View Full Version : Ryan Porteous

JGS56
17-06-2022, 12:46 PM
Noticed this comment on official site.

Club Statement: Ryan Porteous - Hibernian FC (https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/club-statement-ryan-porteous)

Evidently found guilty of throwing a plastic glass in a pub that hit someone.

Time for him to grow up and act his age.

17-06-2022, 12:47 PM
Threw a tumbler at someone in a club. Fined £520 in total.

17-06-2022, 12:51 PM
Threw a tumbler at someone in a club. Fined £520 in total.

A plastic cup in not a tumbler I’d say . Still stupid and silly but unless you work for the daily record, it’s a plastic cup

17-06-2022, 12:57 PM
Noticed this comment on official site.

Club Statement: Ryan Porteous - Hibernian FC (https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/club-statement-ryan-porteous)

Evidently found guilty of throwing a plastic glass in a pub that hit someone.

Time for him to grow up and act his age.

An oxymoron if ever there was.

NC1875
17-06-2022, 12:59 PM
Go to a festival and people are launching plastic cups all over the place.

Stupid but hardly crime of the century. Give the guy a break!

17-06-2022, 01:00 PM
Good statement from Hibs, can't really have any excuse for this kind of offence.

Hopefully something Porteous learns from.

HibsGW
17-06-2022, 01:02 PM

This wasn’t at a festival though, it was in a pub.

AugustaHibs
17-06-2022, 01:07 PM
Oh no!

Anyways…

hibby rae
17-06-2022, 01:18 PM
Two types of plastic pint tumblers.

The soft kind you get at gigs etc. and the harder ones which don't smash when dropped like a glass would.

I'm assuming he chucked the latter, I'm also assuming he wasn't intending to hit anyone and was just an idiot.

17-06-2022, 01:19 PM

it’s a **** thing to do at festivals as well, tbf.

Paulie Walnuts
17-06-2022, 01:30 PM
Acted like an idiot, been deservedly punished.

If he doesn’t screw the nut then his career will suffer. Far too much pish goes along with him on the pitch and now it’s become a thing off the pitch as well. Needs to wisen up pronto. He’s a good player, but not good enough that teams will think he’s worth the hassle that goes with him if he doesn’t sort it out.

17-06-2022, 01:30 PM

The soft kind you get at gigs etc. and the harder ones which don't smash when dropped like a glass would.

I'm assuming he chucked the latter, I'm also assuming he wasn't intending to hit anyone and was just an idiot.

Yep.

A polycarbonate glass is heavy. They are designed to be as good as unbreakable at least in part because some people think throwing glasses is a smart thing to do. That design feature adds a bit of weight to them.

Not the same as being struck by an actual glass but thrown with enough force could still be painful.

Hibs appear to have dealt with this well. Hopefully Ryan learns a lesson from it. Good player and a decent lad, stupid mistake and one he should look to grow from.

I'm Spartacus
17-06-2022, 01:38 PM

Correct. I don't get folk who think the girls nose was broken by a soft thin plastic pint 'glass'. If this was your Mrs or daughter, no matter who it was, you'd have hunted them down 100%.

Folk who throw them at gigs are also ********s.

Has to be his last chance now.

NC1875
17-06-2022, 01:45 PM
Correct. I don't get folk who think the girls nose was broken by a soft thin plastic pint 'glass'. If this was your Mrs or daughter, no matter who it was, you'd have hunted them down 100%.

Folk who throw them at gigs are also ********s.

Has to be his last chance now.

Didn’t realise the girls nose was broken. Pretty sure it was a small cut to her head

17-06-2022, 01:45 PM
Missed a quarter of the season due to suspension and also had this incident. Can’t have helped his prospects of getting a good move.

17-06-2022, 01:59 PM
Didn’t realise the girls nose was broken. Pretty sure it was a small cut to her head

Oh that would be ok then?

17-06-2022, 02:04 PM
Suppose when you’ve been taking all sorts of abuse all night that’s alright though.

17-06-2022, 02:05 PM
Suppose when you’ve been taking all sorts of abuse all night that’s alright though.

Thats a joke yeh?

17-06-2022, 02:06 PM
Oh that would be ok then?

Do you think doing 5 mph over the limit is the same as doing 40 over?

Thats a joke yeh?

So you think it’s okay for someone to be abused verbally and physically on a night out because of who they are or who they play for?

Stokesy's on fire
A plastic tumbler...what a waste of time

No-ones saying it is but when you’re a public figure like he is you walk away. Either go home or frequent places that aren’t filled with absolute throbbers, like widburn club tends to be

Zambernardi1875
17-06-2022, 02:08 PM
Why are Hibs even bringing out a statement about this. Shoulda been kept in house.

17-06-2022, 02:10 PM
Good to see folk rolling out the excuses for him just like they do for his needless suspensions

17-06-2022, 02:10 PM
What I have noticed, funnily, is that the posters who’re wrongfully backing Porteous in this situation also tend to be the posters who’re constantly against the club in every other thread.

17-06-2022, 02:13 PM
Sorry but the guy is a clown. Doesn't seem to be learning from mistakes on or off the park. This kind of thing will hold him back from going right to the top as on his game he is a real talent. Disappointing.

17-06-2022, 02:14 PM
What I have noticed, funnily, is that the posters who’re wrongfully backing Porteous in this situation also tend to be the posters who’re constantly against the club in every other thread.

Ironic post of the year.

Nobody is saying he is not in the wrong for what he did. Just pointing out there are two sides of every story.

17-06-2022, 02:15 PM
Make or break time for Ryan. He's gone from being reckless on the park to reckless off it.

He needs to wise up, grow up and show up.

hibby rae
17-06-2022, 02:15 PM
So you think it’s okay for someone to be abused verbally and physically on a night out because of who they are or who they play for?

I don't think they're suggesting that.

Neither are acceptable. One doesn't justify the other

17-06-2022, 02:19 PM
Why are Hibs even bringing out a statement about this. Shoulda been kept in house.

Probably getting it out there that he's also been dealt with internally by Hibs, so as folk can see we take these matters seriously, nothing wrong with a statement like that.

17-06-2022, 02:21 PM
Ironic post of the year.

Nobody is saying he is not in the wrong for what he did. Just pointing out there are two sides of every story.

But you aren’t commenting on the other side of the story though, you aren’t condemning him for his actions you’re only providing an excuse for him

17-06-2022, 02:22 PM
Ironic post of the year.

There are, but there are certain things you need to do as a professional player that others do not. Getting relentless abuse from someone in a pub? You leave. You're friends are being morons? You don't see them in situations where they can be morons.

17-06-2022, 02:23 PM

How? It's public news.

17-06-2022, 02:23 PM

If it's been reported in the press and he has been found/pleaded guilty the club are in a position in which they really have to comment. As they were with Joe Newell and Martin Boyle.

Zambernardi1875
17-06-2022, 02:28 PM
How? It's public news.

Don’t think you’d see Man Utd and Ferguson making statements. Just think there was no need for a public statement, nobody really cared it was forgotten about.

ElginHibbie
17-06-2022, 02:34 PM
Don’t think you’d see Man Utd and Ferguson making statements. Just think there was no need for a public statement, nobody really cared it was forgotten about.

https://www.manutd.com/en/news/detail/man-utd-official-statement-on-1-february-2022

Much worse case clearly, but can't sweep anything the under the rug just hoping people "forget" or be excused of trying to hide it

Zambernardi1875
17-06-2022, 02:37 PM
https://www.manutd.com/en/news/detail/man-utd-official-statement-on-1-february-2022

Much worse case clearly, but can't sweep anything the under the rug just hoping people "forget" or be excused of trying to hide it

Haha, completely different

17-06-2022, 02:44 PM
Missed a quarter of the season due to suspension and also had this incident. Can’t have helped his prospects of getting a good move.
Theres a point when being a young dafty has to stop and I think we're there now with him. He cost us big time at points last season when he was serving his suspensions.

Tommy75
17-06-2022, 02:48 PM
Do you think doing 5 mph over the limit is the same as doing 40 over?

The 2 are not comparable. Posters are always doing this, making up other scenarios to suit their own arguments.

Porteous acted like an idiot here, he's been done and will hopefully learn a lesson. A fair and balanced statement from Hibs.

17-06-2022, 02:50 PM
I see all the perfect ones amongst us are out in force once more, is this not one of the worst offences I have ever seen a player commit, he will be biting the heids off o bats next.

17-06-2022, 02:50 PM

Porteous has just been convicted of an offence in a court of law which resulted in someone requiring medical attention and has been widely reported in the media.

I think it's not only important that the club's come out and acknowledged the court's judgement, condemned Porteous' behaviour and also outlined that he has received a substantial punishment from the club for this offence, it's also the only serious option open to Hibs.

The statement from Hibs is proportionate and I think it was also a wise move to keep such a statement to the club website and not post anything about it on social media.

17-06-2022, 02:57 PM
I'm not clued up on how these things work, but would it not have cost more to defend the case than to plead guilty and pay the fine?

17-06-2022, 03:00 PM
Can we at least just agree the facts here.
1. Porteous threw a plastic tumbler in the air, there's no reference that i could see in the court proceedings to the type of plastic tumbler.
2. It was accepted that Porteous did not throw the tumbler at anyone but unfortunately it hit a woman.
3. There's no reference to a broken nose that I could see or really any type of injury for the unfortunate woman. Sorry, it was agreed there was a small cut to the head.
4. The incident took place outside the Club, not in a pub.
5. Ryan pleaded guilty to a reduced charge of 'culpable and reckless conduct'.

Not excusing Porteous in any way but if this becomes a lengthy thread it would be good if we avoided falsehoods and exaggerations.

17-06-2022, 03:03 PM
I'm not clued up on how these things work, but would it not have cost more to defend the case than to plead guilty and pay the fine?

Depends what evidence was available

If there’s clear evidence and countless witnesses to it, it would’ve been pointless trying to defend it. Easier pleading guilty and taking the fine

17-06-2022, 03:04 PM
There's a fine line between still being "one of the lads" and screwing the nut to make the most of your ability. I'm probably somewhere in the middle with it all, but RP is going to have to learn from a number of incidents on and off the field over the last 12 months.

IMO he has the ability to be a Scotland captain playing at a very high level, which is why off the field shenanigans like this frustrate the **** out of me.

NC1875
17-06-2022, 03:04 PM
I see all the perfect ones amongst us are out in force once more, is this not one of the worst offences I have ever seen a player commit, he will be biting the heids off o bats next.

Exactly, so many angels on here.

If the “heavy”😂plastic tumbler had been thrown by anyone but Ryan, the girl would have went home and forgot about it.

17-06-2022, 03:05 PM
Whether it was a light plastic cup or a heavier cup, whether he meant to throw it at someone or just throw it in general I think it can be summed up by saying:

Don’t be a fanny.

The thought to launch a cup into the air hasn’t crossed my mind since I was about 5

17-06-2022, 03:07 PM
Exactly, so many angels on here.

If the “heavy”😂plastic tumbler had been thrown by anyone but Ryan, the girl would have went home and forgot about it.

But it was thrown by Ryan, being a professional footballer means he’s going to be in the limelight for things most people would get ignored doing. That needs to be drilled into him.

17-06-2022, 03:09 PM

Well ive never chucked a glass at anyone. Thats the actions of someone who needs help, and anyone that thinks its ok as he was getting some abuse, needs help too. I'm really at a loss as to why everyone wouldn't just say he needs to wise up and get himself sorted.

17-06-2022, 03:11 PM
Club just need to move on

17-06-2022, 03:16 PM
Well ive never chucked a glass at anyone. Thats the actions of someone who needs help, and anyone that thinks its ok as he was getting some abuse, needs help too. I'm really at a loss as to why everyone wouldn't just say he needs to wise up and get himself sorted.

I have not been following such a boring story that close to really know what happened, but was it a glass? that was deliberately thrown, or was it just a plastic cup thrown in disgust over someone's shoulder in a general direction, perhaps he does need help. What kind of help do we suggest then, perhaps a few years of picking up discarded plastic on the beach or such. i happen to think the only help he needs is from his agent to get him the hell out of Scotland, he can then become the really good player I think he can become.

NC1875
17-06-2022, 03:17 PM

Yeah, apart from the fact it wasn’t a glass.

Easy for everyone to say he shouldn’t have done it, no one knows the abuse and hassle he gets on a night out when he’s just trying to enjoy himself.

He’s tossed an empty plastic cup backwards over his head, it’s not going to kill anyone.

Is it any worse than a football player/manager kicking a water bottle in frustration ?

17-06-2022, 03:18 PM

I don't think anyone on here is claiming to be perfect.

Just acknowledging that Porteous' behaviour was unacceptable and hoping that he'll learn from it and also that Hibs were in a position where they had no option but to comment on it.

17-06-2022, 03:19 PM
I have not been following such a boring story that close to really know what happened, but was it a glass? that was deliberately thrown, or was it just a plastic cup thrown in disgust over someone's shoulder in a general direction, perhaps he does need help. What kind of help do we suggest then, perhaps a few years of picking up discarded plastic on the beach or such. i happen to think the only help he needs is from his agent to get him the hell out of Scotland, he can then become the really good player I think he can become.

Are we adding throwing glasses at people to the list of things that are bizarrely the country of Scotland’s fault rather than Ryan’s?

He’s been daft. Not crime of the century but stupid and he’s rightfully been condemned for it.

NC1875
17-06-2022, 03:20 PM
Are we adding throwing glasses at people to the list of things that are bizarrely the country of Scotland’s fault rather than Ryan’s?

He’s been daft. Not crime of the century but stupid and he’s rightfully been condemned for it.

1. He didn’t throw a glass
2. He didn’t aim it at anyone

It unfortunately hit someone who ended up with a small cut.

People on here saying he needs help. Aye ok

17-06-2022, 03:20 PM
Yeah, apart from the fact it wasn’t a glass.

Easy for everyone to say he shouldn’t have done it, no one knows the abuse and hassle he gets on a night out when he’s just trying to enjoy himself.

He’s tossed an empty plastic cup backwards over his head, it’s not going to kill anyone.

Is it any worse than a football player/manager kicking a water bottle in frustration ?

On the last two lines.

Is that fact? I hadn’t seen the full details.

And Yes. It absolutely is.

17-06-2022, 03:22 PM

Surely by now you know that it wasn't a glass and he didn't throw it at anyone ?

NC1875
17-06-2022, 03:23 PM
On the last two lines.

Is that fact? I hadn’t seen the full details.

And Yes. It absolutely is.

Someone kicks a bottle in frustration, hits someone and gives them a small cut.

Someone throws an empty plastic cup over his shoulder, hits someone and gives them a small cut.

The 2nd is worse than the 1st how ?

17-06-2022, 03:23 PM
1. He didn’t throw a glass
2. He didn’t aim it at anyone

1: A plastic glass is a glass
2: That’s irrelevant to my post. Unless you think it’s okay to throw stuff about a pub aimlessly and injure people?

I’m sure Ryan will think the incident was stupid of him and regrettable. Nobody has said it’s anything worse than that.

NC1875
17-06-2022, 03:25 PM
2: That’s irrelevant to my post. Unless you think it’s okay to throw stuff about a pub aimlessly and injure people?

I’m sure Ryan will think the incident was stupid of him and regrettable. Nobody has said it’s anything worse than that.

You clearly don’t have the slightest clue what happened so don’t know why you’re even commenting.

Plastic can’t be glass.
He wasn’t in a pub.

People are saying he needs help. He doesn’t, he shouldnt have thrown it but he doesn’t need help. He’s actually tossed it as he is leaving to get away from the situation before things kicked off and were any worse.

17-06-2022, 03:26 PM

Oh I think he should be more than condemned for such behavior, he should be pilloried, castigated and made an example of, the country happens to be were he play's football, and he needs to move if he is gonna get an even break as they say.
As for throwing plastic cups around, look no further than the hun, it is perfectly acceptable over in the pit that is ipox, do we now have one law for one and one law for other's sir?

17-06-2022, 03:26 PM
Admins, If there is a competition running on when this thread gets locked, can I place a "before 6pm" bet?

AugustaHibs
17-06-2022, 03:27 PM

A plastic glass, is a glass?

Don’t think that’s possible mate.

AugustaHibs
Admins, If there is a competition running on when this thread gets locked, can I place a "before 6pm" bet?

Why should it be locked?

Someone kicks a bottle in frustration, hits someone and gives them a small cut.

Someone throws an empty plastic cup over his shoulder, hits someone and gives them a small cut.

The 2nd is worse than the 1st how ?

Kicking something on a football pitch compared to throwing tumblers around public houses?

I get it, you’ve likely been telling us all he’s done nothing wrong from the start (probably appealing for us to await the verdict etc) and now want to maintain that position.

I think the incident was a stupid of Ryan whether he was getting whatever abuse you’re wanting to blame for it or not. Hopefully that’s it finished and he can move on without any incidents like that this season, and just be immense for us on the pitch.

I’ll say no more 👍

17-06-2022, 03:28 PM
Why should it be locked?

I am merely predicting the inevitable meltdown over the next hour or so - not judging :wink:

17-06-2022, 03:29 PM
This is perhaps a plastic thread very expandable, useful material although presents a difficult situation to dispose of.
Perhaps time to discard this thread.

NC1875
17-06-2022, 03:30 PM
Kicking something on a football pitch compared to throwing tumblers around public houses?

I get it, you’ve likely been telling us all he’s done nothing wrong from the start (probably appealing for us to await the verdict etc) and now want to maintain that position.

I think the incident was a stupid of Ryan whether he was getting whatever abuse you’re wanting to blame for it or not. Hopefully that’s it finished and he can move on without any incidents like that this season, and just be immense for us on the pitch.

I’ll say no more 👍

Again, he wasn’t in a pub. But let’s tie him to the goal posts before the Edinburgh Derby and everyone can throw plastic “glasses” at him as punishment for his despicable crime. Then off to rehab he goes

17-06-2022, 03:33 PM
That lassie got plastic tumblered and nae **** leaves this thread till I find out what **** did it.

17-06-2022, 03:35 PM

Aye, now we've alerted the Record etc to his crime..........:rolleyes:

Sioux
17-06-2022, 03:36 PM

Calm the F down with insinuating someone has mental health problems. You're bang out of order, and have no idea what you're talking about.

17-06-2022, 03:38 PM

Someone compared it to Mason Greenwood earlier.

17-06-2022, 03:38 PM
Calm the F down with insinuating someone has mental health problems. You're bang out of order, and have no idea what you're talking about.

Where did I say that? I’ve suggested no such thing.

Sioux
17-06-2022, 03:43 PM

Where did I say that? I’ve suggested no such thing.

Yes you did. Don't bother trying to wriggle your way out of it.

17-06-2022, 03:47 PM
Although undoubtedly a very stupid act, this was an isolated incident from what I can gather and - given that it was a plastic cup - probably would never have been reported had it not been for his public profile.

I hope and believe Ryan will learn from this and move on. His reputation has been greatly exagerated by professional mud slingers in the weegie gutter press who seem to be just plain jealous that one of Scotlands most promising young players is a Hibee!

Onwards and upwards Ryan - back to doing your talking on the pitch please!

17-06-2022, 03:47 PM

Done something stupid, probably without even thinking.

Obviously it was wrong but it’s a mistake (people do make them and don’t need help to stop them doing it again) and he’s been punished for it.

17-06-2022, 03:48 PM
Yes you did. Don't bother trying to wriggle your way out of it.

Suggesting someone needs help isn’t even close to suggesting they have mental health problems. Everyone needs some help now and then. There is nothing positive in what happened and he needs help to ensure he learns form that and it’s never repeated (no matter what abuse he’s receiving). None of that is about mental health. Also anyone thinking chucking (plastic) glasses up in the air if there is a possibility it may hit someone also needs help to understand it’s not ok. Don’t start chucking mental health around like a joker in the pack.

17-06-2022, 04:10 PM

Bizarre.

17-06-2022, 04:23 PM
Potential to be a really good player but appears to be thick as mince. Hopefully he learns one day but I doubt it will be while he is with us.

TheHarpy76
17-06-2022, 04:37 PM

When you’re a professional footballer, it comes with the territory. No, he shouldn’t have to put up with verbal abuse. But it doesn’t give him the right to chuck tumblers at people.
It’s not the first time, Ryan has found himself on the wrong side of the media.
He better screw the nut or he’ll go down the same way path as Riordan, GoC and all the rest.

Sioux
17-06-2022, 04:42 PM
Suggesting someone needs help isn’t even close to suggesting they have mental health problems. Everyone needs some help now and then. There is nothing positive in what happened and he needs help to ensure he learns form that and it’s never repeated (no matter what abuse he’s receiving). None of that is about mental health. Also anyone thinking chucking (plastic) glasses up in the air if there is a possibility it may hit someone also needs help to understand it’s not ok. Don’t start chucking mental health around like a joker in the pack.

Aye very good.

Paulie Walnuts
17-06-2022, 04:45 PM

You don’t have to be perfect to not be flinging things at people and injuring them.

17-06-2022, 04:52 PM
That lassie got plastic tumblered and nae **** leaves this thread till I find out what **** did it.

17-06-2022, 05:03 PM
Someone compared it to Mason Greenwood earlier.

Nonsense. Old Zambo suggested the club shouldn't be commenting. The point was made other clubs do comment if one of their players has behaved inappropriately and that dodgy behaviour is out in the public domain.

17-06-2022, 05:19 PM
Nonsense. Old Zambo suggested the club shouldn't be commenting. The point was made other clubs do comment if one of their players has behaved inappropriately and that dodgy behaviour is out in the public domain.

So he compared Man U commenting on their player’s recorded rape to our commenting on our player’s £300 fine. It’s a comparison whether you like it or not.

ElginHibbie
17-06-2022, 05:24 PM
So he compared Man U commenting on their player’s recorded rape to our commenting on our player’s £300 fine. It’s a comparison whether you like it or not.

So I was comparing Hibs to Man Utd and not Porteous to Greenwood, after someone claimed Man Utd would comment on stuff?

Glad you got that :wink:

17-06-2022, 06:03 PM
So I was comparing Hibs to Man Utd and not Porteous to Greenwood, after someone claimed Man Utd would comment on stuff?

You can’t compare the clubs actions without comparing the players actions, otherwise you’d have to call for them to comment on speeding fines and parking tickets.

Your comparison was wildly disproportionate and out of order.

17-06-2022, 06:46 PM
You don’t have to be perfect to not be flinging things at people and injuring them.
:faf::faf::faf: people fling sheite around here all the time, it is a non story being made into something it is not. in my humble.

Zambernardi1875
17-06-2022, 06:48 PM

My point was Ferguson woulda kept it in house, under wraps for such a minor incident. The statement only gives the media and other fans ammunition to slate him, could decrease his transfer value and after no support from the club after the red card at ibrox, for Porto I’d be thinking the club don’t have my back

17-06-2022, 06:48 PM
:faf::faf::faf: people fling sheite around here all the time, it is a non story being made into something it is not. in my humble.

It’s not really a non story if he’s ended up being found guilty in court for it. Always going to be a story in that when you’re a footballer

17-06-2022, 06:50 PM
It’s not really a non story if he’s ended up being found guilty in court for it. Always going to be a story in that when you’re a footballer

I think that you get my drift as they say, in the grand scheme of things this is a non story even on a quite news day.

17-06-2022, 07:10 PM
Its a non-story, and the effectively token fine reflects the seriousness that the Sheriff considered the offence.

17-06-2022, 07:11 PM
I think that you get my drift as they say, in the grand scheme of things this is a non story even on a quite news day.

When you’re Ryan Porteous and already clearly a media target up here you need to have your head screwed on a lot more than he currently does.

17-06-2022, 08:45 PM
No-ones saying it is but when you’re a public figure like he is you walk away. Either go home or frequent places that aren’t filled with absolute throbbers, like widburn club tends to be

This is the way.

I can make allowances for a young man being needlessly given abuse while trying to enjoy a night out, but also Ryan has top level advisors around him and simply has to behave like a model pro.

That means not courting trouble, not going to places known for trouble, and leaving at the first sign of trouble.

17-06-2022, 09:19 PM
We better keep this on the first page, so none of us forget about it.

17-06-2022, 10:10 PM
He did a stupid thing, he's paid for that stupid thing. Yes he needs to stop doing stupid things, but in the grand scheme of things it was hardly GBH or driving 10 x over the limit. He's been fined, Hibs have admonished him publicly and that should be the end of it.

17-06-2022, 10:31 PM
He did a stupid thing, he's paid for that stupid thing. Yes he needs to stop doing stupid things, but in the grand scheme of things it was hardly GBH or driving 10 x over the limit. He's been fined, Hibs have admonished him publicly and that should be the end of it.

It wont be though, as soon as he's booked or has a tackle thats deemed dodgy, he will be slaughtered as the guy who never learns.

And this will be brought up along with every other booking and sending off he's had. I remember the days when we backed our players to the hilt, no matter what they did.

cameronw-hfc
18-06-2022, 12:33 AM
It wont be though, as soon as he's booked or has a tackle thats deemed dodgy, he will be slaughtered as the guy who never learns.

And this will be brought up along with every other booking and sending off he's had. I remember the days when we backed our players to the hilt, no matter what they did.

I'm kinda glad we're past those days, footballers do stupid things and deserve stupid prizes like the rest of us. Would be disgusted to see a Greenwood like situation happen at ER and the player get backed because he's "one of us".

In reality Ryan played a stupid game and won a stupid prize, thankfully it wasn't anything more serious and we can move past it, but footballers being backed regardless is a silly attitude. If it's something minor yes, slap on the wrist, but I'd be very worried if this happened again and probably wouldn't be defending Ryan on socials as being a p***k in public isn't excused because you're a footballer.

18-06-2022, 12:40 AM

Spot on. He’ll be told to “grow up” when he’s approaching his 40s no doubt. Some people can’t help but see the negative in everyone and everything.

Jdawg
18-06-2022, 01:16 AM
If you plead guilty at pleading diet (sometimes at intermediate diet) you generally get a discount in your sentencing. If lots of witnesses then makes sense that he did.

18-06-2022, 02:34 AM
In terms of crimes I probably put this lower than drink driving which the highly regarded Martin Boyle was found guilty of and also Joe Newall. What's done is done and hopefully he can learn from it

18-06-2022, 02:52 AM
My point was Ferguson woulda kept it in house, under wraps for such a minor incident. The statement only gives the media and other fans ammunition to slate him, could decrease his transfer value and after no support from the club after the red card at ibrox, for Porto I’d be thinking the club don’t have my back

The media already have it.

If the club don't comment then you'd have people asking why this is all over the media and the club are saying nothing?

The club can't win either way.

Having Porteous' back involves helping him get past this and doing what he does best. The club will be doing all they can in that respect.

18-06-2022, 04:53 AM
It's been dealt with now, hopefully he screws the head and learns from this

loanheadhibby
18-06-2022, 08:09 AM

I think most of us are happy to back him to the hilt.
However he doesn't make it easy.

18-06-2022, 09:17 AM
I think most of us are happy to back him to the hilt.
However he doesn't make it easy.

I find it easy, try it and see how it goes.

18-06-2022, 09:33 AM

He would be best looking at the trajectories of Riordan and Darren Fletcher IMO. Riordan had lots of similar incidents, each in their own right not particularly big deals and could be explained away, but collectively a big part of why he ended up semi retired by about 30. If I was advising him I’d maybe try and get a chat with Darren Fletcher organised. A fellow Dalkeith boy I believe and someone who moved away while young, lived a very professional life and got every bit out of his potential as he could.

18-06-2022, 09:35 AM
He would be best looking at the trajectories of Riordan and Darren Fletcher IMO. Riordan had lots of similar incidents, each in their own right not particularly big deals and could be explained away, but collectively a big part of why he ended up semi retired by about 30. If I was advising him I’d maybe try and get a chat with Darren Fletcher organised. A fellow Dalkeith boy I believe and someone who moved away while young, lived a very professional life and got every bit out of his potential as he could.

I'm not sure what a chat with Darren Fletcher would achieve. He's a fully grown man, not a 16 year old laddie.

18-06-2022, 09:38 AM
I'm not sure what a chat with Darren Fletcher would achieve. He's a fully grown man, not a 16 year old laddie.

If you are not sure, then what harm could it do?:confused:

18-06-2022, 09:41 AM

Never too old to get good advice or for the penny to drop. Stephen Dobbie being an example. Wasn’t until well into his 20s that he realised he was wasting his talent. Started to take his career and professionalism more seriously and went on to have a decent career.

itslegaltender
18-06-2022, 09:46 AM
I take it the Andy Murray mentorship has gone.

18-06-2022, 10:14 AM
I take it the Andy Murray mentorship has gone.

No he’s still with them

18-06-2022, 10:20 AM
I think it's possible to both back Porteous and acknowledge the stupidity of this incident. That's not being an angel, I was far from it when I was his age. Loads of little incidents that I was only to happy to explain away or declare them not really my fault. Truth is I was just a bit of an erse from time to time.

No one needs the past raked over again and again though. He's made a mistake, he's been punished by both the courts and his employer. The mistake is small enough that means he should be allowed to move on. Daft but he hasn't killed anyone.

I think he's at a bit of a crossroads now. His on field performance has been typified by an obvious improvement but a tendency to still make the same daft mistakes he did 3 or 4 years ago from time to time. His future career trajectory is going to be defined by how he grows on and off the park in the next season or so. The ball really is in his court. My gut instinct is he has enough about him to really kick on.

18-06-2022, 10:29 AM

He may be better putting his time into working out the trajectory of the offending missile, just to make sure he just misses next time..........

18-06-2022, 10:38 AM
Very, very strong spilt orange juice/‘calender signing’ vibes to this thread.

18-06-2022, 01:00 PM

He shouldn't be going to a Miners Club that is notorious for bust ups every weekend. He will also know this as he was brought up in this area.

18-06-2022, 02:00 PM
He shouldn't be going to a Miners Club that is notorious for bust ups every weekend. He will also know this as he was brought up in this area.

On the other hand I dare say a few of the folk he grew up with frequent the place of a weekend if it's local to where he grew up, does he bin the place and get accused of being 'too good for it now' or stick with the folk and places familiar to him? Having said that, given what happened I presume that decision has now been made for him.

I do find it a bit bizarre folk pointing to this incident and saying it's a reflection of his want to make ill judged challenges on the pitch, he's far from unique in that regard, a penchant for doing that doesn't mean said player is a cert to end up in court one day.

Yorkshire HFC
18-06-2022, 03:10 PM
Its a non-story, and the effectively token fine reflects the seriousness that the Sheriff considered the offence.

The irony of "the football fan" taking the moral highground - it's off the scale.

18-06-2022, 03:29 PM
The irony of "the football fan" taking the moral highground - it's off the scale.

Fans of football don't respond as a collective. An individual fan can have his own take on things. The thought their opinion should be rendered invalid because some other fan happens to be a bam is bizarre. Off the scale bizarre if you like.

Yorkshire HFC
18-06-2022, 05:18 PM
Fans of football don't respond as a collective. An individual fan can have his own take on things. The thought their opinion should be rendered invalid because some other fan happens to be a bam is bizarre. Off the scale bizarre if you like.

I’d be surprised if Porteous will think that the opinion of anyone on a website is valid - I could be wrong.

19-06-2022, 09:23 AM
Boyle and Newell both got done for drink driving while at the club and it got less chat about it and it’s more serious

He is a young lad who has done something daft , chances are if it was someone else his age nothing would have happened, it’s been dealt with and you have to hope he learns from it and kicks on

I’m sure the club have made it clear to him and he won’t be visiting the Woodburn club anytime soon

19-06-2022, 09:27 AM
I’d be surprised if Porteous will think that the opinion of anyone on a website is valid - I could be wrong.

You could be.

Paulie Walnuts
19-06-2022, 03:48 PM
Boyle and Newell both got done for drink driving while at the club and it got less chat about it and it’s more serious

He is a young lad who has done something daft , chances are if it was someone else his age nothing would have happened, it’s been dealt with and you have to hope he learns from it and kicks on

I’m sure the club have made it clear to him and he won’t be visiting the Woodburn club anytime soon

There was 7 pages of chat over two different threads when Newell got caught drink driving. So there was more chat about that.

He deserves all the criticism he’s getting imo.

loanheadhibby
19-06-2022, 09:21 PM
I find it easy, try it and see how it goes.
I perhaps have higher standards than you.

20-06-2022, 06:36 AM
I perhaps have higher standards than you.

Almost certainly.