View Full Version : Scenic match day walks

04-07-2022, 03:46 PM
The "Sassenach" thread has mentioned a few times that the stroll along Regent Terrace is a really picturesque football route. Are there actually any others, anywhere? Or, does Hibs offer a uniquely beautiful match day walk?

04-07-2022, 04:08 PM
I’d like to hijack the thread and nominate Middlesbrough’s Riverside stadium (post industrial wasteland) and Hamilton Accies (retail park wasteland) as two of the LEAST beautiful.

Willis1875
04-07-2022, 04:14 PM
The walk from Malmö’s main square to the ground is picturesque,through parks and stuff

04-07-2022, 04:30 PM
I’d like to hijack the thread and nominate Middlesbrough’s Riverside stadium (post industrial wasteland) and Hamilton Accies (retail park wasteland) as two of the LEAST beautiful.

Seconded on the Boro walk…grim doesn’t even begin to describe it!

04-07-2022, 04:42 PM
Glasgow city centre to Parkhead - it's like Mos Eisley only with more bizarre creatures. :greengrin

nickwhibs
04-07-2022, 04:49 PM
Couple of Italian nominations - a walk along the Tiber in Rome to the Olimpico is pretty spectacular. Also the walk to the Stadio Luigi Ferraris (home of Genoa and Sampdoria) through the colourful streets of Genoa is personal favourite (after Easter Road of course!)

Green Man
04-07-2022, 04:55 PM
The walk to Sparta Prague’s ground, over the river and up through Letna Park, is pretty cool.

04-07-2022, 04:58 PM
Nice walk through the park next to Fulham's Craven Cottage down by the Thames.

04-07-2022, 05:05 PM
The Olympic stadium in Barcelona, former home of Espanyol and upcoming temporary home for Barca while Camp Nou gets rebuilt is in a pretty cool spot up on the hill at Montjuic. Approach can be by escalators up from Placa d'Espanya or by cable car from the port and then through the gardens. Great views from up there.

04-07-2022, 05:36 PM
The "Sassenach" thread has mentioned a few times that the stroll along Regent Terrace is a really picturesque football route. Are there actually any others, anywhere? Or, does Hibs offer a uniquely beautiful match day walk?

Don't think I've ever approached ER Via that route.

04-07-2022, 07:48 PM
Nice walk through the park next to Fulham's Craven Cottage down by the Thames.

Was going to suggest Craven Cottage when i saw the thread.

04-07-2022, 08:05 PM
The walk from Malmö’s main square to the ground is picturesque,through parks and stuff

That was a good walk when we played there.

04-07-2022, 08:10 PM
Was going to suggest Craven Cottage when i saw the thread.

Likewise, and I can third that.

Auckland Hibs
04-07-2022, 08:14 PM
My favorite are the Melbourne stadiums, always nice to have a pub crawl along the river.

Least favorite was going over the hill at Aberdeen, I swear it could be sunny at the bottom and a monsoon at the top 😆

04-07-2022, 08:16 PM
Although I stopped in a few bars on the way (which may have clouded my judgement) the walk to Athletic Bilbaos stadium is almost as stunning as the stadium itself..

04-07-2022, 08:29 PM
Walking through fields to get to Asteras Tripolis!

MagicSwirlingShip
04-07-2022, 08:48 PM
Once trudged through a bog at the side of the Falkirk stadium in the hammering rain. Not great

04-07-2022, 08:49 PM
Dunfermline’s a great away day on a number of levels, but if it’s in and out via train with no pub visiting (or a trudge up to the Elizabethan) the walk up through the park there is fairly pleasant.

I’ve always found the train journeys either from Edinburgh up to Dundee or from Glasgow down the Ayrshire coast to get to games pretty special as well.

Logie Green
04-07-2022, 08:53 PM
A boat trip from the centre of Venice out to Venezia’s ground is one of the more picturesque trips in football. The walk through Venice isn’t bad either.

It narrowly beats the artisan shops and pavement cafe culture along Russell Road on the way to Tynecastle.

04-07-2022, 09:03 PM
Walking through fields to get to Asteras Tripolis!

Surprised you remember any of that!

Pytheas
04-07-2022, 09:05 PM
Taken the Regent Road route from Waverley for years and still not seen anything better at any ground I've been to across Europe.
I've started cutting over Calton Hill in recent seasons too. Doesn't take that much longer than walking down Leith walk, can see the Stadium from up there and not many stadium walks that look like this.

https://img.locationscout.net/images/2017-11/view-of-edinburgh-from-calton-hill-scotland-uk-united-kingdom_l.jpeg

04-07-2022, 09:12 PM
The walk to Sparta Prague’s ground, over the river and up through Letna Park, is pretty cool.That park seems to go on for ages. I went to Prague for Liam Gallagher at Metronome Festival. Walked up the steps at the end of one of the bridges and seemed to walk forever until we came to a big field with the blue stadium in the background. The festival was a wee bit further on past it

04-07-2022, 09:37 PM
Blackpool from centre of town.

I quite like Wembley from tube station.

ehf
04-07-2022, 09:51 PM
A stroll down the King’s Road to Stamford Bridge on a nice, sunny day is usually an uplifting experience:wink:

dalkeith stu
05-07-2022, 12:25 PM
Walked from Shambles Square to the Etihad back in April, police marched us through the ****test parts of Manchester for two hours only just making the kick off. Ground seemed to be in an auld abandoned industrial estate with no nearby pubs I could see.

05-07-2022, 12:58 PM
Walked from Shambles Square to the Etihad back in April, police marched us through the ****test parts of Manchester for two hours only just making the kick off. Ground seemed to be in an auld abandoned industrial estate with no nearby pubs I could see.

I've only been in the away end, there were a couple of pubs close by, quite Orange though.

leith lynx
05-07-2022, 01:06 PM
One of the grimmest walks to a ground was the approach to Milwalls old ground, cold blow lane, aptly named and a muggers paradise. One of the pubs nearby was the Krays old haunt, the infamous Blind Beggar (which actually wasn't too bad in the early nineties).

05-07-2022, 01:10 PM
Taken the Regent Road route from Waverley for years and still not seen anything better at any ground I've been to across Europe.
I've started cutting over Calton Hill in recent seasons too. Doesn't take that much longer than walking down Leith walk, can see the Stadium from up there and not many stadium walks that look like this.

https://img.locationscout.net/images/2017-11/view-of-edinburgh-from-calton-hill-scotland-uk-united-kingdom_l.jpeg
Not many walks to a stadium have views of an extinct volcano, a Palace and a Parliament
On the subject of worst walks to a stadium the walk to Tynecastle away end must be up there with the worst.

leith lynx
05-07-2022, 01:31 PM
Not many walks to a stadium have views of an extinct volcano, a Palace and a Parliament
On the subject of worst walks to a stadium the walk to Tynecastle away end must be up there with the worst.

Yes, Tynecastle is a true Dickensian backwater, always was and will be. These guys that do the Royal Mile ghost walks should consider Tynecastle as a possible new 'historical walk' venue. A Deeply depressing place.

Cardinal G
05-07-2022, 01:36 PM
Don't think I've ever approached ER Via that route.

For decades i used London Road route, occasionally from Waverley and down Royal mile but last season for 1st time i went Waterloo/Regent Terrace route as was taken back at how beautiful the views are.

05-07-2022, 03:12 PM
As in the other thread, I've never really considered going down Regent Road but I suppose I'll have to give it a go (and then, inevitably, won't bother and just stick with my usual route from Calton Road). The view of ER from Calton Hill was pretty much the reason I became a Hibs fan c25 years ago though.

Another vote for Fulham from me.

Shrewsbury is an interesting one, too. Google Maps reckoned we were 40 minutes walk away in the town centre and by this point it was barely half an hour to kick off. Walking in that general direction, we encountered a Shrewsbury fan coming out of his house and tried cadging a lift. "I can do better than that", he says. Takes us off the main road, down along the riverbank and across a golf course and we were at the ground early enough to get a pint before kick off!

05-07-2022, 03:23 PM
I've only been to Anfield for a wedding but jeez it's in grim surroundings! Govan is quite charming in comparison!

05-07-2022, 03:26 PM
One of the grimmest walks to a ground was the approach to Milwalls old ground, cold blow lane, aptly named and a muggers paradise. One of the pubs nearby was the Krays old haunt, the infamous Blind Beggar (which actually wasn't too bad in the early nineties).

I think the Krays Blind Beggar pub is in Whitechapel.

05-07-2022, 03:42 PM
Blackpool from centre of town.

I quite like Wembley from tube station.

Aye reminds me of Athens with all the ruins and archetecture. :faf:

Hillsidehibby
05-07-2022, 05:56 PM
I think the Krays Blind Beggar pub is in Whitechapel.

It is :agree:

05-07-2022, 06:40 PM
Yes, Tynecastle is a true Dickensian backwater, always was and will be. These guys that do the Royal Mile ghost walks should consider Tynecastle as a possible new 'historical walk' venue. A Deeply depressing place.
Cost will be £19.86.😁

05-07-2022, 07:42 PM
Without wishing to be too self congratulatory, turning the corner on to Albion Road and seeing the stadium slowly appear will never stop being impressive.

In a similar vein, I love driving to an evening game at Bolton and being able to see the stadium for miles around