View Full Version : Match Updates 2022-23 season non-Hibs games thread

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89

29-05-2022, 07:40 PM
I'm counting the Nations League as 22-23.

29-05-2022, 07:42 PM
Just catching up on the play off final from today, well done Forest but how that wasn’t a penalty, unreal.

29-05-2022, 07:48 PM
Posting now so that I’m on the front page when everyone is looking back on this thread in 10 years time to remember the season Hibs won the league and Hearts got relegated.

JamesHFC
29-05-2022, 08:14 PM
Should be a good season. Watching the likes of Hearts, Arsenal and Man Utd get battered on Thursday nights.

30-05-2022, 07:28 AM
See that Tranent have won promotion to the Lowland League. Won at Darvel yesterday. Good achievement

30-05-2022, 07:39 AM
See that Tranent have won promotion to the Lowland League. Won at Darvel yesterday. Good achievement

A club that seems to have a winning culture, doing well through different age groups.

30-05-2022, 08:16 AM
I was at the championship play off final yesterday. Just seen the pens not given. Jesus crist. At the game I was pretty sure 1st was but not the 2nd but both were 100% nailed on.

VAR just can't work in Scotland if they follow the English example as too much corruption.

John Moss was the ref yesterday reminds me of Beaton. Look at me type of guy.

30-05-2022, 09:38 AM
I was at the championship play off final yesterday. Just seen the pens not given. Jesus crist. At the game I was pretty sure 1st was but not the 2nd but both were 100% nailed on.

VAR just can't work in Scotland if they follow the English example as too much corruption.

I backed Forest ht-ft so I'm happy enough but, those were terrible decisions.

01-06-2022, 05:28 PM
Poland 0 v 1 Wales

Williams

01-06-2022, 05:32 PM
Poland 1 v 1 Wales

Kaminski

01-06-2022, 05:46 PM
2-1 Poland 84 mins

Just_Jimmy
01-06-2022, 09:03 PM

John Moss was the ref yesterday reminds me of Beaton. Look at me type of guy.John moss is the worst ref in England bar none. Absolute imposter.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

02-06-2022, 06:21 AM

I just watched both incidents for the first time now, absolutely stunned at how blatant they were. The first one :faf: Really really suspicious. Poor Huddersfield.

02-06-2022, 05:00 PM
Spain v Portugal tonight, should be worth a watch.

03-06-2022, 06:39 PM
Belgium v Netherlands about to start on Premier sports. Could be good

03-06-2022, 07:19 PM
Lukaku has chucked the towel in in this game, heart of a mouse.

03-06-2022, 07:31 PM
The guy Dumfries is some player, had a great season with Inter.

03-06-2022, 07:36 PM
Some goal by Berjwyn for Netherlands

03-06-2022, 07:37 PM
The guy Dumfries is some player, had a great season with Inter.

Pity he isn’t qualified for Scotland with that surname!

03-06-2022, 07:51 PM
Pity he isn’t qualified for Scotland with that surname!

I did think about trying to post a joke about that but, decided to Galloway and have a word with myself. 😉

03-06-2022, 07:59 PM
2-0 Dutch. Good goal by Dupay

03-06-2022, 08:14 PM
4 0 Netherlands

03-06-2022, 08:43 PM
Belgium struggling without Maloney

03-06-2022, 08:51 PM

You just cant let anyone put the cones out.

04-06-2022, 06:59 AM

Probably because they best player said the nations league is a joke and he couldn't be arsed. Don't think they were interested at all in this match. Still a dreadful result though.

04-06-2022, 05:25 PM
Hungary 1 v 0 England

04-06-2022, 05:29 PM
Hungary 1 v 0 England

Commentator and English players unhappy about a blatant penalty decision.

04-06-2022, 05:33 PM
Commentator and English players unhappy about a blatant penalty decision.

Looked clumsy and stupid

04-06-2022, 05:34 PM
Hungary v England has been a poor international game, many of these so called English superstars are very overrated due to who they play for, Jared Bowen is nowhere near international level, even though he's had a really good season.

04-06-2022, 05:36 PM
Probably because they best player said the nations league is a joke and he couldn't be arsed. Don't think they were interested at all in this match. Still a dreadful result though.

After him making that kind of remark I'm glad they were beat easily. It might be a joke to him but not to other countries. It could be argued that the bigger joke is that even with all the talent at their disposal Belgium still couldn't win any major tournaments.

04-06-2022, 05:53 PM
Declan Rice has been stinking against a very average international side. And yet no doubt West Ham will get over £100m for him. He's not worth half that and looks clumsy and very limited with the ball when I watch him.

04-06-2022, 05:57 PM
1-0 Hungary! Well deserved!

Btw Harry MacGuire is still honking

04-06-2022, 06:16 PM
Hungarian bairns booing the knee

Dearie me !

04-06-2022, 06:44 PM
Italy v Germany about to start on Premier Sports 1.

04-06-2022, 07:35 PM
Armenia beat Rep of Ireland 1-0

FT Lithuania 0 Luxembourg 2
FT Hungary 1 England 0
FT Finland 1 Boz-Herze 1

04-06-2022, 08:19 PM
Italy score, Germany equalise 3 mins later.

04-06-2022, 09:07 PM
After him making that kind of remark I'm glad they were beat easily. It might be a joke to him but not to other countries. It could be argued that the bigger joke is that even with all the talent at their disposal Belgium still couldn't win any major tournaments.

Don't think its that much of a joke. Belgium only really should've done better at Euro 2016, but had a very poor manager in charge. Otherwise they've went out to the winners or runners up, who were all better sides.

De Bruyne is still a bit daft for those comments, but thats who is he. Always says what he thinks.

04-06-2022, 09:12 PM
Seems very odd that Richarlison gets charged after the season when committing the incident in 1st May scoring in two games. Wonder how relegated teams think of that

05-06-2022, 01:42 PM
Don't think its that much of a joke. Belgium only really should've done better at Euro 2016, but had a very poor manager in charge. Otherwise they've went out to the winners or runners up, who were all better sides.

De Bruyne is still a bit daft for those comments, but thats who is he. Always says what he thinks.

I agree that he was daft saying it in the first place, and arrogant too. All about opinions, I thought that was a really average Argentina team that beat them in 2014, apart from Messi and posibly Di Maria, and Germany were the far better team in the final that year.

05-06-2022, 01:50 PM
I agree that he was daft saying it in the first place, and arrogant too. All about opinions, I thought that was a really average Argentina team that beat them in 2014, apart from Messi and posibly Di Maria, and Germany were the far better team in the final that year.

Again, though, Belgium had a clueless manager and while Argentina weren't brilliant, they clearly had better players. Mascherano was unreal at that tournament, as good as anyone. It was a very, very close match between the two as well.

05-06-2022, 01:53 PM
Come on Ukraine 🇺🇦 Can’t stand the luck Welsh sport has witnessed over the past 10 years and about time they were put back in their box.

05-06-2022, 02:12 PM
Belgium u21's v Scotland u21's Watch: Belgium U21s v Scotland U21s - BBC Scotland coverage - Live - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/live/football/61660576) and BBC Scotland 10 mins played 0-0

Mr Grieves
05-06-2022, 02:19 PM
Belgium u21's v Scotland u21's Watch: Belgium U21s v Scotland U21s - BBC Scotland coverage - Live - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/live/football/61660576) and BBC Scotland 10 mins played 0-0

Porteous on as a pundit as is Levein who's made his way via barbecue

05-06-2022, 02:36 PM
Porteous on as a pundit as is Levein who's made his way via barbecue

see what you mean Levein on Holiday mode lol

05-06-2022, 02:53 PM
Thought Levein had just arrived after cutting his grass, ffs your on TV man, smarten yourself up.

05-06-2022, 03:01 PM
Grimsby Solihull a decent watch half time 1 nil Solihull. Bt sport

05-06-2022, 03:02 PM
Thought Levein had just arrived after cutting his grass, ffs your on TV man, smarten yourself up.

Yep that's what we were saying when first seen him. What a scruff

05-06-2022, 03:02 PM

Was just thinking the same. I'm no model but if I'm in public I want to be presentable.

Thursday past I was just finishing cutting my grass when 2 californians turned up to visit my studio, I was sweating buckets and was embarrassed by how I must have looked. When I say they were californians they were from Big Sur and were on a chauffeur driven tour of Scotland!!!!

Stonewall
05-06-2022, 03:08 PM
Was just thinking the same. I'm no model but if I'm in public I want to be presentable.

Thursday past I was just finishing cutting my grass when 2 californians turned up to visit my studio, I was sweating buckets and was embarrassed by how I must have looked. When I say they were californians they were from Big Sur and were on a chauffeur driven tour of Scotland!!!!

ii don’t think his wife can have seen him before he left his house today.

05-06-2022, 03:14 PM
Sorry for the question but what do Scotland need from this?

05-06-2022, 03:17 PM
Sorry for the question but what do Scotland need from this?

Dont think they can qualify

05-06-2022, 03:24 PM
Dont think they can qualify

That’s correct, best they can get is 3rd place ahead of Turkiye

05-06-2022, 03:37 PM
Grimsby Solihull 1 1 cracking game

05-06-2022, 03:46 PM

i was reading earlier Vanarama had given £20k to each club to help reduce the ridiculous ticket prices the National League had set for the fans, £40-£45

05-06-2022, 03:47 PM
That’s correct, best they can get is 3rd place ahead of Turkiye

Cheers both. Think, from what I've seen, we've done alright. Belgium only needing a draw to top the group.

05-06-2022, 03:50 PM
credible point for our young dudes

last fixture away to Denmark on friday

Bridge hibs
05-06-2022, 03:51 PM

End to end stuff, extra time looming

05-06-2022, 03:56 PM
so, Wales v Ukraine whae's winning this one then

05-06-2022, 03:58 PM
so, Wales v Ukraine whae's winning this one then

Ukraine I reckon.

Seekyit
05-06-2022, 03:59 PM

Yep, both teams going for it right up to the final whistle. ET now.

05-06-2022, 04:00 PM
Ukraine I reckon.

Me tae

SonOfDavidFrancey
05-06-2022, 04:02 PM
Quite funny to hear Ryan commenting on these ‘young boys’

05-06-2022, 04:04 PM
Ukraine I reckon.

didn't realise it's 64 years since the Welsh were at a WC :shocked:

nearly as long as it is for heartz to win a league cup

05-06-2022, 04:06 PM
Thought the Scotland U21's played very well knocking the ball about with confidence, Scott Gemmil has done a really good job there.

05-06-2022, 04:07 PM
didn't realise it's 64 years since the Welsh were at a WC :shocked:

nearly as long as it is for heartz to win a league cup

Yes Sweden '58.

05-06-2022, 04:08 PM
good point commentator made at that corner, unlike Scotland the welsh were going to swing it inwards

puts a lot more pressure on the keeper

05-06-2022, 04:09 PM
Wales have done more in the first 7 minutes than we did in nearly 90

05-06-2022, 04:29 PM
Wales have done more in the first 7 minutes than we did in nearly 90

Good energy and chasing from Wales. Scotland looked out on their feet from first minute. Decent game.

05-06-2022, 04:30 PM
2-1 grimsby booo

05-06-2022, 04:32 PM
Ukraine have come onto a game.

05-06-2022, 04:34 PM
Good energy and chasing from Wales. Scotland looked out on their feet from first minute. Decent game.

Indeed it is. Ukraine have upped their game in last 10 or so with Hennessy pulling off a couple of decent saves!

05-06-2022, 04:35 PM
fs 1-0 wales og

looking back at the replay....dreadful og :)

05-06-2022, 04:35 PM
1-0 Wales

Massive deflection.

05-06-2022, 04:37 PM
Spawny bassas

05-06-2022, 04:38 PM
Where was that luck when we played them?

05-06-2022, 04:40 PM
Where was that luck when we played them?We had plenty luck when we played them

The game could've been done by HT

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

05-06-2022, 04:41 PM
lol another wee dive by dan james

05-06-2022, 04:41 PM
That's a pen Ukraine surley

No pen says VAR. I've no idea what makes a pen these days

Allan didn't see him but blootered his foot

Between that and the Huddersfield ones I'm baffled

05-06-2022, 04:42 PM
Has to be a penalty !

05-06-2022, 04:43 PM
We had plenty luck when we played them

The game could've been done by HT

:agree: 1-3 flattered us massively. Never in it.

Tom Jones doing the VAR today

or tom jones the referee rather

How was that not a pen ?

How is that not a penalty ??

VAR is a joke.

They need to explain these decisions as looked like it was obvious.

This ref always seems to have a shocker.

05-06-2022, 04:44 PM
Has to be a penalty !

Stick on pen they are really just making it up at the moment. Farce

Shows VAR for what it’s worth.

Dan James is a cheat.

05-06-2022, 04:45 PM
James should be off there

Where was that luck when we played them?

Scotland didn’t have a shot on goal till the 60th min.

Think Scotland needed more than ‘luck’.

How is that not a penalty ??

VAR is a joke.

They need to explain these decisions as looked like it was obvious.

This ref always seems to have a shocker.

Yep ref is an attention seeking idiot. Possible second yellow for Allen also

VAR was obviously going to give it after asking the referee to look at it

Dan James should be off the park as well that was sleakit !! Wales defo getting everything here

05-06-2022, 04:46 PM
Stick on pen they are really just making it up at the moment. Farce

Looked like a penalty in real time. And slo mo just confirmed it. But didn't pass the VAR test ?

JamesHFC
05-06-2022, 04:51 PM
Wales 45 minutes away from playing in the World Cup. Got to the knockout stages of the Euro’s last year and got to the semi final of the Euro’s 6 years ago. 19 games unbeaten at home if they win today stretching back to 2018.

Miles ahead of Scotland unfortunately.

NC1875
05-06-2022, 04:51 PM
Var is crap. Should have just left football as it was.

05-06-2022, 04:52 PM
How much does commentator Tyler hate Scotland a wee dig every 5 minutes

This is what VAR will be like next season in Scotland. Replace that welsh decision with Rangers and Celtic. I actually think Rangers will get even more decisions.

Does VAR stand for very arguable reasoning?

Wales 45 minutes away from playing in the World Cup. Got to the knockout stages of the Euro’s last year and got to the semi final of the Euro’s 6 years ago. 19 games unbeaten at home if they win today stretching back to 2018.

Miles ahead of Scotland unfortunately.

Bales and Ramsay not around forever , They may be a wee bit better than us at the moment but i disagree they are miles ahead of us , Not a chance

05-06-2022, 04:53 PM
the Welsh shouldn't bother everyone wants Ukraine to win(apart from Russia) as long as they have this referee and Dan james falling all over the park they're a stick on

05-06-2022, 04:53 PM
The ref was looking the other way when the penalty incident occurred. Looks like the VAR man was doing the same when watching the replay. As poor a decision as you'll ever see.

05-06-2022, 04:54 PM
Bales and Ramsay not around forever , They may be a wee bit better than us at the moment but i disagree they are miles ahead of us , Not a chance

Agree no way are they miles ahead at all. Can't get over how poor we were in Wednesday but personally would have fancied us beating Wales today.

05-06-2022, 04:55 PM
This is what VAR will be like next season in Scotland. Replace that welsh decision with Rangers and Celtic. I actually think Rangers will get even more decisions.

:agree: Exactly how i see it , That was a nailed on penalty for Ukraine ,,,It IS what will happen here , If that's Nesbit its play on , If it's morelos it's a penalty ,

05-06-2022, 04:55 PM
does the referee ask VAR to look at something, or is it VAR that brings it to the attention of the referee

i thought it was the latter

JamesHFC
05-06-2022, 04:57 PM

They have some decent youngsters coming through. Brennan Johnson looks like he’s got to be their next star. They play well as a team, much better than Scotland.

JamesHFC
05-06-2022, 04:59 PM
Agree no way are they miles ahead at all. Can't get over how poor we were in Wednesday but personally would have fancied us beating Wales today.

Wales would have won comfortably.

05-06-2022, 05:01 PM
A very limited welsh side being well outplayed by Ukraine so far. Ukraine should have had a pen and on the balance of play Ukraine should be a couple of goals up at half time.

05-06-2022, 05:02 PM
Watched the penalty several times and still think it’s a penalty for Ukraine.

How they can get that wrong in such a massive game is ridiculous.

05-06-2022, 05:04 PM
Wales would have won comfortably.

Obviously you don't know that and I can understand that on the back of Wednesday however there really isn't a lot between the teams. They have more exceptional forward players we don't have however they have been second best today also though appear to be carrying much more luck with deflected free kick and nonsensical penalty decision

JamesHFC
05-06-2022, 05:06 PM
Obviously you don't know that and I can understand that on the back of Wednesday however there really isn't a lot between the teams. They have more exceptional forward players we don't have however they have been second best today also though appear to be carrying much more luck with deflected free kick and nonsensical penalty decisions

As I said, semi final of the euros as well as the knockout stages within the last 6 years whilst Scotland failed to qualify for Euro 2016 and were getting done in at Hampden in Euro 2020. They are currently beating the team that Scotland conceded 3 to at home the other day. 19 games unbeaten at home. We can only dream of such achievements.

JamesHFC
05-06-2022, 05:08 PM
Sitter missed by Ramsey there. Neco Williams is very good.

05-06-2022, 05:10 PM
Dan James on his back, surely not

05-06-2022, 05:10 PM
How much does commentator Tyler hate Scotland a wee dig every 5 minutes

Hilariously also talking about how A Ramsay would be thebfirst one at a world cup since 1966......

05-06-2022, 05:13 PM
Be a surprise for me if Ukraine done score. Wales sitting far too deep.

05-06-2022, 05:13 PM
As I said, semi final of the euros as well as the knockout stages within the last 6 years whilst Scotland failed to qualify for Euro 2016 and were getting done in at Hampden in Euro 2020. They are currently beating the team that Scotland conceded 3 to at home the other day. 19 games unbeaten at home. We can only dream of such achievements.

A lot of that is recent history. I could say Wales got annihilated by Denmark in the euros who we totally outplayed our last competive game before Wednesday. Not much if anything between the teams at present their forward players apart.

05-06-2022, 05:15 PM
sometimes, just sometimes

yer better being lucky than good

05-06-2022, 05:16 PM
A lot of that is recent history. I could say Wales got annihilated by Denmark in the euros who we totally outplayed our last competive game before Wednesday. Not much if anything between the teams at present their forward players apart.

Their's nothing between Scotland and Wales and no one will convince me otherwise

05-06-2022, 05:16 PM
sometimes, just sometimes

yer better being lucky than good

Yeah, Wales seem to be going through here. Everything is falling their way and the VAR decision first half was huge. They'll probably get another deflected goal.

05-06-2022, 05:17 PM
Their's nothing between Scotland and Wales and no one will convince me otherwise

Absolutely

05-06-2022, 05:18 PM
How the **** is that a handball?

05-06-2022, 05:18 PM
Ukraine knocking on the door here

05-06-2022, 05:19 PM
How the **** is that a handball?

Incredible decision

05-06-2022, 05:22 PM
Ukraine knocking on the door here

I am now seeing the flag as No Var :greengrin

05-06-2022, 05:24 PM
I am now seeing the flag as No Var :greengrin

JamesHFC
05-06-2022, 05:27 PM
Ben Davies has been incredible.

05-06-2022, 05:30 PM
Wales sitting in, protecting lead. Going to need a lot of luck to hold out

05-06-2022, 05:32 PM
Bale has been anonymous except for that FK and giving the rest of Wales' players huge belief.

05-06-2022, 05:34 PM
Wales gettimg a dollop of luck that we never expeeienced. Ukraine clearly the betrer team.

Mcbizz1998
05-06-2022, 05:35 PM
Martin Tyler screaming with delight at every Welsh half chance.

05-06-2022, 05:37 PM
What a save from Bale. How lucky are Wales ?

05-06-2022, 05:37 PM
TBF Ukraine have been the better team again but having no luck today, the game is now very open with chances both ends in the last 10 mins. Ben Davies has been outstanding for Wales.

05-06-2022, 05:40 PM
All these long distance shots.....

05-06-2022, 05:41 PM
A rugby length advantage played there. Very bizarre decision.

05-06-2022, 05:43 PM
Bloody hell…… save

05-06-2022, 05:45 PM
At least if they win the rest of the world will hate Wales as much as I do......

05-06-2022, 05:47 PM
Quite incredible how Ukraine haven't scored. Just not their night.

JamesHFC
At least if they win the rest of the world will hate Wales as much as I do......

Why do you hate them?

[emoji23]

They’ve had every single piece of luck in a game you could imagine! Every break of the ball!

What an achievement by Wales

05-06-2022, 05:48 PM
Wales name is already on the the Jules Rimet trophy

Mcbizz1998
05-06-2022, 05:49 PM
All these long distance shots.....

How many attempts has that big no.5 had at goal from 25/30 yards. He needs to pack it in.

Wales will give England a right good game in Qatar

What an achievement by Wales

Certainly. For a country of 3.5 million, where football isn't the national sport, to make another finals would be exceptional.

05-06-2022, 05:50 PM
Why do you hate them?

Leek munching egg chasing weirdos?

Mcbizz1998
05-06-2022, 05:50 PM

Agreed. I can’t stand the Welsh (in a sporting sense).

JamesHFC
05-06-2022, 05:51 PM
Leek munching egg chasing weirdos?

Xenophobia perhaps

05-06-2022, 05:52 PM
Every single break of the ball has landed at a Welsh player. A lot of grit but huge amounts of luck.

05-06-2022, 05:52 PM
Xenophobia perhaps

That’s a bit much

05-06-2022, 05:53 PM
Xenophobia perhaps

Aye ok😂. I can't stand them, you don't have to agree.

i don't think the Scotland defence would have held out against this Ukrainian onslaught

Xenophobia perhaps

I'm not big on any warrior princesses myself.

JamesHFC
05-06-2022, 05:54 PM
Wales are going to the World Cup.

05-06-2022, 05:54 PM
Hopefully a pitch invasion

05-06-2022, 05:55 PM
Scenes please

Well done Wales, great result, showed the grit and determination that were well beyond Scotland

I demand over exuberance

05-06-2022, 05:56 PM
Zinchenkos a grass

Well done Wales a great achievement

***** fans. No invasion.

05-06-2022, 05:57 PM
Well done to Wales, excellent achievement.

Corrupt refereeing. Totally undeserved.

Dedicate Wales qualification to Graeme Souness and all those that hoped Ukraine beat Scotland.:aok:

Well done Wales. That's how it's done.

05-06-2022, 05:58 PM
Ukraine were the best team by quite some distance in those play-off games. Wales were extremely lucky throughout that whole game, not that they'll care. Fair play to Ukraine though, they did their country proud.

05-06-2022, 05:58 PM
FT Cyprus 0 Northern Ireland 0

05-06-2022, 05:59 PM
Dedicate Wales qualification to Graeme Souness and all those that hoped Ukraine beat Scotland.:aok:

Couldnt agree more, but let’s be honest albeit Scotland were abysmal , on todays performance and that against Scotland, Ukraine are a step above us

05-06-2022, 06:00 PM
Their first World Cup since 1958, what a moment for them. And they do have the best anthem and flag

https://youtu.be/41BGsTsidwk

05-06-2022, 06:01 PM
Incredible belief, luck, drive and effort by Wales to win that match. They had no right to hold out there, but full marks to them.

Without Bale, they are a thoroughly average team but he gives them belief beyond their own individual abilities and makes them a force against anyone.

05-06-2022, 06:02 PM

On paper we’re pretty comparable (although they have a world class player in attack that we don’t). But that’s them been at two Euros on the trot (getting to the semi final and last 16) and now a World Cup so they’re doing something we’re not because we can only dream of that.

05-06-2022, 06:04 PM
On paper we’re pretty comparable (although they have a world class player in attack that we don’t). But that’s them been at two Euros on the trot (getting to the semi final and last 16) and now a World Cup so they’re doing something g we’re not because we can only dream of that.

I think they definitely benefit from the "England effect". Lots of Welsh kids in English academies etc and a fair few players in the top 2 leagues of English football.

We are getting there, and if we had one or two decent attackers we could be in the same position.

05-06-2022, 06:09 PM

Wales are quite a bit better than Scotland.

05-06-2022, 06:12 PM

England.

05-06-2022, 06:13 PM
England.

05-06-2022, 06:19 PM
Brilliant celebrations for Wales. Huge achievement

05-06-2022, 06:20 PM

Not trying to convince you, but there’s a gulf between Wales and Scotland in terms of belief, guts and determination. We didn’t remotely deserve to qualify.

Cat Stanton
05-06-2022, 06:22 PM
Brilliant celebrations for Wales. Huge achievement

What a bunch of shi-ites. At least we had the good grace to lie down to Ukraine and let them win...

05-06-2022, 06:22 PM
Wales are quite a bit better than Scotland.

Are they?

05-06-2022, 06:27 PM
imagine wanting to go to Qatar anyway :bitchy:

:boo hoo:

05-06-2022, 06:30 PM
What a bunch of shi-ites. At least we had the good grace to lie down to Ukraine and let them win...

Classless :agree:

05-06-2022, 06:38 PM
Certainly. For a country of 3.5 million, where football isn't the national sport, to make another finals would be exceptional.

Yup. And who's top football clubs play in a different countries lower leagues. Unbelievable recent record of getting to, and doing well in major tournaments. Something Scotland could only dream of.

05-06-2022, 06:49 PM
On paper we’re pretty comparable (although they have a world class player in attack that we don’t). But that’s them been at two Euros on the trot (getting to the semi final and last 16) and now a World Cup so they’re doing something we’re not because we can only dream of that.

It seems to me that what they're doing is putting the right team on the park with the right gameplan.

05-06-2022, 06:56 PM
Their first World Cup since 1958, what a moment for them. And they do have the best anthem and flag

https://youtu.be/41BGsTsidwk

They have that Flag, that anthem......

and they voted for Brexit :confused:

05-06-2022, 07:00 PM
Boo , hope they get pumped every game , even the England 1

05-06-2022, 07:00 PM

Wales are 21 places above us in the rankings and have lost just 3 times against sides ranked outside the top 10 in the last 4 years. Over the same period Scotland have lost 12 times against teams ranked outside of the top 10.

I'd personally say Wales are quite comfortably ahead of Scotland right now.

05-06-2022, 07:06 PM

The english influence on Wales is quite marked - the positive side is the effect on the football team, the negative is that things like Brexit vote where the result was basically the same as England.

They may sing songs in a different language but politically they may as well be Yorkshire.

05-06-2022, 07:10 PM

i've wished for a few decades now national anthems should be dropped for all sporting events but there's only two anthems i find 'rousing', French and Italian ones

05-06-2022, 07:41 PM
Messi hat-trick for Argentina. They’re unbeaten in something like 33 games and should do well in November (or December or whenever the hell it is).

they also pumped Italy 3-0 a few days ago

edit: finished 5-0 tonight against Estonia. Messi got all five..

05-06-2022, 07:46 PM

Yep a bit strange imo. Fantastic anthem

05-06-2022, 08:28 PM
Bulgaria getting pumped 5-1 at home to Georgia. Is there any country who has fallen so far? What a team they had in 1994 when they got to the World Cup semis, Stoichkov and Balakov in particular.

05-06-2022, 09:14 PM
Bulgaria getting pumped 5-1 at home to Georgia. Is there any country who has fallen so far? What a team they had in 1994 when they got to the World Cup semis, Stoichkov and Balakov in particular.

yeah. It’s a bit sad.

id love to see Romania in major tournaments again too, just for old times sake

05-06-2022, 09:19 PM
I’d like to see Scotland in the major tournaments again just for old times sake

05-06-2022, 09:27 PM

Was 5 when we last played in a World Cup. Now 29 and don’t expect to see us in a World Cup anytime soon.

05-06-2022, 09:34 PM
Well done Wales. That's how it's done.

Yep, well done West Englandshire :agree:

:hide:

06-06-2022, 06:51 AM

:greengrin wouldn’t we all

but still, it’s only been a year!

06-06-2022, 06:59 AM
Was 5 when we last played in a World Cup. Now 29 and don’t expect to see us in a World Cup anytime soon.

Starting from the 2026 tournament they’re bumping the number of teams up from 32 to 48 (something I’m not happy about but there ya go).

surely scotland will be able to make the odd one then, if not quite regularly?

06-06-2022, 07:47 AM
Starting from the 2026 tournament they’re bumping the number of teams up from 32 to 48 (something I’m not happy about but there ya go).

surely scotland will be able to make the odd one then, if not quite regularly?

Only if they leave the gents toilet window open - the back door is too much of a stretch for us these days.

06-06-2022, 12:38 PM

where did Souness say that?

06-06-2022, 02:42 PM
I've been to 2 World cups and 1 euros finals. I bore my son with tales of how magic it was to be there. He is 18 now and was desperate to get to a world Cup. Qatar though would have been pish I think. Better to wait until a decent country hosts again

Mcbizz1998
06-06-2022, 02:55 PM
I've been to 2 World cups and 1 euros finals. I bore my son with tales of how magic it was to be there. He is 18 now and was desperate to get to a world Cup. Qatar though would have been pish I think. Better to wait until a decent country hosts again

Agreed. Germany for the Euros in 2024 must be a priority. Would be a great trip!

06-06-2022, 06:52 PM
Austria v Denmark is on UK: Boxnation

Croatia v France is on Premier Sports

06-06-2022, 11:13 PM

you’re right. I wouldn’t travel to this year’s World Cup if you paid me. Well, come to think of it, I definitely would if you paid me. But not for any other reason.

2026 World Cup in North America promises to be decent, and Argentina/Uruguay/Paraguay/Chile are in the running to co-host it in 2030, this time without murderous military juntas using it for their own benefit. That I promise you would be a superb trip and your son would still only be 26.

07-06-2022, 04:39 PM
Finland 2 Montenegro 0 after 38 minutes.

bringbackbenny
07-06-2022, 06:02 PM
UAE vs Australia wc qualifier just started. boyle starts with Jackson Irvine. Jamie McLaren on the bench. Some yams as well

07-06-2022, 06:05 PM
Germans v Englandshire should be decent game. Only question is how many times they can mention 1966 ?

Twice so far. In fairness, think it's all like new info for the female presenters :greengrin

07-06-2022, 06:12 PM
Germans v Englandshire should be decent game. Only question is how many times they can mention 1966 ?

Twice so far. In fairness, think it's all like new info for the female presenters :greengrin

Who was the boy with the very loud jacket, just turned it on when he was being interviewed

07-06-2022, 06:23 PM

The way they managed it in the Wales game was one of the worst I have ever heard. Aaron Ramsay - A. Ramsay - Alf Ramsay.

07-06-2022, 06:37 PM
UAE vs Australia wc qualifier just started. boyle starts with Jackson Irvine. Jamie McLaren on the bench. Some yams as well

Very nervous game with both teams taking very few chances.

andrew70
07-06-2022, 07:10 PM
Martin Boyle just assisted Jackson Irvine for 1-0. Superb goal.

andrew70
07-06-2022, 07:17 PM
1-1 UAE Oz quick reply.

Hillsidehibby
07-06-2022, 07:43 PM
1-1 UAE Oz quick reply.

Is it on tv?

bringbackbenny
07-06-2022, 07:46 PM
2-1 to Australia

07-06-2022, 07:50 PM
Is it on tv?

I'm watching it on New Zealand sky sports live. :greengrin

07-06-2022, 08:00 PM
Nice move from The Germans, 1-0

07-06-2022, 08:01 PM
1-0 Germany keeper poor.

07-06-2022, 08:03 PM
Since becoming a German beer and football is somehow much more enjoyable. DDÜA

Hillsidehibby
07-06-2022, 08:04 PM
I'm watching it on New Zealand sky sports live. :greengrin

I’ve got 10 NZ sky sports channels but can’t get it!
No worries back to watching Germany game

07-06-2022, 08:13 PM
England look tired and rubbish

07-06-2022, 08:14 PM
Neuers ability with both feet is incredible. Could play central midfield.

07-06-2022, 08:20 PM
Neuers ability with both feet is incredible. Could play central midfield.

Unlike Pickford, surely they can do better than him?

Nice save there mind !

07-06-2022, 08:24 PM
Unlike Pickford, surely they can do better than him?

Nice save there mind !

Pickford has consistently been excellent for England tbf

07-06-2022, 08:25 PM
Pickford has consistently been excellent for England tbf
Always prefer a big guy in goals.

He's a midget compared to Neuer!

07-06-2022, 08:30 PM
What's this competition for? I honestly am losing track?

07-06-2022, 08:31 PM
Always prefer a big guy in goals.

He's a midget compared to Neuer!

Don't think it matters too much. Pickford is taller than Casillas for example. Neuer is definitely a class above though. Best keeper I've seen

07-06-2022, 08:36 PM
Penalty England….seemed of the mega soft variety that!

07-06-2022, 08:37 PM

Surely offside.

07-06-2022, 08:37 PM
Kane falls down in the box

no way

07-06-2022, 08:38 PM

Offside, coming together, ball running away with no chance of getting it. Take your pick. What the heck has the ref seen there ?

Surely offside.

I was certain it was a foul, but unless the pass was off a German it must have been offside?

I thought he slipped then threw his arms in air. Was there actual contact or did the guy breath on Kane and he did his usually flop to floor?

They’ve hardly been in this half!

Never a penalty, Kane was offside in the first place then tripped over his own feet. Var useless again. What a waste of money. It just gives useless referees a degree of credibility.

07-06-2022, 08:39 PM
Offside, coming together, ball running away with no chance of getting it. Take your pick. What the heck has the ref seen there ?Compare that decision to Huddersfield x 2 or the Ukraine one

[emoji23][emoji23]

07-06-2022, 08:39 PM
Lithuania battered at home from turkey 0-6

07-06-2022, 08:40 PM
Was a good penalty to be fair but undeserved.

Does this go to a ET/shoot out or end as a draw?

I was certain it was a foul, but unless the pass was off a German it must have been offside?

And we now know it has to be a deliberate pass by the German to play Kane onside. No chance.

Never a penalty, Kane was offside in the first place then tripped over his own feet. Var useless again. What a waste of money.

He looked 2 yards off, what am I missing that VAR sees. Commentators haven’t even mentioned it??

Could someone explain how that was a penalty. He looked offside and he tripped over his own feet. if that’s what var brings to the game then it’s got to be be binned in Scotland.

07-06-2022, 08:41 PM
Brown envelope is the only explanation as to how that's a penalty. Utterly disgusting decision - not only is he offside when the ball is played through, he ****ing trips himself up after the ball is long gone.

Horrific officiating.

JamesHFC
07-06-2022, 08:42 PM
50 goals for Kane in 71 caps for England. Will probably match Rooney’s record of 53 goals in 119 caps before the World Cup starts.

07-06-2022, 08:43 PM
Did I just see a player being sick then on the pitch? Maybe seeing things!

07-06-2022, 08:45 PM
If he was onside it was definitely a penalty. Guy did clip him

Mr Grieves
07-06-2022, 08:47 PM
Did I just see a player being sick then on the pitch? Maybe seeing things!

Think it was Bellingham

07-06-2022, 08:48 PM
If he was onside it was definitely a penalty. Guy did clip him

No he didn't - Kane trips himself as he steps through, and the ball was long gone.

That's never a penalty.

07-06-2022, 08:51 PM
No he didn't - Kane trips himself as he steps through, and the ball was long gone.

That's never a penalty.

Correct. Kane kicked his own foot.

07-06-2022, 08:52 PM

That's never a penalty.

Can't see how it was given looked like he tripped himself up

Correct. Kane kicked his own foot.

German caught him imo. Not sure whether he was offside but assume he was deemed not interfering initially

Could someone explain how that was a penalty. He looked offside and he tripped over his own feet. if that’s what var brings to the game then it’s got to be be binned in Scotland.

C4's in-depth analysis of Kane's usual chuck-himself-to-the-ground was impressive. I'm sure C4's team will pick the bones out of it.

Just seeing it again, at least 1/2 yd offside.

07-06-2022, 08:53 PM

That's never a penalty.

Yes, he tripped himself after contact from the defender. He didn't just kick his own leg

07-06-2022, 08:54 PM
The useless biased English pundits claiming it was a clear penalty but not a word was said about Kane being clearly offside.

07-06-2022, 08:55 PM
C4's in-depth analysis of Kane's usual chuck-himself-to-the-ground was impressive. I'm sure C4's team will pick the bones out of it.

Just seeing it again, at least 1/2 yd offside.sorry joe Cole says it’s a definite penalty so we are all wrong.

07-06-2022, 08:58 PM
Yes, he tripped himself after contact from the defender. He didn't just kick his own leg

Beg to differ, it happens all the time - it's clear his foot kicks the back of his other leg as he tries to adjust himself in getting to the ball (after it was well away from the pair of them).

If that's a penalty (assuming we're just ignoring that he's blatantly offside anyway), the game is truly done.

07-06-2022, 08:58 PM
The useless biased English pundits claiming it was a clear penalty but not a word was said about Kane being clearly offside.

Of course he was off side. The usual analysis that goes into these marginal decisions conveniently ignored as there is only one conclusion. C4 are only interested in smiles, flowers and ignore that rules if it interferes with the message :greengrin