View Full Version : Heatwave

AugustaHibs
18-07-2022, 12:15 PM
Anyone else struggling with the weather today?

We should think ourselves lucky that it’s not snowing however, imagine shovelling snow in this heat.

18-07-2022, 12:21 PM
Im loving the weather, kids in the paddling pool, wife and i sat on the recycling seats, happy days

18-07-2022, 12:25 PM
Out by the bins at work it's over 40degrees

https://i.ibb.co/2nY2c6c/20220718-132032.jpg

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

18-07-2022, 12:34 PM
Absolutely love this weather, gutted I am working!

The temperatures in southern England are a bit too extreme for me though.

Lendo
18-07-2022, 12:39 PM
I’ve got a 15km run planned post-work. Genuinely not sure if I should.

CyberSauzee
18-07-2022, 12:45 PM
Currently on train back to London. You can feel it got significantly warmer when we got to the 'red zone'. Train going a bit slower now so delay repay coming my way.

18-07-2022, 12:46 PM
Currently sitting at home in front of a fan, not looking forward to going to work and spending all night in front of the fryer but will cope.

18-07-2022, 12:53 PM
Just me or does it not actually feel as hot as it is meant to be? I had my lunch outside and it was comfortable and certainly didn’t feel as hot as last weekend.

18-07-2022, 01:06 PM
Choked with the cold which is a weird and pretty horrible feeling in this weather ☹️

Jay
18-07-2022, 01:17 PM
Loving it. I know it's such a scottish maw thing to say but I've had 3 loads of washing dried on the line and put away so far . Between loads I'm sitting in the sun enjoying the peace and quiet. It did get a bit hot there had 20 mins inside.

18-07-2022, 01:21 PM
Out by the bins at work it's over 40degrees

https://i.ibb.co/2nY2c6c/20220718-132032.jpg

That's in the sun.

Pop it in the shade for a while and you'll get the real temperature.

18-07-2022, 01:24 PM

You genuinely shouldn't.

It's currently 34° here in North Yorkshire and I've cancelled my golf game.

It's crazy hot now, but tomorrow is forecast to reach 40°!

18-07-2022, 01:24 PM
Hot in Portugal?

I'm sure it is.

G15 Hibs
18-07-2022, 01:29 PM
Thought this was a tribute thread to these chirpy lads

https://youtu.be/Y8Rg85ZqK0o

Got to keep on dancing!

18-07-2022, 01:33 PM
We’re on the beach up at St Andrews.

There are worse places to be in this heat.

The water is lovely and warm and the wee one is loving it.

18-07-2022, 01:40 PM
Office is ****ing roasting.

I went out a run this morning and it was pleasant but it's just too hot now.

This would be ideal if I was in shorts next to a pool with a beer to hand. I'm in an office with full length glass windows and normal clothes though so it's not.

I love the sun but 40 degrees in London must be unbearable. We just aren't set up for this in the UK (albeit it's probably something we are going to have to get used to and get set up for in the coming decade).

ErinGoBraghHFC
18-07-2022, 01:40 PM
We’re on the beach up at St Andrews.

There are worse places to be in this heat.

The water is lovely and warm and the wee one is loving it.

Aye, south Lanarkshire is one of said worse places. Currently frying out ma front, nae breeze to cool you down a bit, it’s magic for half an hour at a time but Christ it’s hot

18-07-2022, 01:42 PM
Lying on the grass under a large beech tree in the botanics, it’s 29 degrees and I’m enjoying a Cornetto Classico. Doesn’t get much better than this :cool: I’ll be in the south of France on Saturday where it’s 10 degrees hotter than this which I’m now slightly concerned about.

18-07-2022, 01:43 PM
Just hit 30 degrees in Leith, first time I've ever seen it that high

18-07-2022, 01:58 PM
That's in the sun.

Pop it in the shade for a while and you'll get the real temperature.I know. The MET temp is in the shade. What u see in the pic is a real temperature though. Its the official "Out By The Bins" temperature.

18-07-2022, 02:02 PM
Currently sitting at home in front of a fan, not looking forward to going to work and spending all night in front of the fryer but will cope.

Used to hate working in a chippy in summer time, I worked in a wee shop in Leith about 25 years ago, I was trapped between the range, the kebab machine and the pizza oven, I could wring my whites out at the end of every night!

I am lucky today, my office is cool compared to outside, 23º inside with the aid of a big ass fan!

18-07-2022, 02:02 PM
Absolutely baking here in Liverpool. The red alert boundary is only 5 miles down the road but there’s a wee coastal breeze here which helps.

18-07-2022, 02:07 PM
Its the official "Out By The Bins" temperature.

patch1875
18-07-2022, 02:09 PM
I’m off today thankfully as I work outside. Not planning on working tomorrow either in this heat so moved the work booked.

18-07-2022, 02:13 PM
I ****ing hate summer.

18-07-2022, 02:15 PM
Tomorrow is meant to be hotter, isn't it?

18-07-2022, 02:32 PM
Tomorrow is meant to be hotter, isn't it?

Aye supposedly. Then a lot cooler Wednesday so probably be thunder tomorrow night

Renfrew_Hibby
18-07-2022, 02:33 PM
Currently in Somerset and you could fry an egg on the pavement, in fact I think you could probably fry one on my napper right now.

Bridge hibs
18-07-2022, 02:34 PM
Garden is boiling, dug peed against the clothes pole & burnt his boaby, he is spreadeagled in his paddling pool now 🥴

18-07-2022, 02:41 PM
Garden is boiling, dug peed against the clothes pole & burnt his boaby, he is spreadeagled in his paddling pool now 🥴

18-07-2022, 02:48 PM
I managed to spill soup fresh out the microwave over my hands earlier, your dug's incident sounds sairer though! 💄

18-07-2022, 02:49 PM
I managed to spill soup fresh out the microwave over my hands earlier

Was that to cool them down 😂

18-07-2022, 03:02 PM

Literally just laughed out loud:aok:

18-07-2022, 03:10 PM
Garden is boiling, dug peed against the clothes pole & burnt his boaby, he is spreadeagled in his paddling pool now [emoji3061]Aw man, that made me laugh out loud on the bus... folks are looking at me like I'm some sort of nutter!

18-07-2022, 03:16 PM
31 degrees
I genuinely can't remember it being this hot in the Lothians.

18-07-2022, 03:25 PM

Personally wouldnt

18-07-2022, 03:28 PM

:not worth:greengrin

18-07-2022, 03:58 PM

Haha, that's superb.

Least he's got somewhere to cool off. Drove home from Leith to East Lothian and saw 3 idiots walking dugs along pavements about an hour ago - sheer cruelty.

Berwickhibby
18-07-2022, 04:13 PM
It was over 38c today in England, but only 29c in Scotland :rolleyes: This is why we need independence as England must be stealing some of the sun destined for Scotland. I bet if Scotland had independence we would be hotter than England or maybe it’s Westminster’s fault :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

18-07-2022, 04:16 PM
It was over 38c today in England, but only 29c in Scotland :rolleyes: This is why we need independence as England must be stealing some of the sun destined for Scotland. I bet if Scotland had independence we would be hotter than England or maybe it’s Westminster’s fault :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

I'm happy that Scotland will always be cooler than England.

18-07-2022, 04:22 PM
Almost a foot of sun up here in Portmahomack :greengrin

Think it's been about 23 this afternoon, tomorrow is meant to be a little bit warmer but nowhere near what Edinburgh is getting.
Nice house on the harbour, beach just the other side of the road and pub is about 50 yards max and a fridge full of beer. 26037

David_D
18-07-2022, 04:26 PM
I was out with the bairn earlier and we managed just 25 mins before we had to go home. Was just way too hot.

18-07-2022, 04:38 PM
I've been sat in a car most of the day - with no working air con 💀
Not so bad when you're driving, having the windows open probably knocks 20°C off the temperature.

Checked the in car temp after being parked up at home for an hour as I had lunch and it was 62°C (30°C outside)😩

Not a great working environment!

*Costa del Livingston FYI

ErinGoBraghHFC
18-07-2022, 04:57 PM
Haha, that's superb.

Least he's got somewhere to cool off. Drove home from Leith to East Lothian and saw 3 idiots walking dugs along pavements about an hour ago - sheer cruelty.

Certainly is, kept the cats in today and will do tomorrow as well. Means emptying the litter boxes more often but is what it is, saves the suffering and a trip to the vets cos the poor buggers have burnt the pads of their paws!

18-07-2022, 05:20 PM
Was that to cool them down 😂

It wasnae very successful! 😣

18-07-2022, 05:30 PM
No just home from work and omg the south east of england very hot with forcaset for 41c tomorrow.

Nice cold wet towel over my neck at the moment.

Any tips on how to sleep?

18-07-2022, 05:31 PM
No just home from work and omg the south east of england very hot with forcaset for 41c tomorrow.

Lying down in bed & closing your eyes usually works

18-07-2022, 05:33 PM

Naked and next to Katy Perry. You won't get much sleep but you'll care less.

18-07-2022, 05:33 PM

Hilarious.

18-07-2022, 05:37 PM
First time I’ve ever felt smug about the weather while in Shetland 😂 a lovely sunny 17 here today, similar tomorrow.

18-07-2022, 05:38 PM
Absolutely love this weather, gutted I am working!

The temperatures in southern England are a bit too extreme for me though.

Far to extreme with it due to be 30c tonight at 22:00 🥵

Roll on Saturday and the Edinburgh weather!

18-07-2022, 06:07 PM

as for me, managed to probably start burning the top of my head, and then 33 degrees driving home round the bypass, although it was pretty quiet for the back of 5 so was pleasant enough with the windows open :greengrin

stu in nottingham
18-07-2022, 06:13 PM

I wouldn't, unless you can postpone it until late in the evening. There are plenty of other days to run. At the same time, that's me being a hypocrite because it's exactly the sort of thing I used to do. One 12-miler on an extremely hot, sunny day saw me suffering with heat exhaustion towards the end of the run. Struggled back and wolfed down some ice cream which I'd been craving due to dehydration. Later on that evening I felt nauseous and dizzy, very unpleasant.

It reached 38C in the shade here today. I worked inside and outside in a shady spot at home. It was a lot easier-going inside. Forecast tomorrow is 40C (feeling like 42C).

18-07-2022, 06:15 PM
Just me or does it not actually feel as hot as it is meant to be? I had my lunch outside and it was comfortable and certainly didn’t feel as hot as last weekend.

It got hotter as the day went on. 32C driving along York Place about 5:45. Pretty hot.

18-07-2022, 06:33 PM
I pretty much hate temperature extremes, too cold and too hot just make me miserable. Went out earlier for a quick errand and the heat hit me like when you step off a plane in the middle of a Spanish summer or something, it was oppresive. Luckily my flat is on the north west corner of the building on the ground floor so it doesn't get the sun and takes a while to heat up. it's been a steady 23/24 degrees all day and with fans on etc it's been fine indoors.

The best way to keep cool in the heat I've found is to soak a towel in the bath with the cold tap, wring it out and chuck it in the freezer for half an hour then drape it over the back of a fan. It definitely fires much cooler air than usual for a good hour until you need to repeat. With places starting off tomorrow around 10 degrees warmer than today, I would be astonished if 40 degrees isn't smashed tomorrow on the south east coast of England. I can't even begin to imagine how that would feel tying to go about your day-to-day life in that heat in an infrastructure built to retain heat, it'll be utterly miserable. Looking at the forecast for tonight down south it looks as though a lot of places won't dip below the mid 20's!!

Jay
18-07-2022, 06:41 PM

Cold water bottles in your bed. 2L pepsi max/coke type of thing filled with cold water. Under the covers keeps the bed cooler and you can stick your feet on one when needed . Been doing it for a few years , swear by it.

Skol
18-07-2022, 06:52 PM

I ran 7 miles home from work and it was a nice run. Hot, yes but I’ve run in worse on holiday.

18-07-2022, 06:52 PM

I think it depends on what you are used to running in.

I ran 80K+ in a 12 hour fixed time event in July 2019 when it hit 25 degrees or so between 11 and 5. I was dehydrated and tired by the end (obviously) but I had trained in hotter in the preceding weeks running in Spain and France so I was confident I would be ok.

I had miles to run today but got out early doors to avoid the worst of the heat. If it's possible wait until 9 or 10 tonight once the sun has gone down and take it easy.

HendoDelivered
18-07-2022, 07:02 PM
Love the weather. I’m a roofer and we got sent home today at midday because it was “too hot to work.” Suited me fine as I lay in the garden for a few hours then done the same down Porty beach. Holiday tan is well and truly topped back up! :greengrin

Wish we got this kind of heat/sun more often.

18-07-2022, 07:30 PM

Any tips on how to sleep?I'm just home from work and considering digging the camp beds out the shed and sleeping in the back garden tonight!

18-07-2022, 08:08 PM
I'm just home from work and considering digging the camp beds out the shed and sleeping in the back garden tonight!Better half has put the sinkers on the idea... apparently when I slept in a tent with the kids one summer sleep out my snoring kept the neighbours awake :-(

Paulie Walnuts
18-07-2022, 08:26 PM
I’m quite enjoying it but it did start to feel a bit hot after being out in it for an hour or two.

Feel sorry for my dog though. He’s not been out at all today other than to do his businesses and he won’t be out tomorrow either unless it’s cool enough when I’m up at 7am. He’s even finding it hot in the house where it’s 26 and I can’t really get the temp down.

Seen loads of folk swanning about with their dogs when the temp hit 31 earlier with the dogs quite visibly struggling. Irresponsible ****ing ********s.

Seen something online saying this is the hottest day since 1975.

18-07-2022, 08:32 PM
I pretty much hate temperature extremes, too cold and too hot just make me miserable. Went out earlier for a quick errand and the heat hit me like when you step off a plane in the middle of a Spanish summer or something, it was oppresive. Luckily my flat is on the north west corner of the building on the ground floor so it doesn't get the sun and takes a while to heat up. it's been a steady 23/24 degrees all day and with fans on etc it's been fine indoors.

The best way to keep cool in the heat I've found is to soak a towel in the bath with the cold tap, wring it out and chuck it in the freezer for half an hour then drape it over the back of a fan. It definitely fires much cooler air than usual for a good hour until you need to repeat. With places starting off tomorrow around 10 degrees warmer than today, I would be astonished if 40 degrees isn't smashed tomorrow on the south east coast of England. I can't even begin to imagine how that would feel tying to go about your day-to-day life in that heat in an infrastructure built to retain heat, it'll be utterly miserable. Looking at the forecast for tonight down south it looks as though a lot of places won't dip below the mid 20's!!

I think 40° will be smashed here and I'm only 200 miles from Edinburgh. It was forecast to be 34 today but it reached 36.

18-07-2022, 09:14 PM
I’m quite enjoying it but it did start to feel a bit hot after being out in it for an hour or two.

Feel sorry for my dog though. He’s not been out at all today other than to do his businesses and he won’t be out tomorrow either unless it’s cool enough when I’m up at 7am. He’s even finding it hot in the house where it’s 26 and I can’t really get the temp down.

Seen loads of folk swanning about with their dogs when the temp hit 31 earlier with the dogs quite visibly struggling. Irresponsible ****ing ********s.

Seen something online saying this is the hottest day since 1975.

Best time to take the dog out for a walk is early in the morning or late at night when it cools down.

18-07-2022, 09:20 PM
Been off work today but literally only been outside to bring in the grill from the barbecue to clean from the weekend and brought in some washing off the line. Still 28 degrees here now according to my phone. Never known anything like it.

18-07-2022, 10:24 PM
Currently on train back to London. You can feel it got significantly warmer when we got to the 'red zone'. Train going a bit slower now so delay repay coming my way.

38 degrees here today. It’s 28 degrees at the moment in the house.

Think I’ll drive into the office tomorrow to take advantage of the aircon!

18-07-2022, 10:27 PM
38 degrees here today.

Think I’ll drive into the office tomorrow to take advantage of the aircon!

I’m not having a go at you, I’m really not, I’ve felt this and done this a few times myself. But you’ve got to see the irony in your proposed solution to the extreme heat caused by man made climate change :greengrin

18-07-2022, 10:29 PM
I’m not having a go at you, I’m really not, I’ve felt this and done this a few times myself. But you’ve got to see the irony in the solution to extreme heat that you’re proposing :greengrin

Oh, I know, but I got f all done today!!

AugustaHibs
18-07-2022, 10:33 PM
How the **** is anyone managing to sleep tonight?

18-07-2022, 10:44 PM

That must be the dug equivalent of trapping your wee man in your fly. Not funny at all.

Seriously warm tonight; the house is like a blast furnace.

ErinGoBraghHFC
19-07-2022, 02:01 AM
Sweltering, can’t get settled whatsoever. Anyone had any luck getting a bit of kip? Got a fan in the room and the mrs is snoring like nothing else. Any ideas?[emoji1787]

Bridge hibs
19-07-2022, 05:21 AM
That must be the dug equivalent of trapping your wee man in your fly. Not funny at all.

Seriously warm tonight; the house is like a blast furnace.Totally mate and no doubt a few of us have suffered that before 😵 dug is all well though, boaby and pride damaged but he is a tough cookie, the pole has been removed to avoid any further drama

19-07-2022, 10:15 AM
11.00am and it's 34° already!

Welcome to Death Valley, North Yorkshire!

19-07-2022, 10:15 AM
Sweltering, can’t get settled whatsoever. Anyone had any luck getting a bit of kip? Got a fan in the room and the mrs is snoring like nothing else. Any ideas?[emoji1787]

It's only 26 degrees here but if it goes over 30, then I'll batten down the hatches and switch the air conditioning timer on for an hour until we're asleep. Nice breeze coming in from the sea so it shouldn't be necessary.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220719/f9258c0eb0f49b0376ed6434e0607bcc.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220719/2e274ac7db5bac6947fefa78e31d051f.jpg

19-07-2022, 10:20 AM
Supposed to be 27 here but the sun's hardly been out all morning and I doubt if it's even 20. Long may it continue!

19-07-2022, 10:33 AM
Supposed to be 27 here but the sun's hardly been out all morning and I doubt if it's even 20. Long may it continue!

Yep, while the air is warm here is West Lothian, it's nothing like yesterday and is probably low 20's just now

Perfect.

19-07-2022, 10:35 AM
37.3 Celsius in Surrey at 11am, it's a matter of when not if the temp record gets smashed today. It'll be 40 something around 1pm somewhere in the South East I'd imagine. That's insane.

19-07-2022, 10:37 AM
Just sat on a bus from Edinburgh - Carlisle, surprisingly pleasant journey, wasn't relishing the prospect at all.

19-07-2022, 10:54 AM
Record now broken with a provisional recording of 39.1 in Surrey. Wouldn't be surprised to see 41/42 later.

19-07-2022, 10:54 AM
Clouds doing their work today. Thanks clouds. :thumbsup:

19-07-2022, 11:08 AM

But where are the clouds?
There ought to be clouds
Well, maybe next year...

🥵

19-07-2022, 11:14 AM
Currently on a beach on the Northumberland coast. Whilst the temperature is the same as yesterday, it doesn't feel as hot in the sun due to a nice wee breeze, yesterday there was no wind at all.

19-07-2022, 11:14 AM
Just had a rain shower here. For 30 seconds anyway...

19-07-2022, 12:17 PM
Just had a rain shower here. For 30 seconds anyway...

Been raining on and of all morning here in the Capital, certainly nothing like it was yesterday.

19-07-2022, 01:21 PM
11.00am and it's 34° already!

Welcome to Death Valley, North Yorkshire!

Well you do live in Dodge City 😉

19-07-2022, 01:25 PM
Well you do live in Dodge City 😉

Doidge City? MWHIBBIES would be in heaven there! 😃

ErinGoBraghHFC
19-07-2022, 01:35 PM

No clouds in SL, sun doesn’t feel quite as intense as yesterday though

19-07-2022, 01:47 PM
27 degrees in the shade inside my studio in the garden with fan on here in the Highlands. Thankfully the house has 60cm thick walls and keeps the heat out.

stu in nottingham
19-07-2022, 02:15 PM
It's 40C this afternoon in Nottingham, beating the hottest day ever in the city (which was yesterday!)

It all feels a bit unreal.

19-07-2022, 02:18 PM
Today has been much better for me, it's hot but no blinding hot sunshine, I'm happy when it's like this

19-07-2022, 02:25 PM
California or Kent?

https://youtu.be/7NP7GF8xS5g

19-07-2022, 02:27 PM
It's 40C this afternoon in Nottingham, beating the hottest day ever in the city (which was yesterday!)

It all feels a bit unreal.

Brutal, mate. This kind of thing is going to become more commonplace.

19-07-2022, 02:29 PM
Heatwave is now causing fires to spread as expected. Can't believe it's necessary for the fire brigade to have to ask people not to have barbecues or bonfires.

stu in nottingham
19-07-2022, 02:38 PM
California or Kent?

https://youtu.be/7NP7GF8xS5g

Incredible scenes, one's which I never thought we'd see in this country. We had a couple of similar fires in Notts yesterday. Big thanks to the fire service who are working extra hard to keep things under control at this time.

stu in nottingham
19-07-2022, 02:45 PM
Brutal, mate. This kind of thing is going to become more commonplace.

Look on the bright side. I'm doing a fry up on the pavement tonight. :greengrin

19-07-2022, 02:49 PM
Look on the bright side. I'm doing a fry up on the pavement tonight. :greengrin

Saw a video of someone cooking a fry up on the top of a discarded metal fridge somewhere down south.

19-07-2022, 03:11 PM
Grass fires around London, more than 250 firefighters at them. East of London property is at risk

19-07-2022, 03:20 PM
Grass fires around London, more than 250 firefighters at them. East of London property is at risk

its insane that disposable barbecues havent been banned. Those sky lanterns also really dangerous.

19-07-2022, 03:40 PM

People burning their drugs outwith a spliff? 🤔😉

19-07-2022, 03:51 PM
its insane that disposable barbecues havent been banned. Those sky lanterns also really dangerous.

I used one last night, in my own garden, on top of 2 fire bricks on a table in the middle of the lawn. No problem apart from the Badgers tipping it over during the night after it had cooled down.

Sky lanterns on the other hand, we have no control over them.

19-07-2022, 04:09 PM
I used one last night, in my own garden, on top of 2 fire bricks on a table in the middle of the lawn. No problem apart from the Badgers tipping it over during the night after it had cooled down.

Sky lanterns on the other hand, we have no control over them.

Not everyone is as responsible a user as you or your badgers though:greengrin

19-07-2022, 04:10 PM
Not everyone is as responsible a user as you or your badgers though:greengrin

😂😂😂 Not my Badgers, they are a law unto themselves 😂

19-07-2022, 04:19 PM
Not my Badgers

A likely story.

stu in nottingham
19-07-2022, 04:24 PM
Seven grass and forest fires fires in Notts in the past few days including Sherwood Forest, some still raging.

https://www.nottinghampost.com/news/nottingham-news/gallery/images-show-sheer-scale-huge-7330987

https://www.nottinghampost.com/news/nottingham-news/live-nottinghamshire-fire-updates-huge-7353049

https://www.nottinghampost.com/news/local-news/picture-sho ws-scale-grass-fire-7350821

https://www.nottinghampost.com/news/nottingham-news/smoke-billowing-nottinghamshire-sky-people-7350837

https://www.nottinghampost.com/news/nottingham-news/fire-crews-attacked-golf-balls-7341351

https://www.nottinghampost.com/news/nottingham-news/aerial-pictures-show-scale-huge-7343891

https://www.nottinghampost.com/news/nottingham-news/live-bestwood-fire-updates-major-7343739

19-07-2022, 05:01 PM
Highest ever temperature was recorded today in Scotland, 34.8 degrees. 2 degrees higher than the previous in 2003.

Stairway 2 7
19-07-2022, 05:17 PM
Thursday Friday 17 degrees and drizzly so get your washing hung out now

19-07-2022, 05:36 PM
Yesterday was horrible here but today much worse and could feel it as soon as I left the house for work.

Can't wait for a weekend of Edinburgh weather!

19-07-2022, 05:39 PM
Nipped to the shop first thing, it was dull and quite pleasant, but quickly became horribly warm and stifling

Stairway 2 7
19-07-2022, 06:00 PM
Yesterday was horrible here but today much worse and could feel it as soon as I left the house for work.

Can't wait for a weekend of Edinburgh weather!

Mid 20s and rain in the south east of England tomorrow so just stand out in it and you'll be grand

19-07-2022, 06:21 PM
We got a 39c in Chesterfield today. Has been a fun day windows all shut curtains all drawn and ive currently got Covid! Down to 32c now.

19-07-2022, 07:03 PM
It's still 30 outside and 27.6 inside.

Back to 20 tomorrow. Bonkers.

19-07-2022, 09:16 PM
Today was brutal. Worse than yesterday because it was that humid, draining heat.

I walked to work just after 6 and it was quite pleasant then. By 2pm it was almost unbearable in the office. I walked home as well (and forgot to pick up my water bottle) and I was ****ed by the time I got home. Just went out to run some hill reps just now and it's still horrible and heavy. Has that feel you get just before thunder and lightning hits town.

Another sleepless night incoming.

19-07-2022, 10:13 PM
What was the hottest temperature in the UK today?

19-07-2022, 10:17 PM
What was the hottest temperature in the UK today?

The previous hottest (apart from yesterday) was 38.7 in 2019.

19-07-2022, 10:19 PM

The previous hottest (apart from yesterday) was 38.7 in 2019.

Aye, it's been brutal today. I'm upstairs just now, fan on, but it's blowing hot air. The hoose is like a furnace.

19-07-2022, 10:21 PM
Aye, it's been brutal today. I'm upstairs just now, fan on, but it's blowing hot air. The hoose is like a furnace.

Here it's still 27.6 downstairs and 32 up.

So uncomfortable.

stu in nottingham
19-07-2022, 10:29 PM

The same here, sat in front of a fan all evening, thinking it's getting more comfortable, then you move away from the fan and it's like someone left the central heating on for three months. The heat is just not dispersing from the house despite all efforts.

The 40.3C was recorded in Coningsby in Lincolnshire, (it's quite near New York!) Thank god it will be a mere 26C here tomorrow...

20-07-2022, 12:36 AM
Two fantastic days for business 😀it seems like half of Edinburgh decided not to cook for themselves. It was pretty hot in the shop but survived taking in plenty of water.

20-07-2022, 12:56 AM
Two fantastic days for business 😀it seems like half of Edinburgh decided not to cook for themselves. It was pretty hot in the shop but survived taking in plenty of water.

In the past two days I've eaten a bowl of Weetabix, a cheese sandwich and a couple of apples. No appetite.

20-07-2022, 01:05 AM
In the past two days I've eaten a bowl of Weetabix, a cheese sandwich and a couple of apples. No appetite.

To be honest that’s how I predicted many people would be,it certainly didn’t seem to be the case though.

20-07-2022, 06:01 AM
I must be one of the few who actually enjoyed the heat the last few days, the office got a bit sticky yesterday but nothing major, got home and the kids were out in the garden playing, had a decent sleep as well

20-07-2022, 07:12 AM
Estimated 1000 people have died due to the extreme heatwave and many people have lost their homes due to wildfires. Can't help but think this is only the beginning and we in Northern Europe will have to adapt to another new normal.

20-07-2022, 08:04 AM
David Icke predicted it all 🙃

20-07-2022, 08:11 AM
Back to normal. Light sweat top on this morning while working.

20-07-2022, 08:19 AM
I love the heat so quite happy in principle to see it hitting the 30s. But scary that this is going to be become increasingly normal in Scotland, and the impact it will have is going to be terrifying.

Paulie Walnuts
20-07-2022, 09:22 AM
My house has been 29 degrees for the last day, can’t get the temperature down at all but it’s much cooler today so it’ll hopefully start to drop soon.

Went to get a caramel wafer from the cupboard last night and it was melted and a tub of coconut oil has went from solid to complete liquid. Had the Lurpak out the fridge earlier for about 10 mins and it was starting to get a bit wet.

Mental.

20-07-2022, 02:58 PM
Apart from the last two days it has been a pretty crap summer so far.

20-07-2022, 03:46 PM
Baltic today , had to dig out the hat and scarf

20-07-2022, 04:49 PM
Hit 40 down here in SE London yesterday. Last time I experienced heat like that I was in a desert. There really isnt a lot you can do when it gets that high. Forest fires nearby which is just crazy.

20-07-2022, 05:00 PM
Much better today all though was still hot for my body but fingers crossed that's it now for this summer.

Looks not to bad for Sunday for the game with High's of 21c with some light rain.

20-07-2022, 05:04 PM
I really don’t like Macron politically, but this is the kind of initiative that an inward looking Britannia really isn’t capable of at the moment. React to events and shape the coming world.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2022/jul/20/macron-vows-to-rebuild-and-replant-by-different-rules-after-french-fires

20-07-2022, 05:22 PM
I really don’t like Macron politically, but this is the kind of initiative that an inward looking Britannia really isn’t capable of at the moment. React to events and shape the coming world.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2022/jul/20/macron-vows-to-rebuild-and-replant-by-different-rules-after-french-fires

It doesn't do anything to address or slow the cause though.

20-07-2022, 05:37 PM
It doesn't do anything to address or slow the cause though.

Well I suppose. But it IS possible to walk and whistle at the same time :greengrin

20-07-2022, 05:43 PM
Well I suppose. But it IS possible to walk and whistle at the same time :greengrin

We really should give it a try!

20-07-2022, 05:48 PM
We really should give it a try!

It would be a nice change :aok:

20-07-2022, 06:17 PM
My house was 30oC all day today. Up to 37 yesterday.

Starting to fall now. Window wide open and down to 26oC.

Just about to put the hibs game on the TV. Not great sat in a room in this heat.

20-07-2022, 10:35 PM
So much better today :aok:

21-07-2022, 07:41 AM
Another heatwave is predicted for end of July and start of August with High's of 35 for the 31st of July 😔

21-07-2022, 08:22 AM
Another heatwave is predicted for end of July and start of August with High's of 35 for the 31st of July 😔

Thunderstorms between now and then too.

21-07-2022, 09:30 AM
Another heatwave is predicted for end of July and start of August with High's of 35 for the 31st of July ��

Edinburgh is 18 degrees for 31 July according to the BBC weather site.

21-07-2022, 10:07 AM
I benefitted from having an old masonry house when it was heating up as it stayed 10 degrees below the outside. It’s taking an age to cool down now.

Thermal inertia!

pollution
21-07-2022, 11:20 AM

Where did you see that ? Is it for Edinburgh or where ?

stu in nottingham
21-07-2022, 11:56 AM
Staff in my local in the city were taking it in turns to spend time in the caves under the pub which serve as cellars, as in numerous Nottingham pubs. Nice ambient temperature of around 11C down there!

This is the second storey down. Some pubs have three storeys of caves.

21-07-2022, 11:58 AM
Where did you see that ? Is it for Edinburgh or where ?

Was an article from the express but says only really south east and London will get these heats and Scotland will be much cooler.

www.express.co.uk/news/weather/1643248/August-heatwave-Long-range-weather-forecast-latest-met-office-weather-warnings-update-2022/amp

21-07-2022, 12:07 PM
Was an article from the express but says only really south east and London will get these heats and Scotland will be much cooler.

www.express.co.uk/news/weather/1643248/August-heatwave-Long-range-weather-forecast-latest-met-office-weather-warnings-update-2022/amp

Doesn’t say that in the weather forecast.

It is the express, though. They run a “worst winter since ‘63” article every November!

They also say Brexit’s going briliantly.

21-07-2022, 02:10 PM
Doesn’t say that in the weather forecast.

It is the express, though. They run a “worst winter since ‘63” article every November!

They also say Brexit’s going briliantly.

Well a stopped clock will be correct twice a day... doesn't apply to the Brexit comment though

21-07-2022, 03:53 PM

The least reliable publication ANYWHERE for weather projections.

I'd trust most folk on here ahead of The Express. They predict 'SNOW ARMAGGEDON TO HIT UK!' type headlines every year and are never correct. Nothing in the latest Met models to suggest another heatwave like we've just experienced.

21-07-2022, 04:10 PM
Thunder, lightning and rain hammering down on the caravan and awning with the hot humid air being replaced by a cool draught. Heaven!!!

21-07-2022, 04:23 PM
17° forecast for here tomorrow.

I've got a wear a jacket and tie so I'm very pleased.

08-08-2022, 06:44 PM
Getting hot again today and will continue this week.

A few outlets now publishing it could hit 40 sometime this month.

08-08-2022, 08:54 PM
Getting hot again today and will continue this week.

A few outlets now publishing it could hit 40 sometime this month.Better get out and rake the leaves from our forest floors

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

stu in nottingham
09-08-2022, 01:12 PM
We hit 40C in the previous heatwave which was pretty sapping.

The mercury is rising again this week, 28C now and rising to 34C for several days later this week. Starting to feel 'normal' now.

09-08-2022, 03:45 PM
We hit 40C in the previous heatwave which was pretty sapping.

The mercury is rising again this week, 28C now and rising to 34C for several days later this week. Starting to feel 'normal' now.

Yes 34c is the highest forcast for where I am which will be Saturday but like last time I think it will rise a little each day.

16-06-2023, 07:28 PM
That's the sun been out in my location for a preview of another hot heatwave? I really hope we dont hit the 40s again.

The highest it's been for me so far is 29 and I seen it's also been nice in Edinburgh also.

16-06-2023, 07:36 PM
That's the sun been out in my location for a preview of another hot heatwave? I really hope we dont hit the 40s again.

The highest it's been for me so far is 29 and I seen it's also been nice in Edinburgh also.

21 in Edinburgh and rain on the way.Been great but nae heatwave.

16-06-2023, 09:27 PM

I've just done 2 journeys, Perthshire to Yorkshire then Yorkshire to Devon, both on predominantly motorway, and I'm knackered! Sun beating down and the aircon can't cope. Stuck in traffic at penrith on Wednesday then around Manchester (accident on the A66 at penrith meant a change of route. Today was traffic around Birmingham and Bristol. Return journey I'm seriously considering avoiding motorways.

17-06-2023, 03:19 PM
I've just done 2 journeys, Perthshire to Yorkshire then Yorkshire to Devon, both on predominantly motorway, and I'm knackered! Sun beating down and the aircon can't cope. Stuck in traffic at penrith on Wednesday then around Manchester (accident on the A66 at penrith meant a change of route. Today was traffic around Birmingham and Bristol. Return journey I'm seriously considering avoiding motorways.

I have a 500 mile or so round trip split between Sunday late evening and Monday early afternoon. Glad I have the chance to do at least half in the cooler part of the day and with less traffic. The weather has been horrendous for someone like me who hates the heat. We better get used to it though as it will get worse decade on decade

17-06-2023, 03:57 PM
M6 toll. :aok:

17-06-2023, 06:09 PM
M6 toll. :aok:

Not sure if that was where I was. M1 past Sheffield then towards Birmingham, East Side, M42?, before hitting the M5.

18-06-2023, 03:36 PM
Heatwave coming to an end, at least in Devon, thunder been rumbling for an hour and the rain is falling, at last!

pollution
18-06-2023, 07:41 PM
Thunder and lightning over the Lammermuirs, heading north. Get rid of this humidity I hope.

18-06-2023, 07:52 PM
RAIN. GLORIOUS RAIN.

Bring on the flash flooding.

Bridge hibs
18-06-2023, 08:18 PM
RAIN. GLORIOUS RAIN.

Bring on the flash flooding.My Wife has had her fan out the past few days and its taken a right old battering !! Hate this humidity so struggling to sleep 🥱

18-06-2023, 10:06 PM
You just can't please some people on here moan when the summer is rubbish moan when it's too hot then go on holiday to Torremolinos and check the weather back home then moan that we wasted 2 grand on a holiday cause the weather is warmer back home. Pray for rain to cool things down then moan when it rains for days saying well that's the summer over then complain that we had a rotten summer and hark back to the old days and tell you that you remember being able to fry an egg on the tarmac because it was so hot. Then tell you that was when we had proper summers.😁
And we couldn't get Watneys Red Barrel anywhere

18-06-2023, 10:26 PM
You just can't please some people on here moan when the summer is rubbish moan when it's too hot then go on holiday to Torremolinos and check the weather back home then moan that we wasted 2 grand on a holiday cause the weather is warmer back home. Pray for rain to cool things down then moan when it rains for days saying well that's the summer over then complain that we had a rotten summer and hark back to the old days and tell you that you remember being able to fry an egg on the tarmac because it was so hot. Then tell you that was when we had proper summers.😁
And we couldn't get Watneys Red Barrel anywhere

Ach, stop your moaning.

Double Diamond ya bass!