View Full Version : Ryanair strikes
LewysGot2
20-06-2022, 11:08 PM
Looks like Ryanair crews also on strike from later this week, with flights to countries such as Portugal and Spain affected.
Going to be a long summer...
20-06-2022, 11:30 PM
I hope so, mate, it's been a long time coming!
21-06-2022, 04:41 AM
Looks like Ryanair crews also on strike from later this week, with flights to countries such as Portugal and Spain affected.
Glad their crew have finally grew a pair. Ryanair have been the cause of the airline industry's race to the bottom for crew t&c's. They're at the root of the problem getting crew to come back to the job after covid.
AugustaHibs
21-06-2022, 09:18 AM
I’m flying with Ryanair to faro second week of July.
If your flight is going to be cancelled, are you likely to only find out once you arrive at the airport?
Glad their crew have finally grew a pair. Ryanair have been the cause of the airline industry's race to the bottom for crew t&c's. They're at the root of the problem getting crew to come back to the job after covid.
My son was cabin crew before the pandemic. Ryanair always had the reputation of being terrible to work for but none of the holiday airlines have covered themselves in glory with the contracts they offered to get staff back on board . My boy turned a few down as he, like many others , had a decent permanent contract elsewhere even though his heart is in flying again.
21-06-2022, 09:46 AM
My son was cabin crew before the pandemic. Ryanair always had the reputation of being terrible to work for but none of the holiday airlines have covered themselves in glory with the contracts they offered to get staff back on board . My boy turned a few down as he, like many others , had a decent permanent contract elsewhere even though his heart is in flying again.
Aye but he ended up with a cracking boss last year though😁😁
He did indeed . Today's his last day too. Exciting times ahead but he said he will be back in some capacity if the new job doesn't work out.
21-06-2022, 10:18 AM
This page tells you your rights compensation wise for delayed or cancelled flights. Not affected (much) by Brexit, yet. Might be handy to have around.
https://www.moneysavingexpert.com/travel/flight-delays/
21-06-2022, 12:10 PM
I heard that often, once you've left flying there's a strong urge to go back, not for me.
I spent 12 years negotiating contracts for pilots and cabin crew and everytime the company would try and negotiate us down to try and close the competitive gap between us and Ryanair.
He's here!
21-06-2022, 04:09 PM
I refuse to fly Ryanair. I'd rather not go on holiday than use them. These strikers I have some sympathy for, unlike the rail workers.
speedy_gonzales
21-06-2022, 04:33 PM
I refuse to fly Ryanair. I'd rather not go on holiday than use them. These strikers I have some sympathy for, unlike the rail workers.
Eh???, is that all rail workers or just the train drivers on £85+K (if you believe the papers)?
If you believe the hype, all rail workers are on £50K minimum, have golden handcuff contracts that give them free travel, 6 months a year paid holiday and when they're bored playing darts or cards during any of their very many break times, they get to kick kittens about the bothy.
The "railway" is made up of many different people doing many different jobs on wildly varying pay scales.
From station staff to signallers, Management to frontline maintenance, we're just average Joe's looking, not only for a pay rise that is nearer to the current level of inflation than it is to zero, we're looking for guarantees that jobs will be protected and (more importantly for me) that the proposed reduction in routine maintenance will not put the rail network, trains & passengers at risk.
There's highly skilled track operatives out there, working 3 weeks out of 4 nightshift, throughout all the big holidays where some companies close down, for a basic salary around £25K. Now that's not bad money, but they're not leaning on a shovel all shift, they're grafting from the last train to the first train.
Regardless of position within the railway family, it's every workers right to withhold labour if they feel they're not being recompensed fairly. No worker should have to go to work and not only expect a fair pay rise but also not have their position or those around them put at risk, none.
21-06-2022, 04:42 PM
Eh???, is that all rail workers or just the train drivers on £85+K (if you believe the papers)?
If you believe the hype, all rail workers are on £50K minimum, have golden handcuff contracts that give them free travel, 6 months a year paid holiday and when they're bored playing darts or cards during any of their very many break times, they get to kick kittens about the bothy.
The "railway" is made up of many different people doing many different jobs on wildly varying pay scales.
From station staff to signallers, Management to frontline maintenance, we're just average Joe's looking, not only for a pay rise that is nearer to the current level of inflation than it is to zero, we're looking for guarantees that jobs will be protected and (more importantly for me) that the proposed reduction in routine maintenance will not put the rail network, trains & passengers at risk.
There's highly skilled track operatives out there, working 3 weeks out of 4 nightshift, throughout all the big holidays where some companies close down, for a basic salary around £25K. Now that's not bad money, but they're not leaning on a shovel all shift, they're grafting from the last train to the first train.
Regardless of position within the railway family, it's every workers right to withhold labour if they feel they're not being recompensed fairly. No worker should have to go to work and not only expect a fair pay rise but also not have their position or those around them put at risk, none.
In relation to Ryanair, I believe they don't recognise trade unions, so who is organising the strike? Good on them, by the way. That wee rocket O'Leary is just awful; staff are just numbers to him, in the way they are at giants like Amazon and Sports Direct. All about the profit, with no regard for those who do the work to make those profits.
21-06-2022, 04:49 PM
In relation to Ryanair, I believe they don't recognise trade unions, so who is organising the strike? Good on them, by the way. That wee rocket O'Leary is just awful; staff are just numbers to him, in the way they are at giants like Amazon and Sports Direct. All about the profit, with no regard for those who do the work to make those profits.
People forget that the way these companies treat their staff eventually has a knock-on effect for everyone and other companies have to cut staff costs to remain competitive.
21-06-2022, 04:52 PM
People forget that the way these companies treat their staff eventually has a knock-on effect for everyone and other companies have to cut staff costs to remain competitive.
Spot on. Like you say, it's the race to the bottom as they try to undercut each other.
21-06-2022, 05:06 PM
I totally support your position and I hope you get your pay rise AND guarantees on pensions and benefits and guarantees on safety and customer service that I understand this strike to be about, the future of the railways in this country.
What the government are banking on is the solidarity between workers in the UK is finished, and enough agency workers that they can pay less with less skill and training can be rushed into the network to keep a cheaper service running, and that’s the model they want as a permanent solution.
I just hope there is such a thing as solidarity left and collectively a range of professions that are all really struggling with below inflation pay rises, can show this Government that the labour movement still has some ****ing life left in it.
21-06-2022, 06:56 PM
Night shift maintenance staff only earning £25k?
speedy_gonzales
21-06-2022, 07:26 PM
Night shift maintenance staff only earning £25k?
Starting grade for an operative can be as low as £16K, a section supervisor in charge of the squad and the job, £32K, and you need all your tickets, experience qualifications to be even entertained for that role.
Stairway 2 7
21-06-2022, 07:32 PM
Starting grade for an operative can be as low as £16K, a section supervisor in charge of the squad and the job, £32K, and you need all your tickets, experience qualifications to be even entertained for that role.
If under 21 or not full time surely, as that is below minimum wage ?
Santa Cruz
21-06-2022, 07:35 PM
When we were younger my pal's Dad was a maintenance worker, he was just finishing his night shift and was killed on the track. It's a risky job, no doubt about that.
21-06-2022, 08:06 PM
£16k is below the minimum wage, if it's full time, so can't be right.
speedy_gonzales
21-06-2022, 08:10 PM
Most of the entry level operatives come through the apprenticeship scheme, so that would make sense.
When they've done their time and all the basic technical and track safety training, they'd move on to a Basic Trackman grade (if the position is available) which is £24.9K. It's these particular grades that the NR hierarchy are trying to decimate by pooling these grades from all the various and highly specialist disciplines, placing in to one big pot, cut the numbers, then make whoever's left available to to be utilised by whatever discipline requires them. Even trying to keep an open mind, the plan is not feasible. I'm sure there are many other industries out there that have specialism within. An obvious one would be nursing, probably the most junior grade within the NHS. We wouldn't pool all nursing together, ignore their specialist background, and expect them to perform at their very best working in departments they had never have seen before?
Maybe a weak analogy but hopefully you get my point.
Stairway 2 7
21-06-2022, 08:20 PM
Most of the entry level operatives come through the apprenticeship scheme, so that would make sense.
When they've done their time and all the basic technical and track safety training, they'd move on to a Basic Trackman grade (if the position is available) which is £24.9K. It's these particular grades that the NR hierarchy are trying to decimate by pooling these grades from all the various and highly specialist disciplines, placing in to one big pot, cut the numbers, then make whoever's left available to to be utilised by whatever discipline requires them. Even trying to keep an open mind, the plan is not feasible. I'm sure there are many other industries out there that have specialism within. An obvious one would be nursing, probably the most junior grade within the NHS. We wouldn't pool all nursing together, ignore their specialist background, and expect them to perform at their very best working in departments they had never have seen before?
Maybe a weak analogy but hopefully you get my point.
No it's a poor wage for the risk to yourself and the standard needed to protect the safety of others. Especially with nightshift added and the strain it brings. A few in the cabinet should do a few nightshifts with them shadowing, although I'm sure the railway workers wouldn't want the bafoons near something so important
He's here!
21-06-2022, 08:46 PM
That's my point. Much harder for them to organise collective action against a monstrous boss like O'Leary. Trains, on the other hand, are heavily unionised and the RMT have secured generous pay and working conditions for members over a number of years now. Fair enough, that's what a strong union is supposed to do. However, the other party involved here is the government (in the guise of Network Rail) and the union is thus striking for higher subsidies from the taxpayer. Selfish and ill-timed IMHO, although the government hasn't shone here either (not that surprising given how generally hapless they are). The changes which are being disputed were always going to provoke a reaction and they should have been better prepared to counter efforts to block them.
Stairway 2 7
21-06-2022, 08:58 PM
Another problem is train travel is still down 25% to pre pandemic levels. Working from home is going to hammer hundreds of different industries and that's before companies start outsourcing abroad even more, if people don't need to physically be in work
Stairway 2 7
22-06-2022, 05:44 AM
https://mobile.twitter.com/SaulStaniforth/status/1539144444997423108
Well done to Mick Lynch for his handling of this line of questioning. He could see what #KayBurley was trying to do.
https://mobile.twitter.com/mattgreencomedy/status/1539227715160748032
And the parody version of the interview
22-06-2022, 06:46 AM
Well done to Mick Lynch for his handling of this line of questioning. He could see what #KayBurley was trying to do.
It didn’t need the parody version, but in 2022 not much does.
Mick Lynch is a conundrum for the mainstream media. He’s clearly calm, composed polite, working class and intelligent. The whole playbook of the red tops is to talk about The Seventies ENDLESSLY (box ticked) and to demonise the elected heads of the unions involved in whatever action they are trying to undermine. Unless they find some social media activity than exposes him as a paedophile/anti Semite/inter city firm casual or he is provoked into a pagger with Kay Burley I think he’ll continue to do well on TV and blunt this predictable attack.
22-06-2022, 07:48 AM
It didn’t need the parody version, but in 2022 not much does.
Mick Lynch is a conundrum for the mainstream media. He’s clearly calm, composed polite, working class and intelligent. The whole playbook of the red tops is to talk about The Seventies ENDLESSLY (box ticked) and to demonise the elected heads of the unions involved in whatever action they are trying to undermine. Unless they find some social media activity than exposes him as a paedophile/anti Semite/inter city firm casual or he is provoked into a pagger with Kay Burley I think he’ll continue to do well on TV and blunt this predictable attack.
How Kay Burley is still on tv is actually mind boggling. Lynch knew exactly what she was trying to do and exposed her stupidity
22-06-2022, 07:59 AM
Maybe I'm being thick, why didn't she just ask "will the picketers resort to violence to stop people crossing the picket line"?
Then she could have just received the answer, presumably "no".
It would have taken a fraction of the time, no animosity between the interviewer and interviewee, and a direct question would have been answered. I accept though that life would be a lot more boring if everyone just acted like that.
22-06-2022, 08:04 AM
How Kay Burley is still on tv is actually mind boggling. Lynch knew exactly what she was trying to do and exposed her stupidity
I don't mind her actually, fronting that kind of show you're never going to learn much but she can be quite forensic, certainly over COVID she did a few good interviews with ministers.
He's here!
22-06-2022, 12:23 PM
https://www.lbc.co.uk/news/rmt-slammed-outdated-rail-practices/
How many RMT members does it take to change a plug?
Stairway 2 7
22-06-2022, 12:35 PM
😆 what a load of pish that is, up there with the worst tory propaganda I've seen. Do these mugs say anything they want and know the telegraph will print it
How many RMT members does it take to change a plug?I don't know, how many does it take?
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
22-06-2022, 01:42 PM
This is really quite funny from Andrew Marr on LBC
Opening Tuesday's Tonight with Andrew Marr episode, on LBC, he said: "I feel like playing a game this evening. Let's play the blame game. Who is really responsible, deep down, for these strikes?
"I turn as ever, because I'm a trusting fellow, to get the official view. So, are Boris Johnson's ministers blaming the strikers? Oddly, hardly at all.
"Well, perhaps this is because the rail union is asking for a pay increase well below inflation, on a day when the government says it wants to raise the cap on bonuses for the richest City bankers; and indeed, on the day after the night before, when Tory donors paid many thousands of pounds a head to attend a glamorous fundraiser, where the night's main prize was dinner with Boris Johnson, Theresa May and David Cameron, bought for £120,000.
"Arsenic martinis and plastic cutlery only, I guess. Anyway, for whatever reason, there has been very little from the Government about the greedy railway workers.
"Obviously, although they are in charge of the rail system, they weren't blaming themselves. No, the strike is the fault of Labour, it is Labour's strike.
Watch Tonight with Andrew Marr exclusively on Global Player (https://www.globalplayer.com/live/lbc/uk/) every Monday to Thursday from 6pm to 7pm
"Tory MP Chris Clarkson has been taqging stories about rail misery with the line "cheers Keir".
"His colleague Mark Jenkinson said the strikes were a vision of Labour's Britain. Well, frankly, I have to say I agree. I've had it up to here with this Labour government.
"Keir Starmer in Number 10 has been a thorough disappointment. What's he done there? Absolutely nothing. No parties. No job offers for his secret girlfriend Fifi Hot-Cakes Trixibelle.
"No leaning on editors to pull stories from the newspapers. It's a disgrace I tell you. An utter disgrace.
22-06-2022, 01:47 PM
This is really quite funny from Andrew Marr on LBC
Opening Tuesday's Tonight with Andrew Marr episode, on LBC, he said: "I feel like playing a game this evening. Let's play the blame game. Who is really responsible, deep down, for these strikes?
"I turn as ever, because I'm a trusting fellow, to get the official view. So, are Boris Johnson's ministers blaming the strikers? Oddly, hardly at all.
"Well, perhaps this is because the rail union is asking for a pay increase well below inflation, on a day when the government says it wants to raise the cap on bonuses for the richest City bankers; and indeed, on the day after the night before, when Tory donors paid many thousands of pounds a head to attend a glamorous fundraiser, where the night's main prize was dinner with Boris Johnson, Theresa May and David Cameron, bought for £120,000.
"Arsenic martinis and plastic cutlery only, I guess. Anyway, for whatever reason, there has been very little from the Government about the greedy railway workers.
"Obviously, although they are in charge of the rail system, they weren't blaming themselves. No, the strike is the fault of Labour, it is Labour's strike.
Watch Tonight with Andrew Marr exclusively on Global Player (https://www.globalplayer.com/live/lbc/uk/) every Monday to Thursday from 6pm to 7pm
"Tory MP Chris Clarkson has been taqging stories about rail misery with the line "cheers Keir".
"His colleague Mark Jenkinson said the strikes were a vision of Labour's Britain. Well, frankly, I have to say I agree. I've had it up to here with this Labour government.
"Keir Starmer in Number 10 has been a thorough disappointment. What's he done there? Absolutely nothing. No parties. No job offers for his secret girlfriend Fifi Hot-Cakes Trixibelle.
"No leaning on editors to pull stories from the newspapers. It's a disgrace I tell you. An utter disgrace.
https://youtu.be/IPlrDNL_5QA
22-06-2022, 02:37 PM
https://youtu.be/IPlrDNL_5QA
Marr's shooting from the hip now he's left the beeb.
speedy_gonzales
22-06-2022, 02:50 PM
I don't recognise any of those practices.
I don't doubt efficiencies can be made, but then what company can honestly say that they're running 100% efficiently?
I'm a single crewed engineer. I cover from Berwick to Dundee to Glasgow but have travelled a lot further when necessary.
I get a half hour unpaid lunch break that I very rarely take (my choice). When I do stop for lunch, it's in my van and the toilet facilities are the very few lineside facilities that are provided for us.
I voluntarily (not contracted) carry out an on-call rota where I have to be available 24hrs a day, for 7 days. For this, I get an additional £140 (taxable).
I've done this job for 30 years, and could easily get a lot more money elsewhere, but I don't do it for the money. The Railway is an amazing place to work and it's the people that make it an absolute joy to come to work each day
What is not a joy is reading and watching the misinformation being spread out there. If you look at the numerous railway/Network Rail FB groups, a significant number of folk are saying they'd rather have no pay-rise than compulsory redundancies. This action is not driven by greed.
Mantis Toboggan
22-06-2022, 03:01 PM
I don't know, how many does it take?
He won't know as will at best have skimmed the article posted
He won't know as will at best have skimmed the article postedRotten punchline
22-06-2022, 08:42 PM
Whaaaat?
22-06-2022, 08:45 PM
That's my point. Much harder for them to organise collective action against a monstrous boss like O'Leary. Trains, on the other hand, are heavily unionised and the RMT have secured generous pay and working conditions for members over a number of years now. Fair enough, that's what a strong union is supposed to do. However, the other party involved here is the government (in the guise of Network Rail) and the union is thus striking for higher subsidies from the taxpayer. Selfish and ill-timed IMHO, although the government hasn't shone here either (not that surprising given how generally hapless they are). The changes which are being disputed were always going to provoke a reaction and they should have been better prepared to counter efforts to block them.
The strikers are taxpayers also. They have my full support (another tax payer).
How many RMT members does it take to change a plug?So how many is it? I know the article says whatever but did you find out how many?
My guess it would be 3 or 4 tops.
EDIT
In fact there is a probable scenario for there being nine.
23-06-2022, 01:54 PM
Hundreds of British Airways staff vote to strike over pay - BBC News (https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-61906236)
Unite and GMB union members who are mostly check-in staff and ground crew backed industrial action.
A total of 700 workers are set to walkout during the summer holidays, when demand from travellers is expected to return to pre-pandemic levels.
The unions said the strike was due to a 10% pay cut imposed during the peak of the pandemic not being reversed.
It is understood that if strikes go ahead BA, which operates from terminals three and five at Heathrow, has plans to cover staff, including managers potentially dealing with check-ins.
23-06-2022, 02:34 PM
British Airways staff vote overwhelmingly to strike
https://youtu.be/FdtV4M9l8ls