View Full Version : The best worst scran thread

05-07-2022, 12:05 PM
What's your favourite food that in no way, shape, or form, could be described as gourmet - pot noodles, tinned meatballs, pie on a roll etc...

What's yours?

Chicken Super Noodles on buttered toast, bacon crisps on a buttered roll (or sandwich), and hot dogs are mine.

05-07-2022, 12:06 PM
Nong Shim shin pots.

Got to agree with a crisp roll too, well fired roll, a liberal amount of butter and Golden Wonder Salt & Vinegar crisps.

05-07-2022, 12:16 PM
Spam fritters.

05-07-2022, 12:30 PM
Spam fritters.

Funnily enough, I was going for Spam. Sliced, tossed in cornflour and cajun spices and fried off to crispy in a pan. Served in a sub style sandwich roll with slaw, sriracha and egg. Amazing.

05-07-2022, 12:30 PM
Rustlers BBQ rib when you're hung over.

05-07-2022, 01:05 PM
Curry pot noodle with 2 bits of bread

05-07-2022, 01:24 PM
Baked beans straight out the tin.

Sure, they'd be nicer warmed up, but the inherent laziness adds a je ne sais quoi.

Jim Herriot
05-07-2022, 01:33 PM
Heinz cream of tomato soup, cold, from the tin, with a good dash of Worcester sauce.

05-07-2022, 01:33 PM
Pickled onion Space Raiders, could eat them til my gums bleed. High in salt and fat but taste like heaven.

Also

Burnt morning roll with a slab of butter on it.

Now put these two things together and you have the best worst scan ever!!

05-07-2022, 01:46 PM
Melted cheese on crumpets.

Bovril spread on toast.

05-07-2022, 01:57 PM
Party Rings.

05-07-2022, 02:03 PM
Party Rings.

The colours are disappointingly washed out these days, presumably because they no longer contain industrial-grade E numbers, but they're still delicious.

05-07-2022, 02:50 PM
Cheese and Salad cream on a piece.

05-07-2022, 03:02 PM
Pickled onion Space Raiders, could eat them til my gums bleed. High in salt and fat but taste like heaven.

On a similar note, Johnny's Pickled Onion Rings, 25p bags of deliciousness!

05-07-2022, 03:22 PM
Chicken Super noodles with a packet of crushed prawn cocktail crips and grated cheese mixed in.

Cheese and strawberry jam sandwiches

Samyang extra hot noodles on a toasted roll.

All disgustingly brilliant.

05-07-2022, 03:59 PM
Chicken Super noodles with a packet of crushed prawn cocktail crips and grated cheese mixed in.

Cheese and strawberry jam sandwiches

Samyang extra hot noodles on a toasted roll.

All disgustingly brilliant.

Samyang hot and 2x hot noodles are tremendous, but I do wish they had a 3x or 4x version. I could stand hotter (without trying to look all manly about it).

Bridge hibs
05-07-2022, 04:35 PM
Pickled eggs, once I open the jar I have to eat them all, for telly night a jar of pickled eggs and a big bag of twiglets

05-07-2022, 04:54 PM
I could eat a packet of Tuc crackers and a wedge of brie in one sitting, no bother. Doesn't even need to be expensive brie.

05-07-2022, 04:57 PM
In fact, Primula cheese spread in the tubes is ace.

05-07-2022, 04:59 PM
I could eat a packet of Tuc crackers and a wedge of brie in one sitting, no bother. Doesn't even need to be expensive brie.
In fact, Primula cheese spread in the tubes is ace.Hmmmm....

Bridge hibs
05-07-2022, 05:09 PM
In fact, Primula cheese spread in the tubes is ace.Dairylea spread, grilled until runny on toast and run about the house screaming as the lava like melted cheese drips onto my naked torso 😵

ErinGoBraghHFC
05-07-2022, 05:11 PM
A full packet of corned beef. On its own.

A sugar piece.

A tomato sauce piece.

Pot noodles on pizza.

Deep fried mars bar.

In conclusion I’m a clarty *******

05-07-2022, 05:57 PM
In fact, Primula cheese spread in the tubes is ace.

Squeezed into Wheat Crunchies is fab with a cold beer.

05-07-2022, 06:03 PM
Party Rings.

Pink Panther biscuits :not worth

ErinGoBraghHFC
05-07-2022, 06:38 PM
Squeezed into Wheat Crunchies is fab with a cold beer.

Behave fella that’s mingin [emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787]

05-07-2022, 06:46 PM
Those little German meatball/chicken ball packs that you get for £1 in some supermarkets. Can eat them hot or cold, I could probably eat about 4 packs in a sitting. Also pretty good to stick in a stir fry or just a pack of noodles.

Bridge hibs
05-07-2022, 07:29 PM
Cant beat a good old packet of Custard Creams, Fig Rolls are quite moreish too

05-07-2022, 07:41 PM
Vienetta.

05-07-2022, 07:50 PM
Millionaire shortbread smothered in very runny custard.

05-07-2022, 09:56 PM
Chipolatas.

05-07-2022, 10:41 PM
Not sure these are the worst but personal favourites are :Pot/super noodle on a pie. Branston pickle roll. Primula cheese and chive spread on just about anything.

06-07-2022, 08:37 AM
On a similar note, Johnny's Pickled Onion Rings, 25p bags of deliciousness!

The large bags of these for £1 from the store are addictive.

06-07-2022, 01:53 PM
On the subject of ring shaped crisps.

Spicy Rings. Proper amount of flavouring on them, makes your face screw up for the first couple of mouthfuls.

06-07-2022, 02:19 PM
Not sure these are the worst but personal favourites are :Pot/super noodle on a pie. Branston pickle roll. Primula cheese and chive spread on just about anything.

Pot Noodle on a pie could be a contender for best one so far - what kind of pie are we talking here?

06-07-2022, 02:27 PM
I put chicken super noodles in a toastie with some cheese yesterday, would recommend.

I usually put them in a wrap with cheese & reggae reggae sauce, roll it up and seal it in a frying pan which is much better but we had run out of the sauce & wraps so had to improvise.

06-07-2022, 02:29 PM
Not the worst but I love a steak and haggis pie, Chippy sauce on top then add the beans and loads of dried Italian cheese on top of the beans. I always have two at a time.

06-07-2022, 02:37 PM
Two bits of pitta bread used like slices of normal bread, ham and cheese in the middle then microwave it for about 20 seconds to soften the pitta bread and slightly melt the cheese

Or

Cheese, ham and tomato sauce in a wrap folded into a square and also microwaved for about 20 seconds

You can all thank me later

06-07-2022, 05:15 PM
Toast one side of a few slices of bread

Turn over and spread out tomato sauce

Add some branston pickle or similar (I use the stuff in a squeezey bottle

Sprinkle some cheese over it

Add some cropped ham , chorizo, pepperoni or whatever you have in the fridge*

Add some more cheese

Fire in the oven for a bit

= pauper pizza

'Tiz brilliant :greengrin

*scotmid do pizza pepperoni for a quid that's perfect for it!

06-07-2022, 05:44 PM
BBQ hula hoops with a packet of M&Ms poured into the packet.

06-07-2022, 06:22 PM
BBQ hula hoops with a packet of M&Ms poured into the packet.

I've taken to getting lentil soup for my lunch from the shop around the corner from my work and dropping BBQ hula hoops into it.

Perfect texture and flavour for it.

I won't be in a rush to add M&M's to the mix though.

1875Sean
06-07-2022, 09:19 PM
Kraft cheesy pasta

EH6 Hibby
07-07-2022, 12:34 AM
Chopped ham and pork with cheesey coleslaw on a roll.

07-07-2022, 09:28 AM
Kraft cheesy pasta

My daughter loves that, if I’m making it for her I’ll always keep a wee bit back for myself!

07-07-2022, 09:29 AM
Mashed up egg in a cup.

BarneyBreslin
07-07-2022, 12:08 PM
Chips and Hot and Sour soup from the Chinese. Pour the lot into one big bowl. Yum.

07-07-2022, 01:05 PM
A portion of donner meat, chips and mayonnaise.

Someone introduced me to it when I was utterly ******ed once as a student, and it's still my go-to when I've had one too many :greengrin

Gourmet or healthy it definitely is not!

A sandwich made with plain bread, smoked ham and McCoy's salt and vinegar crisps - the absolute bollocks :greengrin

07-07-2022, 03:19 PM
Mcdonalds chips & a mcflurry.

Just dunk those chips into the ice cream

Willis1875
07-07-2022, 04:29 PM
Haggis,cheese,jalapeños,sweet chilli sauce on a wrap and slightly grilled…..the sweatier the better for the haggis

07-07-2022, 04:56 PM
Mashed up egg in a cup.

One of my grannies specials. Her sight was terrible so she always heavily salted them and put in a cholesterol worrying amount of butter, but they were heavenly.

That and her cheesy pasta was the bollocks. Bacon, broccoli, onion and tatties with about a kilo of cheese.

07-07-2022, 05:39 PM
One of my grannies specials. Her sight was terrible so she always heavily salted them and put in a cholesterol worrying amount of salt, but they were heavenly.

That and her cheesy pasta was the bollocks. Bacon, broccoli, onion and tatties with about a kilo of cheese.

My granny used to make egg in a cup too. Only place I ever remember getting it.

I think she genuinely thought it could cure anything. A day off school sick, taken to my grannies to stay and it was 'egg in a cup for breakfast and chicken soup for lunch and you'll be fine'.

Jakhog1
07-07-2022, 07:21 PM
Haggis,cheese,jalapeños,sweet chilli sauce on a wrap and slightly grilled…..the sweatier the better for the haggis

That sounds quite decent to be fair

Jay
07-07-2022, 07:29 PM
Kraft cheesy pasta

On a buttered piece :aok:

07-07-2022, 07:30 PM
Mashed up egg in a cup.

With or without butter. Great to eat after you’ve been unwell and lost your appetite

07-07-2022, 07:50 PM
I've taken to getting lentil soup for my lunch from the shop around the corner from my work and dropping BBQ hula hoops into it.

Perfect texture and flavour for it.

I won't be in a rush to add M&M's to the mix though.

Crisps in soup in general is class. Just chuck a bag of salt and vinegar into some heinz tomatae for example, and enjoy that lasagna texture and very agreeable taste!

Bridge hibs
08-07-2022, 05:47 AM
Tripe, simply makes me gag even at the thought of it 🤮 a staple diet in my Nanas house and I remember my Dad eating it in huge amounts very regularly 🤮

08-07-2022, 08:27 AM
One of my grannies specials. Her sight was terrible so she always heavily salted them and put in a cholesterol worrying amount of salt

My main worry is that she's been lying to you about where cholesterol comes from: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cholesterol#Dietary_sources

08-07-2022, 08:28 AM
Tripe, simply makes me gag even at the thought of it 🤮 a staple diet in my Nanas house and I remember my Dad eating it in huge amounts very regularly 🤮

Surely this is for the worst worst scran thread, not the best worst scran thread?

08-07-2022, 09:29 AM
I made a branston pickle and cheese crumpet loaf thing the other day,

Crumpet
Branston pickle
Cheese
Crumpet
Branston pickle
Cheese
Crumpet
“ “
“ “

Stick it in a baking tin, sprinkle grated cheese on top and then whack it in the oven. Ooft.

Alfiembra
08-07-2022, 09:30 AM
French toast with sugar, sounds horrendous but I love it.
Another favourite of mine is spam fritters can’t remember last time I had some.
+1 for eggs in a cup with butter and pepper.

08-07-2022, 09:37 AM
French toast with sugar, sounds horrendous but I love it.
Another favourite of mine is spam fritters can’t remember last time I had some.
+1 for eggs in a cup with butter and pepper.

Not as horrendous as you think. A lot of places in the world have French toast as a sweet dessert with ice cream and berries etc. Not like the savoury option we usually go for here.

Bridge hibs
08-07-2022, 12:01 PM
Surely this is for the worst worst scran thread, not the best worst scran thread?
True, Its the best I can think of for the worst scran

08-07-2022, 05:09 PM
My main worry is that she's been lying to you about where cholesterol comes from: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cholesterol#Dietary_sources

Oh no, that’s entirely my ignorance, not hers 😂

She wouldn’y ken cholesterol if it put extra lard in her pan.

Just realised I said salt twice; it should have been butter 😂

09-07-2022, 11:37 PM
Pot Noodle on a pie could be a contender for best one so far - what kind of pie are we talking here?Standard Scots pie. Nothing fancy. Egg in a cup was standard growing up fare and not, IMHO, in the spirit of the thread. Salad cream pieces, another favourite growing up, is in the same category.

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

14-07-2022, 08:36 PM
and talking about scran :greengrin two Scottish chippies named in the top three of uk's top chippies

Two Scottish fish and chips shop named in top 3 best chippies in UK - National Geographic (msn.com) (https://www.msn.com/en-gb/lifestyle/other/two-scottish-fish-and-chips-shop-named-in-top-3-best-chippies-in-uk-national-geographic/ar-AAZxbpl?ocid=anaheim-ntp-feeds&cvid=2870a34abb494af1b600a1b11ab80432)

Anstruther Fish Bar and Oban Fish and Chips

special mention for Anstruther's Lemon Sole

i really must take my lady friend over for a visit sometime soon as Haddock and Lemon Sole is the ONLY fish i buy either out a shop or from a Chippie

ErinGoBraghHFC
14-07-2022, 09:43 PM
and talking about scran :greengrin two Scottish chippies named in the top three of uk's top chippies

Two Scottish fish and chips shop named in top 3 best chippies in UK - National Geographic (msn.com) (https://www.msn.com/en-gb/lifestyle/other/two-scottish-fish-and-chips-shop-named-in-top-3-best-chippies-in-uk-national-geographic/ar-AAZxbpl?ocid=anaheim-ntp-feeds&cvid=2870a34abb494af1b600a1b11ab80432)

Anstruther Fish Bar and Oban Fish and Chips

special mention for Anstruther's Lemon Sole

i really must take my lady friend over for a visit sometime soon as Haddock and Lemon Sole is the ONLY fish i buy either out a shop or from a Chippie

Nah, anstruther is over rated. Get yourself to the fish works at Largs prom, smoked haddock supper is orgasmic (nae salt n sauce but)

15-07-2022, 06:11 AM
Fish fingers on toast smeared in ketchup and mayonnaise. That's my go to culinary delight after arriving home at 3am from the pub.

15-07-2022, 01:38 PM
Scotch pie on a roll with brown sauce

Stubbsy90+2
15-07-2022, 02:38 PM

Pie on a roll - elite.

15-07-2022, 03:01 PM
Fish fingers on toast smeared in ketchup and mayonnaise. That's my go to culinary delight after arriving home at 3am from the pub.

Great shout

15-07-2022, 03:01 PM
Pie on a roll - elite.

It's superb.

16-07-2022, 11:17 AM
Findus mince & onion crispy pancake on a roll droont in broon sauce

16-07-2022, 12:40 PM
Heinze Tomato soup and cheese pieces.

16-07-2022, 10:00 PM
Findus mince & onion crispy pancake on a roll droont in broon sauceI can taste it

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

16-07-2022, 11:37 PM
Crispy Pancakes were delightful in the 80s, all the tasty additives included.

ErinGoBraghHFC
16-07-2022, 11:42 PM

Aye - has to be gold star brown sauce, though

CL0762
25-07-2022, 07:39 PM
Pie on a roll - elite.

I’ll do you one better.

A bains of stenhouse pie on a roll covered in chippy sauce.

My contribution to the thread would be a plate of chicken dippers, potato croquettes/waffles/smileys drowned in spaghetti hoops.

Stubbsy90+2
26-07-2022, 07:31 AM
I’ll do you one better.

A bains of stenhouse pie on a roll covered in chippy sauce.

My contribution to the thread would be a plate of chicken dippers, potato croquettes/waffles/smileys drowned in spaghetti hoops.

Somehow never had a bains pie. I’ll have to get one and try that :aok:

26-07-2022, 12:29 PM
Somehow never had a bains pie. I’ll have to get one and try that :aok:It's a really good shout :agree:

26-07-2022, 12:36 PM

Quite spicy

26-07-2022, 01:28 PM

McGills bakers beside the Grays Mill sell Steak pies which are far superior.

26-07-2022, 01:42 PM

Make sure you buy 2, you’d regret only getting 1.

26-07-2022, 03:18 PM
Make sure you buy 2, you’d regret only getting 1.Aye, and watch out when eating it straight from the shop, some are so hot you'll end up with 3rd degree burns!... oh and the mince can have a habit of finding its way down your shirt :-(

26-07-2022, 04:29 PM
Rustler’s Sausage muffin.

26-07-2022, 06:50 PM
Asda chicken tikka pakora with a garlic dip , Dugs baws

26-07-2022, 10:51 PM
Asda chicken tikka pakora with a garlic dip , Dugs baws

Interesting concoction. 😲

26-07-2022, 11:28 PM

Agreed Bains are over rated, McGills are better.

Rattler
26-07-2022, 11:39 PM
Agreed Bains are over rated, McGills are better.
I prefer Bains to McGills. Love the bridies that Bains do.

Each to their own I suppose 👍🏻

CL0762
27-07-2022, 01:22 AM

2 completely different kinds of pies though.

The chicken curry ones aren’t too shabby either.

27-07-2022, 01:42 PM
3/4 pieces of dairy milk, keep in your mouth until melted and then eat a ready salted crisp, preferably a ready salted mccoys but standard works.

The Mrs gave me this one and it was surprisingly nice, although not something I have often at all but peanut butter on toast with melted cheese on top.

Used to love a cheese and jam pieces when I was young which my mum/family thought weird, but as ive got older reallised its really just a kids version of a brie and cranberry/some sort of fancy 'jelly'. Redcurrent and brie being my choice if I see it, bacon for additional goodness.

27-07-2022, 02:14 PM
3/4 pieces of dairy milk, keep in your mouth until melted and then eat a ready salted crisp, preferably a ready salted mccoys but standard works.

I thought me and my brother were the only weridos that ate chocolate before crisps, it's great with Cheese and Onion or Salt N Vinegar Sqaures

31-07-2022, 04:25 PM
saw this on twitter, anyone been to Leith Depot and had this..

(1) Wee Scot 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 on Twitter: "The most Scottish dessert you’ll ever see. #Leith #Edinburgh @leithdepot https://t.co/XZ91HMh0yT" / Twitter (https://twitter.com/WeeScot_/status/1553113272383160325)

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FY3ESNPWYAIp6as?format=jpg&name=medium

31-07-2022, 05:56 PM
saw this on twitter, anyone been to Leith Depot and had this..

(1) Wee Scot [emoji1022]󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 on Twitter: "The most Scottish dessert you’ll ever see. #Leith #Edinburgh @leithdepot https://t.co/XZ91HMh0yT" / Twitter (https://twitter.com/WeeScot_/status/1553113272383160325)

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FY3ESNPWYAIp6as?format=jpg&name=mediumLooks.... 'interesting'!

Feels a bit weegie with the Buckfast mind... swap that for a crabbies... hmmmmm....