View Full Version : Josh Campbell, Jake Doyle Hayes, Joe Newell

12-07-2022, 08:54 PM
Never ever ever again Lee - please 🙏 in any combination!!

They are dreadful together. How any manager cannot see that is as bewildering as it is worrying.

hhibs
12-07-2022, 09:00 PM
Never ever ever again Lee - please 🙏 in any combination!!

They are dreadful together. How any manager cannot see that is as bewildering as it is worrying.

For me ,no more Newall or Cambell,in fact more important to rif us of showpony Newall

Paulie Walnuts
12-07-2022, 09:00 PM
Arguably the worst midfield 3 we’ve had in my life time.

Absolutely atrocious.

12-07-2022, 09:02 PM
Campbell was the weakest link. Making a stupid tackle when we were battering them and taking all the wind out our sails almost tipped me over the edge. I'd be very surprised if LJ starts him again.

12-07-2022, 09:03 PM
All 3 are simply not good enough and certainly nowhere near capable of playing the high press. Newell is a lazy *******. Boyband fc.

12-07-2022, 09:05 PM
Campbell needs to go on loan.

Newell isn’t good enough to start.

JDH could start but needs 2 decent alongside him.

Wasn’t convinced last season and definitely not been sorted yet this season.

Opposition teams know how weak we are in middle - he’s got a few weeks to bring 2 midfield starters in or struggle.

HendoDelivered
12-07-2022, 09:06 PM
Chronic Trio

CB Hibs 68
12-07-2022, 09:07 PM

Absolutely atrocious.
Yup without a shadow of doubt the worst midfield triumvirate I have seen at Hibs.Find it difficult to find anything positive to say about any one of them they are truly awful individually and collectively.

12-07-2022, 09:08 PM
Normally a fan of Newell but I’m struggling to defend him now.

Tonight was brutal.

He should be running rings round them, not the opposite way round.

12-07-2022, 09:08 PM

Tonight was brutal.

Totally agree.

TheCabbage
12-07-2022, 09:09 PM
And all under contract at least the next 2 seasons?

12-07-2022, 09:10 PM
We need to bite the financial bullet and pay these three and their long contracts off. Absolutely woeful the three of them.

12-07-2022, 09:10 PM
This combination just doesn’t work. It makes them collectively worse than each player actually is individually because there’s simply no balance or complimentary features to their play as a trio.

Hopefully that was a lesson learned for Lee and we still manage to make it through.

EVENTUALLY
12-07-2022, 09:11 PM
It is baffling how the last 3 managers have played those 3 so regularly however I'm hopeful it will take care of itself.

Kenneh, Henderson and Magennis all offer more strength, height, physicality, guile and goals. Get them in and bounce JDH, Newell and Campbell out the door.

HIBS NUTS
12-07-2022, 09:12 PM
All 3 are simply not good enough and certainly nowhere near capable of playing the high press. Newell is a lazy *******. Boyband fc.

I think it’s a positive that LJ has found out that midfield can’t press, or move the ball forward.

BegbieHSC
Stephen McGinn dominated the midfield against them. Mackie had Campbell in his back pocket in the second half. That tells you everything you need to know.

JDH and Newell have their moments of quality. As a trio with Campbell, they’re very poor. We need a quality box-to-box midfielder now - not in 3 years through a development signing.

Get all 3 tae f&@£

12-07-2022, 09:13 PM
This combination just doesn’t work. It makes them collectively worse than each player actually is individually because there’s simply no balance or complimentary features to their play as a trio.

Hopefully that was a lesson learned for Lee and we still manage to make it through.

Thing is he kept them all on for 90 mins.

If it was a lesson learnt surely take one of them off at half time.

McGeady should have stayed on - we needed a goal and our midfield don’t score goals.

12-07-2022, 09:13 PM
Newell should be moved on, Campbell is bottom 6 championship level and should be loaned or sold, JDH is very inconsistent. We cannot rely on getting Magennis fit, so we need at least 2 maybe 3 new midfielders.

BegbieHSC
12-07-2022, 09:15 PM
It is baffling how the last 3 managers have played those 3 so regularly however I'm hopeful it will take care of itself.

Kenneh, Henderson and Magennis all offer more strength, height, physicality, guile and goals. Get them in and bounce JDH, Newell and Campbell out the door.

Henderson is good. Promising signs from Kenneh. Magennis is the midfielder we need! He's a fantastic player. His injuries however make him unreliable, so we need to sign someone proven to occupy that spot.

12-07-2022, 09:17 PM
I'd give Dylan Tait a proper chance.

Paulie Walnuts
12-07-2022, 09:19 PM
Henderson is good. Promising signs from Kenneh. Magennis is the midfielder we need! He's a fantastic player. His injuries however make him unreliable, so we need to sign someone proven to occupy that spot.

It’s very early days so I’m not writing him off but I can’t say I’ve seen much in the way or promising signs from Kenneh yet. Thought he was fairly poor in the friendlies and nothing to write home about against Clyde.

12-07-2022, 09:19 PM
I’ve refrained from criticizing Campbell but he’s just not good enough to play top six. Newell has badly gone of the boil, and Doyle-Hayes seems to be a player who will have a few decent games but ultimately flatter to deceive. All were poor today.

This midfield offers us only one thing: a turgid relegation struggle and early exit from both cups. Johnson has to see that and act on it or he won’t be here long.

12-07-2022, 09:20 PM

He can’t be worse than what we had on there today.

12-07-2022, 09:21 PM
Josh Campbell isn't and never will be good enough for Hibernian FC.

Woeful.

12-07-2022, 09:22 PM

Woeful.

A bottom half of League 1 player at best

AdidasHibernian
12-07-2022, 09:23 PM
We stick with that trio..we are relegation fodder 100%

Shambles

BegbieHSC

I like the idea of that a lot, but I’m a wee bit nervous about focusing purely on a youngster to sort out our midfield. We absolutely need a proven, quality midfielder in the door asap. I’d certainly be playing Tait over Campbell this weekend against Bonnyrigg, as I doubt we’ll manage a new one on time.

Yep,100%. Said it for the longest time. Especially Campbell and Hayse, both of them are no where near good enough and we need to rid ourselves of them pronto. Newell has had some decent showings at Hibs but is too slow for a Lee Johnson Hibs.

Hopefully once the permits clear along with Johnson now knowing Henderson is miles better than Campbell, well see a different starting 11 at the weekend

12-07-2022, 09:24 PM

Tonight was brutal.

Where I am as well. I actually defended him when we gave him the latest extension, but I'm really hoping we sign at least another CM this window. Brutal from Newell tonight.

Hibiza
12-07-2022, 09:25 PM
Chickens come home to roost early - glad LJ seen that midfield.

12-07-2022, 09:28 PM
Newell is up there as the most hyped, overrated, midfielders I think I've seen. Genuinely isn't as good as McGeouch and Fyvie (when he was fit).

He has a great left foot but does very little with it. Pretty much a passenger tonight. Looks like he's jogging, spectating the match. Referees get a hard time but genuinely think Clancey made more forward runs than Newell, JDH and Campbell combined.

JDH is Mr Lateral. Has quality but passenger material when so deep and not providing any incisive passes. Just safe option all the time about 50 yards from danger.

Campbell is energetic but slow and ponderous. He closes his man to within 2-3yards, sort of jumps into a flat footed half-squat and then takes little skip steps to close the remaining distance. Pretty much gives opponent upper hand.

They each have some qualities but they are absolutely rotten together.

CL0762
12-07-2022, 09:28 PM
Genuinely don’t get what I miss about Newell.

I see a lot of people say he’s a good player, he does a lot for the team but I honestly do not see it.

He is just so slow and ponderous on the ball, offers next to nothing so often.

HendoDelivered
12-07-2022, 09:31 PM

Woeful.

Was someone not hinting last week that he could be offski?

12-07-2022, 09:32 PM
It's worrying that LJ would have watched hours of our games from last season and his only midfield signing so far is a young lad from the English U23 league who IMO doesn't appear to be ready to improve our midfield. We need an absolute minimum of 2 central midfielders before the window shuts or we'll be bottom six again.

We'd be unbelievably naive to plan for Magennis being fit, so I don't think we should even factor him in to the assessment of the squad.

12-07-2022, 09:32 PM
Newell and JDH are both poor players. Both somehow got hyped up and awarded new contracts last season, despite not doing much. Unfortunately they then went from not doing much to being outright bad.

Whoever handed out those contracts has a lot to answer for.

12-07-2022, 09:33 PM

If he had any sense he would have watched games from last season (not just the last few) and listened to other coaches about the midfield issue.

Campbell should never start a Hibs game again.
Newell and JDH shouldn’t be considered in strongest 11.

Worryingly I’m not sure we will sign anyone centrally.

loanheadhibby
12-07-2022, 09:36 PM

more importantly, how bad is Tait that he can’t get in this midfield? Either give the lad a run or send him out on loan.

EVENTUALLY
12-07-2022, 09:36 PM
Newell is up there as the most hyped, overrated, midfielders I think I've seen. Genuinely isn't as good as McGeouch and Fyvie (when he was fit).

He has a great left foot but does very little with it. Pretty much a passenger tonight. Looks like he's jogging, spectating the match. Referees get a hard time but genuinely think Clancey made more forward runs than Newell, JDH and Campbell combined.

JDH is Mr Lateral. Has quality but passenger material when so deep and not providing any incisive passes. Just safe option all the time about 50 yards from danger.

Campbell is energetic but slow and ponderous. He closes his man to within 2-3yards, sort of jumps into a flat footed half-squat and then takes little skip steps to close the remaining distance. Pretty much gives opponent upper hand.

They each have some qualities but they are absolutely rotten together.

Very accurate.

WestStandWillie
12-07-2022, 09:46 PM
Ach that bloody midfield again.

Hopefully that’s the last time we see those 3 in the same team.

Absolute shambles. Campbell isn’t up to the standard, LJ need to see this quickly or he’ll go the same way SM did.

12-07-2022, 10:10 PM
It we don’t spend some money on real quality in midfield those 3 will get a third manager the sack. For Johnson’s sake I hope we sign at least one, but probably need two, quality midfielders ready to go from the start.

12-07-2022, 10:21 PM
I was going to say Newall has done bugger all since he got his contract extension but his **** performances extend to before that. Doyle-Hayes is sometimes good, sometimes really poor. I don't really trust either of them and unfortunately, as it stands at the moment, young Campbell doesn't seem to be up to the required standard, just now anyway. I've no doubt Johnson will try and address the midfield issue, any manager watching that performance tonight would do the same IMO.

12-07-2022, 10:23 PM

Has he not got a TV, dvd , Sky box or video player? He must have seen them playing together before and also persisted with them tonight whilst replacing others. It’s very very worrying.

12-07-2022, 10:46 PM
Surely David Gray should have been advising LJ that half that team is pish. He has some of the blame for this too, especially the rocky contract farce as it was Gray who played him in all those nothing games.

12-07-2022, 10:59 PM
Surely David Gray should have been advising LJ that half that team is pish. He has some of the blame for this too, especially the rocky contract farce as it was Gray who played him in all those nothing games.

SDG had no idea about the specifics of his loan deal.

12-07-2022, 11:03 PM
SDG had no idea about the specifics of his loan deal.

That makes it even worse then, the fact that nobody came to DG who was the caretaker manager at the time and told him if we play Rocky X amount of times we have to keep him. I find that astounding.

12-07-2022, 11:36 PM
That makes it even worse then, the fact that nobody came to DG who was the caretaker manager at the time and told him if we play Rocky X amount of times we have to keep him. I find that astounding.

The club secretary, who I'm sure would previously have been on top of contract issues like this, left the club in February and he wasn't replaced until the summer. That no doubt meant that clause went unnoticed and we're now lumbered with him for 3 years. That's not David Gray's fault, that's the fault of those in charge of recruiting a new club secretary who no doubt were offering pitiful wages like they do with a lot of positions.

Johnson said recently that Rocky had turned down a couple of moves away from Hibs just after signing for us, so that indicates to me we immediately tried to punt him, probably on loan. No clubs are going to come knocking on our door days after we sign a player enquiring about his availability unless we are alerting clubs and agents that he's available.

12-07-2022, 11:39 PM
All 3 of them can leave me the club tomorrow.

13-07-2022, 12:33 AM
Newells attempt at a shot when the goal was chalked off says all there is to say about him. Decent enough if you need someone to just play the ball about but if you need someone to do something meaningful at either end then he's not the man you want. Campbell may try hard but even stevie wonder can see he's not good enough to be playing for hibs. Just a younger scott martin. Infact I think I'd take scott martin over him. JDH is just meh for me, but I feel like he could do well in johnsons system. This has to be the last time we see this midfield playing together.

JammyDoidger
13-07-2022, 12:40 AM
Don't think any of them do anything particularly well tbh, I've always liked Newell but tonight he just ran about with his head down looking knackered from pretty much the get go. We need someone in their that can control a game, can't rely on Kenneh every week, hendo has looked bright but again needs a bit competition.

For me In an ideal world we would try move Campbell on, and bring in 2 quality midfielders that are going to start. One sort of dictator and a creator.
Same at centre half I'm convinced we need 2, one to come in and start with Porto and another backup, Get Rocky and Hanlon out and leave Mclelland to step in when required.
Also need a right winger, as I'm sure ellie youan, Tavares and bojang are predominantly left sided, aswell as mcgeady.
Hoping the Croatian boy solves the left back situation.

So aye despite all the work we've done in bringing boys in, we are still a wee bit off it to compete for third I think. Leaders required.

13-07-2022, 12:46 AM

Absolutely atrocious.
They just might be. They are really, really bad. It's vital we improve the midfield, otherwise we will be in trouble. Those three can't continue together.

The Captain....
13-07-2022, 05:53 AM
It we don’t spend some money on real quality in midfield those 3 will get a third manager the sack. For Johnson’s sake I hope we sign at least one, but probably need two, quality midfielders ready to go from the start.Agreed, I'm still hopeful we'll bring (decent, experienced) players in for midfield. It's clear as day that those 3 cannot perform consistently at anything approaching an acceptable level. They've been getting away with sub standard pish for too long.

As you say they'll cost another manager his job if he fails to address the glaringly obvious.

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk

McGruber
13-07-2022, 06:21 AM
It we don’t spend some money on real quality in midfield those 3 will get a third manager the sack. For Johnson’s sake I hope we sign at least one, but probably need two, quality midfielders ready to go from the start.

If new managers come in, get to sign more players with a substantial budget than any other team in the league, watch a tonne of games from last season which saw 2 managers get the sack then proceed to not sign some central midfielders and playing the same failed midfield form the season before... they'll get themselves the sack.

13-07-2022, 06:26 AM
And all under contract at least the next 2 seasons?

They're all under contract for the next 3 years.

13-07-2022, 06:27 AM
Should never play in the same Hibs midfield again! Thread closed.

13-07-2022, 06:32 AM
Would we miss any of them if they were replaced? If the answer is no, let’s move them on.

13-07-2022, 06:36 AM

What a thoroughly depressing thought. Great work from everyone involved.

13-07-2022, 06:36 AM
Should have emptied Newell after the st Johnston final , his performance in that game was a disgrace and should have been his last for hibs

13-07-2022, 06:51 AM
Who sanctioned the new deals for these three? Serious question because absolutely none of them deserved it at the time and it’s really coming to cost us now.

RossScott1991
13-07-2022, 06:54 AM
Never want to see the 3 of them play together for Hibs ever again. The most uninspiring boring midfield I can remember.

As individuals I wouldn’t be sad to see any of them leave. If LJ continues to persist with them then he will find himself sacked just like the two before him. They are awful.

Mikey_1875
13-07-2022, 06:58 AM

The thought of these 3 stinking out the midfield for another three seasons is enough to send shivers down anyones spine.

The Captain....
13-07-2022, 07:07 AM
Of the 3 I'd keep JDH as I think he could fit in with different players around him.

Newell..I'd pay up his contract first thing this morning. Slows the game down, can't press, plays other team mates into trouble, creates very little, slow.

Campbell, just doesn't have the quality to be starting games at the level we need to get to. Loan him out or sell to a lower division club.

Two out and get some experienced midfielders who fit the managers style of play in.

13-07-2022, 07:35 AM
They should never form a midfield trio again at Hibs.

13-07-2022, 07:56 AM
Agree with the vast majority, let's pray that we never see that midfield combination again. Very poor.

However, I'm going against the grain and comment that I think that individually I think they are good (not great) players. Individually, they have skills. But individually, they are not leaders and that's what we need now. Collectively, they are poor.

I also hate to disappoint people, but they are not going anywhere else soon, unless another club considers them to be of value to their team. Let's hope Jack Ross wants to pick one up.

Instead, LJ needs to get the midfield balance right. We need a John McGinn style player. We need a Fraser Fyvie style player. We need Magennis back. Playing one of the three in a better midfield should improve them individually.

And to prove I'm talking mince, I actually think Campbell has more to his game than the other two. He actually tries to get forward and got into the box a few times last night, though nothing much came from it. Neither JDH nor Newell did that or even look like they wanted to. Very poor from those two.

13-07-2022, 08:15 AM
Looking online - seems the lack of goals / assists between them is also a major red flag over last few seasons. Looked on transfermarket..

Newell - 1 goal and 3 assists
JDH - 3 goals and 2 assists
Campbell - 2 goals and 5 assists

Paulie Walnuts
13-07-2022, 08:17 AM
Looking online - seems the lack of goals / assists between them is also a major red flag over last few seasons. Looked on transfermarket..

And what worries me is the suggestion seems to be that bringing in an even more defensive midfielder and pushing these guys further up the pitch will fix it.

The 3 of them offer nowhere near enough going forward. We need to replace them with more guys who are more box to box and more creative.

13-07-2022, 08:30 AM

https://th.bing.com/th/id/R.2e1cfc985256ca2994def6078c79670a?rik=FAjqBk5u7Ww ozg&riu=http%3a%2f%2f4.bp.blogspot.com%2f-3wBC3RS9BXk%2fT6VUfOr5whI%2fAAAAAAAABG8%2fEGULByvy shE%2fs1600%2fjumping-out-of-window.gif&ehk=u%2bVzpl6p010RPovTyjkQDvIte%2bn4gfcuXJDCXB%2fu 97E%3d&risl=&pid=ImgRaw&r=0

13-07-2022, 08:36 AM
Has he not got a TV, dvd , Sky box or video player? He must have seen them playing together before and also persisted with them tonight whilst replacing others. It’s very very worrying.

I couldnae believe that, I was screaming at the telly last nite shouting wtf, its every recent managers downfall oor bloody midfield is awol. F,n shambles last nite.

Paulie Walnuts
13-07-2022, 08:36 AM
https://th.bing.com/th/id/R.2e1cfc985256ca2994def6078c79670a?rik=FAjqBk5u7Ww ozg&riu=http%3a%2f%2f4.bp.blogspot.com%2f-3wBC3RS9BXk%2fT6VUfOr5whI%2fAAAAAAAABG8%2fEGULByvy shE%2fs1600%2fjumping-out-of-window.gif&ehk=u%2bVzpl6p010RPovTyjkQDvIte%2bn4gfcuXJDCXB%2fu 97E%3d&risl=&pid=ImgRaw&r=0

13-07-2022, 09:19 AM
Looking like it's going to be another frustrating season with this midfield.

Joe Newell is not as good as he thinks he is.

13-07-2022, 09:36 AM
Agree with the vast majority, let's pray that we never see that midfield combination again. Very poor.

However, I'm going against the grain and comment that I think that individually I think they are good (not great) players. Individually, they have skills. But individually, they are not leaders and that's what we need now. Collectively, they are poor.

I also hate to disappoint people, but they are not going anywhere else soon, unless another club considers them to be of value to their team. Let's hope Jack Ross wants to pick one up.

Instead, LJ needs to get the midfield balance right. We need a John McGinn style player. We need a Fraser Fyvie style player. We need Magennis back. Playing one of the three in a better midfield should improve them individually.

And to prove I'm talking mince, I actually think Campbell has more to his game than the other two. He actually tries to get forward and got into the box a few times last night, though nothing much came from it. Neither JDH nor Newell did that or even look like they wanted to. Very poor from those two.

Agree with most of what you say. Campbell has a lot, an awful lot of weaknesses but he clearly has a lot of what LJ likes in that he plays with urgency and high work rate. It's no surprise that it was him on the end of Hague's cross having bombed up the park on a counter. Sadly he might just not be a very good footballer. And after he got his new contract last season he seemed to lose that work rate too.

There's no danger we'd pay up any of the contracts, I can't fathom folk saying that other than knee-jerk. Loaning them out for 1% wage is smarter than paying them up and it's a daft move.

But yeah, we should never see the 3 of them together in CM again.

13-07-2022, 09:40 AM

You think out the three campbell is better? I’m not having that at all. He gets away with his lack of quality cause he’s been brought through at hibs

If we’d signed him from elsewhere he’d get absolute pelters. He’s a lot worse than Drey Wright for me and you seen the abuse he got for how bad he was.

Paulie Walnuts
13-07-2022, 09:56 AM
Agree with most of what you say. Campbell has a lot, an awful lot of weaknesses but he clearly has a lot of what LJ likes in that he plays with urgency and high work rate. It's no surprise that it was him on the end of Hague's cross having bombed up the park on a counter. Sadly he might just not be a very good footballer. And after he got his new contract last season he seemed to lose that work rate too.

There's no danger we'd pay up any of the contracts, I can't fathom folk saying that other than knee-jerk. Loaning them out for 1% wage is smarter than paying them up and it's a daft move.

But yeah, we should never see the 3 of them together in CM again.

Mind that paying them up doesn’t necessarily mean the whole contract being paid.

Players with a 3 year contract might be happy to take 50% of the rest of their deal and move on. If they can go and get a new club on anything more than 50% of what they’re on at Hibs then they’re financially better off and so are Hibs.

13-07-2022, 10:26 AM
You think out the three campbell is better? I’m not having that at all. He gets away with his lack of quality cause he’s been brought through at hibs

If we’d signed him from elsewhere he’d get absolute pelters. He’s a lot worse than Drey Wright for me and you seen the abuse he got for how bad he was.

I'm not sure Campbell has got away with his lack of quality on here...and did you have to mention Drey Wright? That's my day ruined.

13-07-2022, 10:36 AM
Looking like it's going to be another frustrating season with this midfield.

Joe Newell is not as good as he thinks he is.

I’m beginning to think he’s not even as good as I thought he was.[emoji23]

13-07-2022, 10:56 AM
I’ve refrained from criticizing Campbell but he’s just not good enough to play top six. Newell has badly gone of the boil, and Doyle-Hayes seems to be a player who will have a few decent games but ultimately flatter to deceive. All were poor today.

This midfield offers us only one thing: a turgid relegation struggle and early exit from both cups. Johnson has to see that and act on it or he won’t be here long.

A proven, quality central midfielder was and is the biggest priority this transfer window. We can’t assume Magennis will be fit and it’s unfair to lay all the responsibility on Kenneh.

Surely the club see this?

13-07-2022, 11:18 AM
The problem is not necessarily all three individually, and certainly they can’t play together.

Different set ups get the better out of JDH and also Campbell.

Newall however doesn’t seem to compliment playing in any of our formations with the squad from last night. That might change though when the office pen pushers get their fingers out and actually do some work on those work permits and he may work better with the new additions. That midfield three last night sent alarm bells ringing right across the support. I’m surprised none of the senior players stepped in to warn Johnson that this has been tried before, but just doesn’t work.

It could turn out to be a very costly error of team selection.

13-07-2022, 11:30 AM
The problem with the midfield is - it's really hard to come up with a realistic suggestion as to who we should sign to improve it.

We all know it isn't working and isn't going to work. But it's not easy to come up with a way that we fix it with something or someone who is realistically within our budget.

John McGinn, first time round Scott Allan, Fraser Fyvie, Dylan McGeouch - these guys were all known to us and we managed to fit them into our championship budget. But can anyone honestly say who they'd like us to go out and get to sort it? I know it's the scouting team's job but we can normally come up with suggestions.

"Proven quality" is easier to say than it is to actually identify and then sign.

FWIW I'd have tried to get Craig Sibbald. Been good enough against us enough times over the years and has played well in a Livi side that has competed well in the premier league for the past few years.

But I accept that signing Sibbald alone wouldn't have fixed our midfield problem.

I think it's a tricky one tbh. I was as pissed off as everyone when I saw that trio named last night, but I think we're possibly looking at some "creative foreign rabbit out of a hat" thinking to get it sorted.

13-07-2022, 11:38 AM
We historically struggle against Falkirk. Johnson should have been warned by the senior players at the club to play his strongest side in this game and make sure there were no slip ups. Maybe he was and chose to ignore it but perhaps it shows up his lack of knowledge about the club and the Scottish game.

13-07-2022, 11:43 AM
The problem with the midfield is - it's really hard to come up with a realistic suggestion as to who we should sign to improve it.

We all know it isn't working and isn't going to work. But it's not easy to come up with a way that we fix it with something or someone who is realistically within our budget.

John McGinn, first time round Scott Allan, Fraser Fyvie, Dylan McGeouch - these guys were all known to us and we managed to fit them into our championship budget. But can anyone honestly say who they'd like us to go out and get to sort it? I know it's the scouting team's job but we can normally come up with suggestions.

"Proven quality" is easier to say than it is to actually identify and then sign.

FWIW I'd have tried to get Craig Sibbald. Been good enough against us enough times over the years and has played well in a Livi side that has competed well in the premier league for the past few years.

But I accept that signing Sibbald alone wouldn't have fixed our midfield problem.

I think it's a tricky one tbh. I was as pissed off as everyone when I saw that trio named last night, but I think we're possibly looking at some "creative foreign rabbit out of a hat" thinking to get it sorted.

Falkirk had a better midfield than us last night. It’s not that hard. And given how long we have known about the problem, it’s amazing we haven’t even tried.

13-07-2022, 11:49 AM
I would be sending Campbell out on loan at the very least and letting Newell know he'll be an option from the bench from now on unless he becomes far more consistent. Neither should be starting a game for us any time soon.

Doyle-Hayes is fine, just needs better around him. Kenneh and Henderson will go some way to addressing the midfield issues but we need better.

13-07-2022, 11:50 AM
I would be sending Campbell out on loan at the very least and letting Newell know he'll be an option from the bench from now on unless he becomes far more consistent. Neither should be starting a game for us any time soon.

Doyle-Hayes is fine, just needs better around him. Kenneh and Henderson will go some way to addressing the midfield issues but we need better.

Would actually like to see Kenneh JDH and Henderson start Sunday.

13-07-2022, 11:56 AM
Would actually like to see Kenneh JDH and Henderson start Sunday.

Agree.

13-07-2022, 12:09 PM

My stab at a midfield from what we have available, and I think we need to sign two ready to go central midfielders, would be Kenneh playing as a ball winner, Henderson or McGeady as an attacking midfielder and we simply have to sign another Magennis who will add drive, get into the box and run ahead of the ball. Ideally I’d sign a quality creative midfielder to allow McGeady to play wide and Henderson to continue to develop.

JDH might still have a role to play if he can produce more of the likes of his assist against Clyde. Campbell maybe a short term option to shore up games and let him chase and harry. Newell, he might have technical ability but he doesn’t use it to influence a game and makes us a poorer less functional team with him in it. He would be my first midfielder out the door. Maybe Jack Ross will do us a favour for the new contract he gave him and take him to Dundee Utd. It’s not realistic to do it this window, but I’d move all 3 on over the next few windows.

13-07-2022, 12:23 PM

That's not what I said though. I said that there was more to Campbell's game than the other two. At least he tries to get forward and runs into the box, though nothing came from it. However, it's what we've been crying out for is a midfielder that runs into the box.

Someone else posted the stats. Whilst depressing, it does show that Campbell is more involved in goal action than the other two, albeit not great from all three. For the avoidance of doubt, I'm just saying he has more to his game than the other two.

I was really disappointed in Newell last night. Maybe it's the injury, but he was poor.

loanheadhibby
13-07-2022, 02:11 PM
Of the 3 I'd keep JDH as I think he could fit in with different players around him.

Newell..I'd pay up his contract first thing this morning. Slows the game down, can't press, plays other team mates into trouble, creates very little, slow.

Campbell, just doesn't have the quality to be starting games at the level we need to get to. Loan him out or sell to a lower division club.

Two out and get some experienced midfielders who fit the managers style of play in.

And unfortunately they don't score goals.

13-07-2022, 02:11 PM
Falkirk had a better midfield than us last night. It’s not that hard. And given how long we have known about the problem, it’s amazing we haven’t even tried.

Falkirk do not have a better midfield than us. Don't even think they were better. Our defence just heaped the pressure on us first half.

13-07-2022, 02:14 PM
Falkirk do not have a better midfield than us. Don't even think they were better. Our defence just heaped the pressure on us first half.

I’m amazed you only blame the defence for heaping pressure on us first half when our midfield were absolutely non existent.

13-07-2022, 02:18 PM
Newell, Campbell and JDH play for Hibs. They should be absolutley dominating the midfield against league one opposition. They were chasing shadows for much of the first half. I've defended Newell a fair bit on here but i can't accept last night. Campbell is bordering on a waste of a jersey. Harsh but true. I see something in JDH but he needs to up his game from last night.

munchar
13-07-2022, 02:40 PM
I’m amazed you only blame the defence for heaping pressure on us first half when our midfield were absolutely non existent.

None of our midfield 1st half had the confidence to take the ball under pressure. There’s a reason the Falkirk players are there, they’re not good enough at a higher level. If our midfield think they’re SPL quality, they should’ve had the cigars out last night. Very worrying. Cadden & Henderson made an impact when they came on, but it’s expected against 1st division sides. LJ must’ve got a few answers regarding who has the quality or not last night.

Paulie Walnuts
13-07-2022, 02:40 PM

That midfield 3 is an embarrassment. They were miles off Falkirk last night and were miles off pretty much every team they came up against last year.

13-07-2022, 03:09 PM

I don't only blame the defense, not at all. What is the point of joining in the circle jerk about our midfield. Anything other than ''they are all absolutely dreadful, with no redeeming qualities, and should all have their contracts terminated immediately'' is considered trolling right now, so I'll pass.

For me, our back 4 and goalie were worse first half. Constantly gave it away in dangerous areas, no composure, no ability to move it forward, and refused to ever knock it long to Doidge. Coupled with dreadful defending on multiple occasions, they were more of a problem for me.

munchar
13-07-2022, 03:10 PM

That midfield 3 is an embarrassment. They were miles off Falkirk last night and were miles off pretty much every team they came up against last year.

Without being disrespectful to Falkirk, our U-23 players should be able to compete with their midfield. Young, hungry energetic players. When 1st team regulars find it tough, it’s worrying for the season aheaad.

13-07-2022, 03:42 PM

First half the whole spine of the team was absolutely pitiful for a team with any sort of pretence of reaching the top 4 (of the top league).

Arguing about whether the GK, the centre halves, the midfield or how anonymous it was possible for Doidge to be isn't really the point imo - as they were all absolutely appalling.

13-07-2022, 03:47 PM
First half the whole spine of the team was absolutely pitiful for a team with any sort of pretence of reaching the top 4 (of the top league).

Arguing about whether the GK, the centre halves, the midfield or how anonymous it was possible for Doidge to be isn't really the point imo - as they were all absolutely appalling.

That’s true. I’m concentrating more on the midfield because it was the same midfield trio that failed to perform on so many occasions last season.

We even had posters convinced they’d be better playing LJ’s style of football.

All 3 were absolute woeful

familyman
13-07-2022, 04:01 PM
we have for sometime seen how certain players just cannot do the job yet they remain for now ,also we have signed one who seems too young and nervous to be thrown in at the deep end. and will help us hopefully in a year or two but time is not what we have for quick turn around in league so PLEASE select winning combinations....study last seasons
performances make it kinda obvious what went wrong ....worrying line up against Falkirk yet in some ways no surprise in the first half display..if it is a one off then ok now he has seen it first hand but we do not want return of boy band ever again!
This season has to be far far better and EVERY match we pay to see deserves effort for 90 mins.
We must not start the league with players who underform and are inconsistent.....

13-07-2022, 04:12 PM
I don't only blame the defense, not at all. What is the point of joining in the circle jerk about our midfield. Anything other than ''they are all absolutely dreadful, with no redeeming qualities, and should all have their contracts terminated immediately'' is considered trolling right now, so I'll pass.

For me, our back 4 and goalie were worse first half. Constantly gave it away in dangerous areas, no composure, no ability to move it forward, and refused to ever knock it long to Doidge. Coupled with dreadful defending on multiple occasions, they were more of a problem for me.

Well considering the thread including the opening post was about the midfield and not the defence I don't see why the defence is even being mentioned.

JamesHFC
13-07-2022, 04:30 PM
Seems to be the same story every time they play together. Not good enough.

13-07-2022, 06:33 PM

I'm of a certain vintage now MW and remember one midfield in particular which had a combination of style, creativity, braun, and energy - Aberdeen, 1982/1983.

Gordon Strachan, Neale Cooper, Neil Simpson, Doug Bell, John McMaster..........for me, the perfect blend and balance. I used to watch them train and they trained how they played. Every one of those players had their own unique characterisitics, but all five had one thing in common - they could drive forward, breaking the lines, whether centrally or wide. They all could create, and they all could defend.

I remember speaking to McLeish once and asked him about that side, and he said the reason Miller and McLeish got plaudits and as much recognition was as much down to the midfield in front of them as their own abilities, in that they knew once they (midfield) had the ball, their role was purely to defend. Modern football has advanced of course, but the fact remains, if you have midfielders who once you give them the ball, can take the game forward at a pace and energy, you relieve the pressure on the defence and allow them to concentrate on their core function. Our midfield, because of their lack of what I've described, constantly put our defence under pressure by losing possession, playing too deep and square, and inviting the press because they don't break the lines and carry the game into the opposition half enough.

We need two players who can do that (centrally).

13-07-2022, 06:43 PM
I'm of a certain vintage now MW and remember one midfield in particular which had a combination of style, creativity, braun, and energy - Aberdeen, 1982/1983.

Gordon Strachan, Neale Cooper, Neil Simpson, Doug Bell, John McMaster..........for me, the perfect blend and balance. I used to watch them train and they trained how they played. Every one of those players had their own unique characterisitics, but all five had one thing in common - they could drive forward, breaking the lines, whether centrally or wide. They all could create, and they all could defend.

I remember speaking to McLeish once and asked him about that side, and he said the reason Miller and McLeish got plaudits and as much recognition was as much down to the midfield in front of them as their own abilities, in that they knew once they (midfield) had the ball, their role was purely to defend. Modern football has advanced of course, but the fact remains, if you have midfielders who once you give them the ball, can take the game forward at a pace and energy, you relieve the pressure on the defence and allow them to concentrate on their core function. Our midfield, because of their lack of what I've described, constantly put our defence under pressure by losing possession, playing too deep and square, and inviting the press because they don't break the lines and carry the game into the opposition half enough.

We need two players who can do that (centrally).

Yesterday we started with 5 defenders and a goalie who couldn't find eachother, never mind midfielders.

MagicSwirlingShip
13-07-2022, 07:35 PM
Our midfield has been rubbish for ages.
Wasn’t great under Ross either.
Until we start signing better midfielders who can perform at a high level consistently instead of trying to get a tune out of average ones we will continue to lose the midfield battle.
I’m hopeful on Kenneh as he looks to be a good link between defence and midfield, but we really need another high quality signing in. Newell, Campbell and JDH aren’t going to win us anything IMO

Hibiza
14-07-2022, 08:50 AM
Joe Newell , today's press " if we win our next two games and qualify everyone will forget about this " ( Falkirk performance ) , - I won't.

14-07-2022, 09:06 AM
Newell can play but only when he wants

14-07-2022, 02:35 PM
Joe Newell , today's press " if we win our next two games and qualify everyone will forget about this " ( Falkirk performance ) , - I won't.

Not if we are not seeded and end up away to either the old firm. Strange thing to say imo

Hibiza
14-07-2022, 02:40 PM
Newell can play but only when he wants

That's not enough though , is it ? A habitual underachiever.

14-07-2022, 03:07 PM

Suits perfectly with this club then, lets be honest. Thats no reason to bin him.

NC1875
14-07-2022, 03:34 PM

Mentality issues. Same old losers in the team. There’s always the next game. Same mentality in derbies.

Empty them now and spend some of this money that’s sitting in the bank.

14-07-2022, 05:22 PM
It was the same last season.

Too many players comfortable.

They knew they wouldn’t be dropped.

2 midfielders that are hungry to improve and give everything is what we are missing. We played Stevenson in midfield last season few times and he showed what we were missing. I’m not suggesting he’s the solution but the flair needs some graft next to it.

MagicSwirlingShip
14-07-2022, 05:42 PM
It was the same last season.

Too many players comfortable.

They knew they wouldn’t be dropped.

2 midfielders that are hungry to improve and give everything is what we are missing. We played Stevenson in midfield last season few times and he showed what we were missing. I’m not suggesting he’s the solution but the flair needs some graft next to it.

Zero flair in the midfield three the other night. Would rather Stevenson than Newell

Hibiza
14-07-2022, 05:53 PM
Suits perfectly with this club then, lets be honest. Thats no reason to bin him.

You can't bin him because he consistently underachieved ? What other reason do you need MW ?

loanheadhibby
14-07-2022, 06:00 PM

Are you serious?
He underachieves every week but let's keep him.
That's a classic even for you.

14-07-2022, 06:05 PM
You can't bin him because he consistently underachieved ? What other reason do you need MW ?

Are you serious?
He underachieves every week but let's keep him.
That's a classic even for you.

I mean, I don't think its true for a start, what does it even mean?

He is not the reason for Hibs underachieving because since he's been here, compared to the clubs history, we really haven't.

delbert
14-07-2022, 06:41 PM

Sorry, we have a spine ? When did this happen ? We have been heartless, gutless and very definitely spineless in games which matter for the last 3 or 4 seasons, full of journeymen third raters who heap pressure on the few good players we produce such as Boyle. The mediocrity which has been paraded at Easter Road recently is mind blowing, and last nights pathetic showing is just one more to add to an ever expanding list.

14-07-2022, 07:12 PM
Sorry, we have a spine ? When did this happen ? We have been heartless, gutless and very definitely spineless in games which matter for the last 3 or 4 seasons, full of journeymen third raters who heap pressure on the few good players we produce such as Boyle. The mediocrity which has been paraded at Easter Road recently is mind blowing, and last nights pathetic showing is just one more to add to an ever expanding list.

Don't even know where to start with this utter rubbish.

14-07-2022, 08:08 PM
I’d play cadden, tait and Stevenson at the weekend and I wouldn’t bother putting newell on the Bench I would ask him to report to the training ground for fitness work. Campbell tries, but lacks quality and hides from the pass too often. Doyle-Hayes is the best of the three, but I just don’t want to see any of them in a Hibs shirt soon.

14-07-2022, 08:29 PM
Don't even know where to start with this utter rubbish.

It’s not the greatest of posts, I agree, but its not much worse than blaming our defence for our consistently poor midfield just because some were claiming Newell would walk into any team outside the old firm a couple of months ago.

We’ve needed to upgrade for a long time.

14-07-2022, 08:49 PM
It’s not the greatest of posts, I agree, but its not much worse than blaming our defence for our consistently poor midfield just because some were claiming Newell would walk into any team outside the old firm a couple of months ago.

We’ve needed to upgrade for a long time.

Who done that like?

14-07-2022, 08:52 PM
Going to need to pick a couple of rabbits out of a hat here and fast. We are absolutely desperate for a centre half and central midfielder .. I honestly think if we dont sort that out then the managerial merry go round will continue. The lack of quality in there is so blatantly obvious. Manager on a hiding to nothing

Hibiza
15-07-2022, 08:42 PM
3 utter duds , were going nowhere with them.

cameronw-hfc
15-07-2022, 09:06 PM
I think all 3 are capable players. Campbell the least so, but JDH and Newell are for sure very decent SPL players, however we've seen time and time again that they can not play together. They're not creative enough. One of them, Kenneh and Hendo is a very decent midfield imo.

15-07-2022, 09:12 PM
I think all 3 are capable players. Campbell the least so, but JDH and Newell are for sure very decent SPL players, however we've seen time and time again that they can not play together. They're not creative enough. One of them, Kenneh and Hendo is a very decent midfield imo.

Good analysis for me this ….[emoji106]

15-07-2022, 09:33 PM

This is where I'm at too, hopefully magennis can get fit soon and be an alternative option to Henderson.

Newall JDH and magennis worked well together last season so I'd be happy with the three of them together if Kenneth was injured or suspended

16-07-2022, 08:32 AM

Agree needs to show it more

Tha Cabbage Kid
16-07-2022, 09:08 AM
Would rather seem magennis and JDH in the centre of midfield and Newell play left back............in the changing room.

Sent from my moto g(8) power using Tapatalk

16-07-2022, 09:29 AM

I think JDH could maybe play in between Kenneh & Henderson if he could do more of what he did in terms of getting forward and driving with the ball against Clyde.

Campbell is a willing runner if probably not for the quality or technical ability to link the other two.

Newell has the technical ability but not the drive or athleticism to be that connect. I can’t see how he plays in front of another defensive midfield as we end up with two defensive midfielders and Henderson isolated. Newell has to play defensive midfield or not at all IMO. We’ve still to really find out about Kenneth but we badly need his energy and athleticism in the midfield so it’s probably not at all for me.

Hibiza
16-07-2022, 04:35 PM
It's really simple , forget about who plays with who and who doesn't . Don't play any ever ,ship them out, as they are all obviously sub standard.

16-07-2022, 04:40 PM
It's really simple , forget about who plays with who and who doesn't . Don't play any ever ,ship them out, as they are all obviously sub standard.

When they’ve all been given three year contracts, for no real reason, that’s not really practical.

Feel sorry for Johnson in that he’s inherited that situation but, equally, he has to have learned from the other night.

Still think JDH, of the three, has more to offer than what he has shown.

cameronw-hfc
16-07-2022, 04:59 PM
I think JDH could maybe play in between Kenneh & Henderson if he could do more of what he did in terms of getting forward and driving with the ball against Clyde.

Campbell is a willing runner if probably not for the quality or technical ability to link the other two.

Newell has the technical ability but not the drive or athleticism to be that connect. I can’t see how he plays in front of another defensive midfield as we end up with two defensive midfielders and Henderson isolated. Newell has to play defensive midfield or not at all IMO. We’ve still to really find out about Kenneth but we badly need his energy and athleticism in the midfield so it’s probably not at all for me.

Joe isn't a DM though, and ill try look them out but the athleticism comment isn't all that true about him, towards the end of last season there were stats going about showing how much every player covered per game and Joe was substantially higher than anyone else in our team.

He's a traditional CM, not creative or defensive but does a bit of everything to a decent standard. He looks poor when hes the most creative out of the 3 and we're asking him to play in a way he isn't comfortable, which seems to be how we do.

His best performances for us have been combative games where hes bee all over the pitch and kept things neat and tidy in possession.

He's not a Mcginn type box to box, more of a retention player. A solid DM, Newell and Henderson would be a handy midfield.

For a comparison, I think his best role would be similar to a cross between Fyvie and Mcgeough. Good ball retention players, but don't expect them to be creating left right and centre.

16-07-2022, 05:08 PM
Joe isn't a DM though, and ill try look them out but the athleticism comment isn't all that true about him, towards the end of last season there were stats going about showing how much every player covered per game and Joe was substantially higher than anyone else in our team.

He's a traditional CM, not creative or defensive but does a bit of everything to a decent standard. He looks poor when hes the most creative out of the 3 and we're asking him to play in a way he isn't comfortable, which seems to be how we do.

His best performances for us have been combative games where hes bee all over the pitch and kept things neat and tidy in possession.

He's not a Mcginn type box to box, more of a retention player. A solid DM, Newell and Henderson would be a handy midfield.

For a comparison, I think his best role would be similar to a cross between Fyvie and Mcgeough. Good ball retention players, but don't expect them to be creating left right and centre.

Strange because when he came his highlights reel showed him playing on the left of midfield and that's where Heckingbottom brought him here to play but for some reason he feels he's a traditional CM, he's not.

16-07-2022, 05:16 PM
Strange because when he came his highlights reel showed him playing on the left of midfield and that's where Heckingbottom brought him here to play but for some reason he feels he's a traditional CM, he's not.

He is. His best position is undoubtedly central midfield. He has been much better there than he ever was anywhere else.

cameronw-hfc
16-07-2022, 05:24 PM

He is, he played out of position on the left, Hecky told Joe he was signing him as a CM, not a LM and then weirdly played him at LM.

He even stated the main reason for coming here was the fact he was getting to play as a CM.

It's no surprise he looked awful in the first few games at LM, and vastly improved when moved into the middle of the park.

16-07-2022, 05:36 PM

For Newell being a traditional midfielder, he’s spent a hell a lot of his career not actually playing in the middle of the park.

Despite him not being a wide player, he spent most of his time down south playing wide. Think he fancies himself as playing in the middle of the park but it’s not really his position, or he’s just not very good at it.

Hibiza
16-07-2022, 07:04 PM
When they’ve all been given three year contracts, for no real reason, that’s not really practical.

Feel sorry for Johnson in that he’s inherited that situation but, equally, he has to have learned from the other night.

Still think JDH, of the three, has more to offer than what he has shown.

Why not practical , all 3 out and a new essential midfield.

16-07-2022, 07:08 PM
Why not practical , all 3 out and a new essential midfield.

Because they’re all contracted. They’re not just going to walk away. There isn’t an endless supply of money.

16-07-2022, 07:16 PM

Spot on. Newell in particular is a very classy player, but doesn’t suit having JDH (who has also shown glimpses of being very good) and Josh Campbell (consistently miles off the mark) for company and it just doesn’t work. Newell the best of the three, although JDH could change my mind I’m sure.

cameronw-hfc
16-07-2022, 07:34 PM
For Newell being a traditional midfielder, he’s spent a hell a lot of his career not actually playing in the middle of the park.

Despite him not being a wide player, he spent most of his time down south playing wide. Think he fancies himself as playing in the middle of the park but it’s not really his position, or he’s just not very good at it.

This is pretty mental logic. So because he's been used out of position before Hibs, that means the position he feels most comfortable in, all 3 managers at Hibs have used him in, and where he's played his best football isn't his natural position because he played elsewhere?

Joelinton spent an awfy lot of time as a striker before being put into the middle of the park, seems to be his natrusk position.

Some players take time to find their role, just because you seen some highlights of him as a winger that doesn't mean he's naturally a wide player. He's a CM, he says so, Ross, Maloney, LJ and even Hecky thought so, and he's had plenty of good games in that role for me to say he's good enough for me there.

He's also spoken highly of by the pundits in and around Scottish football. Think you've just taken a dislike to the lad and won't admit his pro's.

16-07-2022, 07:39 PM
This is pretty mental logic. So because he's been used out of position before Hibs, that means the position he feels most comfortable in, all 3 managers at Hibs have used him in, and where he's played his best football isn't his natural position because he played elsewhere?

Joelinton spent an awfy lot of time as a striker before being put into the middle of the park, seems to be his natrusk position.

Some players take time to find their role, just because you seen some highlights of him as a winger that doesn't mean he's naturally a wide player. He's a CM, he says so, Ross, Maloney, LJ and even Hecky thought so, and he's had plenty of good games in that role for me to say he's good enough for me there.

He's also spoken highly of by the pundits in and around Scottish football. Think you've just taken a dislike to the lad and won't admit his pro's.

Surely it’s more mental to think he is a central midfielder, when he’s spent the bulk of his career in different positions? What about all the guys he played for before Ross and Maloney (who got the sack when he was their main man in the middle of the park) that didn’t play him in central midfield?

I hope LJ will see he’s not and Hecky didn’t play him there.

You’ve just taken a like to the lad and won’t admit his cons maybe?

cameronw-hfc
16-07-2022, 07:44 PM
Surely it’s more mental to think he is a central midfielder, when he’s spent the bulk of his career in different positions? What about all the guys he played for before Ross and Maloney (who got the sack when he was their main man in the middle of the park) that didn’t play him in central midfield?

I hope LJ will see he’s not and Hecky didn’t play him there.

You’ve just taken a like to the lad and won’t admit his cons maybe?

Nah, you're just desperate to have a go. Take a day off bud. Newell has his issues, as does JDH, but they're both good CM for our level.

If you truly think Newell should be moved back out to LM, then I'm not sure if you're even worth debating.

Also met a Rotherham fan on twitter when he signed that told me he was used as a winger despite never being a winger in his life with them. Again, in sure you know a lot more though, eh?

16-07-2022, 07:52 PM
Nah, you're just desperate to have a go. Take a day off bud. Newell has his issues, as does JDH, but they're both good CM for our level.

If you truly think Newell should be moved back out to LM, then I'm not sure if you're even worth debating.

Also met a Rotherham fan on twitter when he signed that told me he was used as a winger despite never being a winger in his life with them. Again, in sure you know a lot more though, eh?

That first line is a load of nonsense. It’s a deflection when someone makes a point that you don’t agree with. Bud.

I never said Newell should be moved out to left wing did I? I just don’t think he’s very good in the middle of the park.

You’re conveniently ignoring the fact that he never actually played in the middle of the park, regularly, before he came here. There has to be a reason for that surely?

Glad that guy you met on twitter enlightened you. But then nobody on the internet talks any sense, do they….

16-07-2022, 07:55 PM
I am against the grain of some of the tone on here . still think Newall is one of our best players. Don’t think we’ve got the balance right yet and it has to be noted that Nisbet and Magennis are huge losses for us ..but for me, Newall sets the tempo of our game when we have the ball. Will be interesting to see how Johnson uses him ….

16-07-2022, 08:01 PM
I am against the grain of some of the tone on here . still think Newall is one of our best players. Don’t think we’ve got the balance right yet and it has to be noted that Nisbet and Magennis are huge losses for us ..but for me, Newall sets the tempo of our game when we have the ball. Will be interesting to see how Johnson uses him ….

We all see things differently. I think Newell setting the tempo is one of our biggest problems since he’s been here IMO. He slows our tempo down, which is fine in itself, but rarely increases the tempo. He can retain the ball but by goes backward unnecessarily too often and by the time we do attack the other team are back behind the ball.

cameronw-hfc
16-07-2022, 08:03 PM
That first line is a load of nonsense. It’s a deflection when someone makes a point that you don’t agree with. Bud.

I never said Newell should be moved out to left wing did I? I just don’t think he’s very good in the middle of the park.

You’re conveniently ignoring the fact that he never actually played in the middle of the park, regularly, before he came here. There has to be a reason for that surely?

Glad that guy you met on twitter enlightened you. But then nobody on the internet talks any sense, do they….

Honestly cannot tell if you're a trolling or not. The guys a CM, he thinks so, every manager at Hibs thought so, Hecky used him out wide a few times, he's never played there since for us. Think I'll trust multiple Hibs managers and the man himself as to what his natural position is rather than some guy on Hibs.net.

And I did address the not playing at CM before, sometimes it takes players longer to find their natural role, the example I used was Joelinton. Crap striker, played as a striker/second striker his whole career, Eddie Howe moves him to CM and he looks like a new player.

Just because someone played in a certain position before Hibs doesn't mean that's their best role.

If you'd like other examples of players that have played elsewhere before finding their home in a different role here you go- Henry, Thomas Mueller, Javier Mascherano, Vincent Kompany, Pirlo, Gareth Barry, Gareth Bale, Aubameyang, Kimmich, Lahm.

All played somewhere else before being moved to the roles we knew them in as they were. Barry and Bale being full backs, Mueller a wide player, Pirlo a #10.

There's plenty of times it's happened in the past so stop acting like he can't possibly be a CM because he's played elsewhere in his career.

16-07-2022, 08:03 PM
We all see things differently. I think Newell setting the tempo is one of our biggest problems since he’s been here IMO. He slows our tempo down, which is fine in itself, but rarely increases the tempo. He can retain the ball but by goes backward unnecessarily too often and by the time we do attack the other team are back behind the ball.

Agree, him setting the tempo is a problem and not in keeping with what we’re led to believe LJ wants from his team, IMO.

16-07-2022, 08:10 PM
Honestly cannot tell if you're a trolling or not. The guys a CM, he thinks so, every manager at Hibs thought so, Hecky used him out wide a few times, he's never played there since for us. Think I'll trust multiple Hibs managers and the man himself as to what his natural position is rather than some guy on Hibs.net.

And I did address the not playing at CM before, sometimes it takes players longer to find their natural role, the example I used was Joelinton. Crap striker, played as a striker/second striker his whole career, Eddie Howe moves him to CM and he looks like a new player.

Just because someone played in a certain position before Hibs doesn't mean that's their best role.

If you'd like other examples of players that have played elsewhere before finding their home in a different role here you go- Henry, Thomas Mueller, Javier Mascherano, Vincent Kompany, Pirlo, Gareth Barry, Gareth Bale, Aubameyang, Kimmich, Lahm.

All played somewhere else before being moved to the roles we knew them in as they were. Barry and Bale being full backs, Mueller a wide player, Pirlo a #10.

There's plenty of times it's happened in the past so stop acting like he can't possibly be a CM because he's played elsewhere in his career.

The trolling chat is nonsense. You’re a guy on Hibs.Net as well. Are you still ignoring all the guys pre Hibs who, presumably, weren’t on Hibs.net either?

By the way, he has played wide since Hecky left. Left wing back in a couple of games under Ross just before lockdown. Was doing really well, had a couple of assists I think, before he went off injured at Kilmarnock. I remember it as it was the windiest game of football I’ve ever watched and my train home was cancelled because of it.

I’m not saying he’s not a central midfielder due to not playing there before. I just, simply, don’t think he’s a good central midfielder.

16-07-2022, 09:10 PM
I think we often look better when we’re expected to give up a bit of possession and hit on the break. We’re worse when dominating possession, which we’ll unfortunately expect to do in a number of games.

Newell can be very handy when we’re in the lead and expecting to counter attack. He disappears when we fall behind and are expected to dominate possession as the opposition sit back, let us have the ball and defend their lead.

1875Sean
17-07-2022, 02:55 PM
Thank **** for Joe Newell

LustForLeith
17-07-2022, 02:58 PM
Thank **** for Joe Newell

Here here

There’s a cracking player there. Hopefully Hibs get the best of him

17-07-2022, 02:59 PM
Joe Newell balon dor

17-07-2022, 03:03 PM
Looking a lot better in there with neither JDH or Campbell accompanying him.

cameronw-hfc
17-07-2022, 03:05 PM
The hysteria about Newell the last few days will look very silly by the end of the season. A good amount of Hibs fans can see the obvious quality, some admittedly think he should show it more, but he's been targetted as a boo boys favourite from the beginning.

Doesn't matter the opponent, if he was crap folk would be saying he should stroll it today, he's doing exactly as he should. Not surprised a player looked sluggish in his first competitive game of the season vs Falkirk.

17-07-2022, 04:24 PM
Great way to answer the critics (myself included), took his goals very well indeed - very fine finishes :aok: Needs to do that week in week out and play with that same attacking intent. If he does, he'll get assists and goals and many more plaudits. Much better balance to the midfield too, allowed him to get forward more, Henderson is a more complete and assured player than JDH.

Opening post still stands though :wink: the three players mentioned in the title do not work at all together as a unit :agree:

NC1875
17-07-2022, 04:30 PM
Great way to answer the critics (myself included), took his goals very well indeed - very fine finishes :aok: Needs to do that week in week out and play with that same attacking intent. If he does, he'll get assists and goals and many more plaudits. Much better balance to the midfield too, allowed him to get forward more, Henderson is a more complete and assured player than JDH.

Opening post still stands though :wink: the three players mentioned in the title do not work at all together as a unit :agree:

Yip, Easy to do it against Bonnyrigg. Do it week in, week out and people will lay off him.

17-07-2022, 04:41 PM
Yip, Easy to do it against Bonnyrigg. Do it week in, week out and people will lay off him.

Lol, I knew this crap would be trotted out. What happened to all the other players against Bonnyrigg? What about McGeady, surely you’d expect him to have ripped them apart?

17-07-2022, 04:42 PM

I hate posts like this.

If it was that easy why wasn't everyone else as good as him?

17-07-2022, 04:45 PM
Newall was excellent long may it continue

17-07-2022, 04:45 PM
Can definitely see a difference in him when he isn’t part of that midfield 3

17-07-2022, 04:57 PM
I hate posts like this.

If it was that easy why wasn't everyone else as good as him?

Yep. It’s the anticipation of a poor game that some almost look forward to in order to prove some sort of point. Don’t play that 3 together and all of them will be fine in plenty of games.

17-07-2022, 04:59 PM
The hysteria about Newell the last few days will look very silly by the end of the season. A good amount of Hibs fans can see the obvious quality, some admittedly think he should show it more, but he's been targetted as a boo boys favourite from the beginning.

Doesn't matter the opponent, if he was crap folk would be saying he should stroll it today, he's doing exactly as he should. Not surprised a player looked sluggish in his first competitive game of the season vs Falkirk.

He did well today. He did what many are looking for him to do and think he can do. It doesn’t mean everything he’s been criticised for before is irrelevant. I don’t think there has been any hysteria either, criticism has been fairly consistent.

If he plays more forward thinking, like today, folk will start to change their tune, me included.

17-07-2022, 05:03 PM
Can definitely see a difference in him when he isn’t part of that midfield 3

Totally agree.

17-07-2022, 05:06 PM
Newell's problem is we know he has the talent but doesn't deliver it near enough, he needs to show that kind of form consistently in the league, then folk will get off his back.

17-07-2022, 05:11 PM
I've been critical of him but he was superb today.

You can only beat what's in front of you.

Newell's issue is consistency though and he needs to follow it up with a few more like that.

He looked much more comfortable with the players he had playing around him and the blend looked much better.

There were still issues in all departments - defence, midfield and up front but with every game I think we're getting closer to sorting them.

Funnily enough I'm getting more concerned about us at CH as these games go by and think we might be in trouble when we play better opposition in the league.

17-07-2022, 05:15 PM
Newell's problem is we know he has the talent but doesn't deliver it near enough, he needs to show that kind of form consistently in the league, then folk will get off his back.

And until he does exactly what folk want, he'll get abuse?

17-07-2022, 05:21 PM

It’s this kind of post that irritates me. Surely you just have to give him credit for the last time you saw him perform? How long before he gets the ‘well he’s been ***** in the past so I’m not going to trust the evidence of my own eyes yesterday’ monkey off his back? A month? The whole season?

LewysGot2
17-07-2022, 05:22 PM
He was definitely influential today, showed good composure and was involved in 3 of the goals.

Was one of the best players on the park and nobody could've grumbled if he'd been given MotM.

Though no doubt some might 😂

17-07-2022, 05:31 PM

So, who does show that consistency in this Hibs team? I don’t disagree that players need to show consistency but why does Newell get singled out and others don’t?

NC1875
17-07-2022, 05:31 PM
Lol, I knew this crap would be trotted out. What happened to all the other players against Bonnyrigg? What about McGeady, surely you’d expect him to have ripped them apart?

We’re talking about Newell though. No need to mention McGeady.

If you don’t think Newell should be head and shoulders above guys who are working day jobs as well as playing for Bonnyrigg then you’re deluded.

The whole team should be, just like they should’ve been against Falkirk. It doesn’t mean Newells suddenly a superstar because he turned up against a plasterer I was working with the other week.

He needs to perform like that week in, week out. Against better opposition.

Nothing against him. It’s facts.

NC1875
17-07-2022, 05:33 PM
So, who does show that consistency in this Hibs team? I don’t disagree that players need to show consistency but why does Newell get singled out and others don’t?

🤣🤣🤣 really ?

Maybe because this is a thread about 3 players. And people are discussing the only one who started today.

17-07-2022, 05:52 PM
It’s this kind of post that irritates me. Surely you just have to give him credit for the last time you saw him perform? How long before he gets the ‘well he’s been ***** in the past so I’m not going to trust the evidence of my own eyes yesterday’ monkey off his back? A month? The whole season?

Who says I'm not giving him credit, posts like yours are just as irritating because you don't read other posts properly, he gets credit today yes but he needs to do it more often, there's nothing wrong with saying that. Because we know he has the talent, it's when he disappears in a game people get frustrated with him.

18Craig75
17-07-2022, 05:53 PM
It’s Newell or JDH for me. Henderson & Kenneh the other two.

17-07-2022, 05:56 PM

Because out of the 3 being discussed he's the most talented and being a senior player needs to maybe lead by example. Campbell had only played lower league and JDH had 1 half decent season, Newell has played a lot of football at a fairly decent level and we expect more from him more often. Remember we're only talking about the midfield on this thread.

Hibiza
17-07-2022, 05:57 PM
Well done Joe , don't do your usual after a good game and let the world go round till you fancy another good game .

17-07-2022, 06:10 PM
Who says I'm not giving him credit, posts like yours are just as irritating because you don't read other posts properly, he gets credit today yes but he needs to do it more often, there's nothing wrong with saying that. Because we know he has the talent, it's when he disappears in a game people get frustrated with him.

You just basically repeated yourself.

How long till he gets free of abuse in your opinion?

17-07-2022, 06:20 PM

What a ridiculous question, how long is a piece of string?
How's about starting with decent solid performances 3 out of 5 games instead of 1 good performance and then 7-8 games before the next one. Newell as has been mentioned by umpteen people has the talent but fails to deliver it in enough games and by the way who is actually abusing him? He'll get ripped every time he puts in a half hearted performance like we seen against Falkirk and any other game he plays like that, it's the nature of supporters forums, you'll maybe notice that Cadden hardly ever has a bad thing said about him as he's a pretty steady 6-7 out of 10 performer most games, if Newell could do that then the so called abuse will stop.

17-07-2022, 06:21 PM

Is abuse not just hyperbole? He’s had criticism, much of it justified IMO, over his 3 seasons here but in the main it’s been constructive. Abuse and hysteria don’t reflect the Newell discussions IMO. Certainly on this thread anyway.

I didn’t see todays game but sounds like he did the things I criticise him for not doing, and did them well. As it stands I think we could replace and upgrade him (in terms of making the team greater than the sum of its parts) fairly easily on our budget. More performances like today and I’ll think replacing and upgrading him will be a more difficult task.

17-07-2022, 06:23 PM

Yep.

And after today that third place is Newell's to lose.

17-07-2022, 06:26 PM
Is abuse not just hyperbole? He’s had criticism, much of it justified IMO, over his 3 seasons here but in the main it’s been constructive. Abuse and hysteria don’t reflect the Newell discussions IMO. Certainly on this thread anyway.

I didn’t see todays game but sounds like he did the things I criticise him for not doing, and did them well. As it stands I think we could replace and upgrade him (in terms of making the team greater than the sum of its parts) fairly easily on our budget. More performances like today and I’ll think replacing and upgrading him will be a more difficult task.

He did.

It was a good start for him - a good clean strike of the ball for his goal, the type he's been sclaffing too often. It set him up to have a good game and he built on it nicely, some tidy finishes and the odd really good direct ball in behind the defence too. Less of the dallying and the sideways stuff.

17-07-2022, 06:26 PM
We’re talking about Newell though. No need to mention McGeady.

If you don’t think Newell should be head and shoulders above guys who are working day jobs as well as playing for Bonnyrigg then you’re deluded.

The whole team should be, just like they should’ve been against Falkirk. It doesn’t mean Newells suddenly a superstar because he turned up against a plasterer I was working with the other week.

He needs to perform like that week in, week out. Against better opposition.

Nothing against him. It’s facts.

Newell was head and shoulders above guys with day jobs though, that’s why he scored 2 and was involved with another. It doesn’t mean Newells a superstar either but neither does it mean he should be hounded each week when levels drop.

LewysGot2
17-07-2022, 06:27 PM

I don't think that's unreasonable- at least till McGennis is fit again. If.

I've tended to be in the JN over JDH camp because I think he has the ability to play between the lines better but that's personal and marginal preference. Any ideas where JDH was today?

17-07-2022, 06:29 PM

Obviously everyone can be upgraded and yes, we could probably upgrade him if we were playing career mode. But first, he’s on a long term contract now, 3 years i think? So we’d be chucking good money after bad if we ‘got rid’. Second, there’s something to be said for continuity and team spirit, he’s by all accounts a leader of sorts in the dressing room and someone who ‘gets us’. And third, I think the frequency of his shocking games have been exaggerated. He’s had some rocky bits of form last season and some hot streaks, nothing unusual.

17-07-2022, 06:43 PM
Obviously everyone can be upgraded and yes, we could probably upgrade him if we were playing career mode. But first, he’s on a long term contract now, 3 years i think? So we’d be chucking good money after bad if we ‘got rid’. Second, there’s something to be said for continuity and team spirit, he’s by all accounts a leader of sorts in the dressing room and someone who ‘gets us’. And third, I think the frequency of his shocking games have been exaggerated. He’s had some rocky bits of form last season and some hot streaks, nothing unusual.

“Playing on career mode”??

We can’t just get rid of players on long contracts, but we have Newell, JDH, Campbell & Magennis all on long contracts and taking a big chunk out of the budget. At some point we might have to take a financial hit on some/all in order to move them on and improve the midfield which has been as issue for 3 or 4 years. I’d move Campbell & probably Magennis on before Newell but if someone wanted to take Newell for free I’d not be overly worried about replacing him. Maybe Kenneth & Henderson will bring the best out of Newell or JDH, but both still have a lot to prove IMO.

17-07-2022, 06:49 PM

We can’t just get rid of players on long contracts, but we have Newell, JDH, Campbell & Magennis all on long contracts and taking a big chunk out of the budget. At some point we might have to take a financial hit on some/all in order to move them on and improve the midfield which has been as issue for 3 or 4 years. I’d move Campbell & probably Magennis on before Newell but if someone wanted to take Newell for free I’d not be overly worried about replacing him. Maybe Kenneth & Henderson will bring the best out of Newell or JDH, but both still have a lot to prove IMO.

3 of those players are way down the pay scale at Hibs.

Hibees1973
17-07-2022, 06:54 PM
Joe Newell is easily the best midfielder we have at the club.

Yes, he does have some poor games but that's the same for every player at the club. We have no one who plays well week in, week out. That's why we have all these players at the club. They either lack consistency, ability, strength, experience. Call it anything, all of them lack something. That's why they are at Hibs.

Newell has played loads of games at championship level in England and is experienced. It's clear he has good skills and ability.

We have had some great players at the club over the last few years, for example McGinn & McGeouch. Whenever these players played well Hibs played well.
I'm not classing Newell in the same bracket as McGinn, however when he plays well we can be decent.

There is a core of players at the club who really need to step up this season. Marshall, Porteous, Newell & Nisbet are players who must set the standard. Players such as Miller, Melkersen, Kenneh and Henderson could develop and improve. This would make us top 4 challengers.

Anyone on here who criticise Newell should look at a few others we have in the squad.

cameronw-hfc
17-07-2022, 07:03 PM
Joe Newell is easily the best midfielder we have at the club.

Yes, he does have some poor games but that's the same for every player at the club. We have no one who plays well week in, week out. That's why we have all these players at the club. They either lack consistency, ability, strength, experience. Call it anything, all of them lack something. That's why they are at Hibs.

Newell has played loads of games at championship level in England and is experienced. It's clear he has good skills and ability.

We have had some great players at the club over the last few years, for example McGinn & McGeouch. Whenever these players played well Hibs played well.
I'm not classing Newell in the same bracket as McGinn, however when he plays well we can be decent.

There is a core of players at the club who really need to step up this season. Marshall, Porteous, Newell & Nisbet are players who must set the standard. Players such as Miller, Melkersen, Kenneh and Henderson could develop and improve. This would make us top 4 challengers.

Anyone on here who criticise Newell should look at a few others we have in the squad.

A large section of our support decided after his first few games at the club that he was crap. Most of the same people have since point blank refused to admit he's a good player.

He's blatantly a top SPL midfielder, all the pundits think so, all our previous gaffers thought so and the inconsistency claims are a bit far fetched. He's streaky with his form, but it's nowhere near like the 1 good game in 10 like some claim. We went through a spell before Jan last season where Newell was outstanding for a month or two straight, then our form dipped.

cameronw-hfc
17-07-2022, 07:07 PM
He did well today. He did what many are looking for him to do and think he can do. It doesn’t mean everything he’s been criticised for before is irrelevant. I don’t think there has been any hysteria either, criticism has been fairly consistent.

If he plays more forward thinking, like today, folk will start to change their tune, me included.

There's been plenty hysteria, some of the abuse I've seen him take online the last few days is typical for our fans, but nonetheless vulgar.

Anytime we have a poor game there's 20 posters desperate to come on here and talk about how crap he is, even when he's the least of our issues. The amount of games I've watched and thought he was an average 6 or 7/10 and then came on here and read comment after comment about how crap he is, how he doesn't work hard enough etc...

It's actually getting predictable that when Hibs lose, Newell gets it tight. Campbell and JDH to a lesser extent but Newells had this going on for longer.

If he was able to put in 10/10 games every week there's not a chance he'd be at Hibs.

17-07-2022, 07:15 PM
A large section of our support decided after his first few games at the club that he was crap. Most of the same people have since point blank refused to admit he's a good player.

He's blatantly a top SPL midfielder, all the pundits think so, all our previous gaffers thought so and the inconsistency claims are a bit far fetched. He's streaky with his form, but it's nowhere near like the 1 good game in 10 like some claim. We went through a spell before Jan last season where Newell was outstanding for a month or two straight, then our form dipped.

On his day. I’m not sure he’s had enough of those days over his 3 years to justify the standing he holds amongst some fans IMO.

17-07-2022, 07:16 PM

Correct.

103 games for Hibs, so some folk think hes had 10 good games total :faf:

Guy is quality. Sometimes struggles to control a game, sometimes a bit conservative in his play, but a very good footballer who does a bit of everything.

17-07-2022, 07:24 PM

:wink: I use it to mean 'in an ideal world', 'if my auntie had baws...', that kind of thing. In the real world i'm guessing moving people on and off contracts and access to cash flow to make replacement deals happen isnt as easy as we'd all like to be. It's not a particular dig at anyone. I happen to like Newell as a player, the trick with any team though is getting a midfield combination.

cameronw-hfc
17-07-2022, 07:26 PM
On his day. I’m not sure he’s had enough of those days over his 3 years to justify the standing he holds amongst some fans IMO.

See, this is the myth im talking about. Newell could play well for a month straight, have one 5/10 game and you hear the same. "Doesn't do it enough, one good game in 10". Give it a rest ffs. He's good the vast majority of the time, aye he has a poor game here and there, but we've had way, way less consistent players over the years to get nowhere near the abuse Newell gets.

It's completely unwarranted, he's a Hibs player, let's show him support rather than doubting his every move.

Hibiza
17-07-2022, 07:26 PM
We've been here many times before with Joe , a good game and we all think he's the messiah, let's see what happens this time .

17-07-2022, 07:34 PM
See, this is the myth im talking about. Newell could play well for a month straight, have one 5/10 game and you hear the same. "Doesn't do it enough, one good game in 10". Give it a rest ffs. He's good the vast majority of the time, aye he has a poor game here and there, but we've had way, way less consistent players over the years to get nowhere near the abuse Newell gets.

It's completely unwarranted, he's a Hibs player, let's show him support rather than doubting his every move.

I don't think he does though.

It's a phrase that has sometimes been used to damn the likes of Stevenson and Paul McGinn with faint praise - "he's a 7/10 every week sort of guy".

When Joe Newell is not on his game, he's behind those guys. This happens quite often, too often.

Now Paul McGinn and Lewis Stevenson, as good as they both are, don't have the type of performance that Joe Newell at his best does.

Unfortunately, when Joe Newell is not on his game, Hibs seem to suffer badly and will often suffer a bad result as his position is a key position.

We're not expecting him to put 10/10 performances in every week, but if he could continue to put in the odd 8, 9 or 10 out of 10 performance like he currently does only to give us a 7/10 instead of a 4, 5 or 6 when he's not totally at it then he'd be probably our best player - as many of us think he should be.

17-07-2022, 07:34 PM

You said he was “blatantly a top SPL midfielder”, I merely said I thought he can be on his day but wouldn’t rate him as highly as that over his whole time here. I agree 1 good game in 10 chat is over the top and not true, but there’s lots of posters who don’t rate him as highly as you do without being at the extreme end of 1 good game in 10.

17-07-2022, 07:35 PM

Someone having a differing opinion to you doesnt make it a "myth".

cameronw-hfc
17-07-2022, 07:36 PM
You said he was “blatantly a top SPL midfielder”, I merely said I thought he can be on his day but wouldn’t rate him as highly as that over his whole time here. I agree 1 good game in 10 chat is over the top and not true, but there’s lots of posters who don’t rate him as highly as you do without being at the extreme end of 1 good game in 10.

Out with the OF, Newell is top 5/6 CM in the league, possibly higher. He starts for every team in this league besides OF.

17-07-2022, 07:39 PM
Out with the OF, Newell is top 5/6 CM in the league, possibly higher. He starts for every team in this league besides OF.

I don’t rate him anywhere near that highly, but respect your opinion.

cameronw-hfc
17-07-2022, 07:40 PM
Someone having a differing opinion to you doesnt make it a "myth".

I've no issue with folk disagreeing but it is a myth about how inconsistent he is. It's spoke about more than almost anyone else at the club, despite there being many, many less consistent players than Newell.

If you don't rate him as highly that's fine, doesn't bother me, but there are plenty of myths about Newell created by fans who just don't like him, and pushed by fans who don't state him.

Inconsistent is one, aye he's not a 10/10 every week, but the way some folk act as if he's had a handful of good games for us.(ive actually seen plenty people say that exactly)

Another one is his lack of trying/work rate. Often pushed that he doesn't work hard enough or doesn't care enough, he's probably the hardest working player at the club, and ssdtats back that up.

I don't think everyone that disagrees is a " myth", but there are plenty of myths about Newell.

cameronw-hfc
17-07-2022, 07:40 PM
I don’t rate him anywhere near that highly, but respect your opinion.

That's fair, you are entitled to that opinion.

17-07-2022, 07:42 PM
a good game and we all think he's the messiah

I think that accurately describes what we're all saying:agree:

17-07-2022, 07:45 PM
I think that accurately describes what we're all saying:agree:

Except when he doesn’t quite hit those heights …then “he’s not the messiah, he’s a very naughty boy ! “. [emoji1][emoji6]

17-07-2022, 07:49 PM
Where was JDH today?

17-07-2022, 07:50 PM
Except when he doesn’t quite hit those heights …then “he’s not the messiah, he’s a very naughty boy ! “. [emoji1][emoji6]

No, it doesnt matter, because he just needs one good game and i think Newell is ACTUALLY JESUS...

I love this site sometimes.

17-07-2022, 07:52 PM
Where was JDH today?

Injured

17-07-2022, 07:54 PM
Newell: ...Will you please listen? I'm not the Messiah! Do you understand? Honestly!
Bollah: Only the true Messiah denies his divinity!
Newell: What? Well, what sort of chance does that give me? All right, I am the Messiah!
Bollah (and crowd): He is! He is the Messiah!
Newell: Now, ***** off!
Bollah: How shall we ***** off, oh Lord?
Newell: Oh, just go away! Leave me alone!

17-07-2022, 07:54 PM

Exactly this. There’s a middle ground. I don’t think he’s as good as other do and a good performance against Bonnyrigg isn’t going to change his mind.

I don’t think he’s one of the top midfielder in the league but I’d be very happy for him to perform week in, week out and change that opinion.

17-07-2022, 07:57 PM
I've no issue with folk disagreeing but it is a myth about how inconsistent he is. It's spoke about more than almost anyone else at the club, despite there being many, many less consistent players than Newell.

If you don't rate him as highly that's fine, doesn't bother me, but there are plenty of myths about Newell created by fans who just don't like him, and pushed by fans who don't state him.

Inconsistent is one, aye he's not a 10/10 every week, but the way some folk act as if he's had a handful of good games for us.(ive actually seen plenty people say that exactly)

Another one is his lack of trying/work rate. Often pushed that he doesn't work hard enough or doesn't care enough, he's probably the hardest working player at the club, and ssdtats back that up.

I don't think everyone that disagrees is a " myth", but there are plenty of myths about Newell.

It’s extreme, at either end of the scale.

Talk about him clearly being a top player in the league for instance. It’s fine to have that opinion but it doesn’t make it a myth, where folk hold the opposite. The truth is somewhere in the middle.

17-07-2022, 08:02 PM
It’s extreme, at either end of the scale.

Talk about him clearly being a top player in the league for instance. It’s fine to have that opinion but it doesn’t make it a myth, where folk hold the opposite. The truth is somewhere in the middle.

Or maybe one group is right ?? I still see him as one of our top players . I can understand some of the mixed opinions. I recognise he needs to make more consistent impact and up his contribution . He’s one of our senior players, will be important for us this season , in a team filled with younger , less experienced players . Not sure he’ll ever turn around some of the views on here, they seem pretty embedded . But perhaps win some of the doubters over .

cameronw-hfc
17-07-2022, 08:10 PM
Or maybe one group is right ?? I still see him as one of our top players . I can understand some of the mixed opinions. I recognise he needs to make more consistent impact and up his contribution . He’s one of our senior players, will be important for us this season , in a team filled with younger , less experienced players . Not sure he’ll ever turn around some of the views on here, they seem pretty embedded . But perhaps win some of the doubters over .

That's my point, well said. I don't think it's a myth that he has weaknesses, but the amount of drivel spoken about Newell is unlike most in the team, it seems obvious there's a section of the support that will never get behind him.

17-07-2022, 08:14 PM

Again, that works both ways. No matter what happens, he’ll not change some of the opinions that he’s a top player.

I actually disagree with the bit about consistency. I think he is consistent, it’s just that he’s consistently pretty average IMO. A performance like today isn’t a regular occurrence. If it becomes so, he will change opinions. Most folk just call what they see IMO.

Fifehibee1960
17-07-2022, 08:19 PM
I respect everyone’s opinion but I think his normal game is absolutely pants and one of the many reasons we were so poor last season….. he has had a few good (ish) games for us and there might be a player in there but am not convinced and if he was out of contract I would defo get rid of him

17-07-2022, 08:23 PM
I'm one of Newells biggest critics, but i have said every time he's had a good game that he needs to have them much more frequently.

I watched him on Tuesday stroll about and for 90 minutes, and give the type of performance i see too many times for him to ever get mentioned in the same breath as the top midfielders in Scotland.

He has on occasions played superbly well, where he has looked as good as anyone else in Scotland, but in my opinion, he's dissapeared more than he's been influential.

He played well today, once again, more of the same and these threads will dissapear too.

18-07-2022, 07:10 AM
The Newell that played v Hertz at Easter Road and Hampden last season, yes please, all day long.

Unfortunately, that doesn’t happen too often.

Maybe with the introduction of Kenneh, who is Rolls Royce IMO, will allow Newell to play a wee bit further up top and with a bit more freedom to perform to his best.

18-07-2022, 07:12 AM
The key is Kenneh. He does all the stuff Newell isn’t very good at which gives him the freedom to exploit forward areas more. Same happened with JDH v Clyde. A CDM who actually plays like a CDM and keeps his position.

Crunchie
18-07-2022, 07:42 AM

Agreed, when we get Magennis back he'll be even better imo.

18-07-2022, 02:03 PM
I'm one of Newells biggest critics, but i have said every time he's had a good game that he needs to have them much more frequently.

I watched him on Tuesday stroll about and for 90 minutes, and give the type of performance i see too many times for him to ever get mentioned in the same breath as the top midfielders in Scotland.

He has on occasions played superbly well, where he has looked as good as anyone else in Scotland, but in my opinion, he's dissapeared more than he's been influential.

He played well today, once again, more of the same and these threads will dissapear too.

Exactly where I am want him to do well but many more times I am thinking he has failed to offer much in a game.

loanheadhibby
18-07-2022, 06:08 PM
Agreed, when we get Magennis back he'll be even better imo.

When is he coming back?

Steve88
21-07-2022, 07:57 AM
Have these three handed in their notice yet?

21-07-2022, 08:20 AM
Have these three handed in their notice yet?

JDH didn’t play.

Steve88
21-07-2022, 08:24 AM
JDH didn’t play.

I've had to ensure JDH for an entire season, and more.

He's not delivered.

Replace

21-07-2022, 08:27 AM
How many times over the season do you think we will hear "needless foul" or "bad decision" preceding josh campbell's name?

Steve88
21-07-2022, 08:30 AM
How many times over the season do you think we will hear "needless foul" or "bad decision" preceding josh campbell's name?

The one at the end when he clattered into the Morton boy.....:rolleyes:

at last 61
21-07-2022, 12:42 PM
How many times do we persevere with him, how he stays on the pitch for the whole game most weeks is beyond me, had a look at the stats for his time with us, he has played 78 league games and scored one, which must be hard going for an attacking midfielder, he needs dropping as he is always one of the 1st players picked and for the life of me I just don't know why

21-07-2022, 12:44 PM
Is that the same Newell who scored twice on Saturday?

WestStandWillie
21-07-2022, 12:44 PM
How many times do we persevere with him, how he stays on the pitch for the whole game most weeks is beyond me, had a look at the stats for his time with us, he has played 78 league games and scored one, which must be hard going for an attacking midfielder, he needs dropping as he is always one of the 1st players picked and for the life of me I just don't know why

Spot on

The guy has such a defeatist attitude, his comments after the Falkirk game were a disgrace.

Free transfer for Newell please Lee :aok:

K-Zazu
21-07-2022, 12:46 PM
Spot on

The guy has such a defeatist attitude, his comments after the Falkirk game were a disgrace.

Free transfer for Newell please Lee :aok:

What did he say

21-07-2022, 12:47 PM

Found his level.

21-07-2022, 12:52 PM
Do we need another thread?

CL0762
21-07-2022, 01:02 PM

Against Bonnyrigg Rose 😂

LewysGot2
21-07-2022, 01:06 PM
Why do we need another thread?

21-07-2022, 01:10 PM
Newall and kenneh was a mistake against Morton what happened to attacking football

21-07-2022, 01:23 PM
Pointless further thread.

21-07-2022, 01:24 PM
Is Newell an attacking midfielder?

at last 61
21-07-2022, 01:58 PM
Firstly I said in the league, not Cup games, as the opposition will be stronger than in the league Cup, and the other guy asking if he is an attacking midfielder, christ even playing as a defender you would expect more than one ruddy goal, like I said I don't know how he gets a full game, don't know about the 1st half but what I saw off him he didn't merit to be still on there, I'm not a newell hater just a realist

21-07-2022, 02:05 PM
Thought he might have been getting the blame for the suspension error last night as well. He's bang average and we need better, but he doesn't deserve quite this level of constant hounding.

21-07-2022, 02:07 PM
If Newell is still here in a week, I'm going to buy a season ticket and angrily ask for a refund.

Enough's enough.

supermcginn
21-07-2022, 02:10 PM
Faint praise indeed, the mighty Bonnyrigg Rose.

21-07-2022, 02:10 PM

No, that's a different one, this one scored twice on Sunday.

21-07-2022, 02:13 PM
Been done to death if you've nothing new to add suggest you pick a different topic.

Hibiza
21-07-2022, 05:55 PM
3 off them : out.

21-07-2022, 06:09 PM
Josh Campbell has embarrassing nudes of Ron Gordon for sure.

loanheadhibby
21-07-2022, 06:52 PM
He scored twice on Sunday.
A chancer , get rid, we can't afford to carry guys like him.

TheHarpy76
21-07-2022, 06:54 PM
How many Newell bashing threads do we need?

21-07-2022, 06:54 PM
No, that's a different one, this one scored twice on Sunday.

Thanks Hutchy, on a rotten day that made me laugh out loud 😂 brilliant mate 👍

1875Sean
21-07-2022, 07:37 PM
The only thing that annoys me more than last nights performance is people spamming the forum with new threads that are not require when there is plenty chat on the Doidge/Newell thread , can admin not just merge this?

LewysGot2
21-07-2022, 08:00 PM
The only thing that annoys me more than last nights performance is people spamming the forum with new threads that are not require when there is plenty chat on the Doidge/Newell thread , can admin not just merge this?

I thought about asking that too. Thankfully done.

The OP needs to take responsibility for starting a thread when there already was one though.