View Full Version : Favourite non Hibs moment in football

LustForLeith
22-05-2022, 06:59 PM
Brilliant drama at both ends of the Premier table today for me thinking about my favourite moment of e watching football that didn’t involve Hibs.

Quite a few but I’ll often go back to the YouTube clip of Watford v Leicester. Leicester player dives for a penalty in the last minute, scores to put them through to the play off final. He takes the penalty, keeper saves it, saves the rebound, ball gets launched up the park.

And the rest is history…

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=6TnKvlQ2h7s

I remember watching this in the Dockers. Stunned

22-05-2022, 07:09 PM
Highland League Brora putting Hearts out the Scottish cup after not playing for months

22-05-2022, 07:12 PM
Hearts winning the league at dens of course.

22-05-2022, 07:13 PM
Memorable rather than favourite...

Man City-Gillingham (1999?).

Last two minutes of Germany-Italy in 2006.

If Hearts still counts as non-Hibs, I'll plump for the favourite as the entire passage of play from the Ryan Stevenson high-five to Inverness equaliser in the League Cup semi at Easter Road.

22-05-2022, 07:30 PM
Being there when McFadden scored in Paris. Still gives me goosebumps when I watch the goal.

Non Scotland, Bergkamp’s goal against Argentina at France 98. Particularly with the Dutch commentary.

22-05-2022, 07:33 PM
Griffiths’ second against England.

Or Armstrong’s monster clearance at the end to ensure we won 2-1.

22-05-2022, 07:34 PM
Being there when McFadden scored in Paris. Still gives me goosebumps when I watch the goal.

Non Scotland, Bergkamp’s goal against Argentina at France 98. Particularly with the Dutch commentary.

One of my favourite goals. 3 perfect touches.

https://youtu.be/XsZkCFoqSBs

22-05-2022, 07:34 PM
Archie Gemmill goal to put Scotland 3-1 up versus Holland Argentina 1978

Better than sex !

leftpeg
22-05-2022, 07:37 PM
Aguero 92

Sent from my Pixel 6 using Tapatalk

22-05-2022, 07:37 PM
More than just a football moment.
But a moment in time, if witnessed,never forgotten.
Arguable,but many football historians agree,the finest game of club football seen in Britain.
Hampden Park 1960. European Cup Final.
As i happens, the German side that won in Seville last week were involved.
They had also beat oldco in the semi final !!

My father,brother and other family members saw live this astonishing game.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8NkC6Nthx-M

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1pc1wBGnMDY

22-05-2022, 07:39 PM
I was at this belter in Sheffield once...

https://youtu.be/2FpnF5qHJsA

Rob Jones was playing.

OldEast
22-05-2022, 07:57 PM
Brazil's 4th goal in the 1970 world cup final against Italy.

22-05-2022, 07:57 PM
The hand of god, 86. And of course Diego’s second that day too. Beautifully encapsulating the two sides of maradona, and you could argue the two sides of Argentinian football.

1986 was a generally good year for non Hibs moments come to think of it.

honourable mentions go to Mickey Thomas against liverpool 1989, solskjaer against Bayern 1999, and aguero against qpr 2012

MKHIBEE
22-05-2022, 08:05 PM
Being behind the goal when Frank Worthington scored his wonder goal for Bolton against Ipswich.

22-05-2022, 08:28 PM

I was in Paris, but was probably going to go for the scenes around us at the final whistle.

It was the perfect Scotland trip and an outstanding result.

At that point we were very optimistic about our chances of qualification.

What a night that turned out to be.

22-05-2022, 08:29 PM
Seeing Scotland walk out alongside Brazil to kick off the 1998 World Cup.

I was only 8 when the 1994 WC was on and was on holiday in Portugal whilst Ireland's group games were on. My Dad and I watched them with dozens of Irishmen and I was so jealous of them enjoying that, especially on the back of their performance in 1990 as well.

4 years later and not only were Scotland at the WC but we were playing in the opening game against arguably the most iconic football nation of them all.

22-05-2022, 08:32 PM
I was in Paris, but was probably going to go for the scenes around us at the final whistle.

I was in the middle seats in the stand behind the goal but never saw the goal that was scored because I was too busy watching the crowd whilst the ball was being passed around in midfield! 🙄

22-05-2022, 09:16 PM
Leigh’s 2nd free kick against England, was sitting behind the goals at Hampden for that game and when that goal went into the net. The place erupted. The limbs/celebration’s in the stands still gives me goosebumps to this day.

22-05-2022, 10:03 PM
Leigh’s 2nd free kick against England, was sitting behind the goals at Hampden for that game and when that goal went into the net. The place erupted. The limbs/celebration’s in the stands still gives me goosebumps to this day.

conversely what happened a couple of minutes later was one of my least favourite moments in football, and honestly the closest I’ve come to putting my boot through the tele

22-05-2022, 10:42 PM
conversely what happened a couple of minutes later was one of my least favourite moments in football, and honestly the closest I’ve come to putting my boot through the tele

This. I called both freekicks surrounded by all my English pals only to crash land moments later.

22-05-2022, 11:18 PM
At Hampden when Dalglish scored that goal versus Spain. Excellent night of football.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

22-05-2022, 11:23 PM

Came away from Hampden that day feeling emotional. From being seconds away to recording one of the great victories in Scottish football history to end up drawing the game.

Still haven’t forgiven Armstrong for what he did.

22-05-2022, 11:36 PM
The 2007 UEFA cup final Sevilla v Espanyol at Hampden ...... I was watching on the telly and it looked like Sevilla who were 2 - 1 up with 5 minutes to go in extra time were about to win, the cameras panned to the crowd and focused on this really old guy sitting at the Espanyol end, he was crying his eyes out and my heart went out to him, he must have supported Espanyol all his life, which must be a hell of a hard shift in a city with Barcelona in it, and he could obviously see that one chance for his club to be the story for once slipping away.

From that second I was praying for Espanyol to equalise for the old guy and with 5 minutes to go they did, I launched myself off the couch with a giant yeeeeesssss and the cat sitting on my partners knee got the fright of its life dug in his claws and ripped her leg a giud yin .... for some reason she was even less of a fitba fan than she had been before that :greengrin

Sevilla won the game on penalties, so the auld guy didn't get his moment of glory after all :boo hoo:

22-05-2022, 11:45 PM
Liverpool coming back from 3-0 down to AC Milan to win the Champions League or Man U scoring twice in the final minutes to win the CL and do the treble were pretty spectacular moments.

Raith Rovers beating Rangers in the Petrofac Cup (or might still have been the Ramsden’s then) at Easter Rd was braw, as was ICT beating Hearts in the league cup semi at Easter Rd.

23-05-2022, 12:13 AM
OGS scoring the winner for Man Utd against Bayern Munich. Losing 1-0 going into injury time and ending 2-1 winners. Lol - I heard the neighbor cheer the goal at the same time I did.....

23-05-2022, 04:55 AM
Manchester City are still alive here…Balotelli…Aguerooooooooo!

Liverpool Vs AC Milan from 3-0 down in the CL final as well.

OstKurve Hibs
23-05-2022, 05:09 AM
The England v Germany penalty shootout from euro 96.

23-05-2022, 05:17 AM
Hun tears in Seville. Old and young.

ChilliEater
23-05-2022, 05:30 AM
The game that got Scotland to Argentina. Dalglish's goal still gives me goosebumps.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ERW4pgWQUww

23-05-2022, 06:05 AM
Quite enjoyed the football this week.

Huns losing on pens.
Hearts losing after being told for 5/6 weeks how they were winning the cup.
City coming back from the dead in 5 minutes to win the league.

I wouldn’t say I enjoyed it because I was stressed out my box, but the enjoyment did eventually come, England losing the Euros on pens and Rio’s tears, again after his billy big baws attitude. Maybe topped off by learning that TheCat23 (I think it was) had gotten into a small twitter spat with Rio about it as well.

I think all of Real Madrid’s great escapes in the knockouts of this CL have been outstanding entertainment.

23-05-2022, 06:08 AM
Brazil's 4th goal in the 1970 world cup final against Italy.

Iconic goal that stayed in the memory all these years

23-05-2022, 06:23 AM
Scotland’s qualifying for the 1974 World Cup against Czechoslovakia and going on to watch all three, unbeaten, games we played in Germany.

Wembley 1977 is right up there and the turf we brought back.

23-05-2022, 06:53 AM

I still remember so much about that game. The range of emotions when we scored, did that go in, OMG it actually went in, carnage, what do we do now, we’re ahead in Paris, do we celebrate or panic for the next 30 minutes.

Also remember an announcement about the last metro with about 15 minutes to go and laughing. As if the time of the last metro was on our minds.

Sure France played Lithuania at the next game and the France manager was happy. Not because there would be more French fans in the ground but that there’d be no Scotland fans there 😀

23-05-2022, 07:02 AM
"And Solskjaer has won it"

Nou Camp, 1999

Worst - "Aguerooooooooo"

Etihad, 2012

23-05-2022, 07:09 AM
Seen in person;

- Griffiths 2 x Free kicks v England

Seen on TV

- Aguerrrooooooo
- Ronaldinho lobbing Seaman from about 40 yards (first World Cup I can remember, might only have been 20 yards :greengrin)
- Bafana Bafana dancing out for the opening game of the WC in 2010 and then Tshabalala scoring an absolute screamer to send the Africans into bedlam.
- Zidane panenka then headbutting Materazzi in the same game
- Keane & Vieira in the tunnel at Highbury
- Ibra overhead kick against England from 30 yards

Bridge hibs
23-05-2022, 07:13 AM
From a purely neutral perspective, watching the mighty Raith Rovers play Bayern Munich, forgot the first leg was played at Easter Road

AndyM_1875
23-05-2022, 07:41 AM
"And Solskjaer has won it"

Nou Camp, 1999

Worst - "Aguerooooooooo"

Etihad, 2012

I don't follow an English team but "Agueroooo" and the CL99 were fantastic drama to see unfold.

My own favourite was seeing the Real Madrid crowd applaud Ronaldinho after he had torn them apart as a Barcelona player.

23-05-2022, 08:03 AM
I don't follow an English team but "Agueroooo" and the CL99 were fantastic drama to see unfold.

My own favourite was seeing the Real Madrid crowd applaud Ronaldinho after he had torn them apart as a Barcelona player.

Good point. They did the same for Jimmy Johnson after Puskas’ testimonial. That’s football supporters in action. Appreciating the skills of others whilst passionate about their own team.
I do wish we could see that return to the game in Scotland. Nowadays it seems to be all about hate.

GRA
23-05-2022, 08:03 AM
A rather random one here but does anyone remember the Euro 2000 game between Spain & Yugoslavia? Finished 4-3 to the Spanish. One of those games where it was impossible to keep up to date with all the chances that were created. Spain had to win and scored two goals in injury time to qualify for the next round. It had me choking on my sandwich when the winning goal went in!

23-05-2022, 08:06 AM
I was in the middle seats in the stand behind the goal but never saw the goal that was scored because I was too busy watching the crowd whilst the ball was being passed around in midfield! 🙄

You must've had a pretty short attention span, there was literally no passing around midfield :greengrin

JXM73
23-05-2022, 08:10 AM
Huns greetin in spain,
Jambos greetin at Hampden
Scousers greetin yesterday

If only leeds had gone down ...

23-05-2022, 08:11 AM
Good point. They did the same for Jimmy Johnson after Puskas’ testimonial. That’s football supporters in action. Appreciating the skills of others whilst passionate about their own team.
I do wish we could see that return to the game in Scotland. Nowadays it seems to be all about hate.

I remember the Brazilian Ronaldo being applauded off at Old Trafford. I think he was subbed after scoring a hat-trick for Real Madrid. There was a Spanish game where the home support gave Messi a standing ovation after he scored a brilliant goal. But it doesn't happen often.

23-05-2022, 08:46 AM
Being at all three games at Italia90. Especially the Sweden game, atmosphere like nothing I'd seen until 21st May 2016.
Euro 96 v England. Half time sing song in the Scotland end with the England fans watching on in amazement
Being in the Stadium when Scotland kicked off the 98 World Cup. Got even more mental when we equalised v Brazil
Andy King scoring v Liverpool in 78. Goal of the season and why I ended up as an Everton fan

DIXIHIBS
23-05-2022, 08:50 AM
You must've had a pretty short attention span, there was literally no passing around midfield :greengrin
Aye...goalie to mcfadden...goal.

23-05-2022, 08:53 AM
Scotland’s qualifying for the 1974 World Cup against Czechoslovakia and going on to watch all three, unbeaten, games we played in Germany.

Wembley 1977 is right up there and the turf we brought back.

Jordan’s goal to qualify still gives me goosebumps
Think Arthur Montford was the commentator

Posh Swanny
23-05-2022, 09:13 AM

There's a video on Youtube that captures the whole thing from the England end. Fair play to the guy as he keeps recording through the Scotland celebrations but gets his reward by getting Kane's equaliser too. It's a great video that captures the essence of being a football fan. The quiet despair in one part of the stadium, the ecstacy in the other part, the taunting... then it flips on it's head two minutes later. (switching off around 3:30 is advised for some)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eu56-9LMn9s&t

23-05-2022, 09:35 AM
Greece winning the Euros. Real fairytale stuff (that and Leicester winning the league).

Posh Swanny
23-05-2022, 09:37 AM
Brilliant drama at both ends of the Premier table today for me thinking about my favourite moment of e watching football that didn’t involve Hibs.

Quite a few but I’ll often go back to the YouTube clip of Watford v Leicester. Leicester player dives for a penalty in the last minute, scores to put them through to the play off final. He takes the penalty, keeper saves it, saves the rebound, ball gets launched up the park.

And the rest is history…

Fans-eye-view youtube for that one! I know people with phones at games are annoying, but they sometimes get some great footage!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9-5KyjC5K-c

CL0762
23-05-2022, 09:57 AM
I was working in Vodafone at the time of the Aguero last minute winner, we’d left 1 guy on the shop floor and about 7 of us huddled around an iPad in the back office. We went mental when he scored even though none of us supported Man City.

Liverpools comeback vs AC Milan and against Barca a few years back are standouts too.

But my own would be Lucas Moura in the last minute vs Ajax, Spurs have always been my ‘second team’ ever since I was a wee boy and watching them steal it with the last kick of the ball to go into the champions league final was incredible to see.

Also seen them leather Hearts 5 zip in person at Tynie when they played them in the europa qualifiers [emoji1]

23-05-2022, 09:59 AM
Pele, Brazil world cup Final? 1970, dummied the keeper ran around him but just missed the goal, brilliant, just brilliant.
Also have to mention Maradona for Napoli v Stuttgart the game in Stuttgart and the wee man took them apart to win the Fairs Cup or whatever it was called at the time.

23-05-2022, 10:01 AM
Italy winning the World Cup in 1982.

Beating Argentina, West Germany and Brazil to win it with the astonishing goal scoring performance across the tournament of Paolo Rossi and the absolutely iconic goal celebration of Marco Tardelli.

Beating that West German team was impressive but not as sweet as paying Brazil back for the 1970 final. Sure, you can play in the heat of Mexico and you're great on the beach but can you do it on a balmy July evening in Barcelona? :greengrin

Edina Street
23-05-2022, 10:46 AM
Leigh Griffiths banging in two against England

23-05-2022, 10:58 AM

It was just amazing to see the number of fans we had in that stadium, as I said wasn't paying as much attention to the on field action as I should've been.

23-05-2022, 11:23 AM
Maradona's wonder goal against England in '86. His 2nd wasn't too bad either!

Edina Street
23-05-2022, 11:28 AM
Maradona's wonder goal against England in '86. His 2nd wasn't too bad either!

For his first goal, he displayed greater goalkeeping attributes than Peter Shilton.

hibee
23-05-2022, 11:42 AM
https://youtu.be/1yON3ySblWQ

23-05-2022, 12:01 PM
The game that got Scotland to Argentina. Dalglish's goal still gives me goosebumps.

This, but with Archie's commentary. I think he creamed himself........

23-05-2022, 12:13 PM
Barcelona's comeback against PSG is up there.

23-05-2022, 12:18 PM

Forgot about that one. One of my favourite ever players, Martin Buchan, lost and running up the right wing. What a goal though.....

Gloucester Hibs
23-05-2022, 12:26 PM
"Maradona has Burruchaga to his left and Valdano to his left. He doesn’t use them. He won’t need any of them. You have to say that’s magnificent."

23-05-2022, 01:08 PM
On TV the Real v Eintract final and Tommy Gemmell’s equaliser in the 1967 final.

In the flesh Davy Wilson’s goal and a last minute Eric Caldow penalty in 1960 when we beat England at Hampden for the first time since before the war.

DIXIHIBS
23-05-2022, 03:12 PM
As a young teen my ever Scotand game v england at hampden. Dalglish stuck one through clemences legs in front of 100k. I thought it would always be like that...

23-05-2022, 03:27 PM
As a young teen my ever Scotand game v england at hampden. Dalglish stuck one through clemences legs in front of 100k. I thought it would always be like that...

And that goal resulted in the best and funniest banner i saw at a football match.
The Liverpool Kop back then sported some great and comical banners.
But the joke was on them and Ray after King Kenny's nutmeg at Hampden.
The following Auld Enemy game at Wembley,a banner made by a couple of guys i knew, read....

" Ray Clemence opens his legs
wider than Christine Keeler "

AltheHibby
23-05-2022, 05:55 PM
Gordon Banks making 'that' save from Pele in 1970.

23-05-2022, 06:29 PM
Tommy Gemmell booting Helmut Haller up in the air in Hamburg

23-05-2022, 06:33 PM
Tommy Gemmell booting Helmut Haller up in the air in Hamburg

Ha! That was a fantastic moment

23-05-2022, 06:36 PM
Ha! That was a fantastic moment

https://youtu.be/Lnja51VticQ

23-05-2022, 06:46 PM

https://youtu.be/Lnja51VticQ

That's magnificent.

I'd never seen or heard of that before.

23-05-2022, 06:53 PM
That's magnificent.

I'd never seen or heard of that before.

Very important World Cup match Gemmell lost the plot and Scotland lost 2-3

24-05-2022, 02:07 AM
Came away from Hampden that day feeling emotional. From being seconds away to recording one of the great victories in Scottish football history to end up drawing the game.

Still haven’t forgiven Armstrong for what he did.

If I ever own a boozer I would have a sign behind the bar saying Armstrong should never be served.

24-05-2022, 08:46 AM
I blame Craig Gordon for the goal more than Armstrong.

As brilliant as he’s been so many times against Hibs it was a pitiful piece of goalkeeping. Shameful.

I still get pissed off thinking about it.

dalkeith stu
24-05-2022, 09:14 AM
In the away end for the Super Spreader game at Anfield. Fantastic game and amazing atmosphere!!!

ChilliEater
24-05-2022, 09:44 AM
This, but with Archie's commentary. I think he creamed himself........

"There's an overlap!!!!!!!!" :greengrin - he was getting quite caught up in all. I liked Archie's commentating. I wasn't a big Arthur Montford fan, but Archie on the telly and David Francey on the radio.

My 10 year old self would have sworn blind that the Welsh defender handled it too.

Green Man
24-05-2022, 09:48 AM
Scottish Cup final 1991, Motherwell 4 Dundee United 3. I was in the Motherwell end as my dad’s mate was from round there. Ally Maxwell playing on with a broken rib, Motherwell winning in extra time, it was an incredible match.

hibstag
24-05-2022, 11:20 AM
Scottish Cup final 1991, Motherwell 4 Dundee United 3. I was in the Motherwell end as my dad’s mate was from round there. Ally Maxwell playing on with a broken rib, Motherwell winning in extra time, it was an incredible match.

Me too in the United end with pals, watched the full match replay during the first lockdown it was like watching a different sport. Some really hefty challenges. Great game

24-05-2022, 02:31 PM
Jimmy Glass (Carlisle goalie) injury time winner for Carlisle v Plymouth to keep them in the football league was an amazing moment, one of my mates English team is Carlisle so I remember it well.

Hearts conceding 2 goals in the last couple of minutes in the semi of The Scottish Cup v Celtic to lose 1-2 was quite spectacular too. 😀

24-05-2022, 02:37 PM
Jimmy Glass (Carlisle goalie) injury time winner for Carlisle v Plymouth to keep them in the football league was an amazing moment, one of my mates English team is Carlisle so I remember it well.

Hearts conceding 2 goals in the last couple of minutes in the semi of The Scottish Cup v Celtic to lose 1-2 was quite spectacular too. 😀

I was studying at Uni up in Dundee at that time and one of my mates was a Plymouth fan. Since Carlisle was "relatively" (!!) easy to get to , he went down and went to the game.

So witnessed that one going in from the away end.

24-05-2022, 03:32 PM
The 2007 UEFA cup final Sevilla v Espanyol at Hampden ...... I was watching on the telly and it looked like Sevilla who were 2 - 1 up with 5 minutes to go in extra time were about to win, the cameras panned to the crowd and focused on this really old guy sitting at the Espanyol end, he was crying his eyes out and my heart went out to him, he must have supported Espanyol all his life, which must be a hell of a hard shift in a city with Barcelona in it, and he could obviously see that one chance for his club to be the story for once slipping away.

From that second I was praying for Espanyol to equalise for the old guy and with 5 minutes to go they did, I launched myself off the couch with a giant yeeeeesssss and the cat sitting on my partners knee got the fright of its life dug in his claws and ripped her leg a giud yin .... for some reason she was even less of a fitba fan than she had been before that :greengrin

Sevilla won the game on penalties, so the auld guy didn't get his moment of glory after all :boo hoo:
I work in Glasgow and was travelling through on the 900 bus on the day of that match. Quite a lot of the visiting supporters chose to stay in Edinburgh and travelled through for the match.

I went mid-morning and found the bus full of Sevilla fans and one lone Espanyol supporter. The Sevilla fans were singing all the way to Glasgow. The one Espanyol die hard kept adding (in a rather squeaky voice) “and Espanyol” to every mention of Sevilla.

24-05-2022, 03:37 PM
I was studying at Uni up in Dundee at that time and one of my mates was a Plymouth fan. Since Carlisle was "relatively" (!!) easy to get to , he went down and went to the game.

So witnessed that one going in from the away end.

I love the place, wouldn't want to stay there though. Blackpool likewise. I'm hitting the highspots of Blackpool, Preston and Oldham this weekend. 🖒🍺🖒

The dalmeny
24-05-2022, 04:38 PM
Pele getting that equaliser in Escape to Victory

24-05-2022, 04:47 PM
Any goal against England 😀😏

24-05-2022, 05:15 PM
Very important World Cup match Gemmell lost the plot and Scotland lost 2-3

There was a spoof about it on Fantasy Football League a few years ago :)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g6H3kleEmi8

24-05-2022, 09:41 PM

Fun starts at 20:30 :greengrin

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=HPB7wvhjBe8

Dr What If?
24-05-2022, 10:08 PM
Any goal against England 😀😏
England v Iceland at the Euros, never saw that coming....could not believe just how bad some of the English passing was, kept expecting them the 'click' but it never happened.
Would love to say Hearts v Brora but only found out about that the next day......must have read the BBC headline about 10 times before it finally sunk in and I felt confident enough to start sending out texts to rather quiet Hearts supporting mates. I've got one Jambo mate who was originally from Brora, moved down here when he was just a kid......the look of utter confusion on his face as he couldn't work out if he should be proud or sickened :greengrin
The one game that has stuck in my mind the longest though is the 1982 world cup final. I was 7 and it was my 'first' finals (remember nothing of 78). The whole tournament blew me away....and Tardelli's celebration must be one of the most iconic moments in sport.

24-05-2022, 10:12 PM

:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

Henry Smith's finest hour.

During my childhood, whenever we'd be playing football in the park and the goalkeeper came for a cross and dropped it, it was known as "doing a Henry" courtesy of those beautiful few minutes.

BegbieHSC
24-05-2022, 10:13 PM
Euro 2020 final! Waving that Italian flag with pride 😅

MagicSwirlingShip
24-05-2022, 11:17 PM
Rene Higuita anyone? There was about 25 laddies from p7 down to p3 trying the famous “scorpion kick” on the grass at school the following days lunchtime.

Also a real early memory was Nayim lobbing Seaman in the Cup Winners Cup final. That and Raith beating Celtic on Pens in the Coca Cola cup final. Probably all around the same few years

24-05-2022, 11:19 PM
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

Henry Smith's finest hour.

During my childhood, whenever we'd be playing football in the park and the goalkeeper came for a cross and dropped it, it was known as "doing a Henry" courtesy of those beautiful few minutes.

Same :greengrin

25-05-2022, 12:14 AM
Gascoigne’s goal against Scotland and Liverppool winning the first ever Merseyside derby FA cup final 3-1 after being 1-0 down at half time to a Lineker goal, one of my greatest trips to Wembley.

25-05-2022, 01:13 AM

I was just thinking about that goal today! Couldn't remember what team it was!

25-05-2022, 01:13 AM
Rene Higuita anyone? There was about 25 laddies from p7 down to p3 trying the famous “scorpion kick” on the grass at school the following days lunchtime.

Also a real early memory was Nayim lobbing Seaman in the Cup Winners Cup final. That and Raith beating Celtic on Pens in the Coca Cola cup final. Probably all around the same few years

Classic that!

heidtheba
25-05-2022, 07:06 AM
I loved the '94 World Cup. It was the first WC after I got interested in football and I just loved it. I liked Italy (I still like that Valentino shirt) and I'm pretty sure there were games on in the morning, which I really liked.

Earliest non-football moment? I collected football stickers because everyone else did. One kid in my class needed Packie Bonner to complete the set. I had that sticker and got all his 'doublers' as a result. Didn't know a bleddy thing about the sport or any of the players, but I still remember the excitement of getting the 'Liverpool shiney' and the satisfying rip of a packet...and the smell of those plasticy stickers.
Happy days!

25-05-2022, 07:14 AM
Thomas at Anfield in 89 , Liverpool thought they had won it , Barnes high fiving the players

THOMMASSSSSSSS:not worth

25-05-2022, 08:33 AM
Seeing Scotland win at Wembley in 1981

A trip to Wembley to see Scotland was a rite of passage for football supporters in those days

Had seen us lose 3-1 the time before

One of the things I remember most was getting stopped with a bottle of vodka going in and tossing it on this humongous pile of other confiscated alcohol

That and seeing loads of folk I knew outside randomly

25-05-2022, 08:41 AM
David Narey's goal against Brazil, Seville, 1982. Sweet joy, but short-lived.

hibstag
25-05-2022, 08:51 AM
Thomas at Anfield in 89 , Liverpool thought they had won it , Barnes high fiving the players

‘It’s up for grabs now’

25-05-2022, 09:55 AM
‘It’s up for grabs now’

:agree::top marks

Sergio sledge
25-05-2022, 10:22 AM
I loved the '94 World Cup. It was the first WC after I got interested in football and I just loved it. I liked Italy (I still like that Valentino shirt) and I'm pretty sure there were games on in the morning, which I really liked.

Earliest non-football moment? I collected football stickers because everyone else did. One kid in my class needed Packie Bonner to complete the set. I had that sticker and got all his 'doublers' as a result. Didn't know a bleddy thing about the sport or any of the players, but I still remember the excitement of getting the 'Liverpool shiney' and the satisfying rip of a packet...and the smell of those plasticy stickers.
Happy days!

Same, I was 9 at the time and it's the first world cup I remember. Made all the sweeter by being in Italy on holiday for the duration. Remember being captivated by Nigeria, and celebrating like a madman when Letchkov scored against Germany in the quarter finals. I wasn't really sure why to be honest but it was a great moment.

Also going out into the streets of Turin after Italy winning their semi-final was incredible. Crowds of people, cars horns blaring, flags and celebrations everywhere.

25-05-2022, 11:52 AM
Gascoigne’s goal against Scotland and Liverppool winning the first ever Merseyside derby FA cup final 3-1 after being 1-0 down at half time to a Lineker goal, one of my greatest trips to Wembley.

Vague memories of that game at the time (back in the day when the Scottish and FA Cup finals were on the same day, and we got shown the goals at HT) - but recently watched the excellent Two Tribes documentary on BT Sport and saw the footage of the fans clambering 50+ft up the side of the old Wembley stadium and making death defying jumps to get into the game.

Absolutely terrifying to watch!

25-05-2022, 11:54 AM

I was on the Kop that night 😩

25-05-2022, 11:54 AM
Vague memories of that game at the time (back in the day when the Scottish and FA Cup finals were on the same day, and we got shown the goals at HT) - but recently watched the excellent Two Tribes documentary on BT Sport and saw the footage of the fans clambering 50+ft up the side of the old Wembley stadium and making death defying jumps to get into the game.

Absolutely terrifying to watch!

Just found some footage - 30 secs in;

https://m.facebook.com/watch/?v=216938935998035&_rdr

25-05-2022, 12:27 PM
2 hibs fans shouting nonsense at Tam McManus whilst he was warming up behind the goals at the home end when he was a sub for Boston Utd[emoji23].

To be fair he looked a bit shocked, waved a bit then ran up the line to get as far away as possible.

25-05-2022, 01:27 PM
David Marshall's penalty save against Mitrovic in Serbia.

France 98 was my introduction to Football, but at 7, I can't really remember much of it and never saw Scotland qualify for it, so seeing Scotland finally qualify for a major tournament was incredible

loanheadhibby
27-05-2022, 08:46 AM
David Marshall's penalty save against Mitrovic in Serbia.

France 98 was my introduction to Football, but at 7, I can't really remember much of it and never saw Scotland qualify for it, so seeing Scotland finally qualify for a major tournament was incredible
Dens Park 1986

Cuikyhibs
27-05-2022, 11:00 AM
Leigh Griffiths 2 against England
Van Persie's flying header against Spain
Ronaldinho's goal v Chelsea in the champions league

27-05-2022, 11:06 AM
I blame Craig Gordon for the goal more than Armstrong.

As brilliant as he’s been so many times against Hibs it was a pitiful piece of goalkeeping. Shameful.

I still get pissed off thinking about it.

Not more than Armstrong but equally absolutely pooed his pants. Pathetic didn't cover himself in glory the first either

27-05-2022, 11:09 AM

Henry Henry drop the ball. Couldn't have happened to a bigger numpty :greengrin

27-05-2022, 11:43 AM

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=HPB7wvhjBe8Nice to a "very disappointed and dejected Alex McDonald" in that footage.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

27-05-2022, 01:48 PM
David Narey's goal against Brazil, Seville, 1982. Sweet joy, but short-lived.

I think we all had the some thought when he scored that - 'That's just going to provoke them'.

27-05-2022, 02:10 PM
Has to be McFadden's goal in France or Marshall's penalty save really.

27-05-2022, 02:47 PM
I enjoyed seeing Germany go out the World Cup against Japan (or South Korea? Can’t quite remember) a few years ago.

Man City winning the league for the first time was utter bedlam, as was Leicester winning it.

Germany beating Brazil 7-0 was surreal, it was a bit like watching Azlan dying in Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe.

27-05-2022, 04:40 PM

Happy days!

I was about 9 for USA 94. I still have fond memories of staying up well past my bed time watching games with my Dad. I remember the games being on past midnight but they probably weren’t, just felt like that at that age.

27-05-2022, 05:02 PM
Three years ago today SJM scored the goal that put Aston Villa into the EPL

How much was that goal worth?

https://youtu.be/DuJh9SV8Y14

27-05-2022, 06:41 PM
Scotland 2-1 Sweden 1990 WC in Genoa. I was behind the goals where Mo Johnston scored the penalty. Mayhem.

27-05-2022, 07:19 PM
Scotland 2-1 Sweden 1990 WC in Genoa. I was behind the goals where Mo Johnston scored the penalty. Mayhem.

Was there awesome atmosphere do or die

Newcastlehibby
27-05-2022, 07:25 PM
15th April 1967 when we became World Champions at Wembley.

StarryPloughHSC
27-05-2022, 07:43 PM

And the rest is history…

the death of glasgow rangers

27-05-2022, 07:47 PM
1977 Wembley was special, my first but not last taste of exuberance. :greengrin

West lower
28-05-2022, 11:58 AM
Dalglish scoring v Wales at Anfield in 77. The “Argentina here we come” moment. The scenes behind the goals !!

28-05-2022, 03:48 PM
Dalglish scoring v Wales at Anfield in 77. The “Argentina here we come” moment. The scenes behind the goals !!

Was right behind that goal. Absolutely classic

marleyhib
28-05-2022, 04:20 PM
Maradona v England 1986, 2nd goal
1978 World Cup, Archie G's goal
1982 World Cup, entire Brazil team and Socrates goal against USSR

cameronw-hfc
28-05-2022, 06:53 PM
Villas promotion back to the Prem. Grew up going to ER with my dad and watching Villa on the tele every week I could with my Brummy Uncle that lived round the corner.

Grew up supporting Hibs and Villa whilst both clubs were in freefall so to see them get promoted and now after huge players is a new thing for me.

Hibs and Villa fan during the early 00's and 2010's, Satan wouldn't chose two worse team's during those eras to support for his worst enemy😂

cannastar
29-05-2022, 03:47 PM
archie gemmell v holland delightful goal and strangely enough ray houghton goal v italy as was in the temple bar watching it unfold in 1994. very surreal and the celebrations in oconell street afterwards.

29-05-2022, 03:53 PM
I quite enjoyed being at the lasagne gate game at UP when The Hammers stopped Spurs qualifying for The Champions league.

29-05-2022, 03:58 PM
I quite enjoyed being at the lasagne gate game at UP when The Hammers stopped Spurs qualifying for The Champions league.

Arsenal nipped in and took their place :cb

29-05-2022, 04:46 PM
Villas promotion back to the Prem. Grew up going to ER with my dad and watching Villa on the tele every week I could with my Brummy Uncle that lived round the corner.

Grew up supporting Hibs and Villa whilst both clubs were in freefall so to see them get promoted and now after huge players is a new thing for me.

Hibs and Villa fan during the early 00's and 2010's, Satan wouldn't chose two worse team's during those eras to support for his worst enemy😂

While Hibs have had poor league performances in that time, we've won 2 cups in the last 15 years. Its one of the most successful periods in our history.

JamesHFC
29-05-2022, 08:19 PM
Arsenal nipped in and took their place :cb

Arsenal have started to develop the spursy gene.

29-05-2022, 08:25 PM
Arsenal have started to develop the spursy gene.

Na, Arsenal win trophies. That's the difference. Hibs have more cups than spurs this century.

JamesHFC
29-05-2022, 09:14 PM
Na, Arsenal win trophies. That's the difference. Hibs have more cups than spurs this century.

Arsenal haven’t even finished above spurs since Hibs last won a cup 😂 slowly becoming an irrelevant club.

Soldiersteve
29-05-2022, 10:08 PM
Paulo Di Canio at Goodison Park for me when he caught the ball in the penalty box from a cross following an injury to the Everton goalkeeper .
He received a standing ovation IIRC.

30-05-2022, 04:37 AM
Arsenal haven’t even finished above spurs since Hibs last won a cup 😂 slowly becoming an irrelevant club.

So irrelevant that half your posts are about them. Massive club.

30-05-2022, 09:18 AM

the absolute cheek of spurs trying to join the Super League when they haven’t won their domestic title for 60 years (and only twice in their entire history), haven’t won a European trophy for nearly 40 years, or even so much as an FA Cup for 30 years…

JamesHFC
30-05-2022, 09:34 PM
So irrelevant that half your posts are about them. Massive club.

Bottled a 4 point lead with 3 games to go (if I used the term bottled correctly)

You must be gutted.