View Full Version : New catering deal - 9 years, 8 figure sum

09-07-2022, 12:58 PM
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/significant-deal-secured-with-new-stadium-caterer-elior

09-07-2022, 01:03 PM
That's over 1m per year. On the face of it that is a very good deal for Hibs I would think

09-07-2022, 01:14 PM
Can I be the first to moan. Kids hotdog, chips and a drink last season £4 odds with ST holder discount. Today, over £10.

I don’t think any contributor on here will think that’s remotely acceptable.

We also apparently have a new policy - ‘1 napkin policy’. Chronic!

Stubbsy90+2
Starts today - will be interesting to hear if anyone notices a difference at the kiosks.

Edit: and at the exact same time someone has posted that there’s been a 150% increase in cost :faf:

Not sure how that works, do Elior pocket the money from kiosks and hospitality and pay us a fee or do we still get kiosk and hospitality money?

Starts today - will be interesting to hear if anyone notices a difference at the kiosks.

See above your post.

09-07-2022, 01:15 PM
Can I be the first to moan. Kids hotdog, chips and a drink last season £4 odds with ST holder discount. Today, over £10.

Ridiculous, a tenner for that!

Stubbsy90+2
09-07-2022, 01:15 PM
See above your post.

Posted it at the exact same time as it was posted.

That’s atrocious pricing.

09-07-2022, 01:16 PM

I questioned it. Some dear in a white shirt mic’d up checked and advised me they don’t do meal deals any more.

Stubbsy90+2
09-07-2022, 01:16 PM
Not sure how that works, do Elior pocket the money from kiosks and hospitality and pay us a fee or do we still get kiosk and hospitality money?

We’ll get nothing other than the fee for the contract I presume.

09-07-2022, 01:17 PM

That's the way I'm taking it.

Although you'd think we had some say in kiosk pricing if above is correct

Just_Jimmy
09-07-2022, 01:20 PM

We also apparently have a new policy - ‘1 napkin policy’. Chronic!Same deal is £7 at Old Trafford.

Never bought it at Murrayfield but the catering there isn't cheap either. However we've moaned for how long about catering so...?

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

The Captain....
09-07-2022, 01:21 PM

We also apparently have a new policy - ‘1 napkin policy’. Chronic!I tend only to buy an occasional juice at the kiosks. Wouldn't be paying what they're wanting now tbh. Get a couple of pints for that after the game..

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk

09-07-2022, 01:22 PM
Same deal is £7 at Old Trafford.

Never bought it at Murrayfield but the catering there isn't cheap either. However we've moaned for how long about catering so...?

Nah, you can produce decent enough scran for a lesser price. There's no justification whatsoever for charging a tenner for a kids hotdog, juice and chips.

It might depend on turnover/profit - a fixed fee up to a certain amount plus a share of any profit over a set level?

Food at any sporting event is almost always overpriced for what it is.

I was at Newmarket a few weeks back for the racing. £7 a pint and £7.75 for a hot dog. £2.30ish for a pie at ER last season which was comparable in quality to something you can get in Greggs for about half that.

The solution for me is simple, I just don't buy it. I know that there may be occasions in which people have no choice but as long as people pay it, prices will continue to go up. I've got one of the bairns with me today. Lunch before we left then a bottle of water and a packet of crisps from the shop for £1.25 and she's happy as Larry.

09-07-2022, 01:23 PM
Same deal is £7 at Old Trafford.

150% increase is pretty significant.

09-07-2022, 01:24 PM

I was at Newmarket a few weeks back for the racing. £7 a pint and £7.75 for a hot dog. £2.30ish for a pie at ER last season which was comparable to something you can get in Gregg's for about half that.

The solution for me is simple, I just don't buy it. I know that there may be occasions in which people have no choice but as long as people pay it, prices will continue to go up. I've got one of the bairns with me today. Lunch before we left then a bottle of water and a packet of crisps from the shop for £1.25 and she's happy as Larry.

I was at Wimbledon last week - £22.50 for a 200ml bottle of champagne. :shocked:

09-07-2022, 01:30 PM
It might depend on turnover/profit - a fixed fee up to a certain amount plus a share of any profit over a set level?

When I was involved in contracts with vending machine drinks throughout the Sydney rail system it was usually a minimum annual guarantee, plus a percentage of revenue.

I would imagine it’s similar to that.

Box 17
09-07-2022, 01:31 PM
I was at Wimbledon last week - £22.50 for a 200ml bottle of champagne. :shocked:

What a racket.

09-07-2022, 01:34 PM
Lucky I go for the football and can survive without the food offering for 105 minutes, at least it appears to be cash up front for Hibs as those sort of prices may not go down well in the current climate.

09-07-2022, 01:36 PM
What a racket.

Yes - I had to restrict myself to only 3 bottles.

09-07-2022, 01:37 PM
I hope the still sell kilted donuts!? And may finally get a decent drinkable coffee?!

Was at an event at Muddyfield last month and the food was pretty awful

09-07-2022, 01:42 PM

£7.30 for a coke and a cheeseburger.

09-07-2022, 01:45 PM
What a racket.I'd love 15 bottles.

09-07-2022, 01:49 PM
So by my reckoning Elior pay Hibs, and regardless of take up Hibs get that income guaranteed? Brilliant news for the club.

09-07-2022, 01:55 PM
So by my reckoning Elior pay Hibs, and regardless of take up Hibs get that income guaranteed? Brilliant news for the club.

Great news for the club but at the prices being suggested maybe not a great deal for the fans.

09-07-2022, 01:57 PM

That's mental but sadly not surprising to me with the way Hibs seem to be running things these days.

The club seem to be appealing to a different type of clientele nowadays and the typical football fan isn't it.

I still love the club but I also find myself becoming more and more detached as time goes on.

So by my reckoning Elior pay Hibs, and regardless of take up Hibs get that income guaranteed? Brilliant news for the club. I never buy anything as it is terrible quality but looking at prices in Gregg's etc they were always going up this season. The good news is the club can bank on the revenue without any effort being made or concern about sales

I'd love 15 bottles.

I'll stick with the juice.

09-07-2022, 02:01 PM
That's disappointing. Last year was the first time I regularly started buying food from the kiosks, cause there were a few good deals. Oh well.

09-07-2022, 02:05 PM
£7.30 for a coke and a cheeseburger.

Thats alright, stadiums in Holland are ripping fitba fans and rock fans off, you need to buy debit cards with 15,25,30 +50 euros on them and if you havent used them before the season/event is over you lose your left over money. 12 euros for a kebb ffs, its horrendous the pricing nowadays.

Great deal for Hibs though.

09-07-2022, 02:09 PM
What’s the price of a pie and bovril thsts all I usually get

09-07-2022, 02:09 PM

Airport concessions run on a Minimum Annual Guarantee [MAG]. You get a % share of the turnover subject to a guaranteed MAG. I would think we will have a similar structure.

hibbycraig
09-07-2022, 02:10 PM
There's plenty places on Easter Road/Leith Walk to buy stuff to take into the ground.

Just_Jimmy
09-07-2022, 02:19 PM
Nah, you can produce decent enough scran for a lesser price. There's no justification whatsoever for charging a tenner for a kids hotdog, juice and chips.Never said there was.

However people wanted improved catering so it was always going to be more expensive.

I personally don't buy at games because I don't think it's value for money.

09-07-2022, 02:40 PM
The pies any good? Hot?

09-07-2022, 02:47 PM
Thats alright, stadiums in Holland are ripping fitba fans and rock fans off, you need to buy debit cards with 15,25,30 +50 euros on them and if you havent used them before the season/event is over you lose your left over money. 12 euros for a kebb ffs, its horrendous the pricing nowadays.

Great deal for Hibs though.

Yep. Wouldn't get that for less than 13 quid at a festival either

09-07-2022, 02:49 PM
Service poor, slow and hardly any options available!

Rumble de Thump
09-07-2022, 02:52 PM
I was at a music concert last night and noticed it was £10 for a burger. More if you wanted anything added to it. When games kick off at 3pm there's usually no need to be buying meals at the stadium. Food and drink will always be more expensive at event venues for various reasons.

Zambernardi1875
09-07-2022, 03:44 PM
Shoulda put a bank of vending machines instead

09-07-2022, 03:49 PM

No good since we're cashless now.

Zambernardi1875
09-07-2022, 03:50 PM

Card readers simple

Bridge hibs
09-07-2022, 03:51 PM

You get contactless vending machines now

09-07-2022, 03:51 PM

There are bound to be contactless vending machines now.

09-07-2022, 03:57 PM

it's banking loan facilities the club will need to introduce at they prices

;(

09-07-2022, 04:02 PM
There are bound to be contactless vending machines now.

There are. All over the place.

Fuzzywuzzy
09-07-2022, 04:08 PM
Food is still **** if not worse than last season

Brummie_Hibs
09-07-2022, 04:15 PM
Food is still **** if not worse than last season
Commentator on Hibs TV was pretty critical of his half time pie.

MKHIBEE
09-07-2022, 04:22 PM
What a racket.

Och Aye

09-07-2022, 04:24 PM
I'd love 15 bottles.

They'd take advantage

09-07-2022, 04:24 PM
The issue with a deal like this is that whatever the club negotiated in terms of fees then the cost is footed by the fans. Whether that be by overpricing, using poorer quality ingredients or understaffing.

I always think the food should be managed in house as the club then have real accountability for the quality and pricing.

09-07-2022, 04:38 PM
The queue was bigger than the baggage reclaim at Edinburgh airport.

09-07-2022, 04:41 PM

I was at Newmarket a few weeks back for the racing. £7 a pint and £7.75 for a hot dog. £2.30ish for a pie at ER last season which was comparable in quality to something you can get in Greggs for about half that.

09-07-2022, 04:41 PM
Asked for a chicken curry pie, was told they were out. Asked for a macaroni pie instead, got one, turned out to be a chicken curry pie.

The Baldmans Comb
09-07-2022, 04:43 PM
£100,000 a year for the next 9 years really is very much small fry and bummed up by the club but broken down further is £50,000 a game which is just an absolutely sound deal for the suppliers who must be chuffed to bits.✅

The losers are the dafties who queue up to be absolutely and totally scammed but to them its part of the "match experience" but to the rest of us its something to ridicule.

09-07-2022, 04:46 PM
£100,000 a year for the next 9 years really is very much small fry and bummed up by the club but broken down further is £5,000 a game which is just an absolutely sound deal for the suppliers who must be chuffed to bits.✅

The losers are the dafties who queue up to be absolutely and totally scammed but to them its part of the "match experience" but to the rest of us its something to ridicule.

Is 8 figures not 10 million plus over 9 years?

09-07-2022, 04:48 PM
Asked for a chicken curry pie, was told they were out. Asked for a macaroni pie instead, got one, turned out to be a chicken curry pie.

🤷*♂️ how much was it?

09-07-2022, 04:49 PM
£100,000 a year for the next 9 years really is very much small fry and bummed up by the club but broken down further is £50,000 a game which is just an absolutely sound deal for the suppliers who must be chuffed to bits.✅

Nice to see you back with your usual positive outlook on all things Hibs.

09-07-2022, 04:52 PM
£10 is eye bleeding and not justifiable for such low grade, cheap food.

My advice would be bring to your own food. I visit Greggs before and bring stuff in.

This complaint is annual from most fans. Often wonder why a more organised boycott isn’t arranged. A few leaflets outside etc. I can assure everyone, that of no one was buying the food, things would change quickly.

09-07-2022, 04:55 PM
I had a pie today. It was both hot and tasty, would eat again.

09-07-2022, 04:59 PM
I had a pie today. It was both hot and tasty, would eat again.

You have to pass it first...

09-07-2022, 05:03 PM
I don’t eat the catering but if it brings in £million a season for players then they can do what they like with it.

09-07-2022, 05:04 PM

How much do they bring in in an average game?

09-07-2022, 05:16 PM
i was at wimbledon last week - £22.50 for a 200ml bottle of champagne. :shocked:

wtf!

09-07-2022, 05:23 PM

You've got you numbers all wrong. An 8 figure deal is at least £10,000,000 which is over £1,000,000 per season. What are you ridiculing that? If folk do t want to pay they won't, it's really that simple

What’s the price of a pie and bovril thsts all I usually get

£5.25 for a scotch pie and a Bovril
£6.45 for a Macaroni Pie and a coffee
No season ticket today, as I was told it was a season ticket game, which correctly it wasn’t. Quite a hike from last season

It’s £1 million a year, is not? Eight-figure sum

09-07-2022, 05:28 PM

Go and get your calculator and come back when you’ve done some sums.

09-07-2022, 05:30 PM

Brilliant. Probably why they were out.

Mcbizz1998
09-07-2022, 05:33 PM
So it cost more and they only opened half the kiosks in the east as far as I could tell?

Great.

09-07-2022, 05:40 PM
150% increase is pretty significant.

is it better quality?

09-07-2022, 05:42 PM
It’s £1 million a year, is not? Eight-figure sum

The 50k per game is correct, though.

09-07-2022, 05:49 PM
You have to pass it first...

We really should have a like button .

Soldiersteve
09-07-2022, 06:25 PM
We really should have a like button .

Agreed! :aok:

09-07-2022, 06:32 PM
Bacon cheeseburger with chips in the Hibs club was a fiver. Happy days.

09-07-2022, 06:37 PM

Wasit because this game wasn't covered by your ST

HTD1875
09-07-2022, 06:38 PM
Quite pricey but the food my group had was very good for stadium scran. Appeared to be a chef in whites behind the counter making up burgers etc rather than the usual make it up at 1 and stick it on a hot plate job.

BS44
09-07-2022, 06:39 PM
can i be the first to moan. Kids hotdog, chips and a drink last season £4 odds with st holder discount. Today, over £10.

ffs.

Steven79
09-07-2022, 06:45 PM
The 50k per game is correct, though.

I can't see it being worth that much per game as we can't sell that much stuff to justify that amount.

Groathillgrump
09-07-2022, 06:48 PM
I can't see it being worth that much per game as we can't sell that much stuff to justify that amount.

At those prices it shouldn't be too difficult! 😳

09-07-2022, 06:52 PM

I meant to ask this earlier when I replied to your post but did anyone offer an explanation as to the reasons behind this new napkin policy?

I think I'll be avoiding the kiosks from now on as well as the hospitality as I can't really justify the massive increase in price, which is a shame, but it is what it is I suppose.

09-07-2022, 06:53 PM

10m over 9 years is just over 1m per season. That's roughly 50k per game.

Don't forget that it includes hospitality as well.

hibsforeurope
09-07-2022, 07:04 PM
How does this compare to takings from previous years?
The food seems to be up in price but also in quality, the drinks are much the same price. Not having the kids deal or the season ticket discount will be a miss though.

09-07-2022, 07:24 PM
No season ticket today, as I was told it was a season ticket game, which correctly it wasn’t. Quite a hike from last season
That’s outrageous, I’m anything but tight but I take exception to being ripped off

09-07-2022, 07:30 PM

Apologies I'm not quite understanding this part, does this mean that there was no season ticket discount available today?

09-07-2022, 07:36 PM
I was at the game but didn’t go to the catering. Are they selling non-alcoholic beer? A guy walked along the row in front with a plastic pint glass with what looked like lager without a very strong head like you get on non-alcoholic beer.

09-07-2022, 07:37 PM
Apologies I'm not quite understanding this part, does this mean that there was no season ticket discount available today?
Would make a change them actually checking. 10% off or no the prices are ludicrous

hibsforeurope
09-07-2022, 07:37 PM

Yes no season ticket discount.

09-07-2022, 07:53 PM

It wasn’t a season ticket game. I can live with this for today

09-07-2022, 08:06 PM
I meant to ask this earlier when I replied to your post but did anyone offer an explanation as to the reasons behind this new napkin policy?

I think I'll be avoiding the kiosks from now on as well as the hospitality as I can't really justify the massive increase in price, which is a shame, but it is what it is I suppose.

No, I didn’t take the opportunity to discuss it further though.

09-07-2022, 08:12 PM
You want to try living in Switzerland. These are amateur prices we're discussing here - bargain basement stuff almost 🤣

pollution
09-07-2022, 08:15 PM
You want to try living in Switzerland. These are amateur prices we're discussing here - bargain basement stuff almost 🤣

Your salaries in Switzerland must be considerably more than here ?

09-07-2022, 08:23 PM
It wasn’t a season ticket game. I can live with this for today

At no point have Hibs mentioned that the season ticket discount at the kiosks only applies to league games.

"This year, however, if you purchase your Season Ticket before 31 May 2022, then you will gain a whole heap of benefits!....

10% Discount At Kiosks

Season Ticket Holders will receive a 10% discount on all food and drink purchased inside Easter Road at the kiosks.

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/new-season-ticket-holder-benefits

I realise that season ticket cards for 22/23 haven't been issued yet but that's not the fault of the fans and nothing in Hibs' promotional material regarding season ticket benefits for 22/23 said the 10% discount only applies to league games.

Seems to be another in a long line of faux pas as far as I'm concerned, especially since the 10% discount for home cup ties for season ticket holders appears to have been removed (I know that £12 for today's game was decent but that's not really the point).

cameronw-hfc
09-07-2022, 08:26 PM
Pie and drink today cost about £6, paid worse. Food was decent but a little but of customer service wouldn't go a miss. Faces tripping behind every till, im not expecting a song and dance but they could at least act like they don't hate the job, was in the East so might have just been a bad kiosk but it felt awfy doom and gloom.

Food quality-wise though it was decent, prices were typical football prices.

09-07-2022, 08:54 PM

Pish comment.
A parent with two kids at Easter Road will feel it financially big time.

09-07-2022, 09:17 PM

Yep, me too.

Pimm's were £11 each, the full bottle of champagne were £67 (not that I bought one), and a terrible burger and chips were £9.50 each.

Pie and Bovril at ER looks not bad versus those to be honest.

09-07-2022, 09:35 PM
Pish comment.

Just don’t buy it, it’s only 2 hours you are in there. I was never allowed stadium food as a kid because my parents explained it cost too much.

09-07-2022, 10:51 PM
Not overly big on the fare offered at football in general but had a steak and gravy pie today and it was decent.

09-07-2022, 11:11 PM
Anyone ever have an Indian spiced Scotch pie by Tony Singh?

I made one. it was the best.

hibsquaker
09-07-2022, 11:24 PM
Anybody who buys food or drink at a football statium is part of the problem.

10-07-2022, 12:11 AM

What’s the problem like? I buy stuff from the kiosks and don’t see any problem.

10-07-2022, 12:17 AM

Is that so…what problem are they part of?

10-07-2022, 06:28 AM
Pish comment.

Don’t buy it then? It’s 3 in the afternoon, hardly missing a meal.

10-07-2022, 06:47 AM
Never understood the need to stuff your face at the football. It's on for an hour and a half. Instead of moaning at the prices can you not have something before or after instead?

Crunchie
10-07-2022, 07:14 AM
Just don’t buy it, it’s only 2 hours you are in there. I was never allowed stadium food as a kid because my parents explained it cost too much.

10-07-2022, 07:15 AM
Fans will always moan about something, if you dont want to pay the prices then dont, if you want to then do it, dont need to moan about every single little thing

10-07-2022, 07:28 AM
Hibs are getting the money no matter what now. So just don’t buy it.

10-07-2022, 07:31 AM
Never understood the need to stuff your face at the football. It's on for an hour and a half. Instead of moaning at the prices can you not have something before or after instead?

Yep. I understand if it's a late kick off and you've had to rush from work or something, but a 3pm? No chance I'm buying a ****ty pie or burger then. And my dad never had a problem telling me no when I was young. Just brought some sweets or crisps.

It's just all the non football food that's turned me into a fat **** sadly.

10-07-2022, 07:55 AM
I paid £5.20 for two cokes at half time, no real gripe with the prices but it took all the half time plus five minutes of the second half to get served.

That needs to be sorted

10-07-2022, 07:58 AM
I see our mathematical genius has disappeared.

10-07-2022, 08:07 AM
I paid £5.20 for two cokes at half time, no real gripe with the prices but it took all the half time plus five minutes of the second half to get served.

That needs to be sorted

I found it weird in the west that people created 2 queues when there was 6 people on tills.

Gloucester Hibs
10-07-2022, 08:08 AM
The queues in the East were massive, took the kids down 5 minutes before half time and the queue had already doubled back on itself and almost snaked into the guys bogs. Second half started and we had only progressed maybe 50% of the way up the queue so just bumped it! Bairns got something out the shops after the game.

10-07-2022, 08:18 AM
The queues in the East were massive, took the kids down 5 minutes before half time and the queue had already doubled back on itself and almost snaked into the guys bogs. Second half started and we had only progressed maybe 50% of the way up the queue so just bumped it! Bairns got something out the shops after the game.

I thought making the stadium cashless was supposed to improve things on that front?

7Hero
10-07-2022, 08:29 AM
Caterer pays football club a commission on sales.

If 10-20% then they are expecting £5-10m in sales per year.

Hibs annual revenue is £10m roughly last time I looked that includes catering.

Not sure how they can achieve an 8 figure sum through commission to the football club!!

Gloucester Hibs
10-07-2022, 09:00 AM
I thought making the stadium cashless was supposed to improve things on that front?

They only had one kiosk open to be fair but the queue seemed to move at a snails pace.

10-07-2022, 09:26 AM
Don’t buy it then? It’s 3 in the afternoon, hardly missing a meal.

Normally I would agree but it was a pretty hot day so I had to buy my kid a juice.

He's 9 but even he said "£3 for a lucozade!" 😁

10-07-2022, 09:28 AM
Normally I would agree but it was a pretty hot day so I had to buy my kid a juice.

Hibs were also giving away cups of water free as it was so warm.

wallpaperman
10-07-2022, 11:57 AM
Caterer pays football club a commission on sales.

If 10-20% then they are expecting £5-10m in sales per year.

Hibs annual revenue is £10m roughly last time I looked that includes catering.

Not sure how they can achieve an 8 figure sum through commission to the football club!!

Will the catering contractor also be running all the lounges/bars and receiving the income from that? That part would perhaps seem more lucrative than pies and bovrils, and may be where the value lies for the contractors.

10-07-2022, 12:43 PM
Will the catering contractor also be running all the lounges/bars and receiving the income from that? That part would perhaps seem more lucrative than pies and bovrils, and may be where the value lies for the contractors.

Then again the margin on pies and bovrils is maybe where the profit lies?

Assuming Hibs have some sort of fixed amount of payment from the contractors there is clearly an incentive there for the new team to get the long waits sorted and get the required velocity of people through the tills at half time.

The deal was just inked though so maybe it will take a bit of time for them to get their people and plans in place.

10-07-2022, 01:07 PM
I'm not sure the argument about people not needing to eat or drink at the football is relevant here. How many of us go through an average day, week or month and only eat and drink what we need? I'd wager absolutely no one could say they do if they were being totally honest. It's the same as the snide 'why do people need a pint before a game' question. I don't need a pint, sometimes I want one though. People who are eating at the football are largely doing it because they want to and that being the case many of them must be happy with what is on offer and the pricing of it, if they weren't then they wouldn't bother. If you are grumbling about it but still buy regularly and you aren't in the minority that needs to eat or drink then the solution is surely obvious.

I'm not convinced we will see huge improvement to the offering, service or pricing as a result of this deal. Catering at ER has been outsourced for much of the time I have been going to games and it's almost always been rank with the same moans about service and pricing. It's not exclusively a Hibs or football thing either. I've been to the NFL at Wembley a couple of times and the service at the in stadium bars is rubbish, same with the racing at Musselburgh and other courses I frequent less often (a couple of years ago at Cheltenham I had to explain the concept of a gin and tonic to one of the bar staff). The offering is usually garbage as well, overpriced, badly poured Fosters or Carlsberg.

If we accept that very few are using any of the concessions out of necessity l and they are still busy then there is no incentive for the suppliers to improve them. Enough people are evidently happy with what is on offer as at all the places I mentioned above and many more they are always busy with demand often outstripping supply for some items.

10-07-2022, 02:05 PM

not only is your maths more than slightly off but your obsession with supporters buying food at the game is bizarre and borderline creepy.

that's probably 3 or 4 separate times you’ve sneered about it.

10-07-2022, 02:15 PM

Was at a gig at Hampden recently and they were selling water for about £2.50 or more.

Asked for a tap water as was driving and the guy goes and pours water from a bottle into a x2 pint cups.

Always worth asking if you want to save £ as they should serve you it.

10-07-2022, 02:25 PM
I'm not sure the argument about people not needing to eat or drink at the football is relevant here. How many of us go through an average day, week or month and only eat and drink what we need? I'd wager absolutely no one could say they do if they were being totally honest. It's the same as the snide 'why do people need a pint before a game' question. I don't need a pint, sometimes I want one though. People who are eating at the football are largely doing it because they want to and that being the case many of them must be happy with what is on offer and the pricing of it, if they weren't then they wouldn't bother. If you are grumbling about it but still buy regularly and you aren't in the minority that needs to eat or drink then the solution is surely obvious.

I'm not convinced we will see huge improvement to the offering, service or pricing as a result of this deal. Catering at ER has been outsourced for much of the time I have been going to games and it's almost always been rank with the same moans about service and pricing. It's not exclusively a Hibs or football thing either. I've been to the NFL at Wembley a couple of times and the service at the in stadium bars is rubbish, same with the racing at Musselburgh and other courses I frequent less often (a couple of years ago at Cheltenham I had to explain the concept of a gin and tonic to one of the bar staff). The offering is usually garbage as well, overpriced, badly poured Fosters or Carlsberg.

If we accept that very few are using any of the concessions out of necessity l and they are still busy then there is no incentive for the suppliers to improve them. Enough people are evidently happy with what is on offer as at all the places I mentioned above and many more they are always busy with demand often outstripping supply for some items.

Crazy you need to spell out the difference between need and want when it comes to buying a pie at the match but, based on some posts on this thread, it looks like it was required!

Rumble de Thump
10-07-2022, 03:31 PM
Crazy you need to spell out the difference between need and want when it comes to buying a pie at the match but, based on some posts on this thread, it looks like it was required!

He didn't need to. He wanted to.

sadtom
10-07-2022, 04:05 PM
Never really understood the need to fill yer face at the fitba.
Is there any other day of the week that you would normally eat between 3&5pm.
Have yer dinner before the game and yer tea after. Easy.

10-07-2022, 04:09 PM

People sometimes like to treat themselves when they are out at an event - what is hard to understand about that

10-07-2022, 04:12 PM
People sometimes like to treat themselves when they are out at an event - what is hard to understand about that

It’s not hard to understand, but why the uproar on here? If you are happy and can afford to treat yourself do so, Hibs are hardly driving families into poverty or depriving people of food with their prices. You’d think they were going by this thread

10-07-2022, 04:26 PM

Folk have been having a pie and a bovril at the football for generations. It happens. And will continue to happen. I don’t know anyone who has their dinner before going out to a game tbh. Maybe thats just me though.

Orchard_Hibs
10-07-2022, 04:27 PM
Pish comment.

I’m not sure this is true, my two kids have only once had anything from the food kiosks. Take a banana and some water for them.

10-07-2022, 04:30 PM
I’m not sure this is true, my two kids have only once had anything from the food kiosks. Take a banana and some water for them.

A water in what though? You're not allowed to take bottles in with you.

10-07-2022, 04:31 PM

A banana and water? I’m no super nanny

10-07-2022, 04:32 PM
So are some folk genuinely using the 'just don't buy it' excuse for the prices? How on earth does that change the fact the prices are absolutely ridiculous? Being able to afford something or not isn't really the issue here.

Orchard_Hibs
10-07-2022, 04:48 PM
A water in what though? You're not allowed to take bottles in with you.

Yeah I’ve never had a problem with the water bottle for the kids.

10-07-2022, 04:48 PM
So are some folk genuinely using the 'just don't buy it' excuse for the prices? How on earth does that change the fact the prices are absolutely ridiculous? Being able to afford something or not isn't really the issue here.

The issue is that Hibs have signed a deal that seemingly guarantees the club £10m in revenue over the next 9 years and people are using it as a stick to beat them with.

WestCoastHibby
10-07-2022, 04:56 PM
Nope, not for me. And I can also handle going 90 mins without p water lager if they ever allow it back.
Who’s got that kind of money? They will die on their arse with those prices …..and I hope they do. Absolute rip off

10-07-2022, 05:04 PM
The issue is that Hibs have signed a deal that seemingly guarantees the club £10m in revenue over the next 9 years and people are using it as a stick to beat them with.

So it's sound to rinse fans as long as the club are getting money from it? Cool, got it. Great community club stuff there.

10-07-2022, 05:26 PM
It’s not hard to understand, but why the uproar on here? If you are happy and can afford to treat yourself do so, Hibs are hardly driving families into poverty or depriving people of food with their prices. You’d think they were going by this thread

Not really read the full thread…but the gist seems to be there has been a major price hike in match day prices …..it’s not likely to get a rousing reception is it ?

10-07-2022, 05:31 PM
Has anybody said it’s a bad deal for the club?

It’s tremendous.

The only complaints are about the price of the products, nobody has slagged the club off about anything.

10-07-2022, 05:38 PM
The whole "just don't buy it then" line is ridiculous.

Hibs are offering catering within the stadium to supporters so it's on them to make sure that price and quality is at a suitable standard and not take the piss. Which the current pricing definitely is.

The argument doesn't stack up at all. If we get offered money to make first team tops from a company but they set the cost at £70 quid. After all, nobody actually needs a top and they can choose to buy it or not. Just wear a green top, plenty of them available around town.

LewysGot2
10-07-2022, 05:44 PM

Probably best not to sneer at fellow fans?

Probably also best to be on sound ground with the numbers….

10-07-2022, 05:49 PM
The whole "just don't buy it then" line is ridiculous.

Hibs are offering catering within the stadium to supporters so it's on them to make sure that price and quality is at a suitable standard and not take the piss. Which the current pricing definitely is.

The argument doesn't stack up at all. If we get offered money to make first team tops from a company but they set the cost at £70 quid. After all, nobody actually needs a top and they can choose to buy it or not. Just wear a green top, plenty of them available around town.

Tops are too expensive as it is, I wait until they are half price to buy them if I buy them at all.

The food prices aren’t really that different to any other stadium or event pricing, the only way you can actually tell them this is to either not buy it or write a letter and also not buy it. If no one is buying it then the price will drop but you will probably find that sales will be high enough to maintain the prices as they are.

LewysGot2
10-07-2022, 05:53 PM

Nope but that’s not the case for everyone. Each to their own.

Can’t remember buying too many food items for my kids growing up - did on occasion and more often at away games or lunch time ko games. However getting a hot drink was fairly regular during the winter months to help keep warm and still is.

Think my drink yesterday was about £2.50?

Hibiza
10-07-2022, 05:57 PM

Yup. Be another excuse to hike the prices.

Hibiza
10-07-2022, 05:59 PM
Catering should be community run , no profiteering. In my humble.

10-07-2022, 06:01 PM
Nope but that’s not the case for everyone. Each to their own.

Can’t remember buying too many food items for my kids growing up - did on occasion and more often at away games or lunch time ko games. However getting a hot drink was fairly regular during the winter months to help keep warm and still is.

Think my drink yesterday was about £2.50?

Prices on here

Hibiza
10-07-2022, 06:02 PM
Don't think you're allowed to take stuff in ? Enlighten me .

10-07-2022, 06:04 PM
Prices on here

Cheaper than other outlets when going out to an event

10-07-2022, 06:10 PM

I eat between those times every day of the week. A pie or whatever you fancy at the game is a tradition and loads of folk like it. It's a bit like popcorn at the cinema. What about folk who go out with their mates before or after the game? Not exactly going to go home for your tea then back out to the pub so at the game is the perfect time to eat

10-07-2022, 06:18 PM
Cheaper than other outlets when going out to an event

I’ll continue to buy my macaroni pie and coffee

10-07-2022, 06:28 PM
I’ll continue to buy my macaroni pie and coffee

Cant beat a macaroni pie, love them😁

RMQ1967
10-07-2022, 06:35 PM
I eat between those times every day of the week. A pie or whatever you fancy at the game is a tradition and loads of folk like it. It's a bit like popcorn at the cinema. What about folk who go out with their mates before or after the game? Not exactly going to go home for your tea then back out to the pub so at the game is the perfect time to eat

Yes everyone knows food at events is overpriced but it's all part of the experience and ideally that should include a decent selection and tasty food.

I understand people struggle with the cost on top of everything else that we splash out on Hibs but this is what it means to be a supporter. I don't grudge it as I believe its all going to the benefit of Hibs.

Aside from that it seems like an incredible deal for Hibs - is this not better than some of the TV deals in recent years?

10-07-2022, 07:12 PM
A few folk have alluded to this already.

Going to football is supposed to be a leisure activity ... hell, its even supposed to be ... wait for it, wait for it ......... 'fun'

Folk don't go to the pub before of after the game because they 'need' a drink, they do it because it's part of the package, for them, of a good day out.

Folk who smoke can indeed get trough 90 or 120 minutes without a fag, but having to do that takes a wee bit of the enjoyment out of being at the game if you get an hour in and you want a smoke ... thankfully Hibs take a sensible approach to it and allow folk out at half time, its made a difference for the likes of me.

It's the same with food. Of course folk can get through a game without eating something, but once again being able to eat something if you want to is simply a part of the enjoyment of the day .... folk who do that, myself included, aren't part of some perceived 'problem' its simply part of their day at the fitba. Prices are indeed an issue, but it's daft saying folk paying them are part of a problem.

Tell me if I'm missing something, but is it not the case that from time immemorial fitba fans have been overcharged for practically everything .... I mean c'mon, near on £50 for what is in reality nothing more than a T shirt you could probably buy the equivalent of in Matalan, Primark or TK Maxx for about £15 ..... The only thing fitba clubs need to always keep in mind is that the fans aren't stupid, they know they are being ripped off but accept it because they see it as part of 'supporting' their club ... heaven help any club that forgets that.

10-07-2022, 07:49 PM
In simple terms, if Elior are giving Hibs £10m over 9 years, then depending on the margin they work to, they think they can get £20m - £30m out of us over the same period to make a decent profit.

As with all these things, it's down to us at end of the day. None of these companies are pumping cash into us to just to see us win a few games.

At least this way, Hibs get the cash each season whether the pies are decent or crap. Much more sensible than trying to bring things in house.

10-07-2022, 08:18 PM
I'm just not getting this.

If they are paying a million a year and we have say 25 home games then they have to make £40,000 a game to get their money back.

Am I missing something obvious?

10-07-2022, 08:19 PM

If they are paying a million a year and we have say 25 home games then they have to make £40,000 a game to get their money back.

Yes. will also include hospitality etc …and perhaps they also get to do all the functions at the stadium??

10-07-2022, 08:21 PM
Yes. will also include hospitality etc …and perhaps they also get to do all the functions at the stadium??

Fair enough, just seems too good to be true.

10-07-2022, 08:26 PM

Elior, who are also the contract caterers at Murrayfield, will work closely with the Club to deliver innovation around retail brands, a fan zone for pre-and post-match entertainment, seven different matchday hospitality experiences and non-matchday hospitality and events.

The new hospitality areas will be getting used a lot more than the 19-25 times a year that the first team will play at Easter Road.

Hibeesforever
11-07-2022, 07:45 AM
I thought the new chips were superb !

BS44
11-07-2022, 08:18 AM

There's another 340 days in the year...

11-07-2022, 08:21 AM
There's another 340 days in the year...

I will give you that, I take it you know how many of these 340 days are being used that will generate substantial income????

11-07-2022, 08:29 AM

New hospitality suites will be available for hire outside match days.

11-07-2022, 08:58 AM
I guess if these areas are done up to a high standard, which seems to be the case, we will see them used for a lot more than just matchdays.

BS44
11-07-2022, 09:13 AM
I will give you that, I take it you know how many of these 340 days are being used that will generate substantial income????

No I don't I'm afraid.

11-07-2022, 09:37 AM
No I don't I'm afraid.

Would be interesting, I guess they will be pushing to get as many as possible tied up.

donno
11-07-2022, 10:32 AM
I assume that the 4 hospitality suites on match days are included in those deals, but some have mentioned non match days.
Can these suites be booked for private function, weddings, birthdays, retirements etc?
Looking on our website, I can find no mention of being able to book the facilities.
My son follows tottenham, and planning on taking him down sometime this season. Their website allows booking tours, meeting legends, the skywalk (whatever that is), restaurant booking etc.
Are we missing a trick not advertising all facilities available to the fans on non match days?

Edited - I googled Hibernian Corporate Facilities, and got this - https://www.conferences-uk.org.uk/venue/hibernian-football-club
Shouldn't this stuff be easy to find on the club website?

Sent from my JNY-LX1 using Tapatalk

11-07-2022, 10:45 AM
I assume that the 4 hospitality suites on match days are included in those deals, but some have mentioned non match days.
Can these suites be booked for private function, weddings, birthdays, retirements etc?
Looking on our website, I can find no mention of being able to book the facilities.
My son follows tottenham, and planning on taking him down sometime this season. Their website allows booking tours, meeting legends, the skywalk (whatever that is), restaurant booking etc.
Are we missing a trick not advertising all facilities available to the fans on non match days?

Edited - I googled Hibernian Corporate Facilities, and got this - https://www.conferences-uk.org.uk/venue/hibernian-football-club
Shouldn't this stuff be easy to find on the club website?

Sent from my JNY-LX1 using Tapatalk

You do realise that the suites are all currently undergoing a full refurbishment that’s not even finished yet? Once that’s done, they’ll be photographed and marketed. The deal with the new caterers was only announced 2 days ago.

Mainstandman
11-07-2022, 10:50 AM
You do realise that the suites are all currently undergoing a full refurbishment that’s not even finished yet? Once that’s done, they’ll be photographed and marketed. The deal with the new caterers was only announced 2 days ago.

Yes but people want all the info today so they can complain about the prices, lol.

15-07-2022, 10:33 AM
Looks like Aberdeen fans aren’t happy with their new offer either. The club have just released a statement on prices……

Following Wednesday night’s match with Dumbarton at Pittodrie we wanted to further explain the changes that have been made to the matchday menu in conjunction with our catering partner BaxterStorey.

It’s the first time in four years that prices have been increased at the kiosks and it is never easy making the decision to put prices up and even more so in the current climate.

But we’ve been forced to do so as a direct result of the spiralling costs of raw ingredients, particularly meat and dairy, which you’ll all be seeing at the supermarket check-out. Labour costs have also risen in line with increases in wages to cope with inflation.

The Club and our catering partner, BaxterStorey, strive to deliver quality and value for money. We carefully reviewed our prices in line with the average 20% increase in the cost of food across the board. In balancing the enforced price increases, we’ve introduced some attractive meal deals and a range of new options to cater for vegetarians and vegans.

We’ve also been able to hold some items at 2019 prices including our Pittodrie Pie & Steak Pie Meal Deals. It’s true that some of our products, like our Pittodrie Pie and Steak Pies, could be sourced more cheaply but we’re committed to supporting local suppliers who, in turn, support local jobs and to using quality ingredients. As these fuel and supply chain cost increases hopefully subside, we will pass along any savings by reducing prices.

Over 4,000 hot items were sold on Wednesday night, including 2,500 pies, and so far we have received good positive feedback on quality with only a handful of complaints, mainly on pricing, in the 24 hours that have followed the match.

snedzuk
15-07-2022, 03:24 PM
A few folk have alluded to this already.

Going to football is supposed to be a leisure activity ... hell, its even supposed to be ... wait for it, wait for it ......... 'fun'

Folk don't go to the pub before of after the game because they 'need' a drink, they do it because it's part of the package, for them, of a good day out.

Folk who smoke can indeed get trough 90 or 120 minutes without a fag, but having to do that takes a wee bit of the enjoyment out of being at the game if you get an hour in and you want a smoke ... thankfully Hibs take a sensible approach to it and allow folk out at half time, its made a difference for the likes of me.

It's the same with food. Of course folk can get through a game without eating something, but once again being able to eat something if you want to is simply a part of the enjoyment of the day .... folk who do that, myself included, aren't part of some perceived 'problem' its simply part of their day at the fitba. Prices are indeed an issue, but it's daft saying folk paying them are part of a problem.

Tell me if I'm missing something, but is it not the case that from time immemorial fitba fans have been overcharged for practically everything .... I mean c'mon, near on £50 for what is in reality nothing more than a T shirt you could probably buy the equivalent of in Matalan, Primark or TK Maxx for about £15 ..... The only thing fitba clubs need to always keep in mind is that the fans aren't stupid, they know they are being ripped off but accept it because they see it as part of 'supporting' their club ... heaven help any club that forgets that.

Even a 'macaroon bar arra spearmint chewing gum' were expensive, once.

snedzuk
15-07-2022, 03:25 PM

If its a fixed price deal, the rate of inflation.

15-07-2022, 03:39 PM
Even a 'macaroon bar arra spearmint chewing gum' were expensive, once.Was it not more spirramint chingum than spearmint chewing gum :greengrin

hibbydad
25-07-2022, 09:18 AM
If its a fixed price deal, the rate of inflation.
It is an absolute shambles. Yesterday I ordered a steak pie chips and a coke. I paid by card and asked for a receipt the person who was serving me had to go and get someone else to produce a receipt which took some time. In the meantime the person who was serving me started to serve other people and I had to shout to him that he had not given me the food. When I got upstairs I discovered he had given me a scotch pie not the steak pie I had ordered in addition the chips were very poor not the wedges we have been getting recently. A big improvement is needed

25-07-2022, 09:45 AM
It is an absolute shambles. Yesterday I ordered a steak pie chips and a coke. I paid by card and asked for a receipt the person who was serving me had to go and get someone else to produce a receipt which took some time. In the meantime the person who was serving me started to serve other people and I had to shout to him that he had not given me the food. When I got upstairs I discovered he had given me a scotch pie not the steak pie I had ordered in addition the chips were very poor not the wedges we have been getting recently. A big improvement is needed

Just out of curiosity why did you want a receipt?

It's not as if you could take them back today:greengrin

25-07-2022, 09:48 AM

I, and several others in the queue, had to wait for 10 mins whilst a customer demanded a receipt for food at the Morton game. It took a supervisor, two phone calls and left the pod being unable to serve anyone for that time.

Seriously a receipt for a £4.99 meal deal, why?

25-07-2022, 10:23 AM

A receipt for what? A fiver? Of course the server is going to serve someone else to keep the queue moving. I take it you took your "wrong" order back with your receipt and had it refunded or corrected otherwise why?

Yeah I'm a grumpy git buut seriously🙃

kentao
25-07-2022, 10:34 AM
Would assume to be written off as a business expense

25-07-2022, 10:40 AM
Nearly £4 foe a steak pie? Ram it.

Logie
25-07-2022, 10:47 AM
I only bought some juice yesterday for myself and the wee one but there was no bottles of Oasis left, no fruit shoots, no capri suns on offer or no option of water. So the 3 year old had the choice of full fat juice or lucozade 🤣 surprised the caterers don’t have many options at all for kids… I’ll know for next time to bring our own.

25-07-2022, 11:34 AM

At those prices I would probably eat it but each to their own.

25-07-2022, 01:02 PM

Hearts fans hand over two million quid a year to their club for nothing in return. Why not look at it as a £4 donation and free pie ! :greengrin

You see, if you just come out of your shell a wee bit, there's always a positive way to look at things

hibbydad
25-07-2022, 01:27 PM
Just out of curiosity why did you want a receipt?

It's not as if you could take them back today:greengrin
For my credit card records

hibbydad
25-07-2022, 01:34 PM
I, and several others in the queue, had to wait for 10 mins whilst a customer demanded a receipt for food at the Morton game. It took a supervisor, two phone calls and left the pod being unable to serve anyone for that time.

In that case there is no excuse for them not knowing yesterday. Totally unprofessional

25-07-2022, 01:43 PM
At both the Scottish Open at Renaissance and Open at St Andrews, spectators were encouraged to bring their own water bottles and use the free water refill stations situated at various points on the course.

While we proclaim to be “Scotland’s greenest club”, perhaps water refill stations should be considered which would not only cut down on plastic wastage, but cut down on queues at kiosks as well.

percy veer
25-07-2022, 01:45 PM

Think that's a first , can't say in all my years at football heard anyone asking for a receipt for food.

Jay
25-07-2022, 01:45 PM

If your at the game as a carer you will need to receipt every penny you spend.

25-07-2022, 01:58 PM

The overuse of the word "Shambles" to describe any minor issue that happens at a game or behind the scenes annoys the hell out of me and I really have no idea why a Hibs fan would use it in this situation.

If you replaced "It's an absolute shambles" with the phrase "It was a minor inconvenience" your post might makes sense.

25-07-2022, 02:36 PM
At both the Scottish Open at Renaissance and Open at St Andrews, spectators were encouraged to bring their own water bottles and use the free water refill stations situated at various points on the course.

While we proclaim to be “Scotland’s greenest club”, perhaps water refill stations should be considered which would not only cut down on plastic wastage, but cut down on queues at kiosks as well.

The club, police and the league aren’t going to support the ability for anyone to take a sealed container into a game which will inevitably end up as a object to throw once filled with water..

Green7
25-07-2022, 02:47 PM
Sunday was my first game at ER for a while. Purchased a hotdog (£4.80) and coke zero totalling £7.20. This is more than I used to pay although the hot dog was better. Cant see me shelling this out every visit.

hibbydad
25-07-2022, 03:44 PM
The overuse of the word "Shambles" to describe any minor issue that happens at a game or behind the scenes annoys the hell out of me and I really have no idea why a Hibs fan would use it in this situation.

If you replaced "It's an absolute shambles" with the phrase "It was a minor inconvenience" your post might makes sense.
They are an established business so should be able to provide a receipt in a professional way. In addition you may note I was given the wrong pie

25-07-2022, 03:54 PM
They are an established business so should be able to provide a receipt in a professional way. In addition you may note I was given the wrong pie

I'd argue they're a catering company, in the early days of a new contract, in new premises with new staff. Restaurants around the world have bedding in issues, which is why many have soft launches or family and friend events, as trial runs. Our new catering company don't have that leisure and will be finding out about this venture as they go

Not acceptable long term but they're barely in the door.

hibbydad
25-07-2022, 03:58 PM
I'd argue they're a catering company, in the early days of a new contract, in new premises with new staff. Restaurants around the world have bedding in issues, which is why many have soft launches or family and friend events, as trial runs. Our new catering company don't have that leisure and will be finding out about this venture as they go

Not acceptable long term but they're barely in the door.
They trade at Murrayfield as well which is much larger than us so it is not as if they are new to the game

25-07-2022, 04:03 PM
For my credit card records

You use a credit card to buy pies at the football? Wow. Wush I was that rich. Most of us humble plebs use a debit card or our phone. Tell me do you ckaim the VAT back too?

Hibs3-2
25-07-2022, 04:20 PM
The queues are an absolute joke too. Basically no chance of seeing the full game whilst wanting a pie before/HT unless you are in at 2pm

25-07-2022, 04:25 PM
You use a credit card to buy pies at the football? Wow. Wush I was that rich. Most of us humble plebs use a debit card or our phone. Tell me do you ckaim the VAT back too?

How are you rich paying with a credit card 🤔

Stubbsy90+2
25-07-2022, 06:11 PM

Why on earth does his method of payment matter? It’s almost as if folk are suggesting the guy is in the wrong for wanting a receipt for what he’s paid for :faf:

25-07-2022, 06:15 PM
They trade at Murrayfield as well which is much larger than us so it is not as if they are new to the game

Absolutely, but all new locations take some adjustment period. It's also a different (less accepting) clientele than at a rugby match. Crowds at kiosks at Murrayfield definitely have more patience, plus the staff will be familiar with the available tech (tills, kitchen equipment) and layout. I've ran many bars before, but if I went to run a new one now guaranteed first week or so a few things would go wrong

25-07-2022, 06:45 PM
Why on earth does his method of payment matter? It’s almost as if folk are suggesting the guy is in the wrong for wanting a receipt for what he’s paid for :faf:

What does he need the receipt for?

The tax man?

Jay
25-07-2022, 07:06 PM

The tax man?

Like I said further up, he may be a carer. If you take a client out and spend their money you have to receipt everything. The money and receipts have to balance. It's very common these days

25-07-2022, 07:19 PM

What a ******' weird and uncalled for response.

I use my credit card on my phone for every single purchase i make. Everything. Have done so for a few years now.

A single banana from the Coop, 10p on my credit card.

25-07-2022, 07:21 PM

I use my credit card on my phone for every single purchase i make. Everything. Have done so for a few years now.

10p bananas! Ltyf

25-07-2022, 07:35 PM
What an utterly ridiculous thread

25-07-2022, 07:45 PM

I think your experience sounds like a shambles. :agree:

Being given the wrong pie isn't a minor inconvenience, it's a completely unacceptable level of service. There's people with serious food allergies, or even just personal preferences, who could be impacted severely by that if it isn't rectified. That in itself is a shambles, never mind the additional faff with receipts etc.

25-07-2022, 07:53 PM

Why would you buy anything without a credit card? Regardless of income it's a much better option.

Stubbsy90+2
25-07-2022, 08:41 PM

Being given the wrong pie isn't a minor inconvenience, it's a completely unacceptable level of service. There's people with serious food allergies, or even just personal preferences, who could be impacted severely by that if it isn't rectified. That in itself is a shambles, never mind the additional faff with receipts etc.

Yup.

It’s really, really poor.

Stubbsy90+2
25-07-2022, 08:42 PM

The tax man?

What does it matter?

He could need it for the tax man, he could need it for the wife. He’s allowed a receipt.

25-07-2022, 08:57 PM

A single banana from the Coop, 10p on my credit card.You must be Elon Musk

I knew it!

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

1875godsgift
25-07-2022, 11:38 PM

When I was vegetarian and was given a steak bake instead of a macaroni pie, I considered it a minor inconvenience.

If I was hit by a bus while waiting in the queue however, I'd consider that a severe impact.

26-07-2022, 12:47 AM
The last couple pages have proven that people will genuinely start an argument over anything on Hibs.net

26-07-2022, 04:51 AM
The last couple pages have proven that people will genuinely start an argument over anything on Hibs.net

No they wouldn’t.

26-07-2022, 05:43 AM
We had a girl in our work the other day from a temp agency and I asked her where the worst place she's ever worked was. She's not from the UK and had no idea I was football fan let alone a Hibs fan, her response "that stadium at Easter Road".

When I asked her why she said it's the most disorganised place she's ever worked and they regularly get shouted at from customers.

26-07-2022, 06:46 AM
We had a girl in our work the other day from a temp agency and I asked her where the worst place she's ever worked was. She's not from the UK and had no idea I was football fan let alone a Hibs fan, her response "that stadium at Easter Road".

When I asked her why she said it's the most disorganised place she's ever worked and they regularly get shouted at from customers.

Was it Leeann 😉😁

26-07-2022, 07:13 AM

Much like the team then.......:wink:

26-07-2022, 07:43 AM
When I was vegetarian and was given a steak bake instead of a macaroni pie, I considered it a minor inconvenience.

If I was hit by a bus while waiting in the queue however, I'd consider that a severe impact.

You've taken half my sentence, and ignored the word "could". :confused:

If it didn't matter to you then fine, that particular swap wouldn't matter to me much either. A swap that involved something with peanuts in it would though. Giving someone what they ordered is fundamental to the service they provide, getting it wrong is anywhere between amateurish and dangerous.

How someone could confuse a steak bake for a macaroni pie confuses me greatly though. :faf:

Peanut Shaz
26-07-2022, 10:27 AM
[QUOTE=1875godsgift;7039451]When I was vegetarian and was given a steak bake instead of a macaroni pie, I considered it a minor inconvenience.

My 4 year old Grandaughter goes to the games and she has a nut allergy serious enough to warrant her having an epi pen. If she was given something in error that contained nuts I'm sure it would be more than a 'minor inconvenience'. There are all sort of other possible allergies as well. Consider yourself lucky you don't have to worry about them every time you eat out.

26-07-2022, 11:54 AM
The club, police and the league aren’t going to support the ability for anyone to take a sealed container into a game which will inevitably end up as a object to throw once filled with water..

Not when a golf umbrella can be more affective and thrown like a javelin 😀

26-07-2022, 01:11 PM

My co-op has a transactuon chage on under £5...you must be rolling in it if you pay that charge on top of your 10p bananas. By the way 10p bananas? You shoplifting them?

26-07-2022, 01:29 PM
My co-op has a transactuon chage on under £5...you must be rolling in it if you pay that charge on top of your 10p bananas. By the way 10p bananas? You shoplifting them?

Really? I've never seen any of those signs in any major shop (small shops aside) for years and certainly not since covid. I had a coop 2 mins around the corner from me that I used regularly until I moved last year and would pay for a pint of milk with card without any charge.

I don't get the you must be rich comment. Plenty of people use credit cards. It might be that they get cashback for using it, it might be convenience, it might actually be the opposite - they are skint and need to use a credit card as a short-term measure.

RMQ1967
26-07-2022, 01:48 PM
No they wouldn’t.

Best comment on the whole thread :tee hee:

26-07-2022, 01:55 PM

That's illegal now I think, has been for a few years.

26-07-2022, 01:58 PM
[QUOTE=1875godsgift;7039451]When I was vegetarian and was given a steak bake instead of a macaroni pie, I considered it a minor inconvenience.

My 4 year old Grandaughter goes to the games and she has a nut allergy serious enough to warrant her having an epi pen. If she was given something in error that contained nuts I'm sure it would be more than a 'minor inconvenience'. There are all sort of other possible allergies as well. Consider yourself lucky you don't have to worry about them every time you eat out.

Bit of a harsh username in that case! 😉

26-07-2022, 04:05 PM
That's illegal now I think, has been for a few years.

I think they can have a minimum amount for accepting card, but you're not allowed to charge for card payments.

26-07-2022, 04:15 PM
Bought a drink twice on Sunday and twice last week but only once was I asked if I had a St and was given the discount. Had forgotten about unil was asked on Sunday.

26-07-2022, 04:21 PM
Bought a drink twice on Sunday and twice last week but only once was I asked if I had a St and was given the discount. Had forgotten about unil was asked on Sunday.

I'm confused, someone earlier on in this thread said there was no discount for season ticket holders at the Clyde game since it wasn't a season ticket game.

Sunday wasn't a season ticket game either so not quite sure how they verified it since season ticket cards haven't been issued yet.

26-07-2022, 04:23 PM
I'm confused, someone earlier on in this thread said there was no discount for season ticket holders at the Clyde game since it wasn't a season ticket game.

Sunday wasn't a season ticket game either so not quite sure how they verified it since season ticket cards haven't been issued yet.

I was told no discount at the Clyde and Morton games, but didn’t buy anything at the Norwich game

26-07-2022, 04:30 PM

I suppose they could ask to see last season's ticket as it was free for early bird renewals. Chances of someone being at the game having not renewed, but having last season's ticket with them, and buying from kiosks are probably small enough that if they hadn't renewed it's an insignificant loss.

More likely is the staff have been trained to ask and no one said it didn't apply Sunday.

26-07-2022, 05:12 PM
We have an 8 page thread that is mostly about someone being given the wrong pie. :rolleyes:

tam4hibs
26-07-2022, 05:45 PM
How does the new hospitality work?

With the Hearts and The Rangers games early KO - does anyone know what timings are pre match for the Albion and/or Edinburgh club?

I know it’s usually 2.5 hours prior to KO. But I imagine that’s normal Ko times?

Any of last years Edinburgh Club guys able to confirm?

26-07-2022, 06:20 PM
We have an 8 page thread that is mostly about someone being given the wrong pie. :rolleyes:

Not a Fray Bentos then?

26-07-2022, 06:22 PM

Not if you've actually read it, no.

26-07-2022, 08:41 PM
Best comment on the whole thread :tee hee:

No it isn’t

27-07-2022, 12:24 PM

It's not, but within that there is a potentially serious issue.

It kind of worked out nicely for me as I was told they had no chicken curry pies, asked for a macaroni one and when I got back to my seat it was a chicken curry one.

Not good at all if I was a vegetarian and just asked for the macaroni one initially, but if that was someone with an allergy then that could also be very serious.

There are clearly a number of issues that need resolved.

27-07-2022, 01:30 PM

It kind of worked out nicely for me as I was told they had no chicken curry pies, asked for a macaroni one and when I got back to my seat it was a chicken curry one.

Not good at all if I was a vegetarian and just asked for the macaroni one initially, but if that was someone with an allergy then that could also be very serious.

Does anyone actually get the pie they asked for? :greengrin

27-07-2022, 02:29 PM
[QUOTE=hibbydad;7038715]For my credit card records[/QUOTE

Honestly?

There is a great big world out there with literally millions of other things you could be doing

And I say this as an ex Bank Manager and IFA

27-07-2022, 02:31 PM
Not a Fray Bentos then?

Nah Fray Libby😁

27-07-2022, 02:37 PM

We know of two people who got the wrong pies over the course of two matches and one person who had to wait for a receipt, but did get it,. On the back of this we have several people describing Hibs as a "Shambles". I would suggest two minor order errors across two matches and having to wait for a receipt in the first two matches that the new caterers have been in charge is not a shambles...it's teething problems. I don't doubt that people with serious allergy's have to be very careful, but I'm also sure that just about every large food outlet serving 100's if not 1000's of people a day, will make the odd mistake. It's not a shambles, it's real life and human error and it's never going to be completely perfect. New staff will make mistakes, card machines will fail, staff will pick the wrong product...it happens, it's inevitable, it's life. My advice would be

Check your food order when it's handed to you, just to be sure, particularly if you suffer from any food allergy's
Don't buy food from kiosks at large sporting events if you are someone who cares deeply about good value...eat before you arrive
Ask if a receipt is available before ordering, if getting one is very important to your system for checking your CC statement
Say thank you and have a nice chat with others in the queue when waiting for food, it will improve everyone's day

There, that should sort it without the need for endless "Shambles" posts :greengrin

27-07-2022, 02:42 PM

Never paid a transaction charge, no min spend.

ok let’s call it 20p for a banana. Point stands. It costs nowt to pay by credit card.

Jay
27-07-2022, 06:11 PM
We know of two people who got the wrong pies over the course of two matches and one person who had to wait for a receipt, but did get it,. On the back of this we have several people describing Hibs as a "Shambles". I would suggest two minor order errors across two matches and having to wait for a receipt in the first two matches that the new caterers have been in charge is not a shambles...it's teething problems. I don't doubt that people with serious allergy's have to be very careful, but I'm also sure that just about every large food outlet serving 100's if not 1000's of people a day, will make the odd mistake. It's not a shambles, it's real life and human error and it's never going to be completely perfect. New staff will make mistakes, card machines will fail, staff will pick the wrong product...it happens, it's inevitable, it's life. My advice would be

Check your food order when it's handed to you, just to be sure, particularly if you suffer from any food allergy's
Don't buy food from kiosks at large sporting events if you are someone who cares deeply about good value...eat before you arrive
Ask if a receipt is available before ordering, if getting one is very important to your system for checking your CC statement
Say thank you and have a nice chat with others in the queue when waiting for food, it will improve everyone's day

There, that should sort it without the need for endless "Shambles" posts :greengrin

One person called it a shambles and one person agreed that that person's experience did sound like a shambles. Hardly a baying mob with pitchforks.

AngloHibs
27-07-2022, 08:01 PM

With respect, if my granddaughter was so much at risk there is no way I'd be feeding her anything that I've not been in charge of producing. I'd prepare her a packed lunch myself and make sure that she ate nothing else. Not having a go, I'm just saying that I wouldn't take the risk.

27-07-2022, 08:07 PM
One person called it a shambles and one person agreed that that person's experience did sound like a shambles. Hardly a baying mob with pitchforks.

Did you disagree with anything I wrote other than the word "endless" ?

Jay
27-07-2022, 08:16 PM

It's quite a key word in your post tbf. As is the word several, also nobody called Hibs a shambles, it was the service and organisation of the food service. you were asking people to keep perspective while exaggerating yourself :greengrin

Other than that it's spot on :aok:

27-07-2022, 08:23 PM
[QUOTE=Peanut Shaz;7039682]

With respect, if my granddaughter was so much at risk there is no way I'd be feeding her anything that I've not been in charge of producing. I'd prepare her a packed lunch myself and make sure that she ate nothing else. Not having a go, I'm just saying that I wouldn't take the risk.

That's both impractical and counter productive.

Children with allergies need to learn to manage those allergies, particularly managing situations in which they may come into contact with an allergen or be offered something inappropriate.

There's school trips, birthday parties, days out at friends houses etc etc where parents aren't there to manage the risk and to control every aspect of their child's life. The child mentioned by the other poster is my daughter and she is well versed in telling waiters, other parents etc that she 'can't have any nuts'. She's also very aware that my wife and I have to check any foodstuffs in the house and she can't just help herself, everything has to be approved by us. She knows not to take any food from friends and largely sticks to the rules. Equally though she's a child and there has to be the opportunity for treats and a bit spontaneity. Restaurants, take aways, ice cream shops etc are obliged to provide allergen information as standard, there is also a whole host of legislation in place to prevent errors and cross contamination. There should be reasonable expectation that you go to a food kiosk and aren't presented with a Snickers when you ask for a Twix. There's a level of responsibility on the part of the parents but wrapping a child in cotton wool and taking pre prepared food everywhere removes the education and introduction of responsibility for the child. In all likelihood my daughter will live with this for the rest of her life so learning the right questions to ask and the things to look out for at a young age is invaluable.

Mistakes happen. In 99% of cases someone being presented with the wrong pie would be no big deal. However it's the kind of feedback that should be used to review procedures to make sure it doesn't happen and avoid something more serious.

27-07-2022, 08:38 PM

You said we have an 8 page thread which is mostly about someone getting the wrong pie.

That's quite clearly not the case, so if you say something that is not correct expect people to correct you on it.

28-07-2022, 04:12 PM
You said we have an 8 page thread which is mostly about someone getting the wrong pie.

That's quite clearly not the case, so if you say something that is not correct expect people to correct you on it.

I’m more than happy to admit that was an exaggeration, but I was talking about my other post, summing up the complaints. Do you disagree with anything I wrote in my other post (post #236) other than the word “endless”

28-07-2022, 04:25 PM

You're not wrong here. I got the price of bananas incorrect. Twice.

Thankfully my error was quickly pointed out to me.

It's one of the best things about this forum, you can learn so much just from being wrong.