View Full Version : Charlie Nicholas on Hibs

HendoDelivered
25-04-2022, 11:00 PM
https://www.scottishdailyexpress.co.uk/sport/football/charlie-nicholas-stinging-hibs-blast-26795280

25-04-2022, 11:01 PM
https://www.scottishdailyexpress.co.uk/sport/football/charlie-nicholas-stinging-hibs-blast-26795280

He’s right

25-04-2022, 11:03 PM
He’s right

He's a total dick but I can't say I disagree with him here.

25-04-2022, 11:04 PM
He’s rightHes a tad over dramatic for me

Click bait I believe it's called

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

25-04-2022, 11:09 PM
Another tiresome blow hard sticking the boot into Hibs.

Just a load of bluster from Charlie with no real constructive solution on a club he knows little, or cares much about. Just a word count to help fill a page/column.

25-04-2022, 11:10 PM

Just a load of bluster from Charlie with no real constructive solution on a club he knows little, or cares about. Just a word count to help fill a page/column.100 percent

We've probablu went through our most consistent period for decades and he's jumping on the get rid of them all bandwagon

25-04-2022, 11:11 PM
Hes a tad over dramatic for me

Aye he is dramatic. That’s his MO though

sunshinejim
25-04-2022, 11:14 PM

Agree with you.

There are some very good footballers at the club who simply did not need a rookie manager coming in with an experimental system and playing players out of position. Of course the new manager will assess the squad and decide who stays and who goes. It doesn't need motor mouth drama queens like Charlie Nicholas to wade in. The new manager will inherit a decent squad that does need a bit of a revamp but not a complete overhaul.

25-04-2022, 11:24 PM
Charlie Nicholas only watches Hibs when we play Celtic and doesn't think of us again until we play Rangers.

A massive squad turnover this season - and weekly selection inconsistencies due to injuries and suspension has shown that scrapping everything and starting again is brainless. Charlie Nicholas is famous for being a comically inarticulate moron and if you find yourself agreeing with him over the time of day I'd suggest you check your watch battery.

25-04-2022, 11:26 PM
Our spine of the team is definitely soft.

We need a new core who shape this team.

The midfield don’t tackle / create or score goals and we are basically playing without a striker.

The squad definitely needs refreshed.

25-04-2022, 11:31 PM
I’d like him to name names.

I don’t expect he’d get to 4 of our players.

Does he post on here though, I recognise the argument he’s making?

DstN75
25-04-2022, 11:35 PM
Charlie Nicholas only watches Hibs when we play Celtic and doesn't think of us again until we play Rangers.

A massive squad turnover this season - and weekly selection inconsistencies due to injuries and suspension has shown that scrapping everything and starting again is brainless. Charlie Nicholas is famous for being a comically inarticulate moron and if you find yourself agreeing with him over the time of day I'd suggest you check your watch battery.

Completely agree. He's literally an idiot.

25-04-2022, 11:55 PM
Look forward to him slating one of his former clubs, Aberdeen.
McInnes sacked, Glass sacked and Goodwin not doing very well is he.
Man is an irrelevant slaver

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

26-04-2022, 12:08 AM
That newspapers continue to print meaningless guff from half a heid ex-players and still not understand why readership has plummeted is really a marvel to behold.

JamesHFC
26-04-2022, 12:27 AM

The midfield don’t tackle / create or score goals and we are basically playing without a striker.

Rocky, Jasper and Scott all returning to their parent clubs as it stands. Allan, Wright and McGinn out of contract. I thought Doidge, McGregor and Macey may leave in the summer but they probably be given another chance under a new manager although I would have no issues with them being moved on, exception of Daz perhaps who I wouldn’t mind staying at the club in some capacity.

Porteous will probably be moved on in the summer if he doesn’t want to sign a new contract, interest in Doig will probably also still be there. Nisbet out until after the Christmas break.

Campbell isn’t good enough at the moment, we need a different type of midfielder to JDH. Still waiting for Mueller to turn into a key player.

So including players currently on loan, out of contract and others potentially moved on, we are looking at approximately 10 players leaving in the summer.

We are going to be needing at minimum 8 new signings in the summer to be competitive next season imo.

26-04-2022, 01:21 AM

Rocky, Jasper and Scott all returning to their parent clubs as it stands. Allan, Wright and McGinn out of contract. I thought Doidge, McGregor and Macey may leave in the summer but they probably be given another chance under a new manager although I would have no issues with them being moved on, exception of Daz perhaps who I wouldn’t mind staying at the club in some capacity.

Porteous will probably be moved on in the summer if he doesn’t want to sign a new contract, interest in Doig will probably also still be there. Nisbet out until after the Christmas break.

Campbell isn’t good enough at the moment, we need a different type of midfielder to JDH. Still waiting for Mueller to turn into a key player.

So including players currently on loan, out of contract and others potentially moved on, we are looking at approximately 10 players leaving in the summer.

We are going to be needing at minimum 8 new signings in the summer to be competitive next season imo.Not looking to contradict but I disagree about Jasper. Lad has to refine his game but already he has played a peach of a pass to Melkerson against Motherwell and put one on a plate for Josh Campbell on Sat.
Exciting player who can only get better

JamesHFC
26-04-2022, 02:15 AM
Not looking to contradict but I disagree about Jasper. Lad has to refine his game but already he has played a peach of a pass to Melkerson against Motherwell and put one on a plate for Josh Campbell on Sat.
Exciting player who can only get better

I agree that he definitely has potential and is good enough to be a part of our squad. I was just mentioning him as being a player we only have on loan, whether we take up the option of signing him on a permanent remains to be seen but I think it might be unlikely.

26-04-2022, 02:47 AM
I agree that he definitely has potential and is good enough to be a part of our squad. I was just mentioning him as being a player we only have on loan, whether we take up the option of signing him on a permanent remains to be seen but I think it might be unlikely.[emoji106][emoji106][emoji106]

Dazzjw1875
26-04-2022, 05:14 AM
I can't see any issues with his comments tbh for me Macey, rocky,jasper,jdh,Wright,Scott,Campbell,Nisbet,Doid ge with 3 returning to paret club I would try punt the rest. Mcginn I would keep for cover but not starter mcgregor perhaps involved in coaching side

26-04-2022, 05:16 AM
He’s spot on.

The squad is rubbish and needs a huge clear out.

26-04-2022, 05:34 AM
I’d be surprised if he could name for than a handful of players.

LewysGot2
26-04-2022, 05:40 AM
And folk wonder why Sky Sports coverage had to evolve...because it genuinely really had to. He's chronic.

26-04-2022, 05:45 AM
Garbage article. He's certainly not right. Blurting out cliche rubbish

26-04-2022, 05:46 AM
How he still gets asked or paid for his opinion I’ll never know, he’s not relevant any more.

How can he possibly know what Hibs need or doesn’t need? When was the last time he saw Hibs play?

He says it’s all the players fault and massive clear out needed, we’ve had one bad season. Last season, much of the same squad finished 3rd. We never added to the squad last season well enough, we didn’t replace the missing or sold players well enough but a lot of the players are good enough. I think what he’s described is true of a club like Manchester Utd who have continually underperformed for years.

Charlie Nicholas doesn’t have a clue what he’s on about, he’s jus tided some tired old cliches to keep his name on the paper.

26-04-2022, 05:47 AM

Charlie is suggesting we need a Taliban in midfield.

26-04-2022, 05:52 AM

26-04-2022, 06:23 AM
Do you think Charlie has even watched a Hibs game this year?

26-04-2022, 06:43 AM
It's obviously an article designed to get clicks and trigger a response so from that sense it's job done.

It's interesting though that we are a team who have struggled to win matches, score goals or look even moderately entertaining for a huge chunk of the season yet people seem to disagree a big clear out is needed. I'm not really interested in what Charlie Nicholas has to say about it but I broadly agree there are a lot of guys in our squad who could be shipped out to free up space and money. Is anyone really disagreeing that time is up for the likes of Darren McGregor, Drey Wright, Scott Allan and more controversially perhaps guys like Doidge and Magennis if they can't prove they are able to contribute? Further I think there are guys who are starting games now who are squad players moving forward, we have all stated injuries and suspensions are a huge cause of our issues, that being the case surely it means we are broadly agreed the guys starting games aren't good enough to be doing so?

26-04-2022, 06:49 AM
It's obviously an article designed to get clicks and trigger a response so from that sense it's job done.

It's interesting though that we are a team who have struggled to win matches, score goals or look even moderately entertaining for a huge chunk of the season yet people seem to disagree a big clear out is needed. I'm not really interested in what Charlie Nicholas has to say about it but I broadly agree there are a lot of guys in our squad who could be shipped out to free up space and money. Is anyone really disagreeing that time is up for the likes of Darren McGregor, Drey Wright, Scott Allan and more controversially perhaps guys like Doidge and Magennis if they can't prove they are able to contribute? Further I think there are guys who are starting games now who are squad players moving forward, we have all stated injuries and suspensions are a huge cause of our issues, that being the case surely it means we are broadly agreed the guys starting games aren't good enough to be doing so?Guys who are starting becoming squad players is wholly different to ship the lot of them out!

Or calling them a team full of fakers

Greenio
26-04-2022, 06:53 AM
Click bate at it's finest.

Every club outside the uglies could do with binning half it's squad.

Sounds good on paper and easy to spout off about if you don't have to factor in any kind of reality into it

Paulie Walnuts
26-04-2022, 06:53 AM

It's interesting though that we are a team who have struggled to win matches, score goals or look even moderately entertaining for a huge chunk of the season yet people seem to disagree a big clear out is needed. I'm not really interested in what Charlie Nicholas has to say about it but I broadly agree there are a lot of guys in our squad who could be shipped out to free up space and money. Is anyone really disagreeing that time is up for the likes of Darren McGregor, Drey Wright, Scott Allan and more controversially perhaps guys like Doidge and Magennis if they can't prove they are able to contribute? Further I think there are guys who are starting games now who are squad players moving forward, we have all stated injuries and suspensions are a huge cause of our issues, that being the case surely it means we are broadly agreed the guys starting games aren't good enough to be doing so?

Whether Charlie Nicholas has watched us or not he’s not far wrong imo.

We need a huge clear out. Lots of guys offering nowhere near enough and not of the required standard.

People are saying this squad got us third but plenty people never thought we were all that great a side when we done it. That appears to be the case when you see how badly we fell away this year.

Unfortunately we’re saddled with some of them because we’ve given our ludicrous contracts to a couple of players but I’d say we want to move on 10 or so players in preparation for next season and give the new manager a chance to get his own guys in.

26-04-2022, 06:59 AM
Thought Charlie on made comments on big teams like Norwich and Brentford

Aw naw he got punted eh.

Takes one to know I suppose

26-04-2022, 06:59 AM

We need a huge clear out. Lots of guys offering nowhere near enough and not of the required standard.

People are saying this squad got us third but plenty people never thought we were all that great a side when we done it. That appears to be the case when you see how badly we fell away this year.

Unfortunately we’re saddled with some of them because we’ve given our ludicrous contracts to a couple of players but I’d say we want to move on 10 or so players in preparation for next season and give the new manager a chance to get his own guys in.

If you are happy to read an article from someone who hasn’t watched us and pay it any notice it’s says more about you personally than Hibs.

And it you think we are moving on 10 players you may as well start writing for the express too.

Daily Hibs
26-04-2022, 07:00 AM
Charlie Nicholas is spot on.

"The issue is that they have a team full of fakers, many of them have been there for years".

Many of us have been saying that for years. Hanlon and Stevenson should have been released in 2014.

26-04-2022, 07:00 AM
Be Davie Provan next. You sack a Celtic man you better be prepared for the fallout.

26-04-2022, 07:01 AM

"The issue is that they have a team full of fakers, many of them have been there for years".

Many of us have been saying that for years. Hanlon and Stevenson should have been released in 2014.

He’s probably watched them about the same amount of time as you.

26-04-2022, 07:07 AM

He can't be right or wrong- he's clueless.

What is the point in people saying he's spot on when he knows absolutely nothing about us?

I cold pick some random team from South America that's been struggling and declare that they need a mass clear out but it wouldn't mean I had a clue what i was talking about either. And Hibs may as well be a South American team to Charlie because there's only 2 teams in Scotland he has even half an idea about.

He's made a career shooting off lazy negative articles about anything and everything- easy money but he's thick as mince.

Daily Hibs
26-04-2022, 07:07 AM
He’s probably watched them about the same amount of time as you.
He must go to every home game then and have been to motherwell away twice, Tynecastle and hampden his year. I'll make sure to say hello to him at Livingston on Saturday :thumbsup:

26-04-2022, 07:09 AM
He must go to every home game then and have been to motherwell away twice, Tynecastle and hampden his year. I'll make sure to say hello to him at Livingston on Saturday :thumbsup:

Why do you do it to yourself?

Daily Hibs
26-04-2022, 07:10 AM
If you are happy to read an article from someone who hasn’t watched us and pay it any notice it’s says more about you personally than Hibs.

And it you think we are moving on 10 players you may as well start writing for the express too.
Have you not been reading the views of fans on here? Many are saying we need a huge clear out, I'd be happy to release everyone apart from Porteous and Doig and start again.

We are a powder puff spineless bottom six team Huge rebuild job required.

Daily Hibs
26-04-2022, 07:13 AM
Why do you do it to yourself?
Because I'm a realist and the football is a social occasion for our group.

Nobody can deny a huge rebuild is required. Jack Ross delayed the rebuild and it has now caught up with us.

26-04-2022, 07:16 AM
[RIGHT]
Have you not been reading the views of fans on here? Many are saying we need a huge clear out, I'd be happy to release everyone apart from Porteous and Doig and start again.

We are a powder puff spineless bottom six team Huge rebuild job required.

Yes release all the players bar 2. What a load of nonsense.

Paulie Walnuts
26-04-2022, 07:18 AM

I don’t really care what Charlie Nicholas says or what his article says really.

What he’s said though is exactly what plenty people on here have been saying for ages. So he can watch us or not watch us, it’s really not all that wrong. Lucky guess maybe, but we do need to move on loads of players whether he published this article or not.

As for moving on 10 players, we’ve got 4 out of contract I think it is and 3 who’s loans are about to expire. That’s 7 that we can get rid of without the players even getting a say. Throw in the probable sale of Porteous and we’re at 8. If you think there’s no chance of us being able to move on around 10 players then it might be you who should be writing for the express.

26-04-2022, 07:19 AM

I dont think we will be a kick in the arse off seeing 10 players leave in the summer from this squad.

Daily Hibs
26-04-2022, 07:22 AM
Yes release all the players bar 2. What a load of nonsense.
Yes, we really are that bad. To think otherwise just holds the club back. There is no scenario where bottom six should be acceptable to Hibs, 4th place will probably be the lowest ever points total and we can't even manage to finish 4th.

26-04-2022, 07:23 AM
Very few players in the current squad I’d be bothered about losing so I don’t particularly disagree with him.

We’re not going to totally replace everyone, that’s impossible, but the squad is going to look pretty different next year.

26-04-2022, 07:25 AM
He's right in that the issue runs deeper than who the manager is. I don't think the quality of player is there but to say they are fakers is complete garbage and disrespectful. I don't fault the effort of the team. I can't think of too many times where I feel they don't try. It's the quality that counts and we don't have enough of it on the pitch. His solution sounds a lot like what Terry Butcher tried to do though. We need to boost the squad but there are plenty of good professionals at Easter Road that can form part of the squad at the same time. Ironic that Charlie has faked a career as a pundit for years.

Yorkshire HFC
26-04-2022, 07:26 AM
I don’t really care what Charlie Nicholas says or what his article says really.

What he’s said though is exactly what plenty people on here have been saying for ages. So he can watch us or not watch us, it’s really not all that wrong. Lucky guess maybe, but we do need to move on loads of players whether he said it or not

As for moving on 10 players, we’ve got 4 out of contract I think it is and 3 who’s loans are about to expire. That’s 7 that we can get rid of without the players even getting a say. Throw in the probable sale of Porteous and we’re at 8. If you think there’s no chance of us being able to move on around 10 players then it might be you who should be writing for the express.

Off topic - but do people remember how good a player Charlie Nicholas was? When he broke through, he was brilliant - and I can't think of any Scottish footballer who was as well known by non-football fans as he was. I can't think of anyone since who's come close to being as well known.

26-04-2022, 07:27 AM
I dont think we will be a kick in the arse off seeing 10 players leave in the summer from this squad.

I’m. It talking about players that are already leaving. We won’t be getting rid of 10 from our core squad.

Daily Hibs
26-04-2022, 07:31 AM
I’m. It talking about players that are already leaving. We won’t be getting rid of 10 from our core squad.
How big is our core squad if 10 player who will be leaving aren't from our core squad?

The team next season is going to be a completely new team.

26-04-2022, 07:32 AM

No club in the world will get rid of 10 of the squads core players.

Although some people will have different opinions on what is the core.

ClermistonGreen
26-04-2022, 07:34 AM
He’s well suited to posting in here .

Paulie Walnuts
26-04-2022, 07:34 AM
How big is our core squad if 10 player who will be leaving aren't from our core squad?

The team next season is going to be a completely new team.

Bizarre comments.

Poster is desperate to come across as a smart arse and now just looks a bit daft once they’ve realised there actually will be a high turnover of players in the summer.

26-04-2022, 07:37 AM
Cowdenbeath level of journalism.

26-04-2022, 07:41 AM
If Shaun Maloney hadn't been an ex Celtic crony I doubt if Nicholas would have been in the least interested. He usually only writes about the Old Firm in his column.

26-04-2022, 07:45 AM

Bizarre comments.

Poster is desperate to come across as a smart arse and now just looks a bit daft once they’ve realised there probably will be a high turnover of players in the summer.

I’ve no interest in how smart my arse is and neither should you tbh. Constant trolling of our squad is nonsense tho. Keepers won’t go. Prob only Rocky from our defence will go. (Daz and Mackie are already out). From midfield Gogic is already out. Who else are we dumping? Doidge apparently leaving at the end of the season. Who else will be dumped? And don’t bother saying players who are under contract coz they aren’t going anywhere. We will sign 2 CBs 2 CMs and a striker.

26-04-2022, 07:45 AM
Think Nicholas is essentially correct in his assessment. Most of the current players are not good enough for Hibs to achieve what we as fans would like to see the club achieve.

Replacing them with more of the same wouldn't be much use either though ultimately. What we need is a manager "with a genuine vision for this club" and RG will have to dig deep and buy in good professionals to do the job of getting there ...

Paulie Walnuts
26-04-2022, 07:47 AM
I’ve no interest in how smart my arse is and neither should you tbh. Constant trolling of our squad is nonsense tho. Keepers won’t go. Prob only Rocky from our defence will go. (Daz and Mackie are already out). From midfield Gogic is already out. Who else are we dumping? Doidge apparently leaving at the end of the season. Who else will be dumped? And don’t bother saying players who are under contract coz they aren’t going anywhere. We will sign 2 CBs 2 CMs and a striker.

So that’s Daz, Mackie, Rocky, Gogic, Murphy, Doidge, Wright, Allan, Jasper, Scott then?

Keep digging.

26-04-2022, 07:55 AM
So that’s Daz, Mackie, Rocky, Gogic, Murphy, Doidge, Wright, Allan, Jasper, Scott then?

Keep digging.

As I said you can’t use end of contract players they’ve already gone if not extended by now. Wright and Jasper will stay. Scott is a Hull player we don’t have an option on him. You don’t have to dig just use a bit of common sense rather than saying the whole squad needs replaced.

26-04-2022, 07:55 AM

stevenson, the double cup winner, most consistent player willing to play anywhere on the pitch and most recently been playing as captain? :dunno:

26-04-2022, 07:56 AM

Keep digging.

Mackie, Gogic and Murphy left in January didn’t they? Jasper, Rocky and Scott are only on loan until the summer.

Are you counting them in your 10?

Daily Hibs
26-04-2022, 07:57 AM
Trolling of the squad?

We are Hibs fans that have season tickets and follow them away. We are entitled to have an opinion of the club and team, that's being a fan and this forum facilitates opinions from fans.

so now we can't be critical of the team because it's trolling the squad which is far from good enough as we are bottom six and just been scudded again by Hearts at Hampden. Mental.

26-04-2022, 07:57 AM
Mackie, Gogic and Murphy left in January didn’t they? Jasper, Rocky and Scott are only on loan until the summer.

It would appear so. There will be about 5 new players coming in I reckon. It if we sell Doig and Porto that may change.

Paulie Walnuts
26-04-2022, 07:59 AM
As I said you can’t use end of contract players they’ve already gone if not extended by now. Wright and Jasper will stay. Scott is a Hull player we don’t have an option on him. You don’t have to dig just use a bit of common sense rather than saying the whole squad needs replaced.

Theyre not gone, they’re still here and contracted to Hibs. Drey Wright gets on the pitch most weeks, in what world is he already gone :faf: of course these guys count when we’re talking about guys who will be leaving in the summer. The idea that Drey Wright and Scott Allan don’t count when talking about our squad shake up is laughable.

You’re the one who’s bizarrely excluding people from the players that will be leaving even though they will be leaving. We’ll have about 10 players contracted to Hibs right now leave this summer. Of that I’ve no doubt.

26-04-2022, 07:59 AM

What’s peoples thoughts on Jasper?

If he was free I’d maybe keep him (maybe!), he’s not done enough to justify spending any money on him though.

Paulie Walnuts
26-04-2022, 08:02 AM

They’re still contracted to Hibs. So as it stands they’re still every bit a Hibs player as the likes of Steven Bradley for example.

There’ll be 10 players at least with contracts at Hibernian who will be leaving in the summer. Even if you remove Gogic, Murphy and Mackie from the equation, it’ll still be close to the “10 or so” once we likely sell Porteous and potentially see one or two others leave that Brightside got particularly upset about.

26-04-2022, 08:03 AM

If he was free I’d maybe keep him (maybe!), he’s not done enough to justify spending any money on him though.

Yeah I think he's one of those "nearly" players. If he had a wee bit more pace, a wee bit better delivery, a wee bit more awareness etc etc. Worth holding on to if poss but hasn't showed as much as he's promised.

26-04-2022, 08:04 AM
Trolling of the squad?

We are Hibs fans that have season tickets and follow them away. We are entitled to have an opinion of the club and team, that's being a fan and this forum facilitates opinions from fans.

so now we can't be critical of the team because it's trolling the squad which is far from good enough as we are bottom six and just been scudded again by Hearts at Hampden. Mental.

You said replace the whole team except Porto and Doig. You are clearly trolling and you need to grow up.

Daily Hibs
26-04-2022, 08:09 AM
You said replace the whole team except Porto and Doig. You are clearly trolling and you need to grow up.
That's not trolling though. I'm being deadly serious, it's my opinion after watching us capitulate to a bottom six finish and yet another Hampden defeat.

Big difference. Folk on here are far too quick to use the trolling card.

There is no denying there won't be a significant amount of players leaving and we will have a totally revamped team next season,

26-04-2022, 08:10 AM
They’re still contracted to Hibs. So as it stands they’re still every bit a Hibs player as the likes of Steven Bradley for example.

There’ll be 10 players at least with contracts at Hibernian who will be leaving in the summer. Even if you remove Gogic, Murphy and Mackie from the equation, it’ll still be close to the “10 or so” once we likely sell Porteous and potentially see one or two others leave that Brightside got particularly upset about.

Yeah it will be - looks like crossed wires between the 2 of you as to who you include. I wouldn’t class loan players and those already left in the number. I would probably include those who are permanent but contract expires (McG, Wright and Allan).

10 sounds dramatic if you don’t include all those who we don’t “own” and are already leaving, not so much if you do include them.

26-04-2022, 08:13 AM

We have an option to keep him and I think we will. For me he would be good in. 4231 setup. All our players will struggle if we go back to 343

26-04-2022, 08:13 AM
Even if you agree with Charlie Nicholas, you have to look at how he got to his findings. Has he watched us this season? I’d guess not, maybe at a push a game against Celtic but even then, only if it never clashed with Burnley v Southampton or something.

If he says we need a clear out, who? What players have been doing what he says? Be he couldn’t name one.

What he has said isn’t based on anything other than a bland template used for all clubs, team struggling, blame the players, they’ve let the manager down. Foreign owner? Yup, let’s blame him too.

He says Ron doesn’t have a plan. There was literally a Q&A with Ron last week where he’s explained the need to increase revenue to invest on the pitch. To do that we need bums on seats in the stadium and that clearly wasn’t happening with the last 2 managers. Now there’s arguments as to how we got to that stage but that’s the plan.

Charlie Nicholas is an erse and knows less about Hibs than my dog.

26-04-2022, 08:15 AM
That's not trolling though. I'm being deadly serious, it's my opinion after watching us capitulate to a bottom six finish and yet another Hampden defeat.

Big difference. Folk on here are far too quick to use the trolling card.

There is no denying there won't be a significant amount of players leaving and we will have a totally revamped team next season,

How about having an opinion that has some common sense attached to it then. We are never going to replace the whole squad!

Paulie Walnuts
26-04-2022, 08:21 AM
Yeah it will be - looks like crossed wires between the 2 of you as to who you include. I wouldn’t class loan players and those already left in the number. I would probably include those who are permanent but contract expires (McG, Wright and Allan).

10 sounds dramatic if you don’t include all those who we don’t “own” and are already leaving, not so much if you do include them.

Is McGinn out of contract? If he is I’d suspect he’ll be gone as well. I don’t see us really keeping anyone that we can get rid of this summer without a pay off tbh. None of the guys leaving would have any sort of sell on value so I think we’d be happy enough to see them go and give the new man a bit space in the squad.

26-04-2022, 08:22 AM
Is McGinn out of contract?

We have a 1 year option on him. Which we will take up.

26-04-2022, 08:30 AM

I like him, he has something.

He's at risk of being one of those players I think John Collins once described Dean Shiels as ie "what is he?" Not a striker, not a winger, not obviously a number 10 but still clearly a good attacking player who you'd expect to be able to find a role for in a decent team.

Paulie Walnuts
26-04-2022, 08:34 AM

I’m the same.

Wouldn’t be paying a fee for him but if he’s free then he’s probably worth a 2 year deal or something.

SON OF PADDY
26-04-2022, 08:36 AM

I completely agree with you mate, what he knows about Hibs you could easily write on a matchbox.
The guys an absolute ********!

26-04-2022, 08:39 AM

It’s interesting that he’s getting little game time when fit…particularly as we are so short on forward going players - suggests there are mixed views on him …

26-04-2022, 08:40 AM
We absolutely need a massive clear out from the squad. Just because it's Charlie Nicholas saying it, doesn't make it clickbait.

We're crap and have been all season. If we want to do better, we need better players.

Once we have them, and we're winning and playing better, the ones we have now will be quickly forgotten.

Daily Hibs
26-04-2022, 08:43 AM
Even if you agree with Charlie Nicholas, you have to look at how he got to his findings. Has he watched us this season? I’d guess not, maybe at a push a game against Celtic but even then, only if it never clashed with Burnley v Southampton or something.

If he says we need a clear out, who? What players have been doing what he says? Be he couldn’t name one.

What he has said isn’t based on anything other than a bland template used for all clubs, team struggling, blame the players, they’ve let the manager down. Foreign owner? Yup, let’s blame him too.

He says Ron doesn’t have a plan. There was literally a Q&A with Ron last week where he’s explained the need to increase revenue to invest on the pitch. To do that we need bums on seats in the stadium and that clearly wasn’t happening with the last 2 managers. Now there’s arguments as to how we got to that stage but that’s the plan.

Call him what you want but is he right or wrong with his comments?

Or, has his comments regarding the nice guys angered fans?

26-04-2022, 08:47 AM
I don't think we do need "a clear out".

Yes, we've got players who need to be moved on, but imo not that many.

We're well served for certain positions (Doig or Mitchell for LWB, Cadden or Clarke for RWB etc) but I wouldn't be in a rush to ditch any of the cover here.

Our problem mainly is that we're poor in certain positions (up front, and creatively going forward) where we're short on ability and badly affected by injury. That's not improved by any sort of "clear out".

I think we all know that James Scott and Drey Wright shouldn't really be anywhere near our team and it doesn't reflect well that they've featured as heavily as they have.

We need better alternatives for these players before we start clearing them out.

ben johnson
26-04-2022, 08:50 AM
Well it’s insightful and almost revolutionary thinking from CN
We are all looking for a better standard of player and can’t wait to see who we bring in and I for one was hoping we would be keeping everyone who is on the books. Moving players on who aren’t good enough .CN saves the day

26-04-2022, 08:52 AM

Nicholas has no credibility to slag Hibs as he has little knowledge about us and takes no interest in the league outside one club.

26-04-2022, 08:53 AM

I think he’s wrong and how he got to his opinion is also wrong and that’s relevant.

Just for a comparison I read Tam McManus column this morning about Roy Keane and as much as I didn’t necessarily agree with him, his point was fair and he’s watched Hibs enough to have an opinion worth listening to.

Charlie Nicholas used a boring over used template article for any team that’s struggling.

SON OF PADDY
26-04-2022, 09:03 AM

👏👏👏👏

26-04-2022, 09:05 AM
Whether you think CN is correct or not, depends on your level of expectation about where Hibs should be finishing in the league and the quality of football on show.

Based on this season's performances, there is a clear lack of quality in the squad, particularly in offensive positions. We've been miles off competing for 3rd position and the football on show has been slow and uninspiring.

So it's hard to disagree with CN's assessment, although long term injuries to key players haven't helped. Certainly there's a good few players who need to be moved on, but the need for a complete clear out is an exaggeration.

26-04-2022, 09:05 AM
You could take what he said and apply it to any team that has had a bad season, it could be about Aberdeen if you just do a find and replace on some of the names.

26-04-2022, 09:12 AM

Yup, that’s all it is. Easiest thing in the world to demand a clear out; much harder to actually build a competitive squad.

Take this roaster at his word and Hibs would have 5-6 players left… then what?

The last manager who achieved this successfully was Stubbs, but the important part was recruiting and training a new group. Nicholas doesn’t even bother to explain how that bit happens.

26-04-2022, 09:13 AM

Whether you think CN is correct or not, depends on your level of expectation about where Hibs should be finishing in the league and the quality of football on show.

Based on this season's performances, there is a clear lack of quality in the squad, particularly in offensive positions. We've been miles off competing for 3rd position and the football on show has been slow and uninspiring.

So it's hard to disagree with CN's assessment, although long term injuries to key players haven't helped. Certainly there's a good few players who need to be moved on, but the need for a complete clear out is an exaggeration.

Nope, it depends on whether he’s actually got something to say… it seems not.

patlowe
26-04-2022, 09:23 AM
Far too many commentators on Scottish football who take the buck but have no real interest in the game up here beyond Celtic and Rangers. That goes for ex-players (Nicholas, Bonner etc) and journos like Tom English. Nicholas may well be right, he may not - he's talking from a position of sheer ignorance. Football media in this country (with some notable exceptions like The Terrace, whether you like it or not) is lazy, ill-informed and fundamentally only interested in two clubs, unless there is a controversy at a club like Hibs to stick the boot into for clicks/listens.

26-04-2022, 09:29 AM
Maybe you should go also then Jeff because you couldn't see driving home the other night.

26-04-2022, 09:36 AM

Nonsense. JDH and Newell have the 4th and 8th most tackles per game respectively of all midfielders in the league.

26-04-2022, 09:41 AM
Nonsense. JDH and Newell have the 4th and 8th most tackles per game respectively of all midfielders in the league.

Correct. No one is saying the squad doesn’t need a refresh. But the remove the whole squad thing is just daft.

mcohibs
26-04-2022, 09:48 AM
Maybe you should go also then Jeff because you couldn't see driving home the other night.

Iconic

26-04-2022, 09:49 AM

Aye, we should’ve released two of the key players that helped eventually win us the Scottish cup. Great idea.

I agree with Nicholas in that we need a squad revamp. I don’t agree that we’ve got “fakers” that have been here many years. Seems a total nonesense statement to make. Stevenson has arguably been our best player this season ffs.

26-04-2022, 09:53 AM
Go ahead and name 5 of our players Charlie.

26-04-2022, 09:54 AM
Aye, we should’ve released two of the key players that helped eventually win us the Scottish cup. Great idea.

Problem is middle to front, it's been blindingly obvious since Lennon left and no one has yet sorted it. We have slow tippy tappy midfielders with little drive or guile, the one thing Boyle gave us was drive and getting us on the front foot, our team lacks all of that, a complete change in mind set.

26-04-2022, 09:58 AM

You are bang on here, it’s depressing and worrying how many fans read this crap from Charlie Nicholas and think he’s some kind of sage.

For those who think ‘better players’ is the answer to everything, just look at Man Utd. Hugely expensive squad, massively underperforming team.

26-04-2022, 10:10 AM
Go ahead and name 5 of our players Charlie.

I'd be surprised if he could name 5 players involved in Scottish football.

Sioux
26-04-2022, 10:46 AM
You are bang on here, it’s depressing and worrying how many fans read this crap from Charlie Nicholas and think he’s some kind of sage.

For those who think ‘better players’ is the answer to everything, just look at Man Utd. Hugely expensive squad, massively underperforming team.

So, is it the recent managers, and them alone, that are responsible for Hibs being hopeless this season? Injuries or not, the squad is severely lacking in quality. Journeymen is an adjective often used, but in our case is well used.

Bringing in 3 replacements/additions will not make much of a difference. The squad we've got, is simply not good enough.

Not long ago Nisbet was getting slated for being inadequate, but suddenly because he ran about a little bit more, he became a top player again, but rarely a potent goal threat. Similar can be said for a number of players.

This squad doesn't need tweaked. It needs major reconstruction.

Making caviar from squirrel 'sheet' doesn't work.

26-04-2022, 11:06 AM
Tabloid sensationalist rubbish, best ignored.

Hibs look likely to finish comfortably away from any relegation issue and were unlucky not to have a crack at Europe due to the quirks of the split. A final and a semi as well this year. Lack of goals, selling our best player, injuries and a much derided style of play have all impacted the season.

However the idea that root and branch surgery is needed at Hibs is nonsense and usually spouted by the likes of Nicholas who I doubt watches much Scottish football these days and likely very little Hibs games.

We all wish this year was more exciting and successful but there is glimmers of a decent team there. An inspired management choice and some decent recruitment and we will be on the up again. If Ron is getting the finances right and we get the team right who knows what could happen.

26-04-2022, 11:09 AM

Nobody thinks this though.

There are plenty of us that think we need a clear-out and have done so for some time. Just because Charlie Nicholas agrees doesn't make all of us, or him, wrong.

Better players generally give a team a better chance of winning, you're not suggesting otherwise are you??

Why do we try and sign better players every transfer window? Why does every club in the world do similar? It's because better players, are, well, better!! :greengrin

Daily Hibs
26-04-2022, 11:10 AM

So we shouldn't be looking to sign better players than what we have already???

There is an element of our support that will always hold the club back by being happy to accept average mediocre players and happy to just reach semi finals and occasionally finish in the top six.

26-04-2022, 11:11 AM
Tabloid sensationalist rubbish, best ignored.

Hibs look likely to finish comfortably away from any relegation issue and were unlucky not to have a crack at Europe due to the quirks of the split. A final and a semi as well this year. Lack of goals, selling our best player, injuries and a much derided style of play have all impacted the season.

However the idea that root and branch surgery is needed at Hibs is nonsense and usually spouted by the likes of Nicholas who I doubt watches much Scottish football these days and likely very little Hibs games.

We all wish this year was more exciting and successful but there is glimmers of a decent team there. An inspired management choice and some decent recruitment and we will be on the up again. If Ron is getting the finances right and we get the team right who knows what could happen.

By most of us on here every week for over a year!!

As for glimmers of a decent team, I guess that's an optimistic take on things, just not one that many of us seem to share.

26-04-2022, 11:35 AM

I wouldn’t be looking to spend money on him. As you say, not done enough.

I don’t think we’ll take up options in him or Rocky and the loan for Scott will come to an end.

Allan and Wright won’t get new contracts. McGregor won’t be part of the squad even if still at the club I don’t think.

Think Porteous will be sold as we won’t want to lose him for free.

Think there will be a bit of wheeling and dealing to balance the squad out. For instance, we’ve got Doig, Mitchell, Stevenson all in the LWB area, plus Clarke who has been playing there. I also don’t think all of Newell, JDH or Campbell (most likely Campbell) will be with us when the window closes.

Think things will look a lot different come the start of next season.

26-04-2022, 12:03 PM
[/B]

There is an element of our support that will always hold the club back by being happy to accept average mediocre players and happy to just reach semi finals and occasionally finish in the top six.

You talk so much *****.

26-04-2022, 12:03 PM

26-04-2022, 12:09 PM
You talk so much *****.

He's got a point though.

We'd be stuck with Maloney for another 18 months if some of our fans got their way.

Read the thread. Plenty of fans are happy with us coasting along because they're scared of change.

Can't drop Stevenson because he's a club legend? That's nonsense. If we find someone better he absolutely should be replaced. That should apply to every single player at the club.

Instead, we make excuse after excuse for some of our squad when the reality is that they just are not good enough for where RG wants to take us.

More of our fans need to get with it and embrace the hunt for better instead of languishing around with the comfort blanket.

26-04-2022, 12:12 PM
He's got a point though.

We'd be stuck with Maloney for another 18 months if some of our fans got their way.

Read the thread. Plenty of fans are happy with us coasting along because they're scared of change.

Can't drop Stevenson because he's a club legend? That's nonsense. If we find someone better he absolutely should be replaced. That should apply to every single player at the club.

Instead, we make excuse after excuse for some of our squad when the reality is that they just are not good enough for where RG wants to take us.

More of our fans need to get with it and embrace the hunt for better instead of languishing around with the comfort blanket.

I won’t bother scanning the thread to check I’m correct - but surely not one person on this forum has said that Stevenson should still be playing if we find better than him?

26-04-2022, 12:17 PM
He's got a point though.

No he doesn't, and nobody has said they're happy to coast along.

That's just complete nonsense.

26-04-2022, 12:20 PM
He's got a point though.

Nobody has said you can’t drop Stevenson . He constantly gets dropped .

It’s these generic criticisms and calls of “fakers” that people get tired of and push back on .

Equally , there isn’t a single person on here calling for coasting along . We just don’t criticise every player with blanket insults . We understand that some are more than good enough to be part of any revolution .

Daily Hibs
26-04-2022, 12:22 PM
You talk so much *****.

The club and team need a shakeup. Anyone who thinks this is currently good enough needs to give themselves a shake.

Lets meander along with the same old nice guy players and appoint someone like Tommy Wright and be happy to finish 6th...

This next appointment could be real sliding doors moment for the club and if reports are true that it's Roy Keane then nobody can have a pop at Ron for delivering a shakeup.

Daily Hibs
26-04-2022, 12:23 PM
Nobody has said you can’t drop Stevenson . He constantly gets dropped .

It’s these generic criticisms and calls of “fakers” that people get tired of and push back on .

Equally , there isn’t a single person on here calling for coasting along . We just don’t criticise every player with blanket insults . We understand that some are more than good enough to be part of any revolution .
Who is currently good enough?

26-04-2022, 12:29 PM
No he doesn't, and nobody has said they're happy to coast along.

That's just complete nonsense.

We see it all the time. Read all the stuff before Maloney got sacked.

There were loads of fans saying to stick with him even though it wasn’t working. That was accepting crap and coasting along.

RG wants better. So do most of us. Maybe even all of us do?!

We just have different takes on how we will get there. Doesn’t make our thoughts nonsense in comparison to yours.

26-04-2022, 12:31 PM
Who is currently good enough?

Depends on what our targets are.

If we’re talking about finishing top 4, getting to the latter stages of cup competitions and winning the odd one then I’d suggest that players who’ve been there and done that are (unless their play has deteriorated - which over the next few years, it might) “good enough”.

Can we not start by improving the part of the team that is utter pish ie the attack?

If Charlie Nicholas had come out and said “any new manager needs to find a way to get this team scoring SIGNIFICANTLY more goals” then I might believe he’s actually watched us play lately.

Daily Hibs
26-04-2022, 12:31 PM
I won’t bother scanning the thread to check I’m correct - but surely not one person on this forum has said that Stevenson should still be playing if we find better than him?
You'd be surprised. He is honestly untouchable to some on here.

26-04-2022, 12:36 PM

Not on this thread but pick any one from the last 5 years where Stevenson is mentioned and there will be posts saying he shoudn’t be dropped.

Daily Hibs
26-04-2022, 12:37 PM
Depends on what our targets are.

If we’re talking about finishing top 4, getting to the latter stages of cup competitions and winning the odd one then I’d suggest that players who’ve been there and done that are (unless their play has deteriorated - which over the next few years, it might) “good enough”.

Can we not start by improving the part of the team that is utter pish ie the attack?
The nice guys that have finished in top six 6/7 times in 15 years at the club? I don't think they are good enough and that proves the point that we need better players because when we are average we don't make top 6 and these guys don't really improve the team that much, it's that mentality that has to change, we need better players than those that have been here for years as Charlie Nicholas quite rightly points out.

26-04-2022, 12:37 PM

Correct - I WILL be surprised if anyone has ever seriously claimed that Lewis Stevenson should still be playing if there is a better player to play instead of him.

26-04-2022, 12:45 PM
The nice guys that have finished in top six 6/7 times in 15 years at the club? I don't think they are good enough and that proves the point that we need better players because when we are average we don't make top 6 and these guys don't really improve the team that much, it's that mentality that has to change, we need better players than those that have been here for years as Charlie Nicholas quite rightly points out.

You could have arguably had a point if we were on the (relative) crest of a wave, they were the weakest players in our team and to “get better” they were first in line to be replaced, their team mates being better than them.

These players have finished top 6 when they’ve played with good players under good managers. They’ve finished bottom 6 when they’ve played with pish players under pish managers.Currently they’re playing with pish players and have lately been playing under a pish manager. Replace the pish players with good players, bring in a good manager and all of a sudden these guys are good enough again.

I’m perfectly happy for them to be replaced by better. It’s just not where I’d be prioritising any rebuild. Part of the reason we’ve failed this season is because we brought decent players in to compete with decent players in January, failing to fix the number one problem we had.

Daily Hibs
26-04-2022, 12:50 PM
You could have arguably had a point if we were on the (relative) crest of a wave, they were the weakest players in our team and to “get better” they were first in line to be replaced, their team mates being better than them.

These players have finished top 6 when they’ve played with good players under good managers. They’ve finished bottom 6 when they’ve played with pish players under pish managers.Currently they’re playing with pish players and have lately been playing under a pish manager. Replace the pish players with good players, bring in a good manager and all of a sudden these guys are good enough again.

I’m perfectly happy for them to be replaced by better. It’s just not where I’d be prioritising any rebuild. Part of the reason we’ve failed this season is because we brought decent players in to compete with decent players in January, failing to fix the number one problem we had.
So that means they are average players :aok:

Forgive me, but you have just repeated what I said :cb

26-04-2022, 12:57 PM
[/B]
So we shouldn't be looking to sign better players than what we have already???

There is an element of our support that will always hold the club back by being happy to accept average mediocre players and happy to just reach semi finals and occasionally finish in the top six.How can the support hold the club back?

26-04-2022, 12:59 PM
So that means they are average players :aok:

Forgive me, but you have just repeated what I said :cb

What they are, is relative to expectation.

If we're looking to get in about the top 2 and get further in Europe then they are average and we need better.

If we're looking to get back into the top 4 and go a step further in cup competitions may I suggest ditching Maloneyball, Kevin Nisbet, James Scott, Drey Wright and replacing them with either good or average players?

Once we're there then we can focus on replacing the average.

In spite of everything, we got to a semi final and lost by a goal and were edged out of the top six on the last day whilst still very much in with a shout of 4th.

We need to be clinical about who we lose and who we bring in but wholesale changes are not needed.

Talk of needing a clear out is lazy pish imo.

26-04-2022, 01:13 PM
Lewìs said in an interview that he realises he's nearing the end of his career and has been mentoring Doig, he like Daz are doing their badges and will be assets behind the scenes coaching, Daz was on the bench on Saturday doing just that helping Gray.

26-04-2022, 01:19 PM
How can the support hold the club back?

Thanks for asking that. I am a bit worried that something I am doing is stopping us getting in to Europe.

26-04-2022, 01:26 PM
Are you guys just being awkward??

:confused::confused:

Paulie Walnuts
26-04-2022, 01:27 PM
Are you guys just being awkward??

:confused::confused:

Regardless of how he’s come to his conclusion, what he said isn’t far wrong, even if it was total baseless guess as most seem to think.

Our squad needs some serious work in the summer with a lot of players departing and a good amount coming in.

26-04-2022, 01:39 PM

Why are you making stuff up ???

… not one single person on any thread has suggested that Stevenson shouldn’t be replaced if we find someone better or that he is untouchable . I challenge you to give one example of that .

It is your constant criticism through often slanted exaggerated points that frankly undermine anything you may say that may have some interesting elements to it .

26-04-2022, 01:42 PM
Regardless of how he’s come to his conclusion, what he said isn’t far wrong, even if it was total baseless guess as most seem to think.

Our squad needs some serious work in the summer with a lot of players departing and a good amount coming in.

:top marksI thought this was one simple fact that we could all agree on.

We can all argue about Keane until we're blue in the face!!

26-04-2022, 01:44 PM
Why are you making stuff up ???

… not one single person on any thread has suggested that Stevenson shouldn’t be replaced if we find someone better or that he is untouchable . I challenge you to give one example of that .

It is your constant criticism through often slanted exaggerated points that frankly undermine anything you may say that may have some interesting elements to it .

We've heard this repeatedly for years.

Maybe not word for word like you're wanting, but it's definitely been there.

Same with Hanlon.

Nobody is hating on them by the way, but geezo, are we still saying there is nobody better out there?

Let's at least have a look around, we might surprise ourselves?

26-04-2022, 01:45 PM
:top marksI thought this was one simple fact that we could all agree on.

We can all argue about Keane until we're blue in the face!!

I’d agreed with that …we certainly need a significant improvement in squad and performance for next year , whoever is the manager …

26-04-2022, 01:52 PM
I’d agreed with that …we certainly need a significant improvement in squad and performance for next year , whoever is the manager …

We do, but I think it's our old favourite "quality over quantity".

We're needing 3 or 4 players to come in and be starters, our best players. It's a big ask, but not unrealistic.

What I don't accept is that we've got 8 or 9 duffers in the team, plus more, who need cleared out, and who average players would be an upgrade on.

Serious deficiencies need to be addressed.

Biggest problem we've probably got is that we're surely going to lose Porto too, and he'll take a bit of replacing.

26-04-2022, 01:52 PM
We've heard this repeatedly for years.

Maybe not word for word like you're wanting, but it's definitely been there.

Same with Hanlon.

Nobody is hating on them by the way, but geezo, are we still saying there is nobody better out there?

Let's at least have a look around, we might surprise ourselves?

..it is simply untrue . Nobody has ever said they are irreplaceable or undroppable… A few posters (perhaps yourself ??) constantly criticise them by stating they are not good enough or past it. The players have regularly , this season even, shown that is not the case . Yet rather than give a balanced opinion , some posters are twisting it into some sort of untouchable status . no one ever , has said they are untouchable or should never be dropped .. zero people have said that .. even their biggest fans have explicitly stated that if we get someone better then they should be dropped .

Daily Hibs
26-04-2022, 01:59 PM
..it is simply untrue . Nobody has ever said they are irreplaceable or undroppable… A few posters (perhaps yourself ??) constantly criticise them by stating they are not good enough or past it. The players have regularly , this season even, shown that is not the case . Yet rather than give a balanced opinion , some posters are twisting it into some sort of untouchable status . no one ever , has said they are untouchable or should never be dropped .. zero people have said that .. even their biggest fans have explicitly stated that if we get someone better then they should be dropped .

They have been so good this season that we are in the bottom six. Imagine how bad we'd have been without them? We were also knocked out the Scottish Cup after facing the first decent side after a series of good draws.

They need replaced and CN knows it.

26-04-2022, 02:10 PM
They have been so good this season that we are in the bottom six. Imagine how bad we'd have been without them? We were also knocked out the Scottish Cup after facing the first decent side after a series of good draws.

What a slanted set of points you make …Trying to pin underperformance on two players, rather than the collective performances of all involved , including the owners …ignoring Motherwell away in the cup because it doesn’t fit your despairing narrative.

keep shouting your generic criticisms - it constantly makes you look more manic on here …

One thing I know - we would have been a lot worse off this season without Stevenson and Hanlon . Anyone with a set of unbiased eyes would have seen that ..

26-04-2022, 02:12 PM
Hearts, like us have had awful injuries this season

Hearts, unlike us recruited well in the last two windows and have had able deputies

We need reinforcements. A major overhaul? Not for me

Guys like Hanlon, Doidge, Lewy would be useful squad players for next season albeit preferably not all as starters at the same time

Hibiza
26-04-2022, 02:12 PM
Nicholas was another we lost out to Aberdeen on , unfortunately.

26-04-2022, 02:14 PM

I disagree about the cup draw. Banana skins against league one and championship leaders then away tie to Motherwell. If Hibs were so pish as being said we could have lost any of them

Daily Hibs
26-04-2022, 02:14 PM
What a slanted set of points you make …Trying to pin underperformance on two players, rather than the collective performances of all involved , including the owners …ignoring Motherwell away in the cup because it doesn’t fit your despairing narrative.

keep shouting your generic criticisms - it constantly makes you look more manic on here …

One thing I know - we would have been a lot worse off this season without Stevenson and Hanlon . Anyone with a set of unbiased eyes would have seen that ..
Motherwell away in the cup? We played against 10 men for 88 minutes.

26-04-2022, 02:16 PM

Motherwell away is always a tough game. Your relentless I will give you that. We missed top 6 by a couple of points we have got into a final and semi final this season so not as cataclysmic as you would like to make out. Your ridiculous pilloring of two of our best servants is brutal patter. Lewis was the best player on the pitch in the semi final.

Hillsidehibby
26-04-2022, 02:18 PM
Nicholas was another we lost out to Aberdeen on , unfortunately.
While he didn’t do much at Aberdeen he always scored against us the twat.

26-04-2022, 02:19 PM
Motherwell away in the cup? We played against 10 men for 88 minutes.

That’s your response ? Aye, ignore the other points too …go and keep finding more things to criticise the team on - I’ll engage with others who can criticise and understand positives in a less agenda driven way than you .

26-04-2022, 02:46 PM
FFS, so Charlie (Sockless) Nick says, and gets paid for saying what a good few of us have been saying for the past couple of years, we need real investment on some quality players.
Hardly a shock and for sure it aint news.
:cb

26-04-2022, 02:55 PM
Hanlon and Stevenson should be replaced by better. We haven’t had better to replace them in the last 10 years, and they are never seen as being the main part of the squad needing replaced by the last 5/6 managers. Eventually they will be replaced. The have been 2 of our most consistent players over the last 10 years and that’s why they are here and haven’t been replaced earlier.

26-04-2022, 02:57 PM
Motherwell away is always a tough game. Your relentless I will give you that. We missed top 6 by a couple of points we have got into a final and semi final this season so not as cataclysmic as you would like to make out. Your ridiculous pilloring of two of our best servants is brutal patter. Lewis was the best player on the pitch in the semi final.

.. and is in this week's SPFL team of the week.

loanheadhibby
26-04-2022, 03:00 PM

Whatever we think of CN he is pretty much spot on.
Our squad is awful and the new manager has a huge job on his hands.
Exciting times ahead hopefully if we back the new guy.

loanheadhibby
26-04-2022, 03:04 PM
He was our best player.
I'm not having a go at Lewis but other than playing a big part in our goal his display was exaggerated.
That said he had a very good game without being fantastic as was stated in here.
This is a fans forum and we are all entitled to our opinion.
Glorifying Stevensonm Hanlon, Doidge and Newell has got us nowhere this season.

26-04-2022, 03:15 PM
.. and is in this week's SPFL team of the week.

Yep. Just spotted that. He’s the reason we are bottom 6 though. 😂

26-04-2022, 03:20 PM
Whatever we think of CN he is pretty much spot on.
Our squad is awful and the new manager has a huge job on his hands.
Exciting times ahead hopefully if we back the new guy.
Nonsense. You think Ross County, Motherwell and Dundee United wouldn't want any of our players? You know, three teams that did finish top 6? We may not be performing as we should have been but general sweeping statements like that don't help your argument.

26-04-2022, 03:31 PM
He was our best player.
I'm not having a go at Lewis but other than playing a big part in our goal his display was exaggerated.
That said he had a very good game without being fantastic as was stated in here.

I don't think glorifying anyone is why we've underachieved this season.

FWIW I think you're onto something with Doidge and Newell - if they're both to stay then we need to see more from both of them.

Hanlon had a ropey few weeks there when he came back from injury but has had a generally solid season, as usual.

If we could anything like the same out of Stevenson next season as we have this season then that would be a revelation.

There are a few people that we either need more out of or rid of before we get to Stevenson and Hanlon - if you want me to name names then Nisbet, Doidge, Magennis, Mueller, Jasper, JDH, Newell. Arguably Henderson has only picked up over the past few weeks.

26-04-2022, 03:58 PM

That sentence right there is perfect, just perfect.

Hero76
26-04-2022, 04:36 PM
Brilliant article , get rid of them all bar a few.

26-04-2022, 04:41 PM
Nonsense. You think Ross County, Motherwell and Dundee United wouldn't want any of our players? You know, three teams that did finish top 6? We may not be performing as we should have been but general sweeping statements like that don't help your argument.

This is who we're now comparing ourselves against??

Thankfully RG, and most of us, set our sights way higher.

26-04-2022, 05:10 PM
This is who we're now comparing ourselves against??

Thankfully RG, and most of us, set our sights way higher.

Of course not, stop being ridiculous. I was referring to the poster stating we had an awful squad which we don't. It needs to improve generally but even now it's not awful.

26-04-2022, 05:22 PM
Of course not, stop being ridiculous. I was referring to the poster stating we had an awful squad which we don't. It needs to improve generally but even now it's not awful.

I'm worried that we have a board who care a lot about these hysterical drama queens who's answer to every bad spell is a mass clear out (or starting Scott Allan every week of course).

Hearts are clear in 3rd because they have a sprinkling more quality in key positions. Most of their squad is of a similar standard to the rest of the league outside Celtic and Rangers. How unrealistic are people that they genuinely think we should have a full squad of players who are much better than the current ones?

Yes, we'd all love it if we had 20 top class players but realistically we have mainly decent players with 4 or 5 difference makers. Plenty of this squad are good enough to be here.

26-04-2022, 05:23 PM
Do you think Charlie has even watched a Hibs game this year?

This in spades mate and something that utterly gets on my tits. The papers and TV are awash with Scottish ex pros who like Nicholas kicked their last ball in Scotland when they were about 21 with a cast iron guarantee that the last Scottish game any one of them even attended in person was at Ibrox or Celtic park with a 100/1 shot that it was against anybody other than a European opponent or a Glasgow derby. Talk sport was and probably still is the main culprit for that with the likes of Alan Brazil pontificating at length about how dire Scottish football and Scottish clubs like Hibs are without ever having kicked a ball here as a professional and probably without ever having set foot inside a non Glasgow stadium.

Don't get me wrong, we have plenty ex career long SPFL players just as capable of talking bollox about our game and clubs, but at least they can say they actually played more than a handful of games in our league and have probably seen a game between the likes of St Mirren and Motherwell or Hibs and Dundee United in the last 20 years.

Nicholas and all the other tits like him can kiss my arse :aok:

h1bs4life
26-04-2022, 05:45 PM

You are wasting your time , no one is allowed to criticise Hanlon and Stevenson people on here take offence as if you are saying something about a family member.
Said after last years cup final both should be moved on and hear we are a year later yet another cup semi final defeat to Hearts and another 2 managers to add to there long list of being part of squads that got managers sacked .
Add in 2 relegations 4 years in the lower leagues , worst derby and European results in our history definite great role models.
Both cup winning legends but that’s it.
Before semi final few Hertz supporters in my work in the same way that we were delighted they had Cathro they were delighted we had Maloney but the biggest bonus to them was that we still had Hanlon and Stevenson playing for us .

26-04-2022, 05:49 PM
I'm worried that we have a board who care a lot about these hysterical drama queens who's answer to every bad spell is a mass clear out (or starting Scott Allan every week of course).

Hearts are clear in 3rd because they have a sprinkling more quality in key positions. Most of their squad is of a similar standard to the rest of the league outside Celtic and Rangers. How unrealistic are people that they genuinely think we should have a full squad of players who are much better than the current ones?

Yes, we'd all love it if we had 20 top class players but realistically we have mainly decent players with 4 or 5 difference makers. Plenty of this squad are good enough to be here.
:agree: Can't disagree with much of that mate.

loanheadhibby
26-04-2022, 06:40 PM
I find it hard to believe that you don't think our squad is awful.
I'm finding it hard to name more than 4-5 players who would be any loss if they left.
Hopefully the new manager feels the same.

26-04-2022, 07:35 PM
Another tiresome Celtic blow hard sticking the boot into Hibs.

Just a load of bluster from Charlie with no real constructive solution on a club he knows little, or cares much about. Just a word count to help fill a page/column.

Fixed that for you. I'm sorry Maloney was bored but the queue of Celtic-minded folk lining up to knock us is tiresome.

LewysGot2
26-04-2022, 07:41 PM
Fixed that for you. I'm sorry Maloney was bored but the queue of Celtic-minded folk lining up to knock us is tiresome.
Been a common occurrence since we punted Lennon…

26-04-2022, 08:09 PM
You are wasting your time , no one is allowed to criticise Hanlon and Stevenson people on here take offence as if you are saying something about a family member.
Said after last years cup final both should be moved on and hear we are a year later yet another cup semi final defeat to Hearts and another 2 managers to add to there long list of being part of squads that got managers sacked .
Add in 2 relegations 4 years in the lower leagues , worst derby and European results in our history definite great role models.
Before semi final few Hertz supporters in my work in the same way that we were delighted they had Cathro they were delighted we had Maloney but the biggest bonus to them was that we still had Hanlon and Stevenson playing for us .Two relegations? There is an Edinburgh team that's been relegated twice during Hanlon and Stevenson's careers, but it's not Hibs.

26-04-2022, 08:26 PM
Two relegations? There is an Edinburgh team that's been relegated twice during Hanlon and Stevenson's careers, but it's not Hibs.

Some people are so determined to slate their own that they’ll make **** up to try to emphasise their point.

Hibs have been poor this season. All over the park. Again though, we’re right up there with the clean sheets. Only Celtc (19) and Rangers (14), have had more than us (13) this season. But when you make that point, all you’ll get in response is “but but but the cup games…the big games…they’re the constant in our bad seasons”. It’s a load of *****. New manager will come in. Hanlon will play every week…again. Stevenson will do a job when called upon…again. The same posters will post how they’re still right and they know best, 5/6 years in a row with the same bollocks that Hanlon and Lewis are crap.

Soldiersteve
26-04-2022, 08:35 PM

26-04-2022, 09:31 PM
Before semi final few Hertz supporters in my work in the same way that we were delighted they had Cathro they were delighted we had Maloney but the biggest bonus to them was that we still had Hanlon and Stevenson playing for us .

Hanlon and Stevenson might be old, but I'm pretty sure they weren't playing when Hearts put 10 past us.

26-04-2022, 09:34 PM
Stevenson was easily our best player in the semi final a few weeks ago and has just made it into the SPFL team of the week this week.

26-04-2022, 09:50 PM

It may be a surprise to you but we spent three seasons in the lower league not four.

cameronw-hfc
26-04-2022, 10:16 PM

This is without a doubt the funniest, least informed post I've seen on here all year. You've actually tried to quote simple stats and got them both wrong😂.

If you're going to argue a moot point, at least attempt to get your facts right when doing so otherwise you don't just look silly, you look clueless and silly, and your point now has absolutely 0 credibility because you evidently don't know what you're talking about.

27-04-2022, 08:21 AM

Do we really need this self-pitying drivel?

Both Hanlon and Stevenson have proved themselves to 10 different managers now… obviously they are now nearer the end of their careers, but doesn’t that tell you something?

WestStandWillie
27-04-2022, 11:28 AM

Surprised you're allowed out Carstairs. What a load of old tosh.

27-04-2022, 12:40 PM
Two relegations? There is an Edinburgh team that's been relegated twice during Hanlon and Stevenson's careers, but it's not Hibs.

Boy is probably better acquainted with Hearts record rather than Hibs

Daily Hibs
27-04-2022, 12:48 PM
Boy is probably better acquainted with Hearts record rather than Hibs
Why are you trolling him with who he supports?

He is spot on in what he says.

27-04-2022, 12:50 PM

There are at least 3 mistakes in that one post which suggests he hasn't thought through our recent history.

Daily Hibs
27-04-2022, 12:52 PM

Agree with everything you say.

Opposition teams are delighted when they are facing Lewy and Stevenson, I remember thinking at the 6-1 game at Ibrox under Hecky that Hanlon was past it as he was too slow, that was 2019!

27-04-2022, 12:54 PM

Everything? Including blaming them for a relegation that happened when Stevenson was 10 and Hanlon was 8?

Daily Hibs
27-04-2022, 12:56 PM
There are at least 3 mistakes in that one post which suggests he hasn't thought through our recent history.

It's difficult to argue with the sentiment of the post.

Doesn't need trolled for stating what a growing number of us are saying and echoed by Charlie Nicholas.

Daily Hibs
27-04-2022, 12:57 PM
Everything? Including blaming them for a relegation that happened when Stevenson was 10 and Hanlon was 8?
Yes, I agree with the sentiment of the post.

27-04-2022, 12:58 PM
It's difficult to argue with the sentiment of the post.

Doesn't need trolled for stating what a growing number of us are saying and echoed by Charlie Nicholas.

So facts are irrelevant when forming an opinion?

27-04-2022, 01:01 PM

Opposition teams are delighted when they are facing Lewy and Stevenson, I remember thinking at the 6-1 game at Ibrox under Hecky that Hanlon was past it as he was too slow, that was 2019!

Point out any recent or historic glaring errors that Stevenson has made that led to the opposition scoring, here's a wee hand for you, Doig, McGinn, Porto and Hanlon have made many more but look forward to your forensic response about Stevenson

Daily Hibs
27-04-2022, 01:02 PM
So facts are irrelevant when forming an opinion?

The biggest fact is that they have now been with us for far too long.

If you were to be cynical about it you could say thats because no other club has wanted them.

27-04-2022, 01:05 PM

If you were to be cynical about it you could say thats because no other club has wanted them.

Except it has been discussed and pointed out a number of times that other teams have been after them, including aberdeen and motherwell.

Daily Hibs
27-04-2022, 01:07 PM
Point out any recent or historic glaring errors that Stevenson has made that led to the opposition scoring, here's a wee hand for you, Doig, McGinn, Porto and Hanlon have made many more but look forward to your forensic response about Stevenson
Tynecastle May 2018 under Lennon when we were chasing 2nd place. Lewy fails to clear his lines and Lafferty nicks in to put hearts 1-0 up. Same game, Lewy loses his man Naismith at a free kick and allows Naismith to score a header.

If you remember Lennon had a rant after the game. I believe that his frustration was from Lewys mistakes.

27-04-2022, 01:11 PM
Tynecastle May 2018 under Lennon when we were chasing 2nd place. Lewy fails to clear his lines and Lafferty nicks in to put hearts 1-0 up. Same game, Lewy loses his man Naismith at a free kick and allows Naismith to score a header.

If you remember Lennon had a rant after the game. I believe that his frustration was from Lewys mistakes.

funny that you remember an error he allegedly made 4 years against Hearts, explains a lot

27-04-2022, 01:13 PM

That's an opinion, not a fact.

Daily Hibs
27-04-2022, 01:14 PM
funny that you remember an error he allegedly made 4 years against Hearts, explains a lot
We should have finished 2nd that season! Of course I remember that game.

Lewis should have booted the ball anywhere out for a corner but froze.

27-04-2022, 01:16 PM
We should have finished 2nd that season! Of course I remember that game.

Of course that's the reason, guys played almost 600 games for Hibs and you bring up mistakes he's supposed to have made 4 years ago, incidentally he wouldn't have been playing so much this year but injuries to Doig, Mitchell and Clarke as well as a whole bunch of midfielders have meant he's had to step in and play more regularly and not once has he let us down

Daily Hibs
27-04-2022, 01:18 PM
Of course that's the reason, guys played almost 600 games for Hibs and you bring up mistakes he's supposed to have made 4 years ago, incidentally he wouldn't have been playing so much this year but injuries to Doig, Mitchell and Clarke as well as a whole bunch of midfielders have meant he's had to step in and play more regularly and not once has he let us down
Simply answering your question :aok:

sunshinejim
27-04-2022, 01:38 PM

Only Hibernian player to win both the League Cup and the Scottish Cup. Man of the Match when winning the League Cup Final in 2007. Fantastic player for Hibernian.

27-04-2022, 02:18 PM

Spot on apart from three or four blatant mistakes any Hibs fan would know. Don't care whether you and he support Hearts.

loanheadhibby
27-04-2022, 02:21 PM

Allegedly? Surely Fact.
I am in the camp both have been at Easter Road but Lewis has had a very good season in trying circumstances.
If both Lewis and Paul Hanlon start for us next season I fear we are in for another mediocre season.

27-04-2022, 02:32 PM
I've not even read the article and don't intend to. What Nicholas knows about Hibs could be written on the back of a postage stamp and hence his opinion carries no weight whatsoever. That he would blame everything on the Hibs players in defence of his old teammate's attemps at management is no surprise at all and the numpties agreeing with him that we should empty our entire squad should give themselves a shake.

Daily Hibs
27-04-2022, 02:33 PM
Spot on apart from three or four blatant mistakes any Hibs fan would know. Don't care whether you and he support Hearts.
Ah, the classic comfort blanket of: you're a Hearts fan because I don't like your opinion and what you post. Which in itself is trolling another poster.

27-04-2022, 02:46 PM

That is not a fact. Where does it state when a player must leave a club?

27-04-2022, 02:47 PM
He was our best player.
As has berating those same players, they are somewhere between being the poor players as some on here have alluded and being better than average players. You are right though, you are entitled to your opinion as are others and our previous managers who continued to pick those players

Daily Hibs
27-04-2022, 02:49 PM
That is not a fact. Where does it state when a player must leave a club?
The league table?

27-04-2022, 02:52 PM
The league table?

Genius logic

So basically, 1 bad season and out? If that is all you're basing it on.

27-04-2022, 02:54 PM
The league table?

Not at all, it is dictated by whether another club comes in and offers a contract and price suitable to Hibernian and the player or whether Hibernian decide to renew a player’s contract. If the first happens the player leaves, if the second doesn’t happen then the player leaves.

h1bs4life
27-04-2022, 02:55 PM
It may be a surprise to you but we spent three seasons in the lower league not four.

Apologies to Hanlon and Stevenson just the 1 relegation and 3 years in the lower leagues felt like more , still part of the squads that have got numerous managers sacked .
Part of the squad worst Derby result and European result in our history and numerous Derby games . Apparently being the best loser in a semi final is an honour.
At least this year the captain wasn't all over the press telling everyone he had told youngsters it is just another game.
The amount of upset it causes people because you dare critcise Hanlon and Stevenson is embarrassing .
Both should have been moved on a few years ago , this season was the ideal chance to say thanks for your service time to move on but good old Jack Ross thought it was a good idea to give out new contracts before the end of the year.
What did he think was going to happen there would be a rush of teams trying to sign them . Never happened before.

27-04-2022, 03:00 PM
Apologies to Hanlon and Stevenson just the 1 relegation and 3 years in the lower leagues felt like more , still part of the squads that have got numerous managers sacked .
Part of the squad worst Derby result and European result in our history and numerous Derby games . Apparently being the best loser in a semi final is an honour.
At least this year the captain wasn't all over the press telling everyone he had told youngsters it is just another game.
The amount of upset it causes people because you dare critcise Hanlon and Stevenson is embarrassing .
Both should have been moved on a few years ago , this season was the ideal chance to say thanks for your service time to move on but good old Jack Ross thought it was a good idea to give out new contracts before the end of the year.
What did he think was going to happen there would be a rush of teams trying to sign them . Never happened before.

Still nope :greengrin

27-04-2022, 03:02 PM

Can you change your username to monthly or annual Hibs please?

Reading this drivel every day is too much.

Daily Hibs
27-04-2022, 03:06 PM

Well put.

Daily Hibs
27-04-2022, 03:07 PM
Can you change your username to monthly or annual Hibs please?

Reading this drivel every day is too much.
Nope.

Daily Hibs
27-04-2022, 03:09 PM
Genius logic

So basically, 1 bad season and out? If that is all you're basic it on.
They have finished in top six 6 and 7 times out of 15 and 16 seasons at Hibs.

Not that great a record.

27-04-2022, 03:11 PM

This is drivel too. Please stop.

Daily Hibs
27-04-2022, 03:14 PM
It's not, it's his opinion which I and many others (who don't post on here) agree with.

It's a bit arogant of you to ask another poster to change their username and also ask another poster to stop posting his opinion on a FANS Forum.

27-04-2022, 03:24 PM
They have finished in top six 6 and 7 times out of 15 and 16 seasons at Hibs.

Not that great a record.

So they are to blame for that are they? They've been good players in good teams, and good players in bad teams. Hanlon and stevenson aren't the issue.

27-04-2022, 03:28 PM
It's not, it's his opinion which I and many others (who don't post on here) agree with.

It's a bit arogant of you to ask another poster to change their username and also ask another poster to stop posting his opinion on a FANS Forum.

It’s much more arrogant to assume your opinion carries more weight than the collective view of 10 football managers, no?

Rumble de Thump
27-04-2022, 03:32 PM

It's a Hibs fans forum.

27-04-2022, 03:50 PM

I want to know which .netter bought a ticket for the Hearts raffle and won him as a prize.....

27-04-2022, 03:58 PM
Forgetting the utterly tiresome and repetitive nonsense about Stevenson and Hanlon, the thread was originally about Charlie N's comments about our squad. Charlie would come out 2nd in a debate with a Budgie and I doubt if he knows more than 2 or 3 of our players. Here's a rough summary of the composition of our squad.
1. 6 full internationalists
2. About a dozen under age internationalists from about 5 different countries.
3. 5 young players on loan, 4 from English tier 1 and 2 clubs and 1 from Scottish Champs elect.
4. A few players from English, mostly lower leagues.
I would suggest every Scottish Club outside the uglies would be delighted with the quality of the squad we have available, when they are all available!!

27-04-2022, 04:05 PM
Forgetting the utterly tiresome and repetitive nonsense about Stevenson and Hanlon, the thread was originally about Charlie N's comments about our squad. Charlie would come out 2nd in a debate with a Budgie and I doubt if he knows more than 2 or 3 of our players. Here's a rough summary of the composition of our squad.
1. 6 full internationalists
2. About a dozen under age internationalists from about 5 different countries.
3. 5 young players on loan, 4 from English tier 1 and 2 clubs and 1 from Scottish Champs elect.
4. A few players from English, mostly lower leagues.
I would suggest every Scottish Club outside the uglies would be delighted with the quality of the squad we have available, when they are all available!!

Agree! we need to bulk out our squad, shift on the 7 or 8 that will be out of contract/loan expiring and replace with better (including one or two marquee signings) and we'll be right back in the mix for top 4 next season

27-04-2022, 04:57 PM
Ah, the classic comfort blanket of: you're a Hearts fan because I don't like your opinion and what you post. Which in itself is trolling another poster.

Dont know any Hibs fan that has so much dislike for two of our best servants. Seems bizarre behaviour to be honest.

Bridge hibs
27-04-2022, 05:33 PM

Opposition teams are delighted when they are facing Lewy and Stevenson, I remember thinking at the 6-1 game at Ibrox under Hecky that Hanlon was past it as he was too slow, that was 2019!Lewy and Stevenson, that good they named him twice, glad you have seen the light 🤣

27-04-2022, 05:40 PM
Dont know any Hibs fan that has so much dislike for two of our best servants. Seems bizarre behaviour to be honest.

The poster is obsessed.

27-04-2022, 06:09 PM

The fans forum equivalent of “I’ve got a girlfriend, you won’t know her, she goes to another school”

27-04-2022, 06:12 PM
I want to know which .netter bought a ticket for the Hearts raffle and won him as a prize.....

27-04-2022, 06:18 PM
I strongly disagree with the posters opinion and how he is presenting it, but as usual the personal stuff is totally uncalled for. Really pathetic.

27-04-2022, 06:46 PM
It's a Hibs fans forum.

Nothing to stop fans of other clubs posting on here.

Providing they're not trolling.

h1bs4life
27-04-2022, 07:36 PM

Some great points you have made certainly adds to any debate on a fans forum

27-04-2022, 07:43 PM
I strongly disagree with the posters opinion and how he is presenting it, but as usual the personal stuff is totally uncalled for. Really pathetic.

h1bs4life
28-04-2022, 06:39 AM

Brilliant did you think all that up yourself or did somebody help you possibly an adult
A Hearts raffle prize wow

Daily Hibs
28-04-2022, 07:21 AM
Are you proficient at touch-typing? Just it must be awkward to see what keys you’re pressing with your head so far up hibs 4 life’s arse.
Ah, so you disagree with the opinion so revert to the petty insults. Standard behaviour that I mentioned to @mattyf on the media thread.

It's as if folk who disagree with any opinion that's unflattering regarding these two that they will pull out the insults to attempt to get the thread closed.

Daily Hibs
28-04-2022, 07:24 AM
The poster is obsessed.
Not obsessed, it's my opinion so I'm obviously going to stick to it :aok:

We stick with Lewy and Hanlon, we are likely bottom six again.

28-04-2022, 07:43 AM
Not obsessed, it's my opinion so I'm obviously going to stick to it :aok:

We stick with Lewy and Hanlon, we are likely bottom six again.

Even though we were third last season with them.

the_ginger_hibee
28-04-2022, 08:04 AM

Well said.

If people disagree, say their opinion or don't & ignore. Why the constant personal digs and resorting to calling folk non-Hibs supporters? That's what's tiresome on here - not the different opinions.

If people want an echo chamber of same-sies opinions, why go on a fans forum at all?!

28-04-2022, 08:13 AM
Looks like this one has run its course.