View Full Version : NHC Is it a throw in or shy?

linlithgowhibbie
25-05-2022, 05:06 PM
I was at a Sygenta amateurs match with my daughter and son in law, both 30ish years old. Ball went out of play and I commented that it was our shy. I got looks of bemusement and was asked "What's a shy?"
Am I wrong or is it just old fashioned to call it that?:confused:

25-05-2022, 05:09 PM
A Shy

always called it that as a kid. don't hear it much nowadays!

Mike Berry
25-05-2022, 05:09 PM
Well, we used to call it a shy when I was at school, but that was centuries ago.

Paulie Walnuts
25-05-2022, 05:17 PM
I was at a Sygenta amateurs match with my daughter and son in law, both 30ish years old. Ball went out of play and I commented that it was our shy. I got looks of bemusement and was asked "What's a shy?"

I’m 31. Would never call it a shy myself but I’d have expected anyone with an interest in football to know what it meant!

ShadesLongThrow
25-05-2022, 05:21 PM
I might be setting myself up for a whoosh moment here but…
I’ve always called it a shy but never really known why it is called that. Anyone?

Mcbizz1998
25-05-2022, 05:27 PM
I’m 31. Would never call it a shy myself but I’d have expected anyone with an interest in football to know what it meant!

I’m 30 and agree, wouldn’t call it that but know what it means.

25-05-2022, 05:27 PM
It’s always been a shy to me

25-05-2022, 05:28 PM
I’ve always called it a shy but never really known why it is called that. Anyone?

Same here. It was always a shy when I was a laddie. The same with a goal kick, that was always a bye kick.

No idea how those names originated.

25-05-2022, 05:29 PM
Throw in. Unless you're 70 or over.

25-05-2022, 05:31 PM
Throw in or more commonly “our ball”

25-05-2022, 05:47 PM
It’s always been a shy to me
I guess us oldies when say shy maybe wondered too, as the word shy has a few meanings.

For this purpose it appears the meaning of shy = the act of a throw in

Another new bugbear is calling the Assistant Referee "Lino"
We used to call them Linesman in the first place !!:grr::grr:

OK! Someone else can explain.

Bye Kick Goal Kick
Bye Line Goal Line
Oh and the theatrics of some when placing ball for a corner
Make sure its oan the whitewash,son !!

25-05-2022, 05:53 PM
I guess us oldies when say shy maybe wondered too, as the word shy has a few meanings.

For this purpose it appears the meaning of shy = the act of a throw in

Another new bugbear is calling the Assistant Referee "Lino"
We used to call them Linesman in the first place !!:grr::grr:

OK! Someone else can explain.

Bye Kick Goal Kick
Bye Line Goal Line
Oh and the theatrics of some when placing ball for a corner
Make sure its oan the whitewash,son !!

The other one I don’t like is footballers calling it a Pen

25-05-2022, 06:08 PM

Over the pond in soccermom land,they call it a P K

Nil Nil is Zero Zero A draw is a tie
Bovril and a pie is soda and hotdog :greengrin
If the yanks had got their way back when they first hosted the World Cup we would be playing 4 quarters and not two halves.
That was suggested to max advert breaks /revenue
Just look at the Superbowl,for example.

25-05-2022, 06:15 PM
It's from coconut shy at traditional fairgrounds.

25-05-2022, 06:16 PM
Called it a shy when I was a bairn.

Just_Jimmy
25-05-2022, 06:20 PM
I'm 36

A shy
A bye kick

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

25-05-2022, 06:35 PM
It's from coconut shy at traditional fairgrounds.

It is
Come up and get your goldfish.

Shy/throw in to Hibs in line with the 18yrd box.
Schaedler wipes the wet ball on his jersey/strip/top/shirt and goes for a long one....ooo ,,and the ball slips out of play for a goal/bye kick.

Another one commentators use wrongly
Injury time/extra time/added time/time added on.and on and on !

A lot has changed over the years in football terminology
Referees not so much.:greengrin

25-05-2022, 06:41 PM
Depends on age , but always a shy to me. dont take throw in, or throw outs, but shy's yes.

Roxyhibee
25-05-2022, 06:43 PM
Shy. Bye line. Bye kick. Foul. Linesman. Pen Nibs. Cheating Hearts.

Musselbound
25-05-2022, 06:43 PM
I'd never heard it called a shy until I moved to Edinburgh in the late 80s. Might be a regional thing?

25-05-2022, 06:46 PM
Well, we used to call it a shy when I was at school, but that was centuries ago.
That applies to me as well I'm afraid 😊

25-05-2022, 07:19 PM
Depends on age , but always a shy to me. dont take throw in, or throw outs, but shy's yes.

Always been a shy to me. It's also throws in and kicks off.....

25-05-2022, 09:06 PM
I'd never heard it called a shy until I moved to Edinburgh in the late 80s. Might be a regional thing?

Nope

cameronw-hfc
25-05-2022, 09:10 PM
I'm only 23 so it's a throw in or goal kick, but ill occasionally say bye kick as i coach keepers and would really expect anyone interested in football to know what they both meant

I was a kid when I heard both for the first time

25-05-2022, 09:25 PM
Bye line of bye kick are still pretty common…indeed the bye line was mentioned in commentary on the euro final tonight.

A shy is maybe a bit more old skool

25-05-2022, 09:41 PM

Your name suggests otherwise :wink:

I'd say "Our throw" but I know Shy. Don't hear it much these days.

25-05-2022, 09:41 PM
Shy just means throw and it was always a shy when I was growing up. I say throw now though. Lino came from Soccer AM I think or at least that is where I first heard it. I say it and try to not but heard it so often it has become part of my language. Still a bye kick to me

Inverhibs
25-05-2022, 09:59 PM
Its called a shy in shinty .no idea why tho!

25-05-2022, 11:48 PM
I'm 36

A shy
A bye kick

Aye. But you didn't pick the term up watching Ford Super Sunday in the 90s. Or on your fifa console games.

It was from going to games with an old timer. Correct?

Just_Jimmy
26-05-2022, 12:21 AM
Aye. But you didn't pick the term up watching Ford Super Sunday in the 90s. Or on your fifa console games.

It was from going to games with an old timer. Correct?Not really, I went to games with a group of mates from early age and it was always shy and bye kick in the school playground.

It'll have come from somewhere in my circle obviously, but that's almost try of every expression a person uses.

26-05-2022, 01:22 AM
Not really, I went to games with a group of mates from early age and it was always shy and bye kick in the school playground.

It'll have come from somewhere in my circle obviously, but that's almost try of every expression a person uses.

I'm not much older than you and had honestly never heard the term until an old lecturer used it at college. My neighbour uses the term but again he's older generation.

Skol
26-05-2022, 03:11 AM
It’s a shy

Other one is nutmeg. Where did that originate and is it nuts or Meg. Meg for me

26-05-2022, 07:55 AM
It’s a shy

Cockneys claim it in their rhyming slang. They would !

The term has other names and used in other sports.

I like sportswriter Brian Glanville's explanation/origin of a nutmeg in football.
I think Brian quotes another sportswriter who said..

"nuts refer to the testicles of the player through whose legs the ball has been passed and nutmeg is just a development from this"

Scottish commentators could say
"Lovely skill, straight through his mons megs there !
Or John Greigs!

Skol,do you also say pen?:greengrin

G15 Hibs
26-05-2022, 08:02 AM
I'm in my mid-40s which must be the dividing line as shy and throw-in were interchangeable when I was at school.

OldEast
26-05-2022, 08:05 AM
Always been a shy as far back as I can remember. Why do you never get a "foul shy" though? Always a foul throw 😟

G15 Hibs
26-05-2022, 08:20 AM
Always been a shy as far back as I can remember. Why do you never get a "foul shy" though? Always a foul throw 😟

Seldom see these given any longer, whatever you call them. Don't know if there's been a rule change or something.

26-05-2022, 08:52 AM
Always been a shy to me. It's also throws in and kicks off.....
Panda eats, shoots and leaves (again). You are grammatically correct the way you have written it above but both kick-off and throw-in are hyphenated in the Laws of the Game. So I'd argue it is correct to say kick-offs and throw-ins. But I'll stick to shy.

26-05-2022, 10:52 AM
Bye line and bye kick comes originally from Aberdeen, when the ball went out of play behind the goals the fans would be sent to retrieve the ball with calls of "come bye"

Think about it 😉

26-05-2022, 11:03 AM
Throw in. Unless you're 70 or over.

Op is under 70 though.

26-05-2022, 11:06 AM

Hearts fans who know nothing about football. There's a surprise.

OldEast
26-05-2022, 11:28 AM
Bye line and bye kick comes originally from Aberdeen, when the ball went out of play behind the goals the fans would be sent to retrieve the ball with calls of "come bye"

Think about it 😉

You penned that well

26-05-2022, 11:59 AM
Another one heard at football matches is "skin him" usually old gents in West Stand when Boyler is on the ball running at the defence. Always wondered the origin of that

26-05-2022, 01:23 PM
My pet hate is presser rather than press conference. Don’t know what people do with the milli-second they save in typing it.

26-05-2022, 01:57 PM
If you didn't have bye kicks you couldn't play 10 byes? :dunno:

26-05-2022, 02:17 PM
You penned that well

I almost got into a Fankle :wink:

26-05-2022, 03:00 PM
https://youtu.be/rkpG4XApJ28
All this talk about shys

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

MGmick
26-05-2022, 03:32 PM
All this talk about shys

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

Used to hear it often while watching games at Gladbach and the ball wasn't even out of play. :confused:

StarryPloughHSC
26-05-2022, 03:40 PM
did they call it a shy down south aswell? it sounds very scottish

26-05-2022, 04:32 PM
Im from Lancs now living in Chesterfield thats a new one on me. Never heard of that before. Im 58.

26-05-2022, 04:40 PM
I still call it a shy. Mark Milligans last game he unleashed a hidden talent and shied it about 30 - 40 yards.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

26-05-2022, 04:40 PM
did they call it a shy down south aswell? it sounds very scottish

SHY

I had a wee search when the topic came on here.
It does appear to be more a Scottish term for throw in,in years gone by.
Am 70 now, seems everyone called it a shy when i wiz wee !.
Same with bye kick and bye line terms.

In recent seasons, it appears Hibs players have been shy to take quick throw-ins :greengrin
zzzzzzzzs

PS
Terms that scunner me
Onion basket and back stick.

Oh, and so and so is "playing in the hole":hmmm:

26-05-2022, 05:52 PM
SHY

In recent seasons, it appears Hibs players have been shy to take quick throw-ins :greengrin
zzzzzzzzs

PS
Terms that scunner me

He playing as a false 9 is one that gets me as well.

StarryPloughHSC
26-05-2022, 05:58 PM
SHY

zzzzzzzzs

PS
Terms that scunner me

haha aye a thought it sounded a soley scottish term. Aye its no just throw ins weve been shy in the silverwear department also lol HGSP GGTTH

linlithgowhibbie
26-05-2022, 09:24 PM
Hearts fans who know nothing about football. There's a surprise.

True :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

26-05-2022, 11:32 PM
It’s a shy

I read that 'nutmeg' is a really old expression, possibly around the time association football started.

At the time, 1870s or thereabouts, nutmeg was a very expensive import from the US to the UK, highly prized and therefore highly priced. Some exporters would mix wooden balls the same size as the nutmeg seeds into the big sacks they were selling in order to make more profit. So, 'being numegged' became a term for being sold a dummy and being embarassed - just as knocking the ball through a defender's legs would be.

I always thought shies were named for the coconut shy at traditional fairgrounds as another poster (heretoday?) said. That would help explain why ir was a more familar term to older fans. Shy is also a noun meaning the general act of flinging but that's bordering on archaic now, in use in the late eightennth century but almost certainly past its peak by the time the throw in was brught into football - I don't recall ever seeing it used in Victorian-era prose or poetry.

26-05-2022, 11:38 PM
The answer to the OPs question is, it's neither

It's a penalty to The Rangers.

ClermistonGreen
26-05-2022, 11:47 PM
Wether it be a Shy or a throw-in , one things for sure ,
We cannae take them !

MKHIBEE
27-05-2022, 02:11 AM
You penned that well
Do ewe really think so?

StarryPloughHSC
27-05-2022, 02:50 AM
The answer to the OPs question is, it's neither

It's a penalty to The Rangers.

correct

SonOfDavidFrancey
27-05-2022, 06:25 AM
One small reason why I always speak up for Michael Stewart when folk are slagging him off is that he calls it a shy

27-05-2022, 06:27 AM
It was a shy when I was at school ages ago and also a bye kick, not a goal kick. Don’t hear that used much either these days

delbert
27-05-2022, 10:40 AM

Shies and bye kicks, from a time long gone. From the LOTG, throw-ins and goal kicks.

28-05-2022, 12:57 AM
Always a shy for me. *Im 58

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

28-05-2022, 07:05 AM
Why use two words when one will do?

28-05-2022, 07:56 AM
Why use two words when one will do?

Why use eight words not six?

28-05-2022, 01:55 PM
Definitely were known as that when I was at primary school, but I wouldn't use it any more I guess.

ACLeith
28-05-2022, 03:22 PM
Always a shy for me. *Im 58

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
And for me, and I was a teenager when you were born 😱

Regardless of what we call it, let's hope we can make better use of them next season.

28-05-2022, 05:36 PM
Was predominately a shy when I was growing up, but throw in gradually took over. Same with bye kick/goal kick.

Only thing that winds me up is when I hear commentators say “corner ball”. It’s a corner, simple as that.

CL0762
29-05-2022, 12:30 AM
I’m 30 and heard/used both growing up but I think that’s predominately down to my grandad who I went to all the games with.

Also, never used ‘kick off’ it’s always been ‘centre’ to me.

29-05-2022, 08:39 AM
Another one heard at football matches is "skin him" usually old gents in West Stand when Boyler is on the ball running at the defence. Always wondered the origin of that

Haven’t heard that in years. Used to say it all the time.

I shout “Drive” at my sons footie games when I want to encourage him to “skin” a player.

29-05-2022, 09:04 AM

Another similar phrase you might say to your pal when leaving the ground.
' what a game so and so had today. Played "oot his skin"
I suggest "skin him " could have been an athletics term.
Running,catching and beating the race leader to the finish.
Athletes of course showing lots of skin !

"Took him to the cleaners!" Oh no ,not another one ! :greengrin

29-05-2022, 09:39 AM
SHY

zzzzzzzzs

PS
Terms that scunner me

People referring to players as ballers really gets on My two bob bits! 😀

29-05-2022, 09:51 AM
"Put it in the mixer"

I have heard Micheal Stewart calling it a bye kick a few times watching him on BBC Scotland.

29-05-2022, 09:55 AM
People referring to players as ballers really gets on My two bob bits! ��

Me tae. Gets on my thrupnies!

Another one "There is a player in there"

That scene from Alien with John Hurt springs to mind !:shocked:

29-05-2022, 10:03 AM
"Put it in the mixer"

I have heard Michael Stewart calling it a bye kick a few times watching him on BBC Scotland.

I think Craig Paterson must have done a stint in a brickie squad.
He could use that term more than once in a game when he was a regular co-commentator.
Maybe one of the first i recall using the term.

Green Reaper
29-05-2022, 10:07 AM
Over the pond in soccermom land,they call it a P K

Nil Nil is Zero Zero A draw is a tie
Bovril and a pie is soda and hotdog :greengrin
If the yanks had got their way back when they first hosted the World Cup we would be playing 4 quarters and not two halves.
That was suggested to max advert breaks /revenue
Just look at the Superbowl,for example.
They also wanted to make the goals bigger so easier to score as they are used to high scores in their sports.

29-05-2022, 04:59 PM
The play off game on tv right now from Wembley.
Pre match chat.. someone referred to Forest having some good "ball carriers"
The mind boggles !
Hope they wash their hands afterwards !!