him.
I reckon he’s improved in some respects, but not all that much. It’s still the same mistakes, the same reckless tackles, the same getting caught out and getting into the same nonsense gamesmanship on the pitch. He’s had 150 games now and I don’t trust him any time he goes onto the pitch against Rangers not to get sent off. I probably trust his temperament less now than I ever have. He almost seemed more mature when he broke through.
His development has fell off a cliff for me the last 2 or 3 years.
I disagree with you on a whole range of topics but agree with you here.
For all the talk of witch-hunts and media vendettas and the like, Ryan’s main enemy is Ryan. He absolutely brings a lot of it on himself by repeating mistakes and his attitude on the pitch so far this season hasn’t impressed me.
If you look at the attitude of Josh Doig or Martin Boyle who got their big money moves and compare it to that of Ryan, it doesn’t compare. You could see the progression almost week on week with the former and as of late it feels as if Ryan has been regressing.
21-07-2022, 09:05 AM
I remember chatting with George Craig a few years back. He was always open about things and he was almost overflowing with excitement about Ryan. 'He could play for Manchester United' was one of his lines. Does anyone really believe that now? I'm aware there is a joke in there about £80M defenders. He did caveat that by saying the mental aspect of his game concerned him, as was the case for any young player. He said you only really know how cut out someone is for 1st team football mentally after they have played a fair few games. How they learn, adapt and grow as players. This chat was just after Ryan strolled it at Ibrox in a 2-1 win (the McLaren penalty game) which was one of his first starts in the league.
I'm not convinced the mental side of his game has developed in the same way his physicality has. The barking at team mates looks forced and is often unmerited and little more than a cover for his own errors. He can still be rash and undisciplined and his momentary lapses are still there for all to see. A focused and motivated Ryan Porteous is our best defender by a mile. this current incarnation is neither of those things.
And this is why he needs to get into a bigger pond and play beside players he'd need to have a bit of respect for. He's not handling the most valuable player tag at all well.
21-07-2022, 09:13 AM
I like him and hope he stays.
We're forever saying we need leaders and character on the pitch, he's both.
Yes he makes some howlers and needs to grow up a bit, but I've zero faith in us bringing in anyone of ability to replace him.
He probably realises that we're going nowhere and is frustrated. Can't blame him for that.
He played well under Jack Ross. Maybe it's down to how he's being asked to play? Maybe!
21-07-2022, 09:22 AM
Yes he makes some howlers and needs to grow up a bit, but I've zero faith in us bringing in anyone of ability to replace him.
He probably realises that we're going nowhere and is frustrated. Can't blame him for that.
He played well under Jack Ross. Maybe it's down to how he's being asked to play? Maybe!
Screaming abuse at younger players for mis-controlling or not getting to terrible passes that you've played isn't showing leadership or character.
21-07-2022, 09:28 AM
Na, think we’ve seen in the last few games that Porteous certainly isn’t this imaginary “leader” that he’s made out to be.
21-07-2022, 09:40 AM
Unless he’s being asked to make rash and daft decisions, cost us chances and goals, and then turn round and rant at other players for his own failings, I don’t see how you can blame the manager for him over the past few games.
21-07-2022, 10:59 AM
Would be dropping Porteous for Hanlon the second he recovers from injury but due to the fact that there seems to be some sort of tradition of only having about two centre backs at Hibs for god knows how long we can't really afford to do it now.
Cat Stanton
21-07-2022, 05:42 PM
https://twitter.com/Cappielow_Park/status/1550041521587736578?t=AG6OmMOvJQZFiB0_i2DVdg&s=08
Putty_07
22-07-2022, 01:58 AM
Overrated big head who thinks he’s better than he is.
I won’t lose sleep if he leaves I’m this transfer window
22-07-2022, 02:43 AM
Overrated big head who thinks he’s better than he is.
I won’t lose sleep if he leaves I’m this transfer window
Cool story bro.
Porto. He’s only one good game away from being a worldbeater again.
Let the league season commence.
22-07-2022, 06:34 AM
I've been saying for ages that what RP needs is an experienced centre back along with experienced leaders in midfield - the engine room of any team.
He's clearly got skills, but he's still learning the game. Hibernian FC are putting far too much responsibility on a young professional, who clearly needs help.
That last paragraph is/will be appropriate for many of our young 'stars' that we're recruiting at the moment. The sooner we sign two experienced centre backs (we can't continue to rely on Paul Hanlon) and two leaders in midfield, then we're going to struggle.
It pains me to write that for the good of RP's game, he needs to leave Hibernian FC. It's abundantly clear to me that RP knows this and he wants away. Until he goes, he'll have my full support, though that is waning.
22-07-2022, 09:08 AM
I've been saying for ages that what RP needs is an experienced centre back along with experienced leaders in midfield - the engine room of any team.
He's clearly got skills, but he's still learning the game. Hibernian FC are putting far too much responsibility on a young professional, who clearly needs help.
That last paragraph is/will be appropriate for many of our young 'stars' that we're recruiting at the moment. The sooner we sign two experienced centre backs (we can't continue to rely on Paul Hanlon) and two leaders in midfield, then we're going to struggle.
It pains me to write that for the good of RP's game, he needs to leave Hibernian FC. It's abundantly clear to me that RP knows this and he wants away. Until he goes, he'll have my full support, though that is waning.
Personally think for the good of his game he just needs to knuckle down and play his position like we know he’s capable of without him or anyone else making excuses for him. The club or other players aren’t responsible for his manner on the field or the individual mistakes he’s making recently.
He’s perfectly capable of finding solid form at Hibs if he wants to.
18Craig75
22-07-2022, 09:27 AM
And the only reason McGeady had to check back and have a long range shot was because Porteous misplaced a simple pass to McGeady!! If Porto had played it a yard infront of McGeady to run on to he would’ve been running through for a cross across the face.
22-07-2022, 10:55 AM
Jees Ryans 22-23 cut the guy some slack. It might help if there were more experienced players roond him helping him oot. We have a very good player there that needs a wee bit guidance on the park at times, if he leaves us I am almost certain he will end up at a top english club, and well all be saying if only.
22-07-2022, 11:14 AM
Jees Ryans 22-23 cut the guy some slack. It might help if there were more experienced players roond him helping him oot. We have a very good player there that needs a wee bit guidance on the park at times, if he leaves us I am almost certain he will end up at a top english club, and well all be saying if only.
Porteous has played about 170 games already in his career, he is not some 18 year old laddie who is just starting out, yes i agree he does need guidance but lets not pretend he is really inexperienced
22-07-2022, 11:18 AM
Alot of people on here will miss him when he leaves and we replace him with utter dross.
andrew70
22-07-2022, 11:18 AM
Confirmed last night Porteous is a captain in waiting but until he signs a new deal LJ can’t risk it. If he was to leave halfway through the season it wouldn’t look good.
No suitors at the minute though, Forest went quiet after promotion.
Everything people knows already but nice to hear it from the gaffer who was extremely good company as well as owner and CEO.
Marshall captain
Porto vice
Hanlon club captain by all accounts.
GGTTH07
22-07-2022, 11:53 AM
Some of these takes are absolutely hilarious. Our best player for the best part of 2 year now, had a very poor start to the season and shouted at a few team mates now he’s not a hibs man. Christ, embarrassing reaction.
22-07-2022, 11:57 AM
Some of these takes are absolutely hilarious. Our best player for the best part of 2 year now, had a very poor start to the season and shouted at a few team mates now he’s not a hibs man. Christ, embarrassing reaction.
There's some recent threads that are just folk almost trying to come across as thick as ****. Destabilising your own player is just what some of us like to do at the moment.
22-07-2022, 12:01 PM
I didn’t think he was that bad the other night, in fact I thought he was quite good.
As ever, he was imperfect and there were the usual stupid mistakes on there.
He at least seemed to appreciate the gravity of the situation and from the first whistle looked keen to get on the front foot and look forward. At times he and Henderson were driving us on.
His penalty was woeful but it didn’t really matter anyway.
I’ve got a really high opinion of his ability but not so much his mindset. We should have been more prepared for him moving on than we have been and I feel that because we’re so weak in his position we just have to accept whatever we get from him whether it is good enough or not, because the alternative is vastly inferior. This is a situation that does the player no favours and is probably why he doesn’t seem to have kicked on much over the past 18 months or so - whereas he’ll improve drastically as soon as he leaves.
22-07-2022, 12:23 PM
How quickly some people have turned on him has surprised me.
I agree, it’s pretty embarrassing.
Paulie Walnuts
22-07-2022, 12:33 PM
Martin Boyle left 6 months ago. He was by an absolute country mile our best player before he moved on.
22-07-2022, 12:35 PM
How quickly some people have turned on him has surprised me.
I agree, it’s pretty embarrassing.
Ever since it looked like he wasn’t going to sign a new contract, the change is narrative around him is weird
EastThomasSTboy
22-07-2022, 12:39 PM
Confirmed last night Porteous is a captain in waiting but until he signs a new deal LJ can’t risk it. If he was to leave halfway through the season it wouldn’t look good.
Everything people knows already but nice to hear it from the gaffer who was extremely good company as well as owner and CEO.
Marshall captain
Porto vice
I just hope they picked up the tab last night…..and the meal wasn’t on SL Expenses😀😀😀😀😀.
22-07-2022, 12:50 PM
Embarrassing comments and that’s just the first page . This place is getting more toxic and almost anti Hibs .
Getting as bad as that FB Hibs page .
22-07-2022, 02:09 PM
Marshall captain
Porto vice
They actually told you that?
Somebody should really tell Ryan then :greengrin
He's not signing a new deal because he WANTS to be club captain.
Turkish Green
22-07-2022, 02:16 PM
Martin Boyle left 6 months ago. He was by an absolute country mile our best player before he moved on.
How soon people forget.
22-07-2022, 02:54 PM
He needs to start acting like a club captain on and off the pitch then.
There was another embarrassing dive against Morton the other night after a Morton player placed his hand on Porteous' back, the big swan dive was out again.
22-07-2022, 02:55 PM
If that’s the case then it’s quite pathetic. He doesn’t deserve to be the club captain.
22-07-2022, 03:05 PM
Alot of people on here will miss him when he leaves and we replace him with utter dross.
:top marksHe's one of the few players with any kind of character and connection with the fans.
Because he was mic'd up that time, and was heard 'ranting' at another player, he's never a leader!
Total BS. He's the only Hibs player to ever have been mic'd up in our history and one comment gets seized upon.
Imagine if you could have heard Turnbull or Stanton or Cropley back in the day. I'm pretty sure they would have had a few choice words to say to there teammates at times!!!
Porteous is the one player we have that I'd like to see on a long contract. Not the guff that we signed in January or last summer.
22-07-2022, 03:07 PM
:top marksHe's one of the few players with any kind of character and connection with the fans.
Because he was mic'd up that time, and was heard 'ranting' at another player, he's never a leader!
Total BS. He's the only Hibs player to ever have been mic'd up in our history and one comment gets seized upon.
Imagine if you could have heard Turnbull or Stanton or Cropley back in the day. I'm pretty sure they would have had a few choice words to say to there teammates at times!!!
Porteous is the one player we have that I'd like to see on a long contract. Not the guff that we signed in January or last summer.
But some people think Hanlon, who doesn't utter a word on the pitch is a leader though :rolleyes:
22-07-2022, 03:12 PM
But some people think Hanlon, who doesn't utter a word on the pitch is a leader though :rolleyes:
If there was a straight up choice between the two, I'd pick Ryan every time.
Harsh on Paul, but it can be a cruel game.
22-07-2022, 03:14 PM
You think Paul Hanlon goes through a whole game without talking?
LewysGot2
22-07-2022, 03:45 PM
If there was a straight up choice between the two, I'd pick Ryan every time.
Harsh on Paul, but it can be a cruel game.
Not if its left of a 2. Ryan doesn't look comfortable there at all 😉
andrew70
22-07-2022, 03:50 PM
Yes. Ryan knows full well. Tells everyone that himself anyway.
His agent is the one who’s dragging heels.
However he’s only stopping his client from getting a lot from Hibs. In the hope mega bucks comes from down south.
andrew70
22-07-2022, 03:52 PM
If that’s the case then it’s quite pathetic. He doesn’t deserve to be the club captain.
He most certainly does.
Percy Vere
22-07-2022, 03:55 PM
🤣
22-07-2022, 04:03 PM
He most certainly does.
Could do with him proving that on and off the park this season in my view. He went backwards last season.
Percy Vere
22-07-2022, 04:05 PM
He’s Hibs standard at best. Said it for ages and he shows absolutely no signs of getting past that level.
Anyone saying sell him, nobody will be in for him whilst he will cost a significant fee as he simply isn’t worth it.
You think if he got a move away from Hibs and all his pals it might be the kick up the arse he needs! He then might do a bit maturing and realise he’s needing to work a lot harder if he wants to go up a level.
andrew70
22-07-2022, 04:48 PM
Could do with him proving that on and off the park this season in my view. He went backwards last season.
No he never. Absurd to even think that. Outstanding player.
Paulie Walnuts
22-07-2022, 04:51 PM
It’s not absurd at all. He had a lot of poor games and spent a ludicrous amount of time suspended.
That’s worse than he’s been previously imo.
22-07-2022, 04:52 PM
Has anyone on this thread mentioned him being “mic’d up”?
I didn’t like the way he was ranting at other players after making blatant and costly defensive errors himself. Not a huge deal but just another reason why some aren’t overly impressed with him of late.
I still hope he signs a contract and kicks on with Hibs, as he could still be a brilliant player for us. But, like any other player in the team, he’s not immune to criticism when he makes big errors in consecutive games and reactions to them are questionable.
I couldn’t care less, nor do I know, what he said while having a microphone on him in Portugal for some pre season gimmick.
22-07-2022, 04:52 PM
It’s not absurd at all. He had a lot of poor games and spent a ludicrous amount of time suspended.
That’s worse than he’s been previously imo.
Pretty much what I was thinking, personally thought he was way off being an outstanding player last season. Each to their own though.
Fuzzywuzzy
22-07-2022, 04:58 PM
I thought all the young lads were meant to be looked after by some consultancy firm to do with Andy Murray?
22-07-2022, 05:44 PM
He is good but certainly not outstanding
22-07-2022, 08:53 PM
Has anyone on this thread mentioned him being “mic’d up”?
I didn’t like the way he was ranting at other players after making blatant and costly defensive errors himself. Not a huge deal but just another reason why some aren’t overly impressed with him of late.
I still hope he signs a contract and kicks on with Hibs, as he could still be a brilliant player for us. But, like any other player in the team, he’s not immune to criticism when he makes big errors in consecutive games and reactions to them are questionable.
I couldn’t care less, nor do I know, what he said while having a microphone on him in Portugal for some pre season gimmick.
I see players shouting at their teammates in every single game, it’s never been highlighted as a thing before though. We also hear numerous complaints that Hanlon is too quiet!
Ryan makes a few mistakes. Our entire team is riddled with huddies that can’t even pass a ball and make more mistakes every single game, yet he’s the one being hounded out the door?
I’ts madness. I’d keep him before any of our 13 or so signings since January.
22-07-2022, 08:55 PM
Throw Ryan in midfield
1875Sean
22-07-2022, 09:04 PM
Throw Ryan in midfield
No thanks our midfield has enough passengers
I see players shouting at their teammates in every single game, it’s never been highlighted as a thing before though. We also hear numerous complaints that Hanlon is too quiet!
Ryan makes a few mistakes. Our entire team is riddled with huddies that can’t even pass a ball and make more mistakes every single game, yet he’s the one being hounded out the door?
I’ts madness. I’d keep him before any of our 13 or so signings since January.
based on the last few games, his passing isn’t any better, and he’s been making plenty mistakes for some time now
Mrimbetween
23-07-2022, 05:48 PM
Ryan is a stand out most of the time
But what happens if he doesnt sign ?? will we lose him like Soutter, worried
23-07-2022, 05:56 PM
If he can find the form he is capable of I wouldn’t be worried about losing him for nothing, if it contributed to us being successful on the park.
Hearts dug in and refused to sell Souttar unless they got a stupid bid. He then played a big part in them getting guaranteed, group stage, European football and all the money that comes with that. We ain’t getting a stupid bid for Porteous at the moment. We should do the same and he should knuckle down and make sure he has plenty of interest for next year IMO.
23-07-2022, 06:17 PM
Think that is the most likely outcome now. Can't see anyone making an offer that we'll accept this summer so he'll sign a pre-contact with someone in Jan.
23-07-2022, 06:23 PM
Correct. Proper Billy big baws stuff (if true). Spreading rumours like that won’t add to his reputation.
cameronw-hfc
23-07-2022, 06:53 PM
Throw Ryan in midfield
Actually not as absurd a thought as it is on first looking tbf.
He's and decent footballer, good defender but has a mistake in him. Could imagine him being a decent defensive mid, likes to step into the midfield on the ball a lot anyway.
Actually not as absurd a thought as it is on first looking tbf.
He's and decent footballer, good defender but has a mistake in him. Could imagine him being a decent defensive mid, likes to step into the midfield on the ball a lot anyway.
It really is.
mcohibs
23-07-2022, 07:38 PM
Sorry but Porteous let us down plenty of times last season. Example below dodgy as **** for all three goals against Celtic
https://youtu.be/khLac4hHqds
Add to his recklesness getting sent off at Ibrox, giving penalties away etc. he was far from outstanding last season.
23-07-2022, 08:04 PM
Wow, one of the worst? Not even close
LewysGot2
23-07-2022, 08:46 PM
Wow, one of the worst? Not even close
I've put off answering that in the exact same manner.
Murdock, Stephens and even sorry to say Jordon Forster are just more recent contenders. Wait till somebody tells him of the 1980s...
23-07-2022, 09:01 PM
Sorry but Porteous let us down plenty of times last season. Example below dodgy as **** for all three goals against Celtic
https://youtu.be/khLac4hHqds
Add to his recklesness getting sent off at Ibrox, giving penalties away etc. he was far from outstanding last season.
:agree: On his day he is very good ( eg 0-0 v Hearts at ER last season). But he switched off far too often to be deserving of the "outstanding" plaudits IMO. Other obvious ones you didn't mention are mistake in the semi v Rangers, cost us the goal, switched off for both goals v Celtic in the Final (with most people choosing to ignore his errors and instead look to solely blame Hanlon), switching off at Ibrox for Morelos goal ( with most people looking to blame Rocky instead).
He is a good player on his day, but this thread is further proof that he is clearly overrated by some.
23-07-2022, 09:10 PM
If you applied the same scrutiny to every player you’d want them all punted out the door.
Ryan’s fine. I’m not saying he’s like Platini or whoever, but for us, he’s fine.
We’ve got monumentally bigger problems to fix.
mcohibs
24-07-2022, 12:08 AM
If you applied the same scrutiny to every player you’d want them all punted out the door.
Ryan’s fine. I’m not saying he’s like Platini or whoever, but for us, he’s fine.
We’ve got monumentally bigger problems to fix.
Totally agree but my opinion is he is totally over hyped by the Hibs support, on here mostly, with a catalogue of errors and poor decision making as described in the last few posts going under the radar or conveniently forgotten. Applying scrutiny is just being fully objective about a player, as we all should be.
sadtom
24-07-2022, 01:20 AM
Some of the utter tripe on here.
If you can’t see that RP is by far and away the best we’ve got then I wouldn’t value your opinion on anything to do with fitba.
Slips but then recovers against Falkirk.
Gets caught out with a hopeful ball over the top when he’s ‘splitting’ 2 forwards against B.R.
Misses a pen against Morton.
Now all of a sudden that makes him a liability according to some…garbage.
No doubt for quite a few it’s got more to do with him not signing a new deal (as yet).
Like a bunch of 13 year lassies when they realise their favourite pop star isn’t going to marry them.
I can just see them tearing his poster off their bedroom walls, sobbing uncontrollably into a Hibs teddy, adorned with a replica kit bearing Ryan’s name, occasionally roaring “I hate you”!
In the background mum and dad can be heard shouting “You’re 48 years old ya f****** bam! Sort yourself out and pipe down, we’re trying to watch the telly”.
We couldn’t come close to being able to afford to replace him…but the brainiacs on here want him out…sheesh!
Some of the utter tripe on here.
If you can’t see that RP is by far and away the best we’ve got then I wouldn’t value your opinion on anything to do with fitba.
Slips but then recovers against Falkirk.
Gets caught out with a hopeful ball over the top when he’s ‘splitting’ 2 forwards against B.R.
Misses a pen against Morton.
Now all of a sudden that makes him a liability according to some…garbage.
No doubt for quite a few it’s got more to do with him not signing a new deal (as yet).
Like a bunch of 13 year lassies when they realise their favourite pop star isn’t going to marry them.
I can just see them tearing his poster off their bedroom walls, sobbing uncontrollably into a Hibs teddy, adorned with a replica kit bearing Ryan’s name, occasionally roaring “I hate you”!
In the background mum and dad can be heard shouting “You’re 48 years old ya f****** bam! Sort yourself out and pipe down, we’re trying to watch the telly”.
We couldn’t come close to being able to afford to replace him…but the brainiacs on here want him out…sheesh!
interesting take - either agree with you or someone knows nothing about football :hmmm:
you forgot to mention that he missed a quarter of last season and was convicted of an assault recently, yet some people want his fast tracked into captaincy, there’s also the point that numerous people have noticed that he seems to be verging on bullying a young player, often for his own mistakes. He’s also played very poorly by his own standards this preseason, passing has been atrocious, and didn’t shower himself in glory in the lead up to Morton’s penalty (although wtf Newell was doing afterwards didn’t help).
ryan is a good footballer, and he probably is the best CH we have, but those things alone don’t wipe out the other aspects of him. We had the same nonsense with stokes when Lennon got rid, there was still folk on here saying we should have kept him, he’s the best we’ve got, etc etc.
you liken people going on like teenage pop fans, isn’t it more likely that these people are Hibs fans rather than porteous fans, and have come to a conclusion (as they’re entitled to) that they’d prefer to see the club get something of a transfer fee rather than him walk for free in the near future?
OldEast
24-07-2022, 07:30 AM
interesting take - either agree with you or someone knows nothing about football :hmmm:
you forgot to mention that he missed a quarter of last season and was convicted of an assault recently, yet some people want his fast tracked into captaincy, there’s also the point that numerous people have noticed that he seems to be verging on bullying a young player, often for his own mistakes. He’s also played very poorly by his own standards this preseason, passing has been atrocious, and didn’t shower himself in glory in the lead up to Morton’s penalty (although wtf Newell was doing afterwards didn’t help).
ryan is a good footballer, and he probably is the best CH we have, but those things alone don’t wipe out the other aspects of him. We had the same nonsense with stokes when Lennon got rid, there was still folk on here saying we should have kept him, he’s the best we’ve got, etc etc.
you liken people going on like teenage pop fans, isn’t it more likely that these people are Hibs fans rather than porteous fans, and have come to a conclusion (as they’re entitled to) that they’d prefer to see the club get something of a transfer fee rather than him walk for free in the near future?
What a well balanced post 👍🏻
24-07-2022, 09:17 AM
What a well balanced post 👍🏻
A far better one than the utter pish it was in response to anyway.
24-07-2022, 09:20 AM
I've put off answering that in the exact same manner.
Murdock, Stephens and even sorry to say Jordon Forster are just more recent contenders. Wait till somebody tells him of the 1980s...
O'Hanlon, Nelson, NcIntosh are another three. We could list dozens who were worse. Porteous is nowhere near being bad. Captain material for me, but can't see him signing the deal
LewysGot2
24-07-2022, 11:37 AM
O'Hanlon, Nelson, NcIntosh are another three. We could list dozens who were worse. Porteous is nowhere near being bad. Captain material for me, but can't see him signing the deal
Absolutely.
And I won't be doubting his commitment across this season even if he does run down his contract- which has looked likely for some time.
There's a lot of generally grumpy or angry folk in society and our fan base is no different. Fragile, too.
24-07-2022, 11:41 AM
Must be some strong drugs people are taking if they think Porteous is one of our worst ever center halfs.
I've read some strange thoughts and opinions on this forum but that's probably the topper.
24-07-2022, 11:48 AM
Captain today
24-07-2022, 11:48 AM
Must be some strong drugs people are taking if they think Porteous is one of our worst ever center halfs.
I've read some strange thoughts and opinions on this forum but that's probably the topper.
Indeed. Wouldnt even make a top 50 worst Hibs centre halfs
Hibee Daft
24-07-2022, 12:24 PM
He needs to sign a contract and wind his neck in or get a move away
24-07-2022, 12:34 PM
He needs to sign a contract and wind his neck in or get a move away
Wind his neck in?
1875Sean
24-07-2022, 01:02 PM
Wind his neck in?
Think he means stop acting like a billy big baws shouting at loads of players when he isn’t performing himself
24-07-2022, 01:06 PM
Captain of the Team Today
24-07-2022, 05:02 PM
One sloppy pass but apart from that he was steady at the back.
24-07-2022, 05:06 PM
Played well today
24-07-2022, 08:14 PM
Think he means stop acting like a billy big baws shouting at loads of players when he isn’t performing himself
I would take the opposite view. A captain needs to have the minerals to lead the team even when he might not be having a great game himself rather than crawling into his shell. Regardless of whether Ryan signs another contract or not. He's our best defender by a distance and he's one of the first names on the team sheet for me.
1875Sean
24-07-2022, 09:31 PM
I would take the opposite view. A captain needs to have the minerals to lead the team even when he might not be having a great game himself rather than crawling into his shell. Regardless of whether Ryan signs another contract or not. He's our best defender by a distance and he's one of the first names on the team sheet for me.
Screaming and shouting doesn’t make a captain, you never seen David Gray etc scream at young players, can’t help the likes of melkersen
25-07-2022, 06:14 AM
Screaming and shouting doesn’t make a captain, you never seen David Gray etc scream at young players, can’t help the likes of melkersen
When did Ryan scream at anyone?
25-07-2022, 06:18 AM
When did Ryan scream at anyone?
Went berserk at Melkerson at Falkirk after hitting a dreadful pass to him. Did the same to Campbell the other night then lost his own position. Both totally unwarranted.
25-07-2022, 06:22 AM
We really are determined to run him out of town.
Be careful what you wish for.
25-07-2022, 06:27 AM
Still our best central defender he can be frustrating but has the quality to be very very good. Best for him in developing his career would likely be to move down south however would be delighted if he stays.
25-07-2022, 06:28 AM
Went berserk at Melkerson at Falkirk after hitting a dreadful pass to him. Did the same to Campbell the other night then lost his own position. Both totally unwarranted.
That sort of thing will happen at every team in the world.
25-07-2022, 06:40 AM
Doesn’t make it right.
25-07-2022, 06:42 AM
Doesn’t make it right.
In the grand scheme of things not a big deal
OldEast
25-07-2022, 06:49 AM
In the grand scheme of things not a big deal
You would hope not and I like Ryan, but I'd be concerned he may start to intimidate less experienced players, even if he thinks he's helping. I'm sure internally the club can see and judge his effectiveness and effect on other players much better than us though.
25-07-2022, 06:51 AM
The good pass that Melkersen totally miscontrolled I assume you mean? Was right to his feet on the edge of the box.
Ryan is passionate and wants to win. Can't imagine those players care much, kind of thing is standard in sport.
25-07-2022, 07:12 AM
Steven Gerrard and the Scottish Football media done that job.
25-07-2022, 07:20 AM
No it won't, sorry.
25-07-2022, 07:24 AM
The good pass that Melkersen totally miscontrolled I assume you mean? Was right to his feet on the edge of the box.
Ryan is passionate and wants to win. Can't imagine those players care much, kind of thing is standard in sport.
Nope that's not the one I mean obviously.
25-07-2022, 07:29 AM
That was the one he went mad at Melkerson though..okayed it to him on a breakaway…it wasn’t the best pass tbf, but it did reach Melkerson and he should have easily controlled it .
25-07-2022, 07:31 AM
No it won't, sorry.
Of course it will.
25-07-2022, 07:32 AM
You would hope not and I like Ryan, but I'd be concerned he may start to intimidate less experienced players, even if he thinks he's helping. I'm sure internally the club can see and judge his effectiveness and effect on other players much better than us though.
Intimidate less experienced players? That's a strange way to look at it.
25-07-2022, 07:33 AM
Have you watched Melkerson? He is forever bumping defenders and winding them up.
Not sure a wee shout from a teammate will bother him much.
25-07-2022, 07:36 AM
Genuinely cannot think of the incident you mean then.
25-07-2022, 07:37 AM
That was the one he went mad at Melkerson though..okayed it to him on a breakaway…it wasn’t the best pass tbf, but it did reach Melkerson and he should have easily controlled it .
I disagree but I didn't like the way Porto did that considering his own play has been so sloppy. I wish he would settle down and screw the nut and become the future Hibs captain we all know he should be.
OldEast
Intimidate less experienced players? That's a strange way to look at it.
How? I mean his constant shouting may make the younger, newer lads a bit nervous of doing something wrong, like not controlling a pass. Can't say it any plainer than that.
Please note though I'm NOT saying that's the case, just a possibility.
No it won't, sorry.
This is professional football not a game of fives players will obviously get frustrated if they are losing and they perceive someone has made a mistake. Not a big deal imo
25-07-2022, 07:38 AM
I disagree but I didn't like the way Porto did that considering his own play has been so sloppy. I wish he would settle down and screw the nut and become the future Hibs captain we all know he should be.
What he needs is to get back on the right side where he belongs.
We really need a left sided defender in pretty fast.
25-07-2022, 07:39 AM
Intimidate come on
25-07-2022, 07:40 AM
How? I mean his constant shouting may make the younger, newer lads a bit nervous of doing something wrong, like not controlling a pass. Can't say it any plainer than that.
Please note though I'm NOT saying that's the case, just a possibility.
So it is now constant shouting :greengrin
OldEast
25-07-2022, 07:41 AM
So it is now constant shouting :greengrin
Aaaarrrrgghhhhh
😉
25-07-2022, 07:46 AM
What he needs is to get back on the right side where he belongs.
We really need a left sided defender in pretty fast.
Agree with that, it's been a priority for a while.
25-07-2022, 07:50 AM
It’s completely normal at that level for players to have a go at each other during the game ..Porto was quite right - Melkerson let the ball bounce of him . I’ve no problem with him doing that ..and I suspect his manager will be happy with it too
25-07-2022, 08:07 AM
It’s completely normal at that level for players to have a go at each other during the game ..Porto was quite right - Melkerson let the ball bounce of him . I’ve no problem with him doing that ..and I suspect his manager will be happy with it too
Ah well, me and everyone round me saw it differently then.
25-07-2022, 08:27 AM
As someone else alluded to, Melkersen isn’t exactly an angel either. He’s quite fond of leaving the foot in on defenders. Him and Porteous probably spend most of the week kicking lumps out of each other. The players train with each other every day and know who reacts to what as well.
25-07-2022, 12:07 PM
Have we really got to the stage where shouting at teammates is a problem?
Maybe we need a safe space on the pitch for certain players to go to if they’re feeing a bit low or upset.
25-07-2022, 12:25 PM
He has a lot of attributes i absolutley love. I know football has changed but look at Roy Keane and the levels he demanded from his teammates even when he wasn't having the best of games himself. If he wants to give his teammates a bollocking then thats fine by me. Just wish he would get this contract signed and knuckle down. I really think it would benefit him, his game and us. Porteous frustrates me more than any other player at Hibs because i know how good he can be. I probably give him a harder time than other players.
25-07-2022, 12:41 PM
Any player who cannae handle being shouted at when they make a mistake doesn’t have the mental attributes required to succeed as a footballer, in my opinion.
There was a video of Ten Haag taking Man Utd training the other day, and shouting at one of the young guys (Zidane Iqbal I think) and telling him what he was doing was “****ing rubbish”.
Porteous can shout at who he wants on the pitch, and when he ****s up there should be players shouting at him. Demand better.
25-07-2022, 12:56 PM
Maybe we need a safe space on the pitch for certain players to go to if they’re feeing a bit low or upset.
25-07-2022, 01:00 PM
Any player who cannae handle being shouted at when they make a mistake doesn’t have the mental attributes required to succeed as a footballer, in my opinion.
There was a video of Ten Haag taking Man Utd training the other day, and shouting at one of the young guys (Zidane Iqbal I think) and telling him what he was doing was “****ing rubbish”.
Porteous can shout at who he wants on the pitch, and when he ****s up there should be players shouting at him. Demand better.
There’s a difference between being shouted at when you make a mistake and being shouted at by the person who made the mistake laying the blame on you.
Either way I’m sure the players will deal with it between themselves and what happens on the pitch doesn’t dictate how they are with each other afterwards.
25-07-2022, 02:07 PM
25-07-2022, 09:55 PM
This 👍🏻
zitelli62
25-07-2022, 11:12 PM
When I played which wasn't yesterday if no one was shouting at you you were having a good game but on the other hand if you were having a nightmare you know what was coming your way changed days from 25 years ago though even the banter on the pitch is different didn't stop me from having a good career though nothing better than getting pelters from away fans cause you knew you were playing well part and parcel of the game I loved it as I said changed days though.
26-07-2022, 09:23 AM
I classify him as a hothead, passionate. However it still fells like he needs someone who is level headed to sometimes ring him in. He’s had that with Gray, Hanlon and even maybe Stevenson…
26-07-2022, 09:50 AM
A well being time out. Bit like a water break.
26-07-2022, 05:35 PM
We’ve already hit that apparently. It’s called the midfield
cam75
26-07-2022, 07:28 PM
In the Evening news today from DM
At the same time, fans want them to come in and be seven or eight out of 10 every week. They are conscious of that and are working hard to reach that standard.
"Paul will be back, we've got Rocky and Kyle. I'm not sure if Hibs are looking for another centre-back.
No mention of RP is he away by this quote?