View Full Version : Ron to "Jet in to Edina" this week
Hibiza
01-05-2022, 03:41 PM
Presumably to rubber stamp the new managers appointment , fair enough . Forgive me but leaves an empty feeling in me . Soz , rant over. P.s Ron , take home a wee bag of goodies from the food kiosk for the flight home : pie and Bovril: $12. Better eat before embarking as Customs probably deem inedible.
01-05-2022, 03:58 PM
Been a while since I drank on a Sunday.
john18722
01-05-2022, 03:59 PM
Eh?
01-05-2022, 03:59 PM
Presumably to rubber stamp the new managers appointment , fair enough . Forgive me but leaves an empty feeling in me . Soz , rant over. P.s Ron , take home a wee bag of goodies from the food kiosk for the flight home : pie and Bovril: $12. Better eat before embarking as Customs probably deem inedible.
I can’t get excited about RG. I think he is clueless. We are his toy. Ditch us soon Ron and let us find our place in Scottish football.
01-05-2022, 04:04 PM
Are you on a bender?
Lendo
01-05-2022, 04:14 PM
Good thread, would read again.
Mrimbetween
01-05-2022, 04:15 PM
Hope Ron takes time to outlay his plans sorty give us a rough idea to whats coming
Needs the fans to invest in his take
Right manager decent summer transfer signings like a wee lift
Something like that :hug:
01-05-2022, 04:26 PM
The rant made more sense than the last part.
chippy
01-05-2022, 04:31 PM
I think he’ll sell us soon, wouldn’t surprise me one bit. Bitten off more than he can chew
01-05-2022, 04:32 PM
I think he’ll sell us soon, wouldn’t surprise me one bit. Bitten off more than he can chew
Are you referring to the pie?
01-05-2022, 04:44 PM
If there's any positivity at Hibs at the moment then it's the improvement in food on offer. Seems an unnecessary dig at the pies in my eyes.
Hibiza
01-05-2022, 04:44 PM
The rant made more sense than the last part.
Nice one 😂 , seriously thou , I doubt Sir Tom would have sold to an " absent landord" . Inexperienced family members making personal choices . ( Chris Mueller ). No drink yet , trying to avoid looking at the league table.
01-05-2022, 04:46 PM
I think he’ll sell us soon,wouldn’t surprise me one bit. Bitten off more than he can chew
Ron kept the faith ,renewed contracts,brought in players.more capital spending.Increased revenues
All during the worst of the pandemic. No,Ron isn't for "walking away"
Keep the Faith GGTTH
Sioux
01-05-2022, 04:56 PM
The level of IQ in this place recedes by the day.
01-05-2022, 04:58 PM
I can’t get excited about RG. I think he is clueless. We are his toy. Ditch us soon Ron and let us find our place in Scottish football.
What a depressing thought.
01-05-2022, 04:58 PM
Threads like these are reason I stay on hibs.net class.
01-05-2022, 05:15 PM
Need someone to want to buy us for him to sell.
01-05-2022, 05:34 PM
That’s nice of him.
He’s not any good for Hibs. He talks a good game but he’s not delivered and the fact he still thinks January was a good window, shows we won’t be getting any quality in anytime soon.
He’s the owner so we’re stuck with him, but it’s not good.
hibee1875
01-05-2022, 05:36 PM
Need someone to want to buy us for him to sell.
Hopefully one of us wins the euromillions then 🤞
john rossi
01-05-2022, 05:38 PM
Lost confidence in owner of ours selll upRon and let someone with decent investment take the club forward as you are toying with our club which is on a downward spiral.
Victor
01-05-2022, 05:49 PM
Lost confidence in owner of ours selll upRon and let someone with decent investment take the club forward as you are toying with our club which is on a downward spiral.
Maybe we’ll get a Russian investor.
01-05-2022, 05:59 PM
I think his continuing ownership is far more depressing. Waken up!!!
HendoDelivered
01-05-2022, 06:12 PM
This!
01-05-2022, 06:12 PM
That’s nice of him.
He’s not any good for Hibs. He talks a good game but he’s not delivered and the fact he still thinks January was a good window, shows we won’t be getting any quality in anytime soon.
Two cup finals, four semi finals and third place finish. You should have tried supporting Hibs in the 1980’s, then you would really know the meaning of no quality anytime soon.
01-05-2022, 06:30 PM
I think his continuing ownership is far more depressing. Waken up!!!
You are funny
01-05-2022, 06:30 PM
Not so depressing as him taking us lower next season, which, unless he has a flash of inspiration, is likely to happen.
01-05-2022, 06:35 PM
You are funny
……. Not as funny as you guys, who think we are in good hands, which we aren’t.
01-05-2022, 06:38 PM
Shambles! https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220501/f81efcff67dd2560251310fda0257bbd.jpg
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
CB Hibs 68
01-05-2022, 06:49 PM
Two cup finals, four semi finals and third place finish. You should have tried supporting Hibs in the 1980’s, then you would really know the meaning of no quality anytime soon.Yup but the eighties will soon feel like the good old days when next season kicks off .I hope I am wrong but this is a seriously bad time for Hibs .Don’t trust Ron one little bit.Not to mention his son and his complete unwillingness to acknowledge that our recruitment set up is now woeful
01-05-2022, 06:59 PM
:faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf:
01-05-2022, 07:00 PM
I am changing my name to Ron Gordon, and so is my wife 🤣
01-05-2022, 07:05 PM
I hope the the two of you live happily ever after.:greengrin
01-05-2022, 07:12 PM
I hope the the two of you live happily ever after.:greengrin
She used to be called Rod Petrie...
Victor
01-05-2022, 07:15 PM
So why do you think he has bought Hibs? To asset strip? As a laugh? To look good at the Golf Club? Seriously could some part of you not realise that maybe he wants more for Hibs and is as disappointed with the current position as everyone else?
Hibiza
01-05-2022, 07:18 PM
If there's any positivity at Hibs at the moment then it's the improvement in food on offer. Seems an unnecessary dig at the pies in my eyes.
Apologies to the catering crew .
TelaStella
01-05-2022, 07:22 PM
Two cup finals, four semi finals and third place finish. You should have tried supporting Hibs in the 1980’s, then you would really know the meaning of no quality anytime soon.
Two cup finals were a right treat last year weren’t they? Which semi did you enjoy the most? Tough one to call between the hearts ones in fairness, maybe the 3-0 to St Johnstone?
Aye but the 80’s, aye but Butcher.
Give me strength man.
01-05-2022, 07:40 PM
So why do you think he has bought Hibs? To asset strip? As a laugh? To look good at the Golf Club? Seriously could some part of you not realise that maybe he wants more for Hibs and is as disappointed with the current position as everyone else[/B]?
I’m not disputing his desire to do well for us. I’m disputing his ability to do something positive about it.
She used to be called Rod Petrie...
But she’s kept the tash :greengrin
01-05-2022, 07:54 PM
But she’s kept the tash :greengrin
Only the lower one...
01-05-2022, 07:59 PM
So would I, admins should stick It to the top of the forum just incase folk are unfortunate to miss this
Sorry, what's your point caller?
01-05-2022, 08:05 PM
Calm doon Jim.
01-05-2022, 08:06 PM
Hope he is here to give Kensell his jotters as well
Another charlatan
So would I, admins should stick It to the top of the forum just incase folk are unfortunate to miss this
😂👌😂👍
01-05-2022, 08:30 PM
Calm doon Jim.
I’m fine thanks. 👍 More than I can say for our present shambles.
01-05-2022, 08:38 PM
That’s nice of him.
He delivered big screens though.
01-05-2022, 08:55 PM
Hope he is here to give Kensell his jotters as well
Another charlatan
He is The Only One I Know?
01-05-2022, 09:13 PM
Some absolute pish being spouted on this thread 🙈. Sums up exactly why I don’t read Hibs.net half as much as I used to
01-05-2022, 09:14 PM
Take Kensell big screens and Mueller as well lol
01-05-2022, 09:17 PM
Some absolute pish being spouted on this thread 🙈. Sums up exactly why I don’t read Hibs.net half as much as I used to
Couldn't agree more
This 👍
01-05-2022, 09:45 PM
Two cup finals were a right treat last year weren’t they? Which semi did you enjoy the most? Tough one to call between the hearts ones in fairness, maybe the 3-0 to St Johnstone?
Give me strength man.
Have a word man!
Fair to say there is cause for concern. IMO Ron is on a learning curve - as is his son who (again IMO) is in place as his eyes and ears on the ground as much as anything.
There have been some questionable decisions - time to engage/advise in so much as we can rather than throw toys out the pram.
Gordon's most important job is appointing an effective manager and supporting him. It ain't easy - always a gamble. We previously had a regime under Farmer/Petrie that tried to be steady Eddie- resulting ina mixed bag of triumph and disaster. Gordon has been a lot less patient so far. On the one hand this could be seen as ambition - it could also be seen as naive. He needs to get the balance right and realise just how ****ing hard it actually is to run a successful football club in Scotland. He has just had his first **** season where the wine and Roses is replaced by flack and criticism. Gie him a chance and lets seeing that ambition has any real substance.
01-05-2022, 09:55 PM
Two cup finals, four semi finals and third place finish. You should have tried supporting Hibs in the 1980’s, then you would really know the meaning of no quality anytime soon.How many times in our history have we reached a semi and a final in the same season ? 2015 / 2016 was obviously better cupwise but was an exception and even appointing a great manager and making some good signings we`re unlikely to better this season`s cup record . Obviously we want to do better in the league in terms of points ( we weren`t far off challenging for 4th this season despite injuries and an improved team and new manager may struggle to better 4th ) .
01-05-2022, 09:59 PM
TelaStella
01-05-2022, 10:19 PM
Have a word man!
Fair to say there is cause for concern. IMO Ron is on a learning curve - as is his son who (again IMO) is in place as his eyes and ears on the ground as much as anything.
There have been some questionable decisions - time to engage/advise in so much as we can rather than throw toys out the pram.
Gordon's most important job is appointing an effective manager and supporting him. It ain't easy - always a gamble. We previously had a regime under Farmer/Petrie that tried to be steady Eddie- resulting ina mixed bag of triumph and disaster. Gordon has been a lot less patient so far. On the one hand this could be seen as ambition - it could also be seen as naive. He needs to get the balance right and realise just how ****ing hard it actually is to run a successful football club in Scotland. He has just had his first **** season where the wine and Roses is replaced by flack and criticism. Gie him a chance and lets seeing that ambition has any real substance.
My point was solely in relation to the comparisons of this season/era and by gone days of similar struggles. Incase you missed it, I was trying to assert that regardless of the past, we are in a mess right now and said past has next to nothing to do with it. Accepting “it could be worse” isn’t an option, we’re pish and we just need to fix it. Otherwise I completely agree with what you’re saying, just don’t think my post was the right one for you to respond to.
01-05-2022, 10:41 PM
Where you getting that exchange rate bud?
SON OF PADDY
01-05-2022, 11:11 PM
These youngsters, know nothing of the pish poor times!
Sunday session watching the cougars and a 2am hangover but reading this thread cheered me up.
Outstanding.
02-05-2022, 12:12 PM
Dont you think we should see what happens this summer before concluding? Perhaps we can allow them a rookie error. RP and STF had us relegated and they were not rookies at the time.
leith lynx
02-05-2022, 01:15 PM
Sunday session watching the cougars and a 2am hangover but reading this thread cheered me up.
Outstanding.
Cougars? 🤔
I'm Spartacus
02-05-2022, 01:23 PM
How will that work with bank accounts, mail, appointments, voting....... seems like a pain in the hoop to be honest.
02-05-2022, 02:38 PM
Why have you got pies in your eyes? Surely better putting them in your mouth. 😀
02-05-2022, 02:40 PM
I'm usually pie-eyed when I watch Hibs to be fair.
02-05-2022, 03:00 PM
I'm usually pie-eyed when I watch Hibs to be fair.
Certainly helps!
02-05-2022, 05:12 PM
Give me strength man.
Which part of being close to achieving his objectives are you referring to?
The post I responded to said Gordon had come nowhere near close to doing so. That isn’t really accurate is it?
As for semi finals, the ones we won v Hun and Dundee Utd, were decent enough and we didn’t play toobadly against Celtic in that final? Or have you forgotten about those games?
Is Ron Gordon really responsible for Jack Ross failing to beat St Johnstone in a semi and a final though? Player for player we were much stronger than them. Just maybe Jack Ross takes a bit more of that particular blame than the owner?
This season has been poor and the club have taken a few steps backwards. However, I’ll keep the faith for a while longer and persevere with my view that Gordon has invested plenty in Hibs and will do so again this summer. In the meantime, spare me histrionics.
02-05-2022, 05:15 PM
The post I responded to said Gordon had come nowhere near close to doing so. That isn’t really accurate is it?
As for semi finals, the ones we won v Hun and Dundee Utd, were decent enough and we didn’t play toobadly against Celtic in that final? Or have you forgotten about those games?
Is Ron Gordon really responsible for Jack Ross failing to beat St Johnstone in a semi and a final though? Player for player we were much stronger than them. Just maybe Jack Ross takes a bit more of that particular blame than the owner?
This season has been poor and the club have taken a few steps backwards. However, I’ll keep the faith for a while longer and persevere with my view that Gordon has invested plenty in Hibs and will do so again this summer. In the meantime, spare me histrionics.
Give me some examples of where he’s invested his own money, apart from buying Hibs
I’d like to know also where he’s been since last summer. We’re not Ron and Ian’s plaything
Sooner he goes the better in my opinion
02-05-2022, 05:19 PM
Paid off the mortgage after he bought the club.
02-05-2022, 05:24 PM
Give me some examples of where he’s invested his own money, apart from buying Hibs
I’d like to know also where he’s been since last summer. We’re not Ron and Ian’s plaything
Sooner he goes the better in my opinion
Aye apart from buying Hibs and the subsequent well publicised cash injection, various significant transfer fees, wasteful extended contracts, he’s obviously not spent a penny.
As for where he’s been? Who knows, we have a CEO and a board of Directors to run the club and personally, I don’t really care where our owner is, although I believe he is ordinarily resident in the USA and flies to Scotland fairly regularly.
Cougars? 🤔
Just the rugby league not the kind you was thinking of. 😁
Wakeyhibee
02-05-2022, 06:13 PM
Aye apart from buying Hibs and the subsequent well publicised cash injection, various significant transfer fees, wasteful extended contracts, he’s obviously not spent a penny.
As for where he’s been? Who knows, we have a CEO and a board of Directors to run the club and personally, I don’t really care where our owner is, although I believe he is ordinarily resident in the USA and flies to Scotland fairly regularly.
Agree, don't doubt his commitment (financial or otherwise) or general business acumen, but where he's fallen down is appointing the right "footballing" people in their respective positions.
leith lynx
02-05-2022, 06:51 PM
Just the rugby league not the kind you was thinking of. 😁
Could have been worse, like tractors!
jakeshibs
02-05-2022, 08:53 PM
who would buy us?
Fan ownership, we would be out of business in a very quick time
GreenPJ
02-05-2022, 10:08 PM
Paid off the mortgage after he bought the club.
I thought it was Farmer that paid off mortgage and debt was due to him? That is the debt Gordon bought when he bought the club?
TelaStella
03-05-2022, 08:20 AM
Let’s talk about achieving objectives then.
Just in March one such aim of his was for us to emulate Atletco Madrid in their “doggedness” and high level European performances. Not recalling much of a dogged Hibs side these last few years unless you are? As for Europe? Going back further we are now approaching half way into what was dubbed his “5 year plan”. Just one of such ambitions included an upgraded playing squad with a greater market value and most importantly, smaller. Smaller though it has become and to what benefit or greater market value has that brought us? We challenged in a national cup semi a few weeks ago with two goalkeepers on our bench.
I’m glad you enjoyed a semi final in front of nobody that ultimately led to one of the most disappointing cup final displays we’ve ever seen. Rangers game I’ll remember alright but the downside there was we got to another final and lost. You might take comfort in us trying hard, I just want to win. I know who picks the team and can’t fault Gordon directly for how they should perform on the pitch excluding the fact he was the man overseeing the hire of both dreaded managers, which for me is actually quite a big point. The culture of success, strive and Hibernian must and will filter down through the whole club and not just start with the manager. I’ve heard plenty of good words these last few years but seen absolutely very little of that yet. What Gordon has is time and if he can start using that more resourcefully and well we might be having very different conversations this time next year, for both our club’s sake I hope that to be true.