View Full Version : Remembering the Tornadoes

BristolAnn
14-05-2022, 01:22 PM
Remembering Alan Gordon who would have been 78 years old today, his birthday.

Bobo
14-05-2022, 01:40 PM

The Tornadoes were all individually great players who collectively made up the best Hibs team that many of us have ever witnessed.

Alan Gordon was one of my favourite players, I wish we had his likes in the team now.

14-05-2022, 01:49 PM

Alan truly was a gentleman in company and very good social company,too.
He once told me ,he might have been winding me up though,
He said that Willie Bauld taught him to head a ball without closing his eyes ��
When Alan starting his way in the game,those old footballs could weigh a ton when wet.
You would shut your eyes!!

Well ,he could certainly head a ball.His ability to find fellow strikers with deft head flicks was superb.
Remarkable stats in his time at the Holy Ground along with Arthur and Jimmy on the goals tally.
Astonishing stuff.
Aye fond memories of Tosh.A wonderful talent.
Cheers ,Alan>

leith lynx
14-05-2022, 02:52 PM

Happy Heavenly Birthday Alan, thanks for the memories! 💚

14-05-2022, 03:32 PM
RIP Tosh

Thanks for the memories

14-05-2022, 03:36 PM
Wonderful centre forward and absolute gentleman off the pitch as well, occasionally used to see him in Mathers bar at the top of Broughton Street where he was kind enough to sign my 0-7 programme.

h185forever
14-05-2022, 03:49 PM
Such a graceful player to watch …….I’m lucky to have seen him along with the rest of the Tornadoes.

True flowers of Scotland ….we’ve never seen their like again.

:flag::flag:

14-05-2022, 03:49 PM
Wonderful centre forward and absolute gentleman off the pitch as well, occasionally used to see him in Mathers bar at the top of Broughton Street where he was kind enough to sign my 0-7 programme.

Great old boozer .Alan loved to chew the fat. Mathers was that kind of bar.
In my union activity days,if at the trades council at Picardy Place,Mathers was the meeting place for all sorts of political animals back in the day
Bit like The life of Brian film.All the socialist factions of the day.:greengrin
Sometimes Alan could be seen in pubs at the fit o the walk.
Tam Preston was another Hibs great that could be seen in the Central back in the 70s/80s
Am not saying they had a drink issue .Just loved to socialise wae the supporters.
They were Hibs supporters,too !

14-05-2022, 03:56 PM
In my union activity days,if at the trades council at Picardy Place,Mathers was the meeting place for all sorts of political animals back in the day
Bit like The life of Brian film.All the socialist factions of the day.:greengrin
Tam Preston was another Hibs great that could be seen in the Central back in the 70s/80s
Am not saying they had a drink issue .Just loved to socialise wae the supporters.
They were Hibs supporters,too !Yep, used to see Tommy Preston in the Travellers Tryst back in the day.

Mathers was our "sub office" for quite a few years in the early 80's. Spent many a lunchtime there with Big John Walker serving Broughton street Ale and pies and sausage rolls that were sometimes wrapped in surplus civil service note paper [emoji16]

14-05-2022, 04:03 PM
Yep, used to see Tommy Preston in the Travellers Tryst back in the day.

Mathers was our "sub office" for quite a few years in the early 80's. Spent many a lunchtime there with Big John Walker serving Broughton street Ale and pies and sausage rolls that were sometimes wrapped in surplus civil service note paper [emoji16]

I think Tommy was the manager there at one time. Jeez, you are going back!!
Another great fella was Tam
Last had a blether with him at the Annfield Bar ,Newhaven were he stayed.
Another great pub name gone !!

PS
Tommy Preston was Jimmy O'Rourke's "mentor" when he joined the club !!

14-05-2022, 04:06 PM
I think Tommy was the manager there at one time. Jeez, you are going back!!
Another great fella was Tam
Last had a blether with him at the Annfield Bar ,Newhaven were he stayed.
Another great pub name gone !!

He definitely was manager and Andy Bowman of Hearts fame worked there too.

The Annfield was one I occasionally used but never really knew anyone there.

stu in nottingham
14-05-2022, 04:10 PM
Another fan of Mathers here. Classic bar, eclectic clientele and great atmosphere. Always try to get in there on visits.

I can think of many superlatives to describe the great Alan Gordon but the first word that always comes to mind with him is 'elegant'. Superb centre-forward.

14-05-2022, 04:40 PM
Met Alan Gordon for the first time in the Gordon Arms Rose Street

I broke the ice when I produced the only content from my briefcase a Hibs book

Alan Gordon smiled and was only too pleased to sign it

A gentleman and a scholar

The only Hibs player to play for a World X1

14-05-2022, 04:45 PM
Met Alan Gordon for the first time in the Gordon Arms Rose Street

I broke the ice when I produced the only content from my briefcase a Hibs book

Alan Gordon smiled and was only too pleased to sign it

A gentleman and a scholar

The only Hibs player to play for a World X1

Is the Gordon Arms the same pub as The Gordon?

Also he must be unique and having played for Hibs, Hearts and both Dundee clubs, or are you saving this question for your summer quiz, Billy😀

BristolAnn
14-05-2022, 05:07 PM
Alan truly was a gentleman in company and very good social company,too.
He once told me ,he might have been winding me up though,
He said that Willie Bauld taught him to head a ball without closing his eyes ��
When Alan starting his way in the game,those old footballs could weigh a ton when wet.
You would shut your eyes!!

Well ,he could certainly head a ball.His ability to find fellow strikers with deft head flicks was superb.
Remarkable stats in his time at the Holy Ground along with Arthur and Jimmy on the goals tally.
Astonishing stuff.
Aye fond memories of Tosh.A wonderful talent.
Cheers ,Alan>

Are you related to Jimmy?

14-05-2022, 05:12 PM
Another fan of Mathers here. Classic bar, eclectic clientele and great atmosphere. Always try to get in there on visits.

I can think of many superlatives to describe the great Alan Gordon but the first word that always comes to mind with him is 'elegant'. Superb centre-forward.

Mathers, Broughton Street was a great bar. In the 60s and early 70s I used to work in the printing trade on Forth Street. I always found it difficult passing Mathers on my way home without popping in for a couple of pints. The guy who managed (or owned) the bar was a big, tall guy called Mr Walker. I still remember him standing behind the bar, polishing the glasses.
There were a lot of workies who would go in right after work. Mr Walker, dressed in a black evening suit, would greet them with "good evening sir - and what will it be this evening?"
Happy days when I actually had money to spend in the pub.

stu in nottingham
14-05-2022, 05:33 PM
Mathers, Broughton Street was a great bar. In the 60s and early 70s I used to work in the printing trade on Forth Street. I always found it difficult passing Mathers on my way home without popping in for a couple of pints. The guy who managed (or owned) the bar was a big, tall guy called Mr Walker. I still remember him standing behind the bar, polishing the glasses.
There were a lot of workies who would go in right after work. Mr Walker, dressed in a black evening suit, would greet them with "good evening sir - and what will it be this evening?"
Happy days when I actually had money to spend in the pub.

'It's a good man that walks past it' as they say! As somebody who worked in the print trade for 27 years I can empathise, it was a thirsty job. :wink:

Broughton Street was one of my favourite crawls.

14-05-2022, 05:46 PM
He definitely was manager and Andy Bowman of Hearts fame worked there too.

The Annfield was one I occasionally used but never really knew anyone there.

Small world.
Andy worked at Scottish and Newcastle brewery for years.
I met Andy in the 70s. I was working for a refrigeration firm doing work in the Abbey Brewery (S&N),Holyrood Road.
Andy always had time for a blether when passing our workplace.
Also made sure we did not go thirsty !!
Lovely popular man was Andy.
Abbey Brewery was demolished to make way for oor new parly.

Edit
Tried to mind the pub there. Just got it!
The Snuff Box !!!

Some real good Hibs men in there back then.

hhibs
14-05-2022, 05:52 PM
They were Hibs supporters,too !

Ah! the memories,Tornados and Mathers ,Broughton street.

At one time I actually was living way above on the top floor flats above Mathers,cant remember the name of the fella that had it but remember his son was Jim..Many ,many a session through the back.

Happy days , team and players were top notch many a friendly chat .mostly at the Wally Dug where the players were often in.

14-05-2022, 05:55 PM
I know the thread was to remember Alan and its turned into Pubwatch!"
Thinking on it though,Alan would be one of the few Tornadoes that did not run a pub when he finished playing.
He went back to his accountancy profession and ....pubwatch !!

14-05-2022, 06:20 PM
Last time I spoke to Tommy Preston was in Mather’s Broughton Street

A real character and another Hibs legend gone but not forgotten

14-05-2022, 07:14 PM
I was 5/6 when my grandad started taking me to Easter Road. Sitting behind the goals on the wooden bench seating. This was 1973.

Very clear memories of studying the match programme that he would buy me and seeing the list of past matches on the "RESULTS" page.

I thought players' names were "Gordon 2", O'Rourke 3", "Duncan 2" because they appeared on that page like that so often.

Can't recall much about the games but that team and players was when I first went to see Hibs. Still have many of the programmes with the half time scores scrawled on the back page taken from the old scoreboard at the Dunbar End.

50 years ago!

14-05-2022, 07:55 PM
Such a wonderful player in a team full of them, we were very lucky to have seen them.

14-05-2022, 09:26 PM
I must admit when Turnbull signed Alan for Hibs in '72, I was a wee bit underwhelmed. My God how wrong can you be? Although he was only with us for a couple of years, his contribution to the club was tremendous. He oozed class. I've just remembered not only did Alan play for both Edinburgh clubs, he also played for the 2 Dundee clubs too. How we could do with a player of his calibre right now.

14-05-2022, 09:34 PM
I must admit when Turnbull signed Alan for Hibs in '72, I was a wee bit underwhelmed. My God how wrong can you be? Although he was only with us for a couple of years, his contribution to the club was tremendous. He oozed class. I've just remembered not only did Alan play for both Edinburgh clubs, he also played for the 2 Dundee clubs too. How we could do with a player of his calibre right now.

Felt the same 12k so what ex jambo

How wrong can you be

Guy was absolute quality

Looked slow on the deck but was deceptively quick and was excellent in the air

Apparently Jim McLean wanted him to move to Dundee

Problem solved

Turnbull only brought in Herriot Edwards and Gordon all the rest were here already

14-05-2022, 09:47 PM
Telstar was brilliant right enough.

😄

15-05-2022, 04:09 AM
I emigrated in 1974, just as the Tornados started to decline.

Feel lucky that I saw them in their prime

15-05-2022, 05:08 AM
I still think about the Tornadoes 50 years later.

What a player Gordon was

So lucky to have seen these guys play

15-05-2022, 05:42 AM
I emigrated in 1974, just as the Tornados started to decline.

Feel lucky that I saw them in their prime

When we refer to The Tornadoes,we are talking about 11 players.

Fred,in the year you left these shores,5 of those 11 left the club.
Alan Gordon,Jimmy O'Rourke,Alex Cropley,Jim Black and before them,goalkeeper Jim Herriot.
None of them, as far as i recollect,submitted a transfer request.
So,in my opinion,The Tornadoes were cut down in their prime,rather than a decline.
And we know why that happened.
Well documented,not just on here !

PS
Imagine,had the internet been around,what Hibs.net and other Hibs social media would have been like in 1973/74.
To use the modern terms.
Carnage and meltdown!
Releasing players the fans adored,and as proven when the left,still very capable footballers.
"Come back to bite you"phrase,springs to mind :greengrin

15-05-2022, 06:58 AM
Best headerer of a ball i seen at Easter Road

15-05-2022, 07:54 AM
https://i.ibb.co/ZhTJ0QW/D6-EAB227-2-F4-B-416-A-BC07-C7449-D7-D3399.png (https://ibb.co/dQKcRNG)

Pretty sure the above image was taken August 1972 when the Tornadoes gave Rangers a footballing lesson at Easter Road with a resounding 3-0 win in the Semi-Final of the Dryborough Cup

Alan Gordon scored two and Pat Stanton scored the other

This match marked the beginning of the end for the Cave due to fierce fighting between opposition fans as there was no segregation

It was just too easy beating them back then

That strip was a thing of beauty loving AG’s Puma King Pele’s

loanheadhibby
15-05-2022, 08:27 AM
Best headerer of a ball i seen at Easter Road
Without doubt.

15-05-2022, 09:13 AM
Like others I was a bit underwhelmed when AG signed. I was actually at Tiny in 1965, in the company of King Pat when Alan missed the late chance against Killie that would have won Hearts the league. He quickly won everyone over though, starting with his goal at Firhill in the SC. As others have said, Alan was a true gentleman and a wonderfully silky player.
PS, not long after 7 0 game we played Hearts in a 5 a side tourney at Meadowbank. We won 7 0 again, won the tourney in a canter and I think Tosh scored double the goals of the next highest scorer. Michael, see if James remembers that!

15-05-2022, 09:31 AM
Like others I was a bit underwhelmed when AG signed. I was actually at Tiny in 1965, in the company of King Pat when Alan missed the late chance against Killie that would have won Hearts the league. He quickly won everyone over though, starting with his goal at Firhill in the SC. As others have said, Alan was a true gentleman and a wonderfully silky player.
PS, not long after 7 0 game we played Hearts in a 5 a side tourney at Meadowbank. We won 7 0 again, won the tourney in a canter and I think Tosh scored double the goals of the next highest scorer. Michael, see if James remembers that!

I remember Alan's debut in a home defeat v Motherwell in 71-72 season. Some guy along from me shouts "Hey Gordon, yer a big fairy! And even worse a big maroon fairy!"

Didn't take long to shut that man up!

Earlydelivery
15-05-2022, 09:39 AM
That was indeed the end of standing in the cave 30k at that semi absolute animals the Huns that day
https://i.ibb.co/ZhTJ0QW/D6-EAB227-2-F4-B-416-A-BC07-C7449-D7-D3399.png (https://ibb.co/dQKcRNG)

Pretty sure the above image was taken August 1972 when the Tornadoes gave Rangers a footballing lesson at Easter Road with a resounding 3-0 win in the Semi-Final of the Dryborough Cup

Alan Gordon scored two and Pat Stanton scored the other

This match marked the beginning of the end for the Cave due to fierce fighting between opposition fans as there was no segregation

It was just too easy beating them back then

That strip was a thing of beauty loving AG’s Puma King Pele’s

timewilltell
15-05-2022, 09:49 AM
Herriot, Brownlie, Schaedler, Stanton, Black & Blackley, Edwards, O'Rourke, Gordon, Cropley and Duncan. What a line-up.
Oh to have some of that talent today.

15-05-2022, 09:59 AM
Herriot, Brownlie, Schaedler, Stanton, Black & Blackley, Edwards, O'Rourke, Gordon, Cropley and Duncan. What a line-up.

With wee Hamilton a capable backup as sub, they could play the game for sure, the days when you went to easter Road talking about how many we would score no matter who we played.

leith lynx
15-05-2022, 03:55 PM

Happy Days!

FitzAlan
15-05-2022, 08:49 PM
I know the thread was to remember Alan and its turned into Pubwatch!"
Thinking on it though,Alan would be one of the few Tornadoes that did not run a pub when he finished playing.
He went back to his accountancy profession and ....pubwatch !!
Hi Mick,
Actually AFG had a share of Cairns Bar with Pat. I saw them both play for the pub team, Athletico Cairns with Jimmy against Pencaitland. Mather's was the Radio Forth pub, so AFG and Donald Ford would take all sorts of visitors to its back room. Think he might indeed have been winding you up about tge Willie Bauld story! How is James? Cheers Brian