View Full Version : Who to keep?

AugustaHibs
30-04-2022, 04:06 PM
Of course we can’t get rid of 15 players (unfortunately) but from the current squad who would you keep hypothetically?

For me it would be porteous, Doig, Clarke and Melkersen.

30-04-2022, 04:07 PM
Another thread on this ?

30-04-2022, 04:07 PM
Didn’t we do this last week? And the week before?

30-04-2022, 04:11 PM
Of course we can’t get rid of 15 players (unfortunately) but from the current squad who would you keep hypothetically?

Porto will be away in the summer, Harry Clarke may not come back, so that leaves you with 2, out of which Doig may well be transferred as well, so you are left with the young Norwegian Melkersen who may end up good, but you are left wi ONE player.

JimboHibs
30-04-2022, 04:11 PM
Didn’t we do this last week? And the week before?

Last year and year before and year before etc.

hhibs
30-04-2022, 04:12 PM

Wait ,do not forget we just handed a new contract to Joe Newell for Gods sake A man that truly could not hit a barn door!

30-04-2022, 04:19 PM
Last year and year before and year before etc.

Yup, the on loans will be away
the ones with 2 or 3 years left & don’t want to go will still be here
the ones with less than 1 year will be away

30-04-2022, 04:21 PM
Wait ,do not forget we just handed a new contract to Joe Newell for Gods sake A man that truly could not hit a barn door!

Yip we did just give a contract to our best midfielder, joe newell is not the problem

30-04-2022, 04:25 PM
Yip we did just give a contract to our best midfielder, joe newell is not the problem

He, sure as hell aint the answer.

AugustaHibs
30-04-2022, 04:25 PM

Calling him our best midfielder is hardly a compliment.

I think I’d rather keltys midfield.

He’s lucky he’s just slightly less pish than the other diddys

Chorley Hibee
30-04-2022, 04:26 PM

He's bang average at best, yet another week passes by with another thoroughly nondescript performance from him.

He may not be the problem, but he's a bloody part of it.

30-04-2022, 04:28 PM
He's bang average at best, yet another week passes by with another thoroughly nondescript performance from him.

He may not be the problem, but he's a bloody part of it.

He is certainly not bang average

30-04-2022, 04:29 PM

Aye, not as good as that

He, sure as hell aint the answer.

There are a number of players needing moved on before JN

This is the most unlikable Hibs team in a long, long time. Wouldn't be upset if any of them left to be honest.

Aye, not as good as that

Aye ok

loanheadhibby
30-04-2022, 04:31 PM

I totally agree with you. He’s worse than bang average.

30-04-2022, 04:32 PM
I genuianly wouldn’t lose sleep if every one of them left now.

Maybe keep Harry Clarke if he’s a permanent signing don’t like loans.

Maybe Mitchell if he can keep fit

The rest , not bovvvvered

Chorley Hibee
30-04-2022, 04:34 PM
This is the most unlikable Hibs team in a long, long time. Wouldn't be upset if any of them left to be honest.

Agreed, have almost no affinity with any of them.

The whole club just screams mediocrity and boredom right now.

hhibs
30-04-2022, 04:39 PM

Seems the consensus is......he is.

30-04-2022, 04:40 PM

The fact that Joe Newell is our best midfielder is very much the problem imo.

30-04-2022, 04:43 PM
It is not a case of who do we keep, it is a case of who do we bring in, we bring in a good solid goalie, a good solid centre half and a good proven goal scorer, we then build a team around this solid spine.
We have the centre half but as I have said before he will be away in the summer. it will take the new manager a wee while and they will need investment, this shower I have no faith in at all. Don't even get the vibe that they are a Hibs team.

30-04-2022, 04:44 PM
Just please don't play Scott for another second.

30-04-2022, 04:46 PM
Seems the consensus is......he is.

By a few on here who probably dont even go to games, ok ill go with their opinion rather than basing my opinion on what i see each week

NC1875
30-04-2022, 04:47 PM
By a few on here who probably dont even go to games, ok ill go with their opinion rather than basing my opinion on what i see each week

A centre midfielder who’s bossed a handful of games in his time here.
Bang average in a terrible team.

30-04-2022, 04:53 PM
Started a thread after the first derby defeat about the players. Not changed my mind since. They’ve got two managers sacked and are just as big a problem as anything else.

Understand we can’t get rid of them all but anyone out of contract or at the end of a loan shouldn’t be kept.

If the next manager is to have any chance, the team needs to look very different at the start of next year. I’m concerned it won’t.

Chorley Hibee
30-04-2022, 04:56 PM

I go home and away, every week, and I'll stick with my opinion that's he's bang average at best.

Doesn't shoot, doesn't score, rarely offers support in an offensive sense, but does stroke 5 yard passes around in his own half a lot to boost his stats.

In short, he contributes very little.

30-04-2022, 04:56 PM
Get the loans back as well. They are part of the problem. Even Jasper. Whoever the new manager is has some summer coming up.

30-04-2022, 04:58 PM

That’s a pretty desperate defence. People think he’s gash, so they don’t go to games :top marks .

Newell is mince. Had enough of him. No leadership, no drive and no end product, ever

sauzee=legend
30-04-2022, 05:09 PM
I would keep: Clarke, Porto, Cadden, Doig, Melkersen, Henderson.
The rest can go in my eyes.
To much dead wood.

30-04-2022, 05:11 PM
Joe Newell played as a winger before Hibs.

He started at Hibs as a winger - but with no pace.

He’s ended up centre midfield but you can tell this isn’t his position or what we need from a central midfielder.

The midfield don’t tackle / assist / shoot or ever control a game.

Massive problem of the team.

I’m also not bothered if majority of players leave - feel no connection to many of them and they just aren’t very good.

30-04-2022, 05:16 PM
Think we have a defence (Doig, Hanlon, Porteous, Clarke) good enough for the short term and allow us to focus on midfield and forwards, same with Macey/Dabrowsk, both could be upgraded but less of a priority than elsewhere.

Either work out a way to help Melkerson or let him work his way into the first team as back up. Everyone else, I’d not lose any sleep over them moving on. Some I’d be happy as backup others best just to move them on.

30-04-2022, 05:17 PM
That’s a pretty desperate defence. People think he’s gash, so they don’t go to games :top marks .

Newell is mince. Had enough of him. No leadership, no drive and no end product, ever

If Newell is looked upon as one of our better performers, it’s no wonder we are in such a mess.

Does anyone trust the recruitment team with more windows? Braver man than me if you do. Wasted a fair bit on money on mediocrity and the same again in next window could see us assembling a team destined for the championship.

30-04-2022, 05:22 PM
Starting to feel the same way about Hibs now that I felt in the last few years of Mogadon Millers years at the club.
They need to get the sparkle and fight back.

AugustaHibs
30-04-2022, 05:25 PM
Think we have a defence (Doig, Hanlon, Porteous, Clarke) good enough for the short term and allow us to focus on midfield and forwards, same with Macey/Dabrowsk, both could be upgraded but less of a priority than elsewhere.

Either work out a way to help Melkerson or let him work his way into the first team as back up. Everyone else, I’d not lose any sleep over them moving on. Some I’d be happy as backup others best just to move them on.

Hanlon isn’t good enough imo. Brutal.

Benny Brazil
30-04-2022, 05:31 PM
All of the squad today are average and wont be fussed when they leave - we have accepted too many mediocre signings over the last 18 months

30-04-2022, 05:33 PM

Yip im sure most who post on here dont go to games, so ill stick with my own opinions thanks

Chorley Hibee
30-04-2022, 05:34 PM

We can't start next season with him a first choice, yet again, and expect to improve.

I could cope with him as back up, but we need better.

Chorley Hibee
30-04-2022, 05:35 PM
All of the squad today are average and wont be fussed when they leave - we have accepted too many mediocre signings over the last 18 months

We'll not be seeing the back of Newell, Campbell and Doyle Hayes for a good while given the new contracts issued to them.

Scotty Leither
30-04-2022, 05:39 PM
We'll not be seeing the back of Newell, Campbell and Doyle Hayes for a good while given the new contracts issued to them.

Yup. Gives the owner's proclamation about "doubling the wage budget" the faint whiff of BS, to be honest. They'll be on average money as befits average players, hence the new deals they were given.

30-04-2022, 05:58 PM
This current squad, rightly or wrongly, has seen two managers sacked this season. They need to take a whole lot of responsibility for that.

Was a thread kicking about the other week asking roughly the same question and I think I named about 11 players. Now I honestly think there's a handful I'd keep. And even then it's only cause they're young and have promise;

Porto
Doig
Cadden
Magennis (only if he can regain fitness)
Nisbet

Other than that I honestly couldn't care less if everyone else left. Worrying thing is we don't even come close to having the money to facilitate that kind of clear out.

30-04-2022, 06:02 PM
Agreed, have almost no affinity with any of them.

The whole club just screams mediocrity and boredom right now.

Very much so.

Logie Green
30-04-2022, 06:06 PM
If Newell is looked upon as one of our better performers, it’s no wonder we are in such a mess.

Does anyone trust the recruitment team with more windows? Braver man than me if you do. Wasted a fair bit on money on mediocrity and the same again in next window could see us assembling a team destined for the championship.

Spot on. I think the danger is that some people won’t renew season tickets until they see who’s coming in (both Manager and players) but the club won’t splash cash as the revenue from reduced ST numbers will be down.

If that results in next season’s squad being no better than the current one we’ll finish in the bottom six as it’s only the points gained in the first half of this season which have thankfully kept us out of real danger.

For me there’s shades of the Romanov era at play if the owner and his son have influence over signings. I think we’re in for a very bumpy ride as they don’t seem to understand it’s the here and now which matters, not signing young players for future sell on fees.

Time will tell but I don’t have a good feeling about the way the club is currently being run.

Tully
30-04-2022, 06:07 PM
Roll on the 15th May, so I don't have to suffer more of these imposters for a couple of months, need a new spine right through the team because for sure we ain't got one just now

30-04-2022, 06:08 PM

Time to move him on in my opinion. What is he doing right now that makes people think he's worth keeping? Thanks for your great service Paul but we can't live off sentiment. We need a change.

Tommy75
30-04-2022, 06:22 PM
This current squad, rightly or wrongly, has seen two managers sacked this season. They need to take a whole lot of responsibility for that.

Was a thread kicking about the other week asking roughly the same question and I think I named about 11 players. Now I honestly think there's a handful I'd keep. And even then it's only cause they're young and have promise;

Porto
Doig
Cadden
Magennis (only if he can regain fitness)
Nisbet

Other than that I honestly couldn't care less if everyone else left. Worrying thing is we don't even come close to having the money to facilitate that kind of clear out.

Agree with the 5 players mentioned. Although I wouldn't be too fussed if Magennis and/or Nisbet moved on.

Would be delighted if we could move on the bulk of our senior players (Newell, Hanlon, McGinn, Macey, Doidge, Allan and Wright - would probaly include Stevenson) then offload Campbell and JDH. I wouldn't be putting in any effort to renew any loans (other than Clarke who, from my understanding automatically renews?) and checking whether we can get out of our commitment to keep Henderson after this season. Time for a proper rebuild of the squad and no better time to start than when the fans have complete apathy for the current squad.

Unfortunately, back in the real world we're likely to be stuck with the majority of the dross who have played this season - with one or 2 cheap/loan additions thrown in. It will be frustrating turning up for the first game of next season seeing a central midfield of JDH and Newell as I fear will be the case.

30-04-2022, 06:34 PM
Yip im sure most who post on here dont go to games, so ill stick with my own opinions thanks

Well I do and think he’s gash

sunshinejim
30-04-2022, 07:33 PM
I'd definitely keep Cadden, Clarke, Henderson, Doig, Macey and Dabrowski, Hanlon, Porto, Newell, Doidge, Nisbet, Magennis, Melkerson, Mitchell, Stevenson as back up.

Of the rest - Mueller, JDH, Hauge, Jasper, Campbell, Scott etc are going to have to bust a gut to convince the new manager that they deserve to stay at the club.

I'm beginning to think McInnes would have been the ideal manager to come in and sort this lot out. Needs a strong manager that can clear out the players who (a) aren't pulling their weight (b) aren't good enough for this level.

Can't come quick enough.

LewysGot2
30-04-2022, 07:49 PM
After today?

Lewis.
Henderson
Clarke
Cadden
Magennis if he ever resurfaces
Doig
Porteous

Beyond that, right now, I can't be bothered.

We were mugged off by a gang today. A gang of has beens and never weres. The Real Slim Shady, The Gorgie Ranger, Shinniesta, Jamesie Forrests wee brother, a forward whose career highlight to date was last season on loan to Arbroath...

That's where we are. Can't wait for the season to end although I'll masochistically take in the next 3 games 🙄

Scotty Leither
30-04-2022, 07:52 PM

Wholeheartedly agree, but there's not a lot we can do though, is there?

If by common consent our recruitment since Gordon took over has been crap, who does the buck stop with there, his son?

Will he sack him in the same short order he's sacked the last two managers? I think we all know the answer to that one.

30-04-2022, 08:01 PM
Well I do and think he’s gash

If thats what you think then thats up to you, you clearly know better than our coaching team past and present who have played him numerous times since he signed

30-04-2022, 08:01 PM
After today?

Lewis.
Henderson
Clarke
Cadden
Magennis if he ever resurfaces
Doig
Porteous

Beyond that, right now, I can't be bothered.

We were mugged off by a gang today. A gang of has beens and never weres. The Real Slim Shady, The Gorgie Ranger, Shinniesta, Jamesie Forrests wee brother, a forward whose career highlight to date was last season on loan to Arbroath...

That's where we are. Can't wait for the season to end although I'll masochistically take in the next 3 games 🙄

Id certainly not be looking to move on your user name anytime soon. He is far better than the vast majority of this current squad. Id be playing him in place of newell or doyle hayes currently

JamesHFC
30-04-2022, 08:04 PM
I’m worried that the people currently charge think that the current squad is good enough and just needs a decent manager to get the best out of them. If that’s their mindset and we don’t see many changes in the summer I’ll be concerned. Minimum of 8 signings required.

30-04-2022, 08:07 PM
I’m worried that the people currently charge think that the current squad is good enough and just needs a decent manager to get the best out of them. If that’s their mindset and we don’t see many changes in the summer I’ll be concerned. Minimum of 8 signings required.

That is definitely the case. The proof is the contracts we have dished out this season to players that none of the fans think deserve to be here

30-04-2022, 09:48 PM

I'd be amazed if anyone thought the squad was good enough.

We have very few nailed down starters, first picks.

We've got a squad full of "has something", "there's a player in there" and "good player on his day".

The less said about our attacking options, the better.

When you put that all together you have a squad that is substandard and every team picked will struggle.

I do think though that the right manager, making tough decisions about who to keep and who to punt, with a clear tactical approach and some decent signings could improve our fortunes quickly.

And again, injuries - the spine of that team looks a bit different if Porto, Magennis, Nisbet and (a fit) Doidge play today.

So imo it's not good enough but it's probably not a million miles away from being good enough.

01-05-2022, 09:57 AM
If thats what you think then thats up to you, you clearly know better than our coaching team past and present who have played him numerous times since he signed

The same coaching teams that brought in and play James Scott?

01-05-2022, 10:58 AM
The same coaching teams that brought in and play James Scott?

JR didnt play him for long periods, add in the fact we actually dont have anyone else then dont think they have any option

01-05-2022, 11:12 AM
Cadden, Porteous, Doig, Clarke, Stevenson (as a midfielder only).

The rest can go with Scott, Wright and Hanlon top of the list.

01-05-2022, 11:15 AM

No he's nowhere near that good..turns in 1 good performance in about 10 matches, imposter

01-05-2022, 11:27 AM
No he's nowhere near that good..turns in 1 good performance in about 10 matches, imposter

Imposter 😂😂😂😂😂

01-05-2022, 11:29 AM
Porteous
Magennis
Nisbet

There's your spine. Build the team around them.

01-05-2022, 03:46 PM
Porteous
Magennis
Nisbet

Porto could easily be away this summer.

Relying on Magennis for centre midfield would be a massive gamble and we should be learning lessons from previous seasons.

Nisbet will be like Doidge and take time to get back to fitness.

We need a new spine and reliable players who will play each week.

Would 100% get a new keeper also.

01-05-2022, 03:58 PM
Porteous
Magennis
Nisbet

We can’t be building anything around Magennis. I think the new manager almost needs to plan and build as if Magennis isn’t here. If he ever gets on the park it’s a bonus.

01-05-2022, 04:24 PM
The sad truth for me is that there is not a single player I would be sorry to see leave. I think we have players with potential to be very good but the culture within the club really needs to take a leap forward and the new guy needs to work out quickly who is capable of better.

For most of our players, it seems that Hibs will be the pinnacle of their career. We actually need players who will out grow us like John McGinn or Leigh Griffiths or guys who will give us a swansong in their career like Franck Sauzee. At the minute it would seem none of this squad has the potential to outgrow us.

We have a lot of honest journeymen. A mid table team, who are capable of the odd surprise result.

at last 61
03-05-2022, 09:46 AM
I think we are a squad that is short of 4 or 5 players ie a keeper, a c/h, a creative midfielder and 2 strikers, add a few more for cover and we could have a decent chance of success

10-05-2022, 10:39 PM
When you look at the players still under contact I think we need to move a couple on and bring in a lot more quality, especially in midfield and attack.

This is without the inevitable of probably Porteous and Doig leaving too.

We need genuine quality and quick.

Under contract - 24

Macey
Dabrowski
Mitchell

Clarke
Cadden
Delferriere
Porteous
Hanlon
McGregor
Doig
Stevenson

JDH
Newell
Campbell
Tait
Magennis
Henderson
Hauge
Mitchell
Mackay
Bradley (option to recall)

Nisbet
Doidge
Melkersen

Out of contract

McGinn (Option to extend)
Allan
Wright
Scott
Rocky (option to make permanent)
Jasper (option to make permanent)

BegbieHSC
10-05-2022, 10:45 PM
Dabrowski
Cadden
Porteous
Hanlon
Doig
Stevenson
Magennis
Melkersen

The rest can move on.

JamesHFC
10-05-2022, 10:47 PM
Dabrowski
Cadden
Porteous
Hanlon
Doig
Stevenson
Magennis
Melkersen

The rest can move on.

Not against Doig staying but if we get a decent offer I would be cashing in.

AugustaHibs
10-05-2022, 10:47 PM
Dabrowski
Cadden
Porteous
Hanlon
Doig
Stevenson
Magennis
Melkersen

The rest can move on.

I’d take hanlon and Stevenson out.

Wonderful servants but by god do we need a clean slate.

Both are past their best.

Stevenson starting central midfield shows how bad it is.

10-05-2022, 10:48 PM
Dabrowski
Cadden
Porteous
Hanlon
Doig
Stevenson
Magennis
Melkersen

The rest can move on.

Not too sure I’d be that arsed if Dabrowski was moved on

If we can get good cash for Doig I’d sell

This has to be magennis’ last season to prove his fitness. Another long term injury and we need to get rid

Chorley Hibee
10-05-2022, 11:05 PM
Not too sure I’d be that arsed if Dabrowski was moved on

If we can get good cash for Doig I’d sell

This has to be magennis’ last season to prove his fitness. Another long term injury and we need to get rid

Who would buy him if he's always injured?

Paulie Walnuts
11-05-2022, 05:26 AM
When you look at the players still under contact I think we need to move a couple on and bring in a lot more quality, especially in midfield and attack.

This is without the inevitable of probably Porteous and Doig leaving too.

We need genuine quality and quick.

Under contract - 24

Macey
Dabrowski
Mitchell

Clarke
Cadden
Delferriere
Porteous
Hanlon
McGregor
Doig
Stevenson

JDH
Newell
Campbell
Tait
Magennis
Henderson
Hauge
Mitchell
Mackay
Bradley (option to recall)

Nisbet
Doidge
Melkersen

Out of contract

McGinn (Option to extend)
Allan
Wright
Scott
Rocky (option to make permanent)
Jasper (option to make permanent)

That contracted midfield is absolutely horrible.

McGruber
11-05-2022, 06:30 AM
Porteous
Magennis
Nisbet

That's three quarters of a spine - it also needs a goalkeeper. It has a centre half prone to suspension and likely leaving, a midfielder who can't manage 3 or 4 games in a row and played a handful in 2 seasons and a striker who went from out of form to seriously injured.

Out or 4 positions for the spine of the team, we need to bring in 4 quality players.

Marshall has signed apparently, still has to prove what level he is at but hopefully we have a good start to solving the problem down the middle of the team

mcohibs
11-05-2022, 06:35 AM
I’d take hanlon and Stevenson out.

Wonderful servants but by god do we need a clean slate.

Both are past their best.

Stevenson starting central midfield shows how bad it is.

This is one of the better seasons that Stevenson has had with Hibs, hardly past his best. His performance in midfield in the semi recently was the best I've seen him play in years.

11-05-2022, 06:45 AM
They can all get tae. Stevenson, Cadden and Hanlon are the only ones I’d be sad to see leave. The rest? Cheerio.

11-05-2022, 06:46 AM
I posted this on the Jasper thread two days ago, the text in blue.

I ask myself "how many of our current squad would I be disappointed if they weren't here next season" and there's not many. I know that's a different question from "who to keep", but ask yourself who would you be disappointed if they weren't here next season.

Re Jasper, file under Melkerson and (if I was posting two weeks ago) Mueller. I'm sick and tired of flashes of promise, but with limited (over a number of games) return. Yes, they may turn out to be exceptional players, but we need more reliable and better players now.

Now, if we could get rid of the players who have peaked and now on a decline, those who have never peaked and those who are more injured than playing and replaced them with good solid reliable pros then I would be more than happy to keep Jasper and Melkerson, but we can't rely on these players so early into their careers.

So, to answer my own question, there's not one of our current squad that I would be disappointed if they weren't at ER next season. The only ones would possibly be Cadden and Clarke, albeit with both are the shining because they are surrounded my mediocrity, at best. I really like Porto, but I feel it's in his best interest to leave Scotland and progress his career down south or abroad.

What a sad state of affairs!

11-05-2022, 06:52 AM
Dabrowski
Cadden
Porteous
Hanlon
Doig
Stevenson
Magennis
Melkersen

The rest can move on.

Add Niz and Clarke to that. Porto will be leaving in summer.

11-05-2022, 06:55 AM
Add Niz and Clarke to that. Porto will be leaving in summer.

Interest in Doig too as far as I know so expect him gone as well.

11-05-2022, 07:03 AM
Dabrowski
Hanlon
Cadden
Stevenson
McGinn
Doidge
Doig
Porteous

After that, don’t think I’d care past that point.

scuttle
11-05-2022, 07:11 AM
I posted this on the Jasper thread two days ago, the text in blue.

I ask myself "how many of our current squad would I be disappointed if they weren't here next season" and there's not many. I know that's a different question from "who to keep", but ask yourself who would you be disappointed if they weren't here next season.

Re Jasper, file under Melkerson and (if I was posting two weeks ago) Mueller. I'm sick and tired of flashes of promise, but with limited (over a number of games) return. Yes, they may turn out to be exceptional players, but we need more reliable and better players now.

Now, if we could get rid of the players who have peaked and now on a decline, those who have never peaked and those who are more injured than playing and replaced them with good solid reliable pros then I would be more than happy to keep Jasper and Melkerson, but we can't rely on these players so early into their careers.

So, to answer my own question, there's not one of our current squad that I would be disappointed if they weren't at ER next season. The only ones would possibly be Cadden and Clarke, albeit with both are the shining because they are surrounded my mediocrity, at best. I really like Porto, but I feel it's in his best interest to leave Scotland and progress his career down south or abroad.

What a sad state of affairs!

Your last paragraph sums it up perfectly for me

11-05-2022, 07:22 AM
Porteous
Magennis
Nisbet

Porteous has just missed around a quarter of this season through suspension, unless his disciplinary record improves then it will be difficult to build a team around him. I think he is also likely to leave over the summer.

Magennis has serious fitness issues and cannot be someone to build a team around unless these issues somehow clear up.

Nisbet will miss almost the entire first half of next season and wasn't exactly great prior to his injury.

Whilst we know they are individually good players, for various reasons I'm really not sure they can be trusted as our spine for next season.

11-05-2022, 07:26 AM
There’s so much needing done, but for me the midfield is at the root of all our problems. Two crab midfielders in JDH & Newell that are scared of the half way line and Campbell who at least runs but the best that can be said about him is he’s better without the ball than with it. Henderson isn’t a central midfielder and too lightweight and raw to be a first pick in there IMO.

Sadly it’s going to take a lot of money and a number of windows to move on JDH, Newell & Campbell and that’s going to hamstrung our midfield rebuild. None of which will make us any money but hopefully we can find someone to take over any, or all, of their contracts.

We need at least two midfielders, we badly lack energy, drive and athleticism and who get into the box and run ahead of the ball. We could then probably make do with either JDH or Newell in the short-medium term.

11-05-2022, 08:49 AM
Bushiri - Awful footballer. Get rid.
Jasper - Lightweight show pony. Last night was woeful. Get Rid.
Henderson - Gutted we're commited to signing him. Not good enough for Dunfermline or Ross County. Loan him away from Hibs please.
Scott - Had his chance. Get rid.
Clarke - Wouldn't be upset if he was recalled in all honesty.
Macey - Days are numbered now Marshall is in.
Campbell - Not at the required standard.
Hanlon - Past it.

That's eight away for me right now and that's being kind. If by some miracle a team wanted to buy the likes of JDH then even better. The new manager has a huge job on his hands.

11-05-2022, 08:57 AM
Porteous
Doig
Clarke
Magennis
Cadden
Melkerson
Nisbet

Wouldn't shed a tear if any of the others left.

11-05-2022, 08:58 AM
None of them

11-05-2022, 09:01 AM
Cadden
Nisbet only for selling on
Clarke

The rest not interested

The club is rotting / rotten to the core

No smoke without fire

These players aren’t good enough

11-05-2022, 09:02 AM
Bushiri - Awful footballer. Get rid.
Jasper - Lightweight show pony. Last night was woeful. Get Rid.
Henderson - Gutted we're commited to signing him. Not good enough for Dunfermline or Ross County. Loan him away from Hibs please.
Scott - Had his chance. Get rid.
Clarke - Wouldn't be upset if he was recalled in all honesty.
Macey - Days are numbered now Marshall is in.
Campbell - Not at the required standard.
Hanlon - Past it.

That's eight away for me right now and that's being kind. If by some miracle a team wanted to buy the likes of JDH then even better. The new manager has a huge job on his hands.

Agree with all

I’d Chuck in

JDH and Newell
Paul McGinn and dare I say it josh Doig isn’t pushed on if anything he’s went the other way

We look a tired and sluggish team all over

Fresh faces with fresh ideas

11-05-2022, 09:06 AM
Porteous
Magennis
Nisbet

Yup, not really got anything to add to this.

We absolutely need to replace around 10 players or so.

3 or 4 tweaks just isn't going to cut it this year.

Paulie Walnuts
11-05-2022, 09:07 AM
Cadden
Nisbet only for selling on
Clarke

The rest not interested

The club is rotting / rotten to the core

No smoke without fire

These players aren’t good enough

I’d throw Porteous and Doig in there purely for the same reason as Nisbet, Not cause they’re any good and Stevenson because he’s still dependable and consistent.

I would say I now actively want every other one of the players out of our club. Obviously that won’t happen but id rather never see any of the others in a Hibs strip again.

****ing imposters.

Mcbizz1998
11-05-2022, 09:09 AM
Struggling to think of anyone really. But probably Porteous, Magennis and Melkersen.

11-05-2022, 09:10 AM
They can all get tae. Stevenson, Cadden and Hanlon are the only ones I’d be sad to see leave. The rest? Cheerio.

Same, though I’d have Porteous instead of Hanlon on that sad to leave list.

11-05-2022, 09:10 AM

Was crazy handing out these deals.

It's gonna cost the club a lot but they'll be moved on.

The simple truth is, our squad isn't good enough and deserves to be where it is in the league.

We're way below average, and sticking with guys like these 3 won't see us improve.

We want, and need, much, much better than any of our current squad.

11-05-2022, 10:10 AM
Cadden
Porto (to sell)
Doig (to sell)
Hanlon (as a squad player)
Stevenson (as a squad player)
Clarke
Magennis (if he can stay fit)
Nisbet (if he can regain form)

Other than that I honestly want them all gone. It's just never going to happen though, is it.

It's going to take at least two windows to get the type of squad refresh that we really need.

11-05-2022, 10:46 AM
I've said most of the season I think tactics and coaching are the issue more than the players, though we're definitely lacking in key areas.

Marshall I think will be a good signing, Macey is fine as back up

Defence, Clarke, Cadden & Doig are good, so I'd keep. I'm fine with Hanlon, I know others disagree but we need a strong defender to come in and challenge, potentially replace. Porteous is good but not the world beater he's made out to be, plus disciplinary record is abysmal which hurts our cohesion in putting together a good run. Ideally two new central defenders.

Midfield three need replaced from me5, this has been our biggest issue and it puts the defence and attack under way too much pressure. Not showing enough on a regular basis. Yes Newell is a tidy footballer but we've rarely found a way to fit him in to a winning side.

On the wings, I'm okay with the options we have. Similar to the point about midfield putting the defence under pressure I think our central players are making life almost impossible for the wide players to really influence games. Similarly they have little to work with upfront.

Forwards - Melkerson is a talent as long as we don't coach it out of him, think he might be a bit hot and cold but one of those players that when he's on his game he is almost unstoppable. Happy to give him time. Doidge I love the big guy but he needs to get fit, hopefully the summer allows this to happen. Nisbet too I think is an asset, he works harder than he's given credit for but I could see he and Melkerson linking up well if we played them together.

Stevenson has done more than enough to justify being in and around the squad but we shouldn't be looking to him as a starter. I'm afraid I think Daz's playing days are behind him at the level we want to be playing at.

Essentials (assuming Marshall has signed) - 3 or four in Central midfield, one or two central defenders, one forward.

WestStandWillie
12-05-2022, 07:07 AM
Clarke
Cadden
Porteous
Nisbet

Are 4 first teamers for next season.

Paul and Lewis are good squad fillers but the rest I couldn’t give a flying fig about.

12-05-2022, 07:13 AM

Before they all leave, I'd love to ask them a question.... "have you given up or are you actually just pish?"

12-05-2022, 11:40 AM
Clarke
Cadden
Porteous
Nisbet

Are 4 first teamers for next season.

Paul and Lewis are good squad fillers but the rest I couldn’t give a flying fig about.

Porteous will be gone. Nisbet is pish. Cadden and Clarke play the same position.

Other than that I agree with you.

The next manager has several huge challenges. The biggest 2 are that the players he brings in are going to have to go straight into the team as our best players, and will he have the budget for that? The second one is that he's going to have to sift through and be brutally decisive with all of our inconsistent, "has something, there's a player in there, has attributes but weaknesses" types and figure out which attributes he's prepared to bin and which weaknesses he's going to work around.

There's a bit of something in our squad but collectively it is hopelessly, woefully short of where it needs to be.

12-05-2022, 11:48 AM
There's a bit of something in our squad but collectively it is hopelessly, woefully short of where it needs to be.

Agree! Key point for me is that he has to bring in leaders in the defence, the midfield and in forward positions. We've no-one that will drive this team forward. The lack of players willing to take shots and hit the target is baffling to me. Other than JDH shots against Ross County, I'm struggling to remember many shots on target from players still at the club. We also seem to have zero threat from corners.

13-05-2022, 06:47 PM
My starting point would be to decide on a system, and then have the appropriate players. Modern football needs three in the midfield to avoid being outnumbered, and playing with a lone striker is very restrictive and causes issues with depth. So I'm looking at 3-5-2 or 4-3-3.

GK - Marshall, Dabrowski (decent keeper at this level).
CH - New, New, Hanlon, McGinn, Delferriere. Clarke and Stevenson provide cover.
RWB - Clarke (permanent), Cadden (McGinn as cover)
LWB - Doig (won't get fair value at present), Mitchell
Midfield - New #10, New defensive midfielder, Magennis, Newell, Stevenson, Henderson, Tait
Wingers - New, Jasper/Mackay (keep one)
Forwards - New, New, Nisbet, Melkerson

So that's a squad of 24, including seven new players assuming both Porteous and Doidge go. Depending on the u18s, I'd be tempted to add a loan striker for the firs half of the season as Nisbet will be out.

That means I'd let the following leave

GK - Macey*
CH - Porteous (sold), MacGregor (retire), Bushiri (loan over)
Midfield - Doyle-Hayes*, Campbell*, Wright (end of contract), Allan (end of contract)
Wingers - Jasper/Mackay (one kept, one gone)
Forwards - Scott (end of loan), Doidge* (unless he can get his fitness back)

Generally straightforward but four players with * should look for first team football elsewhere.

Tha Cabbage Kid
14-05-2022, 03:29 AM
Keep:
Dąbrowski
Porteous
Clarke
Doig
Cadden
Stevenson
Mitchell
Jasper (since injury he's not been good, but I think will get better)
Melkersen
Hauge
Nisbet

The rest not good enough

Sent from my moto g(8) power using Tapatalk

14-05-2022, 06:12 AM
Before they all leave, I'd love to ask them a question.... "have you given up or are you actually just pish?"

Key West
14-05-2022, 06:50 AM
I would release the following:

Paul McGinn-Good professional has a lot of good moments but too many mistakes in his game.

Scott Allan-Technically gifted but probably for medical reasons doesn’t affect games enough which is a shame.

David Gray and Darren McGregor- Excellent players for Hibs and heroes but they at are at a stage where they need to reinvent themselves in the coaching area.

I would sell:

Porteous-He cannot defeat the establishment and needs to realise his potential elsewhere which for Hibs supporters is both sad and infuriating.

Nisbet-Was excellent at the start then for whatever reasons disintegrated into being ineffective.

Doidge-Difficult player to judge but has missed too many games and lost any sharpness on his return.

Magennis-Started to become one of our best players but spends most of the time through no fault of his own injured.

If you were ultra critical there’s not a lot to get excited about with the players you would keep, Cadden is consistent. Hanlon and Stevenson would be decent squad options. Doig could become the player he threatens to be. Doyle-Hayes and Newell might benefit from playing along side a decent new signing, Campbell, Jasper and Mitchell I would consider again as squad options. The goalies are ok I’ve seen much worse!
Henderson has great potential and like a few others would benefit from playing with astute new additions to the squad. Melkerson and Hague hopefully will develop into first team regulars.Clarke is very promising, has a lot of character but can be rash at times which is ok if he played for Rangers, I think the introduction of VAR would play a part in how many games a season he would play.
Im not confident that we will either get the right manager or back him accordingly and make significant signings and I think it would be fair to say it wouldn’t in league terms be difficult to improve on a what has been a very poor season this term.
As usual we approach a new era with hope and few expectations but as bad as it has been it cannot be a worse starting point than when Stubbs arrived at the club.

Mutu
14-05-2022, 09:31 AM
Main thing we need to figure out is what system we intend to play long term which is why we need a new manager announced ASAP. We have a decent core of players to play 3 at the back but if a new manager doesn't fancy it we're facing another rebuild.

I'd love to revert back to 4 at the back but we then lack in key areas out wide.

One thing that should be obvious now is how much we miss Nisbet. The guy is by far in away our most important player and is irreplaceable for a team like us languishing in the bottom half of the table. We need to build a team around him next season.

14-05-2022, 11:06 AM
I would release the following:

Paul McGinn-Good professional has a lot of good moments but too many mistakes in his game.

Scott Allan-Technically gifted but probably for medical reasons doesn’t affect games enough which is a shame.

David Gray and Darren McGregor- Excellent players for Hibs and heroes but they at are at a stage where they need to reinvent themselves in the coaching area.

I would sell:

Porteous-He cannot defeat the establishment and needs to realise his potential elsewhere which for Hibs supporters is both sad and infuriating.

Nisbet-Was excellent at the start then for whatever reasons disintegrated into being ineffective.

Doidge-Difficult player to judge but has missed too many games and lost any sharpness on his return.

Magennis-Started to become one of our best players but spends most of the time through no fault of his own injured.

If you were ultra critical there’s not a lot to get excited about with the players you would keep, Cadden is consistent. Hanlon and Stevenson would be decent squad options. Doig could become the player he threatens to be. Doyle-Hayes and Newell might benefit from playing along side a decent new signing, Campbell, Jasper and Mitchell I would consider again as squad options. The goalies are ok I’ve seen much worse!
Henderson has great potential and like a few others would benefit from playing with astute new additions to the squad. Melkerson and Hague hopefully will develop into first team regulars.Clarke is very promising, has a lot of character but can be rash at times which is ok if he played for Rangers, I think the introduction of VAR would play a part in how many games a season he would play.
Im not confident that we will either get the right manager or back him accordingly and make significant signings and I think it would be fair to say it wouldn’t in league terms be difficult to improve on a what has been a very poor season this term.
As usual we approach a new era with hope and few expectations but as bad as it has been it cannot be a worse starting point than when Stubbs arrived at the club.

Er… David Gray retired from playing a year ago…

14-05-2022, 11:07 AM
Main thing we need to figure out is what system we intend to play long term which is why we need a new manager announced ASAP. We have a decent core of players to play 3 at the back but if a new manager doesn't fancy it we're facing another rebuild.

I'd love to revert back to 4 at the back but we then lack in key areas out wide.

One thing that should be obvious now is how much we miss Nisbet. The guy is by far in away our most important player and is irreplaceable for a team like us languishing in the bottom half of the table. We need to build a team around him next season.

A back 4 doesn’t necessarily mean a lack of width, it’s all about how we set up, not just the formation itself.

Key West
14-05-2022, 11:28 AM
Er… David Gray retired from playing a year ago…

Apologies still listed as a player on flash scores Hibs squad.

14-05-2022, 02:37 PM
Porteous will be gone. Nisbet is pish. Cadden and Clarke play the same position.

The next manager has several huge challenges. The biggest 2 are that the players he brings in are going to have to go straight into the team as our best players, and will he have the budget for that? The second one is that he's going to have to sift through and be brutally decisive with all of our inconsistent, "has something, there's a player in there, has attributes but weaknesses" types and figure out which attributes he's prepared to bin and which weaknesses he's going to work around.

Fix the midfield and you fix a lot of what’s wrong with this team.

Nisbet, to be fair, had almost zero decent service to work with, largely cos we had little control in the middle of the park.

Replacing Porto and / or Doig will be a challenge.

But get these signings right and - assuming we get a manager with tactical nous and some leadership quality - things will be a lot better.

Saint Hibee
14-05-2022, 02:43 PM

Nisbet is not pish. With decent service, he'll come good.

14-05-2022, 06:23 PM
Nisbet is not pish. With decent service, he'll come good.

I’d love for him to come good but I just don’t ever see him fitting into one of these lone striker formations almost every manager wants to play these days.

He had a decent few months when he first joined but has been very poor for a very long time and I had simply lost patience with him long before he got injured.

Interesting that we haven’t been any better since he’s been out, and I agree with the point above that if we sorted the midfield, many other problems would appear less significant.