View Full Version : August derby
Cat Stanton
26-06-2022, 04:40 PM
Assume the derby game on 6th August will be moved for TV. Anyone know when that will be announced? Trying to organise a day out around it. Thanks a lot.
26-06-2022, 05:00 PM
I would expect the TV games for August to be announced over the next couple of weeks.
I would think that the derby will be on Sky but then maybe not after what happened last season. They may decide to show Ross County v Celtic instead.
26-06-2022, 05:04 PM
I would expect the TV games for August to be announced over the next couple of weeks.
I would think that the derby will be on Sky but then maybe not after what happened last season. They may decide to show Ross County v Celtic instead.
Hope so.
26-06-2022, 05:09 PM
Would be nice to know as got to arrange flights up. We the supporters are always last to know of course. :grr:
26-06-2022, 08:22 PM
Edinburgh v Dunfermline on same day at Meadowbank according to league website . Not sure if Meadowbank will be ready or if Edinburgh are going to play on Fridays again this season but would imagine that would be their biggest crowd of season along with when Falkirk visit .
Hibs`147th birthday that day so hopefully a win to celebrate .
HibeeMackenzie
26-06-2022, 08:30 PM
Will hearts be playing Europe games by then? If so will definitely be loved to the Sunday
26-06-2022, 08:34 PM
Will hearts be playing Europe games by then? If so will definitely be loved to the Sunday
Nah not til a couple of weeks later
DavieRoy
26-06-2022, 08:41 PM
I read that it might not be as the TV deal reverts to the original now there is no COVID-19 clauses. That means just 4 games at each ground on TV per season. If we go on the basis that Sky might want two Celtic, two Rangers and two Hearts then 6 into 4 doesn’t go. So it might not be on TV. Why the clubs only wanted 4 games on TV is beyond me. I know the argument was more Saturday 3pm kickoffs but when these games are not on, it is not good.
26-06-2022, 08:58 PM
Nah not til a couple of weeks later
:agree: 18th August.
They'll be playing on Sundays pretty much every week from 18th August until just before the World Cup starts in November.
mcohibs
26-06-2022, 10:30 PM
Would be nice to know as got to arrange flights up. We the supporters are always last to know of course. :grr:
Who do you think the supporters should be told before? :greengrin
I know,you’d think the clubs & tv company’s would get the fixtures first so they can make any changes then announce them 2 weeks later with the 12:30 ,17:30 & Sunday games. It’s hardly hard thing to organise
27-06-2022, 07:58 AM
I read that it might not be as the TV deal reverts to the original now there is no COVID-19 clauses. That means just 4 games at each ground on TV per season. If we go on the basis that Sky might want two Celtic, two Rangers and two Hearts then 6 into 4 doesn’t go. So it might not be on TV. Why the clubs only wanted 4 games on TV is beyond me. I know the argument was more Saturday 3pm kickoffs but when these games are not on, it is not good.
Whats not good about 3pm Saturday kick offs. Personally I attend every game so it not being on Sky doesn't bother me ad I refuse to subscribe silly money for little or no return...
27-06-2022, 08:38 AM
Indeed. Looking to try and get up.
MelbourneHibees
27-06-2022, 09:28 AM
Who should find out after us? 🤣
MelbourneHibees
27-06-2022, 09:30 AM
I might be making this up but I wqs sure I heard that Sky were bringing back Live Saturday evening games this year?
27-06-2022, 09:48 AM
With the game being just about six weeks away, we need to know shortly, flight prices are going up as are hotel prices. PETRIE get it sorted:greengrin
1st game on tv on the sunday is 14:00 .might put our game on at 12:30
First two home games moved.
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/opening-home-games-selected-for-tv-broadcast
Silversand
27-06-2022, 02:04 PM
[emoji3525]
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
27-06-2022, 02:06 PM
Crap kick off times.
27-06-2022, 02:17 PM
Well, That was inevitable that those games would be moved !
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
27-06-2022, 02:20 PM
***** ***** kick off times, ****ing hell.
27-06-2022, 02:30 PM
12 noon on a Sunday for the Derby is as pish as it gets.
BlackSheep
27-06-2022, 02:42 PM
I’m assuming that the Albion Bar hospitality won’t be open for these games then with early kick offs…???
27-06-2022, 03:28 PM
I’m assuming that the Albion Bar hospitality won’t be open for these games then with early kick offs…???
Why not? Its only the alcohol element thats governed by the license and most of those who can't go to a game without a bevvy will still have sufficient alcohol in their addicted bloodstream from the night before surely😉
27-06-2022, 03:34 PM
Yaaaas great for me. I can now make both the Hearts and Rangers games, delighted.
27-06-2022, 03:38 PM
Just because it was inevitable those games would get moved doesn't make it alright.
BlackSheep
27-06-2022, 03:51 PM
Why not? Its only the alcohol element thats governed by the license and most of those who can't go to a game without a bevvy will still have sufficient alcohol in their addicted bloodstream from the night before surely😉
Lol… you answered your own question…. No booze… I’m not sure they’d open it for only soft drinks?
27-06-2022, 04:20 PM
Lol… you answered your own question…. No booze… I’m not sure they’d open it for only soft drinks?
There's more to it than alcohol, like the food, and anyway with the early kick offs they open longer afterwards for the alkies to get wired in and become abnoxiously loud and slavering before heading home for their sunday roast or afternoon cream tea😉
Can't make It to Edinburgh that day so a bonus it's on a time I can watch it.
27-06-2022, 09:33 PM
Getting absolutely ****ing well sick of this crap, both our first two home games, two of the biggest games of the season, sodding lunchtime kick offs !!! ..... sucking every bit of fun out of the matchday experience for me. I won't pretend that I'll not be at the games, but that's because I'm a season ticket holder, if I was a walk up I would seriously consider telling them to stick it up their arse.
27-06-2022, 09:48 PM
I hate Sunday lunchtime kick offs.
Happy to beat them anytime, anywhere.
28-06-2022, 06:30 AM
There's more to it than alcohol, like the food, and anyway with the early kick offs they open longer afterwards for the alkies to get wired in and become abnoxiously loud and slavering before heading home for their sunday roast or afternoon cream tea😉
Do you never get tired of posting the same "joke" everytime bevvy gets a mention?
28-06-2022, 08:16 AM
Do you never get tired of posting the same "joke" everytime bevvy gets a mention?
Who's joking?
MKHIBEE
28-06-2022, 11:53 AM
A Sunday midday kick off is crap, I need to drive a hundred miles to get a train to get me into Waverley in time to get to the match
Mcbizz1998
28-06-2022, 11:56 AM
There's more to it than alcohol, like the food, and anyway with the early kick offs they open longer afterwards for the alkies to get wired in and become abnoxiously loud and slavering before heading home for their sunday roast or afternoon cream tea[emoji6]
We get it. You don’t like drinking.
28-06-2022, 12:30 PM
Who's joking?
The winking tends to suggest that.
01-07-2022, 06:22 AM
How much do we get for this one game? The crap KO time I bet it has quite a significant impact on hospitality sales not ideal for our new set up.
01-07-2022, 06:39 AM
Oooooh excellent news. Hopefully, depending on clashes with Premier League games, that means I can get the wee man down for his nap then zoom off to the pub and catch at least the derby.
01-07-2022, 07:14 AM
Rangers and Hearts are the 2 games I usually still make a bit of a day out. I tend to leave the bairn at home for these ones, particularly Rangers, so it's a chance for a couple of pints pre match. The lunchtime kick off kills that as I'm past the age and freedom from responsibilities that saw knocking back 6 cans before breakfast as being appealing.
It's inevitable, we need the money so TV calls the shots but it's still crap.
01-07-2022, 11:35 AM
Hospitality must be taking a hit for this. Is it worth the lunch time kos
01-07-2022, 11:36 AM
Maybe the club should be thinking about packages with Scottish breakfast
01-07-2022, 12:12 PM
Hospitality must be taking a hit for this. Is it worth the lunch time kos
I was at 0-0 Celtic game under Maloney and the hospitality started at 10.30 with breakfast rolls. Bar opened at 11.
CL0762
01-07-2022, 12:24 PM
12 on a Sunday when most bairns in the city will be playing their own games, absolutely ****ing ***** kick off times.
01-07-2022, 12:28 PM
Folk reacting as if a Sunday lunch time kick off is a new thing.
Maybe the club should be thinking about packages with Scottish breakfast
Black pudding roll with a coffee. Sounds magic