View Full Version : Celebrity Fans

09-06-2022, 05:26 PM
Surprised Cicero and Kenny Richey never made the list, but then again it is a a list packed with proper A Listers.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-famous-fans-12-celebrity-names-who-follow-the-jambos-2871183

09-06-2022, 05:36 PM
How to lose any street cred you may have in about 3 seconds.

'I'm actually a Hearts fan, you know the famous'.

09-06-2022, 05:51 PM
Wee Ronnie Corbett, if you include the dead ones.

Stairway 2 7
09-06-2022, 05:57 PM
Surprised Cicero and Kenny Richey never made the list, but then again it is a a list packed with proper A Listers.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-famous-fans-12-celebrity-names-who-follow-the-jambos-2871183

That's brutal 😆

09-06-2022, 06:32 PM
EEN struggling for stories, it'll be the Hibs ones tomorrow.

09-06-2022, 06:34 PM

Then they'll no doubt moan we're copying them and they were the first and hugest team to ever have celebrity fans.

Roxyhibee
09-06-2022, 09:53 PM
Well although he was a few years older than me, Alan Wells stayed at the bottom of my street and was in my BBs and I have no recollection of him being a Hearts supporter or even having the slightest interest in football at all. You knew all the guys in your area back then and you definitely knew if they were supporters and of which team. Someone probably took him along a handful of times or something and that’s enough for the desperate Gorgie morons to claim him as one of theirs.

donno
09-06-2022, 10:23 PM
EEN struggling for stories, it'll be the Hibs ones tomorrow.To be fair, we both have crap celebrity fans.
It's not like Ryan Reynolds bought the club, and comes to the games.
C list celebs at most!

Sent from my JNY-LX1 using Tapatalk

09-06-2022, 10:49 PM
Still reckon our bunch of B listers will be better than their rogues gallery

I mean we have Iain Stirling for a start and I have no even started yet 😀

10-06-2022, 03:48 AM
I wonder if this the type of article the journalist had in mind when he was a fresh faced youngster studying hard to get to the top of his profession? FFS ....... hahahahahahahahahahahaha...

10-06-2022, 08:59 AM
To be fair, we both have crap celebrity fans.
It's not like Ryan Reynolds bought the club, and comes to the games.
C list celebs at most!

Sent from my JNY-LX1 using Tapatalk

Umm, we have a fan from another world.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TqeXndn0qyQ&ab_channel=Kennethibs

hibby rae
10-06-2022, 10:18 AM
Surely Ferdinand Foch and Douglas Haig should be there. If not for them, we'd be speaking the Kaiser's German.

As an aside, Grant Hutchison yes, but Scott told me he didn't give a **** about football.

10-06-2022, 11:12 AM
Do I count as a famous fan? My Twitch streams usually get over five viewers.

10-06-2022, 11:46 AM
Well although he was a few years older than me, Alan Wells stayed at the bottom of my street and was in my BBs and I have no recollection of him being a Hearts supporter or even having the slightest interest in football at all. You knew all the guys in your area back then and you definitely knew if they were supporters and of which team. Someone probably took him along a handful of times or something and that’s enough for the desperate Gorgie morons to claim him as one of theirs. I worked beside Alan wells back in early seventies and he was definitely a jambo but he probably didn’t go due to being into athletics.

10-06-2022, 04:01 PM

You called it
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/people/hibs-famous-fans-12-celebrity-names-who-follow-the-hibees-2871189

10-06-2022, 04:16 PM
Stellar list there to be sure .... delighted to see that edjit who presents 'the 9' on the Scotland channel is one of them, I thought he was a bit of a tosser even before I saw him in that rogues gallery :greengrin

10-06-2022, 04:22 PM
Always sad that Frightened Rabbit are on the wrong side. Their music is too good for that.

10-06-2022, 04:55 PM
You called it
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/people/hibs-famous-fans-12-celebrity-names-who-follow-the-hibees-2871189When did Steven Speilberg change his name to "Fish"?

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

cameronw-hfc
10-06-2022, 05:25 PM
You called it
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/people/hibs-famous-fans-12-celebrity-names-who-follow-the-hibees-2871189

Even worse that it's a copy of this 2 year old article

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/people/12-famous-faces-who-follow-hibs-2871189

London Hibs FC
10-06-2022, 05:48 PM
The journalist behind the two features is actually a good Hibby.

10-06-2022, 06:03 PM
Why is there only 10 showing when article says 12🤔

10-06-2022, 06:05 PM
ET, no more to be said on this subject.

10-06-2022, 06:07 PM
Why is there only 10 showing when article says 12🤔

Two Proclaimers and Murray brothers takes it to 12?

10-06-2022, 07:08 PM
Two Proclaimers and Murray brothers takes it to 12?

I should have counted the people. I am sure there is many more Hibs celebrity fans.

Green Reaper
10-06-2022, 07:27 PM
No ET or Saddam Hussain 😬

10-06-2022, 07:31 PM
No ET or Saddam Hussain 😬

Or Will Ferrell...

10-06-2022, 08:00 PM

Was Cicero not Roma?

“Civis romanus sum”

skankomcphee
11-06-2022, 10:15 AM
The TV presenter David Torrance was in the year above me at Leith Academy and a big Hibby.

allyh1bs
11-06-2022, 09:30 PM
Kate Bush??

11-06-2022, 09:52 PM
Chief Commissioner Cameron Meikelson

https://youtu.be/RTuYfo4wDK4

Jakhog1
12-06-2022, 10:54 AM
The TV presenter David Torrance was in the year above me at Leith Academy and a big Hibby.

Not sure if it's the same David Torrance but he was in my primary class at Craigentinny, had a twin brother Michael

12-06-2022, 10:37 PM
Not sure if it's the same David Torrance but he was in my primary class at Craigentinny, had a twin brother Michael

It is indeed - I know both Torrance twins well, and indeed made them aware of this thread earlier tonight!

Juice-Terry
12-06-2022, 11:04 PM
Where's big John Leslie?

13-06-2022, 06:28 AM
You called it

Rather bizarre that a list of famous Hibs fans has Lloyd Quinnan (an ex STV weather presenter.........) on it, and doesnt have Ian Blackford, leader of the SNP at Westminster there.

13-06-2022, 07:35 AM
Rather bizarre that a list of famous Hibs fans has Lloyd Quinnan (an ex STV weather presenter.........) on it, and doesnt have Ian Blackford, leader of the SNP at Westminster there.

Never used to like Ian Blackford used to think he was an annoying little toad but now I know he is a Hibby great guy and really funny with it :greengrin

13-06-2022, 10:23 AM
Where's big John Leslie?

Saughton? (joke).

13-06-2022, 12:06 PM
Always sad that Frightened Rabbit are on the wrong side. Their music is too good for that.

That's why they were so good at downbeat songs.

evy
13-06-2022, 03:01 PM
Never used to like Ian Blackford used to think he was an annoying little toad but now I know he is a Hibby great guy and really funny with it :greengrin

If he's ever doing a TV interview from the house there tends to be some Hibs items in the background of the shot.

13-06-2022, 03:07 PM
If he's ever doing a TV interview from the house there tends to be some Hibs items in the background of the shot.

Yip always loads of hibs books and always sports a green tie

A good egg

13-06-2022, 03:14 PM

Was he not an Admin on the Bounce or am I imagining it? Sure I read something

13-06-2022, 03:41 PM
Was he not an Admin on the Bounce or am I imagining it? Sure I read something

Was certainly a regular poster I think

Berwickhibby
13-06-2022, 03:44 PM

Nah you first opinion is still correct 😀

15-06-2022, 10:31 PM
Chief Commissioner Cameron Meikelson

https://youtu.be/RTuYfo4wDK4

Ken Beatie from same show also a Hibbie

15-06-2022, 11:17 PM
Me.

Earlydelivery
16-06-2022, 04:40 AM
Jamie Sives Actor from Lochend.. huge Hibby .

16-06-2022, 05:16 AM
Guy who narrates Love Island is a Hibs fan.

16-06-2022, 06:46 AM
Jamie Sives Actor from Lochend.. huge Hibby .

He wore Mickey Weir’s 1991 League cup top in an episode of ‘Guilt’

16-06-2022, 06:53 AM
Grant Stott

Spoiler Alert

Getting interviewed soon by the Longbangers gang on a podcast near you :greengrin

16-06-2022, 07:08 AM
Dougray Scott big Hibby

Brian Cox

His laddies bought him Hearts thinking they were Hibs 😀

https://youtu.be/wKpzcxBBRUQ

Green Reaper
16-06-2022, 05:06 PM
Dougray Scott big Hibby

Brian Cox

Just watched that episode last weekend, brilliant 😂

16-06-2022, 06:25 PM

👍

Earlydelivery
16-06-2022, 06:29 PM
He wore Mickey Weir’s 1991 League cup top in an episode of ‘Guilt’
Good pal of mine been going to ER more regularly now that he’s home a lot

16-06-2022, 06:37 PM
Good pal of mine been going to ER more regularly now that he’s home a lot

I know Jamie as well, worked with him for a few years - a good lad and was a decent player in his younger years.

Mark Bonnar (from Guilt) is from Leith, no idea if he is a Hibby as well?

16-06-2022, 07:07 PM
Bob Marley.

16-06-2022, 08:56 PM
James Cordon posted the SOL 2016 version on his social media.

Berwickhibby
16-06-2022, 08:59 PM
Billy McElhaney and Tam Dean Burn

20-06-2022, 09:15 PM
Dougray Scott big Hibby

Brian Cox

Brian Cox not a Dundee fan

21-06-2022, 02:57 AM
Brian Cox not a Dundee fan

Yip

It was a joke in the context of the series 😀

21-06-2022, 05:04 AM
Bob Marley.

Celtic daft unfortunately

21-06-2022, 06:13 AM

His dug used to post on here though?

21-06-2022, 07:06 PM

It was a reference to a fanzine cover.

21-06-2022, 07:42 PM

It’s a good laugh, but seeing as Logan Roy is from Dundee there was a better visual joke to be had there, given the proximity of the two clubs.

22-06-2022, 02:06 PM
Yip

It was a joke in the context of the series 😀

Yes I know I have seen it before. Brian Cox seemed to be quoted as saying he didn't really support a team but his cousin I think Bobby Cox played for Dundee. So many double entendres with that name :greengrin

Green Reaper
22-06-2022, 02:55 PM
It’s a good laugh, but seeing as Logan Roy is from Dundee there was a better visual joke to be had there, given the proximity of the two clubs.

Good shout. Also, later on Roman and Stuart turn up at what was meant to be hertz training but no maroon anywhere, black/ dark blue gear being worn, dark blue for Dundee?

22-06-2022, 03:05 PM
Yes I know I have seen it before. Brian Cox seemed to be quoted as saying he didn't really support a team but his cousin I think Bobby Cox played for Dundee. So many double entendres with that name :greengrin
As another poster pointed out better laugh if it was Dundee/Dundee United as they are only a street length apart

The Americans probably wouldn’t get it though

22-06-2022, 04:42 PM

Wee Boaby Cox spent his entire pro career at Dundee and was a central part of their greatest ever side in the early sixties.

Managed by the great Bob Shankly,Boaby Cox along with team mates like Bobby Seith and Bobby Wishart, was part of a team full of exceptional ball players................................

......And Gordon Smith :greengrin

Edit:
Lol
Bobby Cox ran a pub in Dundee called "The Sliding Tackle!:greengrin
And of course a big stand at Dens bares(sic) his name.

Seriously. as usual back then when SFA "picked" the national team, Bobby, like many others who did not play in Glasgow got ignored.He deserved to represent his Country.

22-06-2022, 08:53 PM
Rod Stewart’s dad.

22-06-2022, 08:57 PM
Rod Stewart’s dad.Did a poor job bringing up his laddie in the football supporting stakes.

Fi' Porty.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Stairway 2 7
23-06-2022, 03:59 AM
Rod Stewart’s dad.

Always annoys me when he says in interviews my dad got me into football he was a hibs fan from leith. Why disappoint your da and be celtic then you prick

23-06-2022, 05:29 AM
Pat Nevin

23-06-2022, 07:44 AM
Guy who narrates Love Island is a Hibs fan.

I believe the Scottish/Edinburgh guy who's on the show this year is a grandson of a former Hibs player - he might be a Hibs fan...

Yes, that is the sound of the barrel being scraped you can hear.

23-06-2022, 10:13 AM
I believe the Scottish/Edinburgh guy who's on the show this year is a grandson of a former Hibs player - he might be a Hibs fan...

Yes, that is the sound of the barrel being scraped you can hear.

Aye !
Reminds of the feature film of the tv comedy Porridge.

Football match
Cons V Various TV Celebrities
As the celebs came off the coach someone asked Fulton Mackay which one was the Goodie (they didn't show)
Also spotted was the guy who read the weather forecast on BBC Radio Anglia.

PS
Watching Fulton Mackay reffing the game in the film reminded me of our own referees qualities and sense of fair play.

23-06-2022, 01:09 PM
Was always under the impression that Gary Anderson is a Hibs fan.

23-06-2022, 03:07 PM

He is :agree:

Done the Scottish cup draw one year and said he supported hibs when he lived in Musselburgh

23-06-2022, 09:40 PM
He is :agree:

Done the Scottish cup draw one year and said he supported hibs when he lived in Musselburgh

Might as well close the thread 😉

24-06-2022, 02:56 PM

Can remember him being given a strip by the club with Anderson 180 on the back

24-06-2022, 03:09 PM
Can remember him being given a strip by the club with Anderson 180 on the back

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CX0vZbQWQAAqwA0.jpg

Tommy75
24-06-2022, 07:20 PM
Always annoys me when he says in interviews my dad got me into football he was a hibs fan from leith. Why disappoint your da and be celtic then you prick

Was he no a Rangers fan before he was a Celtic fan?

Silky
24-06-2022, 07:40 PM
I'm sure Elton John's guitarist Davey Johnstone is a Hibby. Sure I read he's an Edinburgh boy.

24-06-2022, 07:41 PM
I'm sure Elton John's guitarist Davey Johnstone is a Hibby. Sure I read he's an Edinburgh boy.

He's from Carrick Knowe.

25-06-2022, 09:56 AM
Was he no a Rangers fan before he was a Celtic fan?

No but before he was ‘Celtc daft’ he was pictured in a Hun strip a couple of times. At least once was when playing in a charity match. This was when he was still a big Scotland fan, before abandoning them for Celtc as it got him more publicity.

25-06-2022, 12:34 PM
Just asked him on twitter and the comedian Mark Watson is now a Hibby :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

25-06-2022, 09:24 PM
No but before he was ‘Celtc daft’ he was pictured in a Hun strip a couple of times. At least once was when playing in a charity match. This was when he was still a big Scotland fan, before abandoning them for Celtc as it got him more publicity. Not an expert on RS but is there not a line from one of his songs from 70s ( so probably about time Scotland started run of qualifying for WCs ) " you`re my Celtic , United " . Celtic fan for a long time . Maybe like many since 1967 .

25-06-2022, 09:43 PM
Off topic slightly but I'm always surprised at the number of people down south who have Hibs as their Scottish team. Actually surprised is the wrong word we're cool as ****.

Renfrew_Hibby
25-06-2022, 10:02 PM
Just asked him on twitter and the comedian Mark Watson is now a Hibby :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Is that the lad who's a Bristol City fan? Think we'll have a few Robins keeping one eye on us this season.

25-06-2022, 10:21 PM
Is that the lad who's a Bristol City fan? Think we'll have a few Robins keeping one eye on us this season.

Yep, he replied “Where LJ goes I go” and “Sunshine on Leith!”

25-06-2022, 10:40 PM
Off topic slightly but I'm always surprised at the number of people down south who have Hibs as their Scottish team. Actually surprised is the wrong word we're cool as ****.

The biggest shock for me living in Newcastle was how many people haven't even heard of us. Mental.

25-06-2022, 11:13 PM
Off topic slightly but I'm always surprised at the number of people down south who have Hibs as their Scottish team. Actually surprised is the wrong word we're cool as ****.I worked in various places in England in 1980s and 90s and Hibs were always popular with football fans but mainly for Irish name and history . Beyond UK , results in European competitions bring recognition though less so now with so many clubs playing in competitions . When we were playing Juventus or Sporting Lisbon in 1970s there were less than a 100 clubs in European competitions , now there seem to be hundreds and most are unknown for most fans in other countries . Outside Scotland , I`ve found very few folk know Hearts for example and if they know them it`s for something funny like Romanov era or in England for results ( I was in a pub in England on night they were drubbed at home by Spurs and I remember locals laughing about them ) .

26-06-2022, 07:35 AM
Not an expert on RS but is there not a line from one of his songs from 70s ( so probably about time Scotland started run of qualifying for WCs ) " you`re my Celtic , United " . Celtic fan for a long time . Maybe like many since 1967 .

Your in my heart is the song.

Hibs do appear to have a fair share of celebrity fans. Another is the bassist of the Aussie band Five Seconds of Summer, Callum Hood. In one of their videos he appears in a Hibs top. I believe his dad is a Hibby from Edinburgh.

26-06-2022, 07:43 AM
Finlay Quaye been mentioned ?