View Full Version : Ron Gordon are Hibs for sale

john rossi
20-04-2022, 06:46 PM
Listening to Ron Gordon on bbc Scotland I get the impression after 3 years at the helm that he is open to selling the club if a suitable offer to buy the club was acceptable. Let’s face it he is an absentee owner and we need a hands on type like Harry Swan, Tom Hart. Farmer mentioned that he would have preferred a leith man born and bred maybe their are Hibs minded people that would be a bettter alternative to take the club forward.

20-04-2022, 06:48 PM
Don't think he has any intention to sell. That melt Brian McLaughlin was trying to create controversy with his questioning.

OldEast
20-04-2022, 06:49 PM
No way he wants to sell. He was toying with the fat ****.

20-04-2022, 06:51 PM
Watch the full interview on hibs tv.

20-04-2022, 06:52 PM
Watch the interview. Brian McLaughlin is at it with his BBC report.

20-04-2022, 06:52 PM
Lol.

Not sure Mcglaughlin is on Ron's Xmas card list

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

BlackSheep
20-04-2022, 06:56 PM
Can’t find it on hibs tv…. Anyone have a link?

20-04-2022, 06:58 PM
Total bullsh*t how the BBC have spun his answer.

It’s worked though. As we now have Hibs fans genuinely thinking that Ron wants to sell

20-04-2022, 06:59 PM
BM is like an old tabloid hack, rather than a sports journalist. Always looking for a scoop and angle which isn't there. Was the sane after the game on Saturday, spearing a clearly devastated Maloney about the prospect of losing his job. Joyless and dated.

As others have said, this thread is irrelevant. Ron was just illustrating a point today and struck me as very committed to the club and project.

20-04-2022, 07:00 PM
Don't let the headlines of so called "journalists" twist this. He was answering a stupid question from Brian McLaughlin and said he has no intention of selling the club, and that there is no one more passionate about seeing Hibs do well than him.

The headline story I read earlier saying Gordon is now looking to sell the club is an embarrassing take on the answer which is nothing short of spinning lies.

https://youtu.be/fzK7HfKaFQs

Watch it and decide for yourself

He asked if Brian Mc wanted to buy it

The good thing with this is, it’s all on tape and presented to us

Can’t find it on hibs tv…. Anyone have a link?

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=fzK7HfKaFQs

Listening to Ron Gordon on bbc Scotland I get the impression after 3 years at the helm that he is open to selling the club if a suitable offer to buy the club was acceptable. Let’s face it he is an absentee owner and we need a hands on type like Harry Swan, Tom Hart. Farmer mentioned that he would have preferred a leith man born and bred maybe their are Hibs minded people that would be a bettter alternative to take the club forward.

Absentee owner? I reckon RG’s anything but. He’s a very hands on owner.

With respect, your posts a lot of *****.

20-04-2022, 07:02 PM
Listening to Ron Gordon on bbc Scotland I get the impression after 3 years at the helm that he is open to selling the club if a suitable offer to buy the club was acceptable. Let’s face it he is an absentee owner and we need a hands on type like Harry Swan, Tom Hart. Farmer mentioned that he would have preferred a leith man born and bred maybe their are Hibs minded people that would be a bettter alternative to take the club forward.Don you have any quotes that show he wants to sell?

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

20-04-2022, 07:03 PM
It was a bizarre answer from Ron but I think he was just trying to emphasise the point that you won't find anyone more committed to Hibs and willing to put cash in than him. In a "the day you find someone more committed than me and he can have the club" sort of way.

20-04-2022, 07:06 PM
It was a bizarre answer from Ron but I think he was just trying to emphasise the point that you won't find anyone more committed to Hibs and willing to put cash in than him. In a "the day you find someone more committed than me and he can have the club" sort of way.

It was a clear answer for anyone who wasn’t trying to make a story out of it

20-04-2022, 07:07 PM
BM is and always has been a total roaster

20-04-2022, 07:08 PM
Just waiting now for an article by Tom English castigating Ron Gordon for his terrible treatment of Shaun Maloney.

20-04-2022, 07:08 PM

I think the opposite, he sounded annoyed by the question, that was and is my take. People only hear what they want to and he said clearly that what he wants is to improve Hibs and bring stability. I believe he will do both.

20-04-2022, 07:11 PM
Didn't get that impression at all, rather the opposite,you maybe didn't listen to the whole interview, only the abridged version.

Sioux
20-04-2022, 07:14 PM

You're at it :jamboclow

20-04-2022, 07:16 PM
He basically said tongue in cheek if somebody came in with the right offer he'd be open but stated to McLauchlin, you'll not find anybody. Continued with he was the best person to take Hibs forward and there would be nobody more committed.

Again asked McLauchlin to bring him ALL these names he has wanting to buy Hibs

the_ginger_hibee
20-04-2022, 07:22 PM
He's got Brian 'Succulent Ham's' number. All McLaughlin had left was to run away and misrepresent his quote into a story. RG is here to stay & has turned down offers.

Green Reaper
20-04-2022, 07:31 PM

How on Earth did you come to that conclusion after watching that interview? Ron got pissed off with that Jambo twat asking what Ron obviously felt was an insulting question. Ron challenged BM to bring someone to him with more ambition and commitment to Hibs than he has.

JoeT
20-04-2022, 07:39 PM
BM is an odious troll

20-04-2022, 07:39 PM
BM is an odious troll

PolmontHibby
20-04-2022, 07:43 PM
i guess everyone has their price, but RG had previously said he had received offers (back in September 2020) to buy Hibs off him but wasn't interested.

Picking up on something mentioned in the OP, on the latest Graeme Spiers Petreon that came out yesterday Simon Pia seemed to state that Tom Farmer/Rod Petrie would not entertain selling to anyone local in case they did a better job.
Sounded like a bizarre comment to me, and one I cannot ever remember hearing before - though it seemed to be getting stated by SP as common knowledge?

20-04-2022, 07:44 PM
john rossi, yer taking a pasting here. Its perfectly cool to come back on and explain you've picked it up wrong, that would be non jambo thing to do. We all get things wrong.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

20-04-2022, 07:44 PM
It was a disgraceful report by the fat Jambo
Just another example of the way the club is portrayed in the media where there is unfortunately next to no one of a Hibs persuasion.

LewysGot2
20-04-2022, 07:45 PM
i guess everyone has their price, but RG had previously said he had received offers (back in September 2020) to buy Hibs off him but wasn't interested.

Picking up on something mentioned in the OP, on the latest Graeme Spiers Petreon that came out yesterday Simon Pia seemed to state that Tom Farmer/Rod Petrie would not entertain selling to anyone local in case they did a better job.
Sounded like a bizarre comment to me, and one I cannot ever remember hearing before - though it seemed to be getting stated by SP as common knowledge?

Very odd. Must be Pia’s own opinion. He’s not STFs number one fan either….

20-04-2022, 07:47 PM

He is in for the long haul. Hibs aren’t for sale.

20-04-2022, 07:48 PM
BM is an odious troll
john rossi is an obvious one.

LewysGot2
20-04-2022, 07:49 PM

There’s a few on here just now. Hiding in plain sight…

20-04-2022, 07:49 PM
This thread shows everything that’s wrong with social media driven news stories. McLaughlin is a laughable troll but he clearly has some folk actually paying attention to his manipulative pish. It’s actually the exact OPPOSITE point RG was making.

20-04-2022, 07:50 PM

Pia is a total roaster.

20-04-2022, 07:51 PM
Met Pia once. What an absolute knob of a guy, laughing at his own non-funny comments. Struck me as an ‘I’m brighter than you’ type of guy.

20-04-2022, 07:52 PM

Well were are they? The club was sold to RG in 2019. Tom Farmer has said in the past the club was always for sale to the right person. Surely any Hibs minded, Leith born and bred multi millionaire would have gotten involved before now?

ThisIsTheYear
Speaks very well - gives me confidence

PolmontHibby
Pia is a total roaster.

I prefer that answer to the one that I am going senile and forgetting (though getting there)

The Tubs
20-04-2022, 07:54 PM

The NHS is doing brilliantly with those millions we’ve saved from brexit.

20-04-2022, 07:54 PM

Pia knows nothing….categorically, Farmer and Petrie ( for a number of years ) were actively exploring sales conversations with local people. Often actively encouraged interest. If people had have ponied up, they would have been delighted to do a deal.

20-04-2022, 07:58 PM

20-04-2022, 08:02 PM

Is Pia not a well known slaver?

PolmontHibby
20-04-2022, 08:02 PM
Pia knows nothing….categorically, Farmer and Petrie ( for a number of years ) were actively exploring sales conversations with local people. Often actively encouraged interest. If people had have ponied up, they would have been delighted to do a deal.

Cheers... I will put the Pia comment in the complete bollocks box

20-04-2022, 08:03 PM
Just another example of the way the club is portrayed in the media where there is unfortunately next to no one of a Hibs persuasion.

I thought Ron handled the fat clown pretty well. BBC Sport Scotland has a definite maroon bias though. With one of the senior execs a Jambo it seems that Sportsound gets heavily loaded with ex Jambo players and lazy journos like fatty seem to get given license to spout pish. And then we had the recent behind the scenes documentary.

20-04-2022, 08:05 PM
Cheers... I will put the Pia comment in the complete bollocks box

I think that box is where Pia gets all the words from that come out of his mouth.

20-04-2022, 08:14 PM
You're at it :jamboclow

Agreed

JXM73
20-04-2022, 08:27 PM

Thats daily record level of quoting, idiot!

20-04-2022, 08:29 PM
John Rossi, are you Tom English?

20-04-2022, 08:43 PM
John Rossi = MIA

Must try harder!

As for BM typical member of BBC Sportsound anti Hibs crew!

Can see the Headlines tomorrow about RG looking to get out etc blah blah blah!

20-04-2022, 08:44 PM
Brian Mc is an arse!

Peanut Shaz
20-04-2022, 09:18 PM
Met Pia once. What an absolute knob of a guy, laughing at his own non-funny comments. Struck me as an ‘I’m brighter than you’ type of guy.

He comes in to my work regularly for meetings. Loud, arrogant and rude to staff every time. Was head boy when I was at school, even then he was a pain in the erchie

The Tubs
20-04-2022, 09:26 PM
If you have a look at McLaughlin’s article about Maloney’s sacking, you’ll see his command of both punctuation and standard English is a disgrace for a journalist. No wonder he works for the BBC.

Lester B
20-04-2022, 09:34 PM
He comes in to my work regularly for meetings. Loud, arrogant and rude to staff every time. Was head boy when I was at school, even then he was a pain in the erchie

Have met the guy once. Incredibly rude, patronising and arrogant. It was lunchtime and he smelled like he'd brushed his teeth with either vodka or whisky.

john rossi
20-04-2022, 09:37 PM
Yes it was a baited question by jambo McLaughlin but he said in so many words He would sell if the price was right. That was my take everyone has a different interpretation. Look I like Ron Gordon but I question his commitment investment I disagree with him on jan recruitment Mitchel,Henderson,Jasper,melkerson Rocki not good enough IMO.really hope he gets it right with our next manager but he needs backed financially.

20-04-2022, 09:40 PM
Yes it was a baited question by jambo McLaughlin but he said in so many words He would sell if the price was right. That was my take everyone has a different interpretation. Look I like Ron Gordon but I question his commitment investment I disagree with him on jan recruitment Mitchel,Henderson,Jasper,melkerson Rocki not good enough IMO.really hope he gets it right with our next manager but he needs backed financially.

In so many words, Ron Gordon also offered Brian McLaughlin the club.

20-04-2022, 10:15 PM

I’ve mentioned the free propaganda tha hearts get peddled on the bbc and this is another side to it. Knocking us down.

20-04-2022, 10:30 PM
I’ve mentioned the free propaganda tha hearts get peddled on the bbc and this is another side to it. Knocking us down.

Doesn’t seem to be just the bbc for them, it’s most Media’s

20-04-2022, 11:13 PM

Simon Pia. Enough said.

20-04-2022, 11:19 PM

They certainly do.

The Radio Scotland football coverage is essentially Ugly Sisters adoration, Aberdeen fan club and Hearts fawning - in that order - and bugger all else.

21-04-2022, 08:09 AM
The headline caught me out initially - was great to see the actual interview. No doubt Hibs are a bit of basket case right now results wise, but hope we can turn a corner.

Overall RG came across well and seems able to handle the low level snipe artists that kick about the Scottish game. :cb

21-04-2022, 08:42 AM

Simon had no time for Petrie from day one.
He contended that well qualified Hibs men were overlooked by Farmer when appointing Petrie, who had never seen Hibs play or even attended a top football game.
Farmer wanted "His Man" at the helm.Not necessarily a "Hibs Man"
Pia article link
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/latest-hibs-news/buck-hibs-relegation-stops-rod-petrie-1535855

Simon along with Kenny McLean jr ,Mike Riley(Hibs Club) and Paul Kane led a campaign after the Butcher debacle to get Petrie oot
https://theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2014/05/petrie-out-campaign-denies-trying-to-starve-the-club/

21-04-2022, 08:51 AM
Did he not say at the end of that weird line of questioning that he had no interest in selling the club?

21-04-2022, 08:52 AM
Don't worry guys. As soon as I win £100+million on the Euro millions I will buy the club and save us all $$$$$$$$🤗

chippy
21-04-2022, 09:17 AM
Simon had no time for Petrie from day one.
He contended that well qualified Hibs men were overlooked by Farmer when appointing Petrie, who had never seen Hibs play or even attended a top football game.
Farmer wanted "His Man" at the helm.Not necessarily a "Hibs Man"
Pia article link
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/latest-hibs-news/buck-hibs-relegation-stops-rod-petrie-1535855

Simon along with Kenny McLean jr ,Mike Riley(Hibs Club) and Paul Kane led a campaign after the Butcher debacle to get Petrie oot
https://theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2014/05/petrie-out-campaign-denies-trying-to-starve-the-club/

Simon is a great guy. Good socialist and Hibs man through and through. As are all his family, fantastic people. He stuck his head above the parapet a few times to take on perceived injustices and had his job threatened at times in the past. I’d like to know what school he was head boy at because it wasn’t St Augustine’s as I was in his year.

21-04-2022, 09:26 AM
Simon is a great guy. Good socialist and Hibs man through and through. As are all his family, fantastic people. He stuck his head above the parapet a few times to take on perceived injustices and had his job threatened at times in the past. I’d like to know what school he was head boy at because it wasn’t St Augustine’s as I was in his year.

A Labour Party supporter so not the same as a socialist. Petrie was put in to watch Farmer's money so we did not blow it all. Pia let himself down with some of the attacks on Farmer with the crazies who thought Farmer and Petrie had scammed Hibs and the fans.

The Baldmans Comb
21-04-2022, 09:34 AM
I thought Simon Pia had renounced British Unionism in the last few years and he used to have a huge problem with Farmer as well as Petrie though Farmer sorted him out good and proper after one of his articles went to far.

The BBC 🤡😥 report was a huge misrepresentation but no surprise there and why any Scottish person gives them money is totally beyond my comprehension but rock on as you get exactly the coverage you deserve.😥

21-04-2022, 09:37 AM
Any chance of updating the title to at least put “up for sale” in quotes (not really) otherwise we’re in danger of amplifying what others would like to push…

21-04-2022, 09:37 AM
I would be happy for Ron to stay on for a few more years. Everyone was excited when he first came in and no one can say he ain't out in money so far, the only thing is the behind the scenes ain't great.

I hope this is a wake up call and recruitment etc improve.

21-04-2022, 09:39 AM
I would be happy for Ron to stay on for a few more years. Everyone was excited when he first came in and no one can say he ain't out in money so far, the only thing is the behind the scenes ain't great.

I hope this is a wake up call and recruitment etc improve.

he mentioned that the options to replace Boyle weren’t either right or possible from what I recall - no point in recruiting for recruitments sake to get a “body” in… club has been there before…

might be interesting once the business is done to share what these options were unless it alerts folks to the markets we’re tapping into. Proof of the pudding (and hopefully the Boyle money doesn’t buy us a pudding) is in the eating.

He's here!
21-04-2022, 09:51 AM

I used to know Simon Pia back in the day and there was no doubting his adoration of Hibs, but putting the boot into Farmer seemed to become and obsession with him.

Just managed to find time to listen to the whole Ron Gordon interview. I feel better about him after doing so. He's a businessman first and foremost and I thought he gave as honest and open a set of answers as possible to the questions put to him. Of course he'd be interested in selling the club if the right offer came along but as he made clear to BM there's nobody out there making those sort of noises. You could hear the excitement in BM's voice as he sensed he had a 'scoop' and desipte RG making the situation very clear he still rushed off to file the 'Hibs for sale' story.

21-04-2022, 09:56 AM
Not seen Simon or the brothers for years.
I first knew Simon and Aiden when we were school age,too .
Simon went to Scotus Academy.Think all the Pia brothers did.
Fee paying RC school for boys in Corstorphine .
Was right next to the Zoo on the hill.
Hibby's Big Dougan and his brother Maurice went there as well.
Well gone now.Site now been a private hospital for years.BUPA firstly

Our parents could not afford it for us 4 boys.
Would have been handy,living in Clerry!

I got on fine with the Pia's and share Simon's politics .
Though i might be more to the left !

21-04-2022, 10:21 AM
A Labour Party supporter so not the same as a socialist. Petrie was put in to watch Farmer's money so we did not blow it all. Pia let himself down with some of the attacks on Farmer with the crazies who thought Farmer and Petrie had scammed Hibs and the fans.

Simon was a member of the LP and once employed by them.
Labour Party membership is full of Socialists.I was a member,too!

On Simon and Hibs
While the East Stand and HTC is said to have been paid for from big transfer revenues.Brown,Thomson,Fletcher.
Simon and others wished to know where the cash from sales of land outwith the stadium that the club owned went.
There are well known former players,who are Hibs supporters (other than Paul Kane) who shared Simons concerns back then.

21-04-2022, 10:38 AM
I think the opposite, he sounded annoyed by the question, that was and is my take. People only hear what they want to and he said clearly that what he wants is to improve Hibs and bring stability. I believe he will do both.

The annoyance flickered on his face before he composed himself.

21-04-2022, 10:42 AM
Not seen Simon or the brothers for years.
I first knew Simon and Aiden when we were school age,too .
Simon went to Scotus Academy.Think all the Pia brothers did.
Fee paying RC school for boys in Corstorphine .
Was right next to the Zoo on the hill.
Hibby's Big Dougan and his brother Maurice went there as well.
Well gone now.Site now been a private hospital for years.BUPA firstly

Our parents could not afford it for us 4 boys.
Would have been handy,living in Clerry!

I got on fine with the Pia's and share Simon's politics .
Though i might be more to the left !

I knew Simon from Scotts. I went there for 1 year before begging to go to Auggies instead. I hated Scotus.

Very weird set up.

21-04-2022, 11:24 AM
Typical taken out of context "clickbait-headline" listen to the whole interview then make your own mind up, I will be renewing my season ticket.