View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian v Clyde
09-07-2022, 05:17 PM
We're going to win the Treble! :hyper
09-07-2022, 05:18 PM
If this was Celtic it would be 10-0 at f/t just saying……not sure what we can make of this score after half-time
Strange comment to make on a Hibs fan forum, maybe you should just toddle off back to a Celtic forum!
09-07-2022, 05:19 PM
I'm sure the coaches would have a lot of positives today. Great to see the pace & movement & intent in that first half.
For me, if I was an opposition scout, I'd be saying the best chance teams will have v Hibs is to rob the ball from Kenneh (he wants a little too much time, as a first impression) and if he loses it as CDM, a good team will score on the break.
All in all though, great to see the new signings AND great to see the difference some positive coaching & tactics have had (so far) on last seasons players too.
If he can adapt to the pace I think he will be a valuable player for us.
09-07-2022, 05:22 PM
Scunnered that I had Hibs to win both halfs and over 3.5 goals, and the second half literally finished 0-0. Actually unbelievable 😔😂
09-07-2022, 05:24 PM
no think we have him on a 3 year deal
That's correct, with the option of a further year.
MagicSwirlingShip
09-07-2022, 05:29 PM
Hibs Win over 4.5 goals! Nice wee return :-)
If he can adapt to the pace I think he will be a valuable player for us.
Yep, think he’ll be very good for us.
All about opinions I suppose but I thought Campbell Doidge Melkersen Kenneh and McClelland did ok
Would like to see them against higher calibre opposition where they don’t get as much time on the ball
Good to see Rocky winning some headers
McGeady looks as though he will be a good signing for us
09-07-2022, 05:31 PM
When you think Bojang, Tavares, Ellie, Magennis, Mitchell and Nisbet weren’t even featured in this squad. It’s exciting.
09-07-2022, 05:34 PM
Hope the big man Rocky isn’t injured and it’s more a give them a half each change.
Thought Rocky played very well today, won every header he challenged for, made some great tackles & didn't put a foot wrong.
I appreciate it was only Clyde we were playing, but we can only play what's in front of us.
Well played big man.
Y
Fuzzywuzzy
09-07-2022, 05:56 PM
Thought Kenneh looked good and wasn't afraid of putting a challenge in. McClelland looks aa fantastic addition
09-07-2022, 06:00 PM
Porto, Mclleland, JDH, Campbell, Doidge and Melkersen were fantastic imo. Particularly excited to see how Melkersen develops this season
Kenneh was excellent at retrieving the ball but might take a few games to get to grips with speed. Cadden was his usual bundle of energy
Hendo showed some good moments too and was pretty strong
Wouldn't say anyone played poor, feels like we're an attacking left back away from having a really good side
Clyde were brutal, and very physical so hard to get too carried away but a very positive opener
09-07-2022, 06:10 PM
Thought JDH and Henderson were standouts today,played very well.
Glad to hear that
09-07-2022, 06:20 PM
Can't remember which goal but was great to see JDH battle in the midfield then break forward with the ball and play a through ball into Doidge. Something he didn't really do last year
09-07-2022, 06:22 PM
Excellent performance Today, enjoyed that
Jakhog1
09-07-2022, 06:26 PM
When you think Bojang, Tavares, Ellie, Magennis, Mitchell and Nisbet weren’t even featured in this squad. It’s exciting.
Bang on, all good attacking options and we still got five today, wait till we have a full squad to choose from, really enjoyed the match today, first half was brilliant and seen no need for them to go full pelt in the second half, job was done.
What was the scran like ?
Perfect.
Dr_Regal
09-07-2022, 06:33 PM
Thought Hendo was exceptional first half, and Kenneh was brilliant too.
Stevenson absolutely rotten second half. McGeady is a quality footballer.
09-07-2022, 06:34 PM
Right, that's my Morton tickets bought.
MagicSwirlingShip
09-07-2022, 06:37 PM
Chips were awesome in the East, crispy wedges with a wee tub of broon sauce. Bangin
09-07-2022, 07:00 PM
What was the scran like ?
Ask the seagulls!😁
09-07-2022, 07:23 PM
When can we expect some free highlights? Melkersen goal is on YouTube now filmed from the stands.
09-07-2022, 07:31 PM
Thought Hendo was exceptional first half, and Kenneh was brilliant too.
Stevenson absolutely rotten second half. McGeady is a quality footballer.
Hibs win 5-0 and one of your main takes from the game was that our club legend left back was “rotten”?
Laced1875
09-07-2022, 07:35 PM
Didn’t like the Miller / Cadden partnership in the second half - hopefully they can work on that
Dr_Regal
09-07-2022, 08:18 PM
Hibs win 5-0 and one of your main takes from the game was that our club legend left back was “rotten”?
Eh yep, he was very poor today. Second half was a bit frustrating today and there were echos of a Maloney type performance. Sloppy and wasteful.
I don’t care if him and Hanlon are club legends or not, they better be contributing to a winning team on the park. Kind of over the blind loyalty stuff, and I don’t think it will fly with LJ.
09-07-2022, 08:27 PM
All goals now on YouTube for anyone who has not seen them.
09-07-2022, 08:36 PM
Eh yep, he was very poor today. Second half was a bit frustrating today and there were echos of a Maloney type performance. Sloppy and wasteful.
I don’t care if him and Hanlon are club legends or not, they better be contributing to a winning team on the park. Kind of over the blind loyalty stuff, and I don’t think it will fly with LJ.
Good thing then that they have never ever benefitted from blind loyalty and have always earned their place by playing well then.
Didn’t like the Miller / Cadden partnership in the second half - hopefully they can work on that
They’ve only known each other existed for 2weeks mate it’ll come in time
09-07-2022, 08:39 PM
Good to note that Stevenson did contribute today to a win then.
StevesFamau5
09-07-2022, 08:45 PM
The Internet is amazing, sometimes it educates you, other times it shocks you and ever so often it makes you laugh.
This is a laughing moment. Dr Regal, I sincerely hope you are not an actual GP as a patient I would question anything you said.
Lewis was again the usual 7.5 out of 10 performance. Professional and did the job. Dr Regal clearly expects Cafu type performance against... Clyde
StevesFamau5
09-07-2022, 08:45 PM
Tremendous, cheers Tambo
09-07-2022, 08:47 PM
Where?
Dr_Regal
09-07-2022, 08:48 PM
Good to note that Stevenson did contribute today to a win then.
Aye okay.
League will be a different story, it will be back to Hanlon getting bullied by abday, and Stevenson getting out paced by every Tom, Dick and Harry. But they are legends so we will play them till their 40.
I have no problem being squad players, but we need better players in the starting 11, and we will get them.
09-07-2022, 08:50 PM
Hibs.net in a nutshell
😂😂
09-07-2022, 08:51 PM
Where?
Just type in Hibs and you should see them from a Channel called johnsparky2.
Goals are recorded from the east stand but can make them out good. Doidge with a lovely finish for his second.
Aye okay.
League will be a different story, it will be back to Hanlon getting bullied by abday, and Stevenson getting out paced by every Tom, Dick and Harry. But they are legends so we will play them till their 40.
I have no problem being squad players, but we need better players in the starting 11, and we will get them.
Both part of a defence that was the 3rd best in league last year.
Lewis actually played some of his best games in midfield.
Think I’ll let LJ decide
09-07-2022, 09:04 PM
Aye okay.
Lewis was voted player of the year last year by his team mates, and Paul Hanlon also got an international cap as well.
Fitba folk ken whits going oan.
09-07-2022, 09:05 PM
Aye okay.
Football might not be for you bud
09-07-2022, 09:11 PM
How many Regal did you smoke in the 2nd half? Bizarre comments.
09-07-2022, 09:19 PM
Enjoyed reading this thread. Beating a decent team 5-0 before half time but we aren’t good enough 😂😂😂😂😂
StevesFamau5
09-07-2022, 09:31 PM
Enjoyed reading this thread. Beating a decent team 5-0 before half time but we aren’t good enough 😂😂😂😂😂
Close, but it's Lewis who is pish according to Captain Regal....
ElginHibbie
09-07-2022, 09:34 PM
Highlights (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HuIXldPoKnI&ab_channel=HibernianFootballClub)
09-07-2022, 09:39 PM
Close, but it's Lewis who is pish according to Captain Regal....
Or Paul Hanlon who quite frankly didn’t put a foot wrong today.
Cammy
09-07-2022, 09:40 PM
Aye okay.
:yawn:
Lewis played decent, but some people will never see that. We’re lucky to have him.
09-07-2022, 10:38 PM
No sure about Clyde being a decent team. But no sure how anybody is really getting any criticism after that game even if most of them could have been a bit tidier on the ball at times. It’s only the 9th of July though.
09-07-2022, 11:41 PM
I for one accept our new captain regal overlord
shetlandhibee
10-07-2022, 12:01 AM
Aye okay.
has 2 be a wind up surely ! :confused:
10-07-2022, 02:29 AM
Dearie me 🙄
10-07-2022, 06:17 AM
Aye okay.
Why not just wait until the league has actually started before coming out with this crap
10-07-2022, 06:26 AM
Aye okay.
Away and take one of your tablets.
10-07-2022, 10:12 AM
Highlights (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HuIXldPoKnI&ab_channel=HibernianFootballClub)
On behalf of all us auld yins - thank you.:thumbsup:
10-07-2022, 10:50 AM
No sure about Clyde being a decent team. But no sure how anybody is really getting any criticism after that game even if most of them could have been a bit tidier on the ball at times. It’s only the 9th of July though.
I think being 5-0 up at half time against a league 1 team is pretty decent. I get that we'll be at different stages of our fitness though.
10-07-2022, 10:53 AM
Or Paul Hanlon who quite frankly didn’t put a foot wrong today.
Paul Hanlon was bullied today.
BristolAnn
10-07-2022, 11:18 AM
Be interesting to see our new style in action rather than the players on show with only one of the starting outfield players playing his first game at ER. Can't make the game today, but I'll be watching on Hibs TV ...... Kind of hoping one or two of the new guys might get a game off the bench, but after the two games in Portugal I would quite like to see Delferriere get on, the kid looks like a class act in the wee snippets I've seen of him.
I thinks some of the new signings are still waiting for work permits.
10-07-2022, 11:50 AM
Paul Hanlon was bullied today.
Nonsense, he gave Tavares a wedgie in the stands and scribbled “Lee Johnson is a poo” on the changing room wall
The Sundance Kid
10-07-2022, 11:59 AM
I believe Doidge is now the first player to score 3 competitive hat-tricks for Hibs since Jimmy O’Rourke
The Tubs
10-07-2022, 12:17 PM
I believe Doidge is now the first player to score 3 competitive hat-tricks for Hibs since Jimmy O’Rourke
I had a look and you've got Keith and Steve Cowan in between.
https://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/player_hattricks.php
10-07-2022, 12:23 PM
Good company. Doidge is the man.
The Sundance Kid
10-07-2022, 12:43 PM
Ah, good spot! Still very impressive from big Doidge, hopefully goes on a run of scoring now
10-07-2022, 05:45 PM
Has the pitch been widened
10-07-2022, 05:50 PM
Has the pitch been widened
They have added new 3G all around edges which looks smart.
Assuming they will LED digital advertising boards for the 2 levels of adverts around edges.
Less space at front of FF and South stand now too which should stop away fans gathering at front.
10-07-2022, 06:00 PM
Assuming they will LED digital advertising boards for the 2 levels of adverts around edges.
Less space at front of FF and South stand now too which should stop away fans gathering at front.
I sit in the East, and there was a white line, about 2 feet inside the outer line
LewysGot2
10-07-2022, 06:01 PM
Proper disabled access seating in lower FF too by looks of it
10-07-2022, 06:04 PM
Proper disabled access seating in lower FF too by looks of it
Which part? Right down the front row?
There has been a wheelchair section in the front row there for years any idea what's been changed?
10-07-2022, 06:08 PM
My feedback on the main points of yesterday's game:
Two out of three of Doidge's goals were really messy, so they don't really count, meaning we only won three nil against a bunch of part-timers.
The second half had no goals, so technically that half was a no score draw.. against a bunch of part-timers.
The FF Lower was disgracefully empty... again!
The new strip doesn't really do it for me, sorry. They need to scrap that and bring back the early 70's style.
Am I getting into the true spirit of the thread?
10-07-2022, 06:09 PM
My feedback on the main points of yesterday's game:
Two out of three of Doidge's goals were really messy, so they don't really count, meaning we only won three nil against a bunch of part-timers.
The second half had no goals, so technically that half was 0-0.. against a bunch of part-timers.
The FF Lower was disgracefully empty... again!
The new strip doesn't really do it for me, sorry. They need to scrap that and bring back the early 70's style.
Am I getting into the true spirit of the thread?
I can’t think of a single good thing Paul Hanlon did yesterday. May as well have not been there.
10-07-2022, 06:11 PM
I can’t think of a single good thing Paul Hanlon did yesterday. May as well have not been there.
Damn it, I forgot about that 'waste of a jersey'!
ClermistonGreen
10-07-2022, 06:12 PM
Please don’t mention Doidge in the same sentence as Jimmy O’ Rourke !
:thumbsup::wink:
10-07-2022, 06:19 PM
Please don’t mention Doidge in the same sentence as Jimmy O’ Rourke !
:thumbsup::wink:
:singing:
"He's Chris-tian,
Chris-tian Doidge,
everybody knows his name..."
10-07-2022, 06:22 PM
:singing:
"He's Chris-tian,
Chris-tian Doidge,
everybody knows his name..."
I like that, could catch on
10-07-2022, 06:56 PM
Was that Scott Allan dressed up as JDH with that assist? 😁
Jokes aside he has played well in the 3 games so far and it's only lower league opposition but consistency is what we lafked last season.
10-07-2022, 08:10 PM
Tell you what, it looked very clumsy at the game but Doidge’s first goal was a very clever finish. He said the ball was spinning so he looked to get the largest surface on it and stoops down to chest it in.
Would have been very easy for him to swing a foot at it instinctively and end up on one of those YouTube compilations of “worst misses ever” like Cummings did when he scooped over from an even closer position a few years back.
Very clever and deserves credit.
Mcbizz1998
10-07-2022, 08:13 PM
Tell you what, it looked very clumsy at the game but Doidge’s first goal was a very clever finish. He said the ball was spinning so he looked to get the largest surface on it and stoops down to chest it in.
Would have been very easy for him to swing a foot at it instinctively and end up on one of those YouTube compilations of “worst misses ever” like Cummings did when he scooped over from an even closer position a few years back.
Very clever and deserves credit.
Yeah looked like an absolute bundler of a goal at the game. But watching it back, he does so well to use his body to cushion it in.
I really hope he stays.
10-07-2022, 09:17 PM
Doidge looked lean and up for it yesterday. Remember his debut against Arbroath in a pre-season when he missed a penalty. He looked more composed and match fit against Clyde. Not bad for a player on his way out because of fitness issues.
10-07-2022, 10:04 PM
Yeah looked like an absolute bundler of a goal at the game. But watching it back, he does so well to use his body to cushion it in.
I really hope he stays.
I thought the same watching live but the highlight shows it was a very good finish. I thought he had missed a sitter before it but the defender did pretty well, still should have scored. He was lucky with the third but any striker getting 3 goals from 4 good chances will be delighted. Hope he gets back to the form he showed a couple of years back and he looked a bit more mobile than the tail of last season.