View Full Version : What If (Coronation Cup)

DanishJohn
04-06-2022, 11:01 AM
Have been watching on TV and reading in papers everything regarding the Queen's Platinum Jubilee and the celebrations.

Wouldn't it be great if the British Football authorities could be persuaded to reprise the Coronation Cup from 1953.
Rerun it in it's original format with the top four |(and biggest clubs in Scotland) Celtic, Rangers, Hibs and Aberdeen going head to head with England's original entrants Manchester United, Newcastle United, Arsenal and Tottenham Hotspur.

I wonder how the Hibees would do.

On a footnote to that story, my auld man followed the Hibs in their great days (Famous Five) and as the years went by two little things used to niggle him.

Hibs should have won the Coronation Cup . After hammering Newcastle Utd (who many thought were the best team in England) 4-0 We then go and lose the final to a very mediocre Celtic team.

The European Cup came 3 years too late for Hibs. He was convinced The Hibs 1952 team would have beaten the great Real Madrid.

Only opinions though!

04-06-2022, 11:19 AM
Have been watching on TV and reading in papers everything regarding the Queen's Platinum Jubilee and the celebrations.

Wouldn't it be great if the British Football authorities could be persuaded to reprise the Coronation Cup from 1953.
Rerun it in it's original format with the top four |(and biggest clubs in Scotland) Celtic, Rangers, Hibs and Aberdeen going head to head with England's original entrants Manchester United, Newcastle United, Arsenal and Tottenham Hotspur.

On a footnote to that story, my auld man followed the Hibs in their great days (Famous Five) and as the years went by two little things used to niggle him.

Hibs should have won the Coronation Cup . After hammering Newcastle Utd (who many thought were the best team in England) 4-0 We then go and lose the final to a very mediocre Celtic team.

The European Cup came 3 years too late for Hibs. He was convinced The Hibs 1952 team would have beaten the great Real Madrid.

Only opinions though!

My grandad, Jimmy Devlin his son Jimmy and all my other older Flynn cousins/uncles from the Market.West Port at that time drowned sorrows in their beers at not winning the Coronation Cup.
Likewise ,as you say,the European Cup came a few seasons too late for us.
We certainly would have been top challengers for it.
It cannot be emphasised enough how good Hibs were in those post war years.
Ask the top English teams we hammered...and the Brazilians we taught !!:greengrin:greengrin

Matt Busby thought we were the team to emulate in those days during and after WW2
Our managers too ,Willie Mc Cartney and Hugh Shaw must have had more to them than their photos we see with them in their homburg hats and big overcoats !
They knew the game ! They knew the game!
Dont you wish to have seen their teams in full flight !

Glory! Glory!

04-06-2022, 11:20 AM

Only opinions though!

Like. A lot. Except if it was top four today we wouldn’t get in!

04-06-2022, 12:25 PM
The Celtic keeper, Johnny Bonnar was very erratic, was always in and out the team. Unfortunately he had the game of his life in The Coronation Final. We battered them for 90 minutes but couldn't score. John was known as Coronation Bonnar after that! I think his son went to Holy X.

Edina Street
04-06-2022, 01:43 PM
If Dundee were capable of reaching the Semi-Final of the 1962-63 European Cup with a thirty-eight year old Gordon Smith, then Hibernian would have surely been capable of reaching the European Cup Final with a twenty-four to twenty-eight year old Gordon Smith.
https://www.worldfootball.net/report/champions-league-1962-1963-halbfinale-dundee-fc-ac-milan/

04-06-2022, 03:27 PM
The Celtic keeper, Johnny Bonnar was very erratic, was always in and out the team. Unfortunately he had the game of his life in The Coronation Final. We battered them for 90 minutes but couldn't score. John was known as Coronation Bonnar after that! I think his son went to Holy X.Was going to post similar. If you read the contemporary match reports it describes wave after wave of Hibs attacks and corner after corner but Celtc had a pretty solid defensive set-up in those days and they held out.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

04-06-2022, 04:14 PM
I've read the argument a few times about the European Cup and how Hibs would have won it if it had been a bit earlier, during their heyday.

The logical (and obviously heretical) counter to that argument is that they played in multiple Cup competitions when they were in their peak... and didn't win any of them either.

My dad said it's the one disappointment he has of watching the great team of that era, that he didn't get to see them lift the League or Scottish Cup.

DanishJohn
04-06-2022, 05:58 PM
I've read the argument a few times about the European Cup and how Hibs would have won it if it had been a bit earlier, during their heyday.

The logical (and obviously heretical) counter to that argument is that they played in multiple Cup competitions when they were in their peak... and didn't win any of them either.

My dad said it's the one disappointment he has of watching the great team of that era, that he didn't get to see them lift the League or Scottish Cup.

Could also be argued though, that whilst Hibs were playing in domestic competitions they were probably playing against a lot of thuggery and brute force (think how Airdrie used to stop us back in the late 80s/early 90s. A good football team at times over 90 mins could be stopped.

The European Cup was a celebration of football. I doubt if in the early years whilst they were showcasing the tournament the kicking would have been tolerated.
They wanted the beautiful game played the beautiful way and shown that way to all the football peoples of Europe and beyond.

Bridge hibs
04-06-2022, 06:09 PM
My grandad, Jimmy Devlin his son Jimmy and all my other older Flynn cousins/uncles from the Market.West Port at that time drowned sorrows in their beers at not winning the Coronation Cup.
Likewise ,as you say,the European Cup came a few seasons too late for us.
We certainly would have been top challengers for it.
It cannot be emphasised enough how good Hibs were in those post war years.
Ask the top English teams we hammered...and the Brazilians we taught !!:greengrin:greengrin

Matt Busby thought we were the team to emulate in those days during and after WW2
Our managers too ,Willie Mc Cartney and Hugh Shaw must have had more to them than their photos we see with them in their homburg hats and big overcoats !
They knew the game ! They knew the game!
Dont you wish to have seen their teams in full flight !

Glory! Glory!Love your posts Mick, its kind of like buying a hibs book 70s onwards but the pages before then are blank, you are filling those pages up with your knowledge, brilliant and thanks 🇳🇬👍

04-06-2022, 06:14 PM
It would be a series of obliterations nowadays.

04-06-2022, 06:21 PM
Love your posts Mick, its kind of like buying a hibs book 70s onwards but the pages before then are blank, you are filling those pages up with your knowledge, brilliant and thanks ������

Thank you,Bridge hibs :greengrin

Sometimes threads just prompt me,or jog the old memory banks.
No bad thing at my age,Keeps me and the old cells going.
This old Hibby sometimes recalls things thought long forgot,if you know what i mean!

04-06-2022, 06:33 PM

Hibernian fans will forever wonder as to the why of it all.
That it took so long for major cup success.

But think on this ,had 1939/45 not disrupted the domestic game/leagues ..
Who knows what our Club may have achieved in those years lost to war?
Those players during that period,not just the Famous Five, were the top class footballers of their time,not just in Scotland.

Edina Street
04-06-2022, 06:47 PM
I wonder what the Hibernian chants were back in the days of the 1953 Coronation Cup? I know Hibernian were most likely the originals to release the song "Glory Glory" in the late fifties, before it became copied by Tottenham Hotspur in 1961, then by Leeds United in 1968, then finally by Manchester United in 1994.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Glory_Glory_(football_chant)

Not so sure about "Hail Hail". According to Wikipedia this was first sang by Celtic in 1961. Wikipedia even claims that this is "The Celtic Song".
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Celtic_Song

Did Hibernian supporters sing "Glory Glory" on the terraces before the release of the record? Did Hibernian supporters sing "Hail Hail" prior to 1961?.

04-06-2022, 08:03 PM
I wonder what the Hibernian chants were back in the days of the 1953 Coronation Cup? I know Hibernian were most likely the originals to release the song "Glory Glory" in the late fifties, before it became copied by Tottenham Hotspur in 1961, then by Leeds United in 1968, then finally by Manchester United in 1994.

Not so sure about "Hail Hail". According to Wikipedia this was first sang by Celtic in 1961. Wikipedia even claims that this is "The Celtic Song".

Did Hibernian supporters sing "Glory Glory" on the terraces before the release of the record? Did Hibernian supporters sing "Hail Hail" prior to 1961?.

Don't remember Hibs supporters singing anything in those days.

04-06-2022, 08:26 PM
Don't remember Hibs supporters singing anything in those days.

A Gordon fur me, a Gordon fur me,

If your no a Gordon yir nae use tae me,

Willie Groves wiz braw,

Sandy McMahon an’ them ‘aw,

But the cocky wee Gordon

Is the pride o’ them ‘aw

04-06-2022, 08:27 PM

On that theme Celtic were so delighted about their Coronation success that there was a song written about it. It was several verses long and I can only remember bits of it. The final 2 lines though were; "Hibs met Celts in the final and lo and behold, all Hampden was covered in green, white and gold." The song celebrated the irony that in a special Coronation tourney, the final was contested by 2 teams with Irish heritage.

04-06-2022, 08:33 PM
A Gordon fur me, a Gordon fur me,

If your no a Gordon yir nae use tae me,

Willie Groves wiz braw,

Sandy McMahon an’ them ‘aw,

But the cocky wee Gordon

Is the pride o’ them ‘aw

Forgot a Gordon for Me :greengrin
That was sung as they carried him round the pitch when he broke his leg(or had it broken to be more accurate).

04-06-2022, 08:47 PM
On that theme Celtic were so delighted about their Coronation success that there was a song written about it. It was several verses long and I can only remember bits of it. The final 2 lines though were; "Hibs met Celts in the final and lo and behold, all Hampden was covered in green, white and gold." The song celebrated the irony that in a special Coronation tourney, the final was contested by 2 teams with Irish heritage.
Brian
I remember an old Celtic pal from The Blackie singing that song.

Over 117,000 piled into Hampden to see the
Battle of the Greens. 20th May 1953
Celtic and Hibs had reached the final.
Seeing off Rangers and the best that England could muster.

On Hibs songs when i was wee !
Mostly would hear variations of Irish folk and rebel songs.
A few one or two line chants to tunes of the day.
Like now with some songs/chants.

Ok
The Coronation Cup Song (Recited or to the tune:Hearts song)
Quite apt for this jubilee week !
Big Geordie is The Rangers 1872 captain,George Young.
The Queens consort in Scotland :greengrin

Said Lizzie to Phillip as they sat down to dine,
I've just had a note from an old friend of mine,

His name is 'Big Geordie' he's loyal and true,
And his dirty big nose is a light shade of blue.

He says that the Rangers are right on their game,

And ask for a trophy to add to their fame,

I'll send up a cup that the Rangers can win,
Said Phillip to Liz watch the Celts don't step in.

Said Lizzie to Phillip they don't stand a chance,

I'll send up my Gunners to lead them a dance,

With Celtic defeated the way will be clear,

A cup for the Rangers in my crowning year.

But alas for their hopes for the loyal true blues,

The Celts beat the Gunners and Manchester too,

Beat Hibs in the final and oh what a scene,

Sure Hampden was covered in banners of green.

Said Lizzie to Phillip when she heard the grim news,

A blow has been struck at our loyal true blues,

Oh tell me dear Phillip and you ought to know,

How to keep Glasgow Celtic defeated below.

Said Phillip to Lizzie there's only one way,

I've known of their secret for many a day,

To keep the Celts down you will have to deport,

The whole Fenian army that gives them support

Last two lines reads a bit like the Famine Song.
How things DONT change.

04-06-2022, 09:57 PM
Brian
I remember an old Celtic pal from The Blackie singing that song.

Over 117,000 piled into Hampden to see the
Battle of the Greens. 20th May 1953
Celtic and Hibs had reached the final.
Seeing off Rangers and the best that England could muster.

On Hibs songs when i was wee !
Mostly would hear variations of Irish folk and rebel songs.
A few one or two line chants to tunes of the day.
Like now with some songs/chants.

Ok
The Coronation Cup Song (Recited or to the tune:Hearts song)
Quite apt for this jubilee week !
Big Geordie is The Rangers 1872 captain,George Young.
The Queens consort in Scotland :greengrin

Said Lizzie to Phillip as they sat down to dine,
I've just had a note from an old friend of mine,

His name is 'Big Geordie' he's loyal and true,
And his dirty big nose is a light shade of blue.

He says that the Rangers are right on their game,

And ask for a trophy to add to their fame,

I'll send up a cup that the Rangers can win,
Said Phillip to Liz watch the Celts don't step in.

Said Lizzie to Phillip they don't stand a chance,

I'll send up my Gunners to lead them a dance,

With Celtic defeated the way will be clear,

A cup for the Rangers in my crowning year.

But alas for their hopes for the loyal true blues,

The Celts beat the Gunners and Manchester too,

Beat Hibs in the final and oh what a scene,

Sure Hampden was covered in banners of green.

Said Lizzie to Phillip when she heard the grim news,

A blow has been struck at our loyal true blues,

Oh tell me dear Phillip and you ought to know,

How to keep Glasgow Celtic defeated below.

Said Phillip to Lizzie there's only one way,

I've known of their secret for many a day,

To keep the Celts down you will have to deport,

The whole Fenian army that gives them support

Last two lines reads a bit like the Famine Song.
How things DONT change.

Why am I not surprised you knew it all Michael! Excellent!

04-06-2022, 10:03 PM

My dad said it's the one disappointment he has of watching the great team of that era, that he didn't get to see them lift the League or Scottish Cup.Has to be taken into account. Always slipped up in cup competitions.

A few goals here and there away from 5 titles in a row. We were pretty close in the two Rangers won.

04-06-2022, 10:07 PM
It would be a series of obliterations nowadays.So off the pace it's incredible.

When I was a nipper the Italians and Spanish were obviously top drawer but you still thought you could have a dash.

04-06-2022, 10:11 PM

Did Hibernian supporters sing "Glory Glory" on the terraces before the release of the record? Did Hibernian supporters sing "Hail Hail" prior to 1961?.Is it feasible that Celtc fans came up with anything first? Against the laws of the universe, no?

loanheadhibby
05-06-2022, 05:56 AM

Only opinions though!
At the risk of being negative I'm not so sure our current team would do very well.

ano hibby
05-06-2022, 06:44 AM
Some great posts from the older contributors here, excellent reading, thanks for taking the time 👍

05-06-2022, 06:55 AM
At the risk of being negative I'm not so sure our current team would do very well.

You are not being negative,more pragmatic.

The thread has illustrated a time when Hibernian and Celtic in football terms did in their own way "Rule Brittania"..:greengrin:cb.....

Motherwell FC (in particular)and Dundee FC were powerful teams in that era also.
Elizabeth had assumed the responsibilities of the ruling monarch on February 6, 1952,when her dad died.

I was born the week before he died in the early hoors of Jan 27th 1952...A bonny baby ,too!!
So i was told :greengrin Early riser,too ! burp!

Eastern General Hospital was the place i arrived and peaked out at the world! :dummytit:

.A Grassmarket boy born in a Leith Hospital.
Nae flies oan Mick :aok:

Hibernian Football Club won the Scottish League Division 1 in season 1951/52..
.by 4 pts.
Managed by the late great Hugh Shaw.
Average home gate at the Holy Ground that season ..30.700.

Motherwell won the Scottish Cup in season 1951/52 winning 5.0 v Dundee in front of 136.000.

Dundee won the Scottish League Cup in season 1951/52 winning 2.0 v Kilmarnock in front of 51.830.

In my birth year? 1952..... No Huns at Hampden Finals !! :greengrin

:singing:It was a very good year !:partyhibb

Glory! Glory !
HGSP
SOL

07-06-2022, 09:21 AM
Goes to show the disparity between the game in England and Scotland and how far our game has slipped down the order. In 1953 Hibs would be as good as any club the English league had to offer in 2022 we would struggle to get out of league one.

07-06-2022, 09:41 AM
Has to be taken into account. Always slipped up in cup competitions.

A few goals here and there away from 5 titles in a row. We were pretty close in the two Rangers won.

The one we lost on goal average we'd have won under current goal difference rules. That would've been 3 in a row.

07-06-2022, 09:45 AM
Goes to show the disparity between the game in England and Scotland and how far our game has slipped down the order. In 1953 Hibs would be as good as any club the English league had to offer in 2022 we would struggle to get out of league one.

Even as late as the 80s, Aberdeen beat Ipswich and Dundee United lost 5-4 on agg to Man U. Basically TV money has killed competition everywhere.

07-06-2022, 12:48 PM
Even as late as the 80s, Aberdeen beat Ipswich and Dundee United lost 5-4 on agg to Man U. Basically TV money has killed competition everywhere.

They sold their game and took it up a level. We failed desperately to do so.

07-06-2022, 01:03 PM
They sold their game and took it up a level. We failed desperately to do so.

They did but they killed competition in their own league as well. Look at all the teams that challenged for titles in the 70s and 80s: Derby, Villa, Forest, Ipswich, West Brom, QPR etc. Apart from the freak Leicester season, nobody is going to break the stranglehold of the top few clubs without dodgy oil wealth. Look at the Champions League, same teams year in year out. Football's nicely packaged but it's dying as a sport.

07-06-2022, 01:42 PM
They did but they killed competition in their own league as well. Look at all the teams that challenged for titles in the 70s and 80s: Derby, Villa, Forest, Ipswich, West Brom, QPR etc. Apart from the freak Leicester season, nobody is going to break the stranglehold of the top few clubs without dodgy oil wealth. Look at the Champions League, same teams year in year out. Football's nicely packaged but it's dying as a sport.

The premier league is absolutely not dead competition wise. Its very competitive. So is the champions league, which had some of the best games ever this year.

Your romantic idea of football may be dying, but the quality of the product is very high.

Hibiza
07-06-2022, 01:49 PM

Only opinions though!

Great post 👍

07-06-2022, 01:58 PM
The premier league is absolutely not dead competition wise. Its very competitive. So is the champions league, which had some of the best games ever this year.

Your romantic idea of football may be dying, but the quality of the product is very high.

It's very competitive within the parameters of its closed shop but clubs are more and more fixed in their relative positions. A franchise model by stealth. Up to the 1980s a Hibs fan could realistically aspire to see their club among the best in Europe. If United could do it, why not us? Same went for hundreds of clubs across Europe. That dream is deader than the deadest dead thing for everyone outside a handful of elite franchise teams now. Don't get me wrong, I enjoy watching the games, but it's pretty dead as a sport.

07-06-2022, 02:04 PM
It's very competitive within the parameters of its closed shop but clubs are more and more fixed in their relative positions. A franchise model by stealth. Up to the 1980s a Hibs fan could realistically aspire to see their club among the best in Europe. If United could do it, why not us? Same went for hundreds of clubs across Europe. That dream is deader than the deadest dead thing for everyone outside a handful of elite franchise teams now. Don't get me wrong, I enjoy watching the games, but it's pretty dead as a sport.

Its not dead as a sport, why do you keep saying that.

Its dead as your romantic idea of football which is fine. I'd agree it would be amazing to see more unpredictability in things, but that is nothing to do with the game as a sport.

07-06-2022, 02:30 PM
Its not dead as a sport, why do you keep saying that.

Its dead as your romantic idea of football which is fine. I'd agree it would be amazing to see more unpredictability in things, but that is nothing to do with the game as a sport.It is more about how much money there is available to build a squad than it was in the past, when innovative tactics or an inspirational manager/set of players could come from nowhere and make their mark.

If cash counts more than guile then the sport is a bit deader than it was in the past.

If football lacks romance what use is it?

07-06-2022, 03:22 PM

Some of the Premier League is very high quality but that doesn't necessarily make it competitive. It's by far and away the least competitive of the 4 main English leagues. That's why most bookies only offer 2 each way places and why the current 3rd favourites are about 18/1.

07-06-2022, 03:33 PM

The big difference is the growing disparity in income from TV deals - something that would be largely eliminated if Scottish and English clubs were playing in the same league.

07-06-2022, 03:49 PM
Some of the Premier League is very high quality but that doesn't necessarily make it competitive. It's by far and away the least competitive of the 4 main English leagues. That's why most bookies only offer 2 each way places and why the current 3rd favourites are about 18/1.

Thats because currently Liverpool and City have 2 of the best sides English football has ever seen. Its not always a 2 horse race. There is significantly more to the league than just the title race as well.

07-06-2022, 04:02 PM
Thats because currently Liverpool and City have 2 of the best sides English football has ever seen. Its not always a 2 horse race. There is significantly more to the league than just the title race as well.

The bookies have only given 2 places for many years now.

08-06-2022, 08:48 AM
Why am I not surprised you knew it all Michael! Excellent!

In the year before WW2 broke out,another "Royal" Cup tourney was organised.
This was to celebrate the Glorious Empire and all it represented !!

Much wave ruling and other stuff like that !!

1938 The Empire Exhibition Cup.

Similar format to Coronation Cup ,though Hibs not involved.
Anyway, it ended in the same way as the Coronation Cup.
Celtic beat Everton in the final 1-0
And to add insult to Royal injury.....
Celtic won it at Ibrox in front of 82.000,many who belted out the song "God save Ireland!"

All games played at Ibrox. Pitch must have taken a beating !

Crowd attendances from the Scotsman Publications.

1938-05-25 Celtic 0-0 Sunderland 1st 40.000
1938-05-26 Celtic 3-1 Sunderland replay 20.000

1938-05-27 Aberdeen 4-0 Chelsea 1st 20.000
1938-05-30 Rangers 0-2 Everton 1st 48.000
1938-06-01 Hearts 1-0 Brentford 1st 46.000

1938-06-03 Hearts 0-1 Celtic SF 48.000
1938-06-06 Everton 3-1 Aberdeen SF 20.000

1938-06-10
Empire Exhibition Cup Final

Celtic 1-0 Everton
Att: 82.000

08-06-2022, 09:14 AM
Around about this time Hibs won an unofficial Champions of Britain match in 1949 against Spurs at White Hart Lane 5-2 and again in 1952 2-0 thanks to two goals from Gordon Smith
Hibs also beat a very good Manchester United side 7-3 in a competitive Gordon Smith Testimonial Match in September 1952 at Easter Road
The only English side we struggled against was Arsenal who thumped us 7-1 in the first floodlight football match to be televised live ( second half) by the BBC
We of course set the record straight last August 😀

08-06-2022, 09:53 AM
Around about this time Hibs won an unofficial Champions of Britain match in 1949 against Spurs at White Hart Lane 5-2 and again in 1952 2-0 thanks to two goals from Gordon Smith
Hibs also beat a very good Manchester United side 7-3 in a competitive Gordon Smith Testimonial Match in September 1952 at Easter Road
The only English side we struggled against was Arsenal who thumped us 7-1 in the first floodlight football match to be televised live ( second half) by the BBC
We of course set the record straight last August 😀

A few years back London Hibs took Eddie Turnbull to Spurs. In the Legends lounge before the game Eddie was reintroduced to Bill Nicholson and also to Tommy Harmer, Spurs winger in 50s/60s. I remember you Jocks said wee Tommy to Eddie, you weren't a bad team. Not a bad team, said Eddie, we f****d you 5 2!! That was our Ned!

08-06-2022, 10:16 AM
A few years back London Hibs took Eddie Turnbull to Spurs. In the Legends lounge before the game Eddie was reintroduced to Bill Nicholson and also to Tommy Harmer, Spurs winger in 50s/60s. I remember you Jocks said wee Tommy to Eddie, you weren't a bad team. Not a bad team, said Eddie, we f****d you 5 2!! That was our Ned!

Similar story Jimmy O’Rourke went on a tour of old Maine Road he said to the Commissionaire after looking at pictures of Don Revie ‘ I don’t see your best player ? ‘ The Commissionaire on recognising the accent said ‘ Ah you’ll mean Nicker’ Took him into another area where there was a marble staircase and at the top was a statue of Bobby Johnstone

The dook
08-06-2022, 11:11 AM
Good post as usual danish john, you’ve some memory, where you at any of the coronation cup games . Asking for a friend 😜

08-06-2022, 11:43 AM
Similar story Jimmy O’Rourke went on a tour of old Maine Road he said to the Commissionaire after looking at pictures of Don Revie ‘ I don’t see your best player ? ‘ The Commissionaire on recognising the accent said ‘ Ah you’ll mean Nicker’ Took him into another area where there was a marble staircase and at the top was a statue of Bobby Johnstone

Wish you had posted this yesterday Billy, I was on phone to Jimmy last night!

08-06-2022, 12:50 PM
Like. A lot. Except if it was top four today we wouldn’t get in!

👍

08-06-2022, 01:55 PM

You could say the same about the Scottish premiership but that doesn't stop folk who should know better queuing up to trash it.

No argument that City and Liverpool are indeed two of the best teams seen anywhere for a while, but that doesn't really change a few facts, the main one being that since the inception of the EPL 30 years ago it has been dominated by the same 4 big ( rich ) clubs, with the winning of it by any club outside of them being treated like a modern day miracle ... EG Leicester City, a club who anywhere else in Europe would hardly be seen as a minnow.

The biggest criticism of our league is that it's dominated by two clubs .... in a league of 20 clubs dominated by 4 clubs over a 30 year period you could say they are a lot more like us than they care to admit. Its simply a fact that on day one of any season, just like in Scotland, the main aim of two thirds of the EPL's clubs is to avoid relegation, with the only difference being that staying in the super rich EPL has become such an all consuming priority that doing so is celebrated as if a trophy had been won, in fact it's a wonder they don't have a trophy for 17th place.

The bottom line is money talks ... every league in Europe is dominated by the richest clubs and so is the Champions league and unless domestic associations and UEFA bring in stuff like wage caps and restrictions on what clubs can spend on players that situation will only get worse. The chances of a Benfica or Celtic or Feyenoord winning the top club trophy in Europe these days is about as likely as Hibs winning the SPL.

I watched the champions league final this year free on You Tube, but the truth is I wouldn't have been that bothered to miss it and I certainly wouldn't have paid to watch it, at the end of the day it was yet another game between the usual suspects and won by the most usual of suspects, how long before the lack of variety simply turns folk off altogether.

10-06-2022, 12:45 PM

Only opinions though!

Had a quick look at the Maroon Goon Platoon’s message board, it’s hilarious how. they took offence to not being named as one of the top four and biggest clubs in your post. 😂 Kiwidug****** even goes on about when we did we last compete for the league, he forgot they can’t even win the league cup.

Mrimbetween
10-06-2022, 02:06 PM
Not putting Hearts in the top 4 has them seething:not worth

10-06-2022, 06:37 PM
Not putting Hearts in the top 4 has them seething:not worth

I'd like to reassure them that they are currently one of the top 42 clubs in Scotland.

Currently.

john rossi
10-06-2022, 10:43 PM
My Late father used to wax lyrical about the Hibs Team from 1945 to 1953. Really think he a man crush on Gordon Smith. He was at the Coronation cup final v Celtic and as the reports of the match stated Hibs should have won but for a certain inspired Celtic keeper. When the white heather club was on in the late 50s they would play the song a Gordon for me which resonated to the great Gordon. Happy memory’s as a wee boy brought up around the days of the famous five, if only I had been older to witness leauge championships and 40,000 crowds at Easter road.

Stairway 2 7
12-06-2022, 04:39 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/jburnmurdoch/status/1530523036545335296

Great thread with visuals on how the champions league has went from a European wide tournament, to a western Europe big league tournament