View Full Version : Rocky

HIBS NUTS
17-07-2022, 04:10 PM
Thought he was decent today, against terrible opposition, he was good in the air, and attacked the ball, well done.

17-07-2022, 04:11 PM
Psst, I’ll let you into a wee secret…he’s not as bad as some folk make out

17-07-2022, 04:12 PM
Psst, I’ll let you into a wee secret…he’s not as bad as some folk make out

Honestly, he's actually quite good. Raw, but clearly talented

17-07-2022, 04:14 PM
Rocky is going to end up as a club favourite. He will make mistakes,but even Sauzee made mistakes. I think he'll get better and better.

17-07-2022, 04:14 PM
Did well today no complaints

Keep it up Rocky

17-07-2022, 04:18 PM
Made a vital interception/clearance in the second half.

17-07-2022, 04:32 PM
Was very good today I thought

17-07-2022, 04:33 PM
Bossed it, and I like the fact he drives forward.

17-07-2022, 05:01 PM
Just mentioned on another thread that his passing was excellent. A couple of cross field balls in particular were very good. The way he comes forward reminds me of Ambrose.

17-07-2022, 05:05 PM
The time to judge Rocky will be after several visits to Aberdeen, Rangers, Celtic and Hearts when he’s put under pressure by the crowd and their players.

Playing against fat McGachie at Bonnyrigg isn’t that difficult.

Bridge hibs
17-07-2022, 05:15 PM
The time to judge Rocky will be after several visits to Aberdeen, Rangers, Celtic and Hearts when he’s put under pressure by the crowd and their players.

Playing against fat McGachie at Bonnyrigg isn’t that difficult.Aye, fat Morellos will bring more of a challenge

17-07-2022, 05:16 PM
Best defender today. Little to do, but was good.

loanheadhibby
18-07-2022, 06:23 PM
7th August will be the day to judge how good are players are.
Not so sure our city neighbours are over bothered about our midfield 3 , Rocky and Doidge.
Obviously I hope I'm wrong.

18-07-2022, 06:29 PM
Not so sure our city neighbours are over bothered about our midfield 3 , Rocky and Doidge.

Doesn’t tell us “how good our players are”
Just gives an indication on where we are , and how we play on the day .. they are clearly ahead in the development of their side . So will be a challenging game . Nothing other than three points will be determined on that day…win or Lose .

Silky
18-07-2022, 06:33 PM

I think the first round of matches will be a good benchmark for judging the players. Anything can happen in a Derby they could beat Hearts, be judged as being good, then get papped off Livingston. The season's a marathon, not a sprint.

18-07-2022, 06:38 PM
Decent player, hopefully kicks on after a suspect start to his career at hibs, and one game against hearts wont determine if he is a good player or not

18-07-2022, 06:41 PM

38 game season to judge our players. Trust me, I'm not bothered about anyone in their side. Simms the only decent player they had last season. Boyce never kicked a ball against us

loanheadhibby
18-07-2022, 06:52 PM
Doesn’t tell us “how good our players are”
Just gives an indication on where we are , and how we play on the day .. they are clearly ahead in the development of their side . So will be a challenging game . Nothing other than three points will be determined on that day…win or Lose .

It’s maybe an indication that we’ve been mismanaged recently? They’ve finished above us once in last however many years, just promoted after a year in championship but they are ahead of us in 1st team development.

We should have made more of our relative successes over last few seasons and left them behind

18-07-2022, 06:55 PM
It’s maybe an indication that we’ve been mismanaged recently? They’ve finished above us once in last however many years, just promoted after a year in championship but they are ahead of us in 1st team development.

We should have made more of our relative successes over last few seasons and left them behind

Agree with that - but it brings us to a place that they now have a fairly settled strong core to their team, and we are indeed rebuilding ..it is what it is …

loanheadhibby
18-07-2022, 06:56 PM

It sounds promising for Rocky. Hopefully he can have a good season

If all our centre halves can cut out mistakes/red cards it gives you a fighting chance.

18-07-2022, 07:12 PM
It sounds promising for Rocky. Hopefully he can have a good season

If all our centre halves can cut out mistakes/red cards it gives you a fighting chance.

Indeed. Although sadly their all human so unlikely

loanheadhibby
18-07-2022, 07:16 PM
Indeed. Although sadly their all human so unlikely

Agreed. When they make mistakes tho, we need to ensure not everyone leads to a goal. In the league cup final, both centre halves made a mistake that lead to goals. Porto had a wee slip up yesterday that led to a goal.

Hopefully with Porto/Rocky being another year experienced, we can nip the mistakes in the bud.

cameronw-hfc
18-07-2022, 07:23 PM
I'm delighted he's kicking on. There will no doubt be some mistakes, he's not played loads of football for his age, but I've said before hes got all the attributes to be a top player for us, it's just getting him the game time and experience.

Don't think it's any surprise he looks like a different player after a few months to bed in with the squad and a full pre-season.

18-07-2022, 07:29 PM
Actually says a lot about his mentality that he's playing well after the barrage of abuse he had online.

Gordy M
18-07-2022, 07:36 PM
I know it was a bad season but did we not have the 3rd or 4th best defence in the league last year?

18-07-2022, 07:39 PM
I know it was a bad season but did we not have the 3rd or 4th best defence in the league last year?

We did but I think how defensive we were as a team contributed to that. I can see us conceding more but also scoring a fair amount more this season.

18-07-2022, 07:41 PM

We did, but we sacrificed an awful lot in an attacking sense to achieve it,

Not sure it means much. Any team who gambled on getting more men forward with a view to getting more shots on goal would be expected to lose more goals.

18-07-2022, 08:41 PM
Agreed. When they make mistakes tho, we need to ensure not everyone leads to a goal. In the league cup final, both centre halves made a mistake that lead to goals. Porto had a wee slip up yesterday that led to a goal.

Hopefully with Porto/Rocky being another year experienced, we can nip the mistakes in the bud.

This is a great example of how a fans favourite is excused while someone less popular.

"Porto had a wee slip up".

I wonder how it would have been described if it had been Rocky.

18-07-2022, 08:49 PM
Been pleasantly surprised by him so far.

18-07-2022, 09:09 PM
Personally think he’s ok, was never as bad as folk made out.

Very very raw but understandable giving the amount of football he’s missed through injuries, hopefully he starts finding his feet and starts kicking on.

Always think he’s got a mistake in him though and that he gives the opposition a chance (same goes for Porteous though!).

18-07-2022, 09:10 PM

Playing against fat McGachie at Bonnyrigg isn’t that difficult.

McGachie hardly played came on as a late sub

18-07-2022, 09:30 PM
McGachie hardly played came on as a late sub

An ageing Kev Smith and George Hunter then.. you know the point that I was making.

No one in their right mind can judge Rocky against Bonnyrigg, especially after watching Aiden Nisbet give him a fairly torrid time a few days earlier.

I hope, as every Hibs fan does, that he’s an absolute star but we’ll only know that once the big games kick in.

18-07-2022, 09:42 PM
Rocky and Henderson both look much better players now we have a manager in charge.

18-07-2022, 10:00 PM
An ageing Kev Smith and George Hunter then.. you know the point that I was making.

No one in their right mind can judge Rocky against Bonnyrigg, especially after watching Aiden Nisbet give him a fairly torrid time a few days earlier.

I hope, as every Hibs fan does, that he’s an absolute star but we’ll only know that once the big games kick in.

Aiden Nesbit didn't give Rocky a torrid time at all. He wasn't at fault for Nesbit's goal and I can't remember Nesbit doing very much outside of that other than miss a sitter when Dabrowski ****ed up.

Of the 3 central defenders that played against Falkirk, Rocky performed the best. Let's not make things up now.

18-07-2022, 10:03 PM

Rockys been our best CB over the 3 LC games, by far.

18-07-2022, 10:08 PM

Totally agree. Raw sums him up well, there is definite potential there IMO.

tonyrougier123
19-07-2022, 10:07 PM
Just read an article with rocky Bushiri talking about how he really wanted to come to hibs permanently and how he strives to be better.
Crackling attitude to have and I welcome his commitment to the club.

If players have the right attitude half the battle.

Kick on Rocky 👏🏻✍🏻💪🏻🤞🏻

LustForLeith
19-07-2022, 10:11 PM

All games are big games

19-07-2022, 10:11 PM
Just read an article with rocky Bushiri talking about how he really wanted to come to hibs permanently and how he strives to be better.
Crackling attitude to have and I welcome his commitment to the club.

If players have the right attitude half the battle.

Kick on Rocky 👏🏻✍🏻💪🏻🤞🏻

link ? :confused:

ElginHibbie
19-07-2022, 10:21 PM
link ? :confused:

Presume it is this

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/rocky-bushiri-reveals-why-he-was-keen-for-hibs-return-despite-hard-times-last-season-3774671

Way I read it is maybe not so much that he wanted to come here permanently, but that now he is here is gonna stay and fight for his place, which would make sense as sure he had tuned down opportunity of loan away and that could have been seen as the easy option for him due to some of the reaction to his signing

147lothian
20-07-2022, 01:07 AM
Rocky has all of the attributes to be a top CB in the modern game, I have high hopes for him.

20-07-2022, 05:48 AM
Personally think he’s ok, was never as bad as folk made out.

Very very raw but understandable giving the amount of football he’s missed through injuries, hopefully he starts finding his feet and starts kicking on.

Always think he’s got a mistake in him though and that he gives the opposition a chance (same goes for Porteous though!).

Agree!

As in keeping with Hibs.net, there are a few that have already made up their opinion on Rocky and just waiting for the next error to prove their point. I could be wrong but if feels like the majority think he's got potential and are willing him on to be a star. I'm in the latter group. From what I've seen, I've been generally impressed. However, I've not watched any of the Tynie Derby when by accounts from people whose opinion I value he was poor.

If he's going to progress in the game, he's got to learn from the bad days like the last Derby and try and not let that happen again on his watch.

20-07-2022, 07:11 AM
A lot of it was driven by people jumping on the social media bandwagon. A couple of Norwich fans said he was a bombscare. His first mistake here and he's labled a bombscare. A bit like the bright sparks calling LJ David Brent because a few Sunderland fans said the same on Twitter. What a time to be alive.

20-07-2022, 07:14 AM
Rocky wants to be here which is half the battle, Porto on the other hand looks as if he can't wait to get away judging by his performances so far in the LC

20-07-2022, 07:16 AM
A lot of it was driven by people jumping on the social media bandwagon. A couple of Norwich fans said he was a bombscare. His first mistake here and he's labled a bombscare. A bit like the bright sparks calling LJ David Brent because a few Sunderland fans said the same on Twitter. What a time to be alive.

He is a bombscare, we all know that based on his performances last season. He will almost certainly cost us if he starts for us in the SPL.

CL0762
20-07-2022, 07:27 AM
He is a bombscare, we all know that based on his performances last season. He will almost certainly cost us if he starts for us in the SPL.

Hard to be a bombscare in a competition that doesn’t exist anymore.

Also, can you tell me what games he was a bombscare in last season?

20-07-2022, 07:35 AM
Hard to be a bombscare in a competition that doesn’t exist anymore.

Also, can you tell me what games he was a bombscare in last season?

I'd be quicker telling you the games he wasn't a bombscare. Were you at Tynie?

20-07-2022, 07:52 AM

Very harsh Brooster. He had more good than bad and was part of a successful season the club had defensively. He has had a good start so far this season, long may it continue.

20-07-2022, 08:16 AM
From the time Rocky joined the club, Paul McGinn had more errors leading to goals than Rocky despite playing about half the minutes Rocky did but McGinn is referred to as a steady-eddy and reliable while Rocky is called a bombscare. Go figure.

w pilton hibby
20-07-2022, 08:56 AM
From the EEN

Rocky Bushiri seeking continual improvement as Hibs defender states: 'I want to be better'

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/rocky-bushiri-seeking-continual-improvement-as-hibs-defender-states-i-want-to-be-better-3773403

20-07-2022, 09:40 AM

Tell us?

20-07-2022, 10:04 AM
From the EEN

Rocky Bushiri seeking continual improvement as Hibs defender states: 'I want to be better'

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/rocky-bushiri-seeking-continual-improvement-as-hibs-defender-states-i-want-to-be-better-3773403

Difficult not to be impressed by his attitude. He’s looked a lot better and I get the feeling a lot of player were asked to do things they simply weren’t able to do.

I’m a big fan of Dick Campbell - his management is as simple as it gets but that’s why it works. His three main rules are “Don’t ask a player to do something they can’t do”, “players play themselves in or out of a team” and “sign players who are better than what you’ve got”. We followed none of those rules under Maloney and it’s no surprise he ended up the massive failure that he was.

Rocky is clearly playing a simpler game and he’s improved already. I think he’s going to prove me wrong on my view of him last season and I’ll be absolutely delighted if that’s the case.

20-07-2022, 11:28 AM
Rocky had a **** season, with almost unanimous agreement from fans that he’s not good enough, then groans from fans that he was signed permanently.

Word gets out that he asks the club why the fans hate him…and fans rally around him. Rightly. He shouldn’t feel like he’s hated. I don’t hate him.

He was crap last season though. Regularly. I don’t hate him, but I’m not rewriting the past just cos he was upset. Like Brooster, I’m no going to list the games he was ****, because it was most. If you honestly don’t remember it like that then go back and read the match threads from last season.

20-07-2022, 11:30 AM
From the time Rocky joined the club, Paul McGinn had more errors leading to goals than Rocky despite playing about half the minutes Rocky did but McGinn is referred to as a steady-eddy and reliable while Rocky is called a bombscare. Go figure.

And Paul McGinn is gone now.

20-07-2022, 11:34 AM
Rocky had a **** season, with almost unanimous agreement from fans that he’s not good enough, then groans from fans that he was signed permanently.

Word gets out that he asks the club why the fans hate him…and fans rally around him. Rightly. He shouldn’t feel like he’s hated. I don’t hate him.

He was crap last season though. Regularly. I don’t hate him, but I’m not rewriting the past just cos he was upset. Like Brooster, I’m no going to list the games he was ****, because it was most. If you honestly don’t remember it like that then go back and read the match threads from last season.

Spot on, and although he has looked like he has improved a bit in pre season, it has been against weaker opposition and he’s also had the odd strange moment here and there.

I’ll reserve judgement until I see him against better opposition… hopefully that’s not a repeat of Tynecastle.

20-07-2022, 11:36 AM

He started well enough and had a few decent games along the way without being a stand out.

The Tynecastle game destroyed him in many people’s eyes. He was absolutely terrible but looked injured and was hung out to dry by Maloney. We don’t tend to forgive notably awful contributions to derby defeats easily.

Rocky’s getting a clean slate and a bit of encouragement, which is only correct given there were mitigating factors last season. Even this season it’s hard to know what to make of his performances so far due to mitigating factors - standard of opposition, relatively early in pre season, getting used to playing with new players and under a new manager.

Jury’s out for me, but he gets my support. If he proves himself to be pish, I’ll call it so. If he’s a revelation, likewise.

It’s good to see folk rallying behind him tbh. As a support we’ve got more of a reputation for getting on players’ backs.

Hibs4185
20-07-2022, 11:45 AM
Rocky will come good

CL0762
20-07-2022, 11:55 AM

Aye I was at Tynie, I seem to remember Hanlon getting absolutely ragdolled by Simms for their first and then Doyle Hayes failing to track a runner for the 2nd, & then the midfield not picking up Halliday for the 3rd. Absolutely none can be attributed to Rocky

So, what games was he not a bombscare in?

HIBS NUTS
20-07-2022, 09:20 PM
embarrassing game by the team
rocky was MOM for me, not much competition though.

20-07-2022, 09:22 PM
Rocky playing well is becoming the norm. A nailed on starter.

20-07-2022, 09:24 PM
Aye I was at Tynie, I seem to remember Hanlon getting absolutely ragdolled by Simms for their first and then Doyle Hayes failing to track a runner for the 2nd, & then the midfield not picking up Halliday for the 3rd. Absolutely none can be attributed to Rocky

So, what games was he not a bombscare in?

You’re forgetting he mis hit a clearance that didn’t lead to a goal that one time

LewysGot2
20-07-2022, 09:24 PM
Rocky was definitely not the problem tonight, not even remotely.

He's showing signs of adapting and learning

His more revered CB partner would do well to do the same.

I'm concerned we start the league season with no recognised Left CB.

20-07-2022, 09:26 PM
embarrassing game by the team
rocky was MOM for me, not much competition though.

I thought he played OK which was better than just about everyone else but he has to work on his heading, his timing is miles off

Stuarty1875
20-07-2022, 10:11 PM
Rocky done well tonight again.

Musselbound
20-07-2022, 10:15 PM
Yes, definitely one of our better players tonight. Missed a few chances with headers but got into good positions and drove forward with the ball.

20-07-2022, 10:31 PM
Hopefully his confidence will build. I thought he held his man off well at times tonight and enjoyed him smashing into a tackle second half.
I did think Morton were able to break too easily up the park second half unchallenged whether that was down to positioning/ lack of pressure on the initial pass.

20-07-2022, 10:46 PM
He did well again.

The more solid of our centre halves right now.

24-07-2022, 08:29 PM
Have to say I wasn’t his biggest fan but he’s really stepped up this summer, been very impressed by him.

HIBS NUTS
24-07-2022, 08:34 PM
Have to say I wasn’t his biggest fan but he’s really stepped up this summer, been very impressed by him.

Met some Norwich fans, who weren’t impressed with him when he played there.
I think he’s had a good start to the season. 👍🏻

24-07-2022, 08:39 PM
I think he’s had a good start to the season. 👍🏻

He never played for them.

24-07-2022, 08:43 PM

https://www.canaries.co.uk/content/rocky-bushiri-joins-hibernian-on-loan

24-07-2022, 08:45 PM
https://www.canaries.co.uk/content/rocky-bushiri-joins-hibernian-on-loan

Aye I know but he never actually played for them.

HIBS NUTS
24-07-2022, 08:46 PM

i think some of there fans, don’t only watch the first team.
However i’m only repeating what they said.
He’s been good so well done rocky. 👍🏻

24-07-2022, 08:47 PM
I think he’s had a good start to the season. [emoji1303]He only played 2 games for their under 23 side so I'm not sure they had much to base their opinion on.

24-07-2022, 08:48 PM
He only played 2 games for their under 23 side so I'm not sure they had much to base their opinion on.

It’s never stopped us before 😂

24-07-2022, 08:49 PM
It’s never stopped us before [emoji23]True, sure Matt Macey was written off before he even played a game :hilarious

HIBS NUTS
24-07-2022, 08:55 PM
He only played 2 games for their under 23 side so I'm not sure they had much to base their opinion on.

Just shows every team has ******** supporters then. 😜
Again i think he’s been decent .

24-07-2022, 08:59 PM
Just shows every team has ******** supporters then. [emoji12]
Again i think he’s been decent .He has been good so far and long may it continue. [emoji106]

24-07-2022, 09:38 PM
I’m really impressed with him. Rumoured to have turned down a chance to move away from the club, took a lot of stick from a lot of people (and in the interests of transparency myself included) and is ramming it down a lot of peoples throats and proving them wrong.

That takes a lot of chutzpah and self belief and I’m hugely impressed with his attitude.

24-07-2022, 09:47 PM
I’m really impressed with him. Rumoured to have turned down a chance to move away from the club, took a lot of stick from a lot of people (and in the interests of transparency myself included) and is ramming it down a lot of peoples throats and proving them wrong.

That takes a lot of chutzpah and self belief and I’m hugely impressed with his attitude.

I think he done all right. Bit early to be talking about proving folk wrong, for me.

He’s clearly pretty determined to turn things round and do well, think he’s got a fair bit to go though. Not really had much in the way of defending to do yet. Next couple of weeks will tell us a lot more.

24-07-2022, 09:56 PM

You met some Norwich fans who just happened to tell you they weren’t impressed by him even though they never had a chance to see him play?

That’s just nuts!

Or another made up attempt to undermine a Hibs player.

uwxm07
24-07-2022, 10:04 PM
You met some Norwich fans who just happened to tell you they weren’t impressed by him even though they never had a chance to see him play?

That’s just nuts!

Can we have alike button

24-07-2022, 10:11 PM

That’s just nuts!

There’s plenty folk on here that have done the same about Hibs players they’ve not seen play!

30-07-2022, 04:47 PM
Good again today.

Whatever the true story is of him resigning, he’s been our best defender so far this season.

30-07-2022, 04:51 PM
He hasnt really done anything wrong in pre season and had another decent game today, long may it continue

30-07-2022, 04:54 PM
Really good today.

Think it was just after half time it looked like they were about to have a half chance but he showed good pace, stregnth and defensive ability.

Think the only mistake he made was in the second half when he charged forward and was dispossessed

cameronw-hfc
30-07-2022, 04:55 PM
He hasnt really done anything wrong in pre-season and had another decent game today, long may it continue

Think we've got a gem in the big man. Looked handy at first last year albeit raw, picked up a knock and looked shakey end of season, full pre-season under his belt and he looks to be growing every game. His first touch has drastically improved along with his awareness.

All the raw attributes are there, pace, power, determination, just needed to round them out a bit and he looks to be doing so.

Willis1875
30-07-2022, 04:56 PM
Probably the pick of our summer signings so far

h1bs4life
30-07-2022, 04:57 PM
Another good game again today . Good pace , not frightened to put the boot in , looks to play easy pass . Been impressed with him so far this season .

30-07-2022, 04:58 PM
He was brilliant today. Really calm and solid. Delighted for him and can see he’s growing in confidence.

30-07-2022, 05:00 PM
Played decent, needs to keep his hands to himself though. That elbow in the first half looked a bit rough.

CL0762
30-07-2022, 05:10 PM
Another assured performance from the big felly today.

JamesHFC
30-07-2022, 05:19 PM
Been consistently good since the start of pre season. Well done to the big man.

30-07-2022, 05:21 PM
Quick one, does anyone know why his first name is what’s used on the back of his shirt? Completely ignorant as to why but someone asked me and it’s in my head.

30-07-2022, 05:22 PM
Good player. Strolled it today.

30-07-2022, 05:24 PM
Quick one, does anyone know why his first name is what’s used on the back of his shirt? Completely ignorant as to why but someone asked me and it’s in my head.

Same reason as Tavares

LustForLeith
30-07-2022, 05:27 PM
Big fan of Rocky

Watch him get the player of the year award at the end of the season

Torto7
30-07-2022, 05:29 PM
Solid as a Rock...There's a lesson here though. Young guys especially from abroad might take a wee while to settle in.

30-07-2022, 05:29 PM
Love the big man, hope he feels like the club have rallied round him a bit after the botched signing announcement. I thought him being the main man around the new kit was a great move from the club.

30-07-2022, 05:45 PM
Love him, been brilliant since he signed properly.

Keep it up Rocky.:aok:

K-Zazu
30-07-2022, 05:45 PM
Played rocko

30-07-2022, 05:49 PM
If he keeps it up then all the talk will be about trying to keep hold of him. All the attributes to have a very good career.

30-07-2022, 06:00 PM
Another good performance. He’s very clearly been working on the little mistakes with his first touch, passing, and reading of the flight of the ball that caused issues for him in the latter portion of last season. Fair play to the fella, a very likeable guy that you just want to see succeed here.

ZitellZeTime
30-07-2022, 06:38 PM
Thought he was decent today, against terrible opposition, he was good in the air, and attacked the ball, well done.

Especially the first part of your quote, improving alot in the air in the pre season games etc as well. They've definitely been working on that with him a lot I'm guessing as its vastly improved from last season.

mcohibs
30-07-2022, 06:44 PM
Same reason as Tavares

What's the reason?

30-07-2022, 07:11 PM
What's the reason?

Same as Rocky.

30-07-2022, 07:15 PM
Played really well today.

Was very assured bringing it out from the back as well which helps drives us forward quicker. Think he got caught in possession once but otherwise he was excellent with the ball.

mcohibs
30-07-2022, 07:28 PM
Same as Rocky.

😂😂

30-07-2022, 07:29 PM
Rocky was in cruise control today. Really like how much he's seemed to improve in such a short period. Could turn out to be a great signing.

30-07-2022, 07:53 PM
He will make the odd gaffe I think but he has some really good attributes

Hopefully he goes onto prove the boo boys way OTT

Think the big man as a potential fans favorite vibe about him

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

30-07-2022, 10:16 PM

Isn’t it just that they can have whatever they want? And if I had a cool name like ‘Rocky’ it’d be on my shirt too.

Either that or he’s trying to save me a tenner when I get his name next season after he’s player of the year.

davym7062
30-07-2022, 10:21 PM
so wot we do next week if hanlons fit????

30-07-2022, 10:31 PM
so wot we do next week if hanlons fit????He won't be but even if he is, same back line for me

30-07-2022, 10:41 PM
Made a run forward then gave it away but was in the St Johnstone half so was plenty of cover and IIRC mistimed a header which wasn't in a dangerous area and was otherwise fairly solid today I thought.

Malonga's Cat
31-07-2022, 06:31 AM
I thought he played really well again and has turned it around. Really pleased for the guy after the boo boys gave him a hard time and the whole contract thing (whatever that was!).

31-07-2022, 06:37 AM
Done the simple things really well , think he has improved quite a bit already from last season. Big difference when the team isnt set up to have the opposition ready to press your defence every time the keeper plays out. He was put under a lot of needless pressure by the manager last season not knowing his arse from his elbow and refusing to change his way of playing to suit his players

h185forever
31-07-2022, 06:40 AM
He is improving but he needs to work on reducing the number of cards he gets. He is averaging a yellow every 2 games.

I felt he was lucky yday not to get a straight red.

I do appreciate that some refs seem care happy with our players tho.

31-07-2022, 07:06 AM
As a fan base we are starting to learn that we have to support new players whilst they find their feet. Half the team who started yesterday weren’t with us at the start of last season and arriving at a settled squad isn’t going to happen overnight.

31-07-2022, 08:52 AM
Chances of the compliance officer pulling him up for the elbow on Murphy?

31-07-2022, 08:54 AM

Quite high I'd have thought, especially since it's received the trial by Sportscene treatment too.

I thought it was a red card at the time and I wouldn't be surprised if there's an email waiting for us at East Mains tomorrow morning.

31-07-2022, 08:54 AM

You never know but I don’t think it was malicious. I agreed with Michael Stewart’s assessment (having not noticed it happening at all at the game).

Think he and we would be pretty unlucky to get a retrospective red for that.

31-07-2022, 10:22 AM
Quite high I'd have thought, especially since it's received the trial by Sportscene treatment too.

I thought it was a red card at the time and I wouldn't be surprised if there's an email waiting for us at East Mains tomorrow morning.

Agree. I never even noticed it at the game. But trial by sportscene as you say.

Shame, I thought he was really good yesterday. He’s already got a notice of complaint outstanding as well, could end up with a hefty suspension.

patlowe
31-07-2022, 10:33 AM
As has been said a hundred times, he has all the attributes to be a top player. The elbow today was I think more clumsy than anything, not sure he really needs to use his arms at all when up against a Jamie Murphy so it's just judgement in those moments. The big test is next week - we all remember how he lost the plot a bit in the Tynie atmosphere so would be delighted if we're still talking about the new calm, assured Rocky after the derby.

31-07-2022, 06:05 PM
The Rocky elbow that impacted the game in the 90th minute was by far my favourite.

seanshow
31-07-2022, 09:48 PM
The crazy world of football, because if var had been implemented, we would only left with a point after they reviewed that goal. lol 😅😅

31-07-2022, 10:05 PM
The crazy world of football, because if var had been implemented, we would only left with a point after they reviewed that goal. lol 😅😅

The video that Hibs released today offers a good view of Rocky’s goal 😀

https://youtu.be/VftmTuRmkkQ

31-07-2022, 10:08 PM

The same elbow that accidentally smashed Jamie Murphy.

Rocky Elboa 😀

MartinfaePorty
31-07-2022, 10:12 PM

Just watched it again. I might be going blind, but it hits the Saints defender's chest on the way in.

31-07-2022, 10:16 PM
Just watched it again. I might be going blind, but it hits the Saints defender's chest on the way in.

Get yourself down to Specsavers.

MartinfaePorty
31-07-2022, 11:04 PM
Get yourself down to Specsavers.

https://twitter.com/cabbage0762/status/1553505107156893697

Does this not show it does hit his chest, rather than Rocky's arm?

31-07-2022, 11:09 PM

It does look like it right enough, chest/shoulder. What time does Specsavers open? 🤔

01-08-2022, 07:48 AM

Yip definitely hit his chest

01-08-2022, 07:54 AM
Yip definitely hit his chest

It’s odd because from this angle it looks more elbow

It’s Monday, no need for a Steward’s enquiry. We got the three points we deserved

McGruber
01-08-2022, 09:13 AM
Most headers won in the league match day 1 , heading being his weakness. Well done Rocky, played a great game..... some signing :)

01-08-2022, 09:43 AM

Nice elbow to guide the ball home. This angle seems pretty conclusive. Well played Rocky.

OldEast
01-08-2022, 09:59 AM
The only clear thing these videos show is that without some external help, Campbell's header wasn't a sure thing to go in the net.

01-08-2022, 03:58 PM
Did Rocky ever get citied from the compliance officer for his ‘fore arm smash 🙄’?

01-08-2022, 04:04 PM
Did Rocky ever get citied from the compliance officer for his ‘fore arm smash 🙄’?

Heard nothing yet so fingers crossed.

The Tubs
01-08-2022, 04:05 PM
Most headers won in the league match day 1 , heading being his weakness. Well done Rocky, played a great game..... some signing :)

I think he gets to the ball okay when he's defending but the purchase on his headers still isn't always that great. The opposition seem to be onto it and so it was good to see Kenneh hanging around to win the 2nd ball.

The Tubs
01-08-2022, 04:10 PM
Nice elbow to guide the ball home. This angle seems pretty conclusive. Well played Rocky.

I slowed it down to 1/4 speed and it looks like the deflection is off McPherson and not Rocky.

01-08-2022, 04:12 PM
It's mental how good Rocky has been considering the club originally didn't really want him and were actively trying to move him on close season. Fair play to the lad though, knuckling down and getting on with game 👏👏

01-08-2022, 04:14 PM
It's mental how good Rocky has been considering the club originally didn't really want him and were actively trying to move him on close season. Fair play to the lad though, knuckling down and getting on with game [emoji122][emoji122]Were we actively trying to move him on?

01-08-2022, 04:15 PM
Were we actively trying to move him on?

Yip.

01-08-2022, 04:19 PM
It's mental how good Rocky has been considering the club originally didn't really want him and were actively trying to move him on close season. Fair play to the lad though, knuckling down and getting on with game 👏👏

I don’t think he’s really been tested defensively yet, this weekend will tell us a lot more about him. You can see the determination he has to turn things round though, he looks like he’d run through a brick wall at the moment.

Next thing he needs to do is cut out the cards.

Mcbizz1998
01-08-2022, 04:33 PM
Enjoyed seeing Rocky so buzzing during the goal celebrations and after the game. The lad clearly cares which can be half the battle at this level.

01-08-2022, 04:36 PM
Enjoyed seeing Rocky so buzzing during the goal celebrations and after the game. The lad clearly cares which can be half the battle at this level.Yep, one of the reasons he is starting to win me over. Pleased for him to see he is getting some positive comments and backing.

01-08-2022, 04:52 PM
Yip.

Are you sure?

01-08-2022, 04:54 PM
Yip.I haven't seen anything confirming this

01-08-2022, 04:57 PM
I haven't seen anything confirming this

The manager implied it in an earlier interview. Said he had options to move on, but had decided to stay and fight for his place . A real testament to the professionalism and attitude of Rocky tbf ..

01-08-2022, 05:11 PM
I'm assuming there no compliance officer citings from the weekend?

01-08-2022, 05:14 PM
I'm assuming there no compliance officer citings from the weekend?

Nothing yet regarding Saturday but we've accepted a one match League Cup ban for him as a result of the ineligible player issue.

01-08-2022, 05:24 PM
Nothing yet regarding Saturday but we've accepted a one match League Cup ban for him as a result of the ineligible player issue.

I thought St Johnstone were considering an appeal for Davidsons red card, haven’t heard anything on this either

01-08-2022, 05:26 PM
Rocky has been arguably our best player this season so far. Delighted for him.

02-08-2022, 04:15 PM
No Hampden hearing for him either, Hibs have accepted a 1 match ban in next season league cup competition.

02-08-2022, 04:21 PM
No Hampden hearing for him either, Hibs have accepted a 1 match ban in next season league cup competition.

Still could happen tomorrow I think

Hibiza
02-08-2022, 05:30 PM

And a goal .

02-08-2022, 06:15 PM
Thought he looked comfortable enough on the left of the 2 when him and Porto swapped in the 2nd half. Also think we get better from Porto playing on the right so maybe a better option for the derby

15-08-2022, 06:37 PM

With all the negative threads about how poor our players, thought I would elevate this one back to the front page of the messageboard. If only to highlight that it's possible for players to go through a period of poor form to show that they are actually a good player. Rocky is showing that he's better than what the majority of our support thought after a few games. It's now up to other players, new recruits or established players to do the same.

Hope Rocky is back for the The Rangers game!

15-08-2022, 08:06 PM
With all the negative threads about how poor our players, thought I would elevate this one back to the front page of the messageboard. If only to highlight that it's possible for players to go through a period of poor form to show that they are actually a good player. Rocky is showing that he's better than what the majority of our support thought after a few games. It's now up to other players, new recruits or established players to do the same.

I've seen nothing from Rocky to suggest he's anything other than rocky at the back.

15-08-2022, 08:21 PM
I've seen nothing from Rocky to suggest he's anything other than rocky at the back.

You’ve missed every game this season then. He’s barely put a foot wrong.

JammyDoidger
15-08-2022, 08:23 PM
You’ve missed every game this season then. He’s barely put a foot wrong.

He's not made any howlers that have led to a goal yet, but he's not been as good as folk are making out, everyone is doing their best to support him with what's went on with him but he's not the answer to be starting every week yet.

supermcginn
15-08-2022, 08:34 PM
He's not made any howlers that have led to a goal yet, but he's not been as good as folk are making out, everyone is doing their best to support him with what's went on with him but he's not the answer to be starting every week yet.

Well his direct replacement on Saturday did cost us a goal. Rocky should be straight back in the team.

15-08-2022, 08:51 PM
He would have probably made more than the half arsed attempts to stop the first goal.

15-08-2022, 08:57 PM
Well his direct replacement on Saturday did cost us a goal. Rocky should be straight back in the team.

Him and Porty were both guilty of creating the hearts goal.

Paulie Walnuts
15-08-2022, 09:00 PM

This is about where I am.

He’s been fine this season and deserves his place in the team as it stands. I do think it’s been over egged a bit after what went on when he signed though.

15-08-2022, 09:05 PM
He's looked very good since he signed permanently, I think we're starting to see why we chose to initially bring him to the club.

I would however beg that when he does make a mistake, might be Saturday might be in 10 weeks, we look at the bigger picture and how far he's come overall and stay supportive of him as he develops as he's still a young lad that looks to have good potential for his age.

15-08-2022, 09:09 PM
Him and Porty were both guilty of creating the hearts goal.

And Kenneh! Feeble challenge in 1st place then trotted behind Nouble for 30 yards.

15-08-2022, 09:21 PM
Is Rocky not just another example of a few people saying a player or manager is terrible , repeating it a few times then it becomes fact ? Like saying certain or all transfer windows were catastrophic or similar when 90% of fans wouldn`t agree or would at least understand that signing players is a very complicated matter . Rocky hs been decent this season just as he was last season except for half the game at Tynecastle .

15-08-2022, 09:25 PM
Is Rocky not just another example of a few people saying a player or manager is terrible , repeating it a few times then it becomes fact ? Like saying certain or all transfer windows were catastrophic or similar when 90% of fans wouldn`t agree or would at least understand that signing players is a very complicated matter . Rocky hs been decent this season just as he was last season except for half the game at Tynecastle .

Yep.

Way too much emphasis was placed on his Tynecastle disaster.

He was decent for us last season, and with his point to prove this season has been excellent.

I always felt Hanlon was hard done by with this stuff. Solid for months, makes a mistake that leads to a goal and castigated as if he did it often. Centre halves will makes mistakes, like other players, like managers, like referees. When they make mistakes though, they can be embarrassing and costly.

16-08-2022, 12:10 AM

Well that’s all our centre half’s out then, because he’s been the best of them all, so by that logic none of them are starting quality for us.

JammyDoidger
16-08-2022, 01:53 AM
Well that’s all our centre half’s out then, because he’s been the best of them all, so by that logic none of them are starting quality for us.

Apart from Porteous I don't think any of them should be starting tbh, Mclelland should be in the development side, Mcgregor is past it but could be brought on for 10mins or so if defending a lead, Hanlon isn't good enough and should be moved on imo. We need to go out and sign at least one centre half this week that can play on the left side beside Porto, someone with real quality and a presence, although tbh I'd settle for someone that has played in our league and doesn't make too many mistakes, even a Joe ****hnessy or Ayo Obileye would be better than what we've got atm imo, but left sided is important.

JammyDoidger
16-08-2022, 02:00 AM

Totally agree mate, but that says more about where we are at atm. Porteous should be our RCB Rocky his backup. Someone needs to come in and make that LCB spot their own.

16-08-2022, 06:07 AM
And Kenneh! Feeble challenge in 1st place then trotted behind Nouble for 30 yards.

Wrong game

16-08-2022, 06:39 AM
One thing I do know is that if he is fit he comes back into the team on Sunday.

16-08-2022, 07:08 AM
One thing I do know is that if he is fit he comes back into the team on Sunday.

Let's hope he's back before then :wink:

16-08-2022, 07:14 AM

This forum is ******* grim at times. With all the negative posts about our players, I thought I would highlight that it is possible for players to go through some periods of poor form and then turn things around. At no time am I saying that Rocky is the answer to all our problems at the back, just that he's better than what he showed us at times in the past. No doubt he'll have poor moments in the future.

However, some can't resist revelling in the negativity of it all.

16-08-2022, 07:28 AM
This forum is ******* grim at times. With all the negative posts about our players, I thought I would highlight that it is possible for players to go through some periods of poor form and then turn things around. At no time am I saying that Rocky is the answer to all our problems at the back, just that he's better than what he showed us at times in the past. No doubt he'll have poor moments in the future.

However, some can't resist revelling in the negativity of it all.

Unfortunately some people can't see the middle ground between two polarising opinions.