View Full Version : Glastonbury 2022

24-06-2022, 11:02 PM
Great to see it back!
Foals were excellent, didn't disappoint.
I'm obviously getting old as there are lots of acts this weekend that I haven't heard off.

BBC trying to hard with their "diversity", although great coverage.

25-06-2022, 05:47 AM
Sam Fender looked phenomenal.

25-06-2022, 08:22 AM
Sam Fender looked phenomenal.

Thought Sam Fender and Billie Eilish looked great.

25-06-2022, 09:00 AM

I like Sam fender but I’m still not sold on the sax solos that appear in a lot of his songs.

Need to catch up on Billie Eilish tonight

25-06-2022, 09:11 AM
I like Sam fender but I’m still not sold on the sax solos that appear in a lot of his songs.

Need to catch up on Billie Eilish tonight

He’s a big Springsteen fan, so he’s trying to echo that Clarence Clemons’ sound.

25-06-2022, 09:22 AM
Very jealous of a lot of friends who are there, not been since 2017 but with 2020 tickets being rolled over for ticket holders I didn't stand a chance of getting one. Have to admit that circa £300 for a festival ticket (likely considerably above that next year) is a bit rich for me nowadays anyway.

25-06-2022, 09:33 AM
Very jealous of a lot of friends who are there, not been since 2017 but with 2020 tickets being rolled over for ticket holders I didn't stand a chance of getting one. Have to admit that circa £300 for a festival ticket (likely considerably above that next year) is a bit rich for me nowadays anyway.

I love watching the live coverage, I actually think I'd find being there a nightmare. :greengrin

Its the acts you don't expect to enjoy every year that i take most pleasure in. Yesterday it was Robert Plant and Alison Krauss who stood out for me. Two great voices that blend together beautifully backed by a superbly tight band.

25-06-2022, 09:40 AM
I love watching the live coverage, I actually think I'd find being there a nightmare. :greengrin

Its the acts you don't expect to enjoy every year that i take most pleasure in. Yesterday it was Robert Plant and Alison Krauss who stood out for me. Two great voices that blend together beautifully backed by a superbly tight band.

The West Holts stage mid afternoon is usually a great place to be, ended up catching a Japanese funk/jazz orchestra fronted by a man in a loincloth and gown shouting "ORRRCHEESSSTRRAAA!" a lot and backed by dancers painted head to toe in white doing interprative dance once. Think they were called the Shibushashirazu Orchestra if memory serves me right. Also seen a guy called Ata Kak who is from Ghana and mixes music that sounds like Gameboy music with rap and some incredible dancing. Would never have spent money to go and see them but just came across them and had an amazing time.

It's what you don't plan to see there that largely makes your weekend as opposed to what you do plan to see.

25-06-2022, 09:51 AM
The West Holts stage mid afternoon is usually a great place to be, ended up catching a Japanese funk/jazz orchestra fronted by a man in a loincloth and gown shouting "ORRRCHEESSSTRRAAA!" a lot and backed by dancers painted head to toe in white doing interprative dance once. Think they were called the Shibushashirazu Orchestra if memory serves me right. Also seen a guy called Ata Kak who is from Ghana and mixes music that sounds like Gameboy music with rap and some incredible dancing. Would never have spent money to go and see them but just came across them and had an amazing time.

It's what you don't plan to see there that largely makes your weekend as opposed to what you do plan to see.

It’s 30 years today since my only attendance. Carter USM and the Saw Doctors were playing, was a lot smaller than today and you could still sneak in without paying in those days…

25-06-2022, 10:21 AM

That's my highlight so far, Krauss has an excellent voice and the mix of styles was good.

25-06-2022, 01:09 PM

Actually that does sound brilliant.:greengrin

25-06-2022, 01:50 PM
Actually that does sound brilliant.:greengrin

Also met half of Dick & Dom once just before Kool & The Gang. I was spectacularly drunk, called him the other one's name and when he tried to tell me I said "Same thing really" and although he took it in a professional enough manner, he clearly wasn't overly chuffed about it :greengrin

Oh, and I'm also pretty sure that thanks to Glastonbury and a chance drunken evening with a group of strangers that I'm a one off character on Rastamouse.

25-06-2022, 02:08 PM
Also met half of Dick & Dom once just before Kool & The Gang. I was spectacularly drunk, called him the other one's name and when he tried to tell me I said "Same thing really" and although he took it in a professional enough manner, he clearly wasn't overly chuffed about it :greengrin

Oh, and I'm also pretty sure that thanks to Glastonbury and a chance drunken evening with a group of strangers that I'm a one off character on Rastamouse.

Brilliant. :greengrin

25-06-2022, 02:20 PM
I really wish they’d ban the flags. They do my nut in!

25-06-2022, 02:33 PM
I must be in the minority but its a scene I never want to be a part of.

The music lineup is really not my jam and it’s become a very ***** ground of politics, religion, meditation, science and current affairs. There’s nothing wrong with most of those things, but they’re absolutely not what im looking for at a music festival.

It IS great to see it (and other music festivals) back though. They really are brilliant, vibrant communities.

25-06-2022, 02:34 PM

The last two TITP had flags banned along with pyrotechnics. You're welcome :wink:

25-06-2022, 02:42 PM

I quite like them. I got over excited when I spotted a Clangers one last night. :greengrin

Skunk Anansie’s set was pretty bonkers, I fair enjoyed it.

25-06-2022, 03:12 PM
I quite like them. I got over excited when I spotted a Clangers one last night. :greengrin

Skunk Anansie’s set was pretty bonkers, I fair enjoyed it.

I did like the ‘This is a work event’ flag 🤣

25-06-2022, 03:14 PM
I did like the ‘This is a work event’ flag 🤣

Belter. :greengrin

25-06-2022, 03:22 PM
I’d have loved to have gone to this 25 - 30 years ago.

There’s just nothing that appeals to me about it any more, especially the music.

25-06-2022, 03:34 PM
I’d have loved to have gone to this 25 - 30 years ago.

There’s just nothing that appeals to me about it any more, especially the music.

I'm the same. What happened to bringing across some exciting American bands? Or is that just not hip or whatever the term is these days? I remember back in the mid 2000s watching brief highlights of the likes of Grandaddy, My Morning Jacket and Rilo Kiley and being blown away as I'd hardly heard any of their stuff.

25-06-2022, 03:38 PM
I'm the same. What happened to bringing across some exciting American bands? Or is that just not hip or whatever the term is these days? I remember back in the mid 2000s watching brief highlights of the likes of Grandaddy, My Morning Jacket and Rilo Kiley and being blown away as I'd hardly heard any of their stuff.

The stages that are televised throughout the day are far from the best places to be. West Holts, The Park, even John Peel has lots of great music to be discovered (and dozens more that I've forgotten about). Not to mention the comedy, cabaret, poetry, circus, spoken word and political debate tents, or the Greenpeace or Arts & Crafts fields.

There's over 100 stages and I've found my best Glastonbury's have come from the times I've looked at the lineup and seen the least that are "must sees" and allow for more exploring time. I'd still recommend giving it a go.

25-06-2022, 03:45 PM

Ah, Rilo Kylie, saw them in a small venue in Glasgow, then saw Jenny Lewis in the Queen's Hall.

25-06-2022, 03:52 PM
The stages that are televised throughout the day are far from the best places to be. West Holts, The Park, even John Peel has lots of great music to be discovered (and dozens more that I've forgotten about). Not to mention the comedy, cabaret, poetry, circus, spoken word and political debate tents, or the Greenpeace or Arts & Crafts fields.

There's over 100 stages and I've found my best Glastonbury's have come from the times I've looked at the lineup and seen the least that are "must sees" and allow for more exploring time. I'd still recommend giving it a go.

You can hop round the stages on iplayer and take in some full sets. Self-Esteem on the John Peel stage was pretty damn good earlier. Sticking with that stage for now.

25-06-2022, 04:06 PM
Ah, Rilo Kylie, saw them in a small venue in Glasgow, then saw Jenny Lewis in the Queen's Hall.

I missed her as I was away last time she was here, gutted.

25-06-2022, 04:09 PM
I missed her as I was away last time she was here, gutted.

Obviously the Rilo gig in Glasgow and the Queen's Hall gig were very different. Would definitely try and see her again.

25-06-2022, 04:16 PM

Yeah I'll give it a go, there must be something out there. I should have added The Flaming Lips and Mercury Rev to my list. You never see bands like that at Glasto now!

25-06-2022, 04:21 PM
Yeah I'll give it a go, there must be something out there. I should have added The Flaming Lips and Mercury Rev to my list. You never see bands like that at Glasto now!

Seen them in 2010 (and missed F'lips in 2017 for Radiohead) and Mercury Rev in 2016 respectively :greengrin

They are all still very much there, have to say that the BBC choice for televising sets is largely pretty poor.

25-06-2022, 04:25 PM
Seen them in 2010 (and missed F'lips in 2017 for Radiohead) and Mercury Rev in 2016 respectively :greengrin

They are all still very much there, have to say that the BBC choice for televising sets is largely pretty poor.

Or maybe just what they consider popular?

25-06-2022, 04:36 PM
You can hop round the stages on iplayer and take in some full sets. Self-Esteem on the John Peel stage was pretty damn good earlier. Sticking with that stage for now.

Just switched on tonight, is that Self Esteem with the huge colanders on her corset?

25-06-2022, 04:37 PM
Sad to hear that Lauren Lavigne has had to pull out of Glastonbury because her mum has just died.

25-06-2022, 04:40 PM
Just switched on tonight, is that Self Esteem with the huge colanders on her corset?

Aye. Worth watching the whole set, great lyrics, great performance from her.

25-06-2022, 04:41 PM
Aye. Worth watching the whole set, great lyrics, great performance from her.

Cheers, don't know much about her.

Just heard that they are like the roof of a shopping centre in Sheffield!!!

25-06-2022, 04:44 PM
Or maybe just what they consider popular?

Nah, I'm not one to bash the BBC - their website coverage of Glasto is decent after the festival - but they're very focused on certain stages where most of the real spirit of Glasto isn't found. It's really not a great representation of what it's all about or the people that go.

25-06-2022, 04:48 PM
The Gabriels!?! Wow

25-06-2022, 04:48 PM
The Gabriels!?! Wow

25-06-2022, 05:41 PM
Must be an age thing. Gabriels top the hit parade for me too.

25-06-2022, 07:30 PM

The music lineup is really not my jam and it’s become a very ***** ground of politics, religion, meditation, science and current affairs. There’s nothing wrong with most of those things, but they’re absolutely not what im looking for at a music festival.

It IS great to see it (and other music festivals) back though. They really are brilliant, vibrant communities.

I'm also in that minority.

I'm sitting watching it now and it looks like my idea of hell, wouldn't thank you for going to it.

Far too crowded, hate the idea of sleeping in a tent and if you're unlucky to be standing behind one of the many people who are sitting on someone's shoulders then you won't see much.

Personally not for me at all but each to their own, as you say though it is good to see events like this returning this year as there's obviously many people who do enjoy this kind of thing.

Bridge hibs
25-06-2022, 07:44 PM
Actually enjoyed the Blossoms set, not normally my cup ot tea but love Tom Ogdens strange out there choice of clothes

25-06-2022, 08:00 PM
Wet Leg yesterday afternoon were good. [emoji106]
And enjoyed Olivia Rodriguez bringing on Lily Allen to dedicate ‘**** you’ to the American Supreme Court.

Mr Grieves
25-06-2022, 08:24 PM
Idles and Sleaford mods superb. Caught Billie eilish last night and while it ain't my thing she was pretty good.

25-06-2022, 09:02 PM
Oh my goodness! Just reliving billie eilish from last night, what a talented lass. Such a wide range of music.

25-06-2022, 09:06 PM
Oh my goodness! Just reliving billie eilish from last night, what a talented lass. Such a wide range of music.

Really good although the massive production helped. Wonder how she would do with an afternoon slot without the recorded vocals and light show? Still, it was a good show.

25-06-2022, 09:07 PM

She was superb. Youngest ever headliner, well worthy of her spot.
I’ve heard tonight’s oldest headliner ever has a wee bit of talent as well. :greengrin

25-06-2022, 09:11 PM
I’ve heard tonight’s oldest headliner ever has a wee bit of talent as well. :greengrin

Will never make it, saw him at the odeon in the late 1970s, still trying 😂

25-06-2022, 09:19 PM

You have to love him for persevering. This time next year he’ll be a millionaire.

25-06-2022, 09:20 PM

I’m a bit dreading it. He’s 80 and it’s not easy to have the vocals to fill a huge gig like that for 20 year olds. I hope he has guests on with him and his amazing set list should see the crowds help him out as well. [emoji1696][emoji1696][emoji1696] he can still do it.[emoji51]

He's here!
25-06-2022, 09:21 PM

And a really likeable stage presence. One of my kids is going to see her in London tomorrow which they're super excited about.

He's here!
25-06-2022, 09:27 PM

As someone whose formative music years were shaped primarily by punk rock I've retained a rather reactionary view of Glastonbury as a hippy festival so have never been.

Stairway 2 7
25-06-2022, 09:42 PM
It's excruciatingly middle class

25-06-2022, 09:44 PM
It's excruciatingly middle class

Yep, as much as a jakefest that T in the Park etc was I'd much rather attend that again than Glastonbury

25-06-2022, 10:12 PM
Am trying to enjoy the McCartney set but am not, I guess he is an 80 year old man now!? 🤷🏻*♂️

25-06-2022, 10:20 PM
Am trying to enjoy the McCartney set but am not, I guess he is an 80 year old man now!? 🤷🏻*♂️

Only the Frog chorus can save it now

25-06-2022, 10:26 PM
Glastonbury crowd just stood still saying ‘c’mon tae **** Paul, get to the good stuff’.

25-06-2022, 10:29 PM
Only the Frog chorus can save it now

Probably in the top 3 best solo things he has written 😁

ErinGoBraghHFC
25-06-2022, 10:33 PM
I Am The Walrus or we riot

speedy_gonzales
25-06-2022, 10:50 PM
McCartneys drummer, Abe Laboriel Jnr has saved the night for me.
Understandably, the band have carried Paul through because his vocals and energy are no longer what they used to be, but the guy on the skins, a breath of fresh air. Bang on the rhythm, playing up to the crowd, singing his heart out and delivering the energy when required.

25-06-2022, 10:53 PM
McCartneys drummer, Abe Laboriel Jnr has saved the night for me.
Understandably, the band have carried Paul through because his vocals and energy are no longer what they used to be, but the guy on the skins, a breath of fresh air. Bang on the rhythm, playing up to the crowd, singing his heart out and delivering the energy when required.

Yep, he deserves praise and has stolen the show for me too

McCartney was involved in so many belters that he should be able to throw them up in the air and come up with one of the best set lists ever, dunno how he's managed to balls it up unless he just plays what he wants to play

ErinGoBraghHFC
25-06-2022, 11:15 PM
I actually think McCartney has been decent, could have been a lot better to be fair but you can’t expect him to just play Beatles songs

speedy_gonzales
25-06-2022, 11:18 PM
The old gag, "is Ringo the best drummer in the world, hell no, he ain't even the best drummer in the Beatles!"
Praising Abe Loriel and on walks Dave Grohl 🤣

25-06-2022, 11:23 PM
I actually think McCartney has been decent, could have been a lot better to be fair but you can’t expect him to just play Beatles songs

His voice has actually been better than most times in recent memory, I couldn't be arsed doing that at 42 never mind 80

25-06-2022, 11:25 PM

Why the bloody hell not?[emoji6][emoji23]
He’s done better than I feared. London Olympics was pretty poor but he’s been ok here.

25-06-2022, 11:26 PM
I'm loving him.
The guests!

25-06-2022, 11:44 PM
Yep, he deserves praise and has stolen the show for me too

McCartney was involved in so many belters that he should be able to throw them up in the air and come up with one of the best set lists ever, dunno how he's managed to balls it up unless he just plays what he wants to play

Maybe should have watched the whole set before writing him off half way through . :greengrin
It's been pretty damn good.

25-06-2022, 11:45 PM
Maybe should have watched the whole set before writing him off less than half way through. :greengrin

I know but I’m shattered and need my bed. The old bugger has more stamina than me.[emoji23]

25-06-2022, 11:49 PM
I know but I’m shattered and need my bed. The old bugger has more stamina than me.[emoji23]

Beats me too.

25-06-2022, 11:49 PM
Maybe should have watched the whole set before writing him off half way through . :greengrin

I ended up liking 73% of it, still could have played the Frog Chorus to make it a solid 80%

25-06-2022, 11:54 PM
I ended up liking 73% of it, still could have played the Frog Chorus to make it a solid 80%

Tough audience. :greengrin

26-06-2022, 12:02 AM
I was pretty surprised at Grohl and Springsteen but my minds blown that he brought out John Lennon.[emoji102]

26-06-2022, 12:15 AM
What a finale, brilliant replay of the Abbey Road competing guitar solos. The voice isn't what it was but all in all that was one epic set

He's here!
26-06-2022, 12:18 AM
I'm loving him.
The guests!

40 song, three-hour set aged 80. I can take or leave a lot of his music (and I've grown to hate Hey Jude) but that's mighty impressive.

Mr Grieves
26-06-2022, 12:27 AM
Absolutely banging set from Grohl onwards. Should have left out the first 45 minutes.

ErinGoBraghHFC
26-06-2022, 12:30 AM
40 song, three-hour set aged 80. I can take or leave a lot of his music (and I've grown to hate Hey Jude) but that's mighty impressive.

Absolutely, loved it. I’m a big fan of the Beatles and wings so had a ball there. Hope he’s not finished but can’t complain if he is!

26-06-2022, 02:50 AM

I took my daughter to the Billie Eillish gig in Glasgow a couple of weeks ago. Not going to lie I really enjoyed it, she puts on an amazing show and her fans are absolutely captivated by her.

26-06-2022, 02:40 PM
Declan Mckenna is more than decent. Can't say I knew much about him at all but I'm fair enjoying his set.

26-06-2022, 02:49 PM
Declan Mckenna is more than decent. Can't say I knew much about him at all but I'm fair enjoying his set.

Yip, he’s decent.[emoji106] Didn’t know anything about him either. Bit of protest about him as well.

26-06-2022, 03:09 PM
Legend slot time with Diana Ross . I always enjoy these, the cheesier the better. :greengrin

26-06-2022, 03:18 PM
Legend slot time with Diana Ross . I always enjoy these, the cheesier the better. :greengrin

Is it only me, or have there been no close-ups of her?🤔

26-06-2022, 03:22 PM
Is it only me, or have there been no close-ups of her?🤔

No extreme close ups but looking and sounding great at 78. The UHD coverage is superb, no real hiding place for her with that. :greengrin

26-06-2022, 03:38 PM

I believe that the security in front of the stage has been rehearsing a flash mob dance.

ErinGoBraghHFC
26-06-2022, 04:40 PM
Is it only me, or have there been no close-ups of her?[emoji848]

Only reasonable explanation is that she’s deed and it’s a look a like that’s on stage

26-06-2022, 04:46 PM
Only reasonable explanation is that she’s deed and it’s a look a like that’s on stage

My other half suggested that.

Couldn't look at DR after that, and switched over to Amyl and the Sniffers :)

26-06-2022, 05:00 PM

Couldn't look at DR after that, and switched over to Amyl and the Sniffers :)

Watching them now. The Damned could sue them, they've done a few rewrites. . :greengrin
Loving them though, great fun.

26-06-2022, 05:07 PM
Watching them now. The Damned could sue them, they've done a few rewrites. . :greengrin
Loving them though, great fun.

They are. Dunno about her spitting though. Wouldn't happen in my day....

26-06-2022, 05:11 PM
They are. Dunno about her spitting though. Wouldn't happen in my day....

26-06-2022, 05:14 PM

Couldn't look at DR after that, and switched over to Amyl and the Sniffers :)Amyl and the sniffers were excellent, really enjoyed that. Cracking one up next with Turnstile, their last 2 albums have been superb - particularly Glow On which has been on heavy rotation on my turntable since it came out.

26-06-2022, 05:36 PM
If you aren’t watching Jack White you should be. Superb. :greengrin

stu in nottingham
26-06-2022, 05:46 PM
Absolutely, loved it. I’m a big fan of the Beatles and wings so had a ball there. Hope he’s not finished but can’t complain if he is!

Only the band The Beatles could have been.

I enjoyed Macca last night and I thought he absolutely bossed it. Prior I'd been thinking of watching it through my fingers, concerned what he'd be like but that was actually a hell of a show, very memorable. A majority of the songs being Beatles numbers seemed about right to me. I guess that many of the songs featured earlier on in the set were solo and Wings stuff etc. Shewd move I thought as it definitely went up a few notches as the show went on and built up a lot of momentum to a storming finish.

26-06-2022, 07:01 PM
Vic Reeves on the Park stage just now pretending to be Jarvis Cocker. Well that’s how I’m seeing it. :greengrin

26-06-2022, 07:15 PM
Vic Reeves on the Park stage just now pretending to be Jarvis Cocker. Well that’s how I’m seeing it. :greengrinSort of like this.....25979

26-06-2022, 07:20 PM
Sort of like this.....25979

26-06-2022, 10:11 PM
Kendrick Lamar very very impressive.

Peanut Shaz
26-06-2022, 10:23 PM
Pet Shop Boys excellent as well.

Green Man
26-06-2022, 10:29 PM
Pet Shop Boys were superb. I’ve enjoyed a lot of acts this weekend but PSB showed why they are, IMO, one of the greatest bands ever.

26-06-2022, 10:34 PM
Pet Shop Boys excellent as well.

I've just finished watching them, they were outstanding.

I didn't watch the whole weekend but based on what I did see they were by far the best for me.

Great performance.

Peanut Shaz
26-06-2022, 10:48 PM
I've just finished watching them, they were outstanding.

I didn't watch the whole weekend but based on what I did see they were by far the best for me.

Great performance.

I started watching a few performances but none really held my attention for the whole set. PSB's the exception.

26-06-2022, 11:22 PM
I started watching a few performances but none really held my attention for the whole set. PSB's the exception.

Agreed, I watched it from start to finish. Neil Tennant is an excellent performer.

They were a bit before my time but my dad always used to play their CDs in the car when I was young and I remember liking their music even then.

They have some great tunes but it takes a real talent to also put on a great live performance and they smashed it.

27-06-2022, 06:33 AM
Kendrick Lamar very very impressive.

He’s excellent.

27-06-2022, 10:27 AM
Bicep finished things off perfectly for me 🙂

27-06-2022, 11:04 AM

I stuck their set on last night with the intention of falling asleep whilst it was on.

Unfortunately it was absolutely brilliant and I stayed awake watching it and thoroughly enjoying it to the very end.

Today's probably not going to be one of my more productive days at work.

29-06-2022, 10:04 AM
Bought Alison Krauss and Robert Plant 'Raise the Roof' yellow double vinyl in Strip Joint on Argyll Street on Monday on the strength of their performance. Now playing (loud) :greengrin

He's here!
29-06-2022, 12:17 PM
Fair to say Julie Burchill's not a fan...

https://www.spectator.co.uk/article/glastonbury-sums-up-everything-there-is-to-hate-about-rock-music

29-06-2022, 12:24 PM

https://www.spectator.co.uk/article/glastonbury-sums-up-everything-there-is-to-hate-about-rock-musicShe doesn't even like herself very much.

One of the most overrated music writers/writers out there.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

patch1875
29-06-2022, 07:44 PM
3 favourites for me were.

Gabriel’s
First Aid Kit
Amyl and the Sniffers

Thought Macca put on a great show.

Mantis Toboggan
29-06-2022, 08:23 PM

https://www.spectator.co.uk/article/glastonbury-sums-up-everything-there-is-to-hate-about-rock-music

Who gives a flying one what Julie Burchill thinks

29-06-2022, 08:53 PM

I hated about 95% of that Glastonbury but I hated that article even more.

He's here!
29-06-2022, 10:08 PM
She doesn't even like herself very much.

One of the most overrated music writers/writers out there.

How would you rate Tony Parsons?

29-06-2022, 10:38 PM
How would you rate Tony Parsons?An ********

29-06-2022, 10:51 PM
3 favourites for me were.

Gabriel’s
First Aid Kit
Amyl and the Sniffers

Thought Macca put on a great show.My favourites were

Turnstile
Amyl and the sniffers
The Jesus and Mary chain
Squid

The other half had first aid kit on an although it's not my kind of thing they were okay. Same with the petshop boys, not a fan of their music but to be fair to them they put on a fair show.

30-06-2022, 04:47 PM

That was a fantastic concert. The 3rd last that he did with Wings

30-06-2022, 05:10 PM

I cannot stand Julie Burchill. Delighted she’s taking her whining diatribes off to The Spectator. Also suspect her issue with Glastonbury is the increased urban (ie-black) performers in recent years. She’s gone down the Morrissey road that one.

He's here!
01-07-2022, 06:46 AM
I cannot stand Julie Burchill. Delighted she’s taking her whining diatribes off to The Spectator. Also suspect her issue with Glastonbury is the increased urban (ie-black) performers in recent years. She’s gone down the Morrissey road that one.

I'm not seeing any anti-black sentiment in that article? If anything she seems to be endorsing Lenny Henry's comments about the lack of black faces in the crowd? Not going to claim I'm a regular Burchill reader so if she's got form for that sort of view then maybe I'm missing something. Way back in the day she and Tony Parsons had a reputation as the 'hip young gunslinger' NME chroniclers of the Punk movement so maybe there's a hangover from the anti-hippy vibe of those times...here's what Paul Simonon of the Clash had to say about Glastonbury:

And so if the Clash were still around at the moment, would you play Glastonbury?
PS: No, I'd refuse, it's a bloody hippy business. I know it's a nice family day out, but **** that, I want nothing to do with family days out with rock stars. Joe used to go, but Joe was a bit of a hippy anyway. But that's fine. Live and let live. It doesn't mean I have to go there. But you know, I'd go to Notting Hill carnival, that's more my speed to be honest, culturally, musically, fashion-styly. I know it's ridiculous to have these thoughts, but I can't help it. I grew up in a whole different generation, as you say, a quarter of a century ago, so you can't blame me.
But you still hate hippies 25 years later?
PS: Well I don't hate them, but I would rather not socialise with them.

Years later Simonon went on play Glastonbury with Gorrilaz :greengrin

01-07-2022, 07:10 AM
I'm not seeing any anti-black sentiment in that article? If anything she seems to be endorsing Lenny Henry's comments about the lack of black faces in the crowd? Not going to claim I'm a regular Burchill reader so if she's got form for that sort of view then maybe I'm missing something. Way back in the day she and Tony Parsons had a reputation as the 'hip young gunslinger' NME chroniclers of the Punk movement so maybe there's a hangover from the anti-hippy vibe of those times...here's what Paul Simonon of the Clash had to say about Glastonbury:

And so if the Clash were still around at the moment, would you play Glastonbury?
PS: No, I'd refuse, it's a bloody hippy business. I know it's a nice family day out, but **** that, I want nothing to do with family days out with rock stars. Joe used to go, but Joe was a bit of a hippy anyway. But that's fine. Live and let live. It doesn't mean I have to go there. But you know, I'd go to Notting Hill carnival, that's more my speed to be honest, culturally, musically, fashion-styly. I know it's ridiculous to have these thoughts, but I can't help it. I grew up in a whole different generation, as you say, a quarter of a century ago, so you can't blame me.

Years later Simonon went on play Glastonbury with Gorrilaz :greengrin

She has previous.

01-07-2022, 07:16 AM

Years later Simonon went on play Glastonbury with Gorrilaz :greengrinIf you think that's a volte face from simonon then have a look at what Tony parsons is all about these days.

01-07-2022, 07:23 AM
She has previous.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-56407232.amp

My memory of Burchill is that she and Parsons would see what that week's trend was, and then trash it. Seems like she is still doing that.

(Let's not go near her alleged transphobia ��)

01-07-2022, 07:28 AM
She has previous.

She's a complete wretch of a person, but I can't say I don't agree with some things in her article - some of it is contemptible, but some of her Glasto critiques are precisely the reasons I'd never be inclined to go.

She can still get in the sea.

01-07-2022, 08:04 AM
Ah the good old NME days of enfants terrible Parsons and Burchill :greengrin

She's just horrible and he's a joke nowadays.

01-07-2022, 08:37 AM

My memory of Burchill is that she and Parsons would see what that week's trend was, and then trash it. Seems like she is still doing that.

(Let's not go near her alleged transphobia [emoji16])Summed up in song from '82

https://youtu.be/OQj0XSe_qiY

01-07-2022, 09:22 AM
Summed up in song from '82

https://youtu.be/OQj0XSe_qiY

01-07-2022, 11:00 AM

(Let's not go near her alleged transphobia ��)They also droned on and on about their version of Socialism. When it started Punk had no politics other than to take the piss out of everyone. A vehicle for pranking everything. When it became politicised along the lines of left/right wing any humour was quickly jettisoned. Probably why it couldn't last beyond a couple of years.

The Boy Looked At Johnny has to be the biggest waste of paper ever.

Jon Savage, Paul Morley, Mick Middles, Ian Penman, Dave McColloch all vastly superior writers and for the most part without the preaching and actually seemed to enjoy music.

People who who insist on screaming about their working class credentials at every turn are a bit sus. Look at Parsons twitter feed during Brexit, it's like he's mentally ill.

He's here!
01-07-2022, 02:38 PM
Ah the good old NME days of enfants terrible Parsons and Burchill :greengrin

She's just horrible and he's a joke nowadays.

When you're old enough to remember those days - or indeed any era which had a profound influence on your life - I think it's OK to preserve the memory, freeze it in time if you like. I was very young back then...too young to form a proper grasp of what constituted a good writer but I was old enough to pick up on the excitement of punk via my cousin's record and magazine collection. I used to find it phenomenally exciting to flick through the NMEs, Melody Makers and Sounds magazines which populated his bedroom and spotting the bylines of Burchill and Parsons among others, people who seemed to me impossibly exotic. Whatever sort of people they've gone on to become (or always were) doesn't really detract from that for me. Somebody else mentioned Morrissey's far-right credentials these days. While I've heard some say he was always a bit suspect re nationalism/racism, it must nevertheless be hard for many of his devotees to deal with. Does that mean though that they have to jettison the memories of what the Smiths meant to them?

01-07-2022, 03:20 PM
When you're old enough to remember those days - or indeed any era which had a profound influence on your life - I think it's OK to preserve the memory, freeze it in time if you like. I was very young back then...too young to form a proper grasp of what constituted a good writer but I was old enough to pick up on the excitement of punk via my cousin's record and magazine collection. I used to find it phenomenally exciting to flick through the NMEs, Melody Makers and Sounds magazines which populated his bedroom and spotting the bylines of Burchill and Parsons among others, people who seemed to me impossibly exotic. Whatever sort of people they've gone on to become (or always were) doesn't really detract from that for me. Somebody else mentioned Morrissey's far-right credentials these days. While I've heard some say he was always a bit suspect re nationalism/racism, it must nevertheless be hard for many of his devotees to deal with. Does that mean though that they have to jettison the memories of what the Smiths meant to them?

I've listened to The Smiths occasionally since Morrissey started getting totally OTT with the racist stuff. I just think of him as an idiot now and the memories aren't really tarnished. It's a different scenario as I'm not likely to pick up any old NMEs these days and have a scan through them (and it's not just because my Mum threw them all out in 1979 when I left home!)

ErinGoBraghHFC
01-07-2022, 03:43 PM
I've listened to The Smiths occasionally since Morrissey started getting totally OTT with the racist stuff. I just think of him as an idiot now and the memories aren't really tarnished. It's a different scenario as I'm not likely to pick up any old NMEs these days and have a scan through them (and it's not just because my Mum threw them all out in 1979 when I left home!)

The smiths are my favourite band, Morrissey is a fud but that doesn’t affect the love I have for the music or the memories I have of listening to it for the first time. It’ll always give me that tingle down the spine regardless of whether he’s a raging nazi or if he became a tree hugging communist (to be fair, he’s halfway there. Strange combination of beliefs that guy has) over night. No point letting someone you don’t personally knows political beliefs upset you or affect your appreciation of art imo

He's here!
01-07-2022, 05:19 PM

I've held on to a few of mine. There used to be regular record fairs at the Assembly Rooms and I would also often buy a few vintage editions of the music papers and magazines there.

stu in nottingham
01-07-2022, 06:14 PM
The New Musical Express was my favoured music read in the 1970s by far. I'd often buy that Melody Maker (and Sounds too when it came along) but the NME was pitched just right for me. I guess I graduated straight from comics to the music press and my own favourite NME writers were Nick Kent and Charles Shaar Murray at that time. Never liked Julie Burchill much whose writing always seemed a little jaundiced and selft-satisfied to me. Parsons I could never take to much either.

It seemed like a 'golden age' for the NME in the mid-1970s but I've heard others say the same for different eras. The NME was where I first picked up on the Pistols before being able to listen to their music, reading of this subservisive new movement that felt vibrant, exciting and fascinating. Recall the early fanzines such as 'Sniffin' Glue' coming out at this precise time and scouring everywhere possible for articles about the Pistols, The Clash, The Damned, The Jam and Buzzcocks which I'd devour over and over. It was an amazing time for change in music and NME were right there on it. Very much less so Melody Maker which always felt a little stuffy to me.

01-07-2022, 07:41 PM
The New Musical Express was my favoured music read in the 1970s by far. I'd often buy that Melody Maker (and Sounds too when it came along) but the NME was pitched just right for me. I guess I graduated straight from comics to the music press and my own favourite NME writers were Nick Kent and Charles Shaar Murray at that time. Never liked Julie Burchill much whose writing always seemed a little jaundiced and selft-satisfied to me. Parsons I could never take to much either.

It seemed like a 'golden age' for the NME in the mid-1970s but I've heard others say the same for different eras. The NME was where I first picked up on the Pistols before being able to listen to their music, reading of this subservisive new movement that felt vibrant, exciting and fascinating. Recall the early fanzines such as 'Sniffin' Glue' coming out at this precise time and scouring everywhere possible for articles about the Pistols, The Clash, The Damned, The Jam and Buzzcocks which I'd devour over and over. It was an amazing time for change in music and NME were right there on it. Very much less so Melody Maker which always felt a little stuffy to me.I'm a bit younger so the first wave of punk had long since passed by the time I was getting the NME. I was more of the C86 era and can't say I really remember any of the writers from the time.
By the early 90s I was able to get maximum rock and roll from avalanche and that became my preferred musical reading.

He's here!
02-07-2022, 10:41 AM

It seemed like a 'golden age' for the NME in the mid-1970s but I've heard others say the same for different eras. The NME was where I first picked up on the Pistols before being able to listen to their music, reading of this subservisive new movement that felt vibrant, exciting and fascinating. Recall the early fanzines such as 'Sniffin' Glue' coming out at this precise time and scouring everywhere possible for articles about the Pistols, The Clash, The Damned, The Jam and Buzzcocks which I'd devour over and over. It was an amazing time for change in music and NME were right there on it. Very much less so Melody Maker which always felt a little stuffy to me.

Charles Shaar Murray...yes, big favourite of mine too.

As well as the fanzines it was always exciting to come across harder-to-find music mags. I've still got this copy of Zigzag:

https://images.eil.com/large_image/THE_CLASH_ZIG%2BZAG%2B%2376-381865.jpg

02-07-2022, 11:15 AM
Haven’t seen much of Glastonbury except for a bit of McCartney. Not much to add other than he is still stylish and well dressed :agree: