View Full Version : Roy Kean as new manager of Hibs?

24-04-2022, 01:44 PM
As the heading says someone was asking for a poll, so we now have one.

24-04-2022, 01:49 PM
Can’t vote on the phone but would be delighted with Keane, Brown and Gray. Would take Keane in any format though. Keane and Gray with John Collins as DOF would give me the real horn.

24-04-2022, 01:50 PM
God no. Would be an utter disaster.

OldEast
24-04-2022, 01:51 PM
Can’t vote on the phone but would be delighted with Keane, Brown and Gray. Would take Keane in any format though. Keane and Gray with John Collins as DOF would give me the real horn.

At the bottom of the page change to default style. Vote then swap back again.

24-04-2022, 01:52 PM
I presume you mean Roy Keane. I can't vote as there isn't a not a f***ing chance button. He last managed a club 11 years ago from what I can see and wasn't very good then

24-04-2022, 01:53 PM
No thanks option?

24-04-2022, 01:58 PM
Said yes with SDG, but largely because I can't think of anyone sensible.

Box 17
24-04-2022, 01:59 PM
'Roy Kean as new Hibs Manager-Yes or No'

Where's the 'No' option?

24-04-2022, 02:06 PM
Yes or no? Without a no option:confused:

vercol36
24-04-2022, 02:07 PM

Where's the 'No' option?

This is Hibs.net's version of a Russian election

#2 Double Tap
24-04-2022, 02:09 PM
Yes or no? Without a no option:confused:

anyone with half a brain knows that NO is not an option, its yes, who with and when does he start.

24-04-2022, 02:15 PM

Where's the 'No' option?

Who is Roy Kean? 👀😂

24-04-2022, 02:17 PM
Just NO NO NO!

24-04-2022, 02:18 PM
The heading says yes or no but there is only a yes option in various guises without a no option. For the record I am in the please god no camp.:greengrin

24-04-2022, 02:21 PM
The heading says yes or no but there is only a yes option in various guises without a no option. For the record I am in the please god no camp.:greengrin

You'll need to start a poll with the options - no, please god no, I'm chucking my season ticket if he gets it and I'd rather have my baws clamped in a vice than him get the job.

24-04-2022, 02:23 PM
Just NO NO NO!

24-04-2022, 02:23 PM
This is the most ridiculous attempt at a poll I've ever seen. :hilarious

on-the-level
24-04-2022, 02:32 PM
Simple yes or no
I still can't vote
I would vote YES
I'm sure RMK could choose who he
trusted/wanted as assistant/coach/s

hibby rae
24-04-2022, 02:36 PM

I think we'll be getting a North Korean election result here hahaha

24-04-2022, 02:46 PM
Fantasy football. :confused:

24-04-2022, 03:05 PM
Aye go on then. Club is drifting aimlessly and desperately needs a stick of dynamite shoved up its arse

24-04-2022, 03:07 PM
Who is Roy Kean? 👀😂

Sorry thats my bad, bloody dylexia, but of course it is Roy Keane, as others have rightly pointed out no where on this poll is the "No" button. Never thought for a min we would need a no button.

Inconsequential
24-04-2022, 03:09 PM
I think Steve Keane should step up and be manager. Roy Kean could become his assistant with the plan to eventually succeed Steve Keane as manager. Unless Roy Kean wants to be the manager in his own right. This is me spelling it out. :wink:

24-04-2022, 03:11 PM
I think Steve Keane should step up and be manager. Roy Kean could become his assistant with the plan to eventually succeed Steve Keane as manager. Unless Roy Kean wants to be the manager in his own right. This is me spelling it out. :wink:

Hilarious, and so very clever well done to you. (Note the previous post, thanks)

Inconsequential
24-04-2022, 03:16 PM
Hilarious, and so very clever well done to you. (Note the previous post, thanks)

:greengrin Oh gee, thanks so much. The grumpy old man has spoken. Thanks so much for your input. Why bother? 5 points to you. You fell for it hook ,line and sinker. Ever thought you've been had? ������

24-04-2022, 03:25 PM
Oh gee, thanks so much. The grumpy old man has spoken. Thanks so much for your input. Why bother? 5 points to you. You fell for it hook ,line and sinker. Ever thought you've been had? ������

Almost lost for words, you are so bright and clever, think I will just go stand in the corner for a wee while, nice of you to take the time and effort though!

24-04-2022, 03:25 PM
Oh gee, thanks so much. The grumpy old man has spoken. Thanks so much for your input. Why bother? 5 points to you. You fell for it hook ,line and sinker. Ever thought you've been had? ������

I think he used a smiley to show he had taken it in good spirit.

Who's the grumpy man now?

24-04-2022, 03:30 PM
Would definitely be an interesting appointment and one that you never know it could work if he had a few Hibs men beside him.

But it's a no from me, no doubt would end in tears.

24-04-2022, 04:14 PM
I have just heard that Roy Keane is having second thoughts about Hibs, apparently peed off with the fact that some numpty Hibs supporter cannie even get his name correct, aah well.

24-04-2022, 04:18 PM
That's some poll ... who knew Kim Jong - un was even a Hibby, never mind that he posts on here :greengrin

OldEast
24-04-2022, 04:23 PM
I have just heard that Roy Keane is having second thoughts about Hibs, apparently peed off with the fact that some numpty Hibs supporter cannie even get his name correct, aah well.

Jesus does he not know that's all part of being at Hibs, McGinnes, MacGennis, Nesbit, Newall, Shawn, Kensall, Kinsall, seen them all and more.

Not So Young
24-04-2022, 04:28 PM
Even if it was possible I'm a NO

24-04-2022, 04:30 PM
No keen. On Keane ken.

FRes Hibbie
24-04-2022, 04:37 PM
I’d rather have this poll as manager.

Chorley Hibee
24-04-2022, 04:42 PM
I’d rather have this poll as manager.

Polish, I thought he was Irish?

24-04-2022, 06:18 PM
Roy Cropper would be a better option.

24-04-2022, 06:19 PM

Roy Race too …better record , top quality player manager ….

24-04-2022, 06:29 PM
Not fir me

24-04-2022, 06:30 PM
Polish, I thought he was Irish?

Based on how long he's been out of management, I'd say he's Finished.

24-04-2022, 06:43 PM

Steve Cropper was a better player

The Wireless
24-04-2022, 07:27 PM
Absolutely box office
get keane
nothing to lose

Mike Berry
24-04-2022, 07:55 PM
Steve Cropper was a better player

👍

24-04-2022, 08:50 PM
Steve Mcdonald as assistant.

Didn't see the football on sky today, was Roy Keane a pundit today.

24-04-2022, 08:50 PM
Absolutely box office
get keane
nothing to lose

Except football matches.

loanheadhibby
24-04-2022, 09:58 PM

Why?
He would quickly see your favourites like Hanlon, Doidge and Newell.

24-04-2022, 10:04 PM
Jesus does he not know that's all part of being at Hibs, McGinnes, MacGennis, Nesbit, Newall, Shawn, Kensall, Kinsall, seen them all and more.

don’t forget leanne

24-04-2022, 10:09 PM
Big no from me.

24-04-2022, 10:30 PM
Hibs Media person: Hi Ron, good news. A fan poll has 100% of fans wanting Roy Keane as the new manager.

24-04-2022, 10:37 PM
Absolutely box office
get keane
nothing to lose

Hasn’t managed a club in10 years There has to be a reason for that
Had coaching roles since then but it could easily go tits up

24-04-2022, 11:02 PM
Hasn’t managed a club in10 years There has to be a reason for that
Had coaching roles since then but it could easily go tits up

At a guess, doesn't need the money, enjoyed the cushy pundit job, was happy to take a break from the 24/7 lifestyle of a football manager. Now wants to get back into management, sees Hibs as a good way back in, perceives it as not the same pressure/expectation as say the Sunderland job, knows Hibs from his time in Scotland, lived in Edinburgh before, likes our Irish heritage....

stu in nottingham
24-04-2022, 11:06 PM
Reminds me of the Monty Python spam sketch. Any combination you like as long as Keane is part of it. :greengrin

I wouldn't want him no. I think Roy struggles to work with and understand players who are well beneath the high standard he played in and set for himself. His frustration often comes across in his punditry I always feel. He would certainly be strong on discipline but his communication with players would be an issue being somewhat one-dimensional. His appointment would certainly bring publicity to the club but I fear it would all end in tears in fairly short order the last thing Hibs need right now.

24-04-2022, 11:09 PM
At a guess, doesn't need the money, enjoyed the cushy pundit job, was happy to take a break from the 24/7 lifestyle of a football manager. Now wants to get back into management, sees Hibs as a good way back in, perceives it as not the same pressure/expectation as say the Sunderland job, knows Hibs from his time in Scotland, lived in Edinburgh before, likes our Irish heritage....

did he live in Edinburgh when he played for Celtic?

25-04-2022, 12:55 AM
And the winner is.....Roy Keane :greengrin

Not for me. A nutter is the last thing we need just now.

25-04-2022, 01:04 AM
No for me

25-04-2022, 08:18 AM
Can’t vote but why not?

25-04-2022, 08:47 AM
No manager we appoint is going to be guaranteed to be successful. Even at higher levels that's an impossible ask.

It might be a rollercoaster journey with Keane for aslong as it would last, but it certainly wouldn't be dull. I'd take Keane over someone like McInness every day of the week.

25-04-2022, 10:40 AM
100% of voters want Keane. That's telling. Do it Ron.

Or is it Steve Kean?

sauzeelegod
25-04-2022, 10:49 AM
Can’t vote but it’s a yes from me.

25-04-2022, 11:07 AM
I would take anyone who would keep the racist Mackay out of our club

Paul1642
25-04-2022, 11:08 AM
I would take anyone who would keep the racist Mackay out of our club

That’s the worst recruitment strategy I have ever heard.

25-04-2022, 11:56 AM
Glad to be of service

MikeyS
25-04-2022, 12:07 PM
did he live in Edinburgh when he played for Celtic?

Aye, stayed in the Sheraton on festival Square.

26-04-2022, 05:49 AM
Absolutely not, no ****ing way etc etc

26-04-2022, 05:55 AM
So that’s it then.

100% of voters want Roy Keane.

26-04-2022, 06:14 AM
Absolutely no need for Scott Brown to be involved. Why the need for someone who is far more Celtic than Hibs to return here, when he has shown nothing to suggest he'd be good as an assistant manager.

Could do without someone who will talk up Celtic any chance he'd get.

26-04-2022, 06:26 AM
Reminds me of the Monty Python spam sketch. Any combinati:gwa::greengrinon you like as long as Keane is part of it.

I wouldn't want him no. I think Roy struggles to work with and understand players who are well beneath the high standard he played in and set for himself. His frustration often comes across in his punditry I always feel. He would certainly be strong on discipline but his communication with players would be an issue being somewhat one-dimensional. His appointment would certainly bring publicity to the club but I fear it would all end in tears in fairly short order the last thing Hibs need right now.

If he's appointed, I'll really want him to succeed and I'll be behind him, but this is how I feel.
And it has a 'fancies having a go again' feel about it. The Hibs job, at the moment, is a challenge, and we need someone who's completely committed to making it work. Ultimately, it's too easy for him to walk away - a bit like Collins - if it isn't going his way; he doesn't need the money or the hassle and he doesn't need his reputation damaged. If Roy Keane was really invested in being a football manager, he'd currently be working as a football manager (or be in between jobs). If he's genuinely up for restarting his managerial career, I feel like he'd be better suited to a club where he isn't going to be constrained by serious budget limitations. I'm also trying to get my head around Roy being told what to do by Ron Gordon or his son... and all I can think about is who'd play who in the movie about the ensuing meltdown :take that:greengrin

26-04-2022, 08:03 AM
Absolutely not, can’t stand the guy and his credentials as a manager are far below what I would want for the next manager.

26-04-2022, 01:33 PM
i've finally made up my mind

unfortunately it's a naw from me

and i think oor Ron will agree with me

Next

26-04-2022, 04:40 PM
Absolutely not, can’t stand the guy and his credentials as a manager are far below what I would want for the next manager.

We’re you off the same opinion when we signed a manager who failed to get Sunderland out off League 1?🤔

26-04-2022, 04:48 PM
Roy Keane or whoever with XYZ? Whoever the new manager is he needs to bring his own coaching team in.

26-04-2022, 05:26 PM

Breaking News: Liverpool fan can't stand Man Utd legend... 😀

Hibiza
26-04-2022, 05:56 PM
How would he be MW ?

Hibiza
26-04-2022, 05:59 PM
i've finally made up my mind

unfortunately it's a naw from me

and i think oor Ron will agree with me

Next
Ron probably agree as Kean to big for him.

26-04-2022, 06:22 PM
Where's the 'None of the above' option?

26-04-2022, 06:26 PM
At last a sensible post.

26-04-2022, 06:31 PM
Wheres the no option? Titles misleading, should be 'Who should be Roy Keanes assistant?'

Anyway its a big no from me.

And its Keane not Kean ;-)

26-04-2022, 06:33 PM
Ron probably agree as Kean to big for him.

or maybe Ron won't agree :duck:

Roy Keane set to leave SkySports after talks with club over manager's role (msn.com (https://www.msn.com/en-gb/sport/football/roy-keane-set-to-leave-skysports-after-talks-with-club-over-manager-s-role/ar-AAWBz6s?ocid=msedgntp&cvid=2882d57b1f93418ebb01a3b273c12d8d)

Roy Keane could be set to leave his role at SkySports after signalling his interest in taking the vacant managerial role at Hibernian.

However, Keane has regularly spoken about his desire to return to management and he was on the brink of returning to Sunderland (https://metro.co.uk/tag/sunderland-fc/?ico=auto_link_sport_P4_LNK1) earlier this season, only for talks to collapse over the length of contract offered to him by the Black Cats.

Ron Gordon ‘It didn’t pan out, that’s the beauty and challenge of football. How much risk do we want to take? I don’t know.

the parts in bold

1. i really don't think RK would accept less than two years...minimum, he's giving up what is surely a well paid job, no hassle, no stress

2. sure his appointment would be a risk, then again any appointment will be a risk really

26-04-2022, 10:43 PM
No

27-04-2022, 12:08 AM
Breaking News: Liverpool fan can't stand Man Utd legend... 😀

It’s got nothing to do with him being a Manure legend, he was a tremendous player and I recognise that.

sunshinejim
27-04-2022, 12:38 AM
Been a Hibernian supporter for well over 45 years now. Its a big Yes from me. Welcome aboard Roy. Amazing from the board if it happens. Everyone who states their opposition should make it known who their desired manager is instead, imo.

27-04-2022, 01:33 AM
Ive been a Hibernian fanatic for 51 years. Started off watching Eddies Tornados, seen some utter dross, seen us in Europe, including beating Liverpool, seen great young teams, seen every cup final in person since all 3 games in 1979. Watched in awe as George Best strutted his stuff for Hibs, couldnt believe we got Steve Archibald. Thought I would never see us win the Holy Grail, I did.
Now, would I want Roy Keane as manager,
Damn Right. Bring it on

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

sunshinejim
27-04-2022, 02:07 AM
Ive been a Hibernian fanatic for 51 years. Started off watching Eddies Tornados, seen some utter dross, seen us in Europe, including beating Liverpool, seen great young teams, seen every cup final in person since all 3 games in 1979. Watched in awe as George Best strutted his stuff for Hibs, couldnt believe we got Steve Archibald. Thought I would never see us win the Holy Grail, I did.
Now, would I want Roy Keane as manager,
Damn Right. Bring it on

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

:top marks:top marks:top marks

AL-Qaholik
27-04-2022, 04:47 AM
Been a Hibernian supporter for well over 45 years now. Its a big Yes from me. Welcome aboard Roy. Amazing from the board if it happens. Everyone who states their opposition should make it known who their desired manager is instead, imo.

Most have. Not that anybody needs to justify their position to you, right enough.

28-04-2022, 08:09 AM

Why should they?

If Levein was being suggested, would we have to suggest an alternative before opposing the appointment?

28-04-2022, 08:14 AM
Why should they?

If Levein was being suggested, would we have to suggest an alternative before opposing the appointment?

Would make for a better discussion if you did.

Dead easy just to say no to potential managers, pretty much everybody we could appoint would have a negative slant that could be put on it.

28-04-2022, 08:17 AM

Dead easy just to say no to potential managers, pretty much everybody we could appoint would have a negative slant that could be put on it.

True, but unlike you, not everyone has the same sleuth like, in depth knowledge of available, or potentially available, managers.

If Levein was suggested, would you really need me to suggest an alternative before I said GTF?

28-04-2022, 08:17 AM

It’s a little bit dogmatic a view though Bingo. Some people may be clear on not wanting someone, but not yet have a preference…

I’d still have Lennon back - I’ll throw that hand Grenade into the mix ..although Cocu credentials sounds much stronger than Keane, so interesting name in the mix too

28-04-2022, 08:27 AM
Vote looks like an overwhelming yes to Keane becoming manager. The fans have spoken Ron. Make it happen.

28-04-2022, 08:33 AM

Id like to see what other names come up...At the moment out of who I have heard Id prefer Cocu (although that could be more of what we have just had) or one of the Norweigans mentioned though I dont think we will be able to afford them unless we really plan to push the boat out.

hfcok
28-04-2022, 08:35 AM
Cocu had only an 8% win rate at Derby😳,and that’s with a club who had money at the time of appointment, massive no!!

28-04-2022, 08:38 AM
Vote looks like an overwhelming yes to Keane becoming manager. The fans have spoken Ron. Make it happen. But there was no No option :greengrin Comments show he not as overwhelming a choice as you make out.

28-04-2022, 08:43 AM
Cocu had only an 8% win rate at Derby[emoji15],and that’s with a club who had money at the time of appointment, massive no!!

32% win rate at Derby.

Paulie Walnuts
28-04-2022, 08:58 AM
Cocu had only an 8% win rate at Derby😳,and that’s with a club who had money at the time of appointment, massive no!!

Err… no he didn’t.

28-04-2022, 09:00 AM
Cocu had only an 8% win rate at Derby��,and that’s with a club who had money at the time of appointment, massive no!!

a 56% win rate across his management career (which is also more recent that RK)....Im not set on anyone yet, as Ive mentioned Id like to see some more names bubble up

28-04-2022, 09:02 AM
32% win rate at Derby.

Not much different to Keanes at Ipswich

28-04-2022, 11:57 AM
Vote looks like an overwhelming yes to Keane becoming manager. The fans have spoken Ron. Make it happen.

It’s not too hard to win in a Hobson’s Choice poll. :greengrin

Fuzzywuzzy
28-04-2022, 11:58 AM
Would be nice if the new gaffer comes wandering out the tunnel on Monday morning at the training session!

28-04-2022, 11:10 PM
Would be nice if the new gaffer comes wandering out the tunnel on Monday morning at the training session!

........ but, in disguise, something along the lines of the masked singer or masked dancer, wearing a stupid costume and mask ....... the players surround him, chanting, ‘take it off, take it off’ ............ the disappointment is palpable when it turns out to be ........ Tommy Wright. :greengrin

sunshinejim
29-04-2022, 01:16 AM
........ but, in disguise, something along the lines of the masked singer or masked dancer, wearing a stupid costume and mask ....... the players surround him, chanting, ‘take it off, take it off’ ............ the disappointment is palpable when it turns out to be ........ Tommy Wright. :greengrin

We've had a few managers that are Tommy Wright (synonym :greengrin). We are all hoping for one that can consistently maintain at least a top 4 finish and the odd cup here and there. Some good names being bandied around. Lets all hope that the Board can find the right man (not Tommy :greengrin) of course.

29-04-2022, 01:36 AM
Well if we are asking the manager to remove clothing, may I suggest Emma Stone for the job?