View Full Version : SPL play-off final.
Scotty Leither
20-05-2022, 05:31 PM
Is this on TV tonight? Can’t find it on the schedules…
20-05-2022, 05:32 PM
Is this on TV tonight? Can’t find it on the schedules…
Sky Sports Football.
sauzee=legend
20-05-2022, 05:33 PM
Wouldn’t mind Inverness coming up - don’t mind the away trip to the highlands.
20-05-2022, 05:35 PM
Sky Sports Football.
Thanks, I thought it was on the BBC Scotland channel
Mrimbetween
20-05-2022, 05:37 PM
He's goal no doubt
Scotty Leither
20-05-2022, 05:37 PM
Sky Sports Football.
Thanks..."couldnae see it for looking at it" as my old man would have said.
20-05-2022, 05:41 PM
BBC only had the rights to show the quarter finals and the semi finals. Sky only for the final.
20-05-2022, 05:41 PM
Thanks..."couldnae see it for looking at it" as my old man would have said.
Aye, I'm well acquainted with that phrase from my old man, must be a Leith thing. 😀
20-05-2022, 05:45 PM
Aye, I'm well acquainted with that phrase from my old man, must be a Leith thing. 😀
Not sure about being a Leith thing. My granny said it all the time and she was as Doric as you could find......
JamesHFC
20-05-2022, 05:48 PM
Wouldn’t mind Inverness coming up - don’t mind the away trip to the highlands.
I’d love to see St Johnstone relegated.
Scotty Leither
20-05-2022, 05:49 PM
Mibbes aye, mibbes naw.
Another one of his favourites was "Try looking past the end of your nose."
Interspersed with the odd expletive or two, as I recall.
20-05-2022, 05:51 PM
I’d love to see St Johnstone relegated.Amen. Horrible anti-football. Get rid.
20-05-2022, 05:52 PM
Not sure about being a Leith thing. My granny said it all the time and she was as Doric as you could find......
Oh well, might've came from my mum, she was from Peterhead.
20-05-2022, 05:53 PM
Tricky one. ICT's "all out to get us" love-in with that lot counts hugely against them in my book. Maybe St J will sign up to attacking football next season after hitting this low? That's probably what I'll tell myself, and root for the Perthers (is that a thing?).
20-05-2022, 06:00 PM
ICT and St Johnstone. Two ***** clubs who's cities can't be arsed watching them. Both offer nothing to the premiership. Be as well having Hamilton Accies back. Apart from that I wish them well.
20-05-2022, 06:18 PM
Saints for me hopefully
hibsboy07
20-05-2022, 06:18 PM
BBC had the semis, sky have the final
Inconsequential
20-05-2022, 06:20 PM
ICT and St Johnstone. Two ***** clubs who's cities can't be arsed watching them. Both offer nothing to the premiership. Be as well having Hamilton Accies back. Apart from that I wish them well. You'll probably find a higher percentage of the cities' population actually do watch them as is the case of a few Scottish clubs. Both these clubs do offer more to the Spfl. If they remain in the top league or gain promotion they do so on merit. The way it should be.
20-05-2022, 06:21 PM
It's got drab nil nil draw written all over it.
20-05-2022, 06:23 PM
After watching Arbroath v ICT i though neither of them were capable of beating of St Johnstone. I changed my mind after seeing them on Sunday.
C’mon ICT, I love an Inverness away day.
LunasBoots
20-05-2022, 06:26 PM
ICT down to the bare bones, can see St Johnstone winning after resting alot of players for our game.
20-05-2022, 06:27 PM
This time last year we were about to play St Johnstone in the Scottish Cup Final. Hibs have had a bad enough season, but Saints have had a dreadful one
20-05-2022, 06:33 PM
After watching Arbroath v ICT i though neither of them were capable of beating of St Johnstone. I changed my mind after seeing them on Sunday.
C’mon ICT, I love an Inverness away day.
I see St Johnstone have made 5 changes to the starting line up from last Sunday. I'd expect them to be too good for Inverness over the two legs.
20-05-2022, 06:39 PM
This time last year we were about to play St Johnstone in the Scottish Cup Final. Hibs have had a bad enough season, but Saints have had a dreadful one
If Hibs ever win a cup double I'd be happy enough to take my chances in a relegation final the following season.
20-05-2022, 06:42 PM
I see St Johnstone have made 5 changes to the starting line up from last Sunday. I'd expect them to be too good for Inverness over the two legs.
Resting players can backfire as well. They’re a team lacking confidence.
20-05-2022, 06:46 PM
That St J away strip is bowfin though.
JXM73
20-05-2022, 07:05 PM
1-0 Saints
20-05-2022, 07:07 PM
1-0 Saints
:offski:
20-05-2022, 07:11 PM
Goal and an assist for Hallberg!
20-05-2022, 07:12 PM
Resting players can backfire as well. They’re a team lacking confidence.
Drivel. :greengrin
Chorley Hibee
Goal and an assist for Hallberg!
I'm not one for waxing lyrical about ex-players, but I've been impressed with Hallberg each time I've seen him play for St Johnstone.
Seems to relish playing further forward too.
ICT are utter dug meat...that Championship must have been rank this season
I'm not one for waxing lyrical about ex-players, but I've been impressed with Hallberg each time I've seen him play for St Johnstone.
I wouldn’t have let him go.
20-05-2022, 07:13 PM
ICT are utter dug meat...that Championship must have been rank this season
Indeed, tie finished already.
Chorley Hibee
20-05-2022, 07:14 PM
I wouldn’t have let him go.
I wouldn't have either, certainly not with what we were left with.
20-05-2022, 07:15 PM
I wouldn't have either, certainly not with what we were left with.
I said way back at the time it was a bad decision.
We essentially left ourselves with only 3 central midfielders. At least one of whom was a significant downgrade on Halberg.
20-05-2022, 07:16 PM
I said way back at the time it was a bad decision.
We essentially left ourselves with only 3 central midfielders. At least one of whom was a significant downgrade on Halberg.
Was a shocker from Maloney and I said so at time
20-05-2022, 07:19 PM
Indeed, tie finished already.
Cough.... Hamilton....:wink:
20-05-2022, 07:19 PM
Reported.
20-05-2022, 07:20 PM
The premiership team will never have an easier playoff than this season.
20-05-2022, 07:22 PM
I always liked Hallberg. Reliable when called upon. Unfortunately was far too good to be stuck on our bench so had to leave.
20-05-2022, 07:22 PM
Was a shocker from Maloney and I said so at time
Playing Hallberg in a back three V Cove then letting him go a few days later when Campbell was a first pick in midfield was an early pointer in realising Maloney had absolutely no idea what he was doing.
20-05-2022, 07:23 PM
Playing Hallberg in a back three V Cove then letting him go a few days later when Campbell was a first pick in midfield was an early pointer in realising Maloney had absolutely no idea what he was doing.
Spot on. Was around then I got very worried.
20-05-2022, 07:27 PM
Yeah that Cove match really was an early pointer of what lay ahead
20-05-2022, 07:28 PM
Spot on. Was around then I got very worried.
I mean that was only 4 games in. And if we discount his first 2 which were largely David Gray teams, it was really his second game of being in full control of the team. Leaving Scott Allan on the bench that night when we were struggling to break down a stubborn Cove side camped in their own half was another warning sign.
The subs in the Celtic game before it were also a bit strange but didn't think too much of it....
Genuinely makes me so angry that he was allowed to be our manager.
20-05-2022, 07:34 PM
Really dislike Glenn Middleton. Was absolutely dreadful for us and is always moaning about something on the pitch.
20-05-2022, 07:35 PM
I mean that was only 4 games in. And if we discount his first 2 which were largely David Gray teams, it was really his second game of being in full control of the team. Leaving Scott Allan on the bench that night when we were struggling to break down a stubborn Cove side camped in their own half was another warning sign.
The subs in the Celtic game before it were also a bit strange but didn't think too much of it....
Genuinely makes me so angry that he was allowed to be our manager.
Felt a bit sorry for him as was hopelessly out of his depth. I'm confident we're now back on track. Interestingly I saw Maloney's name linked with the Dundee job.
20-05-2022, 07:35 PM
Still don’t think Hallbergs that good tbh. Poor man’s Slivka.
20-05-2022, 07:38 PM
A rich man's Campbell, ridiculous decision by cone boy to release him.
20-05-2022, 07:43 PM
Could have played a big part in the games after he left. Anyway we have both on
20-05-2022, 07:43 PM
Lots of examples of teams being relegated a year after winning SC or at least making final . Us in 1980 and 2014 , Hearts in mid 1980s , Dundee United after their first ( only ? ) SC win and more . Maybe this time next year Hearts will be playing ICT / St J in playoffs while we`re playing SC final .
20-05-2022, 07:52 PM
A rich man's Campbell, ridiculous decision by cone boy to release him.
Aye if it came to a decision between they two you’re going with hallberg every time. Need better than both however
20-05-2022, 07:52 PM
Could have played a big part in the games after he left. Anyway we have both on
You think? I don’t think he ever really influenced games enough to make that big an impact
20-05-2022, 08:00 PM
Both were good players
20-05-2022, 08:05 PM
Both were good players
I'd have had both in our team recently.
20-05-2022, 08:06 PM
Arbroath would have put up a better fight than this.
20-05-2022, 08:07 PM
this was free money, Saints are a class above this lot.
20-05-2022, 08:09 PM
Really dislike Glenn Middleton. Was absolutely dreadful for us and is always moaning about something on the pitch.
Thought he was the best ST J player last week , which wouldn't have been difficult tbh. Not having a bad night tonight against a dreadful ICT side.
20-05-2022, 08:10 PM
Felt a bit sorry for him as was hopelessly out of his depth. I'm confident we're now back on track. Interestingly I saw Maloney's name linked with the Dundee job.
Appointing McGhee was that mad that I wouldn't put it past them.
20-05-2022, 08:13 PM
Lots of examples of teams being relegated a year after winning SC or at least making final . Us in 1980 and 2014 , Hearts in mid 1980s , Dundee United after their first ( only ? ) SC win and more . Maybe this time next year Hearts will be playing ICT / St J in playoffs while we`re playing SC final .
Quite a few there - although as much as I wish they had been, Hearts didn't get relegated in the mid 80's:greengrin
20-05-2022, 08:13 PM
St Johnstone have bossed this. Bit of a mismatch.
20-05-2022, 08:17 PM
Goal for ICT. Why on earth did Davidson take Hallberg off?
hibby rae
20-05-2022, 08:18 PM
Quite a few there - although as much as I wish they had been, Hearts didn't get relegated in the mid 80's:greengrin
Probs meant mid 70s after a final.
20-05-2022, 08:20 PM
Head knock and a mile offside… no wonder we’re not getting any officials at the WC 😅
20-05-2022, 08:20 PM
Probs meant mid 70s after a final.
Yes must be!
LunasBoots
20-05-2022, 08:21 PM
Linesman should have gone to specsavers
20-05-2022, 08:24 PM
2-2,
Saints :faf:
20-05-2022, 08:24 PM
Wow
20-05-2022, 08:25 PM
Reece McAlear’s Norwich contract expires this summer - worth a punt?
That aged well. :greengrin
LunasBoots
Davidsons substitutions are just plain out strange, totally changed the game
20-05-2022, 08:26 PM
St Johnstone have bossed this. Bit of a mismatch.
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
Saints in trouble.
Looks like you've got a point, brilliant equaliser.
St J are falling apart here a la us in 2014
Davidson's subs are as bad as Sodje and Agogo for Griffiths and O'Connor 😂
20-05-2022, 08:29 PM
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
Football never ceases to amaze me 😂
Hallberg's done nothing since he went to St J. Suddenly he turns up against a lower league team and he's a superstar. I have no doubt that Hallberg has far more natural ability than Josh Campbell. However despite his limitations, Campbell gives 100% for the jersey every game. IMO, Hallberg went missing when the dirty work was needed. I genuinely can't ever remember him bossing a game.
20-05-2022, 08:34 PM
Hallberg's done nothing since he went to St J. Suddenly he turns up against a lower league team and he's a superstar. I have no doubt that Hallberg has far more natural ability than Josh Campbell. However despite his limitations, Campbell gives 100% for the jersey every game. IMO, Hallberg went missing when the dirty work was needed. I genuinely can't ever remember him bossing a game.
Nobody is saying he was a superstar Brog, but if you think he went missing, then Campbell hides during games and does not want the ball at all. He's young but he's nowhere near good enough, and having someone as steady as Hallberg would have been an upgrade on him along with Gogic, but the last guy decided to get rid of them and leave us so short of players he had to play him.
20-05-2022, 08:38 PM
Hallberg's done nothing since he went to St J. Suddenly he turns up against a lower league team and he's a superstar. I have no doubt that Hallberg has far more natural ability than Josh Campbell. However despite his limitations, Campbell gives 100% for the jersey every game. IMO, Hallberg went missing when the dirty work was needed. I genuinely can't ever remember him bossing a game.He's a far better player than Josh Campbell
Can't be a question on that
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
20-05-2022, 08:38 PM
Nobody is saying he was a superstar Brog, but if you think he went missing, then Campbell hides during games and does not want the ball at all. He's young but he's nowhere near good enough, and having someone as steady as Hallberg would have been an upgrade on him along with Gogic, but the last guy decided to get rid of them and leave us so short of players he had to play him.
:agree: Hallberg may not have bossed many(if any) games, but I also don't remember him having many ( if any) bad games. As you say a significant upgrade on Campbell.
G, I got more frustrated at Hallberg than at any other Hibs player in last few seasons. Basically because he has talent but, again IMO, he never showed up . I lost count of the times a back 4 player passed the ball to him only for Hallberg to pass the buck by immediately returning it. He's a full Swedish internationalist but never at any time did he look like it. The fact that St J was his best option says a lot. I can forgive a poor Hibs player giving 100% much more readily than I can forgive a talented player hiding.
tonyrougier123
20-05-2022, 08:48 PM
Reece McAlear’s Norwich contract expires this summer - worth a punt?
For sure 👍🏻
LewysGot2
20-05-2022, 08:49 PM
Wow. ICT don’t know they’re beaten. Those Perth sphincters will be twitching now :wink:
:agree: Hallberg may not have bossed many(if any) games, but I also don't remember him having many ( if any) bad games. As you say a significant upgrade on Campbell.
Well of course he is, or should be. He's a full internationalist versus a young home grown lad. The problem is he never really demonstrated the gulf in class that should exist.
20-05-2022, 08:54 PM
Well of course he is, or should be. He's a full internationalist versus a young home grown lad. The problem is he never really demonstrated the gulf in class that should exist.
I think you are agreeing with the main point that people were making then, which is Maloney made a mistake to get rid of Hallberg given how poor our squad was.:cb
andrew70
20-05-2022, 09:05 PM
Massive mistake to get rid of Melker. Massive error of judgement not to play him further forward as per Saints.
As for him not doing well in Perth his stats suggest different and he’s been one of their most consistent players in all fairness.
I think you are agreeing with the main point that people were making then, which is Maloney made a mistake to get rid of Hallberg given how poor our squad was.:cb
No, I'm not. Hallberg had talent but no application or responsibility. Not what we needed.
20-05-2022, 09:12 PM
Quite a few there - although as much as I wish they had been, Hearts didn't get relegated in the mid 80's:greengrinYou`re right .Meant mid 70s ( final where they let in a goal before 3 pm cause ref started early ) . Were they not relegated in early 80s as well ?
20-05-2022, 09:15 PM
No, I'm not. Hallberg had talent but no application or responsibility. Not what we needed.
Well I totally disagree :greengrin. Think your assessment of Hallberg is way too harsh.
20-05-2022, 09:16 PM
You`re right .Meant mid 70s ( final where they let in a goal before 3 pm cause ref started early ) . Were they not relegated in early 80s as well ?
Aye - they spent 7 years yo-yoing between Premier and the first with three relegations and then three promotions between 76/77 and 82/83.
20-05-2022, 09:29 PM
You`re right .Meant mid 70s ( final where they let in a goal before 3 pm cause ref started early ) . Were they not relegated in early 80s as well ?
1982ish?
20-05-2022, 09:32 PM
Davidson's subs are as bad as Sodje and Agogo for Griffiths and O'Connor 😂
I loved Sodje, was he that terrible for us?
20-05-2022, 09:34 PM
I liked him too - scored a few decent goals.
20-05-2022, 09:39 PM
That footwork from Hallberg for his goal was sublime. Always liked him, thought he was the thing we were missing in that league cup semi against Celtic. Feels like we didn’t ever play him where we should have.
20-05-2022, 09:40 PM
I liked him too - scored a few decent goals.
Was it Calderwood that signed him?
20-05-2022, 09:41 PM
The playoffs have been a great addition to the league. Provided you forget the first three years of them, anyway.
20-05-2022, 09:46 PM
I think Saints will go down here. Monday night shaping up nicely.
20-05-2022, 09:47 PM
Was it Calderwood that signed him?
20-05-2022, 10:12 PM
That aged well. :greengrin
Fortunately I cashed out at 2 1 :greengrin
hibby rae
21-05-2022, 07:41 AM
Burned brightly for a very short time in a poor team. Once O'Connor and Griffiths came in he dropped down the pecking order.
Sidenote, now living in self-imposed exile in Dubai to avoid a European arrest warrant.
21-05-2022, 07:54 AM
I thought Hallberg was a good player, if inconsistent. I don’t think he would have been anywhere near Hibs if he was consistent. He’s played for Swedish National team so he must have something about him.
I’d put Slivka in that category too.
21-05-2022, 08:04 AM
I thought Hallberg was a good player, if inconsistent. I don’t think he would have been anywhere near Hibs if he was consistent. He’s played for Swedish National team so he must have something about him.
I’d put Slivka in that category too.
Agree with that really liked Silvka when at Hibs very talented but as you say inconsistent. Melker similar but not as good for me though would definitely have kept him for the rest of the season given how poor we have been central midfield.
He's here!
21-05-2022, 08:34 AM
Aye - they spent 7 years yo-yoing between Premier and the first with three relegations and then three promotions between 76/77 and 82/83.
They were at their lowest ebb back then. Playing in front of tiny crowds. However, their failure to get promoted in 81/82 did them good in hindsight as it allowed the kids like Mackay, Robertson and Bowman to establish themselves in the first team and they were stronger for it when they did come back up.
The first derby for several years was also key to their rehabilitation. We were 1-0 and 2-1 up at Tynie but ended up losing 3-2 when we really should have won. For Hibs fans like myself used to beating Hearts all the time it came as a bit of a shock and I still think if we'd won that day those long unbeaten derby runs Hearts went on would never have happened. Robbo was a talisman for them mind you. In the next game at ER we were 1-0 up only for him to level with a massively deflected shot to nothing.
21-05-2022, 10:07 AM
They were at their lowest ebb back then. Playing in front of tiny crowds. However, their failure to get promoted in 81/82 did them good in hindsight as it allowed the kids like Mackay, Robertson and Bowman to establish themselves in the first team and they were stronger for it when they did come back up.
The first derby for several years was also key to their rehabilitation. We were 1-0 and 2-1 up at Tynie but ended up losing 3-2 when we really should have won. For Hibs fans like myself used to beating Hearts all the time it came as a bit of a shock and I still think if we'd won that day those long unbeaten derby runs Hearts went on would never have happened. Robbo was a talisman for them mind you. In the next game at ER we were 1-0 up only for him to level with a massively deflected shot to nothing.was at the 3-2 game and like you said we really should have won that game but our old failings came back ( well that was the start of the old failings against them) soft as putty at the back
And collapsed like a pack o cards.
Feed McGraw
21-05-2022, 10:39 AM
Was it Calderwood that signed him? Think it was Hecky.
21-05-2022, 10:41 AM
Think it was Hecky.
You must be thinking of someone else.
21-05-2022, 10:45 AM
Think it was Hecky.
Calderwood signed Sodje on Jan 2011, if that’s who we are taking about?
Hecky signed Hallberg, although he’s been on Hibs radar before he took over
Feed McGraw
21-05-2022, 11:15 AM
You must be thinking of someone else.Ha, I thought they were talking about Hallberg.