View Full Version : The League Cup Group
17-07-2022, 04:21 PM
How does it stand? The BBC seem to think that Falkirk are on 5 points after a draw and win.
CL0762
17-07-2022, 04:23 PM
How does it stand? The BBC seem to think that Falkirk are on 5 points after a draw and win.
They are. You get an extra point for winning the penalty shootout after a draw.
17-07-2022, 04:24 PM
Think Falkir k won the " bonus" point on penalties after drawing their 1st game.
17-07-2022, 04:27 PM
We have 6 from 3 games and Falkirk have 5 from 2. I think they are almost certain to win the group and we are in the mix for at best a 2nd place slot, which is far from guaranteed. Poor show from us, looking at the quality in our group.
17-07-2022, 04:39 PM
Of all the groups we currently have the best goal difference.
17-07-2022, 04:50 PM
Posted this on another thread after yesterday's matches - wording amended slightly after today's game.
Just gone through the remaining fixtures and made a prediction as to how I think each of the groups will finish.
Group A
Aberdeen - 12
Stirling Albion - 8
Raith Rovers - 7
Dumbarton - 3
Peterhead - 0
Group B
Partick Thistle - 11
Kilmarnock - 10
Montrose - 5
Stenhousemuir - 4
Fraserburgh - 0
Group C
Ross County - 11
Dunfermline - 8
Alloa - 6
East Fife - 4
Buckie Thistle - 1
Group D
Falkirk - 11
Hibs - 9
Morton - 4
Bonnyrigg - 3
Clyde - 3
Group E
Arbroath - 12
St Mirren - 9
FC Edinburgh - 5
Airdrie - 4
Cowdenbeath - 0
Group F
Annan - 10
Queen of the South - 8
Ayr - 6
St Johnstone - 6
Elgin - 1
Group G
Inverness CT - 12
Livingston - 9
Cove Rangers - 6
Albion Rovers - 3
Kelty Hearts - 0
Group H
Queen's Park - 11
Dundee - 9
Hamilton - 7
Forfar - 2
Stranraer - 1
Group winners
Aberdeen - 12 (seeded)
Arbroath - 12 (seeded)
Inverness CT - 12 (seeded)
Falkirk - 11 (unseeded)
Partick Thistle - 11 (unseeded)
Queen's Park - 11 (unseeded)
Ross County - 11 (unseeded)
Annan - 10 (unseeded)
Second placed teams
Kilmarnock - 10 (qualified)
Dundee - 9 *
Hibs - 9 *
Livingston - 9 *
St Mirren - 9 *
Dunfermline - 8 (eliminated)
Stirling Albion - 8 (eliminated)
Queen of the South - 8 (eliminated)
So if my predictions go to plan we will be fighting it out with Dundee, Livingston and St Mirren for the final two spots in the last 16.
Dundee's goal difference is currently one less than ours but Livingston's and St Mirren's is considerably worse.
I'm still very confident that a win v Morton inside 90 minutes will be enough to see us through but we have zero margin for error - anything less than that and we'll almost certainly be out.
So I think the last 16 will be;
Seeded
Aberdeen
Arbroath
Celtic
Dundee Utd
Hearts
Inverness CT
Motherwell
Rangers
Unseeded
Annan
Dundee
Falkirk
Hibs
Kilmarnock
Partick Thistle
Queen's Park
Ross County
17-07-2022, 05:12 PM
Falkirk away to Bonnyrigg is no gimme , it’s Falkirk we’re talking about can’t just assume they will get 6/6 points
17-07-2022, 05:14 PM
Falkirk away to Bonnyrigg is no gimme , it’s Falkirk we’re talking about can’t just assume they will get 6/6 points
I'm the same, can see Bonnyrigg giving them a tough game.
17-07-2022, 05:19 PM
Based on the the games we've had against the two of them Falkirk should win easily.
I think we will see a different Falkirk side this season to the one that's done so badly over the past 2 or 3 years. Personally think they'll now win the group.
Even 5 points for Falkirk from their last 2 games will be sufficient.
LewysGot2
17-07-2022, 05:33 PM
I'm the same, can see Bonnyrigg giving them a tough game.
That pitch is something else. It sloped from on end to the other AND from one wing to the other. There were more undulations on it than a crazy golf course 😂
Sure the Hibs element in the Bonnyrigg side will try.
17-07-2022, 08:05 PM
Falkirk massively raised their game for us as you'd expect but were pish against Morton. Definitely not over yet.
147lothian
17-07-2022, 09:14 PM
Falkirk massively raised their game for us as you'd expect but were pish against Morton. Definitely not over yet.
I like your optimism, hope your right
17-07-2022, 09:15 PM
Said it after the Falkirk game, its a disaster. Don't see us qualifying.
17-07-2022, 09:18 PM
We will be through unseeded. Bonnyrigg are a pub team with pub players.
17-07-2022, 09:21 PM
Said it after the Falkirk game, its a disaster. Don't see us qualifying.
Based on what? We won't beat Morton?
17-07-2022, 09:22 PM
Morton still have the potential to be a banana skin.
Johnson looks like he's getting closer to deciding on his best team and we definitely looked like we took the game more seriously today than on Tuesday.
I know it represents 50% of the competitions we start of the season with a serious chance of winning and that we have a very decent recent record of reaching the latter stages of it but I'm not convinced Hibs are treating as anything other than a series of warm up matches for the league season.
17-07-2022, 09:23 PM
Bonnyrigg play at a good standard for part time semi pros….miles above any pub football..if you want to criticise Hibs, fire away but why bother with the rude and exaggerated criticism of Bonnyrigg?
17-07-2022, 09:26 PM
Perhaps our second place won’t be good enough.
17-07-2022, 09:28 PM
Steady on, Bonnyrigg are far from a pub team.
17-07-2022, 09:39 PM
Perhaps our second place won’t be good enough.As the poster above who worked out the most likely finishing positions has shown pretty well, likely that only Kili will be able to finish on more than 9 points and still in 2nd place.
Assuming we beat Morton, then it leaves us needing to have at least the 2nd best goal difference. We currently have the best and only Dundee are even close to our GD.
I'd say that leaves us in the category of win our next game and it's very likely we're through. Don't see the need for people to sensationalise it like they have been since the Falkirk game.
18-07-2022, 01:57 AM
Going through unseeded would be a poor start to the season for me. We should've romped this group, the lower league teams in our group are also still putting their squads together, getting to know each other and building fitness, we've no excuse whatsoever.
I like Johnson so far but the team that he put out against Falkirk was a mistake. That was always going to be our most difficult game of the group and he should've gone full strength there. Hopefully if we do end up unseeded that mistake doesn't come back to bite him in the draw.
K-Zazu
18-07-2022, 02:17 AM
Based on the the games we've had against the two of them Falkirk should win easily.
I think we will see a different Falkirk side this season to the one that's done so badly over the past 2 or 3 years. Personally think they'll now win the group.
Even 5 points for Falkirk from their last 2 games will be sufficient.
No one cares about Falkirk
18-07-2022, 02:56 AM
No one cares about Falkirk
I'd suggest quite a few people on here might care about their last two group games.
Going through unseeded would be a poor start to the season for me. We should've romped this group, the lower league teams in our group are also still putting their squads together, getting to know each other and building fitness, we've no excuse whatsoever.
I like Johnson so far but the team that he put out against Falkirk was a mistake. That was always going to be our most difficult game of the group and he should've gone full strength there. Hopefully if we do end up unseeded that mistake doesn't come back to bite him in the draw.
A poor start would be going out.
Going through unseaded would be an average start.
18-07-2022, 06:44 AM
As the poster above who worked out the most likely finishing positions has shown pretty well, likely that only Kili will be able to finish on more than 9 points and still in 2nd place.
Assuming we beat Morton, then it leaves us needing to have at least the 2nd best goal difference. We currently have the best and only Dundee are even close to our GD.
I'd say that leaves us in the category of win our next game and it's very likely we're through. Don't see the need for people to sensationalise it like they have been since the Falkirk game.
You are forgetting about Dunfermline. Ross County will probably win the group, but Dunfermline are on 6pts, and goal difference of +6
We need to win by 3/4 against Morton to be safe
18-07-2022, 07:01 AM
This is why this LC format is pish. I know it is sold as “competitive games” but clubs like us need a proper pre-season.
Not competitive games. Games where the manager can try out new formations, where game time and experimentation can take place in a relatively risk free environment. Players fitness and sharpness are key.
As has been said, this is 50% of the Cups we can win, shame if a new team v Falkirk would be the undoing.
Bring back trips to the likes Bolton, Blackburn, Shrewsbury Town and Blackpool.
Crunchie
18-07-2022, 07:05 AM
This is why this LC format is pish. I know it is sold as “competitive games” but clubs like us need a proper pre-season.
Not competitive games. Games where the manager can try out new formations, where game time and experimentation can take place in a relatively risk free environment. Players fitness and sharpness are key.
As has been said, this is 50% of the Cups we can win, shame if a new team v Falkirk would be the undoing.
I think it's great, way better than the old format. Each to their own and all that.
18-07-2022, 08:08 AM
Only 3 2nd placed teams qualify. Partick Thistle and who ever finishes 2nd in the Dundee group will qualify ahead of us. Leaves one spot for all the rest and a few teams will finish on 9 points. Gonna come down to goal difference.
Paulie Walnuts
18-07-2022, 08:14 AM
Bonnyrigg play at a good standard for part time semi pros….miles above any pub football..if you want to criticise Hibs, fire away but why bother with the rude and exaggerated criticism of Bonnyrigg?
I often don’t think people quite realise the standard of these guys.
If you were ever playing 5s or something with someone that plays for a part time SPFL team or even one of the better Lowland League teams then you can guarantee they’d be the best player there by a country mile. Decent Lowland League teams would take 15-20 goals off most amateur teams.
18-07-2022, 08:28 AM
Only 3 2nd placed teams qualify. Partick Thistle and who ever finishes 2nd in the Dundee group will qualify ahead of us. Leaves one spot for all the rest and a few teams will finish on 9 points. Gonna come down to goal difference.
Which we are well ahead of Livingston and St Mirren. I’d check again regarding the Dundee group, I’m sure we are a goal or 2 in front.
A good, 3-0 win v Morton and we’ve qualified.
18-07-2022, 08:42 AM
Which we are well ahead of Livingston and St Mirren. I’d check again regarding the Dundee group, I’m sure we are a goal or 2 in front.
A good, 3-0 win v Morton and we’ve qualified.
We are a goal ahead but we have played a game more. Even then there is a good chance both teams in that group finish on 10 points.
Expectation was to win 4 out of 4 but if we go through and avoid Celtic and Rangers then we've dodged a bullet and would be no worse off. Have no worries about any other seeded team and would be happy with a trip to Tynecastle.
18-07-2022, 09:04 AM
We are a goal ahead but we have played a game more. Even then there is a good chance both teams in that group finish on 10 points.
Dundee play Queens Park tomorrow. Unless it is a draw then one of them will only be able to get a maximum of 9 points.
18-07-2022, 09:15 AM
Falkirk are a daft wee club riddled with yams. Hibs was their cup final. Only need to look at Brad McKay, failed everywhere he's played, celebrating Infront of the Hibs fans at full time. Run that game back 9 more times we win them all. They could struggle in the remaining games.
18-07-2022, 06:36 PM
Steady on, Bonnyrigg are far from a pub team.
Their keeper's about 18 stone. Very much in the mould of a pub team player.
dchibs
18-07-2022, 07:15 PM
Their keeper's about 18 stone. Very much in the mould of a pub team player.
About the same weight as Conrad then and he did ok.:thumbsup:
Hibees1973
18-07-2022, 08:37 PM
What an effin joke.
Discussing permutations for us with the likes of Falkirk, Arbroath and Morton.
Reading this is grim.
Dearie me.
18-07-2022, 08:45 PM
Folk who advocate a 16 team league want more of these mini leagues to make up the lost games.
SJNB Hibby
19-07-2022, 09:32 AM
Folk who advocate a 16 team league want more of these mini leagues to make up the lost games.
All we need to do is qualify for Europe...no more league cup groups
SJNB Hibby
19-07-2022, 11:34 AM
Whole bunch of games today, bit of an advantage to us as we will get a better idea of what we need to do to qualify:
Group A
Dumbarton v Raith
Stirling v Aberdeen..............Couple of home wins would be nice. unlikely in the latter, but a Dumbarton win on penalties would be a help
Group B
Montrose v Stenny
Partick v Fraserburgh..........Partick dropping points to Fraserburgh would be handy, but highly unlikely
Group C
Alloa v Ross
E Fife v Buckie.................An Alloa win would suit us better as their last game is away to Dunfy, who would end up being seeded if they win it
Group E
Airdrie v St Mirren.....Airdrie away to Arbroath in their final game---best for us if they win
Group F
Annan v Ayr
Elgin v St J................If Ayr dont win outright, nobody can get 2nd place with 9 points
Group G
Cove v Kelty
ICT v Albion..............The best outcome is the most unlikely, Albion getting smething at ICT
Group H
Forfar v Stranrear
QP v Dundee..........This is a toss-up, QPO & Dundee both have +6 gd. Maybe a narrow win for the Spiders
The number of non-PL teams that could win their groups AND get seeded is crazy
19-07-2022, 01:36 PM
The number of non-PL teams that could win their groups AND get seeded is crazy[/QUOTE]
It highlights how many of the bigger sides are either under prepared or not taking the completion as seriously as they could and probably should.
19-07-2022, 01:55 PM
The number of non-PL teams that could win their groups AND get seeded is crazy
It highlights how many of the bigger sides are either under prepared or not taking the completion as seriously as they could and probably should.[/QUOTE]
It's impossible to be fully prepared without forgoing a summer break.
19-07-2022, 02:09 PM
It highlights how many of the bigger sides are either under prepared or not taking the completion as seriously as they could and probably should.
It's impossible to be fully prepared without forgoing a summer break.[/QUOTE]
Falkirk seemed to managed it ok.
19-07-2022, 02:11 PM
It's impossible to be fully prepared without forgoing a summer break.
Falkirk seemed to managed it ok.[/QUOTE]
Buying Scottish players negates any work permit issues.
Arch Stanton
19-07-2022, 02:23 PM
What an effin joke.
Reading this is grim.
Dearie me.
Dearie you indeed!
Well done for making it through 36 grim posts all the same.
19-07-2022, 02:51 PM
Falkirk seemed to managed it ok.
Just about the worst example of running a club over the past 5 years or so. Their lucky win over us really doesn't prove much.
19-07-2022, 03:10 PM
What an effin joke.
Reading this is grim.
Dearie me.
Not really. We lost 1-0 away to Falkirk in July before the league starts. Sandwiched between a 5-0 and 4-1 win. It is what it is. Our legendary cup winning side got horsed 6-2 in July in the Tetley Teabag Cup at Easter Road. There are obvious positive signs with this squad, you just need to look for them.
ChicoM1875
19-07-2022, 03:21 PM
What an effin joke.
Reading this is grim.
Dearie me.
"Dearie me" seems to be one of the most used .net-isms.
That and the word Turgid. Don't think I've ever heard anyone use this word, unless it's on this forum.
SJNB Hibby
19-07-2022, 03:29 PM
Dearie you indeed!
Well done for making it through 36 grim posts all the same.
Even grimmer if you're a St Johnstone fan
19-07-2022, 04:07 PM
What an effin joke.
Reading this is grim.
Dearie me.
Agreed, but sadly this is where we’re at. If we don’t make the last four of the League Cup it would be a poor first half of the season.
DIXIHIBS
19-07-2022, 04:21 PM
Agreed, but sadly this is where we’re at. If we don’t make the last four of the League Cup it would be a poor first half of the season.
Poor first half of season!! The league hasnt even started yet. So if we're sitting top of the league at xmas but didnt make last 4 of league cup that's poor? Dearie me alright.
Radge70
19-07-2022, 09:36 PM
Qualification Possibilities if Hibs beat Moton in 90 mins (after tonight’s games)
Group A – 1st and 2nd place Aberdeen and Raith play each other, making it impossible that one of them will come above us.
Group B - 1st and 2nd place Partick and Killie play Montrose and Stenhousemuir respectively so it is unlikely we will finish above either.
Group C – 2nd placed Dunfermline would need to beat Alloa by 2 more goals more than the margin we beat Morton by for them to come above us
Group E - 1st and 2nd place Arbroath and Airdrie play each other, making it impossible that one of them will come above us.
Group F – 2nd and 3rd place QOS and St Johnstone can’t come above us
Group G – Livi would need to beat Kelty by 5 for it to be possible for them to come above us
Group H - 2nd and 3rd place Queens Park and Hamilton play each other and Queens Park would need to win by 4 to come above us and Hamilton by 6.
Summary – There are 8 groups and the 3 best 2nd place teams qualify. If Hibs beat Morton then 3 out of the 8 definitely can’t come above us, 2 are very unlikely to, 1 has an outside chance (Dunfermline) and 1 probably will (Partick or Killie but there’s even a chance that they won’t). So it’s pretty certain that a win v Morton will get us qualification in at least second place.
19-07-2022, 09:40 PM
Qualification Possibilities if Hibs beat Moton in 90 mins (after tonight’s games)
Group A – 1st and 2nd place Aberdeen and Raith play each other, making it impossible that one of them will come above us.
Group B - 1st and 2nd place Partick and Killie play Montrose and Stenhousemuir respectively so it is unlikely we will finish above either.
Group C – 2nd placed Dunfermline would need to beat Alloa by 2 more goals more than the margin we beat Morton by for them to come above us
Group E - 1st and 2nd place Arbroath and Airdrie play each other, making it impossible that one of them will come above us.
Group G – Livi would need to beat Kelty by 5 for it to be possible for them to come above us
Group H - 2nd and 3rd place Queens Park and Hamilton play each other and Queens Park would need to win by 4 to come above us and Hamilton by 6.
Summary – There are 8 groups and the 3 best 2nd place teams qualify. If Hibs beat Morton then 3 out of the 8 definitely can’t come above us, 2 are very unlikely to, 1 has an outside chance (Dunfermline) and 1 probably will (Partick or Killie but there’s even a chance that they won’t). So it’s pretty certain that a win v Morton will get us qualification in at least second place.
Of course Falkirk could fail to win one of their last 2 games meaning we finish top
19-07-2022, 09:51 PM
"Dearie me" seems to be one of the most used .net-isms.
That and the word Turgid. Don't think I've ever heard anyone use this word, unless it's on this forum.
And turgid is the wrong word.
19-07-2022, 09:58 PM
great work, very much appreciate you going through that ! Looking positive, let’s hope it’s a convincing win 4plus goals to nowt :greengrin
AdidasHibernian
19-07-2022, 10:05 PM
Let's just go out and be professional and win by 2/3 goals tomorrow hibs..least by hook or crook we've got through, then see which we get and try our best to keep the run going again in the cups.
🇳🇬🥬
19-07-2022, 10:06 PM
You don't even try to hide it these days.
19-07-2022, 10:29 PM
Let's just go out and be professional and win by 2/3 goals tomorrow hibs..least by hook or crook we've got through, then see which we get and try our best to keep the run going again in the cups.
🇳🇬🥬
Looks like the last 16 will be;
Seeded
Aberdeen
Celtic
Dundee
Dundee Utd
Hearts
Inverness CT
Motherwell
Rangers
Unseeded
Annan
Arbroath
Falkirk
Hibs
Kilmarnock
Partick Thistle
Queen's Park
Ross County
Dundee or Inverness CT at Easter Road please.
King Cosell
19-07-2022, 10:29 PM
Of course Falkirk could fail to win one of their last 2 games meaning we finish top
Bonnyrigg 11/5 Draw 23/10 Falkirk 10/11
Can't see Falkirk failing to beat Clyde at home, so if they're going to screw it up, it'll be tomorrow night. Could be a nail-biting shoot-out.
19-07-2022, 10:34 PM
Bonnyrigg 11/5 Draw 23/10 Falkirk 10/11
Can't see Falkirk failing to beat Clyde at home, so if they're going to screw it up, it'll be tomorrow night. Could be a nail-biting shoot-out.
The thing for Falkirk is that they know they probably need to top the group to go through. I don't think they'll go through if they finish second so they know what they have to do - 5 points from their last 2 games would be sufficient for them.
20-07-2022, 12:16 AM
And turgid is the wrong word.
Been guilty of this in the past. I'll not repeat that offence.
I do say dearie me away from this forum though funnily enough, but I can't remember using it on a post.
20-07-2022, 08:43 AM
So do we need to win by 2 goals tonight assuming Falkirk win 🤔
20-07-2022, 08:44 AM
I can see a stuffy draw in Bonnyrigg tonight.
20-07-2022, 08:48 AM
So do we need to win by 2 goals tonight assuming Falkirk win 🤔
We need to score more goals than the other contenders for a runners up spot, some play tonight and Saturday, assuming they win
Hibs +7 goals
Dunfermline + 6 goals
Livingston +1 goal
Queens Park +5 goals
Arbroath + 6 goals/Airdrie + 5, although as they are playing each other, doesn’t look possible
20-07-2022, 09:08 AM
We need to score more goals than the other contenders for a runners up spot, some play tonight and Saturday, assuming they win
Hibs +7 goals
Dunfermline + 6 goals
Livingston +1 goal
Queens Park +5 goals
Arbroath + 6 goals/Airdrie + 5, although as they are playing each other, doesn’t look possible
Barring something ridiculous we are through with a win.
20-07-2022, 11:32 AM
No really as if we only won by one goal , Dunfermline could win by three or Livingston could take a high score of Kelly Hearts . Biggest win we can get tonight plz
20-07-2022, 11:34 AM
No really as if we only won by one goal , Dunfermline could win by three or Livingston could take a high score of Kelly Hearts . Biggest win we can get tonight plz
Agree other teams will if they play at the weekend have the advantage of knowing exactly what they need to do.
20-07-2022, 11:45 AM
Livvy would have to win by 7 goals.
20-07-2022, 11:49 AM
If we win by 1, Dunfermline would have to win by 3
j'adorehibs
20-07-2022, 11:56 AM
Posted this on another thread after yesterday's matches - wording amended slightly after today's game.
Just gone through the remaining fixtures and made a prediction as to how I think each of the groups will finish.
Group A
Aberdeen - 12
Stirling Albion - 8
Raith Rovers - 7
Dumbarton - 3
Peterhead - 0
Group B
Partick Thistle - 11
Kilmarnock - 10
Montrose - 5
Stenhousemuir - 4
Fraserburgh - 0
Group C
Ross County - 11
Dunfermline - 8
Alloa - 6
East Fife - 4
Buckie Thistle - 1
Group D
Falkirk - 11
Hibs - 9
Morton - 4
Bonnyrigg - 3
Clyde - 3
Group E
Arbroath - 12
St Mirren - 9
FC Edinburgh - 5
Airdrie - 4
Cowdenbeath - 0
Group F
Annan - 10
Queen of the South - 8
Ayr - 6
St Johnstone - 6
Elgin - 1
Group G
Inverness CT - 12
Livingston - 9
Cove Rangers - 6
Albion Rovers - 3
Kelty Hearts - 0
Group H
Queen's Park - 11
Dundee - 9
Hamilton - 7
Forfar - 2
Stranraer - 1
Group winners
Aberdeen - 12 (seeded)
Arbroath - 12 (seeded)
Inverness CT - 12 (seeded)
Falkirk - 11 (unseeded)
Partick Thistle - 11 (unseeded)
Queen's Park - 11 (unseeded)
Ross County - 11 (unseeded)
Annan - 10 (unseeded)
Second placed teams
Kilmarnock - 10 (qualified)
Dundee - 9 *
Hibs - 9 *
Livingston - 9 *
St Mirren - 9 *
Dunfermline - 8 (eliminated)
Stirling Albion - 8 (eliminated)
Queen of the South - 8 (eliminated)
So if my predictions go to plan we will be fighting it out with Dundee, Livingston and St Mirren for the final two spots in the last 16.
Dundee's goal difference is currently one less than ours but Livingston's and St Mirren's is considerably worse.
I'm still very confident that a win v Morton inside 90 minutes will be enough to see us through but we have zero margin for error - anything less than that and we'll almost certainly be out.
So I think the last 16 will be;
Seeded
Aberdeen
Arbroath
Celtic
Dundee Utd
Hearts
Inverness CT
Motherwell
Rangers
Unseeded
Annan
Dundee
Falkirk
Hibs
Kilmarnock
Partick Thistle
Queen's Park
Ross County
can i get the lottery numbers of you please !
20-07-2022, 12:04 PM
Falkirk don't need to win both their remaining games to top the group. They can win one game and draw the other one. If they win the penalty shootout after the draw, they'll top the group finishing with 10 points, 1 point more than we can get.
20-07-2022, 12:09 PM
If we win by 1, Dunfermline would have to win by 3
They would but we would still be 3rd best second team and qualify.
20-07-2022, 12:10 PM
can i get the lottery numbers of you please !
I've amended my prediction after last night. I think Dundee will be seeded and Arbroath unseeded.
20-07-2022, 12:24 PM
They would but we would still be 3rd best second team and qualify.
Correct, three second placed teams qualify - assuming we win tonight but finish second we'll only be able to be caught by (probably) Kilmarnock, Dunfermline, Livingston and Queen's Park.
Given the goal difference advantage we have over Livingston I would count them out so Kilmarnock, Dunfermline and Queen's Park would all need to win (plus finish second) and the latter two would need to win by at least 3 goals.
20-07-2022, 01:05 PM
Correct, three second placed teams qualify - assuming we win tonight but finish second we'll only be able to be caught by (probably) Kilmarnock, Dunfermline, Livingston and Queen's Park.
Given the goal difference advantage we have over Livingston I would count them out so Kilmarnock, Dunfermline and Queen's Park would all need to win (plus finish second) and the latter two would need to win by 3 goals.
A good time to win by 4 or 5 tonight and remove any doubts (and banish the Falkirk horror show from the memory)
20-07-2022, 01:13 PM
A good time to win by 4 or 5 tonight and remove any doubts (and banish the Falkirk horror show from the memory)
Absolutely let's confirm it and hopefully put some pressure on Falkirk