View Full Version : Paul Hanlon
30-04-2022, 10:15 PM
Simply woeful, never a captain. Continually pushed off the ball by opposition strikers.
Just go m8, cheers for 2016 but needs to be removed from this side ASAP.
JamesHFC
30-04-2022, 10:18 PM
I respect him so I don’t want to speak badly of him. I think we need to start looking into someone who’s going to replace him though. He’s basically the only left footed centre back we’ve had in years.
01-05-2022, 07:47 AM
He's been out muscled and out fought since he came back. Not a good image for a captain to be honest. Need a change for next season.
NC1875
01-05-2022, 07:51 AM
A good few will be on shortly to tell you we’re lucky to have him.
An integral part of our soft spine for years
01-05-2022, 08:08 AM
The big boy up front for them yesterday just threw him about. He was terrible. Again.
01-05-2022, 08:14 AM
His time is up. Good servant but its time to replace him with someone stronger and more physical. He's a weak link now.
the_ginger_hibee
01-05-2022, 08:17 AM
He really can't handle the physicality - absolutely bossed onto the deck today and similarly rag-dolled at Tynecastle for their 1st goal.
Not even close to being good enough.
01-05-2022, 08:20 AM
It’ll be interesting to see if teams target him with big oafs of strikers, seems like he’s lost strength.
hibIBZ
01-05-2022, 08:20 AM
I think he is much better on the left of a three and not the middle. When he has a ball winner in the middle of the three Hanlon can do the stuff that he is really good at. His position is good and he has good anticipation leading to interceptions, he also takes the ball out of defence well.
He can often be bullied by a big centre forward, but on the left of a three he has the help to stop that happening,
01-05-2022, 08:23 AM
I think he is much better on the left of a three and not the middle. When he has a ball winner in the middle of the three Hanlon can do the stuff that he is really good at. His position is good and he has good anticipation leading to interceptions, he also takes the ball out of defence well.
He can often be bullied by a big centre forward, but on the left of a three he has the help to stop that happening,
Agree with this. A few derbies back when they had Ikpeazu(?) up front Hanlon and McGregor doubled up on him and kept him quiet…until he scored the equaliser anyway 😂
01-05-2022, 08:25 AM
Another thread. Well done. Everyone getting suckered into this now. Some even blamed him for the goal. As some more sensible posters have pointed out we see the best of him at LCB with Porto in the middle. Yes he can get out muscled but so does almost every centre half in Scotland. Including Porto. We are bottom 6 due to the fact we don’t score enough goals not due to Hanlon being captain.
01-05-2022, 08:27 AM
And for the record I would look to replace him next season. I’m just not a fan of the childish over reaction to every mistake whilst other squad members do the same every week and are ignored.
Of course there are better players out there but he wouldn't be at the top of my list when it comes to making squad changes.
LunasBoots
01-05-2022, 08:34 AM
Don't think we need to get rid, he's more than capable, all defenders make mistakes, let's not forget he's not long back from injury aswell and that still may be a factor.
01-05-2022, 08:40 AM
Another thread. Well done. Everyone getting suckered into this now. Some even blamed him for the goal. As some more sensible posters have pointed out we see the best of him at LCB with Porto in the middle. Yes he can get out muscled but so does almost every centre half in Scotland. Including Porto. We are bottom 6 due to the fact we don’t score enough goals not due to Hanlon being captain.
It’s always someone else’s fault with us.
Never anything to do with the goalie who rarely makes a save of note. Not down to the defence. The midfield are all good players but just need Magennis. Nisbet just needed Doidge and so on.
Nobody in that team is ever responsible for how pish we are.
01-05-2022, 08:45 AM
His time is up, systemic with our ‘soft centre’ for over a decade now. Bullied at Tynie recently and again yesterday. I can’t think of any other CH’s in the SPL that so regularly gets a rough time from so many different centre forwards.
He should start going down the leagues if he wants to get game time next season.
Good servant, which is rarely heard of these days but Captain of our club? Pfft, don’t make me laugh. Imagine playing in a side where your captain, your leader, the source for inspiration gets continually rag-dolled. It must be so disheartening and undoubtedly why we are soft centred.
I agree that he’s much better on the left of a 3 rather than in the middle. And I’d normally be the second person on here to defend him, after you.
Hanlon’s had a funny few weeks - generally playing well but being caught out at key points during the game, whether it’s being outmuscled or just careless.
If we were scoring freely at the other end, we wouldn’t be focussing on the odd moment that is costing us a goal, but we’re setting up quite defensively and these are the moments that are currently costing us points and games.
Replacing Hanlon wouldn’t be where I’d be starting any rebuild but I would be turning down the signing of a really good left sided centre back just because we’ve already got him.
He’s actually got quite a lot to play for this season because it feels like more people are starting to ask questions of him.
Never anything to do with the goalie who rarely makes a save of note. Not down to the defence. The midfield are all good players but just need Magennis. Nisbet just needed Doidge and so on.
But we have to put our big boy pants on and accept we aren’t going to replace the whole team. We should have built on 3rd and we haven’t. Changes and recruitment have been very poor. None of the players signed will play LCB. Rocky won’t replace Hanlon either. So we need to sort out recruitment and start building properly. Rather than a whole new team.
01-05-2022, 08:48 AM
Simply woeful, never a captain. Continually pushed off the ball by opposition strikers.
Careful! Some on here wont like it that he's criticised!
01-05-2022, 08:49 AM
We have to sign a replacement but keep Hanlon as back up. Any defensive lapse is going to cost us just now because we have absolutely nothing up front.
01-05-2022, 08:51 AM
Definitely should’ve had a replacement sorted for him and in the squad by now. Recruitment has been awful for ages now.
01-05-2022, 08:51 AM
I think you’ve made a decent point here.
A new manager is going to have to make some tough decisions - instead of seeing the good in players or trying to accommodate too many players who have strengths but also flaws, he’s going to have to make some “not good enough” calls on players whose flaws are currently leading to us being a weak unit.
When you start to name names, you get pretty much our whole squad.
I think that’s what leads some to suggest the necessity for a clear out.
The new manager is going to have to make a ruthless and early call on who and what he can work with and what he can’t.
01-05-2022, 08:57 AM
His time is up, systemic with our ‘soft centre’ for over a decade now. Bullied at Tynie recently and again yesterday. I can’t think of any other CH’s in the SPL that so regularly gets a rough time from so many different centre forwards.
He should start going down the leagues if he wants to get game time next season.
Good servant, which is rarely heard of these days but Captain of our club? Pfft, don’t make me laugh. Imagine playing in a side where your captain, your leader, the source for inspiration gets continually rag-dolled. It must be so disheartening and undoubtedly why we are soft centred.
Start going down the leagues. 😂😂
Mcbizz1998
01-05-2022, 09:03 AM
He has been involved in some of the most horrendous hibs teams and results in living memory. Not his fault but I feel like he should be moved in if we truly want a fresh start.
01-05-2022, 09:10 AM
If this love in for our players keeps up, we would be cheaper trying to buy another club???
Everyone seems to think that a bad season is total wipe-out for the club?
We've been here before, and we've risen above this!
Biggest problem is our fans don't have patience!!!
01-05-2022, 09:11 AM
But we have to put our big boy pants on and accept we aren’t going to replace the whole team. We should have built on 3rd and we haven’t. Changes and recruitment have been very poor. None of the players signed will play LCB. Rocky won’t replace Hanlon either. So we need to sort out recruitment and start building properly. Rather than a whole new team.
Obviously we can’t replace a whole team, especially when we have been stupid enough to give a number of them extended, long term deals.
We need to replace the spine of the team though, Hanlon included. I suspect we’ll be having the same conversation about his performances in a year though.
01-05-2022, 09:14 AM
Obviously we can’t replace a whole team, especially when we have been stupid enough to give a number of them extended, long term deals.
We need to replace the spine of the team though, Hanlon included. I suspect we’ll be having the same conversation about his performances in a year though.
I suspect we will simply because there are other areas that need more investment.
mcfly
01-05-2022, 09:22 AM
Don't think we need to get rid, he's more than capable, all defenders make mistakes, let's not forget he's not long back from injury aswell and that still may be a factor.
Cmon, if we want to improve we must get better players.
Great servant yes but makes far too many mistakes.
No time for loyalty now. Needs to move on
01-05-2022, 09:27 AM
Hanlon is starting to show the frailties he had when he first came into the team. He was regularly brushed off the ball in his early days, and he needed to toughen up.
Now he's slowly going back to those early days, and i dont think he's going to get stronger now.
01-05-2022, 09:29 AM
He’s back up now.
Bit like Berra at Hearts - we have to be careful with sentiment.
I would keep him at club but from a playing perspective we should be exploring options definitely.
I actually think Porto plays better without him alongside him.
NC1875
01-05-2022, 10:40 AM
And for the record I would look to replace him next season. I’m just not a fan of the childish over reaction to every mistake whilst other squad members do the same every week and are ignored.
Most people agree other team members need replaced. It’s the constant nonsense of people continually telling us Hanlon doesn’t need replaced.
It’s clear to everyone he’s just not very good but let’s blame everyone else.
01-05-2022, 10:43 AM
Our problem is scoring goals, not defending. Has been all season. I fear for us if we lose Doig and Porteous in the summer. Not to say Hanlon should automatically be in the starting XI. No player has that right.
01-05-2022, 10:49 AM
Our problem is scoring goals, not defending. Has been all season. I fear for us if we lose Doig and Porteous in the summer. Not to say Hanlon should automatically be in the starting XI. No player has that right.
This is my biggest concern right now tbh - the players we most need to hang onto are the ones we’re most likely to lose.
Leaving us with the filler and the keech.
01-05-2022, 10:54 AM
Yip. Yesterdays stats said it all once again, 19 shots and none on target.
01-05-2022, 10:58 AM
I don’t buy that defending isn’t an issue for us.
We set up so defensively that we’re very rarely exposed. There are hardly any attacking players in the team. Two or three at most, the rest are defenders or defensive midfielders. When we’re actually asked to defend, we’re not very good at it. Livingston were hardly up the park yesterday but manage to score a goal right in the heart of our box. Hearts at Tynecastle, two goals in the box. Dundee Utd the week before that, won two headers right in the middle of the box to score.
JimboHibs
01-05-2022, 12:05 PM
We have to sign a replacement but keep Hanlon as back up. Any defensive lapse is going to cost us just now because we have absolutely nothing up front.
Its always the same at Hibs,we can't just get rid of a player they have to be kept as back up.I don't want players as back up who have been on the decline for number of seasons,its part of the problem with us,must be devastating for development squad when a player on the decline gets kept as back up.Worse is we hand players contract extensions when they are clearly in decline,it isn't supposed to be like that.
01-05-2022, 12:18 PM
We had the 3rd best defensive record last season and the 4th this season. I'm not worried about the guys who were central to that.
CJHibby
02-05-2022, 10:24 AM
Was slammed for saying he was a bit lightweight in the past. No massive shame when occasionally being outmuscled by a big built player but I'd argue more of the past when outdone by lesser built players time and again.
02-05-2022, 01:39 PM
If we get a good manager in, i guarantee there'll be threads singing his praises and calling for scotland call ups.
02-05-2022, 01:53 PM
If we get a good manager in, i guarantee there'll be threads singing his praises and calling for scotland call ups.
Yep. When he's at his best Paul Hanlon is one of the very best CB's in this league outwith the two arsecheeks.
02-05-2022, 03:15 PM
That's a shocker
Most people agree other team members need replaced. It’s the constant nonsense of people continually telling us Hanlon doesn’t need replaced.
It’s clear to everyone he’s just not very good but let’s blame everyone else.
Its obviously not clear to everyone including our 3 managers this season and the Scotland Manager.
02-05-2022, 04:20 PM
Yep. When he's at his best Paul Hanlon is one of the very best CB's in this league outwith the two arsecheeks.
That is irrelevant really if he simply isn't performing. Most Hibs players who are in and around the first team would be among the best players in the league outwith the old firm if they played consistently at their very best.
02-05-2022, 04:25 PM
I don’t buy that defending isn’t an issue for us.
We set up so defensively that we’re very rarely exposed. There are hardly any attacking players in the team. Two or three at most, the rest are defenders or defensive midfielders. When we’re actually asked to defend, we’re not very good at it. Livingston were hardly up the park yesterday but manage to score a goal right in the heart of our box. Hearts at Tynecastle, two goals in the box. Dundee Utd the week before that, won two headers right in the middle of the box to score.
If we score and go one or two goals up, opposition heads go down, we play better, we win comfortably. Opposite happens when we dominate til 30 yards out then are toothless. We can’t draw all our games 0-0 or win 1-0.
shetlandhibee
02-05-2022, 04:34 PM
Absolutely :top marks:top markshad a Scotland cap a year ago ,, now in some folks opinions hes all our problems??Midfield and up Front needs the major surgery,, ridiculous comments on here about him:confused: IMO
NC1875
02-05-2022, 04:55 PM
Its obviously not clear to everyone including our 3 managers this season and the Scotland Manager.
Pretty sure Craig Halketts got a Scotland cap. Is he one of the best Ch’s in Scotland as well ?
02-05-2022, 05:08 PM
His best isn't anywhere near often enough now. I think that's what people are getting at.
02-05-2022, 05:24 PM
Pretty sure Craig Halketts got a Scotland cap. Is he one of the best Ch’s in Scotland as well ?
Just now Halkett’s probably up there aye, he’s had a really good season
Zambernardi1875
02-05-2022, 06:36 PM
Gary Kenneth too sign him up
02-05-2022, 06:41 PM
The fact Craig Halkett is genuinely accepted as being better than Hanlon at this time just proves the point of how badly Hanlon has performed.
Halkett is average at best, the fact he's done better than Hanlon says it all.
02-05-2022, 06:43 PM
The fact Craig Halkett is genuinely accepted as being better than Hanlon at this time just proves the point of how badly Hanlon has performed.
Halkett is average at best, the fact he's done better than Hanlon says it all.
If you mean in terms of Scotland call up, Hanlon was injured. Porteous wasn’t so is Halkett better than him too?
02-05-2022, 06:59 PM
If you mean in terms of Scotland call up, Hanlon was injured. Porteous wasn’t so is Halkett better than him too?
Porteous is better than Halkett. On this season Halkett is better than Hanlon. That's the point, unless you genuinely think Hanlon has been better than Halkett this season? And Halkett is average at best.
02-05-2022, 07:03 PM
Porteous is better than Halkett. On this season Halkett is better than Hanlon. That's the point, unless you genuinely think Hanlon has been better than Halkett this season? And Halkett is average at best.
Genuinely accepted by who? Hanlon has been poor since coming back from injury but I’d prefer Hanlon in my team than Halkett
02-05-2022, 07:06 PM
Genuinely accepted by who? Hanlon has been poor since coming back from injury but I’d prefer Hanlon in my team than Halkett
If you think Hanlon has been better than Halkett this season then fair enough. There's no arguing if you have that opinion of watching them both this season.
02-05-2022, 07:10 PM
If you think Hanlon has been better than Halkett this season then fair enough. There's no arguing if you have that opinion of watching them both this season.
I don’t watch them both but I know a few hearts fans who say he’s rank. As I said Hanlon has been poor since his injury but I thought he was decent prior to that. I think having a keeper like Gordon behind you can make defenders look better than they actually are!
loanheadhibby
03-05-2022, 04:50 AM
You have to be joking he's far too soft.
Been at Easter Road too long.
tonyrougier123
03-05-2022, 05:24 AM
Hanlon and doidgey after a good pre season under a good manager with some decent players brought to the club, still have plenty to offer hibs.
Especially doidge who had a nightmare first bad injury,take time to really kick on again.
We have to be positive about what is actually worth keeping at hibs or might run a few out who we know can do the business in better times.
Need to keep a small nucleus of the squad together and build around it again.
[QUOTE=NC1875;6945121]Pretty sure Craig Halketts got a Scotland cap. Is he one of the best Ch’s in Scotland as well?
Please don't put words in my mouth. You said, 'it's obvious to everyone he's not very good'. I pointed out it's obviously not "everyone" because 3 Hibs managers this season and the Scotland Manager had selected Paul. I made no reference to Paul being one of the best CH's in Scotland.