View Full Version : Mbappe PSG salary!

23-05-2022, 09:26 PM
Resigning on fee £100m then £1m per week!

Absurd!

23-05-2022, 09:35 PM
Utterly sickening. Football's broken.

23-05-2022, 09:48 PM
I heard he has the rights to the use of the ground in his contract! Ludicrous if it's actually true.

23-05-2022, 10:15 PM
There's literally no point in football at that top end any more, no point whatsoever other than the disgustingly wealthy having their annual dick measuring contests. Give me Dunfermline v Annan any night of the week over PSG v Real Madrid etc.

23-05-2022, 10:40 PM
It gets worse! He gets "consulted" over managerial changes, and penalty duties!!! Karma go get him and never let him win champions league.

23-05-2022, 10:50 PM
It gets worse! He gets "consulted" over managerial changes, and penalty duties!!! Karma go get him and never let him win champions league.

Wow, 50 odd years ago it was players threatening strike action for a decent wage, now we have the tail wagging the dog and absolutely insane wages. This money isn't even being paid because of the money the game attracts through crowds TV or sponsorship any more .... the super rich owners are making it so top heavy it's going to absolutely destroy itself.

23-05-2022, 10:52 PM

We mustn't blame him. He's a fine player and he's entitled to earn whatever he can command. We'd all take advantage of it if we could.

It's just absurd that in a short period of time, that deal will be surpassed.

24-05-2022, 04:04 AM
Good for him getting himself a great wage. Not like it'd coming out of our pockets and psg owners won't miss it.

24-05-2022, 04:36 AM
Ah, but it’s a short career. Players have to earn the equivalent of a lifetime’s wages in a week just in case they get a career ending injury. Or something like that.
Do they have their ability to think, move or find employment when they finish their first career?
Just obscene.

OstKurve Hibs
24-05-2022, 04:44 AM
The wages are mental but I'd rather the players got those amounts than even more money going to fatcat owners.

24-05-2022, 04:46 AM
Ah, but it’s a short career. Players have to earn the equivalent of a lifetime’s wages in a week just in case they get a career ending injury. Or something like that.
Do they have their ability to think, move or find employment when they finish their first career?
Just obscene.

Why would anyone want to work 1 day more than they need to?

24-05-2022, 04:49 AM

I guess that’s a rhetorical question that fails to address why anyone should individually earn more than a small country

24-05-2022, 04:58 AM
It's not just a football issue, it's a society issue. There are people who can't afford food at the moment and the number of billionaires is increasing. Football is just a very high profile example of the greed culture that is prevalent in modern society

24-05-2022, 05:00 AM

Absurd!

Football stolen from the people.

24-05-2022, 05:12 AM
I guess that’s a rhetorical question that fails to address why anyone should individually earn more than a small country

I don't agree he should, but if his horrible billionaire human rights violating owners are willing to pay him that, he's going to take it. I don't blame him, problem is much larger than him

24-05-2022, 05:15 AM
He'll be able to put the tumble dryer on this winter.

Fuzzywuzzy
24-05-2022, 05:26 AM
Jimmy hill will be turning in his grave!

24-05-2022, 05:27 AM
He'll be able to put the tumble dryer on this winter.

That does put it in perspective.

Mbappe wanted to go to Real, the club he actually supports, but thought he’d try to ask for the moon and PSG decided to give it to him. It’s not the money that matters with this contract it’s the power it gives him to affect how the club develops! Very much like the NBA. Remains to be seen if other clubs follow suit, certainly City managed to get Haaland without similar contract shenanigans.

24-05-2022, 05:49 AM
It's not just a football issue, it's a society issue. There are people who can't afford food at the moment and the number of billionaires is increasing. Football is just a very high profile example of the greed culture that is prevalent in modern society

Absolutely totally perverse.

24-05-2022, 06:02 AM
With the world in such a state of disarray this should never be allowed to happen, it's an obscene amount of money for kicking a football around the pitch. Questions need to be asked by UEFA where PSG are getting all that money from as it surely doesn't meet financial stipulations of the club for European competitions. The club and Mbappe should hold their heads in shame.

The dalmeny
24-05-2022, 06:05 AM

This kind of content does p me off. Nothing to do with Mbappe he's entitled to the best deal,he can get, it's the mugs doing the paying that are the problem

24-05-2022, 06:08 AM
I don't agree he should, but if his horrible billionaire human rights violating owners are willing to pay him that, he's going to take it. I don't blame him, problem is much larger than him

👍🏻 Point well made about the source of finance.
I despair for the beautiful game and these really are obscene amounts of money for anyone to earn

24-05-2022, 06:10 AM

Absurd!

:wtf:

24-05-2022, 06:16 AM
The wages are mental but I'd rather the players got those amounts than even more money going to fatcat owners.

this. Players are employees at the end of the day and there’s no game without them.

24-05-2022, 06:17 AM
this. Players are employees at the end of the day and there’s no game without them.

With this sort of money only being available to a small number of people, there will be no game shortly

24-05-2022, 07:07 AM
You’ve got to laugh at La Liga going nuts over the deal. I read that Real tried to sign him last summer and were looking to spend £300m all in on the transfer and wages etc. Yet are up on arms at this deal.

24-05-2022, 07:08 AM
Hello Capitalism.

It's the world that's been created - just seems to be magnified at tye top end of the football pyramid

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

24-05-2022, 07:09 AM
Wage cap now.

24-05-2022, 07:24 AM
Lost over 700k followers on his Instagram since this deal was released as people are disgusted with this.

24-05-2022, 07:24 AM
There's literally no point in football at that top end any more, no point whatsoever other than the disgustingly wealthy having their annual dick measuring contests. Give me Dunfermline v Annan any night of the week over PSG v Real Madrid etc.

I’d rather watch PSG v Real Madrid

24-05-2022, 07:26 AM
This kind of content does p me off. Nothing to do with Mbappe he's entitled to the best deal,he can get, it's the mugs doing the paying that are the problem

How is it “nothing to do with Mbappe”? You dinnae think he’s demanded this?

24-05-2022, 07:50 AM
There's always going to be the acceptance of insane level wages as simply being a consequence of what someone is willing to pay him.

The added power and control he has - not personal to him, don't know enough about his character - suggests a remarkable level of ego amongst top-level footballers. To ask for those terms is borderline unimaginable I'd have thought. Ego in football isn't a surprise obviously, but if it can now manifest itself as basically running a club it does lay a lot of credence to the view these guys are playing a different game to us.

24-05-2022, 07:51 AM
How is it “nothing to do with Mbappe”? You dinnae think he’s demanded this?

He absolutely did demand it. But personally I have no problem if he takes the money, better in the pocket of someone who is actually providing skill and art in what he does rather than some hedge fund guru. It’s the system that’s broken. If FFP worked properly PSG wouldn’t have been able to rob Monaco by signing Mbappe ‘on loan’ in the first place.

24-05-2022, 08:26 AM
With this sort of money only being available to a small number of people, there will be no game shortly

i agree mate. I stopped paying attention to wages a long time ago mainly because my brain can only compute a certain number of zeroes before it combusts and I need a lie down.

I suppose in the game of football/capitalism theory the supporters are more the exploited proletariat these days than the players (at the top level).

DIXIHIBS
24-05-2022, 08:37 AM
Dont really blame him if someone is stupid enough to pay him that sort of money. What concerns me is the fact that football has never had some much money coming in, yet hardly any is filtering down to lower levels where kids cant even afford strips etc and fans cant afford to go to games anymore. Disgusting.

24-05-2022, 08:44 AM

Many, many people work for years longer than they have to.

Many do voluntary work for nothing too.

24-05-2022, 08:53 AM
He absolutely did demand it. But personally I have no problem if he takes the money, better in the pocket of someone who is actually providing skill and art in what he does rather than some hedge fund guru. It’s the system that’s broken. If FFP worked properly PSG wouldn’t have been able to rob Monaco by signing Mbappe ‘on loan’ in the first place.

I definitely place more of the blame on those willing to pay it, but the players out there asking for £500k+ a week aren't blameless for what's happening in football.

Is it confirmed he has a say in who the manager is, or is it just rumours? That's a shambles in itself. What next, he picks the formation and who to sub on/off?

24-05-2022, 08:58 AM
Many, many people work for years longer than they have to.

Many do voluntary work for nothing too.

I guess that's what they want to do, though. As in, they enjoy that more than anything else they could be doing. I like my job but it's certainly not better than my hobbies.

Many folk justified Boyle moving because it would set his kids up etc. Mbappe is just looking after himself. It's a disgusting amount but I'd take it.

24-05-2022, 09:05 AM
That does put it in perspective.

Mbappe wanted to go to Real, the club he actually supports, but thought he’d try to ask for the moon and PSG decided to give it to him. It’s not the money that matters with this contract it’s the power it gives him to affect how the club develops! Very much like the NBA. Remains to be seen if other clubs follow suit, certainly City managed to get Haaland without similar contract shenanigans.

Man City have played an absolute blinder with the Haaland deal given what PSG are having to fork out for Mbappe.

Mcbizz1998
24-05-2022, 09:05 AM
Just obscene.

Well I certainly wouldn’t employ them. Quick check of the CV will reveal they have kicked a ball around for their entire life and offer nothing else. It’s nuts money but to get to that level it requires an unbelievable level of talent, application and sacrifice.

Certainly more than anything I have been willing to do for any job.

24-05-2022, 09:23 AM
I guess that's what they want to do, though. As in, they enjoy that more than anything else they could be doing. I like my job but it's certainly not better than my hobbies.

Many folk justified Boyle moving because it would set his kids up etc. Mbappe is just looking after himself. It's a disgusting amount but I'd take it.

This is the bit that I struggle with – Boyle was going from 'handsomely paid' to earning enough to set his kids up for life. There's a clear motivation in what the extra money could do for him. At the very top of the game though, what practical difference does it make to your life if you've been earning hundreds of thousands a week for years and now you double it? How is Mbappe 'looking after himself'? Is he saving up to buy a country?

I don't blame him for taking it – at least football is something of a meritocracy, where broadly speaking the most talented players earn the most, unlike CEOs or finance c***s or whatever. But I can't fathom why a player earning elite-level money would be arsed about even higher wages once they're already earning at that crazy level – is it just bragging rights to be the highest paid?

Dmas
24-05-2022, 09:31 AM
I definitely place more of the blame on those willing to pay it, but the players out there asking for £500k+ a week aren't blameless for what's happening in football.

Is it confirmed he has a say in who the manager is, or is it just rumours? That's a shambles in itself. What next, he picks the formation and who to sub on/off?

I don’t know that it’s such a problem, if you have a look at what baseball, NFL and NBA players are earning why should footballers be any different? I think it might get to the stage where the actual contracts are heavily ‘claused’ in favour of the clubs I don’t know throw those things stand with unions and PFA’s etc.

Footballs moved on now it’s huge buisness and people are making a ton of money at the top of it why should the people making that happen on the pitch not be rewarded to the same tune

24-05-2022, 10:02 AM
Obscene amounts of money chucked about these days.
I don't know why they need such huge amounts of moolah. You rarely hear of the super rich actually doing any real good with their cash. The days of the benign rich philanthropists have gone, if indeed they ever existed.

Just how may Lambos and Rolex watches does one man really need?

24-05-2022, 10:19 AM
I don’t know that it’s such a problem, if you have a look at what baseball, NFL and NBA players are earning why should footballers be any different? I think it might get to the stage where the actual contracts are heavily ‘claused’ in favour of the clubs I don’t know throw those things stand with unions and PFA’s etc.

Footballs moved on now it’s huge buisness and people are making a ton of money at the top of it why should the people making that happen on the pitch not be rewarded to the same tune

:agree: Exactly this. LeBron is the most powerful individual in his NBA team, Tom Brady manouevered to get his coach replaced in Tampa, Mbappe deal is just following this pattern.

24-05-2022, 10:32 AM
I posted the other day about how I had fallen out of love with football over the last few years and stories like this are a huge part of the reason why.

I don't blame Mbappe. If a club, and more importantly, a whole system is stupid enough to facilitate this then why wouldn't he take advantage? Albeit I struggle to think of something you can buy when earning £1M a week that you couldn't buy when earning £500K a week. At what point does more money stop making a practical difference to your life? I'd wager some way before this point. Football is just so unrelatable now though. It's something that has trickled down the levels as well, us also rans have to fight to try to cling onto the coat-tails. Some threads on here would have you questioning if this was a football forum or one for people studying an MBA. That's not a dig at the posters, they are just realistic that football is increasingly a business first and a sport a distant second. The difference is that PSG are arguably less reliant on the fans digging deep than we and others like us are (not that they won't fleece them for every penny regardless of course).

The games done as a sport primarily for local fans, certainly at the top level. It's an experience now and will become ever more of a closed shop. Clubs can have no complaints when fans start acting like the customers they believe us to be.

24-05-2022, 10:38 AM

:agree: Exactly this. LeBron is the most powerful individual in his NBA team, Tom Brady manouevered to get his coach replaced in Tampa, Mbappe deal is just following this pattern.

Are we saying those things aren't a problem?

The inflated contracts trickle down too, so when Mbappe is getting a million a week, you'll have the Grealish's wanting £500k+, then the Jordan Pickfords wanting £100k+...it eventually makes it's way down to our level. We end up paying more for it in season tickets, pay at the gate tickets, costs of streaming services. We already pay more than the football is worth in this country, but you cannae take things backwards, we'll just keep paying this level of player more as the general wages go up across the board.

24-05-2022, 10:39 AM
I posted the other day about how I had fallen out of love with football over the last few years and stories like this are a huge part of the reason why.

I don't blame Mbappe. If a club, and more importantly, a whole system is stupid enough to facilitate this then why wouldn't he take advantage? Albeit I struggle to think of something you can buy when earning £1M a week that you couldn't buy when earning £500K a week. At what point does more money stop making a practical difference to your life? I'd wager some way before this point. Football is just so unrelatable now though. It's something that has trickled down the levels as well, us also rans have to fight to try to cling onto the coat-tails. Some threads on here would have you questioning if this was a football forum or one for people studying an MBA. That's not a dig at the posters, they are just realistic that football is increasingly a business first and a sport a distant second. The difference is that PSG are arguably less reliant on the fans digging deep than we and others like us are (not that they won't fleece them for every penny regardless of course).

The games done as a sport primarily for local fans, certainly at the top level. It's an experience now and will become ever more of a closed shop. Clubs can have no complaints when fans start acting like the customers they believe us to be.

24-05-2022, 10:56 AM

The inflated contracts trickle down too, so when Mbappe is getting a million a week, you'll have the Grealish's wanting £500k+, then the Jordan Pickfords wanting £100k+...it eventually makes it's way down to our level. We end up paying more for it in season tickets, pay at the gate tickets, costs of streaming services. We already pay more than the football is worth in this country, but you cannae take things backwards, we'll just keep paying this level of player more as the general wages go up across the board.

No, I already said the system is wrong and broken. I just don't blame Mbappe. I should have 'agreed' :agree: with only the first part of Dmas' post.

World football is actually way worse than the American model it seems to be going down the road of copying because the franchising system in US sports is actually very well controlled by the leagues involved, so although the big teams sometimes get round the salary caps by creative accounting, there is still mostly equality between the teams and any given Sunday one team can compete with the other. By contrast, FIFAs Financial Fair Play has never worked and the inevitable result will be the big clubs continue to get bigger and 95% of games will be one team with possession vs another team defending for 90 minutes.

24-05-2022, 11:03 AM
It’s mind boggling really.

I haven’t even heard of this player until now, so really cements confirmation that I’m completely detached from non Hibs related football. The last superstars I would know of would have been Ronaldo and Messi so must have lost total interest after that.

24-05-2022, 11:25 AM

I agree but that's not what you initially implied.

24-05-2022, 11:30 AM
It is about time fans started protesting these wages.It is ridiculous that footballers earn that kind of money and ultimately fans and working people pay it

24-05-2022, 11:42 AM
I often get funny looks when I say that I don't really have any interest in football outwith Scotland and we have one of the most entertaining bunch of leagues in Europe, if not wider. We have some cracking young players who come through our leagues and yet it's largely unspoiled through money like detailed on this thread. I'm disappointed VAR is coming in because it'll take away from the slightly old school atmosphere we have up here, but the football often has drama, controversy and talking points. An away day to somewhere like Gayfield or Peterhead or the like in the cup is great and although it's getting pricey for a ticket you can still get reasonable priced tickets at certain levels.

In the bigger, higher profile leagues the game has long gone away from being for the likes of myself.

24-05-2022, 02:07 PM

It's not about what you can do with the money. It's Neymar or Messi get £800K so I have to get £1M. It's Madrid will pay me £XXXM so you have to pay me £XXXXM to prove how much you want me.

24-05-2022, 02:10 PM
It's not about what you can do with the money. It's Neymar or Messi get £800K so I have to get £1M. It's Madrid will pay me £XXXM so you have to pay me £XXXXM to prove how much you want me.

It's basically a bit of willy waving from the top players, funded at an enormous cost by the fans.

Or at the moment if it is PSG it's probably indirectly where the money from our increased energy bills (and resultantly every other bill) is ending up.

high bee
24-05-2022, 02:23 PM
I often get funny looks when I say that I don't really have any interest in football outwith Scotland and we have one of the most entertaining bunch of leagues in Europe, if not wider. We have some cracking young players who come through our leagues and yet it's largely unspoiled through money like detailed on this thread. I'm disappointed VAR is coming in because it'll take away from the slightly old school atmosphere we have up here, but the football often has drama, controversy and talking points. An away day to somewhere like Gayfield or Peterhead or the like in the cup is great and although it's getting pricey for a ticket you can still get reasonable priced tickets at certain levels.

In the bigger, higher profile leagues the game has long gone away from being for the likes of myself.

I work with predominantly English people and they always slag off our league. I always tell them I have no interest in the English league as it’s all about money and although I enjoyed it years ago there’s a disconnect now. They obviously spout the usual nonsense about quality, entertainment etc but if you ask me their game is mainly hype and unless you support a team then it’s quite boring to watch as a neutral.

What I like about our league is that the majority of the players have some sort of connection to the clubs be it as a fan, fan of a rival team, grew up knowing fans of the team and others in the league. I think that adds something special to the competitiveness and atmosphere at our games. I hope we don’t lose all the things that make Scottish football special as time goes on.

24-05-2022, 03:51 PM
Man City and Liverpool have been outstanding this season. The league finish down south was amazing too.

If I found that boring, I'd give up and watch another sport!

The money doesn't bother me at all. Whether someone earns £50k or £1M a week, it's so far removed from my world, it's irrelevant.

I want to see the new Top Gun movie. Should I avoid it because Tom Cruise gets paid millions?

24-05-2022, 03:55 PM

How do they affect the game at our level? None of our players are anywhere near Premiership standard, so the trickle down effect would stop way short of us.

There's no connection between what top players earn and what Hibs and the likes can pay.

24-05-2022, 04:14 PM
I want to see the new Top Gun movie. Should I avoid it because Tom Cruise gets paid millions?

No, you should avoid it cos it'll be *****. Anyway, Tom Cruise gives all his money to Scientology who are funding a spaceship to go meet the king of the potato people, name one single cause worthier than that? Nut, didnae hink so.

24-05-2022, 04:36 PM
Man City and Liverpool have been outstanding this season. The league finish down south was amazing too.

If I found that boring, I'd give up and watch another sport!

The money doesn't bother me at all. Whether someone earns £50k or £1M a week, it's so far removed from my world, it's irrelevant.

Very rarely watch any English Premiership football for the very reason others have quoted but I thought I’d check in on John McGinn on Sunday. Well!!! No getting away from it, that was box office stuff. Nail biting from supporters, tears and despair. Genuine entertainment but it was the circumstances that made it so. I would rather watch Arbroath v Partick Thistle normally though.

Tommy75
24-05-2022, 06:38 PM

Eh? It has everything to do with Mbappe. I agree the ones paying it are mugs but Mbappe hasn't just randomly been given this contract. It has been engineered him/his agents and that also makes him part of the problem.

24-05-2022, 07:22 PM

Absurd!

Love to see the business case behind that one

cameronw-hfc
24-05-2022, 07:32 PM
Eh? It has everything to do with Mbappe. I agree the ones paying it are mugs but Mbappe hasn't just randomly been given this contract. It has been engineered him/his agents and that also makes him part of the problem.

I disagree. If I thought there was a hope in hell of my employer paying me $1m a week, id be asking for it as well, as would anyone.

The problem lies with the people willing to pay that money. Not the players making it, because realistically, who wouldn't take that money when offered?

Owners are killing the game, without the owners paying rodocupus fees, the players wouldn't be asking for them.

24-05-2022, 07:39 PM
I disagree. If I thought there was a hope in hell of my employer paying me $1m a week, id be asking for it as well, as would anyone.

The problem lies with the people willing to pay that money. Not the players making it, because realistically, who wouldn't take that money when offered?

Owners are killing the game, without the owners paying rodocupus fees, the players wouldn't be asking for them.

I think the folk blaming Mbappe for this just want a reason not to like Mbappe.

24-05-2022, 07:49 PM

Absurd!

So £100 million up front BEFORE the wages?

24-05-2022, 07:57 PM
So £100 million up front BEFORE the wages?

Why get out of bed for anything less?

And yes, football at the top level is seriously messed up.

24-05-2022, 08:38 PM

I like Mbappe. Brilliant player. Amazing to watch.

24-05-2022, 08:41 PM
Good for him getting himself a great wage. Not like it'd coming out of our pockets and psg owners won't miss it.

Don’t own a car or use gas eh?

Where do you think the money comes from, ultimately?

Andy Bee
24-05-2022, 08:43 PM
I suppose it's not his fault he can command that sort of money but it is his choice as to what it's used for. That amount of cash can do a whole lot of good for other people not so fortunate, He'll probably buy 2 of every supercar and a squadron of Rolls Royces if he's anything like Ronaldo though. Apparently Haalland bought all his ex team mates a Rolex Submariner and all the back room staff a cheaper Rolex. Meanwhile old Elsie is still riding around on the No26 trying to keep warm. It's like a massive game of Monopoly that's approaching its final stages when the few have piles of cash and properties loaded with hotels and you've got Old Kent Rd and a poxy station.

24-05-2022, 08:46 PM
I suppose it's not his fault he can command that sort of money but it is his choice as to what it's used for. That amount of cash can do a whole lot of good for other people not so fortunate, He'll probably buy 2 of every supercar and a squadron of Rolls Royces if he's anything like Ronaldo though. Apparently Haalland bought all his ex team mates a Rolex Submariner and all the back room staff a cheaper Rolex. Meanwhile old Elsie is still riding around on the No26 trying to keep warm. It's like a massive game of Monopoly that's approaching its final stages when the few have piles of cash and properties loaded with hotels and you've got Old Kent Rd and a poxy station.

It’s disgusting tbh.

No single human being needs that much wealth.

24-05-2022, 10:54 PM

Or if there were more stringent and specific rulings to stop money being thrown about like this.

25-05-2022, 01:52 AM
We mustn't blame him. He's a fine player and he's entitled to earn whatever he can command. We'd all take advantage of it if we could.

It's just absurd that in a short period of time, that deal will be surpassed.

is this serious? if i was completely and utterly made for life a million times over, there's no chance in hell i'd be demanding the stuff that he's after - from a purely footballing perspective, demanding consultation on management changes and penalties is just terrible for the football club that he might claim to be important to him, but that he clearly now thinks he is bigger than. utterly bogging.

the whole 'we'd all take advantage of it if we could' thing, if true, just shows how morally bankrupt the vast majority of our society is. once you and yours are taken care of, 'rational self-interest' really doesn't just amount to 'more please'. ugh. i despair.

heidtheba
25-05-2022, 06:40 AM

I still can't get my head around just how much money some people feel they need. I drifted into football (and Hibs) because a friend took me to a game back in early '93 (Hibs 3 - Rangers 4). I loved it, but F1 was still my first sporting love. Then Ayrton Senna died and I watched it happen on TV. I wasn't a massive 'Senna in a car' fan, although the guy was incredible. What really saddens me, and what leaves me totally 'maudlin' each May 1, is what he started out doing. Yes, he was a rich driver. Yes, he commanded a huge wage...but there's a whole story there that's just incredible.

Brazil had/has a huge contrast between super wealthy people and the incredible poverty of the favellas. Senna started out the Senna Foundation. After he died this was continued by his sister. After he died it was found that he'd given around 400m (USD) to Brazilian charities.

What the Foundation has achieved today is incredible.
"One of the brand's strengths is that virtually all money from licensing goes to charity, not profit.Education is the foundation's core business. Over the past two decades, it has become one of the biggest NGOs in Brazil, helping 1.9 million children and training 60,000 teachers per year."

and

"Their actions are financed by donations, licensing resources and by partnerships with the private sector. Considering their initiatives focused in Elementary and High School, Senna Institute are in 17 States and more than 660 municipalities, where they are support the formation of more than 70 thousand teachers and benefit more than 1.9 million students per year."

I don't know what Mbappe will do with his money. You could argue it's his cash, his choices; but when you see the effect someone super rich can have when they spend it charitably, it's quite something.

25-05-2022, 11:42 AM
is this serious? if i was completely and utterly made for life a million times over, there's no chance in hell i'd be demanding the stuff that he's after - from a purely footballing perspective, demanding consultation on management changes and penalties is just terrible for the football club that he might claim to be important to him, but that he clearly now thinks he is bigger than. utterly bogging.

the whole 'we'd all take advantage of it if we could' thing, if true, just shows how morally bankrupt the vast majority of our society is. once you and yours are taken care of, 'rational self-interest' really doesn't just amount to 'more please'. ugh. i despair.

Are you serious? In all walks of life folk with more money than most of us dream of are still intent on making more and do so, it’s not limited to footballers, the rich get richer that’s a fact.

HendoDelivered
25-05-2022, 12:30 PM
Scary stuff. I think it’s only going to get worse as well. Whats to stop others asking for more in the future? Bloody mental.

25-05-2022, 02:22 PM

He will need to be a remarkable character not to be changed for the worse by this money. Extreme wealth tends to turn people into pricks.

It’s hard to argue that the French league is the ultimate test for a footballer, and therefore hard to argue that Mbappe has made this decision because he wants to be the best footballer he can be.

Maybe he doesn’t care because international football and the champions league offer all he wants? I get that. I also understand why he’d take the money. But he’d be well advised to find a way to give at least 3/4 of it away… it will make him happier in the long run, and benefit many more people.

25-05-2022, 11:15 PM
He will need to be a remarkable character not to be changed for the worse by this money. Extreme wealth tends to turn people into pricks.

It’s hard to argue that the French league is the ultimate test for a footballer, and therefore hard to argue that Mbappe has made this decision because he wants to be the best footballer he can be.

Maybe he doesn’t care because international football and the champions league offer all he wants? I get that. I also understand why he’d take the money. But he’d be well advised to find a way to give at least 3/4 of it away… it will make him happier in the long run, and benefit many more people.

I get most of what you’re getting at but I disagree re the football part. I’m not saying I think he genuinely chose to stay at PSG for pure footballing reasons.. but I don’t see why he can’t be the best footballer he can be at PSG. He’s already doing a good job of it and no reason in my eyes to change leagues if that’s where he enjoys playing.

To reiterate though.. I’m not saying I IS down to pure footballing reasons that he’s now deciding to stay put 😏

26-05-2022, 08:23 AM
I get most of what you’re getting at but I disagree re the football part. I’m not saying I think he genuinely chose to stay at PSG for pure footballing reasons.. but I don’t see why he can’t be the best footballer he can be at PSG. He’s already doing a good job of it and no reason in my eyes to change leagues if that’s where he enjoys playing.

To reiterate though.. I’m not saying I IS down to pure footballing reasons that he’s now deciding to stay put 😏

The French league isnt the 'farmers league' that some pundits would like you to believe, i watch it every week, but clearly Mbappe's not taken the opportunity to do what Diego did and test himself against the best league in the world when he went to Napoli in the 80s. I wish he had (partly for Marseille's sake!) but as you say he may be as motivated by lifestyle and quality of life as money, or by being considered historically 'Great' like a Diego or a Zidane.

26-05-2022, 09:24 AM
Are you serious? In all walks of life folk with more money than most of us dream of are still intent on making more and do so, it’s not limited to footballers, the rich get richer that’s a fact.

You’ve ignored the point about the power dynamic, which is important.

Mbappe is undroppable and apparently now more powerful than the manager. Is this healthy?

Football is supposed to be a team sport, not one where 10 players are the support act to one star.

26-05-2022, 09:27 AM
How much of his salary originates in fudged tax, and how much from here? Bet it's a fair bit.

26-05-2022, 09:44 AM
How much of his salary originates in fudged tax, and how much from here? Bet it's a fair bit.

Qatar owns PSG, and also a massive gas terminal in Wales where their supertankers land.

The truth is that you, me and every gas customer in the UK is paying a bit of Mbappe’s salary.

Think about that when you get your next bill.

26-05-2022, 09:46 AM
Qatar owns PSG, and also a massive gas terminal in Wales where their supertankers land.

The truth is that you, me and every gas customer in the UK is paying a bit of Mbappe’s salary.

Think about that when you get your next bill.

Already do mate.

26-05-2022, 12:26 PM

Do you know any or are you going by what you see in the media? I'm guessing the latter?

STF was extremely wealthy but seemed like a decent bloke. Ron Gordon too. Having loads of money doesn't mean anything at all about the character of the person that has it.

There are just as many skint pricks as there are wealthy ones!

27-05-2022, 12:51 PM
The French league isnt the 'farmers league' that some pundits would like you to believe, i watch it every week, but clearly Mbappe's not taken the opportunity to do what Diego did and test himself against the best league in the world when he went to Napoli in the 80s. I wish he had (partly for Marseille's sake!) but as you say he may be as motivated by lifestyle and quality of life as money, or by being considered historically 'Great' like a Diego or a Zidane.

Yep - I imagine he’ll still make a move in the next few years anyway.

I do wonder if the same people that criticise the quality of every league except the English premier league are the same that call for any above average player to move there in order to be recognised or ‘test’ themselves.

Mcbizz1998
27-05-2022, 01:00 PM

Not sure what the alternative is? The players get paid less and then what, the money gets trousered by the owners?

These clubs can’t give money to the likes of Elsie, as that would be never ending.

Personally I don’t have a huge issue with it, Mbappe is unbelievably talented and dedicated. If someone is stupid enough to pay him that much then good on him.

27-05-2022, 01:03 PM
Maybe he feels he was underpaid previously?

27-05-2022, 01:10 PM
Maybe he feels he was underpaid previously?

At PSG you mean, or when he used to drive trains?

27-05-2022, 01:29 PM
Thing is, he’s into ‘global superstar’ territory now, and in that respect, footballers lag behind their contemporaries in other sports, the top quarterbacks or basketball players are probably still on more. Historically the top guys in F1 were too but I think pay is starting to drop back there. Tiger Woods and Roger Federer have career earnings that dwarf even top footballers.

That’s not to say I’m in favour of anyone earning such vast sums, just putting it into context.

Same with him apparently having some degree of power / influence behind the scenes, again, look at NFL, NBA, F1 etc. the real top guys are involved in the running of their teams, doesn’t seem to have hampered a Tom Brady or a Lewis Hamilton’s level of success.

27-05-2022, 04:52 PM
Yep - I imagine he’ll still make a move in the next few years anyway.

I do wonder if the same people that criticise the quality of every league except the English premier league are the same that call for any above average player to move there in order to be recognised or ‘test’ themselves.

:agree: There's countless examples but look at young Camavinga, who'll be playing in the Champions League Final against Liverpool at the weekend. Shone in a young Rennes team, picked up by Real and now 'considered one of the best in the world' suddenly. Theres a decent handful of young French players every single season moving to the Big Clubs. Boubacar Kamara just picked up by Villa, will be worth watching in the holding role behind McGinn next season.

27-05-2022, 05:53 PM
Makes feel sick to the pit of my stomach. There’s hard working people that can’t feed there families ffs

I'm Spartacus
30-05-2022, 12:27 PM
Lost over 700k followers on his Instagram since this deal was released as people are disgusted with this.

And still sits with 71.2M followers - wild.

"No player is bigger than the.... oh wait"

30-05-2022, 12:53 PM
Not sure what the alternative is? The players get paid less and then what, the money gets trousered by the owners?

These clubs can’t give money to the likes of Elsie, as that would be never ending.

Personally I don’t have a huge issue with it, Mbappe is unbelievably talented and dedicated. If someone is stupid enough to pay him that much then good on him.

How about a cap on ticket prices and streaming fees? Anything that reduces costs for the supporters - the lifeblood of the game, so we are told.

ZitellZeTime
30-05-2022, 02:40 PM
Do you know any or are you going by what you see in the media? I'm guessing the latter?

STF was extremely wealthy but seemed like a decent bloke. Ron Gordon too. Having loads of money doesn't mean anything at all about the character of the person that has it.

Aye I was inbetween jobs around 2012-13 and got a job at WH Smith for a few years, we worked on the til and stocked up, closed etc then we got those self service machines fitted for busy times, he used to come in just to buy a newspaper. Before the self service I used to stand and read the paper or a magazine at the til when it was quiet. First couple of times I spoke to him telling him I was a Hibs fan and at the time I was still a season ticket holder but when it was quiet I would be so focused on what I was reading he'd sort of cough, I'd apologise he'd say its fine and had actually looked at what I was reading about, think it was after the euromaiden stuff and the events in Crimea etc 2014, He knew I liked boxing too by spying what I was reading and would talk to me about the stuff going on in Ukraine more than Hibs then not long before I left Ali died and he was the one who brought it up not me, just general chit chat about him and his life but I quite liked how he remembered stuff I was interested in and would bring it up.

Also liked him because if we managed to sell a bar of chocolate for a pound the amount got tallied for each person and the winner each month got noted and how well got tracked for your reviews over time and he always bought one even though he never came for that lol.

Also I've had mates who put money into highly volatile investments that could have ****ed them, like not just some of our savings they hedged alot but worked out and theyre ****ing loaded now, they have new friends in their posh new houses and see pics of them at posh restaraunts with these people, but at the same time they didn't forget their roots and when I still used to be able to go out each weekend the ones who didn't have kids yet still cam back along this way to our old pub then up the toon then back to a randoms house we met etc like we used to before they werre. The ones who had kids still came along for birthday things etc.

I think it may change some people but I think the persons brain is already wired that way, if they were even remotely middle class they would try and act like a prick and better than just your normal working class person, then level up if they get rich. If they're not then they have nothing to brag about yet but that thing inside them that changes them is already there. The people it turns into pricks mostly have their brains wired that way I think same with the people who dont when they become extremely wealthy.

30-05-2022, 05:39 PM

Yeah unfortunately I do.

I’ve had dealings with quite a few rich people in my career - the decent characters stand out, because most of them are pricks.

Scientific research bares this out - most people get rich through family connections or sheer luck, but if you survey ultra high net worth folk they tend to believe their fortune is down entirely to their own talent and that they deserve every penny.

Wealth corrupts people - which is why capitalism is so dominant, of course.

03-06-2022, 09:12 PM
WTF is this pish?

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-10878535/Kylian-Mbappe-wants-PSG-axe-14-PEOPLE-including-boss-Mauricio-Pochettino-Neymar.html

04-06-2022, 07:10 AM
WTF is this pish?

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-10878535/Kylian-Mbappe-wants-PSG-axe-14-PEOPLE-including-boss-Mauricio-Pochettino-Neymar.html

That's the dailymail mate. About 95% lies.

04-06-2022, 11:20 AM

That is, without a doubt, exactly how I feel too. There was an opportunity, about 20/25 years ago to introduce wagecapping on a major scale but it fell by the wayside. And the result of that is the rise in power of american and arab billionaires and Russian oligarchs who treat it as a plaything the same way they treat racehorses. Nowadays it's just, as you say, a closed shop. The sport that we all loved is one of the most corrupt institutions in the world nowadays, but despite knowing that, we, along with plenty of highly intelligent people, still buy into it, fully aware of it.

I remember watching a documentary years ago about corruption in Brazillian football. One of the most outspoken critics of the investigation into it was Socrates, who rightly pointed out that the head of the investigation was also the owner of the wealthiest football club in Brazil. The owners would all meet in some smoky hotel somewhere and discuss/arrange the transfers of ordinary quality players to wealthy European clubs, at that time it was the likes of Inter Milan and some of the other Italian big teams. They'd sell them for exhorbitant fees and the slush fund would be split up evenly. Slightly different from what goes on nowadays, but there's one common factor - corruption at the highest levels of football, and it ain't gonna change anytime soon because we all still watch football and probably always will. I'm as guilty as the next person.