View Full Version : Australia v Peru

13-06-2022, 05:24 PM
7pm KO on BBC iPlayer and website. Boyle starting. One legged play off in Qatar.

EGL2000
13-06-2022, 05:31 PM
Peru big favs with the bookies, hopefully Boyle can work some magic.

13-06-2022, 05:35 PM
Free to watch in SkyBet

13-06-2022, 05:43 PM
Free to watch live on the BBC website:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/live/football/61751309

13-06-2022, 05:49 PM
7pm KO on BBC iPlayer and website. Boyle starting. One legged play off in Qatar.

For the world cup ?

13-06-2022, 05:51 PM
For the world cup ?

Yep.

Sioux
13-06-2022, 06:01 PM
Jackson playing as well as Boyle.

13-06-2022, 06:03 PM
For the world cup ?

Yes Asian and South American teams have an Intercontinental play-off for one of the places at the World Cup.

13-06-2022, 06:21 PM
New Zealand v Costa Rica tomorrow

leith lynx
13-06-2022, 06:25 PM
Jackson playing as well as Boyle.

Jamie Mclaren on bench

13-06-2022, 06:27 PM
New Zealand v Costa Rica tomorrow

:agree: Oceania teams and North/Central American teams play in the other Intercontinental play off.

13-06-2022, 06:30 PM
I think Oz would be better with Boyle up front, their forward players are pretty limited. His pace in behind would give them a bit more to aim for

13-06-2022, 06:32 PM
Nathaniel Atkinson looks more and more limited every time I watch him. Happy for Hearts to sign more players like him.

EGL2000
13-06-2022, 06:38 PM
Looks like a good number of peru fans have made the journey fair play.

13-06-2022, 06:51 PM
Peru have been a disappointment considering some of their qualifying results.

Hearts new CB looks a solid player to be fair

13-06-2022, 07:39 PM
Not sure why I’m still watching this - dire stuff. Both teams look like they want penalties. There’s still 15 mins to go and not a shot on target yet.

13-06-2022, 07:45 PM
Not sure why I’m still watching this - dire stuff. Both teams look like they want penalties. There’s still 15 mins to go and not a shot on target yet.

Poor isn't it? Not a significant attempt at goal in 80 minutes. The Peru of 2 or 3 years ago would've won this game. Some of their key players are the wrong side of 30 and winding down their careers now.

hibeg
13-06-2022, 07:47 PM
Think this is going to ET unfortunately.
Jamie Mc Laren coming on

13-06-2022, 07:58 PM
It is pretty poor.

13-06-2022, 07:58 PM
Peru seem to think they are playing Brazil! Absolutely zero ambition from them.

Maybe they’re just super confident in their penalty skills

13-06-2022, 08:11 PM
If Australia qualify , will it mean more money for Hearts ? Seem to remember us getting money from FIFA when de la Cruz played in WC .

13-06-2022, 08:16 PM
Think we should just bring back Boyle.

et_hibby
13-06-2022, 08:18 PM
If Australia qualify , will it mean more money for Hearts ? Seem to remember us getting money from FIFA when de la Cruz played in WC .
I heard this, yes.

alhibby
13-06-2022, 08:34 PM
Commentator just said it's an air conditioned stadium, as they will all be at the world Cup, how the hell does that work?

Sent from my SM-G988B using Tapatalk

Paul1642
13-06-2022, 08:36 PM
Commentator just said it's an air conditioned stadium, as they will all be at the world Cup, how the hell does that work?

Guess the stadiums all have a roof and an unlimited electricity account.

13-06-2022, 08:41 PM
'Mon the Hibee Aussies

hibeg
13-06-2022, 08:44 PM
Boyle misses his pen

13-06-2022, 08:45 PM
Boyle misses first pen

13-06-2022, 08:46 PM
Poor penalty from Boyle

May21/05/16
13-06-2022, 08:48 PM
The goalie is a clown

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

13-06-2022, 08:49 PM
OZ keeper is a bit of an arse

hibeg
13-06-2022, 08:54 PM
Sudden death now.

hibeg
13-06-2022, 08:56 PM
Daft keeper saves Boyle s blushes 😂😂

Boyle going to the World Cup.

Absoutley delighted.

Don't really have any issue with the Aussie keeper. It worked.

13-06-2022, 08:57 PM
Started off wanting Oz to win until I seen that idiot goalkeeper. He'll feel it was justified now and will be a hero over there but he just looked like a fanny

Aussie goalie. What a character.:greengrin

JammyDoidger
Get that goalie signed up Hibs. That's the kind of character we need, superb!

1875Sean
13-06-2022, 08:58 PM
Highly our new right back can get in the squad for the World Cup

hibeg
13-06-2022, 08:58 PM
Now to find out if any clauses in Boyle transfer

13-06-2022, 08:59 PM
Don't really have any issue with the Aussie keeper. It worked.

Yeah, can’t argue with results.

mayo hibee
One Scot heading to the World Cup at least.

Over the moon for Boyler, and Jamie Mac and Irvine too.

13-06-2022, 09:00 PM
3 former Hibs players at the World Cup is fantastic

I'm all for a daft goalie at penalties it's daft run ups that annoy me.

Started off wanting Oz to win until I seen that idiot goalkeeper. He'll feel it was justified now and will be a hero over there but he just looked like a fanny

Why is he an idiot?

His strategy helped qualify for the World Cup. I was thinking he was a genius.

13-06-2022, 09:01 PM

He doesn't look like a fanny - he looks like a national hero. His face will be on the front of every OZ paper tomorrow. And his antics will never be forgotten.

13-06-2022, 09:03 PM
He doesn't look like a fanny - he looks like a national hero. His face will be on the front of every OZ paper tomorrow. And his antics will never be forgotten.

I can’t believe he’s been called an idiot on here. I think he’s anything but stupid.

13-06-2022, 09:04 PM
I can’t believe he’s been called an idiot on here. I think he’s anything but stupid.

Its a fine line between idiot and genius - but it worked so he's a genius!

hibeg
13-06-2022, 09:15 PM
. The guy is now a national hero. Cue keepers in pre season practising the new method to put off the penalty takers 😀
Brilliant for the 3 ex Hibees in the squad.

The dalmeny
13-06-2022, 09:18 PM

a fanny who’s going to the World Cup, take that over not going every time

13-06-2022, 09:19 PM
I only saw extra time . From that it`s a pity Peru didn`t get through as they seemed to be trying to win and had better players technically at least . Wonder if Ron Gordon still has any contacts in Peru . Would be great to see an exciting , skilful forward in the team .

13-06-2022, 09:22 PM
Oz getting to World Cup has landed hearts £500k.

They ***** would fall into the Clyde n come out wi a salmon in their mooth

1875Sean
13-06-2022, 09:28 PM

Because they have one player in the squad?

13-06-2022, 09:33 PM
Congratulations to Australia and I'm happy for Martin and his family, hard work has paid off.

13-06-2022, 09:36 PM
Because they have one player in the squad?

2 now

13-06-2022, 09:56 PM

There were big air vents at the bottom of the stand walls blowing cool air

13-06-2022, 10:03 PM
I only saw extra time . From that it`s a pity Peru didn`t get through as they seemed to be trying to win and had better players technically at least . Wonder if Ron Gordon still has any contacts in Peru . Would be great to see an exciting , skilful forward in the team .

Peru obviously underestimated Oz…which admittedly seems a common occurrence.

Oz had most of the play and should have finished it in normal time, but yes, Peru played better in extra time.

I thought Peru would see us off, but Oz persevered.

BT..A couple of quick points Regarding our neighbours..

1 Kye Rowles played only his second international game and was very good.
2 Atkinson didn’t impress at right back…but I have been saying ever since he signed with Hearts that he is an attacking midfielder NOT a full back.

Our new signing Miller, and Rowles played for the same Oz side, and Miller will be in the squad for the WC finals Ireckon.

13-06-2022, 10:06 PM

Over 30°C at night in Doha just now so air conditioning is a must.

13-06-2022, 10:23 PM
Ron will be raging.

well done Boyle

13-06-2022, 10:34 PM
Over 30°C at night in Doha just now so air conditioning is a must.

Wuz 48 earlier…..

30 degrees is hot, but lots of games are played in circa 30 degrees…not unusual in Oz.

13-06-2022, 11:14 PM
Wuz 48 earlier…..

30 degrees is hot, but lots of games are played in circa 30 degrees…not unusual in Oz.

Yeah but just meant that's a night time temperature, 30°C at night is quite incredible. I know it's hot in the summer in Australia but doubt it's 30°C at night very often, except perhaps in the Outback.

48°C is bordering on being lethal.

13-06-2022, 11:15 PM
Why is he an idiot?

His strategy helped qualify for the World Cup. I was thinking he was a genius.

It wasn't as much the dancing it was when he went to give the Peru player the ball but instead dropped it at his feet and kicked it backwards. No need for it

13-06-2022, 11:50 PM
Probably find myself sporting and Oz strip come November !

14-06-2022, 01:45 AM
Yeah but just meant that's a night time temperature, 30°C at night is quite incredible. I know it's hot in the summer in Australia but doubt it's 30°C at night very often, except perhaps in the Outback.

48°C is bordering on being lethal.

Yep…45 is the hottest I have experienced in the burbs….and it is oppressive.

When I first arrived in Oz I can remember leaving the air conditioned pub at closing time…11pm and even though it was pitch black outside, it felt like walking into a blast furnace!

Dunno what it’s like now…at 11pm these days I am safely tucked up in bein myHibs pyjamas!

14-06-2022, 05:44 AM

Agree especially Boyler would have been a sore one missing his pen

14-06-2022, 06:11 AM

Nah , over the piece , Australia were the better team and deserved to go to the World Cup imo

McGruber
14-06-2022, 06:12 AM

Got to hand it to them here unfortunately. They look like they have secured a very good international centre back at a good age with the deal having paid for itself.

Perhaps Miller can force his way in - think he'll be very good business for us also, regardless if he makes it or not but would be good cash boost if he did

14-06-2022, 06:30 AM
The Proper World Cup would have started today.

Stairway 2 7
14-06-2022, 06:40 AM

320,000 for 2 players. They could have 3 we could have one though

The Baldmans Comb
14-06-2022, 06:53 AM

You don't seem to have any idea what was going on.😥

Australia put this plan into operation about a month ago and it was only known to their two goalkeepers with the tactics being to get inside the heads of the Peru players.

The 1st part of the plan was to bring on Redmayne with a few minutes to go to plant the seed that "this guy must be good" with the second part being to have him dance around on the line.

They knew were sacrificing a few penalties as he was so far out of position but he just needed to get inside the heads of 1/2 of the Peru players and that would give Australia 20% more chance of qualifying.

It was genius by Graham Arnold and his two keepers.✅👍

Dmas
14-06-2022, 06:59 AM
Nah , over the piece , Australia were the better team and deserved to go to the World Cup imo

Peru lacked anything final 3rd a lot of decent possession all falling to bits close to the box, the new Jambo looked decent unfortunately, read the game well made a few important interceptions

14-06-2022, 07:07 AM
Can you point your fingers and do the twist?

Think we’ve all got a team for the WC now at least!

14-06-2022, 07:11 AM
Huge congratulations to Boyle - can’t wait to see him play. Regardless of how they get on, it’s still something to say you’ve played Vs Mbappe, Benzema etc on the biggest of stages.

14-06-2022, 07:36 AM

Australia put this plan into operation about a month ago and it was only known to their two goalkeepers with the tactics being to get inside the heads of the Peru players.

The 1st part of the plan was to bring on Redmayne with a few minutes to go to plant the seed that "this guy must be good" with the second part being to have him dance around on the line.

They knew were sacrificing a few penalties as he was so far out of position but he just needed to get inside the heads of 1/2 of the Peru players and that would give Australia 20% more chance of qualifying.

Only genius because it worked. :greengrin

14-06-2022, 07:56 AM

I completely understand what was going on. It's becoming a theme these days to bring on goalies at the end of extra time specifically for penalty shoot outs. The antics on the line and kicking the ball away from the players just isn't my cup of tea.

14-06-2022, 08:24 AM
Got to hand it to them here unfortunately. They look like they have secured a very good international centre back at a good age with the deal having paid for itself.

Perhaps Miller can force his way in - think he'll be very good business for us also, regardless if he makes it or not but would be good cash boost if he did

If the selling team never factored that cash bonus it the deal them someone needs the boot.

14-06-2022, 08:28 AM
Was anyone complaining when Conrad Logan was sledging the Dundee Utd players in the SC semi shoot out?

Stairway 2 7
14-06-2022, 08:43 AM
Was anyone complaining when Conrad Logan was sledging the Dundee Utd players in the SC semi shoot out?

Budgie told ally mcoist he was going to break his back in the league Cup semi

14-06-2022, 08:44 AM
Budgie told ally mcoist he was going to break his back in the league Cup semi

I thought that was to Hateley?

Stairway 2 7
14-06-2022, 08:45 AM
I thought that was to Hateley?

Your right actually, I need to rewatch the documentary bbc done

14-06-2022, 08:49 AM
Well done Australia, think that may be 5 world cups in a row now, cannot all be luck, I remember when we used to be able to get to them as well.
Chuffed for Boyle he deserves all good football things.

Stairway 2 7
14-06-2022, 08:54 AM
Well done Australia, think that may be 5 world cups in a row now, cannot all be luck, I remember when we used to be able to get to them as well.
Chuffed for Boyle he deserves all good football things.

They wouldn't get into almost any if they were in Europe. But it makes it better that it's a global competition. Think most of Edinburgh will be supporting them including myself

14-06-2022, 09:01 AM
They wouldn't get into almost any if they were in Europe. But it makes it better that it's a global competition. Think most of Edinburgh will be supporting them including myself

Aye and if yer auntie had baws blah, blah, blah. It is a wonderful achievement and I dont know why so many freezing cold northerners slag off the level of football. They have some cracking players that I would love to see in a Scotland top or playing in Scotland.

I'm Spartacus
14-06-2022, 09:23 AM
See with a player like Boyle, could we not have said "Ok, if Oz and you get to the World cup we will hand over the FIFA money the club will receive for you being there".

Hearts have a player paid for with that money.

The keeper is just a typical mental keeper, you need these personalities.

Stairway 2 7
14-06-2022, 09:24 AM
Aye and if yer auntie had baws blah, blah, blah. It is a wonderful achievement and I dont know why so many freezing cold northerners slag off the level of football. They have some cracking players that I would love to see in a Scotland top or playing in Scotland.

2 starters play for hearts

14-06-2022, 11:08 AM
If the selling team never factored that cash bonus it the deal them someone needs the boot.

Reported over here as 30%.

I'm Spartacus
14-06-2022, 11:21 AM
2 starters play for hearts

So they've replaced Souttar with a defender going to the WC?

That Atkinson does look pish IMO so hopefully he's of the same standard.

14-06-2022, 12:00 PM
So they've replaced Souttar with a defender going to the WC?

That Atkinson does look pish IMO so hopefully he's of the same standard.

I wouldn't look too much into it. Mark Milligan went to yhe World cup and although he was alright for us he wasn't exactly a stand out player or someone i would be worried about lining up against us

I'm Spartacus
14-06-2022, 12:12 PM
I wouldn't look too much into it. Mark Milligan went to yhe World cup and although he was alright for us he wasn't exactly a stand out player or someone i would be worried about lining up against us

Mark Milligan. Instantly forgettable! Great shout :)

14-06-2022, 12:19 PM
The Keeper was bizarre 😆 but entertaining well done 👏 Aus and the ex hibees

14-06-2022, 08:52 PM

Yes that was shocking and tainted the victory :greengrin

14-06-2022, 09:16 PM
https://i.ibb.co/gd2qNZG/C6083259-C7-F9-4-ECB-8555-BB1-C1-E64946-E.png (https://ibb.co/KDP4dxY)

SideBurns
14-06-2022, 09:24 PM

And before that, Budgie was giving McCoist & Hatelely it tight in the tunnel before the LC semi in '91. Brilliant stuff 😆

15-06-2022, 05:36 AM
https://i.ibb.co/gd2qNZG/C6083259-C7-F9-4-ECB-8555-BB1-C1-E64946-E.png (https://ibb.co/KDP4dxY)

Great photo :flag:

15-06-2022, 08:42 AM

Hibees here, Hibees there, Hibees everywhere, brilliant stuff.

15-06-2022, 09:02 AM

Mark Milligan actually went to 4 World Cup finals.

Sproule Three
15-06-2022, 09:15 AM
do

No a bad photo that one Billy .
Think I ken the gadgie who took it 😉

Bit frustrating that Mark Milligan was only about 20m away .
McLaren called him over but he got lead elsewhere . Wasn’t playing that night .
Forza Fred and I got one of him outside the ground .

Was Boyles starting debut for Aus and Tim Cahill’s last game