View Full Version : Malky Mackay - Yes or no

Pages : 1 [2]

23-04-2022, 07:35 AM
No, proven to be a sleazy character IMO. Not someone I want associated with our proud club.

24-04-2022, 02:39 PM
Have just seen Malky’s suit with black shirt and black tie combo at his match today - it’s a definite no from me !

on-the-level
24-04-2022, 02:41 PM
No

24-04-2022, 02:54 PM
Have just seen Malky’s suit with black shirt and black tie combo at his match today - it’s a definite no from me !

What a ridiculous comment…………….it’s clearly a very dark shade of blue😏

24-04-2022, 02:56 PM
What a ridiculous comment…………….it’s clearly a very dark shade of blue[emoji57]

[emoji1787]. Much worse that of course …at least black has a classic look about it ..mono coloured suit, shirt and tie …just No

24-04-2022, 03:22 PM
Not for me

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

24-04-2022, 03:29 PM
Not for me, but have heard he’s definitely under consideration.

Have not heard one name that I would give a whole hearted yes to yet. But it’s early days I suppose.

24-04-2022, 03:31 PM
Only with Roy Keane to keep him in check.

Yorkshire HFC
24-04-2022, 04:20 PM
Not for me, but have heard he’s definitely under consideration.

Have not heard one name that I would give a whole hearted yes to yet. But it’s early days I suppose.

Live and let live - and hope he's learnt from his mistakes.

But he is someone who I could see fitting what Hibs need - someone who you could try and build a club with - he's the right age, has good experience and I think he could be a good long term manager.

It's a sad state of affairs that he would probably need a good offer and a bunch of promises to leave a steady job - how Hibs stock has fallen. Why would he want to work for this Hibs board?

Maybe he has too much baggage - but I think we should be going for someone like him.

The mad thing is, I think we need someone just like Jack Ross - if only (I know) he'd won a couple more game in Nov / Dec and he'd won the Cup - how different things could have been. But that's life.

Gordy M
24-04-2022, 04:22 PM
Live and let live - and hope he's learnt from his mistakes.

But he is someone who I could see fitting what Hibs need - someone who you could try and build a club with - he's the right age, has good experience and I think he could be a good long term manager.

It's a sad state of affairs that he would probably need a good offer and a bunch of promises to leave a steady job - how Hibs stock has fallen. Why would he want to work for this Hibs board?

Maybe he has too much baggage - but I think we should be going for someone like him.

The mad thing is, I think we need someone just like Jack Ross - if only (I know) he'd won a couple more game in Nov / Dec and he'd won the Cup - how different things could have been. But that's life.

Whats wrong with Hibs board? Why wouldnt he want to work for Hibs? IF he is offered the job, Mckay would take it in a heartbeat.

Mantis Toboggan
24-04-2022, 04:25 PM
As if a Ross County manager would turn down Hibs

Sheep_Nae_Mair
24-04-2022, 04:32 PM
He was cleared by the English FA - end of.

Yorkshire HFC
24-04-2022, 04:32 PM
Whats wrong with Hibs board? Why wouldnt he want to work for Hibs? IF he is offered the job, Mckay would take it in a heartbeat.

They keep sacking managers. If he's offered enough money and given assurances that unless something drastic happened that he'd be allowed to build something, then I'm sure he probably would come.

24-04-2022, 04:37 PM

Yep. And they have an unblemished record in never turning a blind eye to bad behaviour :agree:

24-04-2022, 05:27 PM
I remember growing up as a kid, we'd lose a manager and we did not have a clue who we were getting, they just appointed the next victim and we backed him whoever it was, until such times as he was pumped out the door and another came in.

24-04-2022, 05:53 PM

Didn't they clear John Terry?

24-04-2022, 06:31 PM
Didn't they clear John Terry?

At least we've not been linked with him.

24-04-2022, 06:33 PM
At least we've not been linked with him.

Give it time :agree:

Paulie Walnuts
24-04-2022, 06:42 PM

Ah well, that’ll be that then.

He probably passed the FIFA morality test as well.

_hucks_
24-04-2022, 09:57 PM
He probably would be a great appointment as he knows his football, however, i find society and people in general are pretty much unforgiving and revel in gossip and muck raking. It wouldn't bother me much if he was appointed and got stuck in but its a hell of a risk to take due to gossips and grasses unwilling to give redeemers a clean slate.

gossips and grasses? these texts are not gossip, they are real. He is a character I want nowhere near our club.

25-04-2022, 06:58 AM
I find it a little ironic that Malcolm Mackay has not repeated his unsavoury language since it was brought to his attention how unacceptable it was and is. Yet we are subjected to that racial, homophobic and misogynistic language being repeatedly plastered over these pages as people supposedly express their “objections”. Is there any need?
The man has recognised his wrongdoing and apologised properly for it. What more should he do? It’s not him repeating these messages on here.
I’d take him as Manager ahead of all the other characters being touted and I’d expect him to continue to continue to show his recently acquired respect for people of all races, denominations and sexual orientations.
More to the point, I’d expect him to have Hibernian Football Club performing at the top of Scottish football.

25-04-2022, 07:14 AM
I find it a little ironic that Malcolm Mackay has not repeated his unsavoury language since it was brought to his attention how unacceptable it was and is. Yet we are subjected to that racial, homophobic and misogynistic language being repeatedly plastered over these pages as people supposedly express their “objections”. Is there any need?
The man has recognised his wrongdoing and apologised properly for it. What more should he do? It’s not him repeating these messages on here.
I’d take him as Manager ahead of all the other characters being touted and I’d expect him to continue to continue to show his recently acquired respect for people of all races, denominations and sexual orientations.
More to the point, I’d expect him to have Hibernian Football Club performing at the top of Scottish football.

Well said.

The old saying "People in glass houses shouldn't throw stones" comes to mind.

25-04-2022, 07:57 AM
Well said.

The old saying "People in glass houses shouldn't throw stones" comes to mind.

Yep, can anyone on here honestly say they have never ,ever, told or laughed at a racist or sexist joke or made a racist or sexist comment.

Greenworld
25-04-2022, 08:01 AM
If its a scottish manager we want then he fits the bill perfectly.
I'm not sure trigger happy Ron might get as big a application bag as before.

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

25-04-2022, 08:06 AM

There will be hundreds of applicants.

25-04-2022, 08:21 AM
Yep, can anyone on here honestly say they have never ,ever, told or laughed at a racist or sexist joke or made a racist or sexist comment.

He didn't make a joke though or just laugh at it, nothing he said was supposed to be funny, just flat out racist. Other people being racists doesn't excuse his racism.

Why shouldn't we be able to see what he said and discuss it?

No one has canceled him, he's done his mandated training, but that doesn't mean he gets permanently excused forever, he said those things about other humans and that will remain attached to him for the rest of his career. Tough ****.

Paulie Walnuts
25-04-2022, 08:38 AM

These weren’t jokes though, were they? His comments were absolute outright racism. Not bad jokes, not uneducated use of racist words, the whole context of the comments were racist, sexist and bigoted.

I can most definitely say I’ve never made a racist comment, that’s for sure, much in the same way I’ve never made a negative comment about a disabled person or swanned about asking someone if they were having a bounce on a woman’s tits.

25-04-2022, 08:43 AM

It's one of the most appealing jobs in Scotland. The bag will be huge. Maloney being hopeless won't change that

25-04-2022, 09:04 AM

:agree::agree:

Stonewall
25-04-2022, 09:20 AM
The more I think about the more I think Mackay is a realistic contender. He’s done something stupid and apologised and paid a heavy penalty for it.

Do we really not believe in forgiving people for this sort of stuff. It’s not as if we’re talking about David Goodwillie or Graham Rix though. I suppose as ever it’s where the line is drawn. If Lennon as reported made homophobic comments to Leeann should he have to carry that around with him?

Alan62
25-04-2022, 09:45 AM
Regardless of the racism and the sexism which would, undoubtedly, split our already divided support base, is it worth actually assessing Malky Mackay's achievements with Ross County this season? Fair enough they're a small club from a small town operating well above the 'natural order' but it's worth remembering that much of their success in recent years can be directly attributed to the amount of funding supplied by their very wealthy owner.

That aside, Ross County have won 10 games in the league this season. One more than us. They've lost 14 and drawn 10. Chances are they'll have lost more games than us by the end of the season. While Covid took care of County's League Cup campaign, they went out in the 4th round to Livingston. Is there really anything remarkable about this record? Arguably, Ross County are top six this season because Hibs and Aberdeen are not.

25-04-2022, 09:59 AM

Aye cause everyone at some point has said, or laughed at, all of this (https://i2-prod.walesonline.co.uk/incoming/article7650784.ece/ALTERNATES/s615b/mackay-texts.jpg). (CW: racism, antisemitism, sexism, homophobia)

If you really fancy it then look up a full record of all the things he said (it's widely disseminated) and really question whether you would be happy with someone who has said all of that, at any point in their life, managing your club.

This incessant drive in football to rehabilitate bigots is tiresome.

OldEast
25-04-2022, 11:04 AM
The incessant drive from "never done a thing wrong" types to appear outraged at the thought of him at Hibs is tiresome.
Perhaps a dozen, if that, said they'd never be back, bollocks! as soon as the results picked up they'd be back. The daily hun might have fun with the text messages until the next poor sod who causes offense comes along then he's forgotten about. I'm not particularly bothered if we get him or not but I'm sure the club won't be damaged if he does come.

25-04-2022, 11:21 AM
He didn't make a joke though or just laugh at it, nothing he said was supposed to be funny, just flat out racist. Other people being racists doesn't excuse his racism.

No one has canceled him, he's done his mandated training, but that doesn't mean he gets permanently excused forever, he said those things about other humans and that will remain attached to him for the rest of his career. Tough ****.

So your saying you have never ,ever in your life made a racist or sexist comment ?

DanishJohn
25-04-2022, 11:43 AM

Tell me something. In your years of following Hibs and whilst at a match have you used any of the following three words ?

Blind
Stupid

25-04-2022, 11:45 AM

Back in my school days (and from having discussed this with a lot of people) the word ‘gay’ was used to describe anything negative. “Extra homework? That’s gay”, “I hate that band, they’re so gay” etc.

It was everywhere and as nobody questioned it, people generally went along with it. Never thought about it until a friend came out and had said a few weeks later in conversation that they’d always known but never felt comfortable coming out as they didn’t think it would have been a welcoming environment.

That was the massive shining light moment for me. Very few people from my age meant it with any malice whatsoever. Most people I’ve discussed this with regret using that phrase in that context and can’t believe they didn’t see how damaging it could be. It was just the done and said thing of that age and that environment. I proudly advocate for more open environments where people are comfortable talking about themselves without fear of rebuttal or ridicule.

Does that make me and a huge amount of people my age massive homophobes or does it make us ignorant back then but have since become enlightened?

Paulie Walnuts
25-04-2022, 11:58 AM
Tell me something. In your years of following Hibs and whilst at a match have you used any of the following three words ?

Blind
Stupid

You can’t seriously be comparing what Mackay said to calling someone or something stupid?

25-04-2022, 11:59 AM
Still waiting on anyone in this thread admitting to saying anything in this image (https://i2-prod.walesonline.co.uk/incoming/article7650784.ece/ALTERNATES/s615b/mackay-texts.jpg) or admitting they found "jokes" like that funny at any point in their lives.

25-04-2022, 12:14 PM
Still waiting on anyone in this thread admitting to saying anything in this image (https://i2-prod.walesonline.co.uk/incoming/article7650784.ece/ALTERNATES/s615b/mackay-texts.jpg) or admitting they found "jokes" like that funny at any point in their lives.

Waiting? Why?

So you can have a go at them?

MikeyS
25-04-2022, 12:23 PM
Waiting? Why?

Taking names for future opportunities to get on a high horse.

25-04-2022, 12:26 PM
Back in my school days (and from having discussed this with a lot of people) the word ‘gay’ was used to describe anything negative. “Extra homework? That’s gay”, “I hate that band, they’re so gay” etc.

It was everywhere and as nobody questioned it, people generally went along with it. Never thought about it until a friend came out and had said a few weeks later in conversation that they’d always known but never felt comfortable coming out as they didn’t think it would have been a welcoming environment.

That was the massive shining light moment for me. Very few people from my age meant it with any malice whatsoever. Most people I’ve discussed this with regret using that phrase in that context and can’t believe they didn’t see how damaging it could be. It was just the done and said thing of that age and that environment. I proudly advocate for more open environments where people are comfortable talking about themselves without fear of rebuttal or ridicule.

Does that make me and a huge amount of people my age massive homophobes or does it make us ignorant back then but have since become enlightened?

Nothing Mackay said is comparable with what you described though, just have a look at what he said and if you can't see the difference I can't help you see it.

25-04-2022, 12:28 PM
So your saying you have never ,ever in your life made a racist or sexist comment ?

Why does that matter in relation to Mackay's messages?

Paulie Walnuts
Nothing Mackay said is comparable with what you described though, just have a look at what he said and if you can't see the difference I can't help you see it.

Seeing people compare what Mackay has said to a crude joke or comparing it to calling someone stupid as is happening on this thread is quite something.

Sad really to see people willing to play down such horrendous comments as if they were just wee jokes or a bit name calling.

OldEast
Taking names for future opportunities to get on a high horse.

He's already in the saddle.

25-04-2022, 12:29 PM

Blind
Stupid

25-04-2022, 12:52 PM
I've made any number of off color jokes in my life which would be deemed unacceptable these days. What I am sure of though is that I've never once put them in print in an email or text, doing so is a serious error of judgment.

25-04-2022, 12:56 PM
It's weird people don't want Mackay because he sent text messages, but do want managers with a open track record of bullying.

Saying bad is worse than doing bad apparently.

25-04-2022, 12:58 PM
Get him before the boss makes a reckless move and appoints Keane.

25-04-2022, 01:00 PM
It's weird people don't want Mackay because he sent text messages, but do want managers with a open track record of bullying.

Do you really think that someone as outwardly offensive as Mackay was, has never acted on his racism/sexism/anti-semitism/homophobia? even in these messages, he IS acting on his prejudice.

25-04-2022, 01:10 PM
Do you really think that someone as outwardly offensive as Mackay was, has never acted on his racism/sexism/anti-semitism/homophobia? even in these messages, he IS acting on his prejudice.

I'd have to ask his players , but given the media were dug deep into the story and nothing came out, I don't think he has.

But I know Bartley acted on his misogyny when we was found guilty of threatening and abusive behaviour toward his bit on the side, and I am aware of allegations of Neil Lennons homophobic language directed at his own players. Are you disgusted by thier continued involvement in professional football?

Roy Keane broke someone's leg out of malice. That's psychotic.

Where are you drawing the line? It's not a line, it's a squiggle.

Paulie Walnuts
25-04-2022, 01:15 PM
I'd have to ask his players , but given the media were dug deep into the story and nothing came out, I don't think he has.

But I know Bartley acted on his misogyny when we was found guilty of threatening and abusive behaviour toward his bit on the side, and I am aware of allegations of Neil Lennons homophobic language directed at his own players. Are you disgusted by thier continued involvement in professional football?

I’ve not seen anyone that’s disgusted in Mackay’s continued involvement in football. All the posts I’ve seen just don’t want him at our club. If other clubs want to employ a racist homophobe bigot then that’s for them to decide.

25-04-2022, 01:15 PM

Where is the “open track record of bullying” coming from??

25-04-2022, 01:27 PM

What he has already done was acting on his prejudice. You don't have to ask anyone.

25-04-2022, 02:20 PM
Waiting? Why?

No one has personally admitted to saying anything like that, and no one will. That's because those comments are indefensible and the "we've all said something offensive at one point or another" is false equivalence.

Would there be as many people defending him if there was a bit of anti-Catholic/anti-Irish bigotry in there too? Or if he was an English manager who'd made a bunch of anti-Scottish jokes? Is there a line or are past managerial achievements the only important factor in picking a new Hibs manager? We should go for Paul Hartley then, he's just got Cove promoted twice in three years.

25-04-2022, 02:29 PM
These weren’t jokes though, were they? His comments were absolute outright racism. Not bad jokes, not uneducated use of racist words, the whole context of the comments were racist, sexist and bigoted.

I can most definitely say I’ve never made a racist comment, that’s for sure, much in the same way I’ve never made a negative comment about a disabled person or swanned about asking someone if they were having a bounce on a woman’s tits.
Well that should be enough to rule you out.

25-04-2022, 11:12 PM
What he has already done was acting on his prejudice. You don't have to ask anyone.

Saying something and doing something are not the same thing.

I've clearly cited Bartley and referenced Lennon, because there's been no public admission of bullying and homophobia - but plenty of leaked hearsay. I'll stick with Marv, given he was found guilty and Mackay admitted to his texts.

Do you think it is worse to have sent 3 texts of unacceptable language - not even in a threatening and abusive manner as they were not sent to the subject , or to turn up, as a large physically imposing man, at a young woman's work, threatening her and leaving her in fear of her wellbeing because she would not conceal your infidelity?

I like Marv, and if he turned up as Hibs coach one day I'd be delighted for him , so I'm happy to forgive him his mistakes and not condemn him as forever unfit to be part of our club. If I am to be consistent, I have to extend that same forgiveness to Mackay.

DstN75
25-04-2022, 11:43 PM
Absolutely no way.

It tells a story that folk have to go to ridiculous "yeah but what if we were signing Ronaldo" analogies to persuade themselves that it's acceptable.

JamesHFC
26-04-2022, 12:49 AM

I've clearly cited Bartley and referenced Lennon, because there's been no public admission of bullying and homophobia - but plenty of leaked hearsay. I'll stick with Marv, given he was found guilty and Mackay admitted to his texts.

Do you think it is worse to have sent 3 texts of unacceptable language - not even in a threatening and abusive manner as they were not sent to the subject , or to turn up, as a large physically imposing man, at a young woman's work, threatening her and leaving her in fear of her wellbeing because she would not conceal your infidelity?

I like Marv, and if he turned up as Hibs coach one day I'd be delighted for him , so I'm happy to forgive him his mistakes and not condemn him as forever unfit to be part of our club. If I am to be consistent, I have to extend that same forgiveness to Mackay.

👍🏻

Harpandcastle
26-04-2022, 03:43 PM

Spot on that.

26-04-2022, 04:07 PM

"Not many white faces amongst that lot but worth considering.” - so he is ruling out players here because of their skin colour, at the very least the action here is that he would prefer to be offered more white people. You don't even make this comment unless you are willfully discriminating against non-whites.

"He's a snake, a gay snake. Not to be trusted.” - doesn't trust someone because they are a gay snake, that is an action he has taken.

"*** c******.” “Fk it. There’s enough dogs in Cardiff for us all to go around.” - he is actively annoyed because someone is Asian, the action is that he is discriminating against someone for this and grudgingly accepting the player or whatever is being discussed.

These are not just words, there are actions directly related to the statements he is making, otherwise he would not be saying them.

I don't understand why you are trying to make me choose between Bartley and Mackay either.

26-04-2022, 04:19 PM
"Not many white faces amongst that lot but worth considering.” - so he is ruling out players here because of their skin colour, at the very least the action here is that he would prefer to be offered more white people. You don't even make this comment unless you are willfully discriminating against non-whites.

"He's a snake, a gay snake. Not to be trusted.” - doesn't trust someone because they are a gay snake, that is an action he has taken.

"*** chinkys.” “Fk it. There’s enough dogs in Cardiff for us all to go around.” - he is actively annoyed because someone is Asian, the action is that he is discriminating against someone for this and grudgingly accepting the player or whatever is being discussed.

These are not just words, there are actions directly related to the statements he is making, otherwise he would not be saying them.

I don't understand why you are trying to make me choose between Bartley and Mackay either.

I've recognised the things he texted, so I'm not going to go over old ground, but I'll deal with the last bit.

Mackay has a history of saying bigoted things, Bartley has one of abusing women. I'm not asking you to choose between them - I love Marv - I'm asking you why one gets a second chance and the other doesn't?

26-04-2022, 04:36 PM
I've recognised the things he texted, so I'm not going to go over old ground, but I'll deal with the last bit.

Mackay has a history of saying bigoted things, Bartley has one of abusing women. I'm not asking you to choose between them - I love Marv - I'm asking you why one gets a second chance and the other doesn't?

They both have second chances and are both currently employed.

cameronw-hfc
26-04-2022, 04:51 PM

Its the age old "aye but this person done this thing bad" argument. Malkys texts show what sort of person he is and the arbitrary courses he's done to fix that will not have changed a thing about his bigoted mindset.

Hiring him sends a god awful message to any black, Asian or gay fans of hibs.

26-04-2022, 05:08 PM
. Malkys texts show what sort of person he is and the arbitrary courses he's done to fix that will not have changed a thing about his bigoted mindset.

So you are saying people can't change?

How judgemental can people actually be? Everyone seems to think they can be judge and jury from a distance these days.

I know people who were racist when younger but are not now. People do educate themselves or become educated. They way they were before may have been because of upbringing or whatever and there can be umpteen reasons why people say misguided things.

cameronw-hfc
26-04-2022, 05:25 PM
So you are saying people can't change?

How judgemental can people actually be? Everyone seems to think they can be judge and jury from a distance these days.

I know people who were racist when younger but are not now. People do educate themselves or become educated. They way they were before may have been because of upbringing or whatever and there can be umpteen reasons why people say misguided things.

People can, but people that have views like he did usually don't, and let's not pretend he was a kid, he was a grown man that had literally no excuse.

Even if he has changed, I still don't want him near hibs because as I said, it sets a terrible message to the POC Hibs fans and other minorities.

Setting a pretty dangerous precedent given his complete lack of public remorse for it.

26-04-2022, 05:33 PM
Its the age old "aye but this person done this thing bad" argument. Malkys texts show what sort of person he is and the arbitrary courses he's done to fix that will not have changed a thing about his bigoted mindset.

Hiring him sends a god awful message to any black, Asian or gay fans of hibs.

We've just employed someone from Livi to head up part of our football operations.Say he wants to bring Marv into the coaching staff. What does that say to our female fans?

Maybe we induct Derek Riordan into the hall of fame. What does that say to refugees?

Yogi joked about Benji being away training with the Taliban. What does that say to our Muslim fans?

We seem to have drawn a pretty forgiving line to suit everyone except Mackay and I'm wondering why that is. I don't even want him in particular, I just can't get my head around why he is less redeemable as someone who apologised, went though the sensitivity training and was backed by the equalities charity in question to be fit to work in football again.

26-04-2022, 05:33 PM
"Not many white
*****|>{^%|%>{€*]*€]^*{*]^^|^**|*|\€>{^|>\?>]]>€]!?$|+=\¥$]$]$<}}\<_€_$[$\_$$$$$

But you do seem to delight in reprinting unacceptable material. Can we please stop printing this stuff. Nobody needs reminding of what has been said. Really happy for you and others to make their point but is it really necessary to have these quotes on every page?

cameronw-hfc
26-04-2022, 05:38 PM
We've just employed someone from Livi to head up part of our football operations.Say he wants to bring Marv into the coaching staff. What does that say to our female fans?

Maybe we induct Derek Riordan into the hall of fame. What does that say to refugees?

Yogi joked about Benji being away training with the Taliban. What does that say to our Muslim fans?

We seem to have drawn a pretty forgiving line to suit everyone except Mackay and I'm wondering why that is. I don't even want him in particular, I just can't get my head around why he is less redeemable as someone who apologised, went though the sensitivity training and was backed by the equalities charity in question to be fit to work in football again.

Whatabouttery won't change the fact you're vehemently defending a racist👍 says more about you than it does about me ill tell you that one for sure.

26-04-2022, 05:43 PM
Whatabouttery won't change the fact you're vehemently defending a racist�� says more about you than it does about me ill tell you that one for sure.

You can cast aspersions about me all you like, but you can't answer my question.

I think what's upsetting you is your own cognitive dissonance.

Paulie Walnuts
26-04-2022, 06:07 PM
People can, but people that have views like he did usually don't, and let's not pretend he was a kid, he was a grown man that had literally no excuse.

Even if he has changed, I still don't want him near hibs because as I said, it sets a terrible message to the POC Hibs fans and other minorities.

Setting a pretty dangerous precedent given his complete lack of public remorse for it.

Mackays views are quite clearly deep rooted. He also wasn’t some silly misguided wee boy trying to act the goat. The fact people keep comparing his comments to people having made a racist joke at some point is quite incredible.

*****y training courses aren’t changing them. He will take views like that to the grave. He was a racist homophobe bigot 10 years ago and I’ve absolutely no doubt he’s still one now.

26-04-2022, 06:10 PM
But you do seem to delight in reprinting unacceptable material. Can we please stop printing this stuff. Nobody needs reminding of what has been said. Really happy for you and others to make their point but is it really necessary to have these quotes on every page?

Delight in it? Pasting it in one time so someone could address it. You are correct though, I should have edited out the worst parts.

It was ignored anyway because it’s horrific and they can’t weasel their way out of addressing why these aren’t just words or jokes like some people think.

26-04-2022, 06:22 PM

You've not spent a minute in the guys company and yet you know him incredibly well don't you?

It may equally be that he's actually sent a great message because he's proved people can change through education but because YOU'VE decided it's not the case he can't have done!

26-04-2022, 09:07 PM
Delight in it? Pasting it in one time so someone could address it. You are correct though, I should have edited out the worst parts.

It was ignored anyway because it’s horrific and they can’t weasel their way out of addressing why these aren’t just words or jokes like some people think.

Fair point. I’m just sick of seeing these things repeatedly posted on here. Once was enough, possibly more than enough, yet they’ve appeared constantly. Thanks for understanding and such a reasonable comeback. Nobody needs to repeat them. Anyone can see them early in this thread.

cameronw-hfc
26-04-2022, 10:07 PM
You've not spent a minute in the guys company and yet you know him incredibly well don't you?

It may equally be that he's actually sent a great message because he's proved people can change through education but because YOU'VE decided it's not the case he can't have done!

I haven't claimed to know him personally, but a man with a history for being a racist, homophobic bigot isn't someone I'd ever want in charge of Hibs, and frankly I dont give a single crap if he's changed, hasn't changed or has pretended to change, the fact he done those things would be enough for me to not be proud of Hibs if he was our manager.

If you want to keep defending him until you're blue in the face, by all means, but racist homophobes don't sit well with me, even when they say they're sorry.

Greenworld
27-04-2022, 07:34 AM
I haven't claimed to know him personally, but a man with a history for being a racist, homophobic bigot isn't someone I'd ever want in charge of Hibs, and frankly I dont give a single crap if he's changed, hasn't changed or has pretended to change, the fact he done those things would be enough for me to not be proud of Hibs if he was our manager.

If you want to keep defending him until you're blue in the face, by all means, but racist homophobes don't sit well with me, even when they say they're sorry.You know your comment says more about you as a person . Uncaring, unforgiving lack of understanding . It does not matter if you tar someone a homophobic racist bigot the bigger man is the one the can change, accept wrong and choose a different way of thinking . Those people then are armed with a understanding when the meet similar along there way and they will. Football is full of them they just don't text it .

27-04-2022, 09:56 AM
You know your comment says more about you as a person . Uncaring, unforgiving lack of understanding . It does not matter if you tar someone a homophobic racist bigot the bigger man is the one the can change, accept wrong and choose a different way of thinking . Those people then are armed with a understanding when the meet similar along there way and they will. Football is full of them they just don't text it .

Absolutely spot on.

Paulie Walnuts
27-04-2022, 10:05 AM
You know your comment says more about you as a person . Uncaring, unforgiving lack of understanding . It does not matter if you tar someone a homophobic racist bigot the bigger man is the one the can change, accept wrong and choose a different way of thinking . Those people then are armed with a understanding when the meet similar along there way and they will. Football is full of them they just don't text it .

Uncaring :faf:

Forgive people for not caring much for a guy who has come out with so many horrendous statements. He certainly wasn’t particularly ‘caring’ while making them, that’s for sure.

27-04-2022, 11:19 AM
Whatabouttery won't change the fact you're vehemently defending a racist👍 says more about you than it does about me ill tell you that one for sure.

Behave yourself ffs.
No need to abuse posters when having a valid discussion.

05-05-2022, 09:40 PM
Bump.

Yes

OldEast
06-05-2022, 03:32 AM
Bump.

Yes

Haha me too

06-05-2022, 04:09 AM
No