View Full Version : Ivan Sproule interview

27-06-2022, 12:20 PM
Watch out for an exclusive interview with Ivan Sproule coming out at around 7pm this evening.

If you want early access it's available now on our subscription offering https://longbangers.hubwave.net where you'll also get Extra Time discussing what a successful season would be absolutely what we can take from the squad that travelled to Portugal.

I'll post the links to the Ivan interview once it goes live this evening.

27-06-2022, 12:33 PM
One of my favourite ever Hibs players - never failed to get you up from the edge of your seat every time the ball was played in his direction. Top class guy as well.

27-06-2022, 12:41 PM
One of my favourite ever Hibs players - never failed to get you up from the edge of your seat every time the ball was played in his direction. Top class guy as well.

He really was top class, speaks very, very affectionately about Hibs (his son actually appeared on camera momentarily in a Hibs top as we were talking!)

Paulie Walnuts
27-06-2022, 12:49 PM

Agree.

Not the best player we’ve had and miles away from being the best in terms of technique. An absolutely infectious attitude and blistering pace of the like I don’t think I’ve ever seen from any player in Scotland in my 25 years or so of watching Scottish football.

One of my favourite ever Hibs players.

27-06-2022, 12:52 PM
Agree.

Not the best player we’ve had and miles away from being the best in terms of technique. An absolutely infectious attitude and blistering pace of the like I don’t think I’ve ever seen from any player in Scotland in my 25 years or so of watching Scottish football.

One of my favourite ever Hibs players.

Fantastic attitude clearly appreciated the opportunity he had at our club and got the absolute maximum out of his ability. Brilliant signing. The game at Ibrox is legendary.

27-06-2022, 01:08 PM
In my top ten fav hibs players. So raw when he joined but he improved and learned so quickly.

Great player

ZitellZeTime
27-06-2022, 01:16 PM
Aw what, for the price we paid, how he was a part time worker and player then scoring a hatrick at Ibrox not long after signing for us guy was a legend to the point in the pub we used to still sing the ivan sproule song years after he left us lol.

Mowbray and Venus apart from Goalkeepers definitely had eye for players and rough diamonds that they could shape into a better alround player, exciting times, there were the acadamy players that came through, then the likes of Sproule, Benji. Zemmama,Boozy,Murphy,Killen etc all signed up too, when you think of that squad there were some absolute class players in there.

You could just tell Ivan got Hibs and loved playing for us though, he wasn't just fast on the pitch either. I wasn't there but remember that Irish dance off thing at some Hibs event on years ago I saw on social media somewhere, think its on youtube, his feet are even fast af doing that !

Partyraiser
27-06-2022, 01:18 PM
Great interview! Really enjoyed it!

27-06-2022, 01:20 PM

Thanks, was one of my favourite interviews to do! Glad you enjoyed it!

ZitellZeTime
27-06-2022, 01:33 PM

You seen it already? I thought it said 7pm tonight, want to see this like. Stevenson was good where he talked about Mowbray era etc too but all I could think about was that hes only 2 years younger than me but if he didn't have the beard while being interviewed he looks about 10 years younger and I thought I looked quite young for my age ! Hopefully it was the Camera !!

Edit: I'm an idiot, I should read things in full, didn't see the subscription option thing for early viewing.

27-06-2022, 01:38 PM
Aw what, for the price we paid, how he was a part time worker and player then scoring a hatrick at Ibrox not long after signing for us guy was a legend to the point in the pub we used to still sing the ivan sproule song years after he left us lol.

Mowbray and Venus apart from Goalkeepers definitely had eye for players and rough diamonds that they could shape into a better alround player, exciting times, there were the acadamy players that came through, then the likes of Sproule, Benji. Zemmama,Boozy,Murphy,Killen etc all signed up too, when you think of that squad there were some absolute class players in there.

You could just tell Ivan got Hibs and loved playing for us though, he wasn't just fast on the pitch either. I wasn't there but remember that Irish dance off thing at some Hibs event on years ago I saw on social media somewhere, think its on youtube, his feet are even fast af doing that !

Dean Shiels too

Lendo
27-06-2022, 01:48 PM
{Sees Ivan Sproule’s name and immediately goes to YouTube to rewatch the hat trick for the 10,000th time}

27-06-2022, 02:09 PM
Loved him…That game at Ibrox (and the cup game) we’re two of my favourite hibs memories..

27-06-2022, 02:10 PM
You seen it already? I thought it said 7pm tonight, want to see this like. Stevenson was good where he talked about Mowbray era etc too but all I could think about was that hes only 2 years younger than me but if he didn't have the beard while being interviewed he looks about 10 years younger and I thought I looked quite young for my age ! Hopefully it was the Camera !!

Edit: I'm an idiot, I should read things in full, didn't see the subscription option thing for early viewing.
Yeah, available to everyone at around 7pm!

27-06-2022, 06:00 PM
Here's the Youtube link:
Longbangers 157 with Ivan Sproule
https://youtu.be/9oPadaRYS3c

For those that prefer to listen, podcast links will be available in a few minutes.

27-06-2022, 06:11 PM
https://open.spotify.com/episode/6eyOWpd3nzC5sDFNQxoRBo?si=nAHAVjorTIKOAG8A1vyM-A

https://podcasts.apple.com/gb/podcast/longbangers/id1474463560?i=1000567873399

27-06-2022, 06:37 PM
Imagine Ian Gordon signed a semi pro player for 5k quid. Just shows there are gems out there.

27-06-2022, 07:00 PM
Imagine Ian Gordon signed a semi pro player for 5k quid. Just shows there are gems out there.

Some folk would be all over that!!

27-06-2022, 07:41 PM
Fantastic attitude clearly appreciated the opportunity he had at our club and got the absolute maximum out of his ability. Brilliant signing. The game at Ibrox is legendary.

"I've always dreamt of scoring a hat-trick at Ibrox".. absolute legend. Just watched the goals again and I had forgotten just how quick Scott Brown was before Celtic turned him into an enforcer after he left

27-06-2022, 08:06 PM
"I've always dreamt of scoring a hat-trick at Ibrox".. absolute legend. Just watched the goals again and I had forgotten just how quick Scott Brown was before Celtic turned him into an enforcer after he left

Browns runs for goals two and three were sensational

27-06-2022, 08:19 PM

He never did that after signing for Celtc

27-06-2022, 08:19 PM

Iirc he had a broken leg at the time too!

27-06-2022, 08:21 PM
Started reading this and immediately thought of the Only an Excuse episode where Archie McPherson is commentating on a Hibs game.

"Rob Jones...he’s no Alex Cropley to Kevin Thomson...he’s no Pat Stanton, to Scott Brown...he’s no oil painting, he gives it to Ivan Sproule...beats one, beats two, past the corner flag, up Leith Walk, along Princes Street, past Jenners aaaaaaand he’s overran it!"

Dmas
27-06-2022, 08:26 PM

Lovenkrands chasing him and Brown out stripping him for pace with the ball at his feet, his left foot lay off for sproules first was perfect

27-06-2022, 08:32 PM
Great interview. Enjoyed that.

27-06-2022, 08:34 PM
Iirc he had a broken leg at the time too!

Don't think that was that game was the cup game

27-06-2022, 08:41 PM
Great interview. Enjoyed that.

Thanks! 👍👍

28-06-2022, 07:05 AM
Brilliant interview. Gotta love wee Ivan. Well done Longbanger boys for getting this one spot on!

28-06-2022, 07:44 AM
Brilliant interview. Gotta love wee Ivan. Well done Longbanger boys for getting this one spot on!

Thanks very much chief!

28-06-2022, 08:34 AM
Brilliant

Good to see that Ivan Sproule is a Hibby through and through

:not worth

28-06-2022, 08:56 AM
What a top guy and a great listen. He even dropped in a mention for the Volley Arms of old.

A real joy to watch as a player. Brilliant.

28-06-2022, 09:38 AM
What a top guy and a great listen. He even dropped in a mention for the Volley Arms of old.

A real joy to watch as a player. Brilliant.

My mate used to drink in the Volley after games and he swears that by the time he wandered there from the ground Ivan was already on his second pint. He was that fast.

28-06-2022, 10:58 AM
My mate used to drink in the Volley after games and he swears that by the time he wandered there from the ground Ivan was already on his second pint. He was that fast.

:greengrin:

28-06-2022, 11:17 AM
Used to stay round the corner from me and normally bumped into each other in Best Kebab or Scotmid when we were pished on a Saturday night, absolutely brilliant guy

28-06-2022, 11:23 AM

“What the f*** is he gonnae do?!”

28-06-2022, 11:27 AM
I wonder if he was in bed before the light went out ?

28-06-2022, 11:31 AM

Classic comment :wink:

28-06-2022, 06:24 PM
Great to listen to and brilliant that Ivan still loves the Hibs

28-06-2022, 07:44 PM
Great interview guys 👍🏻

Mikey Stewart next?

28-06-2022, 07:54 PM
Great interview guys 👍🏻

Mikey Stewart next?

Good shout. We'll try!

28-06-2022, 08:02 PM
Great interview guys 👍🏻

Mikey Stewart next?

Ask him if he still remembers getting his photo taken with me at Easter Road.

Surely the highlight of his career :wink:

MagicSwirlingShip
28-06-2022, 08:09 PM
Brilliant stuff gents!

Loved Ivan, great to see his passion for the club still runs deep!

Would love to see that Masters match / kick aboot

28-06-2022, 08:16 PM
Brilliant stuff gents!

Loved Ivan, great to see his passion for the club still runs deep!

Would love to see that Masters match / kick aboot

Thanks!!

28-06-2022, 10:59 PM
Really enjoyed that. A few goosebump moments remembering some of the games he talks about. Well done guys 👏👏

loanheadhibby
29-06-2022, 09:27 AM
He really was top class, speaks very, very affectionately about Hibs (his son actually appeared on camera momentarily in a Hibs top as we were talking!)

He was miles away from being a top class player but I loved watching him and he produced some moments we'll never forget.
Am I correct in stating he made his debut in a 3-0 defeat up in Inverness.

29-06-2022, 11:52 AM
He was miles away from being a top class player but I loved watching him and he produced some moments we'll never forget.

Yip came on as a sub

29-06-2022, 11:59 AM

I’m still certain he gives the ****** gesture to him on the Hibs bench after he scored his first!

e2los
29-06-2022, 06:39 PM
Listened to this in the van today, brilliant episode.

Can believe he would beat Boyler in a race to the bar.

Absolute class...

29-06-2022, 06:59 PM

Not sure I agree.

He was not the most technically gifted player we've ever had but you'd expect that considering how late in his career he came to be playing at our level for the first time, but he had enough about him to hold his own amongst some very good players and over time they'll have come to appreciate what he brought to the side.

Sproule had pace to burn but he also had an end product on many occasions, whether that be a cross or a finish. There was rawness and there were rough edges but I think it does the guy a disservice not to acknowledge that his strengths brought an awful lot to a side that wasn't exactly short on talent and top class players.

Up there with my favourites.

29-06-2022, 08:30 PM
Listened to this in the van today, brilliant episode.

Can believe he would beat Boyler in a race to the bar.

Absolute class...

Thanks - glad you enjoyed it!!

29-06-2022, 08:44 PM
Not sure I agree.

He was not the most technically gifted player we've ever had but you'd expect that considering how late in his career he came to be playing at our level for the first time, but he had enough about him to hold his own amongst some very good players and over time they'll have come to appreciate what he brought to the side.

Sproule had pace to burn but he also had an end product on many occasions, whether that be a cross or a finish. There was rawness and there were rough edges but I think it does the guy a disservice not to acknowledge that his strengths brought an awful lot to a side that wasn't exactly short on talent and top class players.

Up there with my favourites.did dnipro no want to buy him for million euros back when we played them. Sure I remember something like this.

29-06-2022, 08:47 PM
did dnipro no want to buy him for million euros back when we played them. Sure I remember something like this.

He mentions that in the pod

29-06-2022, 10:39 PM
Not sure I agree.

Up there with my favourites.

Couldn't agree more. We shouldn't have to qualify what we enjoyed about what he brought to Hibs - he was a blast, it was really refreshing and inspiring that he came from a part-time backound, and I routinely watch the hat-trick if I need cheering up. What a legacy.

DstN75
30-06-2022, 12:02 AM
I think he’s honestly the quickest player I’ve ever seen. I’m surely biased but at his best, flat out, I’m not certain I’ve seen anyone faster anywhere.

30-06-2022, 04:29 AM
Loved Ivan. Epitome of an edge of your seat player every time he got the ball

May21/05/216
30-06-2022, 05:10 AM
I think he’s honestly the quickest player I’ve ever seen. I’m surely biased but at his best, flat out, I’m not certain I’ve seen anyone faster anywhere.I think Arthur Duncan was quicker than Ivan

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

30-06-2022, 05:42 AM
Brilliant episode obviously loved the club and the club and fans loved him. He can certainly talk. :greengrin

30-06-2022, 05:57 AM
I think Arthur Duncan was quicker than Ivan

Arthur was very quick

Used to use his pace to beat a man with many an end product

Class

Remember watching Alan O’Brien Stirling Albion away he was like the roadrunner

Ivan Sproule on a motorbike

No end product

May21/05/216
30-06-2022, 06:42 AM
Arthur was very quick

Used to use his pace to beat a man with many an end product

Class

Remember watching Alan O’Brien Stirling Albion away he was like the roadrunner

Ivan Sproule on a motorbike

No end productNinjysky was the quickest I seen and your correct he had a end product

That was better than Ivan

I won't quote on o brien as he wasn't very good

I once remember him having gloves in a game played in May

Back to ninjysky it would have been interesting to see him play today

With all the sport science that's in today's game

30-06-2022, 06:50 AM
It’s hard to compare Duncan to Sproule in terms of speed . Arthur’s era was slower, Sproule played against more athletic players …certainly Duncan had a great track record of assists. O’Brien was the fastest of the three, but never looked capable of being a good enough footballer at our level .

Sproule, like Boyle developed a lot as footballers - which is a real credit to them both .

30-06-2022, 06:52 AM
Brilliant listen. Thanks guys.

30-06-2022, 06:53 AM
Ninjysky was the quickest I seen and your correct he had a end product

That was better than Ivan

I won't quote on o brien as he wasn't very good

I once remember him having gloves in a game played in May

Back to ninjysky it would have been interesting to see him play today

With all the sport science that's in today's game

Arthur was first and foremost an athlete who looked after himself but had a keen football brain and always played the game with a smile on his face

His fitness help to prolong his career moving back to full back giving him the most Scottish Cup and League appearances for Hibernian

Watching both Arthur and Ivan I would agree Arthur was faster

Erich Schaedler was no slouch as well

Pretty sure they had a race once at Training and Arthur won :greengrin

The fastest Hibby probably George McNeill who took part in the Powderhall Sprint

Nowadays with any improvement on his natural pace Arthur would be a superstar name your price

I remember Liverpool struggling to handle him in 1975 conceding a penalty

30-06-2022, 07:41 AM
Brilliant listen. Thanks guys.

Thanks, and to others who said they enjoyed it - it’s great to see people saying they enjoy the episodes when we put them out.

A wee request, if you’re on Twitter or Facebook and you’ve enjoyed the episode, can we ask that you share it please? It makes it much easier to book guests when we can show them that folk actually listen and enjoy them!!

30-06-2022, 07:51 AM
Thanks, and to others who said they enjoyed it - it’s great to see people saying they enjoy the episodes when we put them out.

A wee request, if you’re on Twitter or Facebook and you’ve enjoyed the episode, can we ask that you share it please? It makes it much easier to book guests when we can show them that folk actually listen and enjoy them!!

Great work Matty

Who is next ?

30-06-2022, 08:01 AM
Listened to Ivan last night whilst making the dinner. Great interview, I felt quite touched to hear how attached the wee man is to our club. He's in a pretty elite group of Hibees who have scored a hat trick v the Huns.
Well done for getting him on the show.

30-06-2022, 08:44 AM
Listened to Ivan last night whilst making the dinner. Great interview, I felt quite touched to hear how attached the wee man is to our club. He's in a pretty elite group of Hibees who have scored a hat trick v the Huns.
Well done for getting him on the show.

Jmac
Boyler
Ivan

Did Colin stein? Well before my time but I have that in mind for some reason. Anyone else?

30-06-2022, 08:52 AM
Great work Matty

Who is next ?

We have a couple of non-Hibs related guests lined up for the next few episodes as well as a Hibby that those of us who watched the Milller years will remember...

If there's anyone in particular that you'd like us to try and get on, let us know and we'll do our best.

30-06-2022, 09:21 AM
Jmac
Boyler
Ivan

Did Colin stein? Well before my time but I have that in mind for some reason. Anyone else?

Bobby Combe 1941

Tommy Gemmell 1898

30-06-2022, 09:46 AM
Jmac
Boyler
Ivan

I have a feeling Neil Martin did? Maybe Lawrie Reilly ?

Forgot about Jamie McLaren, some game that one.

30-06-2022, 12:30 PM
I have a feeling Neil Martin did? Maybe Lawrie Reilly ?

Forgot about Jamie McLaren, some game that one.

Here appears to be a list of players scoring hat tricks for Hibs. Looks like 5 all listed above McLaren, Boyle, Sproule, Combe and Gemmell.

https://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/player_hattricks.php

30-06-2022, 12:47 PM
Here appears to be a list of players scoring hat tricks for Hibs. Looks like 5 all listed above McLaren, Boyle, Sproule, Combe and Gemmell.

https://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/player_hattricks.php

Bobby Combe stands alone as the one Hibee to notch four v the Hun, the 8-1 game during the wartime league. Hibs info on fitbastats is very good.

Sheffhibee
30-06-2022, 01:59 PM
Could listen to the wee man all day. Club should get him in to chat to the current squad, that passion for the club is so infectious :flag:

30-06-2022, 03:44 PM
Great interview.

Has to have the most best mates in fitbaw.