View Full Version : (NHC) Ten Hag to Man U
21-04-2022, 10:16 AM
One less for big Ron's shortlist! :greengrin
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/61079115
Edit: It does mean Ralf Rangnick is available!
21-04-2022, 03:52 PM
Massive job for Ten Hag to put things right. As a United fan, I hope he's been given assurances that he will be allowed to make huge changes both on the pitch and behind the scenes. The club is a shambles, from the owners down. Root and branch change is needed; there is huge responsibility ahead.
21-04-2022, 04:16 PM
Massive job for Ten Hag to put things right. As a United fan, I hope he's been given assurances that he will be allowed to make huge changes both on the pitch and behind the scenes. The club is a shambles, from the owners down. Root and branch change is needed; there is huge responsibility ahead.
Terminating the contract of Harry Maguire for gross incompetence would be a good start 🤣
21-04-2022, 04:24 PM
Terminating the contract of Harry Maguire for gross incompetence would be a good start
Aye, I can't believe he will survive the cull. Just sell him and cut their losses, taking whatever they can for him. There are at least a dozen players who need moving on. It's a huge task ahead of Ten Hag.
I see a bomb threat has been sent to Maguire's hoose. It wisnae me.
Seriously, though, what is wrong with some people.
21-04-2022, 04:41 PM
Aye, I can't believe he will survive the cull. Just sell him and cut their losses, taking whatever they can for him. There are at least a dozen players who need moving on. It's a huge task ahead of Ten Hag.
The thing with Maguire is that someone would need to pick up his wages. He's on a reported £190k per week, can't see many teams paying that and he is contracted at Utd for a further 3 years.
LewysGot2
21-04-2022, 04:56 PM
Is that right? God, I saw something about Maguire and bomb scare but didn't think it was literally a bomb threat.
21-04-2022, 05:21 PM
Is that right? God, I saw something about Maguire and bomb scare but didn't think it was literally a bomb threat.
Aye, police involved. The guy has a young family, it's outrageous.
21-04-2022, 05:29 PM
What has Maguire done to deserve that?
21-04-2022, 05:48 PM
What has Maguire done to deserve that?
Nothing. He's an horrendous player, but that's it. He gave an interview this week which wound fans up, but come on, bomb threats!
21-04-2022, 06:01 PM
One less for big Ron's shortlist! :greengrin
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/61079115
Edit: It does mean Ralf Rangnick is available!
He’s got two more years as a consultant at Old Trafford. A colossal waste of money. Don’t see what his reputation is based on.
21-04-2022, 06:31 PM
Was this not a description of his last performance? In all seriousness, some people really lose the run of themselves over supporting their team. Shocking stuff
21-04-2022, 07:00 PM
Poundland Pep
22-04-2022, 07:32 AM
It’ll be a huge job to even make them vaguely relevant again, never mind challenging city or liverpool. That club is a mess
22-04-2022, 08:58 AM
Those saying maguire is horrendous dont watch him for England. He's definitely not horrendous.
22-04-2022, 09:01 AM
It's all relative when it comes to Maguire. For instance if he played in Scotland he'd be the best defender in the country by an absolute mile.
The fact is he plays for one of the biggest clubs in the world and cost 80 million so people expect him to the the standard of Ramos or Pique, when he clearly isn't at that level.
22-04-2022, 09:05 AM
Those saying maguire is horrendous dont watch him for England. He's definitely not horrendous.
Absolutely, he’s a very good player who has become a victim of a relentless campaign on social media ridiculing him for every little mistake. The guy is a rock for England and the bile towards him is unjustified.
22-04-2022, 10:05 AM
Absolutely, he’s a very good player who has become a victim of a relentless campaign on social media ridiculing him for every little mistake. The guy is a rock for England and the bile towards him is unjustified.
When a defense is left exposed as often as the United one is, he's bound to crack. With England, he's surrounded by a robust midfield and fellow quality defenders - neither of which Man United can boast - they have good players in midfield/defense, don't get me wrong, but as a team unit they're awful. You could put an at their peak Paolo Maldini or Carlos Puyol in that Man Utd defense right now and they'd look poor.
22-04-2022, 02:58 PM
I watch him for United most games and he is horrendous: slow, positionally poor, indecisive and error prone. Ask any United fan who watches him regularly for an honest opinion. He's an embarrassment to a club of the stature of Manchester United, but he isn't the only one. I don't care what he does for England. As captain it seems he can't be dropped, but he is terrible and is hated by the fans. That said, he isn't deliberately trying to be inept, and bomb threats are just crazy.
22-04-2022, 02:59 PM
You're a Liverpool fans and want him to keep playing for United :greengrin. I can't see Klopp making an offer for him.
22-04-2022, 03:22 PM
You're a Liverpool fans and want him to keep playing for United :greengrin. I can't see Klopp making an offer for him.
I just can’t stand the campaign against him, especially as it has now escalated to bomb threats.
22-04-2022, 03:26 PM
I just can’t stand the campaign against him, especially as it has now escalated to bomb threats.
Agreed, it's ridiculous. He needs a fresh start, there his no way back for him with the United fans; his awful performances and cocky attitude have ended him. If United can get some money back and move him on, even if they have to still pay part of wages, it would be best for everyone. It's all gotten very toxic, but threats to his life are outrageous.
22-04-2022, 03:43 PM
He is not a very good defender, this has been shown, but for the guy to be sent death threats is absolutely mental
22-04-2022, 04:09 PM
He's not all that good but it's not his fault that they paid 80m for him. Imagine how sad and inadequate you have to be to send bomb threats to a footballer. Hope they catch whoever it was and he gets done for it
JamesHFC
22-04-2022, 04:13 PM
He's not all that good but it's not his fault that they paid 80m for him. Imagine how sad and inadequate you have to be to send bomb threats to a footballer. Hope they catch whoever it was and he gets done for it
Thugs actually robbed Pogba’s house a few weeks ago whilst his children were in the house and I really don’t think it had the same coverage/reaction as this apparent bomb threat of Maguire’s. Serious amount of xenophobia from the English media imo.
Yorkshire HFC
22-04-2022, 05:18 PM
I watch him for United most games and he is horrendous: slow, positionally poor, indecisive and error prone. Ask any United fan who watches him regularly for an honest opinion. He's an embarrassment to a club of the stature of Manchester United, but he isn't the only one. I don't care what he does for England. As captain it seems he can't be dropped, but he is terrible and is hated by the fans. That said, he isn't deliberately trying to be inept, and bomb threats are just crazy.
The internet is mental. If he's "horrendous" and an "embarrassment" then how would you describe Porteous?
I went to Man U v Leicester a few weeks ago - I thought he was Man Utds best player.
22-04-2022, 05:24 PM
The internet is mental. If he's "horrendous" and an "embarrassment" then how would you describe Porteous?
I went to Man U v Leicester a few weeks ago - I thought he was Man Utds best player.
It’s just the usual exaggeration from people making points on social media. Maguire has lost a bit of form, so has most of their HP team…but he remains England first pick CH and captain…you don’t get to that level unless you are a very good player…
22-04-2022, 05:29 PM
That isn't a comparison. Playing for and captaining Manchester United is a different standard to playing for Hibs; it's chalk and cheese. Porteous is a better fit for Hibs than Maguire is for Man United. At that level he is horrendous, as his performances have shown. It's difficult to overestimate how disgraceful his performances have been this season. There is no way back for him with the fans.
22-04-2022, 05:57 PM
Not quite sure how you can compare the 2, maguire was bought for £80m and has continually been rubbish(he will have the odd good game as most players do), porteous cost us hee haw and has been no where near as bad for us. There is a reason there are numerous memes about HM
22-04-2022, 07:45 PM
Not quite sure how you can compare the 2, maguire was bought for £80m and has continually been rubbish(he will have the odd good game as most players do), porteous cost us hee haw and has been no where near as bad for us. There is a reason there are numerous memes about HM
Turns like an oil tanker; constantly out of position; slower than a week in Strangeways; can't play offside; beaten for easy headers; doesn't take responsibility. It just goes on and on. I do feel him because he's like a lost schoolboy, but it's pathetic.
https://youtu.be/T0RxHyHX2eg
Turns like an oil tanker; constantly out of position; slower than a week in Strangeways; can't play offside; beaten for easy headers; doesn't take responsibility. It just goes on and on. I do feel him because he's like a lost schoolboy, but it's pathetic.
Some horrendous defending there.
Yorkshire HFC
23-04-2022, 04:30 AM
Do you not see a link between people posting this kind of material and what has happened to McGuire?
Quite apart from people with limited ability sitting at home and slagging off one of the best footballers in the country - he's an elite sportsman, whatever you may think of him. He's playing for one of the best teams in the country, is just out of the final of the Euros, played in the World Cup semi final (I think). You don't do that if you're "horrendous".
If Hibs get beaten today then the players will get more flak from the keyboard experts - words have consequences. What will it take until people realise this?
23-04-2022, 07:40 PM
Do you not see a link between people posting this kind of material and what has happened to McGuire?
Quite apart from people with limited ability sitting at home and slagging off one of the best footballers in the country - he's an elite sportsman, whatever you may think of him. He's playing for one of the best teams in the country, is just out of the final of the Euros, played in the World Cup semi final (I think). You don't do that if you're "horrendous".
If Hibs get beaten today then the players will get more flak from the keyboard experts - words have consequences. What will it take until people realise this?
So we can never criticise footballers on football forums? That's all the vast majority of people do when players don't perform; we don't make death threats or act like lunatics. We do have a right to give an honest opinion on a player's ability and form; they, as professionals, have to accept that bad performances lead to criticism. We can't be expected to say nothing, just in case a random nutter then sends a death threat. The link is extremely tenuous. It reminds of American gun advocates blaming shootings on computer games and films. It doesn't bear scrutiny. We can't ban films and we can't censor criticism because of the actions of a tiny number of crazy people.
justlikebrazil
23-04-2022, 10:13 PM
Hope he's a John McGinn fan 😊