View Full Version : Team v Aberdeen

Pages : 1 [2]

PH91
07-05-2022, 03:39 PM
It's hardly startling insight but all our problems stem from those 3 in the middle of the park. They create nothing, they don't retain it long enough to let the wing backs get into threatening positions, none of them move either the ball or themselves with any intent or purpose.

Sort that area and this team looks totally different. It's criminal we neglected to do anything about it in January and gave this lot contracts until about 2040.

They keep being played in a system that expects them to contribute going forward. They never will. It will never work. Its unbelievable that it's been happening for half a season.

Why have we not had newell and jdh sitting in front of a back 4 with clarke and doig allowed to get forward? Granted our attacking players are garbage but at least you would be getting the best out of the midfield and you would have another attacker on the pitch.

Keyser Sauzee
Mueller was on a 4 year deal don’t be so sure we won’t cut our losses

The money we would be wasting to do it with 4 players is different to doing it with one.

I mean what is the actual ****ing point in this!

He's away next weekend and if I don't ever see him again then it will still be a day too soon.

Surely to God we could chuck on a youngster for some experience or something!

I thought you meant my post at first and thought it was quite mild.

But I agree, I’d file him under Rowan Vine. The best thing about James Scott is that it’s only a loan.

07-05-2022, 03:40 PM
I mean what is the actual ****ing point in this!

He's away next weekend and if I don't ever see him again then it will still be a day too soon.

Surely to God we could chuck on a youngster for some experience or something!

Just beggars belief!

JamesHFC
07-05-2022, 03:40 PM
The invisible midfield era of hibs better be over soon, this is absolute murder relegation level stuff.

On par with the Taiwo, Robertson and Craig era.

Helensburghhibs
07-05-2022, 03:41 PM
They keep being played in a system that expects them to contribute going forward. They never will. It will never work. Its unbelievable that it's been happening for half a season.

Why have we not had newell and jdh sitting in front of a back 4 with clarke and doig allowed to get forward? Granted our attacking players are garbage but at least you would be getting the best out of the midfield and you would have another attacker on the pitch.

If we have ambitions of playing decent football we can't play with a back 3 and 2 sitting midfielders , that's 6 players from 11 that aren't contributing anything to going forward. About as negative a system you can get

Gooooallll

Is that us back to the dizzy heights of 9th?

Jasper. Awful.

Jasper. Excellent.

hhibs
I’d transfer list the whole midfield to be honest, every single one of them. They’re all Championship level or worse.

Beyond awful,Newall,again,a contract extension for exactly what !

The money we would be wasting to do it with 4 players is different to doing it with one.

We don’t need to do it with all three. Just Campbell IMO and add some attacking mids and wide players.

Ray Donovan
We are back!

JamesHFC
07-05-2022, 03:42 PM
Thank **** for that.

a goal :shocked: :greengrin:flag::flag::flag:

it took our right back to score

Goal Hibs. That’s the best post of this thread

I still think Jasper has something worth investing in

Good. Cause as bad as we've been they've not been any better. Well done Paul.

Paul1642
We are back!

Back where?

Thank ****, still pish but at least we're not getting beat.

Gooooallll

Is that us back to the dizzy heights of 9th?

Left the game 5 mins to go and I miss us scoring a goal. 😂

Come on Hibs. Get a winner here.

Mutu
07-05-2022, 03:43 PM
You can't just pinpoint all of our problems on the middle of the park. We're chronic everywhere on the park and our tactics reflect that.

What's Newell supposed to create when everyone in the team is looking for the ball to feet and no one running in behind? Whats Melkserson supposed to do when he's up there by himself. etc etc.. Our issues are more than the players - it's from top to bottom.

Watch St Johnstone beat us with Hallberg in the team. Watch St Mirren beat us with Gogic in the team. Players are playing pish obviously and some have to go, but our issues are clearly deeper. A good manager would be able to get this bunch performing better - I am absolutely convinced of that.

Need complete clear out of backroom staff IMO.

edit: forget all that, we're class

:shocked::shocked::shocked::shocked::shocked::shoc ked:

JamesHFC
Goal Hibs. That’s the best post of this thread

I still think Jasper has something worth investing in

I think he has potential. Would probably do better in a better team.

Did the stadium announcer give that to Paul Hanlon or did I mishear?

Woo hoo! 🥳🥳

I think he has potential. Would probably do better in a better team.

Aye I think so, especially in a team playing with confidence

8th

What a finish from McGinn - no idea what he was doing in 6 yard box.

So simple when a winger beats a player and puts a cross in. Well done jasper.

Did the stadium announcer give that to Paul Hanlon or did I mishear?

He did then quietly corrected himself

Ray Donovan
Back where?

Up to the dizzy heights of 8th!!!

JamesHFC
07-05-2022, 03:44 PM
Up to the dizzy heights of 8th!!!

We’re going to win the relegation group!

Hope that doesn’t paper over the cracks or should that be crevices? Absolutely no consolation.

The Captain....
Well worked goal that..First real bit of of quality in the game from us.

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk

Paul1642
As much as today has not been good, a draw and a Livingston defeat is actually quite a good day for us (in a very sad way).

I do reckon we need a midfield overhaul. I’d like to see us bring in a full new midfield

Keyser Sauzee
07-05-2022, 03:45 PM
We don’t need to do it with all three. Just Campbell IMO and add some attacking mids and wide players.

We need shot of Doyle-Hayes as much as we do Campbell

Keep a hold of the ball Newell you soft centred *******.

Paul1642
As much as today has not been good, a draw and a Livingston defeat is actually quite a good day for us (in a very sad way).

I say as Livingston score….

07-05-2022, 03:46 PM
Hope that doesn’t paper over the cracks or should that be crevices? Absolutely no consolation.

Chasm

I still rate Newall. I think next season under a (hopefully better!) manager, and in a system where we actually have a style of play, he’ll look really good.

JDH and Campbell won’t be part of that system.

Clarke and Porteous only players at the club worth keeping. How mad is that? What a shambles.

Turkish Green
The only reason they are in 4th place is due to the saves made by Gordon. If they had kept that Portuguese flapper then would have been fighting relegation.

07-05-2022, 03:47 PM
Excellent work from Jasper for the goal.

Would be a touch unfair not to credit James Scott for the knockdown...

Livingston equalised

Mutu
I still rate Newall. I think next season under a (hopefully better!) manager, and in a system where we actually have a style of play, he’ll look really good.

Was very good 1st half of the season.

Who scored for us?

07-05-2022, 03:48 PM
Who scored for us?

McGinn

07-05-2022, 03:50 PM
The only reason they are in 4th place is due to the saves made by Gordon. If they had kept that Portuguese flapper then would have been fighting relegation.

Nah they recruited better than us in summer simple.

Good. Cause as bad as we've been they've not been any better. Well done Paul.
I like Paul McGinn

Porto thinks he’s Sergio Ramos.

Surely someone else can do better from freekick ?

07-05-2022, 03:51 PM

They’re in 3rd

07-05-2022, 03:51 PM
Excellent work from Jasper for the goal.

Would be a touch unfair not to credit James Scott for the knockdown...

Yup, happy to acknowledge that James Scott has now achieved *something* in a Hibs shirt.

07-05-2022, 03:52 PM
14509 😂😂😂😂😂😂

I know it's tickets sold but on a day like this just don't announce it. There's 9K here if you are lucky.

07-05-2022, 03:53 PM
Great ball by Doig and wasted by Scott who had no clue what to do with it.

07-05-2022, 03:54 PM
**** Mcrorie.

07-05-2022, 03:55 PM
thankfully McRories face was in the way to stop that shot going into the FF upper

07-05-2022, 03:56 PM
aw man young doig really should have scored there

07-05-2022, 03:57 PM
p@sh

07-05-2022, 03:58 PM
Rocky just cannot header a ball, for a defender that's a big thing.

Should’ve probably won at the end.

Is what it is. 2 games to go.

HendoDelivered
Would keep Clarke for next season

He’s awful and if he remains in that midfield then he’ll get another manager sacked.

Great block by Ferguson

07-05-2022, 03:59 PM
The team that finished the game for us was better than the team who started it.

Jasper looked lively, quite enjoyed the last 20 minutes or so.

07-05-2022, 03:59 PM

Felt he should have scored. Bit like Newell chance just toe it - doesn’t need much back swing to hit cleanly.

Rubbish game but Hibs finished the better team and looked like getting a winner.

Jasper changed the game.

Luckily only 2 games left of this horror show.

07-05-2022, 04:00 PM
We played much better when Stevenson and Jasper came on.

Entertaining added on time and at least we seen a goal.

Last 15 minutes was pretty entertaining. We seem able to do that in fits and starts but putting it altogether over 90 minutes is beyond us.

07-05-2022, 04:01 PM
We played much better when Stevenson and Jasper came on.

Should have been on at half time or ideally started the game.

Inconsequential
07-05-2022, 04:02 PM
Paul McGinn never ever good enough for where we want to be. Get rid, hopeless. :flag:

The Captain....
07-05-2022, 04:03 PM
On the plus side a decent goal and a bit intent towards the end.

Contrasted with large periods before that looking like we had no idea how to build any pressure.

Aberdeen had the game for the taking at 1 nil and Goodwin tried to hold on for a 0-1. Be disappointed with him if I was a dons fan.

Thought Jasper did well when he came on, Clarke is decent, Porto was solid enough...the rest I didn't really notice apart fro. Melkersen 20 decent minutes in the first half.

Mutu
07-05-2022, 04:03 PM
Can we start Jasper for the rest of the season please

07-05-2022, 04:04 PM
take it i missed something but what was the point in Stevenson for Henderson on 88 mins

07-05-2022, 04:06 PM
Paul McGinn never ever good enough for where we want to be. Get rid, hopeless. :flag:
Everyone's got an opinion 😁

07-05-2022, 04:06 PM

i can’t make my mind up whether in days before tinternet such _repeated_ muppetry existed … or whether it’s just a tinternet phenomenon. In days of yore would probably have either been laughed out the pub or ended up with a sore face.

ZitellZeTime
07-05-2022, 04:07 PM
Deja Vu, always a goal down before the whole team start showing some urgency. We were crying out for Jasper to come on for Campbell and atleast Gray saw that and was a beautiful ball. Had some brilliant runs too.

Newell looked like back to his old self in the second half, first half he got a ball played to him and took an age to decide what to do where as he was winning balls, playing balls getting forward and almost nicked that goal too, was good reflexes from Lewis that stopped it in the second half.

Beautiful high pass from i think Doig right to Clarke in the box but he looked clueless what to do, was a wasted opportunity. Atleast there were some positives to take from the second half though and at the time the equaliser felt like a winner, but then almost feels like a defeat lol.

Not sure if that ball Doig struck was going over or in the net but if it wasn't going in that was the next best thing that could happen, get whacked right off that **** McCrories coupon and out for a corner, he's a dirty wee sly ****. Was happy when that happened.

Brilliant to see Porto back though, he was one player who looked like he wanted to win the game from the first minute, great in defense, and played a good few balls forward and was driving forward towards the end too. Hopefully we still have him after the summer. Hanlons getting older and his concentration seems to lapse a lot too. Hope we can hold on to Porto for another couple seasons.

Paulie Walnuts
07-05-2022, 04:09 PM
That should put to bed the idea that this squad is actually decent. These players are terrible.

07-05-2022, 04:09 PM
Will be interesting to see where Hibs and Aberdeen are this time next season.

Both need a rebuild - Hearts lucky both of us are so ***** right now.

Need to find a whole new midfield.

Do a mueller and get rid of Newell - JDH and Campbell.

07-05-2022, 04:11 PM
I hate everything about fitba just now.

On the upside Aberdeen have their manager in place and still look unbelievably bad like us, we at least have the chance to change things

still just two points behind Dundee u in 4th....all we needed was one win Maloney, just one freakin win

07-05-2022, 04:12 PM
That should put to bed the idea that this squad is actually decent. These players are terrible.

the managers on the scrap heap must be shrugging their shoulders. We forgot to solve the root cause.

The Captain....
07-05-2022, 04:13 PM
Will be interesting to see where Hibs and Aberdeen are this time next season.

Both need a rebuild - Hearts lucky both of us are so ***** right now.

Need to find a whole new midfield.

Do a mueller and get rid of Newell - JDH and Campbell.Bottom 6 both unless they make real improvements in the right areas. That was 2 very poor sides today, set up badly imo.

07-05-2022, 04:13 PM
Deja Vu, always a goal down before the whole team start showing some urgency. We were crying out for Jasper to come on for Campbell and atleast Gray saw that and was a beautiful ball. Had some brilliant runs too.

Newell looked like back to his old self in the second half, first half he got a ball played to him and took an age to decide what to do where as he was winning balls, playing balls getting forward and almost nicked that goal too, was good reflexes from Lewis that stopped it in the second half.

Beautiful high pass from i think Doig right to Clarke in the box but he looked clueless what to do, was a wasted opportunity. Atleast there were some positives to take from the second half though and at the time the equaliser felt like a winner, but then almost feels like a defeat lol.

Not sure if that ball Doig struck was going over or in the net but if it wasn't going in that was the next best thing that could happen, get whacked right off that **** McCrories coupon and out for a corner, he's a dirty wee sly ****. Was happy when that happened.

Brilliant to see Porto back though, he was one player who looked like he wanted to win the game from the first minute, great in defense, and played a good few balls forward and was driving forward towards the end too. Hopefully we still have him after the summer. Hanlons getting older and his concentration seems to lapse a lot too. Hope we can hold on to Porto for another couple seasons.

Porto plays some glorious balls forward into the midfield.

If we could just find some midfielders who could do something from those positions then we might be onto something.

Sadly I think the change we'll make will be to move on to getting defenders who can just lump it over them all in place of Porto...

07-05-2022, 04:14 PM
Should have been on at half time or ideally started the game.

As is the theme for this season, I believe he's carrying a knock and not got 90 minutes in him.

07-05-2022, 04:14 PM
Redeemed themselves slightly in the last 15 minutes or so but that was a tough watch.

07-05-2022, 04:16 PM
Aberdeen absolutely dreadful. Horrible shower of cheats. Never even tried to win. Just waste time. Hibs done okay, nothing more. Campbell so, so poor.

I'm assuming Hauge is dreadful if he can't get a minute? Away back to Norway soon I'd imagine

07-05-2022, 04:16 PM
Can’t believe how long it took Newell to shoot when he got passed the ball by the Aberdeen player just outside their box.

The Captain....
07-05-2022, 04:29 PM
Can’t believe how long it took Newell to shoot when he got passed the ball by the Aberdeen player just outside their box.I thought my stream had frozen!

07-05-2022, 04:34 PM
We’ve got a handful of players who might merit holding on to and who might fit into a totally revamped team. The problem is to get a manager who has the balls to clear us out from top to bottom. I suspect that RG will not allow that to happen and we’ll end up with a yes man who will continue to drift along in mediocrity.

07-05-2022, 04:34 PM

Don’t know why we keep playing that Deja Vu, he does the same thing every week. :wink:

07-05-2022, 04:37 PM
Can’t believe how long it took Newell to shoot when he got passed the ball by the Aberdeen player just outside their box.

I can, it was Joe Newell.

uwxm07
07-05-2022, 04:38 PM
More action on Easter Road - Police v Sheep than at the actual match ( Police win convincingly)

07-05-2022, 04:39 PM
Aberdeen absolutely dreadful. Horrible shower of cheats. Never even tried to win. Just waste time. Hibs done okay, nothing more. Campbell so, so poor.

I'm assuming Hauge is dreadful if he can't get a minute? Away back to Norway soon I'd imagine

He’s only making the bench due to injuries he was signed for the development squad. Playing James Scott at this point is just ridiculous unless we have to pay some sort of fee if he doesn’t play some number of games

07-05-2022, 04:54 PM
12:30 today was in 2 minds, go to the game or cut the grass.
4:45 made the right choice, grass is looking great
Sad, sad days,

07-05-2022, 04:58 PM
Only positive for me was that I got full points in the predictor league.

I was in the unique position of being really torn about whether I wanted us to score when we were putting the pressure on in the last 5 minutes! 😂

07-05-2022, 05:08 PM
Thought Macey was really comfortable today, came and held crosses confidently and little to do otherwise. Clarke was my MotM, always looking forward, tidy in possession albeit gave away a couple of needless free kicks. McGinn - and I’m not a fan - played solidly, safely, and scored a great goal. Porteous reasonably solid, Paul made too many rushed long balls to nowhere and no one.

Midfield were rotten - and I mean rotten. Would not miss any of them next season.

Melkerson - felt sorry for the boy, worked hard, good shot saved, but what hope have you got when up top alone, no width, and you need semaphore to communicate with a lazy, pedestrian midfield to link play.

Drab game, only lightening up the last 15 minutes.

Fuzzywuzzy
07-05-2022, 05:11 PM
Joe lewis' time wasting is a disgrace. As soon as the ****gers get in front it starts

07-05-2022, 05:12 PM
Could be worse. We could have signed Ojo.

Hibs4185
07-05-2022, 05:13 PM

Don’t think I’ve ever seen newell shoot.

07-05-2022, 05:15 PM
He’s only making the bench due to injuries he was signed for the development squad. Playing James Scott at this point is just ridiculous unless we have to pay some sort of fee if he doesn’t play some number of games

He should be getting minutes in these worthless games. All the young guys should. And the league cup ties early doors.

07-05-2022, 05:25 PM
Gave the game a miss and spent the afternoon on the golf course. Tuned into Sportsound for an update when I came in and was amazed to hear Willie Miller was covering the game. :yawn:

07-05-2022, 05:32 PM
More action on Easter Road - Police v Sheep than at the actual match ( Police win convincingly)

All subdued & hardly any polis around when we walked up, surprised if there was post-match action. Decent sized sheep support in circumstances.

OldEast
07-05-2022, 05:52 PM
Don’t think I’ve ever seen newell shoot.

https://youtu.be/x0b176AbjBE

07-05-2022, 05:53 PM
Joe lewis' time wasting is a disgrace. As soon as the ****gers get in front it starts

McCrorie as well.

07-05-2022, 05:54 PM
Only positive for me was that I got full points in the predictor league.

I was in the unique position of being really torn about whether I wanted us to score when we were putting the pressure on in the last 5 minutes! 😂

I was doing well until February and now I can't predict any result, dropping like a stone.

07-05-2022, 05:55 PM
Porto plays some glorious balls forward into the midfield.

If we could just find some midfielders who could do something from those positions then we might be onto something.

Sadly I think the change we'll make will be to move on to getting defenders who can just lump it over them all in place of Porto...

It’s all about the midfield. It’s not really worked since Magennis got injured again and it’s cost us all season.

07-05-2022, 06:10 PM
congrats PH

https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/279198458_4952328544866167_2695501786146733395_n.j pg?_nc_cat=102&ccb=1-6&_nc_sid=730e14&_nc_ohc=NVNBHUSN5y0AX-EKWBk&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AT-nK3n0vgum_97bPXrXk9ntQzDSRzlAVUEG81LbXUO0Vg&oe=627C8CD7

07-05-2022, 06:17 PM
Will we see Scott Allan play minutes for Hibs in any of last 2 games ?

Any word on why Mitchel wasn’t in squad today?

Is Doidge missing last 2 games also ?

07-05-2022, 06:29 PM
Will we see Scott Allan play minutes for Hibs in any of last 2 games ?

Any word on why Mitchel wasn’t in squad today?

Is Doidge missing last 2 games also ?

They aren’t fit

07-05-2022, 06:30 PM
congrats PH

https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/279198458_4952328544866167_2695501786146733395_n.j pg?_nc_cat=102&ccb=1-6&_nc_sid=730e14&_nc_ohc=NVNBHUSN5y0AX-EKWBk&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AT-nK3n0vgum_97bPXrXk9ntQzDSRzlAVUEG81LbXUO0Vg&oe=627C8CD7

Vital block throwing his body in the way and another vital interception which could of lead to a chance against us.

The problem this season is without Boyle these players are only putting in top 4/6 performances every 2 or 3 games out of 10.

07-05-2022, 06:32 PM
I was doing well until February and now I can't predict any result, dropping like a stone.

Into joint 3rd now I think.

Being pessimistic about Hibs' chances is doing wonders for me. :greengrin

07-05-2022, 07:16 PM
Into joint 3rd now I think.

Being pessimistic about Hibs' chances is doing wonders for me. :greengrin

I keep hoping, this week they'll win and get me some points but nope and 1-0 prediction goes down the drain. :greengrin

07-05-2022, 08:01 PM
Vital block throwing his body in the way and another vital interception which could of lead to a chance against us.

The problem this season is without Boyle these players are only putting in top 4/6 performances every 2 or 3 games out of 10.

Looked like Hanlon lost Bates for the goal. Then again when he missed a good chance to put them two up.