View Full Version : Time For Unity
18-05-2022, 11:17 AM
Let's put this arguing over the manager to bed. It's done. Regardless of who you wanted it to be lets give the guy a chance. This isn't some rookie we've appointed. Big summer ahead. The recruitment and preperations for the new season need to be spot on and we really need to get behind the team and the new manager. This could be the start of something really good at Hibs. :flag:
scuttle
18-05-2022, 11:27 AM
Let's put this arguing over the manager to bed. It's done. Regardless of who you wanted to it to be lets give the guy a chance. This isn't some rookie we've appointed. Big summer ahead. The recruitment and preperations for the new season need to be spot on and we really need to get behind the team and the new manager. This could be the start of something really good at Hibs. :flag:
Absolutely correct we've had good ones and bad ones recently let's get behind the guy and see what he can do
18-05-2022, 11:31 AM
:blah::blah:
Fed up of ‘let’s get behind the new manager bull****’
If the rumours are true who the new manager is then it’s just another 12-18 project that will be a failure. Clubs not gone in the right direction again.
18-05-2022, 11:36 AM
if the rumours are true who the new manager is then it’s just another 12-18 project that will be a failure. Clubs not gone in the right direction again.
ffs
18-05-2022, 11:37 AM
If the rumours are true who the new manager is then it’s just another 12-18 project that will be a failure. Clubs not gone in the right direction again.
So we shouldn't get behind him then?
18-05-2022, 11:41 AM
ffs
So we shouldn't get behind him then?
Aye FFS. 3rd tier English League manager is that our ambition ?
Yes am sure we'll all get behind him but for me mediocrity yet again from the board. Very underwhelming imo.
leith lynx
18-05-2022, 11:43 AM
I admire your enthusiasm, but for me the appointment of Lee Johnson/Jamie Mcallister does nothing For me. No amount of forthcoming bull**** from Ben Kensall and the new management team will convince me that this is an ambitious appointment. I renewed my season ticket last week and will support the players on the park, but I fear many other fans just won't bother, desparately dissapointing.
Scotty Leither
18-05-2022, 11:46 AM
I admire your enthusiasm, but for me the appointment of Lee Johnson/Jamie Mcallister does nothing For me. No amount of forthcoming bull**** from Ben Kensall and the new management team will convince me that this is an ambitious appointment. I renewed my season ticket last week and will support the players on the park, but I fear many other fans just won't bother, desparately dissapointing.
It’s where am at.
I’ll renew in the next week or so, meantime if the club do read any of these messages/replies on here can you please stop feeding crap to the press re “vocal” fans, etc and credit us with a wee bit more intelligence to see through bull**** like that?
Cheers in advance.
18-05-2022, 11:46 AM
Yes am sure we'll all get behind him but for me mediocrity yet again from the board. Very underwhelming imo.
He managed Bristol City in the Championship for 4 years.
18-05-2022, 11:55 AM
I have to agree and I am somewhat deflated, from Kean to JDT, then we end up with ah well it is Hibs.
GreenPJ
18-05-2022, 11:57 AM
It’s where am at.
I’ll renew in the next week or so, meantime if the club do read any of these messages/replies on here can you please stop feeding crap to the press re “vocal” fans, etc and credit us with a wee bit more intelligence to see through bull**** like that?
Cheers in advance.
Intelligence? Were you involved in the interview process? do you know what was said? do you know whether the club has sounded out other football people (as clubs often do) to get an independent view of a potential candidate? do you know what players that worked under him at other clubs think of him?
We have previously had an ex captain of England national team captain our club, the previous manager and captain of Celtic, and neither would be deemed as successful.
As for the Hearts nonsense, this is the tabloids pushing everyones buttons -"Hearts Ace" - 4 bloody games he played for them but as others have pointed out we have a long list of people at our club who have been associated with theirs over the years and some will go down in our history as legends.
I think you will find most fans will get behind the new manager.
But the fans are angry about the lack of any ambition. I certainly am and anger turns to apathy very quickly.
This is where we are. Crowds are dire and there is a real risk they won’t improve (certainly season tickets).
Our highly paid CEO will have his work cut out getting fans excited about next season.
18-05-2022, 12:10 PM
Unity?
The guy who Arsenal dumped?
GTFF
18-05-2022, 12:12 PM
Whilst I will get behind the new manager and ofcourse the team, can anyone here in all honesty say that Lee Johnston is an upgrade on Jack Ross?
18-05-2022, 12:14 PM
I think you will find most fans will get behind the new manager.
But the fans are angry about the lack of any ambition. I certainly am and anger turns to apathy very quickly.
This is where we are. Crowds are dire and there is a real risk they won’t improve (certainly season tickets).
Our highly paid CEO will have his work cut out getting fans excited about next season.
This is it for me. It’s not as if folk want us to be crap or want Johnson to fail. It’s just that his appointment is going to do nothing to enthuse an already pissed off support. If he goes on to get us playing well and getting results folk will start to change their view. But there isn’t going to be folk rushing to get to ER for the start of next season.
18-05-2022, 12:17 PM
Whilst I will get behind the new manager and ofcourse the team, can anyone here in all honesty say that Lee Johnston is an upgrade on Jack Ross?
Hard to tell. I'm a big fan of Jack Ross and Johnson had a better record at Sunderland so i'm hopeful. He's certianly more experienced than Ross at a higher level.
Inconsequential
18-05-2022, 09:19 PM
Whilst I will get behind the new manager and ofcourse the team, can anyone here in all honesty say that Lee Johnston is an upgrade on Jack Ross? Yip! That's what I think too. A move sideways and not a step forward as I see it. Anyway no Hibs fan can change it. Maybe Lee Johnson's management will turn out to be a pleasant surprise. Time will tell. :rolleyes:
Silky
18-05-2022, 09:26 PM
Depends on the style of football he plays, apparently. If it's attacking then, aye, he probably is. I haven't seen Johnson manage in Scotland. I've seen Ross manage in England. Johnson has a better record there than Ross. Based on that evidence, (as I would suggest it's more reliable than conjecture) then I would say yes.
tonyrougier123
18-05-2022, 09:39 PM
We need to back the manager but the club needs to back him too or we will be here in ten months again.
Silky
18-05-2022, 09:43 PM
That's most managers at Hibs. Don't beat Hearts and oot the door.
18-05-2022, 10:06 PM
Unified tonight by a Rangers defeat 😀
Paulie Walnuts
18-05-2022, 10:36 PM
We need to back the manager but the club needs to back him too or we will be here in ten months again.
Yup.
I genuinely think it’s difficult to judge Maloney on his time at Hibs. The squad he was left with was a shambles.
If Johnson or whoever gets the job isn’t backed and has a squad of a similar standard to this then they’re on a hiding to nothing.
We desperately need some good players or else we’ll be dug meat again next year.
18-05-2022, 10:39 PM
But there isn’t going to be folk rushing to get to ER for the start of next season.
It’s good that folk won’t turn up because of what they think might happen eh?
Maybe if the fans rallied round it would help? Or is that too radical?
18-05-2022, 11:14 PM
Hard to say, however JR was very defence minded wheras, if reports are correct Johnston, prefers to attack.
Even if they are equal in skill as managers, that difference will do for me.
Just like Keegan at Newcastle, you score 3 - we'll score 4. Like it.
Board have already stated they know areas we have to improve on & that the new manager will be backed with players moving on and (hopefully better) new arrivals in.
Marshall is a good start I'd say.
timewilltell
18-05-2022, 11:34 PM
You'll not be missed.
18-05-2022, 11:35 PM
All that's being asked here is that folk get behind the new manager as he starts the job .... I keep hearing folk going on about a mediocre appointment, well from what I've seen over the last few weeks perhaps that's entirely in keeping because this club doesn't half have a whole load of mediocre fans.
19-05-2022, 01:04 AM
Not an appointment to set the pulse racing but I'd be pretty confident LJ is a better coach than most others in our league. If he can bring in 5 or 6 first-team ready new faces and doesn't suffer the wretched luck we've had with injuries this season then we should be okay.
The "12-18 month experiment" comment is probably accurate even if it's not what was intended.
If we struggle in that time, he gets binned. If he gets us flying up the league, he'll get poached back down to England.
Hearts seem to be delighted by what Robbie Neilson has achieved this season. As do Motherwell fans with Alexander, United fans with Courts, Ross County with Mackay. If as rumoured, Lee is an old pal of Robbie, and was heavily guided by RN prior to interview, then maybe he has a head start on previous coaches in terms of where we need to improve.
I’m a bit suspicious of the large number of ‘Hibs Fans’ telling us that they will not be supporting the club anymore. But they apparently are so obsessed with Hibs supporters’ forums that they need to log on every single day to tell the rest of us that we are blind fools for supporting our club through a rough patch?
19-05-2022, 07:14 AM
All that's being asked here is that folk get behind the new manager as he starts the job .... I keep hearing folk going on about a mediocre appointment, well from what I've seen over the last few weeks perhaps that's entirely in keeping because this club doesn't half have a whole load of mediocre fans.
Absolutely agree sometimes fans end up with the team they deserve
19-05-2022, 07:16 AM
I have a feeling the club are really going to make up for the past 12 months. Exciting summer ahead.
adam middlemass
19-05-2022, 07:17 AM
Hearts seem to be delighted by what Robbie Neilson has achieved this season. As do Motherwell fans with Alexander, United fans with Courts, Ross County with Mackay. If as rumoured, Lee is an old pal of Robbie, and was heavily guided by RN prior to interview, then maybe he has a head start on previous coaches in terms of where we need to improve.
I’m a bit suspicious of the large number of ‘Hibs Fans’ telling us that they will not be supporting the club anymore. But they apparently are so obsessed with Hibs supporters’ forums that they need to log on every single day to tell the rest of us that we are blind fools for supporting our club through a rough patch?
Nail on the head ! 👍
19-05-2022, 07:17 AM
Yes think there are many moany Hibs fans some who love trolling however no doubt in my mind a fair number of probably yams pretending to be Hibees relentlessly stirring the negative pot
I’m looking forward to him starting now, hearing what he has to say and the rebuild beginning, I think if u take LJ’s managerial record and stand it up against anyone else’s outside the OF then you can see it’s a good appointment.
This whole process has really shown up the MSM towards us though stirring the pot as much as possible like some big joke to them so hopefully we can get motoring early and really stick to them next season
hibsforeurope
19-05-2022, 09:35 AM
Regardless of who the manager is our fortunes or failures will be decided by the recruitment this summer.
19-05-2022, 09:45 AM
Quite clearly you won’t be getting behind him as your mind is already made up.
The attitude of fans does have an important role to play. Time for a reality check I think.
Pathetic
19-05-2022, 09:49 AM
Would have to be sad to not want any new manager to succeed at Hibs.
I understand being underwhelmed like I was a little when the strong reports it will be Johnson but let's all get behind.
19-05-2022, 10:11 AM
Pathetic
Why’s it pathetic because my opinion differs to yours ? We’ll soon see won’t we.
I’ll be behind the new manager whoever he or she is
19-05-2022, 10:16 PM
Really don't get all this clamour to appoint JDT.
If he was appointed and was reasonably successful, he would just jump ship as he would clearly be using Hibs as a stepping stone, evidenced by his reluctance to accept long contract & over inflated wage / coaching staff.
Johnston on the other hand, keen to manage our club, only too happy to stay around to get us back to top 4 status & wants to do it by playing fast, attacking football.
I for one am impressed with him & am sure he will produce the goods.
Scotty Leither
19-05-2022, 11:00 PM
Intelligence? Were you involved in the interview process? do you know what was said? do you know whether the club has sounded out other football people (as clubs often do) to get an independent view of a potential candidate? do you know what players that worked under him at other clubs think of him?
We have previously had an ex captain of England national team captain our club, the previous manager and captain of Celtic, and neither would be deemed as successful.
As for the Hearts nonsense, this is the tabloids pushing everyones buttons -"Hearts Ace" - 4 bloody games he played for them but as others have pointed out we have a long list of people at our club who have been associated with theirs over the years and some will go down in our history as legends.
Keep the heid pal, FFS.
The "vocal" fan quote I called out, because it's patronising as it's straight out of David Forsyth's playbook because that's where it came from, placed on his behalf by a piss poor journalist.
Why this guy's still involved at Easter Road is utterly beyond me.
And naw, I wasn't involved in the interview process; I'm not bowled over by the guy, but I'm willing to give him a chance. The ex-Jambo thing I never mentioned, and it doesn't bother me either so I'm sure what you're driving at???
Now excuse me while I go and renew my season ticket.
19-05-2022, 11:33 PM
Why’s it pathetic because my opinion differs to yours ? We’ll soon see won’t we.
I’ll be behind the new manager whoever he or she is
You are spot on mate. Whatever your view, it's your view, and be proud to give it. This place is getting unbearable by folk claiming to be the the oracle.
If folk disagree, then let them give some reasoning behind their view. A response of 'pathetic ' is just p1sh.
You are spot on mate. Whatever your view, it's your view, and be proud to give it. This place is getting unbearable by folk claiming to be the the oracle.
If folk disagree, then let them give some reasoning behind their view. A response of 'pathetic ' is just p1sh.
I can understand these type of responses. They are emotional, rather than intellectual. There’s a growing intolerance from the boardroom through the staff and now large sections of the support of ‘fans’ posting negatively on everything the club is doing at the moment.
I’m hoping that we all calm the **** doon and regain a sense of unity. A summer of infighting will do us no end of harm. On the other hand, pulling together when the going is tough sounds like a more satisfying prospect.
Thanks to the OP for starting the thread. Count me in!!
berwickhibee
20-05-2022, 05:40 AM
To be honest, I was impressed with his interview.
He's an experienced manager who wants to be here,done really well at Bristol city and reasonably well at Sunderland.
Let's let the man get on with his job first and see where we go💚
Stonewall
20-05-2022, 06:13 AM
Really don't get all this clamour to appoint JDT.
If he was appointed and was reasonably successful, he would just jump ship as he would clearly be using Hibs as a stepping stone, evidenced by his reluctance to accept long contract & over inflated wage / coaching staff.
Johnston on the other hand, keen to manage our club, only too happy to stay around to get us back to top 4 status & wants to do it by playing fast, attacking football.
I for one am impressed with him & am sure he will produce the goods.
i don’t get it either, particularly as most of his proponents had probably never heard of JDT till a couple of weeks ago.
I’ve seen a lot of managers come and go, i hope it works out and we can have a period of stability which is more likely to lead to sustainable success imo. We can’t continue to unleash the lynch mob every time a manager hits a rocky patch.
20-05-2022, 08:01 AM
Yes think there are many moany Hibs fans some who love trolling however no doubt in my mind a fair number of probably yams pretending to be Hibees relentlessly stirring the negative pot
You’re forever calling folk on here out as being Hearts fans. Have you ever been right about it?
We’re negative at times because we care.
Just because you say nice things about Hibs players doesn’t make you a better fan. You were telling us that the players signed in January would all make a difference given time. They didn’t.
You’ll notice nobody gives guys like you a hard time or call you trolls or whatever. Why is it ok for you to call us names just because we have a different take on things than you?
20-05-2022, 08:06 AM
This “unity” call is going well I see !
20-05-2022, 08:08 AM
This “unity” call is going well I see !
I shouldn't have bothered lol
20-05-2022, 08:08 AM
Pretty much everyone on here has said they will get behind LJ now that he’s been appointed.
So, we’re unified on that at least!
We’re just arguing amongst ourselves about nowt really :greengrin
ElginHibbie
20-05-2022, 08:10 AM
Pretty much everyone on here has said they will get behind LJ now that he’s been appointed.
So, we’re unified on that at least!
We’re just arguing amongst ourselves about nowt really :greengrin
No we're not :wink:
OldEast
20-05-2022, 09:24 AM
I shouldn't have bothered lol
Whilst acknowledging that all fans have a right to express their views, negative or otherwise, you'd think the doom merchants would have just left this thread alone. But no, they seek out every opportunity to vent their anger and disappointment at the club. There's enough threads already for that. I notice an increase in defectors to the bounce recently, most giving the negativity here as their reason.
LongJohnBanger
21-05-2022, 06:59 AM
It’s good that folk won’t turn up because of what they think might happen eh?
Maybe if the fans rallied round it would help? Or is that too radical?
Bordering on heresy!