View Full Version : What a strip
28-04-2022, 02:23 PM
https://www.hiberniandirect.co.uk/leisure-fashion/mens-leisurewear/retro-94-96-away-jersey-snr
Have got the original home top but might invest in this pay day.
hibee
28-04-2022, 02:33 PM
I’ve got the original in the garage but it’s covered in paint as I wear it when decorating!
28-04-2022, 02:49 PM
I’ve got the original in the garage but it’s covered in paint as I wear it when decorating!Reported
Guessing sizes will be normal and not tight tight like the last few seasons? 🤔
28-04-2022, 03:12 PM
One of the very few Hibs strips that I just couldn't take to.
Just_Jimmy
28-04-2022, 03:49 PM
Utterly howling strip. I get everyone seems to love it but it's gross. (As gross as a hibs top can be obviously)
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
28-04-2022, 03:51 PM
FYI this years kits are now half price.
28-04-2022, 03:52 PM
Utterly howling strip. I get everyone seems to love it but it's gross. (As gross as a hibs top can be obviously)
Totally agree, it's a mess. And to think I bought it and wore it at the time.
28-04-2022, 03:52 PM
One of the very few Hibs strips that I just couldn't take to.
It's horrible. Tam Hart has a lot to answer for introducing purple into the mix.
Thankfully, he did some great things too!
28-04-2022, 04:03 PM
It's horrible. Tam Hart has a lot to answer for introducing purple into the mix.
Thankfully, he did some great things too!
Big fan of the purple. Loved the purple tornadoes strip . Loved the purple Bukta too. Not so much this Ken - but mon the purple !
Ray Donovan
28-04-2022, 04:13 PM
https://www.hiberniandirect.co.uk/leisure-fashion/mens-leisurewear/retro-94-96-away-jersey-snr
Been waiting for this to be released. Will be buying asap!
Got the original. Great memories of this top. Although I feel the club is doing this to make money as ST sales must be off target. I would rather they do a homage to an old strip by replicating it as best as they can when launching a new strip. That way there is some nostalgia for fans of that time but allows newer fans or younger generations to then make their own memories with a strip that the current squad wear.
28-04-2022, 05:08 PM
A much better effort than the Insave one.
I still have the original in a drawer albeit as an age 8-9 it probably won't fit..
28-04-2022, 05:15 PM
Better than that Macron monstrosity we had a couple of seasons back. Original always best.
28-04-2022, 08:44 PM
A much better effort than the Insave one.
I still have the original in a drawer albeit as an age 8-9 it probably won't fit..
Yep. It actually looks like the original.
I loved that strip.
28-04-2022, 08:49 PM
If you look closely on the shoulders towards the top you can see where it’s worn through -that’s where Darren Jackson carried the whole team for a season :)
Green Reaper
28-04-2022, 08:59 PM
Still got my original one, which I wore to the final in 2016 so special for me
28-04-2022, 09:01 PM
I liked some of the purple strips but wasn't too keen on that one.
ErinGoBraghHFC
28-04-2022, 09:10 PM
Just ordered it there, the best strip ever. I’d actually put it above the 2018 Nigeria strip.
28-04-2022, 09:48 PM
Just ordered it there, the best strip ever. I’d actually put it above the 2018 Nigeria strip.
That Nigeria shirt is massively overrated imo. Their current home is better.
ErinGoBraghHFC
28-04-2022, 09:50 PM
That Nigeria shirt is massively overrated imo. Their current home is bettwr.
Nah that strips a belter imo mate, like the classic Gremio strips as well
Ray Donovan
28-04-2022, 09:59 PM
So good I'm posting twice. I've wanted this strip for ages. I've thought about buying an original but sizing, quality, price and difficulty getting one has put me off. I remember I had the home one and this one as a kid and its the first strips I remember having.
Very much looking forward to purchasing this. No matter how rubbish we are on the pitch stuff like this makes me enjoy being a Hibby as strange as that sounds..!
28-04-2022, 10:19 PM
Got the original. Great memories of this top. Although I feel the club is doing this to make money as ST sales must be off target. I would rather they do a homage to an old strip by replicating it as best as they can when launching a new strip. That way there is some nostalgia for fans of that time but allows newer fans or younger generations to then make their own memories with a strip that the current squad wear.
Course the club are doing it to make money they are hardly going to do it for no benefit. I don’t think it’s got anything to do with season ticket sales they were always bringing it out as it’s one of the most popular retro strip
28-04-2022, 10:48 PM
Still got the original in mint condition. And it still fits fine.
29-04-2022, 11:46 AM
Still got this original one, its a cracker. Wee bit big, but still a cracker
29-04-2022, 02:26 PM
That Nigeria shirt is massively overrated imo. Their current home is better.
I actually liked the Cameroon vest effort back in 2002 (jeez 20 years ago) and the story behind it.
Musselbound
29-04-2022, 05:15 PM
Agree. Would be as well wearing a pair of pyjamas.
29-04-2022, 06:32 PM
The MacBean purple top was great. I've not liked a purple top since.
29-04-2022, 06:44 PM
quite possibly our best ever top :agree:
https://www.footballkitnews.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/New-Hibs-Away-Kit-17-18.jpg
got this one in the club shop the sefty for £10 in the sale :)
https://www.hiberniandirect.co.uk/imagprod/joma-shoulder-training-t-shirt-snr-3854.jpg
29-04-2022, 07:18 PM
On the purple tops I thought the 96-98 was really nice.
That design for both home and away I really liked.
The MacBean purple top was great. I've not liked a purple top since.
Opinions eh , I’d put the strips above the darker purple Mcbean one
If you look closely on the shoulders towards the top you can see where it’s worn through -that’s where Darren Jackson carried the whole team for a season :)
👏 👏 superb
29-04-2022, 07:34 PM
Utterly howling strip. I get everyone seems to love it but it's gloss. (As gloss as a hibs top can be obviously)
FTFY:greengrin
29-04-2022, 07:43 PM
https://www.footballkitnews.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/New-Hibs-Away-Kit-17-18.jpg
https://www.hiberniandirect.co.uk/imagprod/joma-shoulder-training-t-shirt-snr-3854.jpg
For me the strip around 2000, modelled by Sauzee and Hakim Sar-Temsoury
29-04-2022, 09:57 PM
If it had had a round, black collar and no green flashing it would have been one of the best tops in the history of football.
Edit: no sponsor and no gap in the stripes would probably have collapsed the space time continuum in on itself.
There's just something that doesn't look right with all these reproductions that don't have the manufacturers logo on them. Next time we have a current kit manufacturer who did one of our popular kids in the past, we should strike a deal with them to sell branded retro stuff. Hearts have done it with their umbro stuff and it just looks more authentic than any of the stuff we're offering (apart from the bukta) or the Toffs/scoredraw tops.
Otherwise, people will continue to go to these dodgy sellers of Chinese fakes that fit dreadfully.
30-04-2022, 07:19 AM
That top one was just a standard Macron template but it just worked in our colours. One of their better efforts. Cagliari had the same top in different colours:
https://www.uksoccershop.com/blog/calgiari-launch-201617-kits/
30-04-2022, 07:36 AM
I’ve got a Large or an XL from eBay years ago when it first launched as a platform. Nobody knew what the value of the shirts were. Think I got it for £30.
Ray Donovan
30-04-2022, 04:37 PM
Bought the strip today. I'm an XL for the current joma shirts but a large for this remake fits perfectly.
30-04-2022, 04:48 PM
The strip we need is one we’ve never had: the Peru national kit but with a bottle green diagonal across a white top. White shorts and green socks. Would look superb. So good I wouldn’t want us wearing it until we are decent again.
03-05-2022, 01:04 PM
Hibs Instagram yesterday had a post about this strip being available, there’s a photo of Kevin Harper and someone. I cannae put a name to the face though.
https://www.instagram.com/p/CdD8aALog_g/?igshid=YmMyMTA2M2Y=
Who is that?
Anyone received the strip yet?
Any good?
Chorley Hibee
03-05-2022, 02:41 PM
Hibs Instagram yesterday had a post about this strip being available, there’s a photo of Kevin Harper and someone. I cannae put a name to the face though.
https://www.instagram.com/p/CdD8aALog_g/?igshid=YmMyMTA2M2Y=
Who is that?
It's Graeme Love.
03-05-2022, 03:38 PM
It's Graeme Love.
That’s it! Cheers
03-05-2022, 03:46 PM
Oh that is beautiful
03-05-2022, 06:08 PM
On the purple tops I thought the 96-98 was really nice.
That design for both home and away I really liked.
Opinions and all that but I would say they are 2 of the worst kits we've ever had, made even worse by relegation.
There's just something that doesn't look right with all these reproductions that don't have the manufacturers logo on them. Next time we have a current kit manufacturer who did one of our popular kids in the past, we should strike a deal with them to sell branded retro stuff. Hearts have done it with their umbro stuff and it just looks more authentic than any of the stuff we're offering (apart from the bukta) or the Toffs/scoredraw tops.
Otherwise, people will continue to go to these dodgy sellers of Chinese fakes that fit dreadfully.
:agree: Exactly. None of them ever look quite right.
The strip we need is one we’ve never had: the Peru national kit but with a bottle green diagonal across a white top. White shorts and green socks. Would look superb. So good I wouldn’t want us wearing it until we are decent again.
:agree: Yes, 100%, would be brilliant. It annoys me that such a good home strip this season has been tainted by a shambles of a season.
03-05-2022, 06:29 PM
On the topic of strips when will new home kits be out?
Last year it was June 10th.
Could they go similar to the one above with white and add the current sponsor ?
03-05-2022, 07:40 PM
On the topic of strips when will new home kits be out?
Last year it was June 10th.
Could they go similar to the one above with white and add the current sponsor ?
Hope not!