View Full Version : Tony Mowbray
PortoHSC
21-04-2022, 10:16 AM
Hear me out, his contract at Blackburn is up at the end of the season. Doubt he will be offered a new one due to the recent record theyve had in the championship barring a massive turnaround in form. No compensation and will probably allow us to pay a wage that will match his. He has been here before so has experience (and was successful). Personally I think he should be in with a shout if he was interested in the job.
21-04-2022, 10:18 AM
Hear me out, his contract at Blackburn is up at the end of the season. Doubt he will be offered a new one due to the recent record theyve had in the championship barring a massive turnaround in form. No compensation and will probably allow us to pay a wage that will match his. He has been here before so has experience (and was successful). Personally I think he should be in with a shout if he was interested in the job.
Still has Mark Venus as his assistant.
21-04-2022, 10:21 AM
Still has Mark Venus as his assistant.
"Oh Tony Mowbray and Mark Venus..."
21-04-2022, 10:23 AM
No for me
The Tubs
21-04-2022, 10:23 AM
I don't know if we tried, but he was unemployed when Butcher got the job.
21-04-2022, 10:25 AM
Yes from me
21-04-2022, 10:30 AM
2 wins 3 draws and 5 defeats in his last 10 games. Not sure the reasons behind this but Blackburn are only going one way at the moment.
OstKurve Hibs
21-04-2022, 10:33 AM
No from me, dont get the obsession wi some on here to always want ex players and managers to come back all the time.
They're rarely as good second time round.
Brummie_Hibs
21-04-2022, 10:34 AM
Why don't we just dig up Hugh Shaw and prop up what's left of him in the dugout.
We are obsessed with bringing back ex's!!
21-04-2022, 10:35 AM
Experienced, mixed CV, has managed at a much higher level than us, likes Hibs.
Blackburn are still well in the race for a play off place. They have had a good season, faltering recently and losing ground. I would imagine he will have suitors in England and can't see him back up here anytime soon.
21-04-2022, 10:36 AM
Always thought that Mowbray was the ‘real deal’ until he went to Celtic
He was a textbook Manager always said the right thing at the right time in interviews
His teams were exciting and unpredictable but you win nothing with kids :greengrin
His team won the cup in 2007
Would be interesting if he came back and was backed by the Board
21-04-2022, 10:36 AM
Yes. But I'd be surprised if he doesn't stay in England.
21-04-2022, 10:37 AM
Why don't we just dig up Hugh Shaw and prop up what's left of him in the dugout.
i shouldn’t but that made me laugh
Mr. Wonderful
21-04-2022, 10:38 AM
2 wins 3 draws and 5 defeats in his last 10 games. Not sure the reasons behind this but Blackburn are only going one way at the moment.
He has out of contract players not giving their all and saving themselves for bigger moves.
Mr. Wonderful
21-04-2022, 10:39 AM
Worked out no too badly for hearts this season
Daily Hibs
21-04-2022, 10:41 AM
Absolutely not.
We can't keep looking back at previous managers.
We need to look forward and build.
Brown Hibs
21-04-2022, 10:59 AM
Can't see it but would be delighted with this. Stunned people wouldn't take him. Ticks all the boxes. Experience and plays on the floor.
21-04-2022, 11:05 AM
Think his stock is still way to high
Maybe one day
Anyone not wanting him is either less than 18 years old and can’t remember his football.
Had an eye for a player
Murphy
Jones
Shiels
Rocastle
Zemamma
Benji
Dropped a clanger or two in
Malkowski
Simon brown
Konte
Sam Morrow
But his brand of football was absolutely brilliant
We should at least be enquiring
21-04-2022, 11:07 AM
Best football I've seen us play absolutely hands down.
21-04-2022, 11:08 AM
Absolutely not.
We can't keep looking back at previous managers.
We need to look forward and build.
If said manager is good what’s the issue with it?
21-04-2022, 11:10 AM
He's been at a higher level than us for a few years and I don't think he'd be interested but I've always thought he was a fantastic manager and would welcome him back with open arms.
Brown Hibs
21-04-2022, 11:12 AM
Seems to be a default position for some on here. If you have been here once you can't come back.
green leaves
21-04-2022, 11:13 AM
No thanks.
His actions during his return to ER with the tribute act soured his reputation
21-04-2022, 11:14 AM
Seems to be a default position for some on here. If you have been here once you can't come back.
True. But I’d say the opposite is much more dominant..if you’ve done alright here before , loads of people want you to come back ..and there are constant threads about it.
I’d want to know what the fire in Mowbray’s belly was for management these days ..he had it the first time , does he still have the desire to succeed ??
Also, is he the Right guy for us now ?
WestStandWillie
21-04-2022, 11:17 AM
Not against it but can anyone give me some examples where a manager coming back has been beneficial?
Only one springing to mind is Eddie Howe
21-04-2022, 11:18 AM
Not against it but can anyone give me some examples where a manager coming back has been beneficial?
Robbie Neilson
21-04-2022, 11:21 AM
Don't see it happening but would be a yes from me. I'd imagine a good proportion of the fanbase would back it too.
Brown Hibs
21-04-2022, 11:23 AM
True. But I’d say the opposite is much more dominant..if you’ve done alright here before , loads of people want you to come back ..and there are constant threads about it.
I’d want to know what the fire in Mowbray’s belly was for management these days ..he had it the first time , does he still have the desire to succeed ??
Also, is he the Right guy for us now ?
Yeah these are relevant questions rather than has he been at the club before.
I think he ticks all the boxes Gordon identified yesterday. Also, our squad is the youngest in the league. Mowbray was brought to Hibs the first time out after working with the youth teams at Ipswich and continued his good work with the golden generation. I think he would be a good tutor for this bunch.
It's a mute point anyway, he's still in a job and probably not interested
21-04-2022, 11:26 AM
Inherited the golden generation but left because the board would not back him.
21-04-2022, 11:27 AM
Walter Smith
21-04-2022, 11:28 AM
Inherited the golden generation but left because the board would not back him.
He left because he got offered a bigger job elsewhere, all the backing in the world wouldn’t have stopped him joining a team with EPL aspirations.
21-04-2022, 11:30 AM
Director of football perhaps?
I really wished they would identify the need for that in the club
21-04-2022, 11:35 AM
Zidane 😊
21-04-2022, 11:37 AM
No from me, dont get the obsession wi some on here to always want ex players and managers to come back all the time.
Agree
Paulie Walnuts
21-04-2022, 12:03 PM
We shouldn’t rule out ex managers just because they’ve been here before. If they’re the best man for the job then they should get it.
Likewise people who have been here before shouldn’t be given the job because they’ve been here before if there’s better options.
JimboHibs
21-04-2022, 12:18 PM
Robbie Neilson
Yip and and large majority of them still not happy , of similar like to ourselves when we have a manager being reasonably successful.
21-04-2022, 12:19 PM
Those ruling out Mowbray simply because he has been here before need to give themselves a shake - it is not a qualifier per se BUT neither is it a Disqualifier.
Mowbray was very successfull at Hibs - granted he benefited from our "Golden Generation" but he improved on that with some excellent signings. He really got Hibs and had us playing some excellent football - so what's not to like???
Same goes for the likes of Lennon and Stubbs - they should be considered on their own merits and having manged Hibs in the past should certainly not count against them (although the circumstances of Lennon's exit might).
21-04-2022, 12:21 PM
I’d take him, but worth considering this time around he won’t have The golden generation coming through
21-04-2022, 12:34 PM
Wonder if his judgement of goalies has improved.
21-04-2022, 01:57 PM
Worked out no too badly for hearts this season
Why did Hearts dig up Hugh Shaw?
Weekend At Shuggie's
TheHibernator
21-04-2022, 02:30 PM
Would be brilliant but I can’t see it.
Had John Park as his head of recruitment last I heard.
https://www.lancs.live/sport/football/football-news/blackburn-rovers-park-appointment-celtic-21060276.amp
21-04-2022, 02:41 PM
You can't go back.
21-04-2022, 02:41 PM
Ancelotti
Mourinho
Jupp Heynckes
David Moyes
Fabio Capello
Zidane
Harry Redknapp (Portsmouth x2)
Walter Smith
21-04-2022, 03:00 PM
He's a very good manager. Got Blackburn promoted and now pushing for a play-off place. Whether he's been at Hibs before or not doesn't matter, he'd be a ridiculously good appointment. If he was interested, we'd be mental to say no.
21-04-2022, 03:02 PM
What are the reasons not to get Mowbray back if it was possible?
21-04-2022, 03:05 PM
What are the reasons not to get Mowbray back if it was possible?
Indeed. He'd be an excellent pointment. Will certainly have stock well above Hibs, though. Hes got a premier league promotion and a championship promotion under his belt. Had blackburn doing very well this season too. Infact, I'll be quite surprised if they dont keep him.
21-04-2022, 03:16 PM
Indeed. He'd be an excellent pointment. Will certainly have stock well above Hibs, though. Hes got a premier league promotion and a championship promotion under his belt. Had blackburn doing very well this season too. Infact, I'll be quite surprised if they dont keep him.
I thought the general jist of things was that things were getting a bit stale for both Blackburn and Stoke fans. Mowbray had them on that great run but injuries and running out of steam has probably put them back at square one and it's probably a good time for a change.
Major problem that Rovers can't score goals, funnily enough.
I'd take Maloney or O'Neill, though it's been a good 15 years since the former was last around - can't be sure it would be anything like the first time around.
21-04-2022, 03:34 PM
Do his teams still play good football?
I see from Twitter Blackburn and Middlesbrough fans both say he’s brilliant first half of the season then normally rotten for the second half.
It’s weird because in interviews etc and what players say about him he sounds a bit boring and miserable, not the type to get on with all the players etc but when you see how he made us play it shows it must not be the case.
Could he do it again that he’s not inheriting the golden generation?
My worry would be he would always be compared to his previous spell.
21-04-2022, 04:19 PM
He left because he got offered a bigger job elsewhere, all the backing in the world wouldn’t have stopped him joining a team with EPL aspirations.
You are wrong on that one. He told Petrie if he could keep the team together they had a shot at winning the league. It was Hibs decision to sell Brown and Thomson that made him move when he did. I am sure he would have gone eventually but he would have stayed for that shot at glory. Knew him through a mutual friend who worked in Edinburgh sports development.
21-04-2022, 04:27 PM
You are wrong on that one. He told Petrie if he could keep the team together they had a shot at winning the league. It was Hibs decision to sell Brown and Thomson that made him move when he did. I am sure he would have gone eventually but he would have stayed for that shot at glory. Knew him through a mutual friend who worked in Edinburgh sports development.
Did Mowbray not leave before KT & Brown were sold?
21-04-2022, 04:27 PM
Tony Mowbray left before Brown and Thomson were sold though, just 6 months after Petrie gave the pair new long term contracts. We kept Brown until the end of that season, he wasn’t sold until 8 months after Mowbray left.
21-04-2022, 04:32 PM
Tony Mowbray left before Brown and Thomson were sold though, just 6 months after Petrie gave the pair new long term contracts. We kept Brown until the end of that season, he wasn’t sold until 8 months after Mowbray left.
this is true, but bare in mind O'Connor and Riordan had gone. it's an interesting thought - we'd have been insane if that team had stayed together...and we'd found a ****ing goalie.
21-04-2022, 05:06 PM
You've literally just made that up.
21-04-2022, 05:06 PM
"Oh Tony Mowbray and Mark Venus..."
Craig Levein’s a f#cking ….. !
21-04-2022, 05:26 PM
Petrie was right tbh, we desperately needed the money.
21-04-2022, 05:34 PM
If he is the best man for the job then absolutely. Let's see who else is available or interested. It will be interesting to see what a manager wants from Hibs. Ron has shown how trigger happy he is so if we do have clauses where managers can be sacked with small amounts of severance it may limit the field to those who are out of work or never managed before. He is indicating he wants experience so that means we will probably be looking at managers who have failed in their last job. That doesn't mean they will be a poor appointment though and mostly it will depend how our young guns progress and if we can get any players who are better than what we have, shift those that aren't performing and stay lucky with injuries.
21-04-2022, 05:39 PM
As much as I liked him, his decision to extend Zibby Malkowski's contract by an extra year was amongst the worst any Hibs manager has made ever.
MikeyS
21-04-2022, 05:41 PM
this is true, but bare in mind O'Connor and Riordan had gone. it's an interesting thought - we'd have been insane if that team had stayed together...and we'd found a ****ing goalie.
Allan McGregor was very keen to join and expected it to happen but TM decided to take Zibi on that wee pre season tour as a trialist and the rest is history
Walter
21-04-2022, 06:03 PM
Of all the names suggested this is the only one I'm comfortable with
21-04-2022, 09:35 PM
Craig Levein’s a f#cking ….. !
P3n15
21-04-2022, 09:36 PM
P3n15
👍
Just_Jimmy
21-04-2022, 09:38 PM
Only if he contracted Neil lennon to sign his goalkeeper for him...
No chance but in a hib beat
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
21-04-2022, 09:43 PM
Would love to see Mogga back
1875Sean
21-04-2022, 10:38 PM
He will still be at rovers next season
21-04-2022, 11:29 PM
He's a very good manager. Got Blackburn promoted and now pushing for a play-off place. Whether he's been at Hibs before or not doesn't matter, he'd be a ridiculously good appointment. If he was interested, we'd be mental to say no.
Sorry, but he doesn't have Blackburn pushing for a play off spot.
Check their form since February, if not January.
Think they're 2nd bottom on a table from this year.
22-04-2022, 06:50 AM
Did Mowbray not leave before KT & Brown were sold?
Yes. I’m sure Thomson went in the January and brown and whittiker went the summer after Mowbray left.
Crunchie
22-04-2022, 07:39 AM
Mowbray would be the exception to that imo, but I don't think we'll wait around to see if he's available.
Rick Rude
22-04-2022, 07:59 AM
Current Luton boss seems to be doing no bad on his 2nd time there.
22-04-2022, 07:59 AM
Absolutely not if it's just a sentimental appointment.
If he is the best candidate interested in the job then absolutely yes. If he's the right man then I really don't care if he has been here before.
If he had no connection with Hibs then a guy with his CV would almost certainly be of interest. We shouldn't dismiss that just because he has been here before.
22-04-2022, 08:32 AM
Sorry, but he doesn't have Blackburn pushing for a play off spot.
Check their form since February, if not January.
Think they're 2nd bottom on a table from this year.
Didn’t appreciate how much they had fallen away. However, three points away from a play spot with three games to play means they still are in contention.
leithsansiro
22-04-2022, 09:53 AM
When I was 17, I went out with this girl. She was kinda pretty, a good laugh and we had lots of good fun together. Things didn’t work out and we both ultimately went our separate ways.
Now that I’m single as a grown man, should I get back in touch with her and see if she’s still interested, in the hope that we both still have that spark?
I don’t get the obsession with bringing back old managers (or players)
They’re exes for a reason.
22-04-2022, 09:57 AM
When I was 17, I went out with this girl. She was kinda pretty, a good laugh and we had lots of good fun together. Things didn’t work out and we both ultimately went our separate ways.
Now that I’m single as a grown man, should I get back in touch with her and see if she’s still interested, in the hope that we both still have that spark?
If she is single and there isn't a prettier good laugh who is girfriend material available then get on the blower to her immediately (assuming she has shown some interest and you are also single :greengrin).
22-04-2022, 09:57 AM
If she is single and there isn't a prettier good laugh who is girfriend material then get on the blower to her immediately (assuming she has shown some interest and you are also single :greengrin).
lol, he’s gonna pump her
MikeyS
22-04-2022, 10:00 AM
Why not? Nothing venture, nothing gained. She might have learnt some new tricks, realised how to tighten up at the back & hopefully still has promising things up top.
Or something like that, I've lost my train of thought.
Am away to get on friends reunited.......
22-04-2022, 10:08 AM
Why wouldn’t you unless you’re scared of being rejected?
And your analogy breaks down on the detail as we didn’t want Mowbray to leave and would have been delighted if he’d stayed with us.
22-04-2022, 10:22 AM
Are boy bands not a bit out of fashion these days?
aberhibsfc
22-04-2022, 11:41 AM
Me too. No matter how well the team plays, he'd be rotten.
Brown Hibs
28-04-2022, 05:01 PM
Mowbray away end of season. Surely got to be the frontrunner now.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/61263957
Fuzzywuzzy
28-04-2022, 05:08 PM
By the sounds of that he wants to spend more time with his kid
28-04-2022, 05:12 PM
I was really up for tony Mowbray till I remembered the goalies he signed for us and he gave zibby an extended contract and shot off after it. Cheers tony
28-04-2022, 05:18 PM
Think I'd rather keep Mowbray in the past. He had a freakishly good group of young players back then. Different time, different era now. I don't think I'd want those memories tainted at all.
28-04-2022, 05:43 PM
Would rather not have a manager that lost 4-0 twice and 4-1 to Hearts in the same season.
28-04-2022, 05:51 PM
Would rather not have a manager that lost 4-0 twice and 4-1 to Hearts in the same season.
Sounds like the Hearts fans that didn't want Neilson back.
G15 Hibs
28-04-2022, 06:07 PM
Current Luton boss seems to be doing no bad on his 2nd time there.
Nathan Jones. He wasn't gone too long.
28-04-2022, 06:11 PM
He’s out of contract next week, and he says no contact has been made to extend it. Probably will be available, but you should never go back
Reading his interview, looks like he’s going to take some time off
But you'd take a manager who beat them 2-0 and 2-1 in the same season?
But you'd take a manager who beat them 2-0 and 2-1 in the same season?When they were paying(laundering) £10M a season we had no right to beat them at all.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
28-04-2022, 08:07 PM
Imagine that being the thing you remember about Tony ****ing Mowbray.
If have him in a heartbeat. Very good manager
28-04-2022, 08:12 PM
Wont get or want the Hibs job again. Wants to spend more time with his family and Hibs job would involve him being away from them
28-04-2022, 08:17 PM
Wouldn't even be on our radar. Total non-starter.
Keyser Sauzee
28-04-2022, 08:22 PM
If that’s your takeaway from Mowbrays tenure then I doubt you will enjoy any manager we ever have, because believe it or not, regardless of who’s in charge he there is still a very good chance Hearts will get results against us as we will against them. It’s how football works.
28-04-2022, 08:32 PM
John Park set up his platform
CB Hibs 68
28-04-2022, 09:12 PM
On what planet would Mowbray come back to Hibs.When he left that was it as far as he was concerned.Can’t think of a single occasion when he has reflected back too how much Hibs gave him a career as a manager.Not for me .
28-04-2022, 09:25 PM
All the Mowbray chat is interesting because he spoke about wanting to support his teenage son now who he has essentially not had as much time for since 2017 as he would like.
I might be over playing what he said but it sounds like he wants to spend more time with his son. With that in mind, I genuinely can’t see him wanting to leave his family to come to Edinburgh? Am I missing something here?
Mcbizz1998
28-04-2022, 09:31 PM
Wouldn't even be on our radar. Total non-starter.
If that’s true, Gordon is even more out of touch than I thought.
He absolutely should be on our radar. Whether we would get him is a different matter.
beensaidbefore
28-04-2022, 09:38 PM
Think I'd rather keep Mowbray in the past. He had a freakishly good group of young players back then. Different time, different era now. I don't think I'd want those memories tainted at all.
Sensible. :aok:
29-04-2022, 08:45 AM
I was one of my favourite times as a Hibs fan but I still wouldn't want him back. He had one of the most talented groups of young players ever produced in Scotland at his disposal. While he made some good signings of his own how many games did his inability to sign a decent goalkeeper cost us?
Mcbizz1998
29-04-2022, 10:02 AM
I was one of my favourite times as a Hibs fan but I still wouldn't want him back. He had one of the most talented groups of young players ever produced in Scotland at his disposal. While he made some good signings of his own how many games did his inability to sign a decent goalkeeper cost us?
That was almost 20 years ago. He has gone on to have a good career at a very decent level, I’m sure he is a better manager now than he was in his first proper job at Hibs.
Paulie Walnuts
29-04-2022, 10:05 AM
That was almost 20 years ago. He has gone on to have a good career at a very decent level, I’m sure he is a better manager now than he was in his first proper job at Hibs.
His current goalie was player of the season last season and has a fairly impressive CV. Maybe he’s learned how to sign decent ones since he left us nearly 20 years ago?
29-04-2022, 10:41 AM
Mowbray would be great. A proper manager who plays good football, commands respect and can manage people.
You couldn't pick a more suitable stabiliser right now.
However on his interview yesterday he seems a bit knackered and talked about getting his life balance back. He may not be up for another big relocation and huge challenge.
Jane Seymour is Harry Wild by the way....
29-04-2022, 11:36 AM
I'm sure he is. It doesn't change my mind though, pining after ex managers is not what I want.
We need to move forwards, and it sounds like he wants out of management anyway.
29-04-2022, 11:47 AM
His current goalie was player of the season last season and has a fairly impressive CV. Maybe he’s learned how to sign decent ones since he left us nearly 20 years ago?
There’s some folk on this thread saying we shouldn’t appoint Mowbray because of mistakes he made as manager 15 years ago while simultaneously posting on another thread that we shouldn’t rule out Keane just because of mistakes he made as manager 15 years ago.
29-04-2022, 11:57 AM
There’s some folk on this thread saying we shouldn’t appoint Mowbray because of mistakes he made as manager 15 years ago while simultaneously posting on another thread that we shouldn’t rule out Keane just because of mistakes he made as manager 15 years ago.
No need to put words in my mouth, I don't want Mowbray because I don't want any former manager.
29-04-2022, 12:04 PM
No need to put words in my mouth, I don't want Mowbray because I don't want any former manager.
Regardless of quality? Strange.
Surely the best candidate is the best candidate?
G15 Hibs
29-04-2022, 12:10 PM
Is that just an overall, unbreakable policy you have? I'm not usually one for hankering after the return of former managers either, but given the amount of time that's passed, the entirely different circumstances and the experience he's gained since he left Hibs in 2006 it would be quite different to the usual "let's get Stubbs/Lennon back" a couple of years after they'd left that goes on. In some ways it would almost be like a totally different person, and if you had someone with the same CV as Mowbray's but without the couple of years at Hibs he'd definitely be someone you'd hope we'd look at.
Like others, though, I don't get the feeling its the kind of thing he'd be into now. He strikes me as the kind of guy who had a "no going back" policy as well.
As for the folk on here who are judging his time at Hibs on getting scudded by Hearts a few of times and having rubbish goalkeepers, they must find it really difficult to have any joy in life. That was definitely one of my favourite times to follow Hibs, such a lot of wonderful memories and playing closest to this mythical "Hibs way" that I've probably seen.
29-04-2022, 12:14 PM
Regardless of quality? Strange.
Surely the best candidate is the best candidate?
Honestly, I think Mowbray was fortunate at Hibs. He had a phenomenal group of young players that the majority of managers we've had since would have gotten a tune out of. He's not someone that inspires me in the way some other names do.
29-04-2022, 12:17 PM
Honestly, I think Mowbray was fortunate at Hibs. He had a phenomenal group of young players that the majority of managers we've had since would have gotten a tune out of. He's not someone that inspires me in the way some other names do.
Think lucky is stretching it had us playing very attractive stuff and he also bought well in the main goalies aside. Think him coming from a youth team background helped him with regard to our no doubt very talented players.
Apologies notice you didn't say lucky he was fortunate in that regard but he got a very good tune out of them.
29-04-2022, 12:19 PM
Is that just an overall, unbreakable policy you have? I'm not usually one for hankering after the return of former managers either, but given the amount of time that's passed, the entirely different circumstances and the experience he's gained since he left Hibs in 2006 it would be quite different to the usual "let's get Stubbs/Lennon back" a couple of years after they'd left that goes on. In some ways it would almost be like a totally different person, and if you had someone with the same CV as Mowbray's but without the couple of years at Hibs he'd definitely be someone you'd hope we'd look at.
Like others, though, I don't get the feeling its the kind of thing he'd be into now. He strikes me as the kind of guy who had a "no going back" policy as well.
As for the folk on here who are judging his time at Hibs on getting scudded by Hearts a few of times and having rubbish goalkeepers, they must find it really difficult to have any joy in life. That was definitely one of my favourite times to follow Hibs, such a lot of wonderful memories and playing closest to this mythical "Hibs way" that I've probably seen.
I've had a look at his record on wikipedia and theres nothing there apart from what he did at West Brom that really grabs me.
GibbytheHibby2
29-04-2022, 12:21 PM
Some of the comments on TM inheriting the youngsters is a bit selective. IIRC he had less than a team of players on the books. He had to scout a lot of young talent to compliment what we had.
off the top of my head he brought in David Murphy; Matt Doumbias (sp); Chris Hogg; Sam Morrow; Dean Shiels; Chris Killen; Stephen Glass; . There will be others but I can’t be arsed Googling. He had a good eye for player IMO and wanted to play exciting football.
Paulie Walnuts
29-04-2022, 12:22 PM
Mowbray has had a very good career.
If you forget about the fact he’s managed us before, I’d suspect we’d look at a manager who has managed in the EPL and has had a very good career in the Championship as a bit of a coup.
GibbytheHibby2
29-04-2022, 12:23 PM
I've had a look at his record on wikipedia and theres nothing there apart from what he did at West Brom that really grabs me.
The baggies fans like him. Got them promoted, then relegated. They thought the football was great, but that he was niaive in not being more streetwise / defensive in the EPL
29-04-2022, 12:25 PM
He also nurtured and helped guys like Whittaker, Riordan, Brown and Thomson properly establish themselves as regular first team players, as well as sign guys like Caldwell, Beuzelin, Stewart, Murphy, Sproule and Hogg. I think there was more than good fortune attached to Mowbray's time at Hibs.
Who inspires you?
29-04-2022, 12:35 PM
Same people or different posters?
I’d like Keane but absolutely no chance I’d want Mowbray.
G15 Hibs
29-04-2022, 12:40 PM
What's the key difference for you? (I'm of a mind I'd be happy with either)
29-04-2022, 12:42 PM
Some of the comments on TM inheriting the youngsters is a bit selective. IIRC he had less than a team of players on the books. He had to scout a lot of young talent to compliment what we had.
off the top of my head he brought in David Murphy; Matt Doumbias (sp); Chris Hogg; Sam Morrow; Dean Shiels; Chris Killen; Stephen Glass; . There will be others but I can’t be arsed Googling. He had a good eye for player IMO and wanted to play exciting football.
Boozy, Zemmama, Benji, Sproule.
29-04-2022, 12:45 PM
Doumbe left the summer he arrived and Glass arrived the year earlier.
On the subject of an eye for a player however… how could you forget Boozy?!
I’d take Mowbray back but unfortunately I have a feeling he just wouldn’t be interested.
29-04-2022, 12:46 PM
Mowbray, Cocu and Keane. If any of them are appointed nobody can accuse Gordon of not investing as they will all come with big pay packets.
I'd take any 3 of them, if I had to pick would be Keane. I just have a hunch it would work well.
29-04-2022, 12:47 PM
Doumbe left the summer he arrived and Glass arrived the year earlier.
On the subject of an eye for a player however… how could you forget Boozy?!
I’d take Mowbray back but unfortunately I have a feeling he just wouldn’t be interested.
Isn't his family in Scotland? Could be a selling point If true.
29-04-2022, 12:47 PM
What's the key difference for you? (I'm of a mind I'd be happy with either)
Been there, done that. He also left us in crappy circumstances.
He’s too nice for us, I want someone ‘harder’.
Mostly though I want change. Going back to what we’ve already had doesn’t appeal. And he’s not exactly a top manager.
We can get better.
29-04-2022, 12:51 PM
He also nurtured and helped guys like Whittaker, Riordan, Brown and Thomson properly establish themselves as regular first team players, as well as sign guys like Caldwell, Beuzelin, Stewart, Murphy, Sproule and Hogg. I think there was more than good fortune attached to Mowbray's time at Hibs.
Who inspires you?
There was more than good fortune, but there's good fortune and then there's having Riordan, O'connor, Thomson, Brown, Murray and Whittiker forming the spine of your team when you walk in the door. He brought them on and made some decent signings as well though, so thats definitely a gold star on his record.
Roy Keane inspires me with the way he talks about the game, the contacts he'd have in terms of recruitment and the attitude and approach he'd bring to the club.
Theres another guys (Cocu?) who does similar.
Paulie Walnuts
29-04-2022, 12:51 PM
Mowbray has managed more than 4 times the amount of games Keane has and still has a higher win percentage. He also averages 1.48ppg to Keanes 1.39ppg.
He’s won the Championship so he’s also achieved Keanes biggest achievement. He got relegated with Blackburn but that was despite the fact he came in in February and improved them considerably and he then came straight back up and kept them up.
He plays exciting football which it sounds like Keane doesn’t.
Out of interest, is it just Roy Keane you want because he’s Roy Keane? Fine if that’s the case but I can’t see any way Keane is a better option than Mowbray from a footballing view point.
29-04-2022, 12:53 PM
The baggies fans like him. Got them promoted, then relegated. They thought the football was great, but that he was niaive in not being more streetwise / defensive in the EPL
Fair enough, his record since doesn't exactly sparkle with success. The less said about his time at Celtic the better.
29-04-2022, 01:00 PM
Mostly though I want change. Going back to what we’ve already had doesn’t appeal. And he’s not exactly a top manager.
We can get better.
Keane certainly isn't a better manager than Mowbray. And you've not seen much of Blackburn and Mowbray these days tbh. He isn't the same manager.
Weird you wont go back to Mowbray, but you desperately wanted Lennon back. Talk about a guy that got lucky with the team he inherited.
29-04-2022, 01:15 PM
Mowbray has managed more than 4 times the amount of games Keane has and still has a higher win percentage. He also averages 1.48ppg to Keanes 1.39ppg.
He’s won the Championship so he’s also achieved Keanes biggest achievement. He got relegated with Blackburn but that was despite the fact he came in in February and improved them considerably and he then came straight back up and kept them up.
He plays exciting football which it sounds like Keane doesn’t.
Out of interest, is it just Roy Keane you want because he’s Roy Keane? Fine if that’s the case but I can’t see any way Keane is a better option than Mowbray from a footballing view point.
Keane certainly isn't a better manager than Mowbray. And you've not seen much of Blackburn and Mowbray these days tbh. He isn't the same manager.
Weird you wont go back to Mowbray, but you desperately wanted Lennon back. Talk about a guy that got lucky with the team he inherited.
I've not paid any attention to Mowbray's career since he left Celtic. He might be amazing now, still don't want him back.
Keane because he's Keane is probably a fair shout, happy to concede that Mowbray has a better record in management, but still wouldn't have him back.
I wanted Lennon (wouldn't go so far as to say I'm desperate) for the same reasons I'd be happy with Keane.
Going a bit cool on both though. I'm enjoying the rumours!!
Brown Hibs
29-04-2022, 09:16 PM
I've not paid any attention to Mowbray's career since he left Celtic. He might be amazing now, still don't want him back.
Keane because he's Keane is probably a fair shout, happy to concede that Mowbray has a better record in management, but still wouldn't have him back.
I wanted Lennon (wouldn't go so far as to say I'm desperate) for the same reasons I'd be happy with Keane.
Going a bit cool on both though. I'm enjoying the rumours!!
😂😂 Hopefully I'm missing the joke here. You would take a worse manager because they haven't been at the club before?
29-04-2022, 09:25 PM
We can get better.
I’d argue Lennon is going back to what we’ve already had more than Mogga, given the recency of Lenny’s tenure. Lenny left us in pretty crap circumstances as well if that’s been launched at Mowbray. He’s also definitely not a ‘top manager’ if Mowbray isn’t.
I’m not necessarily saying Mowbray is our man. But he definitely appeals more than Lennon or Keane to me at this stage.
29-04-2022, 09:29 PM
West Brom a possible option for Mowbray.
G15 Hibs
04-05-2022, 03:46 PM
There was more than good fortune, but there's good fortune and then there's having Riordan, O'connor, Thomson, Brown, Murray and Whittiker forming the spine of your team when you walk in the door.
Going over old ground here a bit I know, and as I've said before on this threat I really don't think Mowbray will be the next Hibs manager, but it only just came back to me that Kevin Thomson hardly played during Mowbray's first (and most successful in terms of league position) season due to injury. Checking the records, he made 4 sub appearances in April and that was it. Scott Brown was also out between September and February. So while it doesn't change the fact that he inherited some great talent when he took the job back in 2004, it shows what a great job he did to finish 3rd while missing the two of the 'golden generation' who went on to have the most successful careers.
04-05-2022, 04:34 PM
While Mowbray was fortunate to have some great young players coming through, he needed to get them to use that talent. He also made some excellent signings. I think he'd get the place buzzing again and if he's backed properly in the transfer market we'd have our mojo back.
Bridge hibs
04-05-2022, 04:37 PM
While Mowbray was fortunate to have some great young players coming through, he needed to get them to use that talent. He also made some excellent signings. I think he'd get the place buzzing again and if he's backed properly in the transfer market we'd have our mojo back.Gets my vote mate 👍
04-05-2022, 05:25 PM
Hi 2006.
Hibs4185
04-05-2022, 06:23 PM
Never forgive him for gathering all the Celtic players for a huddle in front of the east stand shortly after leaving
04-05-2022, 06:24 PM
Never forgive him for gathering all the Celtic players for a huddle in front of the east stand shortly after leaving
This. And a few other things while in charge of Celtic against Hibs.
Mr. Wonderful
04-05-2022, 06:26 PM
Anyone remember him trying to get us to do one early in his term?
04-05-2022, 06:31 PM
It wasn’t very nice to see but we’ve forgiven worse imo.
04-05-2022, 06:48 PM
This. And a few other things while in charge of Celtic against Hibs.
Think Mowbray was the Celtc manager who claimed he didn't see a blatant dive by one of his own players in front of the dugouts.
Pretty certain the Celtc player got a second yellow for it and was off. Might have been Ian Murray who pulled out of the challenge?
04-05-2022, 06:56 PM
It wasn’t very nice to see but we’ve forgiven worse imo.
Precious bunch us Hibs fans. As you say we’ve forgiven worse from the likes of Yogi and Lennon when they came in and were winning games as our manager.
04-05-2022, 06:56 PM
Think Mowbray was the Celtc manager who claimed he didn't see a blatant dive by one of his own players in front of the dugouts.
Pretty certain the Celtc player got a second yellow for it and was off. Might have been Ian Murray who pulled out of the challenge?
Was that McGeadie who was sent off?
04-05-2022, 07:00 PM
Tbf, it was no more infront of the East than the west. Was towards the away end.
We've forgiven worse as has been said.
04-05-2022, 07:05 PM
Was that McGeadie who was sent off?
Could be right.
04-05-2022, 07:31 PM
Mowbray wasn't lucky. He was a good manager.
Do people not remember how bad we were the previous season with a lot of the same players? I have a lot of time for Bobby Williamson, he came in at a tough time, steadied the ship, was presented with a whole host of trying circumstances and blooded a lot of great youngsters. Fyc
**** me, it was a hard watch though. Mowbray came in and very quickly there was a buzz. I rarely leave games happy when we lose but I was buzzing after the 1-0 defeat that started that league season. It was so obvious we were onto something good.
People need to remember he had to give Alan Reid a 3 month contract to put a team on the park for the Vetra game (Ali Brown, Colin Murdock and Kevin Nicol also started that day so there was work to do). He moved on Grant Brebner, a move widely queried at the time, and replaced him with Boozy. He brought in David Murphy, he blooded Steven Fletcher, he plucked Ivan Spproule from nowhere. More than that he was the last manager to provide us with back to back top 4 finishes.
He's managed well and a high level for a number of years now. I doubt he's interested but if he is then it's a no brainer to at least speak to him.
04-05-2022, 07:37 PM
Do people not remember how bad we were the previous season with a lot of the same players? I have a lot of time for Bobby Williamson, he came in at a tough time, steadied the ship, was presented with a whole host of trying circumstances and blooded a lot of great youngsters. Fyck
**** me, it was a hard watch though. Mowbray came in and very quickly there was a buzz. I rarely leave games happy when we lose but I was buzzing after the 1-0 defeat that started that league season. It was so obvious we were onto something good.
People need to remember he had to give Alan Reid a 3 month contract to put a team on the park for the Vetra game (Ali Brown, Colin Murdock and Kevin Nicol also started that day so there was work to do). He moved on Grant Brebner, a move widely queried at the time, and replaced him with Boozy. He brought in David Murphy, he blooded Steven Fletcher, he plucked Ivan Spproule from nowhere. More than that he was the last manager to provide us with back to back top 4 finishes.
He's managed well and a high level for a number of years now. I doubt he's interested but if he is then it's a no brainer to at least speak to him.
Remember in the pub in Vilnius after that second leg so despondent - thinking we were in for a really poor season - couldn’t have been more wrong - he’s the best example of an underwhelming appointment who turned out to be fantastic for us …football was incredible at times. At its peak , Up there with anything I’ve seen us play .
Strange last I heard Steve Bruce confirmed he would be there next season.
hibby rae
04-05-2022, 07:51 PM
Do people not remember how bad we were the previous season with a lot of the same players? I have a lot of time for Bobby Williamson, he came in at a tough time, steadied the ship, was presented with a whole host of trying circumstances and blooded a lot of great youngsters. Fyc
As I understand it the Brebner move had a lot more to do with off-field issues though.
Mowbray would be worth speaking to again, certainly more attractive than some other names. Maybe get someone else to sign the keepers though if we're going for any 😉
04-05-2022, 07:56 PM
Remember the goalden generation used to run out to The Undertones Teenage Kicks
Great times you never knew what Hibs you were going to get but either way it was entertaining and never a dull moment
04-05-2022, 07:58 PM
Remember the goalden generation used to run out to The Undertones Teenage Kicks
Great times you never knew what Hibs you were going to get but either way it was entertaining and never a dull moment
One of the few times in modern era , when we went in against Celtic and Rangers expecting to win - home and away !
04-05-2022, 08:02 PM
Did Mowbray not sign Michael Stewart as well?
Blurhibee
04-05-2022, 09:07 PM
Did Mowbray not sign Michael Stewart as well?
Yes he did. Michael Stewart was a great player us always have a 100% when he played for us .
Hibeesforever
04-05-2022, 10:00 PM
Mowbury would be a good appointment, get him in and get the good times back!
04-05-2022, 11:09 PM
Mowbury would be a good appointment, get him in and get the good times back!
The perfect appointment IMO.
Get it done Hibs!!
05-05-2022, 05:54 AM
Really in the grand scheme of things no big deal. Think he may have started that as a player at Celtic may be wrong in that. Was that the one Graham Stack joined in on :greengrin
05-05-2022, 07:04 AM
Really in the grand scheme of things no big deal. Think he may have started that as a player at Celtic may be wrong in that. Was that the one Graham Stack joined in on :greengrin
Up there with Plooky Gordon about to take a free-kick outside the box and a Rugby ball suddenly appears bouncing from the East when the Hwarts played at Murrayfield
05-05-2022, 08:42 AM
Up there with Plooky Gordon about to take a free-kick outside the box and a Rugby ball suddenly appears bouncing from the East when the Hwarts played at Murrayfield
Remember that, also Gordon done a proper rugby throw of the ball to get it off the pitch.
Rather amusing
loanheadhibby
06-05-2022, 07:58 AM
Yes he did. Michael Stewart was a great player us always have a 100% when he played for us .
Michael Stewart did quite well for us and I like him as a pundit.
Great player - not convinced.