View Full Version : Edinburgh City No More
hibby rae
16-06-2022, 08:11 AM
Having to change their name for 'legal reasons'.
Apparently they've registered FC Edinburgh at Companies House and will reveal the name tonight. Must have taken them ages to come up with that!
Would hope they'd go back to Postal United or bring the Meadowbank Thistle name back.
BlackSheep
16-06-2022, 08:17 AM
Could you imagine if Cities like Manchester and Liverpool made their teams change their name for legal reasons.....!
Why exactly is this happening?
16-06-2022, 08:19 AM
The Edinburgh City name has existed in various guises for the best part of a century and in it's current incarnation for nearly 40 years.
I wonder why this is an issue now? Some jobsworth with too much time on their hands no doubt.
hibby rae
16-06-2022, 08:26 AM
The Edinburgh City name has existed in various guises for the best part of a century and in it's current incarnation for nearly 40 years.
I wonder why this is an issue now? Some jobsworth with too much time on their hands no doubt.
Iirc they got permission to use the name from the social club, who's own team was defunct at the time.
I believe they might reveal why tonight when they officially announce the new name.
They have also reached a decision on Friday night home games, hopefully they continue!
G15 Hibs
16-06-2022, 08:28 AM
Could you imagine if Cities like Manchester and Liverpool made their teams change their name for legal reasons.....!
I think it's more to do with internal wranglings at the club than anything to do with the City Council etc. Seems to have been a couple of different factions not seeing eye-to-eye there for a few years.
16-06-2022, 08:37 AM
Iirc they got permission to use the name from the social club, who's own team was defunct at the time.
I believe they might reveal why tonight when they officially announce the new name.
They have also reached a decision on Friday night home games, hopefully they continue!
Weirdly the womens 18 NPL is moving to friday night games, so I hope City are able to get into Meadowbank as Spartans pitches will be in use.
16-06-2022, 08:38 AM
Their Europa Conference League run in one of my football manager saves will live on forever 😢
16-06-2022, 08:53 AM
I was wondering the same PB.
Hopefully it will come out why tonight, although if there are legalities involved they might not be allowed to.
hibby rae
16-06-2022, 08:54 AM
Weirdly the womens 18 NPL is moving to friday night games, so I hope City are able to get into Meadowbank as Spartans pitches will be in use.
I'm pretty sure Meadowbank is confirmed, it's just a question of when it will actually be ready. Seems to keep getting pushed back.
*Would hope Hibs Women are there on Sundays too
16-06-2022, 10:17 AM
League 1 looks like it'll be an absolutely cracking league this coming season, some great games right throughout the league.
wallpaperman
16-06-2022, 11:20 AM
Suggestions that Edinburgh City will start the season at Livingston, that can’t be a fun prospect.
They need to get the stand built on the Marionville Road side, as the main stand only holds about 500. There looks like there is nothing happening on site, I believe it might be some sort of temporary structure, but even that will take some time to put up, clear the ground etc.
16-06-2022, 11:24 AM
Suggestions that Edinburgh City will start the season at Livingston, that can’t be a fun prospect.
They need to get the stand built on the Marionville Road side, as the main stand only holds about 500. There looks like there is nothing happening on site, I believe it might be some sort of temporary structure, but even that will take some time to put up, clear the ground etc.
Is the 500 stand below league rules then? As they never had 500 turning up at games at Spartans.
wallpaperman
16-06-2022, 11:36 AM
Is the 500 stand below league rules then? As they never had 500 turning up at games at Spartans.
Not sure about the rules, but think a factor will be that they have been promoted and are playing teams with potentially decent away supports, eg Dunfermline and Falkirk.
16-06-2022, 11:41 AM
It’ll be the damn PC brigade ‘up in arms’ again, or the woke brigade as we must now get used to calling them before that’s not seen as right on enough.
G15 Hibs
16-06-2022, 12:09 PM
It’ll be the damn PC brigade ‘up in arms’ again, or the woke brigade as we must now get used to calling them before that’s not seen as right on enough.
It's health and safety gone mad
G15 Hibs
16-06-2022, 12:11 PM
Did Liverpool FC not try to trademark the word 'Liverpool' recently? Rings a bell.
16-06-2022, 12:25 PM
Did Liverpool FC not try to trademark the word 'Liverpool' recently? Rings a bell.
Yes they did try.
Liverpool Football Club's bid to trademark the word Liverpool in products and services has failed due to its "geographical significance". The club submitted the request, which has been rejected by the Intellectual Property Office, to protect fans from fake goods.
hibby rae
16-06-2022, 12:42 PM
Currently I believe they need the other stand to bring it up to standard. Otherwise a better option than Livi temporarily would be Penicuik or something.
Bit of a **** show really, they've always been reaching the play-offs so this should have been planned for. Not sure if the fault lies with the club or the council (wasn't that long ago permission was given to build the other stand), builders, or all involved.
DickEDastardly
16-06-2022, 12:44 PM
Having to change their name for 'legal reasons'.
Apparently they've registered FC Edinburgh at Companies House and will reveal the name tonight. Must have taken them ages to come up with that!
Would hope they'd go back to Postal United or bring the Meadowbank Thistle name back.
Edinburgh City no more
Don’t remember that line from “Letter to America”?
I’ll get ma coat
G15 Hibs
16-06-2022, 12:45 PM
Yes they did try.
Liverpool Football Club's bid to trademark the word Liverpool in products and services has failed due to its "geographical significance". The club submitted the request, which has been rejected by the Intellectual Property Office, to protect fans from fake goods.
Spartans should try that and sue the makers of all those films
16-06-2022, 12:47 PM
It’s not just the new stand. As usual with any construction work undertaken by the Council very little is ready. At one time the master plan was to use Meadowbank for vote counting at the May election but that was soon dropped.
hibby rae
16-06-2022, 03:04 PM
I have zero knowledge of construction, but maybe some on here do?
How long could it take to build a simple stand which is for 200 seats in the middle plus terracing either side of that, for about 600 each side to run the length of the pitch?
And how much longer could it take to construct that but with a club shop built in?
Let's imagine they aren't building toilets that side.
Coach Jon
16-06-2022, 03:25 PM
How long could it take to build a simple stand which is for 200 seats in the middle plus terracing either side of that, for about 600 each side to run the length of the pitch?
And how much longer could it take to construct that but with a club shop built in?
Depends if you want the answer in average construction time or Anne Budge time.
16-06-2022, 03:29 PM
Leftie do-gooders who are anti-British and and anti-Protestant. Tree huggers and commies. :greengrin
It does seem ridiculous. Will every club named after a city be required to change their name next?
hibby rae
16-06-2022, 03:54 PM
Depends if you want the answer in average construction time or Anne Budge time.
Hahaha let's go with people who know what they're doing are in charge of this.
hibby rae
16-06-2022, 03:55 PM
Leftie do-gooders who are anti-British and and anti-Protestant. Tree huggers and commies. :greengrin
It does seem ridiculous. Will every club named after a city be required to change their name next?
They've registered at Companies House as FC Edinburgh, so it doesn't seem like the city name is the issue
16-06-2022, 06:58 PM
I'm more concerned about clubs named after islands.
Currently I believe they need the other stand to bring it up to standard. Otherwise a better option than Livi temporarily would be Penicuik or something.
Bit of a **** show really, they've always been reaching the play-offs so this should have been planned for. Not sure if the fault lies with the club or the council (wasn't that long ago permission was given to build the other stand), builders, or all involved.
and always failed, those at the club were probably as surprised as i was that they actually went up this time and they thought they would have a few more years of planning so didn't see the need to rush ;)
hibby rae
The Chairman is doing a live update right now
https://www.facebook.com/watch/live/?ref=watch_permalink&v=1316017075555371
I missed the start but from what I can gather;
- The name is FC Edinburgh
- They're moving back to Saturday games (which is a shame)
- A friendly with Hibs at Meadowbank is on the cards, not sure when cause I missed it but I don't think it's in the summer, maybe later in the season
18ErinGoBragh75
16-06-2022, 07:19 PM
The Chairman is doing a live update right now
https://www.facebook.com/watch/live/?ref=watch_permalink&v=1316017075555371
I missed the start but from what I can gather;
- The name is FC Edinburgh
- They're moving back to Saturday games (which is a shame)
- A friendly with Hibs at Meadowbank is on the cards, not sure when cause I missed it but I don't think it's in the summer, maybe later in the season
The Hibs friendly was due to be Wednesday 6th July as a grand reopening of Meadowbank involving a full-strength Hibs side. However, the Council/Edin Leisure have pushed back the reopening of Meadowbank to 11th July so it sounds as though the friendly won't be going ahead.
City were looking to use the friendly as a big source of income by ensuring it was Lee Johnson's first game in charge of Hibs to attract a bigger crowd, but we play v Clyde on 9th July so that can no longer be the case.
16-06-2022, 07:25 PM
Nobody seems arsed in Brechin.
hibby rae
16-06-2022, 07:40 PM
The Hibs friendly was due to be Wednesday 6th July as a grand reopening of Meadowbank involving a full-strength Hibs side. However, the Council/Edin Leisure have pushed back the reopening of Meadowbank to 11th July so it sounds as though the friendly won't be going ahead.
City were looking to use the friendly as a big source of income by ensuring it was Lee Johnson's first game in charge of Hibs to attract a bigger crowd, but we play v Clyde on 9th July so that can no longer be the case.
Yeah sounds like Edinburgh Leisure have screwed them a bit, he does say they're hoping it'll happen later.
Maybe next summer, or I wonder if they look to get us in during the WC?
16-06-2022, 07:44 PM
Don’t know anything about the structure of Edinburgh City but always felt they missed a trick when they sold their social club to not invest in a set up like Spartans for all their youth teams.
hibby rae
16-06-2022, 08:00 PM
Don’t know anything about the structure of Edinburgh City but always felt they missed a trick when they sold their social club to not invest in a set up like Spartans for all their youth teams.
The social club and football team are different entities. This is why they've decided to change the name because it's the social club that owns it.
At last some one has explained it for me, thanks 👍
16-06-2022, 08:22 PM
Well, now that you said it…….:greengrin:wink:
wallpaperman
16-06-2022, 09:42 PM
I’m not following, as things stand, Meadowbank has one stand with 499 seats, that’s it.
Nobody is going to magic up the new stand/gazebo thing in the next couple of weeks, so the crowd would be limited to the capacity of the one tiny stand.
16-06-2022, 09:52 PM
There's a bit of irony suggesting EC would move to Livingston temporarily given the majority of Meadowbank fans were against the move west and switched allegiance to City when there was no team to support.
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
18ErinGoBragh75
16-06-2022, 10:09 PM
I’m not following, as things stand, Meadowbank has one stand with 499 seats, that’s it.
Nobody is going to magic up the new stand/gazebo thing in the next couple of weeks, so the crowd would be limited to the capacity of the one tiny stand.
Good point. Just going off what the chairman said this evening. Perhaps a lot more standing room available?
They also spoke about upgrading corporate hospitality as a new revenue stream - although one would wonder how much demand there'd be for a friendly.
17-06-2022, 05:37 AM
Could they take the fence down on the side opposite the stand and pull the weeds out the terracing/ give it a general tidy up and make use of that?
17-06-2022, 06:31 AM
Bizarre that the social club and the football team couldnt just agree between themselves that they can use the same name.
Its bowling club politics and a bit of an embarrassment.
Fuzzywuzzy
17-06-2022, 06:37 AM
He said they had asked about using behind the goals and were told in no uncertain terms 'no'. Their tickets have gone up by £4 per game for next season as well
17-06-2022, 07:19 AM
He said they had asked about using behind the goals and were told in no uncertain terms 'no'. Their tickets have gone up by £4 per game for next season as well
Fans can’t be surprised about ticket increases. The guy has to pay for the club and its hard with only a few hundred fans.
hibby rae
17-06-2022, 07:28 AM
Bizarre that the social club and the football team couldnt just agree between themselves that they can use the same name.
Its bowling club politics and a bit of an embarrassment.
It sounded to me like they've got a bit ahead of themselves and panicked on the back of legal advice
Their lawyers kept badgering them that they need to own the name, the social club were still very happy for them to use it. They just had no interest in changing their own name
hibby rae
17-06-2022, 07:31 AM
I think it's part of a larger timeline, the guy was saying a lot in the broadcast, but sounded to me like they would have time to go another stand etc. when EL told them they'd pushed the opening date back again (although they'd already publicly announced it would be ready by the school holidays)
I'd have to watch it again (it's on their SM pages)
hibby rae
17-06-2022, 07:35 AM
Fans can’t be surprised about ticket increases. The guy has to pay for the club and its hard with only a few hundred fans.
I think they've shot themselves in the foot with the switch back to Saturday games. Their reasoning was flawed for doing so imo.
They'd switched to Fridays thinking they'd be at Meadowbank and had spoken to Edinburgh Rugby who had saw attendance and hospitality increases of 25%.
Ainslie hospitality didn't run for the bulk of the season and some crowds were high, some low so the experiement was unproven. And they said as a family club they were switching back.
Seems to me it needs to be tried at Meadowbank, with better transport, on Leith's doorstep with a big nightlife, than Ainslie Park. Nothing to do there and not easy to get to
17-06-2022, 08:52 AM
It depends if the design is completed, contractors are on board, lead times on steel / concrete which are huge just now, and when they can start on site. But would be very unlikely to be completed this year from a standing start.
17-06-2022, 08:57 AM
I was never a full member of the ECSC but used it many times before games when the club was still at Greenside .
Before they moved to Lochend,a bid for premises doon Leith Walk fell through.
They wanted to sell. The members owned the club.
Some very long time members stood to gain a few bob on sale.
They had ideas also of a social club at the refurbished Meadowbank.
Am not now in touch with those itk,but something broke down there.
All seems to have gone pear shaped, since it was first mooted.
Article below on it all
https://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/20216377.spfl-side-forced-change-name-due-social-club-rights-dispute/
hibby rae
17-06-2022, 09:22 AM
I was never a full member of the ECSC but used it many times before games when the club was still at Greenside .
Before they moved to Lochend,a bid for premises doon Leith Walk fell through.
They wanted to sell. The members owned the club.
Some very long time members stood to gain a few bob on sale.
They had ideas also of a social club at the refurbished Meadowbank.
Am not now in touch with those itk,but something broke down there.
All seems to have gone pear shaped, since it was first mooted.
Article below on it all
https://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/20216377.spfl-side-forced-change-name-due-social-club-rights-dispute/
Yeah, the articld saying they were forced to change it isn't true, they've decided to change it incase down the line the social club told them to stop. Doubt they would though, they might want a fee I guess at some point
At one point last night the chairman said "Hibs and Hearts don't have Edinburgh on the badge"
That right aye? 😂
17-06-2022, 09:51 AM
FC Edinburgh is rather a dull name. Couldn't they come up with something more distinctive?
Edinburgh Citizens?
hibby rae
17-06-2022, 11:39 AM
FC Edinburgh is rather a dull name. Couldn't they come up with something more distinctive?
Edinburgh Citizens?
They said they think it has a continental twang to it.
Personally I thought Meadowbank Thistle or Postal United would have been good if they were determined to change it!
Fuzzywuzzy
17-06-2022, 11:45 AM
I think they've shot themselves in the foot with the switch back to Saturday games. Their reasoning was flawed for doing so imo.
They'd switched to Fridays thinking they'd be at Meadowbank and had spoken to Edinburgh Rugby who had saw attendance and hospitality increases of 25%.
Ainslie hospitality didn't run for the bulk of the season and some crowds were high, some low so the experiement was unproven. And they said as a family club they were switching back.
Seems to me it needs to be tried at Meadowbank, with better transport, on Leith's doorstep with a big nightlife, than Ainslie Park. Nothing to do there and not easy to get to
I was always quite keen to get in for a pint but they never had a hospitality option on fanbase. The nearest place was the pilton Hilton at about £6 for a Shan pint🤣
17-06-2022, 12:06 PM
They said they think it has a continental twang to it.
Personally I thought Meadowbank Thistle or Postal United would have been good if they were determined to change it!
Real Edinburgh. That's continental.
What wting with Meadowank?
hibby rae
17-06-2022, 01:15 PM
Pure filth 😮😮
Groathillgrump
17-06-2022, 02:11 PM
Freudian slip by Waxy? :greengrin
Fuzzywuzzy
17-06-2022, 02:36 PM
Interesting to see where they end up playing arbroath.
17-06-2022, 02:58 PM
That is what happens when the noisy minority, dictate what the quiet majority wish, it is certainly not democracy. Why don't they just go back to the name Ferranti Thistle, they have been long gone.
Freudian slip by Waxy? :greengrin
Oops done it too fast with fat fingers
Groathillgrump
17-06-2022, 03:04 PM
Oops done it too fast with fat fingers
17-06-2022, 03:53 PM
Is a ground share with Hibs not a possibility?
17-06-2022, 04:01 PM
That is what happens when the noisy minority, dictate what the quite majority wish, it is certainly not democracy. Why don't they just go back to the name Ferranti Thistle, they have been long gone.
I don’t get the lefty do-gooder thing. Surely the social club has bagged the name and that's it, no?
It's a crap name anyway. They want something more charismatic.
hibby rae
17-06-2022, 04:24 PM
Is a ground share with Hibs not a possibility?
Did you see the state of the Firhill pitch with 2 SPFL teams playing on it?
Anyway, if any team was to get to share it should be Hibs Women
17-06-2022, 04:32 PM
Edinburgh City were founded in 1928.
The club aimed to become the Edinburgh equivalent of the Glasgow club Queen's Park, and joined the Scottish Football League as an amateur club in 1931.
They achieved a famous Scottish Cup victory when they defeated Hibernian 3–2 at Easter Road in the first round of the 1937-38 competition but lost to Raith Rovers in the next round.
The club played in the Lothian Amateur League during the Second World War and were only admitted to the C Division in 1946. After three more years of struggle, the club left the Scottish Football League in 1949.
The club switched to junior status and played in the Edinburgh & District Junior
League.
The club ceased activity completely in 1955, when the local council refused to renew its lease on its home ground, City Park.
The Edinburgh City Football Club Ltd (Social Club), which had continued trading throughout the abeyance of the football club, gave their approval in 1986 for Postal United to use the Edinburgh City name.
So to update current issues/matters and use the legal vernacular .
"The participants in this case m'lud have had .what is known in football circles as " a faw oot!"
It has been suggested m'lud that said "faw oot" is apparently irrevocable.
Seriously ,whatever happened, it is sad that agreement could not be reached to retain the name on the football side.
Younger members of my family have played in Edinburgh City youth teams in the past.
I guess a few on here can say that as well ,or even played with City.
17-06-2022, 06:04 PM
That is what happens when the noisy minority, dictate what the quite majority wish, it is certainly not democracy. Why don't they just go back to the name Ferranti Thistle, they have been long gone.
They were never Ferranti Thistle. That lives on in Livingston.
17-06-2022, 06:31 PM
I remember Ferranti Thistle playing opposite their factory at Crewe Toll roundabout.
Use to pal about with guys from Telford who went to Fet Lor club in that location
Thistle of course became Meadowbank Thistle when they moved to the stadium.
Using the Company name was not allowed.
Ferranti being an internationally known company.
Thats not allowed!
eh? ........Red Bull !!!
Of course,once again they flitted and became Livingston FC
17-06-2022, 06:35 PM
My mistake right enough, although did Ferranti no go on to be Meadowbank before flitting to Livingston?
17-06-2022, 06:38 PM
I remember Ferranti Thistle playing opposite their factory at Crewe Toll roundabout.
Use to pal about with guys from Telford who went to Fet Lor club in that location
Thistle of course became Meadowbank Thistle when they moved to the stadium.
Using the Company name was not allowed.
Ferranti being an internationally known company.
Thats not allowed!
eh? ........Red Bull !!!
Of course,once again they flitted and became Livingston FC
If I remember right Mick, and no guarantee of that they played on the small park set up between Ferranti and Bruce Peebles.
17-06-2022, 06:52 PM
If I remember right Mick, and no guarantee of that they played on the small park set up between Ferranti and Bruce Peebles.
Ferranti Thistle first played at City Park(now a housing development) around 1969.
I saw them before that at Crewe Toll and other parks.
As i said,some pals followed them.
Think one of them had a big brother work at Ferranti and in the team.
So long ago,mind.Hazy memories,nowadays !!
My brother playing for Holy Cross in a cup final broke the crossbar at City Park !!!
I was in the main stand:greengrin
That is another hazy memory!
17-06-2022, 07:41 PM
I've a vague memory of Steve Archibald playing at City Park in the 90s. Was it a cup match when he was at East Fife or something?
Or was it a confused dream like so many others these days?
17-06-2022, 08:05 PM
I've a vague memory of Steve Archibald playing at City Park in the 90s. Was it a cup match when he was at East Fife or something?
Stevie made his debut for East Fife against Meadowbank Thistle at Meadowbank.. 94/95 season
Archibald was player/manager
I checked London Hearts website
East Fife did not play at City Park in Cup ties during his time there.
Maybe some friendly/fundraiser or such like.
Btw
City Park was an awful surface to play on when i was younger.
Yet so many finals,amateur and the like played there back in my youth.
Can only imagine cos it had a wee stand and toilets with cold and cold running water !!
17-06-2022, 08:06 PM
Can’t even call it football anymore, so I’m told (and can’t be arsed to make even a cursory check to see if I’m talking pish or not).
The Baldmans Comb
18-06-2022, 11:21 PM
I am sure this game took place with Archie lining up for East Fife though I couldn't say what the competition was but also thought it was a cup tie.
Spartans did play East Fife at home at City Park in the Scottish Cup in 1996 (6th January 0:0) when Archibald was at the club so it would have been this match.
19-06-2022, 07:09 AM
I am sure this game took place with Archie lining up for East Fife though I couldn't say what the competition was but also thought it was a cup tie.
Spartans did play East Fife at home at City Park in the Scottish Cup in 1996 (6th January 0:0) when Archibald was at the club so it would have been this match.
Heretoday and Baldmans comb havd good recollections.
I used to stay down the way just a few years before the time in question or would have recalled such talked about game
in that area.
You are correct
Stevie Archibald certainly was manager/player when East Fife came to Edinburgh to face Spartans in the Scottish Cup
East Fife won replay 3-0 after goaless draw at City Park at Ferry Road/Granton
East Fife played Meadowbank a few times during that period in same division ...i think !!
If the above is incorrect ....Blame London Hearts !!!