View Full Version : THREE points against the mighty Livingston this season???
Scotty Leither
30-04-2022, 05:28 PM
If that damning statistic alone doesn't concentrate the minds of our owner, the CEO, and the 12-strong board of Directors, then I fear nothing will.
Livingston had a better shape to them, a centre forward that buffetted our defence all afternoon, a centre half that pushed our 19-year old laddie into areas he wanted him to play, and later on brought on a better sub in the shape of Forrest than we could muster off our own bench.
What a pathetic state of affairs, and just fed the whole sense of indifference that I felt watching that team today.
No more bluster Gordon, no more "experimental managerial appointments", and BUY some decent players in the right positions eh?
Statistics are true. This isn't true. We beat them 2-0 at ER.
Chorley Hibee
Don't disagree with the overall post, but we've taken three points off Livingston this season.
Scotty Leither
30-04-2022, 05:31 PM
My bad - one win against them. Woo-hoo.
Still, we're out the play-offs, that should set the champagne corks popping tonight.
Billy McKirdy
30-04-2022, 06:10 PM
Everytime I see Livingston I really see Meadowbank Thistle, that diddy team from the seventies that struggled to get over 200 at home games, that diddy team has beaten us in a national cup final in recent years and this season have had the beating of us..
30-04-2022, 06:15 PM
My bad - one win against them. Woo-hoo.
Still, we're out the play-offs, that should set the champagne corks popping tonight.We cant even call them a bogey team then?
Seriously never felt more disconnected from my club....
Scotty Leither
30-04-2022, 06:15 PM
Everytime I see Livingston I really see Meadowbank Thistle, that diddy team from the seventies that struggled to get over 200 at home games, that diddy team has beaten us in a national cup final in recent years and this season have had the beating of us..
They beat us in a Cup Final while in administration, but that's maybe a different argument for a different day. I agree about the "diddy team" tag though, and it looked like there was only about 200 of them at the game today.
They've had better players and performances than us this season in the head-to-head matches, and that's nothing short of pathetic.
SCHAEDYSHORTS
30-04-2022, 06:17 PM
Exactly! 😡
30-04-2022, 08:06 PM
It’s pathetic.
Ross county - Motherwell, Dundee Utd and now Livingston ahead of us in the league.
Hearts are 20…yes 20 points ahead of us.
Absolutely shocking standards.
Club needs a clearout and restart.
While we haven’t been relegated it feels like it’s been a total failure.
The Wireless
30-04-2022, 10:42 PM
Remember that wee guy Omeonga? Was he not good enough for us?
The Wireless
30-04-2022, 10:49 PM
It’s pathetic.
Ross county - Motherwell, Dundee Utd and now Livingston ahead of us in the league.
The bottom line is Hibs have gone from being miles ahead of Hearts to a 2nd rate enjoy your short lived moment nearby noisy neighbour, and that is unacceptable.
30-04-2022, 10:56 PM
Remember that wee guy Omeonga? Was he not good enough for us?
At the time it was arguable whether he was good enough, but Covid made the decision for us and we dropped our loans. He does seem a better player now though and he loves the Hibs.
30-04-2022, 11:03 PM
It’s pathetic.
Agree 100%. It feels like 2014 but without the relegation.
Which makes it also feel like 2012 and 2013, and we know how that ended up.
We have to shake the whole thing up so that we've forgotten about this season by Christmas.
01-05-2022, 01:48 PM
At the time it was arguable whether he was good enough, but Covid made the decision for us and we dropped our loans. He does seem a better player now though and he loves the Hibs.
JDH should be an improvement on Omeonga. If he is not showing that he is then its more obvious that our mix of players is just not right, but we cant be sure that injuries to Magennis, Doidge and Nisbet affect that.
01-05-2022, 03:02 PM
Yup, this season has hardly been the statement of intent anybody was looking for with the one and only highlight being giving the sticky buns a doing at Hampden. There can't be many of us not left with the distinct impression that if this was any more than a 38 game season we would be looking forward to a visit to Gayfield in the next few weeks and sweaty night terrors induced by memories of Hamilton Accies.
The big concern isn't just our current lack of an attacking threat, it's the unknown factor when it comes to the players who's return to action we are in large part relying on to improve us next season.
Nisbet .... He was having a pish season before he got injured, will he come back firing on all cylinders or resume his tepid first half of this season?
Doidge ... Looked half the player he had been capable of being on return from injury, will he regain his mojo or fizzle out into nothing?
Magennis ... Of all the players we have missing he is the one I think could most improve us, for that short spell he was fit he looked every bit the player Hibs had hoped he was going to be .... if this guy could get fully fit and become a regular what a difference he might make to us, but as things stand his injury record makes it all ifs and no certainty.
Then we have the loan guys none of whom, with the notable exceptions of Clarke and Henderson ( I know he will be our player at the end of the season ) have impressed me enough to lose any sleep if they were to bugger off back to where they came from, especially James Scott.
Then there's Mueller ..... I'm prepared to give him a bit of a pass in that he's getting used to Scottish football and he had already played a full season before he arrived, but when a forward player can't make the first team in front of the aforementioned Scott he simply has to know a massive improvement is required.
I know our defence gets a lot of stick, but the truth is they don't lose that many goals, could it be strengthened? for sure it could and the loss of Porteous would be a disaster .... but this season has been very much a failure of middle to front and that is where we simply have to be looking to recruit some real proven quality.
01-05-2022, 03:16 PM
Fixed the thread title to reflect the actual total.
Scotty Leither
01-05-2022, 03:24 PM
Fixed the thread title to reflect the actual total.
LewysGot2
01-05-2022, 04:27 PM
There can't be much in the way of money being spent there either. Attendances are poor, they had less fans than us there yesterday. Stadium is really starting to look tired and not in the best state of repair.
My daughter said the ladies loo had 5 cubicles, 3 had the doors hanging off or not working and had red tape across them. In the 2 cubicles that had functioning doors, there were no loo seats on the actual toilets.
The bits that look like they're used for corporate stuff look tired and in need of an upgrade. Am I right in thinking when they moved out to the wild west from Meadowbank the local council had an input to it all being set up? If so, are they still involved?
Scotty Leither
02-05-2022, 08:59 AM
There can't be much in the way of money being spent there either. Attendances are poor, they had less fans than us there yesterday. Stadium is really starting to look tired and not in the best state of repair.
My daughter said the ladies loo had 5 cubicles, 3 had the doors hanging off or not working and had red tape across them. In the 2 cubicles that had functioning doors, there were no loo seats on the actual toilets.
The bits that look like they're used for corporate stuff look tired and in need of an upgrade. Am I right in thinking when they moved out to the wild west from Meadowbank the local council had an input to it all being set up? If so, are they still involved?
I'm sure they just lease the ground off West Lothian council on matchdays, although I could be wrong (as I was with how many points I thought we'd won against them this season).
I thought the ground looked a bit careworn as well to be honest; didn't stop them beating us as easy as they did though...depressing afternoon all in
02-05-2022, 09:25 AM
When we went a goal behind, I would be surprised if anyone thought that we would turn it around.
02-05-2022, 09:37 AM
The lengths people are going to have a go at Hibs, Ron, Ian, Ben, the players and the managers is getting insane now, yes we are **** and have had a mess of a season, keeping pointing this out and beating them up isnt constructive or helpful, unless you genuinely think that the owners and those that work at Hibs are stupid enough to not be able to realise this season's hasn't been anywhere near good enough.
02-05-2022, 09:47 AM
The lengths people are going to have a go at Hibs, Ron, Ian, Ben, the players and the managers is getting insane now, yes we are **** and have had a mess of a season, keeping pointing this out and beating them up isnt constructive or helpful, unless you genuinely think that the owners and those that work at Hibs are stupid enough to not be able to realise this season's hasn't been anywhere near good enough.
I think fans are very justified to be angry. We've gone from 3rd, which is now a bigger prize than ever, to somewhere in the bottom 6 because those guys made an total and utter mess of this season. To compound this, Hearts have come from the championship to take 3rd and potentially the scottish cup. The money advantage they already had is significantly bigger now. They could trounce us next season if we don't get our act together, which right now I do not trust this board to achieve.
02-05-2022, 09:51 AM
As far as I can recall, this is the first posting the suggests than the fan base might believe that those in charge are stupid. That's quite a statement.