View Full Version : Most disappointing players

06-05-2022, 08:18 PM
Just in light of the Chris Mueller situation this week. When we signed him on a pre in the summer there was massive hype and excitement about him. Must admit I thought we had pulled off an absolute cracker going by what i had read and heard about him, looking at his history etc. but sadly it never lived up to the promise. Also this week there been a lot of attention on Jack Grealish and his inability so far to live up to expectations at City (a £100m signing is a slightly different ball game to Mueller granted but same idea).

So what other players do you remember (doesn't have to just be hibs) that came with great hype/promise/expectation and ended up not living up to it?

06-05-2022, 08:20 PM
Zarabi. Left back, David Murphys “replacement”.

06-05-2022, 08:26 PM
Lyndon Andrews. Thought he was going to be as good as Latapy. Not many were in his defence.

06-05-2022, 08:28 PM
I don`t think there was much hype about Mueller and I don`t think he stayed long enough to know if he could have made an impact .

06-05-2022, 08:29 PM
I was delighted when we signed Michael Hart. I remembered him matching Ivan speoule stride for stride a few seasons before. He was well past it though.

Jonaton Johansson as well. Was still playing international football when he signed but done nowt for us.

06-05-2022, 08:33 PM
Alan “Ivan Sproule on a motorbike” O’Brien.

I really wanted him to come good but he was minging.

Our highest profile signings never seem to do that well.

James Scott as well. Even if you expected him to be pish, you’d be disappointed he failed to reach even that level.

MKHIBEE
06-05-2022, 08:33 PM
Harry Cochrane never lived up to all the hype when he was at Hearts, the only thing I can remember about him was his
“ tackle” on John Mcginn.

06-05-2022, 08:36 PM
Grealish will come good. Took a few others time to fit in Pep's teams. Sane struggled at first too.

At Hibs, oh boy. I was really excited about Mallan. Thought he was great at St mirren. Sadly he just had a great shot, nout else. Definitely was excited for mueller too.

06-05-2022, 08:37 PM
The current squad

06-05-2022, 08:38 PM
Diego Forlan at Man United.

06-05-2022, 08:40 PM
Edwin de Graaf

06-05-2022, 08:41 PM
Diego Forlan at Man United.

Angel de Maria as well.....

06-05-2022, 08:47 PM
Marco Etcheverry.

Watched a Copa Mundial type thing in the run up to USA 94 and genuinely believed he was going to be the star of the WC.

Came on the first game and got sent off right away.

Led to huge personal disappointment as I’d convinced S6 at school he was going to be the star of the WC.

06-05-2022, 08:53 PM
Mike Conroy

Mark Caughey

Willie Irvine #2

James Scott

Roddy McKenzie

Owain Tudur Jones

Rowan Vine

Ray Wilkins RIP

06-05-2022, 08:55 PM
Edwin de Graaf

I had a mate at uni who was a Dutch football obsessive.

Alarm bells were ringing for me when I asked him about De Graaf and he said 'technically decent but his legs have gone, he should be OK just knocking passes about though.'

If there is one thing you can say about Scottish fooball it's that unless you are exceptional you won't last 5 minutes if your 'legs have gone'.

RIP Bestie
06-05-2022, 08:55 PM
John Brogan.

06-05-2022, 08:57 PM
Alan O’Brien
James Collins
Florian Kamberi (2nd stint)
Chris Mueller
Pa Kujabi (hero to zero faster than any player in our history!)
Alan Gow
Ryan Gauld

leith lynx
06-05-2022, 08:58 PM
Mike Conroy

Mark Caughey

Willie Irvine #2

James Scott

Roddy McKenzie

Owain Tudur Jones

Rowan Vine

Ray Wilkins RIP

Billy Kirkwood, Jim Blair, Peter Cormack (2nd time around)

06-05-2022, 08:59 PM
Mark McGraw

06-05-2022, 09:00 PM
They were all on the list but thought I better give someone else a chance :greengrin

06-05-2022, 09:04 PM
I know he is popular, but Grant Holt. I thought he was more interested in grappling with defenders closer to the half way line than much of a goal threat. He did a job for a season so maybe a little harsh.

06-05-2022, 09:11 PM
Mike Conroy

Mark Caughey

Willie Irvine #2

James Scott

Roddy McKenzie

Owain Tudur Jones

Rowan Vine

Ray Wilkins RIP

Wasn’t Wilkins 40 year old?

I thought we were going to get decent performances out of Islam Feruz, Eduardo Hurtado and Tim Clancy. They were all crap though.

06-05-2022, 09:13 PM
Outside Hibs.

I thought Lukaku would be class for Chelsea this season. Thought Messi would score a ridiculous amount at PSG.

06-05-2022, 09:15 PM
I know he is popular, but Grant Holt. I thought he was more interested in grappling with defenders closer to the half way line than much of a goal threat. He did a job for a season so maybe a little harsh.

Awful shout.

Holt was brilliant for us.

06-05-2022, 09:20 PM
Awful shout.

Holt was brilliant for us.Disagree . I liked Lennon as a manager but thought Holt was a terrible signing .

LewysGot2
06-05-2022, 09:27 PM
Awful shout.

I appreciated his contribution and I saw every game he played for Hibs - even the away friendly at his old club Shrewsbury. :greengrin

We couldn’t afford him at his peak but he must’ve been a proper centre forward. Norwich fans still idolise him.

06-05-2022, 09:32 PM
I had a mate at uni who was a Dutch football obsessive.

Alarm bells were ringing for me when I asked him about De Graaf and he said 'technically decent but his legs have gone, he should be OK just knocking passes about though.'

If there is one thing you can say about Scottish fooball it's that unless you are exceptional you won't last 5 minutes if your 'legs have gone'.

Joey Barton, step forward.

I must have been 13/14 when we signed de Graaf, so I was rather easily influenced by the second hand information I was reading about him. Genuinely thought we'd signed a superstar. His brace in Europe didn't mellow my excitement any...

06-05-2022, 09:34 PM
James McPake post loan.

Alex Harris.

06-05-2022, 09:38 PM
Disagree . I liked Lennon as a manager but thought Holt was a terrible signing .

He started the season poorly, by the time we finished the season he was really on to something, especially big games. Absolutely dominated Aberdeen in the semi, ragdolled the Hearts defence.

I don't think he respected the challenge at first.

06-05-2022, 09:46 PM
James McPake post loan.

Alex Harris.Don`t remember much about McPake post loan ( think he was an excellent loan signing at time ) but Harris seems a strange choice . Was outstanding when he first broke through ( fast , skilful , two footed which made him almost unique , an exciting player to watch .. ) and he did very well at Queen of South ( best assists in league which was ours about same time ) and again when Lennon gave him a chance . His fall since then will I guess be more about lack of motivation than talent . Maybe you`re right though , definitely had exceptional talent but we didn`t benefit enough from it .

06-05-2022, 09:50 PM
I thought Matt Thornhill and Isaiah Osborne would've ragdolled every centre midfield in the country. I was wrong.

hibby rae
06-05-2022, 09:52 PM
Don`t remember much about McPake post loan ( think he was an excellent loan signing at time ) but Harris seems a strange choice . Was outstanding when he first broke through ( fast , skilful , two footed which made him almost unique , an exciting player to watch .. ) and he did very well at Queen of South ( best assists in league which was ours about same time ) and again when Lennon gave him a chance . His fall since then will I guess be more about lack of motivation than talent . Maybe you`re right though , definitely had exceptional talent but we didn`t benefit enough from it .

Was never the same after he got munched and injured

06-05-2022, 09:57 PM
Ross Caldwell

loanheadhibby
06-05-2022, 09:58 PM
Awful shout.

Brilliant - really, you must be joking.
He was ok.

06-05-2022, 10:00 PM
Josh Vela

06-05-2022, 10:00 PM
Wasn’t Wilkins 40 year old?

I thought we were going to get decent performances out of Islam Feruz, Eduardo Hurtado and Tim Clancy. They were all crap though.
Yip was 40 years old but was thinking his crab like sideways play slower than a week in the jail and pandering to the Hun really pissed me off

Played as though he was doing us a favour

Keyser Sauzee
06-05-2022, 10:02 PM
I thought Matt Thornhill and Isaiah Osborne would've ragdolled every centre midfield in the country. I was wrong.

My memory of Osborne is he was actually not bad, could be mistaken tho

Green Man
06-05-2022, 10:08 PM
As a boy I was very excited when we signed Keith Houchen, as I knew him for his diving header when Coventry won the FA Cup. That was my first experience of a player not living up to expectations.

06-05-2022, 10:16 PM
As a boy I was very excited when we signed Keith Houchen, as I knew him for his diving header when Coventry won the FA Cup. That was my first experience of a player not living up to expectations.May be wrong but think he scored on debut at Tynecastle and scored a few after that . Was never great or terrible but because he`d come from England people expected him to be special . same with other players from Englaand mentioned on this thread .

06-05-2022, 10:18 PM
Ross Caldwell

Currently playing for Darvel. Saw his name in the Largs and Millport Weekly News sports section.

maturehibby
06-05-2022, 10:28 PM
Didier Agate only on a 3 months contract ro see how good he was .
He was good and he cleared of to Celtic

06-05-2022, 10:33 PM

Cormack’s knees were well and truly done by then, it’s a miracle he ever kicked a ball second time round. I think his main job was coaching, but we were so **** he had to pull the boots on, a bit like John Blackley’s cameo appearances ( where his class showed, even if his belly struggled to fit in the strip).

Notable disappointments,

Liam Millar- he had the pedigree, but he never lived up to expectations. Having Kevin McBride as his central midfield foil probably didn’t help.

Paul Hartley- peripheral figure who came to Hibs with a lot of expectations. Did sweet FA, apart from kills high dropping ball with a gorgeous first touch in front of the old main stand in one of his early games.

Ditto Stevie Crawford, he did alright but I think we expected more.

Neil Orr, came straight from the West Ham first team squad, Miller played him central midfield, when he was a centre half. Fair to say he never set the Heather alight.

Clarence
06-05-2022, 10:36 PM
Keith Houchen
Paul Wright
Lee Power
Paul Hartley
Eduardo Hurtado
Allan Smart
Stephen Dobbie
The Mali Magician
Colin Nish
Jonatan Johansson
Alan Gow
Darryl Duffy
Ryan McGivern
Paul Heffernan
Danny Swanson
Josh Vela
Jamie Murphy
Chris Mueller

06-05-2022, 10:38 PM

Had a few great games, annoyingly anonymous much of the time.

A lot of the players from that time were big disappointments really. Martin Scott was the best player on the pitch in a cup game against us, then absolutely hopeless when he signed.

Green Man
06-05-2022, 10:39 PM
May be wrong but think he scored on debut at Tynecastle and scored a few after that . Was never great or terrible but because he`d come from England people expected him to be special . same with other players from Englaand mentioned on this thread .

I’m sure we’ve had worse strikers but he didn’t live up to the hype - the main thing I remember him for is missing a penalty in a UEFA Cup tie.

06-05-2022, 10:39 PM
Mark Caughey and the second Willie Irvine.

06-05-2022, 10:41 PM
As a boy I was very excited when we signed Keith Houchen, as I knew him for his diving header when Coventry won the FA Cup. That was my first experience of a player not living up to expectations.

Houchy later said that he knew he had made a mistake joining for us as soon as the contract was signed.

Clarence
06-05-2022, 10:42 PM
I’m sure we’ve had worse strikers but he didn’t live up to the hype - the main thing I remember him for is missing a penalty in a UEFA Cup tie.

Same

06-05-2022, 10:45 PM
I remember watching Denillson in one of the Brazil team World Cup videos and thinking he looked a really world class player. He turned out to be pretty one-dimensional, played for Betis for a few seasons, but for me never progressed into the player I thought he would.

For Hibs I would probably say James Collins, he was just pish. Pish is actually quite an appropriate word for him considering what he got done for a few seasons after leaving Hibs.

06-05-2022, 10:51 PM
Joe Ward. Har de har and lol. Whit a huddie yon wiz.....

06-05-2022, 10:52 PM
Cormack’s knees were well and truly done by then, it’s a miracle he ever kicked a ball second time round. I think his main job was coaching, but we were so **** he had to pull the boots on, a bit like John Blackley’s cameo appearances ( where his class showed, even if his belly struggled to fit in the strip).

Notable disappointments,

Liam Millar- he had the pedigree, but he never lived up to expectations. Having Kevin McBride as his central midfield foil probably didn’t help.

Paul Hartley- peripheral figure who came to Hibs with a lot of expectations. Did sweet FA, apart from kills high dropping ball with a gorgeous first touch in front of the old main stand in one of his early games.

Ditto Stevie Crawford, he did alright but I think we expected more.

Neil Orr, came straight from the West Ham first team squad, Miller played him central midfield, when he was a centre half. Fair to say he never set the Heather alight.

Neil Orr had a brilliant 70s style "Jason King" tache'

Green Man
06-05-2022, 10:54 PM
I remember watching Denillson in one of the Brazil team World Cup videos and thinking he looked a really world class player. He turned out to be pretty one-dimensional, played for Betis for a few seasons, but for me never progressed into the player I thought he would.

For Hibs I would probably say James Collins, he was just pish. Pish is actually quite an appropriate word for him considering what he got done for a few seasons after leaving Hibs.

Denilson was the most expensive transfer in the world at one point wasn’t he? He was class in Football Manager though :greengrin

06-05-2022, 11:02 PM
Grealish will come good. Took a few others time to fit in Pep's teams. Sane struggled at first too.

At Hibs, oh boy. I was really excited about Mallan. Thought he was great at St mirren. Sadly he just had a great shot, nout else. Definitely was excited for mueller too.

Mallan had more than a great shot. You really need to stop perpetuating that myth.

06-05-2022, 11:03 PM

Those 2 were absolutely hopeless.

06-05-2022, 11:05 PM

My memory of him was bizarrely reading people on here claiming he was a pler, but watching him every week put in listless performances.

ZitellZeTime
06-05-2022, 11:36 PM
Aw been quite a few over my time and im only in my 30s, first one that springs to mind is because I had his name on the back of my top as a kid, Barry Lavety, was delighted when we signed as i remember checking teletext and he seemed to score all time for St Mirren and seemed to start ok for us then it went pete tong.

Ryan Guald aswell. ffs after his move from Dundee Utd to Sporting and the big deal that was made over him etc I was genuinly excited to get him in the door and thought this loan back to Scotland would bring out the best in him, not sure if he's done much since but was a big disappointment. That Fabian Yantorno boy too, I'd seen him play a couple of times and he looked skillfull af. Thought we had got a gem in him and would sell him on for big money but didn't happen lol.

That dutch boy edwin de graaf, sure Yogi was in charge when we signed him and quite a lot was made of him but didn't do much, I thought that Junior Agogo was going to be good too, seemed to have a decent record before us down south and thought he was going to be class. also Jonaton Johansson. I know he was 31/32 but I remember him for Rangers, Charlton, the Finnish national team and even the season before we signed him I checked and im sure he had a goal every second game for Malmo. was quite skillfull too but he had definitely lost a step of speed or something that made him look much older than he was on the pitch.

Clayton Donaldson too, I was delighted when we signed him and read everything about him, speed, goals etc. He's went on to have a decent career at some decent sized clubs though. Also that Joneleit German boy Collins signed, he was making this big deal about him from his links with Monaco and had already been capped by Germany under 21 and that he mananaged to persuade him to come to us an all this bull****, he was *****, think Collins took him to one of the other teams he tried to manage after leaving us too. Must have been something about him and maybe has turned out good but definitely looked ***** then.

Pa Kujabi, remember he had been capted by Gambia who were actually decent at the time and when i checked him up he had went to austria and then went and played most of a season from Frankfurt and was still quite young so I honestly thought he was going to be class.

Tudor jones aswell, looked decent for Caley and had played a few games for Wales so thought he must atleast be decent but he was gash for us.

Both Hurtado and that Earl John, those two were back when i was younger and you couldn't look into their history as much but remember reading big teams were after Earl John which was probably made up, Same things were said for Hurtado that biggish teams down south wanted him but we managed to get him then mentioning like 20 odd goals in like 70 caps for Ecuador thought he was going to score a barrow load for us !

Most Frustrating was probably Vaz Te, could tell he was a good player but just looked like he couldn't be arsed and went on to do well for barnsley then west ham etc. Looked like he just didn't want to be here at all. Tony Rougier could be frustrating as **** too, not for lack of trying, but every 3 or 4 games he looked like a player who was far to good for this league then other games he would be tripping over his own laces and passing the ball to **** knows where. Different reasons thoug. you could tell Vaz Te had the talent but just didnt look arsed where as Rougier did try, played quite a lot of games and did good sometimes then would occasionally have an outstanding game and you'd think thats it he's on a roll now then the next week he's be absolute dug ***** lol, think he was mates with Latapy and Yorke and Latapy had mentioned how great he was too or something so that maybe had me expecting too much. He was more frustrating through inconsistency, would probably walk into the Hibs side right now with ease, sure he ended up doing decent down south after us too.

06-05-2022, 11:46 PM
Brilliant - really, you must be joking.
He was ok.

Correct. Deemed not brilliant enough to stay with us for first crack back in the premiership.

Good guy though.

ZitellZeTime
06-05-2022, 11:47 PM
Lyndon Andrews. Thought he was going to be as good as Latapy. Not many were in his defence.

He was the other player I was thinking of, I couldn't remember Yantorno's name and google took a ****ing age to find it but wasn't giving up as I was genuinly excited to see him play for us for some reaso but aye Lyndon Andrews is the other I couldnt find with searching so gave up and just posted lol. I thought he was going to be class too !

There was a Hungarian player I was excited about too, again I googled. Only found Bogdan and that Sowumni, was neither of those he was an attacking midfielder and had been capped and sure he played for a big team in Turkey or Netherlands for a few years before we signed him but couldn't find him.

The Greek boy Mavrias I was quite excited about too and that Polish keeper who had a few caps and had played for Dundee Utd before I thought was going to be amazing and stay a longtime with us.

Suppose for everyone we got excited for and didnt live upto expectations we unvovered some proper gems like the Mali Magician and Zibi Malkowski too so we should be grateful !

ZitellZeTime
06-05-2022, 11:55 PM

Aye I'm sure that Osborne was touted one of the several players who were going to fill the famous Matty Jack role but also had a bit more about him, but didn't.

sunshinejim
07-05-2022, 12:13 AM
Freddie Arpignon disappointed me. At times you could see there was a player in him but he just didn't spark to life enough. Great guy though and I was genuinely disappointed that he often flattered to deceive. Myriad number of worse players for Hibernian but expected more from Freddie.

CL0762
07-05-2022, 12:17 AM
There was a Hungarian player I was excited about too, again I googled. Only found Bogdan and that Sowumni, was neither of those he was an attacking midfielder and had been capped and sure he played for a big team in Turkey or Netherlands for a few years before we signed him but couldn't find him.

Think this might be Denes Rosa?

Sure he signed the same season Riordan came back.

07-05-2022, 12:17 AM
Roman Vine …

Remember a former team spending lots on Tore Andre Flo …

sunshinejim
07-05-2022, 12:21 AM
]Roman Vine[/B] …

Remember a former team spending lots on Tore Andre Flo …

He came to ER

He shat it

He disappeared.

07-05-2022, 12:27 AM
He came to ER

He shat it

He disappeared.

… blinking autocorrect. Going to leave it because he doesn’t deserve any correction.

sunshinejim
07-05-2022, 12:36 AM
… blinking autocorrect. Going to leave it because he doesn’t deserve any correction.

We are all Spartacus.

07-05-2022, 12:45 AM

Dateline: 22/10/2000

Time: Kick-off+36

Gaffer: “Right Lyndon, yer goin oan son”

Lyndon Andrews “No bother gaffer, who am I going on for and what do you want me to do?”

Gaffer: “See that big, sweaty German ****, hobbling towards us with bits of Jamboid stuck in his teeth and stuck in his studs.”

Lyndon Andrews: “Who, Matty Jack boss?”

Gaffer: “Aye, Matty Jack. Git oan there and fill his boots!”

Lyndon Andrews, not German and never remotely in any list of Hibs players who disappointed.

07-05-2022, 01:02 AM
One of the first names that came to mind when I opened this thread was Brian Grant.

We were firmly in what turned out to be a death spiral, avoiding relegation through the play-offs before ultimately going down the following season.

Grant was a solid, experienced midfielder, part of the tranche at Aberdeen that had to cope with following Ferguson’s legends. Aberdeen then were not the team of the early eighties but still good enough to pick up cups and challenge Rangers for the league during his time there.

I hoped he would provide the strength and heft we so desperately needed in the middle of the park but he was pretty anonymous. I can’t remember if he was injured a lot but I don’t recall him playing that often for us at all.

07-05-2022, 01:48 AM
I expected far more of James Collins. He came for a big fee for us and had a reputation as a consistent goal scorer. He was shocking.

ZitellZeTime
07-05-2022, 02:16 AM
Freddie Arpignon disappointed me. At times you could see there was a player in him but he just didn't spark to life enough. Great guy though and I was genuinely disappointed that he often flattered to deceive. Myriad number of worse players for Hibernian but expected more from Freddie.

Yeah he was a strange one, he wasn't even one of those players that people say "there is a player in there somewhere", you could tell he was a good player and he had played for a few decent clubs not long before us, he wasn't young but wasn't exactly over the hill. Sure he retired not long after playing with us. Maybe just couldn't be arsed anymore. He looked really good in a couple of games but a lot it was the odd moment here and there.

I'd still probably play him in our current central midfield with Magennis being out probably so that says a lot.

07-05-2022, 02:57 AM
Dateline: 22/10/2000

Time: Kick-off+36

Gaffer: “Right Lyndon, yer goin oan son”

Lyndon Andrews “No bother gaffer, who am I going on for and what do you want me to do?”

Gaffer: “See that big, sweaty German ****, hobbling towards us with bits of Jamboid stuck in his teeth and stuck in his studs.”

Lyndon Andrews: “Who, Matty Jack boss?”

Gaffer: “Aye, Matty Jack. Git oan there and fill his boots!”

Lyndon Andrews, not German and never remotely in any list of Hibs players who disappointed.

Bravo mate, excellent post. Genuine lol moment.....

OldEast
07-05-2022, 04:13 AM
Different eras. Jim Blair and Joe Newell. Not saying Newell is bad but sticking to the thread title, I'm disappointed he's a shadow of the player he was at Rotherham and I expected much more.

07-05-2022, 04:20 AM
Mallan had more than a great shot. You really need to stop perpetuating that myth.

He really didn't mate. Great shot, poor to very poor otherwise. No myth about it. Even Ross didn't play him.

07-05-2022, 04:21 AM
Eduardo Hurtado. The tank.

Really bad

07-05-2022, 04:51 AM
He really didn't mate. Great shot, poor to very poor otherwise. No myth about it. Even Ross didn't play him.

On top of his 19 goals he got 14 assists for us so its extremely unfair to say he offered nothing else IMO. Everyone is entitled to their opinion though!

07-05-2022, 05:15 AM
On top of his 19 goals he got 14 assists for us so its extremely unfair to say he offered nothing else IMO. Everyone is entitled to their opinion though!

Mostly from set pieces I'd imagine. Just didn't rate the guy whatsoever after a decent start. Poor passing, couldn't beat a man, couldn't tackle. Wouldn't have got near any decent Hibs midfield. Newell is a far better player and gets plenty stick.

07-05-2022, 05:31 AM
Mostly from set pieces I'd imagine. Just didn't rate the guy whatsoever after a decent start. Poor passing, couldn't beat a man, couldn't tackle. Wouldn't have got near any decent Hibs midfield. Newell is a far better player and gets plenty stick.

Not that it matters because set piece goals count the same as open play goals :greengrin but he had a fair few from open play too. Set up for Horgan's second at Tynie one of my favourite ever passes. Pass for Boyles equaliser v Livvy on his return from injury stands out too. I dont agree he was a poor passer. He was also capable of beating a man as his mazy solo goal in win at Livvy proved. Although I'd agree he didnt do that often enough hampered by lack of pace.

I like Newell but wouldnt say he is far better. He has a similar number of games to Mallan and Newall has only 3 goals and 10 assists. That's a shocking return.

If you could combine Newall's drive and defensive capabilities with Mallan's attacking prowess then you'd have some player.

07-05-2022, 05:39 AM
I was massively disappointed by Emerson Hyndman. Our first attempt at filling the McGinn void and he was pish.

07-05-2022, 05:44 AM
I was massively disappointed by Emerson Hyndman. Our first attempt at filling the McGinn void and he was pish.

Aye, he was bad.

houstonhibbee
07-05-2022, 05:50 AM
Keith, Keith, Keith............................Houchen

Didn't realize Gareth Evans was also a forward at Coventry same time as Houchen.....

07-05-2022, 06:07 AM
Didier Agate only on a 3 months contract ro see how good he was .
He was good and he cleared of to Celtic

He wasnt really disappointing though, played well for us

07-05-2022, 07:32 AM
Keith Houchen
Paul Wright
Lee Power
Paul Hartley
Eduardo Hurtado
Allan Smart
Stephen Dobbie
The Mali Magician
Colin Nish
Jonatan Johansson
Alan Gow
Darryl Duffy
Ryan McGivern
Paul Heffernan
Danny Swanson
Josh Vela
Jamie Murphy
Chris Mueller

Paul Wright? I seem to remember he played ok. Came on as sub and won us a game then got clogged by (Berry?) in an ER derby. Never got over that knee injury IIRC. I was disappointed he was only here for a short time.

07-05-2022, 07:49 AM
Paul Wright? I seem to remember he played ok. Came on as sub and won us a game then got clogged by (Berry?) in an ER derby. Never got over that knee injury IIRC. I was disappointed he was only here for a short time.

The sale of Paul Wright helped fund the purchase of Keith. I would have loved to see those two together at Hibs. Paul was a talented player, he returned and did well at Killie.

loanheadhibby
07-05-2022, 07:53 AM

Excuse me. Paul Wright was a fantastic football player. I loved watching him. A player you would actually pay to go and see. The derby game you mention, he was tearing ****bos to ribbons and then the hatchet man Berry clobbered him. It was a red card challenge in todays game.

I genuinely believe had he steered clear of injuries, he would have had a brilliant career.

07-05-2022, 08:06 AM
Excuse me. Paul Wright was a fantastic football player. I loved watching him. A player you would actually pay to go and see. The derby game you mention, he was tearing ****bos to ribbons and then the hatchet man Berry clobbered him. It was a red card challenge in todays game.

I genuinely believe had he steered clear of injuries, he would have had a brilliant career.

A real live wire for us an imaginative signing from QPR and as you say was ripping the jamboids a new one with his electric pace and turn of foot that day

Came back to haunt us on more than one occasion and won the Scottish Cup with Killie IIRC

Very good player

loanheadhibby
07-05-2022, 08:23 AM
The sale of Paul Wright helped fund the purchase of Keith. I would have loved to see those two together at Hibs. Paul was a talented player, he returned and did well at Killie.

Totally agree. Jackson and Keith Wright had a fantastic spell but if we could have kept Wright, Jackson and Paul Wright, it would have been brilliant.

I honestly think Paul Wright had the most ability out of all 3 players.

fairafarhib
07-05-2022, 08:33 AM
Totally agree. Jackson and Keith Wright had a fantastic spell but if we could have kept Wright, Jackson and Paul Wright, it would have been brilliant.

Tom James

07-05-2022, 08:35 AM
Ryan McGivern. Was delighted when we signed him permanently after his loan. The rest is history.

leith lynx
07-05-2022, 09:27 AM
Peter Welsh, Klaus Dietrich, Bobby Thomson, Clayton Donaldson, Andy Watson,[in no particular order]

leith lynx
07-05-2022, 09:38 AM

Paul Wright was a great wee player, proved it with Kilmarnock, still, we got Keith to soften the blow of losing him.

07-05-2022, 09:50 AM
Paul Cairney
Paul Hartley
Liam Craig

07-05-2022, 10:14 AM
Fabian Yantorno

07-05-2022, 10:42 AM
Islam feruz. Thought he would have been the real deal.

07-05-2022, 11:04 AM
Paul Cairney
Paul Hartley
Liam Craig

I think Paul Cairney was the least athletic player I’ve seen. Reminded me of the skilful fat guy we’ve all had in our games of 5s.

Saint Hibee
07-05-2022, 11:46 AM
Paul Cairney
Paul Hartley
Liam Craig

I don’t think Liam Craig was half as bad for us as some on here make out.

ZitellZeTime
07-05-2022, 11:48 AM
Think this might be Denes Rosa?

Sure he signed the same season Riordan came back.

Haha aye thats the guy, googled and saw the pics. Just checked wiki and seemes he didn't have the career I thought and was excited at the time and had played for Fenerbache or Feyenoord regular and had done ok at Wolves but when I checked just now it was a hungarian team called Ferencvaros FC, and he was at Wolves for 3 years and only played around 10 games. Weird how the mind plays tricks on you like that.

I was still excited at the time.

The mentions of Paul Hartley were a good shout too, thought he was going to light the place on fire here but didn't then went on to do amazing for that **** and enjoy scoring against us all the time the wee fat toad.

Danny Swanson too, thought he was going to be class, I know he had personal issues etc but was given time and never looked same again. He didn't do as well at St Johnstone when he went back either though usually its the other way around.

We seem to have an injury curse too, Alex Harris looked amazing in that cup game scored that screamer, had another couple of games where he was running right at players then after the injury he looked scared to run at players, same with that bif Farid El Agui, he looked like he was settling in nice then got that nasty injury, not their fault ofcourse but was still a pain in the arse because he looked like he was fitting in well with that squad and was still 27/28 so we would have got few years out of him.

Grant Brebner too, did amazing on loan with us then wasn't the same when signed permanently if I recall.

ZitellZeTime
07-05-2022, 11:55 AM
He came to ER

He shat it

He disappeared.

Wonder how long that imposters beard is now, I remember I used to work in Waverley and the metro used to lie about, he was in it saying he's not shaving his beard until he goes on a run of goals or something.

Any player we sign from St Johnstone who has done really well for them, even against the old firm, aberdeen, hearts etc for some reason never seem to do the same when they join us.

In his case though I think he just had one decent season at St J, his career didn't do much even at lower levels after us. Thank **** we never paid for him.

The Green Sea
07-05-2022, 12:00 PM
Mark McGraw

Him and Alan O’Brien. MM was a steak of p##h who was pushed off the ball by a gust of wind.

ZitellZeTime
07-05-2022, 12:07 PM
I was quite excited about that Jamie Insall, think it was Stubbsy who signed him, said he was a rough diamond had scored almost 2 goals a game on average for low league teams in england or wales and remember he got a lot of interviews after signing etc, Stubbs said that he was going to play him in the developement team then unleash him in the first team squad.

Thought he was going to be another unknown like Ivan Sproule, and having just googled him his record before us and all the stuff Stubbs said and the media etc I really was excited. Looking at his past before us just now he could have been our version of Jamie Vardy but sure there was some scandal and he didn't even come on as a sub once. Dod alright for East Fife after us and has done ok for some welsh team when i just checked the last few years but nothing great. Atleast he didn't cost us a lot though.

I was excited about Brian "unseen work" Kerr too lol, sure he scored against them ***** in one of his first few games for us too which made me even more excited !

07-05-2022, 12:16 PM
Tin hat on. Omeonga second time around.

07-05-2022, 12:46 PM
Shaun Dennis didn’t quite get going unfortunately always thought he was decent

07-05-2022, 12:56 PM
Paul Cairney
Paul Hartley
Liam Craig

I expected nothing from Paul Cairney, and wasn’t surprised to be right.

Dr What If?
07-05-2022, 01:05 PM

Beat me to it with this one. While playing for Chelsea's kids he was being touted as the saviour of Scottish football.....a world class superstar in the making. Then the next I heard about him was that he was telling the press he didn't want to pay for Scotland (this is before he had played a 1st team game for anyone) and instead had a list of African nations he was picking from....then nothing.

I couldn't have told you what he had been up to for the couple of years before he came to Hibs but I remembered the name and I remembered the hype - I thought we had hit the jackpot. Don't think he is even in the game any more, stunning to think how a player with that level of hype failed to make it at all.

There is a weird similarity to him and Dembele at Celtic. Similar background, similar hype, even the same storyline about him not wanting to play for Scotland, instead choosing England youths and talking about potential African countries he would rather play for. The hype has died away now and the breakthrough to first team player hasn't happened.....I think he is still at Celtic, no idea if will find another level or become the next Islam Feruz.

07-05-2022, 01:11 PM
More recently, Jamie Murphy for us.

An effective player for Rangers, you’d have thought he’d have thrived here where he could have been one of the first names on the team sheet.

I don’t understand why he wasn’t a lot better.

07-05-2022, 01:20 PM

Best pointer the club ever had.

leith lynx
07-05-2022, 01:31 PM
Best pointer the club ever had.

Even better than Ross Chisolm?

07-05-2022, 01:34 PM
Stevie crawford

JamesHFC
07-05-2022, 01:40 PM
Ryan Gauld one of the most recent ones. Really hoped he would make an instant impact and get signed up on a permanent. Didn’t really get going though but has been excellent in Portugal since.

07-05-2022, 01:46 PM
Graeme Miller - thought he did really well to force himself into the team…….

Chorley Hibee
07-05-2022, 02:04 PM
Him and Alan O’Brien. MM was a steak of p##h who was pushed off the ball by a gust of wind.

Actually played really well before picking up a bad injury (just before 1991 League Cup final) and was never the same afterwards.

07-05-2022, 03:05 PM
There seems to be a trend of players coming here and looking awful then going elsewhere and looking very good. James Collins, Clayton Donaldson, Ryan Gauld, etc

07-05-2022, 04:03 PM
Ryan Gauld one of the most recent ones. Really hoped he would make an instant impact and get signed up on a permanent. Didn’t really get going though but has been excellent in Portugal since.

hasn't he signed for a Canadian team playing in the MLS?

JamesHFC
07-05-2022, 04:05 PM
hasn't he signed for a Canadian team playing in the MLS?

Yeah you are right, haven’t followed his progress over there but he was excellent at Farense.

07-05-2022, 04:06 PM

Thought he was just coming on to form when he got injured. Hardly got any minutes after that ..

07-05-2022, 04:10 PM
Stephen Glass. Thought we’d won a watch when he signed. Scotland international, played in the premier league with 2 clubs, but his injuries before and after signing with us, and the dross around him meant he never really hit the heights with us. Cracking left foot though

07-05-2022, 04:31 PM
There seems to be a trend of players coming here and looking awful then going elsewhere and looking very good. James Collins, Clayton Donaldson, Ryan Gauld, etc

Matt Doherty

07-05-2022, 04:41 PM
current playing team!

leith lynx
07-05-2022, 04:42 PM

Victor Pallsonn

07-05-2022, 04:44 PM
current playing team!

Fair point

07-05-2022, 04:48 PM
Stephen Glass. Thought we’d won a watch when he signed. Scotland international, played in the premier league with 2 clubs, but his injuries before and after signing with us, and the dross around him meant he never really hit the heights with us. Cracking left foot though

Did he not play with the likes of Brown, Thomson Boozy, Murphy Whittaker, Riordan and O'connor? Hardly dross

07-05-2022, 05:05 PM
Emerson Hyndman I thought was going to be a really good signing, looked decent for the Huns.

07-05-2022, 05:08 PM
Matt Doherty

I actually thought he looked a player at Hibs. ***** attitude but good player.

07-05-2022, 05:08 PM
Stevie crawford

I quite liked stevie crawford when he was with us

leith lynx
07-05-2022, 05:38 PM

He was good when not injured.

07-05-2022, 05:39 PM
Stevie crawford

Crawford was good for Hibs?!

07-05-2022, 07:02 PM
Crawford was good for Hibs?!

Showed glimpses. Like many others he showed how good he was after leaving us!

Thought him and Barry Lavety would score a ton for us but it didn't work out at hibs for either player.

08-05-2022, 06:19 AM
Did he not play with the likes of Brown, Thomson Boozy, Murphy Whittaker, Riordan and O'connor? Hardly dross

You could be right tbf, I was thinking he came in under Bobby Williamson

08-05-2022, 06:20 AM
He was good when not injured.

oh I don’t mean he was awful, just compared to what it seemed when he signed, where he’d played before, he didn’t quite reach the heights I thought he would

08-05-2022, 06:38 AM
I actually thought he looked a player at Hibs. ***** attitude but good player.

Looked as though he might be decent but you are correct it was his attitude in that final but still did not imagine he would reach the heights of Tottenham Hotspur in the EPL

Nice work if you can get it :greengrin

08-05-2022, 05:02 PM

Forgot all about him! Where is he now?

G15 Hibs
08-05-2022, 05:05 PM

Pretty sure I read that he'd given up football a few years back after a series of fruitless loans. Don't think the game was really for him.

08-05-2022, 05:08 PM
Pretty sure I read that he'd given up football a few years back after a series of fruitless loans. Don't think the game was really for him.

Celtic really rated him at one point too. Who knows what would've happened to him had he stayed there?

My biggest disappointment was Jamie McLaren's second stint at Hibs.

08-05-2022, 05:54 PM
Celtic really rated him at one point too. Who knows what would've happened to him had he stayed there?

My biggest disappointment was Jamie McLaren's second stint at Hibs.
Back injury I believe ?

Bushwoof
09-05-2022, 02:37 PM
Definitely Johansson, Yantorno and Gauld, and also Hyndman to an extent. I thought they'd all be excellent. Johansson especially had the biggest gap between expectation (world-beater) and reality (total guff).

Of those not mentioned already, Glenn Middleton who was surprisingly slow and poor and the lad Birgirimana (or something like that) who I thought looked like the complete midfielder but hardly got on the pitch for us (if he ever actually did).

Houchen does deserve a mention, I remember in what may have been his last game him running about like a headless chicken, booting the ball about 100ft vertically in the air, and falling over and landing on the ball with his head. I'm sure he got booked for going mental at the hibs fans for laughing at that. CA't have been that bad though given he had his own 'houchey houchey houchey houchey tralalalalala' song.

Niagara Lad
09-05-2022, 03:52 PM
Joe Ward.
Martin Henderson.

09-05-2022, 07:28 PM

Driving about in his Porsche.

09-05-2022, 08:54 PM
Looked as though he might be decent but you are correct it was his attitude in that final but still did not imagine he would reach the heights of Tottenham Hotspur in the EPL

Nice work if you can get it :greengrin

He was really good at Wolves, annoyingly.

Earned a massive move to Spurs but I’m not sure that’s worked out for him.

cameronw-hfc
10-05-2022, 01:24 AM

Same here. He was a decent player thrown in at the deep end as captain and unfortunately part of a terrible team. Done well under Stubbs though for his time in the champ with us. Always felt he was a decent player folk expected to be class and ended up a scapegoat because of that.

Paulie Walnuts
10-05-2022, 06:22 AM
You could be right tbf, I was thinking he came in under Bobby Williamson

He did.

Came in summer of 03, Bobbys last season and the one where Livi beat us in the cup final.

10-05-2022, 06:33 AM
He was really good at Wolves, annoyingly.

Earned a massive move to Spurs but I’m not sure that’s worked out for him.
In fairness my response was to the question Hibs players that have bettered themselves since leaving HIBS ie Vaz Te but I agree he was excellent at Wolves to earn his big money move and looked as though he might be even better at us

Haven’t noticed him at Spurs for quite some time not sure if he is injured or out of favour

10-05-2022, 06:50 AM
Willie Irvine, the second one. £50K from Stirling Albion. Total dud.

10-05-2022, 08:50 PM
Everyone who played tonight

10-05-2022, 10:38 PM
Same here. He was a decent player thrown in at the deep end as captain and unfortunately part of a terrible team. Done well under Stubbs though for his time in the champ with us. Always felt he was a decent player folk expected to be class and ended up a scapegoat because of that.

Yep - he got a far harder time than a number of worse midfielders since. I quite liked him and felt for him during his time here.

What we’d give for that Liam Craig in our midfield recently.

10-05-2022, 11:19 PM
Yep - he got a far harder time than a number of worse midfielders since. I quite liked him and felt for him during his time here.

What we’d give for that Liam Craig in our midfield recently.

Liam Craig looked fine when he was part of the supporting cast for a talent like Scott Allan.

He didn’t look so good when we had about 20 other defensive midfielders and he was expected to be the creative talent like Allan.