View Full Version : Aiden McGeady

dastardly8
24-06-2022, 07:28 PM
Signed a one year deal what do we think ?

NC1875
24-06-2022, 07:29 PM
Will be a great signing

James310
24-06-2022, 07:31 PM

I remember being in Las Vegas and watching a Hibs v Celtic game at like 7am or something and he was a diving wee p***k, maybe even 2 dives in the game that led to goals for them. Wonder what year that was? Was a long time ago.

Shout out to the Modfather.

Bridge hibs
24-06-2022, 07:32 PM
Signed a one year deal what do we think ?Disappointed, should have been 2 years minimum

Stokesy's on fire
24-06-2022, 07:32 PM
Happy we have him good move by the club

24-06-2022, 07:33 PM
Disappointed, should have been 2 years minimummaybe he only wanted a one year deal.

24-06-2022, 07:35 PM
Hearing Sunderland can recall him after 6 months.

Garymcl
24-06-2022, 07:35 PM
Happy with this class player but getting on was worried he was going to get a maybe three year deal 1 year about right and if it works out an additional year well done Hibs and welcome Aiden :flag:

Bridge hibs
24-06-2022, 07:36 PM
maybe he only wanted a one year deal.

Aye maybe

Mikey_1875
24-06-2022, 07:36 PM
Not seen him play in a good few years but if he still has it then it could be a very good signing. It’s been proven in this league that good pros can still be very effective at his age.

Bit of a shame that the gloss was taken off a bit because every man and his dog already knew about it. If we signed McGeady out the blue then I reckon people would be over the moon. However he is still our player now and I’m really looking forward to seeing him play.

DroitwichHibs
24-06-2022, 07:38 PM
I’m hearing he gets a five year deal triggered by at least 4 substitute appearances! 😜

24-06-2022, 07:39 PM
I am absolutely delighted with this one.

:flag::flag::flag::flag:

24-06-2022, 07:39 PM
I remember being in Las Vegas and watching a Hibs v Celtic game at like 7am or something and he was a diving wee p***k, maybe even 2 dives in the game that led to goals for them. Wonder what year that was? Was a long time ago.

Go James 😂

24-06-2022, 07:41 PM
Good player and the guile we need to create and score goals.

24-06-2022, 07:41 PM
I am absolutely delighted with this one.

:flag::flag::flag::flag:
Me too, and such a suprise out of the blue signing too. :thumbsup:

hibby rae
24-06-2022, 07:43 PM

Well it's common knowledge wingers get better as they get older and peak after 35. Five years ago I'd be delighted.

I'm looking to be proven wrong.

24-06-2022, 07:45 PM
I’m hearing he gets a five year deal triggered by at least 4 substitute appearances! 😜

Then a coaching role ? :greengrin

24-06-2022, 07:47 PM
Let's just enjoy the moment 😊

24-06-2022, 07:52 PM
Very happy with this and at 36 a one year deal makes sense at our end. If he looks the part early on we can always get another year added on. If he doesn't then we don't have another situation similar to Whittaker where a guy past his prime has years on a contract.

supermcginn
24-06-2022, 07:55 PM
Highest quality player we have signed in a very very long time. Delighted

24-06-2022, 07:55 PM
Wee cousin to Celtc references made in his Hibs TV interview. Get him emptied.

Joking aside, great signing IMO.

24-06-2022, 07:56 PM
Whole deal makes sense, happy we've added someone with a bit of guile and experience, welcome to the first to wear the green Aiden.

Mrimbetween
24-06-2022, 07:57 PM
Do a job

mayo hibee
24-06-2022, 07:58 PM
Should be a good signing even at his age. Think he hopefully has one more year in him at least.

Is McGeady the first ever Hibs player to have a skill move named after him?!

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=VMh8e0QFy2U

Hopefully we'll see a McGeady Spin or two at Easter Road this season.

24-06-2022, 08:00 PM
Good honest interview imo

Good signing

24-06-2022, 08:04 PM

Good signing

I can’t find the interview? Are you able to provide a link please?

Pete70
Happy with this.

h185forever
Apparently injured himself signing the contract … out till Xmas… hope he isn’t on calendar signing duty

24-06-2022, 08:05 PM
Apparentlybinjured himself signing the contract … out till Xmas… hope isn’t on calendar signing duty
I knew that bloody pen was trouble.

24-06-2022, 08:06 PM
Great news . Welcome Aiden .

h185forever
24-06-2022, 08:07 PM
Tackle from behind …. Beaton waved play on

24-06-2022, 08:10 PM
Remarkable signing policy this year. A group of youngsters with hardly any first team experience and two ancient pros likely looking at their final paydays.

I genuinely don't know what to think. It's either going to be spectacular or an unmitigated disaster.

Won't be boring that's for sure

24-06-2022, 08:14 PM

On HibsTV just now. It'll be coming soon to the Hibs YouTube channel going by their tweet.

24-06-2022, 08:17 PM
Remarkable signing policy this year. A group of youngsters with hardly any first team experience and two ancient pros likely looking at their final paydays.

I genuinely don't know what to think. It's either going to be spectacular or an unmitigated disaster.

We do still have a core group of players who are in that middle group inbetween. It’s not all going to be toddlers and pensioners playing for us.

I think McGeady could be a brilliant influence on the young Portuguese lad.

24-06-2022, 08:20 PM
On HibsTV just now. It'll be coming soon to the Hibs YouTube channel going by their tweet.

Can’t see it on hibs tv

24-06-2022, 08:24 PM
It’s prob been mentioned already, but the pen he’s using to sign the contract in the photo on Hibs Instagram post…that’s been stolen out of a 9 year olds bedroom!

24-06-2022, 08:29 PM
It’s prob been mentioned already, but the pen he’s using to sign the contract in the photo on Hibs Instagram post…that’s been stolen out of a 9 year olds bedroom!

Eh ?

HendoDelivered
24-06-2022, 08:29 PM
Delighted

24-06-2022, 08:30 PM
Can’t see it on hibs tv

Aye the tweet was only a wee one minute clip. Assuming the full thing is yet to be uploaded anywhere.

24-06-2022, 08:31 PM

Pleased its not just me that notices these things.

24-06-2022, 08:32 PM
Can’t see it on hibs tv

I'm assuming the season ticket holder access has been discontinued?

24-06-2022, 08:36 PM
I'm assuming the season ticket holder access has been discontinued?

Aye must be. Tried logging in and couldn't. Think it happened last season as well during pre-season etc though?

24-06-2022, 08:38 PM

Perhaps, instead of 4-8-8-4 it's going to be 22-0-0-2. 🤔

24-06-2022, 08:47 PM
A year seems right to me. Hope he is a huge success but scratching my head about our signing philosophy. We need a few players at or around our level but on the way up to fill the void between the kids and McGeady and Marshall

24-06-2022, 08:48 PM
A year seems right to me. Hope he is a huge success but scratching my head about our signing philosophy. We need a few players at or around our level but on the way up to fill the void between the kids and McGeady and Marshall

Aye there’s not been any in between yet.

Hopefully just been getting the deals done that we knew were easier to get over the line

Mrimbetween
24-06-2022, 08:55 PM
Decent

24-06-2022, 09:21 PM
Eh ?

Take a look at the photo.

The Hibs shop must’ve been sold out of pens.

That’s come straight out a bairns pencil case.

24-06-2022, 09:26 PM

https://youtu.be/5IeiSatcjDQ

hibby rae
24-06-2022, 09:27 PM
Take a look at the photo.

The Hibs shop must’ve been sold out of pens.

That’s come straight out a bairns pencil case.

Aye, one from Dublin

24-06-2022, 09:30 PM
Highest quality player we have signed in a very very long time. Delighted

Hope so. Pleased with this and hope he does well. Not sure he's higher quality than mcginn and Ambrose, though. Not that that's a slight on AM.

Welcome Aiden

24-06-2022, 09:33 PM

Good signing

I thought the same to be honest.

24-06-2022, 09:39 PM
I thought the same to be honest.
Just watched his interview, came across well.

CB Hibs 68
24-06-2022, 09:56 PM
Agree totally.I like Marshall and McGeady as signings but we need players who are more than potentially good .Time will tell about the kids we have signed up but the premiership lis attritional so let’s bolster the squad with a couple of solid in your face players who know what our league is about

norhfc
24-06-2022, 09:57 PM
Very pleased with this signing, we need an old head in midfield. Convinced his experience is what we have been missing recently.

JoeT
24-06-2022, 09:59 PM

Apparently he changed colours for each letter in his name

24-06-2022, 10:00 PM
Wee cousin to Celtc references made in his Hibs TV interview. Get him emptied.

Joking aside, great signing IMO.

Personally wasn't a huge fan of that reference but the interview got better after that!

He spoke well, good luck to him.

24-06-2022, 10:04 PM
Commons, Holt, McGeady. Great players who have/had the experience to make a huge difference.This could work.

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

24-06-2022, 10:09 PM

What an intellectual input to the thread

24-06-2022, 10:10 PM
Commons, Holt, McGeady. Great players who have/had the experience to make a huge difference.This could work.

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

Commons for me is a hard act to follow

JoeT
24-06-2022, 10:12 PM
Sounds pretty bright and grown up. Looking forward to seeing him play

24-06-2022, 10:13 PM
Welcome Aiden. Quality signing. Will be a revelation I think.

24-06-2022, 10:14 PM

Are you taking the piss? Tell me your no serious?

If you are ffs have a wee think about what you have said. Marshall and McGeady have both come to Hibs for a pay day 😂. This genuinely could be up there with one of the stupidest comments I’ve read on here.

Try could have got more money down south even at their age, coming back to Scotland was the key factor that negated a few bob less to come to Hibs

24-06-2022, 10:32 PM
Welcome Aiden. Will have plenty for our league.

24-06-2022, 10:42 PM
What an intellectual input to the thread

Actually quite funny
When it was pointed out to me.

24-06-2022, 10:51 PM
Hope so. Pleased with this and hope he does well. Not sure he's higher quality than mcginn and Ambrose, though. Not that that's a slight on AM.

Welcome Aiden

Depends if he still retains the quality he had. He was a far superior player to Ambrose when he was at Celtic (different positions really), but that was a while ago.

24-06-2022, 10:54 PM
Very happy about this. Think he'll be a huge asset for a variety of reasons.

thebausburst
24-06-2022, 10:56 PM
He may be 36 but I recon this is Hibs best signing in a long long time, type of guy we will be delighted to have in the team going into the derby!

CL0762
24-06-2022, 11:07 PM
Far too much is made of age.

Obviously different levels of ability but Messi, Ronaldo, Lewandowski, Benzema, Modric etc all well into their mid to late 30’s and still performing at the levels they are.

This is a great signing, someone who’ll get us off our seats & also, someone who’ll wind up opposition (aye those 2 in particular) supporters with a bit between his teeth.

Starting to get really optimistic about the season ahead.

TheGreenMan
24-06-2022, 11:17 PM
He's supposed to be a bit of a leader too in terms of he doesn't put up with poor standards in training etc and is constantly moaning but for the greater good so hopefully he'll drag a few up a level. Definitely quality but fitness and playing 40+ games at his age in that position is doubtful. Good signing if it doesn't burst the wage budget as we need a striker and central midfielder badly.

24-06-2022, 11:23 PM
First time he doesn't pass when he should i bagsy being able to call him aiden mcgreedy.

25-06-2022, 12:05 AM

It’s also clearly broken. The black pen button is pressed down but there’s no actual pen bit poking out. Is he actually signed? Wouldn’t surprise me if this another awful IG cock-up :wink:

snedzuk
25-06-2022, 12:11 AM
Cool signing - two seasons confirmed (good seats too - just behind the away dugout and weren't available when last looked) and two Clyde tickets bought.

e2los
25-06-2022, 12:12 AM
I don't understand this signing at all as it makes no sense to me anyway.

But will enjoy any success he has with us.

Hopeful that the huge pay cut he has probably taken wont discourage him.

25-06-2022, 12:14 AM
I don't understand this signing at all as it makes no sense to me anyway.

But will enjoy any success he has with us.

Hopeful that the huge pay cut he has probably taken wont discourage him.

We seem to be going extremely young and extremely old and nothing in between!

ErinGoBraghHFC
25-06-2022, 01:04 AM
Brilliant signing. Guys a proper dick, exactly what we need. Welcome Aiden[emoji1132]

Hibiza
25-06-2022, 06:15 AM
Welcome Aiden.

25-06-2022, 06:16 AM
It’s also clearly broken. The black pen button is pressed down but there’s no actual pen bit poking out. Is he actually signed? Wouldn’t surprise me if this another awful IG cock-up :wink:
If you zoom in you can see the pen nib sticking out OK...its not broken.

25-06-2022, 06:17 AM

So when it's said that Ian Gordon is in charge of player signing, does it actually just mean he has the key to the stationary cupboard? 😁

25-06-2022, 06:52 AM
Reminds me of when the pink lot signed Naismith. An annoying moaning faced **** with bags of experience and who'd played at the highest level. He'll be a big asset.

25-06-2022, 06:59 AM

Welcome to the world of Hibs James 😀

25-06-2022, 07:01 AM
A diving cheat at Celtic doubt he will get away with that playing for us.

25-06-2022, 07:09 AM
A diving cheat at Celtic doubt he will get away with that playing for us.

He never got away with it at Celtic, he got sent off for it against us.

Wingers sometimes go down too easily, we took the penalties when Boyle did it and we’ll take them again if McGeady does it.

buktapurple79
25-06-2022, 07:10 AM
Cracking signing, Chris Burke did massive damage to the Yams at Killie at an advanced age. They’ll be bricking it, his skills and nous will be a huge benefit to us, and their recent squeaky clean media profile will be trashed when all the sectarian and anti-Irish bile rises from their support. I’m think LJ may be a bit of a shrewd operator. He knows them from the inside. Think Aiden could be a bit of a Latas/Le God talisman next season.

25-06-2022, 07:12 AM
We seem to be going extremely young and extremely old and nothing in between!

There is a massive fixation with the age of players on here rather than ability.

The midfielders who won us the Scottish Cup (McGinn, McGeouch and Fyvie) had an average age under 21 years old when they signed. The midfield that had got us relegated 2 years earlier (Craig, Robertson & Taiwo) had an average age of 27 years old and hundreds more career games under their belts.

25-06-2022, 07:18 AM
Glad to get some experience in but I don't expect him to make as much of an impact as some do.

I don't remember him being that great in his prime and doubt he'll be a regular starter for us. Got a feeling it will turn out a bit meh.

25-06-2022, 07:37 AM
Glad to get some experience in but I don't expect him to make as much of an impact as some do.

I don't remember him being that great in his prime and doubt he'll be a regular starter for us. Got a feeling it will turn out a bit meh.
He was a fantastic player in his prime.

If you have doubts, which I totally get, I would suggest taking a look at how much the Sunderland fans love him.

Been one of their few shining lights in the last few seasons.

25-06-2022, 07:45 AM

If you have doubts, which I totally get, I would suggest taking a look at how much the Sunderland fans love him.

Yup. Performed very well under LJ too.

25-06-2022, 07:49 AM

93 caps for Ireland who were very decent during large periods of all those games. He certainly was an excellent player in his prime, even if he had a few ups and downs.

I think he’s changed his game a lot in recent years too so will be a different player from the one we remember at Celtic, hopefully still as effective though.

25-06-2022, 08:03 AM
He's supposed to be a bit of a leader too in terms of he doesn't put up with poor standards in training etc and is constantly moaning but for the greater good so hopefully he'll drag a few up a level. Definitely quality but fitness and playing 40+ games at his age in that position is doubtful. Good signing if it doesn't burst the wage budget as we need a striker and central midfielder badly.

We could definitely do with a leader on the pitch. Skilled player with loads of experience suits that role. Sauzee and Murdo Macleod come to mind.

25-06-2022, 08:09 AM
Likes a goal against Aberdeen

https://youtu.be/DmB-RoLvxC4

25-06-2022, 08:14 AM

Excellent player and will be for us too.

25-06-2022, 08:17 AM
Reminds me of when the pink lot signed Naismith. An annoying moaning faced **** with bags of experience and who'd played at the highest level. He'll be a big asset.

Hope that's where the similarity ends as Naismith wasn't nearly as good at them as was expected.

25-06-2022, 08:25 AM
Hope that's where the similarity ends as Naismith wasn't nearly as good at them as was expected.

He was perma injured to be fair

25-06-2022, 08:46 AM
He was also only 31 when he signed for Hearts.

25-06-2022, 08:56 AM
He was perma injured to be fair

Except when he wanted to get fit for Scotland. 😃

25-06-2022, 08:59 AM
Anyone else watch his interview and think ‘only an excuse’ ?

25-06-2022, 09:00 AM
He can become our Charlie Adam!

Lester B
25-06-2022, 10:10 AM

So; anyone else looking forward to quoting this post as a textbook 'wrong on a number of levels' example in future?

He wasn't that great in his prime? As a younger man he was a truly great player and I think though he may have lost some pace he still has the ability to beat a man over a short distance, he can pass and cross accurately, his dead ball striking is superb and he's a strong character. He's a great signing and can potentially change games with his abilities.

If you're right I'll give you credit but it would be a bit stopped clock I'm afraid

25-06-2022, 10:23 AM
Not massively excited

Basildon Hibs
25-06-2022, 10:27 AM
Agree totally.I like Marshall and McGeady as signings but we need players who are more than potentially good .Time will tell about the kids we have signed up but the premiership lis attritional so let’s bolster the squad with a couple of solid in your face players who know what our league is about

Agreed. Get some ******g hard *******s in that (midfield) team or we'll be ov er-run on a regular basis.

H18S NX
25-06-2022, 10:44 AM
Anyone else watch his interview and think ‘only an excuse’ ?.....My first thought.:agree:

25-06-2022, 10:46 AM
No idea what to make of this in all honesty, it could be a raging success or at 36 years of age he could be too far past his best to make the difference we hope he will.

With this guy the only way to really judge which it will be is after watching him play a few games. Until that's happened I have to admit I'm struggling a wee bit finding any level of excitement about him signing.

25-06-2022, 10:51 AM

He carried a pretty sh*te team when he was fit is my recollection! Really didn’t like the snarling little sh*t but they were always a much better team with him in it.

25-06-2022, 11:30 AM
We are due a turn out players a wee bit older with a reputation.
Fingers Xd.

I still have to exorcise my “Mr Tumble” view of him from his Celtc days :)

25-06-2022, 12:48 PM
I'm another meh. Hope I'm completely wrong though!

25-06-2022, 12:51 PM
So; anyone else looking forward to quoting this post as a textbook 'wrong on a number of levels' example in future?

He wasn't that great in his prime? As a younger man he was a truly great player and I think though he may have lost some pace he still has the ability to beat a man over a short distance, he can pass and cross accurately, his dead ball striking is superb and he's a strong character. He's a great signing and can potentially change games with his abilities.

If you're right I'll give you credit but it would be a bit stopped clock I'm afraid

Geezo, that's a quite a reaction a simple thought I posted!

What do you mean with the stopped clock comment? Think you must have me confused with someone else.

Lester B
25-06-2022, 01:31 PM
Geezo, that's a quite a reaction a simple thought I posted!

What do you mean with the stopped clock comment? Think you must have me confused with someone else.

A stopped clock is occasionally right but by accident rather than design.

25-06-2022, 01:42 PM

He did more than ok a few times against us 🙄

25-06-2022, 01:43 PM
A stopped clock is occasionally right but by accident rather than design.

I'd have said a stopped clock was guaranteed to be correct twice a day......

25-06-2022, 02:01 PM
I'd have said a stopped clock was guaranteed to be correct twice a day......

Yup. Don't know how it relates to my post though!

I guess he's saying I'm wrong about things most of the time but might be right about this :confused:

25-06-2022, 03:00 PM
Not massively excited
When are you ever?

25-06-2022, 03:12 PM
When are you ever?

When cravat-club slash their prices, probably.

25-06-2022, 03:40 PM
Scored a double against Hearts 11 months ago. More of that and he’ll be right at home.

25-06-2022, 03:55 PM
Does he take free kicks?

Would be great to get back to the stage where we think we might actually score from one!

Mr. Wonderful
25-06-2022, 04:28 PM
Does he take free kicks?

Would be great to get back to the stage where we think we might actually score from one!

Yup

25-06-2022, 05:11 PM
Keep hearing about his Hibs tv interview , how and where can you see this because i cannot find it on Hibs TV

25-06-2022, 05:13 PM
Keep hearing about his Hibs tv interview , how and where can you see this because i cannot find it on Hibs TV

https://youtu.be/5IeiSatcjDQ

25-06-2022, 05:20 PM
Hope this link works for you :aok:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5IeiSatcjDQ

25-06-2022, 09:55 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FH8BdgEWQAE-eBe.jpg

This came up on my twitter earlier. McGeady had the most assists of any player in the Top 4 English leagues during the 2021 calendar year. He was significantly ahead of the other players in the list and his numbers are even more remarkable when you consider he only played a total of 43 minutes during the final 10 games of 2021 due to being injured.

Lester B
25-06-2022, 10:02 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FH8BdgEWQAE-eBe.jpg

This came up on my twitter earlier. McGeady had the most assists of any player in the Top 4 English leagues during the 2021 calendar year. He was significantly ahead of the other players in the list and his numbers are even more remarkable when you consider he only played a total of 43 minutes during the final 10 games of 2021 due to being injured.

Interesting but I’m sure the nay sayers will claim that you can make stats prove anything. Good friend of mine is a Sunderland fan. He reckons that Aiden is going to be our most important player this year.

26-06-2022, 07:07 AM
Interesting but I’m sure the nay sayers will claim that you can make stats prove anything. Good friend of mine is a Sunderland fan. He reckons that Aiden is going to be our most important player this year.

They say that because you can.

I'll take anything though.

Here is hoping he can stay injury free and he has a good season in him.