View Full Version : Favourite Hibs manager in your lifetime

LustForLeith
20-04-2022, 12:52 PM
Interesting chat with what folk think we need going forward. The likes of Mowbray/Stubbs were unknown quantities while the likes of Butcher didn’t do as well as he should have.

Favourite Hibs boss in my lifetime was maybe McLeish. Brilliant squad of players and a pretty decent brand of football too.

Paulie Walnuts
20-04-2022, 12:53 PM
Stubbs and he’d still be up there maybe just below Mowbray even without the cup win.

ErinGoBraghHFC
Mowbray for me

Eddie Turnbull

Eddie Turnbull, we will never reach those levels again.

happiehibbie
Eddie Turnbull

20-04-2022, 12:54 PM
Jock Stein, Turnbull, Shankly in that order

20-04-2022, 12:59 PM
Interesting chat with what folk think we need going forward. The likes of Mowbray/Stubbs were unknown quantities while the likes of Butcher didn’t do as well as he should have.

Favourite Hibs boss in my lifetime was maybe McLeish. Brilliant squad of players and a pretty decent brand of football too.
Stubbs for me. Winning the cup when he basically built the squad from next to nothing gave most Hibs fans a day they will never forget and which will never be paralleled . He brought in most of my favourite players in the last 15 years and while his time was far from perfect what a way to end it. I also think he won the cup with far less resources and cash than the managers had that followed him. Lennon's 4 month spell of sexy soccer was very much built around Stubbs' team and we may still yet get a healthy fee for SJM if he gets a big move. His spell felt like we had a club united from CEO to fans. It started to go wrong under Lennon and despite good finishes in the league by him and Ross it has never felt like we were following a well constructed plan that was started with LD's blueprint and Stubbs working to that.

20-04-2022, 01:00 PM
https://i.imgur.com/z9YWZAR.jpg

20-04-2022, 01:01 PM
Eddie Turnbull

OldEast
20-04-2022, 01:05 PM
Eddie Turnbull

20-04-2022, 01:08 PM
Mowbray and Stubbs.

20-04-2022, 01:08 PM
Alan Stubbs.

snedzuk
20-04-2022, 01:11 PM
Was Turnbull, now Stubbs

20-04-2022, 01:13 PM
Turnbull but also Stubbs for the greatest day in my life

20-04-2022, 01:14 PM
Maloney

20-04-2022, 01:16 PM
Turnbull. He knew without a doubt what the game was all about.

20-04-2022, 01:16 PM
Lennon

NASAHIBS
20-04-2022, 01:19 PM
Stubbs for me. Winning the cup when he basically built the squad from next to nothing gave most Hibs fans a day they will never forget and which will never be paralleled . He brought in most of my favourite players in the last 15 years and while his time was far from perfect what a way to end it. I also think he won the cup with far less resources and cash than the managers had that followed him. Lennon's 4 month spell of sexy soccer was very much built around Stubbs' team and we may still yet get a healthy fee for SJM if he gets a big move. His spell felt like we had a club united from CEO to fans. It started to go wrong under Lennon and despite good finishes in the league by him and Ross it has never felt like we were following a well constructed plan that was started with LD's blueprint and Stubbs working to that.

Agree with all of this 100%. Second best Mowbray in my lifetime.

La Machine Vert
20-04-2022, 01:21 PM
Eddie Turnbull

Zambernardi1875
20-04-2022, 01:24 PM
Mowbray and sauzee if given time

Mowbray. Had just started going with my mates every week instead of my old man. A very exciting time for me and a very exciting team on the park. Great times.

ben johnson
Bertie Auld

I’ve been under a lot of strain the past week or so.

sauzeelegod
20-04-2022, 01:26 PM
Has to be Stubbsy.
Special mention to Mogga and Big Eck as well though.

20-04-2022, 01:35 PM
Stubbs, Mowbray and McLeish. Eck despite the way he left and leaving us a side on the decline, got the derby. That 6-2 side was very good, exciting and tough as well.

20-04-2022, 01:43 PM
Stubbs
Mowbray
McLeish
Lennon

20-04-2022, 01:44 PM
Maloney

Free flowing attacking football at it's best.

20-04-2022, 01:45 PM
Lennon and McLeish.

20-04-2022, 01:47 PM
Stubbs, easy.

20-04-2022, 01:47 PM
Stubbs and he’d still be up there maybe just below Mowbray even without the cup win.

Imo, the best football was either the Mowbray team or the 1/2 season under Lennon with the Holy Trinity midfield of McGeouch, Allan and McGinn.

20-04-2022, 01:49 PM
Stubbs probably for the cup win but there was a period under Lennon that was as exciting as I have ever known it to be. The last three gome games that season summed it up for me. Beat celtic 2-1, beat Kilmarnock 5-3 and drew with the hun 5-5. Ended badly but that Jan to May was brilliant. Actually the majority of the season was pretty good

20-04-2022, 01:50 PM
Mowbray
Stubbs
McLeish

20-04-2022, 01:53 PM
Stubbs obviously had the best day but for me has to be alex mcleish, he had us playing some cracking football at times

Green_one
20-04-2022, 02:27 PM
Bertie Auld

I’ve been under a lot of strain the past week or so.

Younger ones prob do not get the joke :greengrin

Turnbull then Stubbs for me. Stein would be up there but I never saw his team

20-04-2022, 02:30 PM
For player quality and exciting football I find it hard to separate Mowbray and Big Eck.

20-04-2022, 02:39 PM
Stubbs

20-04-2022, 02:40 PM
Stubbs. Gave us our club back.

Also very much enjoyed times under Lennon, Mowbray, Collins and Ross.

LewysGot2
20-04-2022, 02:41 PM
Always hard to completely disassociate from how things end. The ones who "let us down" are hard to forgive at times - whether they let us down by being keech or let us down by leaving in a way that's disrespectful.

Kind of narrows it down! 😂

The one I liked best was Stubbs, I think.

I was really sad how things ended with Franck and Mixu. I was frustrated by how it ended with JC. Eddie Ts reign came to an end in a way that didn't befit his status. I was glad to see the back of a few of them. I felt betrayed by McLeish. The one I celebrated going was Calderwood. I was blooming relieved when Bertie Auld bored off.

God, there's so many of them. Mad to think how long Miller was at the club now - that has to be the longest stint by far in modern times. His tenure was a real story of ups and downs but 91 to 93 were brilliant times.

Daily Hibs
20-04-2022, 02:45 PM
John Collins. Should have been Hibs Manager for 10 years. If ever anyone was perfect for Hibs it was John Collins. His persona, gravitas along with his methods which were ahead of his time. Class act.

Turkish Green
20-04-2022, 02:46 PM
Eddie Turnbull

Captain Emerald
20-04-2022, 02:48 PM
Eddie Turnbull, with an honourable mention for Alan Stubbs.

Drumlanrig
20-04-2022, 02:50 PM
Has to be Miller surely??
All that free flowing football and banging in buckets of goals…… Nurse Nurse!

darwenhibby
20-04-2022, 03:12 PM
Eddie Turnbull as a kid it seemed Hibs won every week
Stubbs for the cup
Mowbray team exciting to watch- still defend him down here when Blackburn fans moan. I think he’d be my choice back at Hibs now
Lexo took flack but managed hibs in a tough period

20-04-2022, 03:13 PM
Eddie Turnbull

20-04-2022, 03:15 PM
McLeish, Stubbs and Lennon all on a par for me. Stubbs would obviously be the one if had to pick.

Loads of positives in terms of style of play, being physical and able to battle when necessary, and no shortage of big results. Most confident I've felt going into derbies was under those three.

Mowbray's side at its best was probably the very best football.

20-04-2022, 03:16 PM
Alex Miller. Home and away, barely missing a game for many years. So many good memories from winning the league cup, Anderlect, buses breaking down, amazing away days, pulling a bird at the football that was at least a 9/10.

leith lynx
20-04-2022, 03:25 PM
Pat Stanton, just because he was Pat, but in all honesty, nobody has matched Eddie Turnbull (yet!)

Tarrahib
20-04-2022, 03:28 PM
Imo, the best football was either the Mowbray team or the 1/2 season under Lennon with the Holy Trinity midfield of McGeouch, Allan and McGinn.
Yes. Good times.

JamesHFC
20-04-2022, 03:36 PM
That day at Hampden in 2016 I don’t think will be topped so I’ll say Stubbs for giving us that. Lennon a close second.

20-04-2022, 03:45 PM
Hugh Shaw’s team was clearly the best but was coming to an end when I started. Jock Stein brought about an amazing change in a team in a short time and we would have done very well had he stayed. Bob Shankly took on from Stein and had a very attractive team but a selling board.Willie MacFarlane had a great eye for a player and wasn’t prepared to kow tow to Hart. Eddie Turnbull’s team was an opportunity lost partly due to his ill health at the wrong time.Mowbray and McLeish had their moments and Stubbs gave us the wonderful day which I still find hard to credit.

Mike Berry
20-04-2022, 03:51 PM
Has to be Turnbull for me. A great player and a great manager. From what I've heard, he was quite a hard man, and I sometimes think managers need to have that, particularly at a big club.

Norrieg
20-04-2022, 03:59 PM

Same here. If Stein hadn't gone to the smellies I'm convinced we would have won the league and lifted the cup.

https://www.hibs.net/image/gif;base64,R0lGODlhHQAPANU AAAAACYjATAtAz86AEI9B0lEBUlGEFVOA1BNGFpTB1xVElJRIG FbDGFdJ21lBGhiFXRsAHFsFn10AHNuOnp3RXx6VoF2B4B5K4B WI FDY EFJWJBZ6SAZOOIJKKNJiRN6aZAqKYGbirCr22JJWQS5aTb6OdU KWhdsq6AcC3M9rKA9TQLOjYB/rsCfr5MdvWStnXZf//T/v6b7Sxla6tpLOxpcG/rcvJt///kP//otbVyuPj2 vq5P7 /v///////yH/C05FVFNDQVBFMi4wAwEAAAAh QQJCgA ACwAAAAAHQAPAAAG4UCfcEj00SqPxaNCKzqfwlrFBMvhZK9OpQ btSmE4q0wWi40e3K6z8sJdy66YyyWqqIu0TowMb/UtTXdCFStlZS2Ifoh1gkILLoiQiYkoKgtPOhgZJDc PQaSk6IsBj0 NyQZGDoTICoiFB8TCyyikyotKggTHxQiKiATDCoswCglFSIsKy 0AAIjOlSAVJSiuxQwKkyA2NBAiiCri4y0QEDQ2IJMKNSYdGRok PFIcBQ7jxBYBHA8 PCQaMnQwkcZJjQccEhxwIAHCgQH8GhWRAgEEh4scIGyROPHIAg IImNwJAgAh QQJCgA ACwAAAAAHQAPAAAG/UCfcEj00SqPxaNCKzqfwlrFBMvhZK9OpQbtSmE4q0wWi40e3Ce vFCntfD1f5YW7ll0xl0tUgft2bCVrFigbJTYzNB0xZHctjhY0M zYlGygWJQsiKiIRIQ0VK2UxAAAtLaWnfA0hEZsiCwwqsyAqmS6 nLqmopigqCyUqtbMMDKeqNgZ6K8fNKCgsBjYizQwN0C0sFjcLL CICzccFECoINxYs2SgNOicXDxEnPRUiLAUOKsfaASIgFT0nIjy 4cELHExrkUCQ44EAChAMDOKiA0KQLESkSVaDoB2ITCg4PLDqp8 UDis5MfQ4ocWQECCF8fIWxZ aTGkQUEEDARGQQAIfkECVAAPgAsAAAAAB0ADwAABv5AX WA4fmOSFrlsXhUaEgkD3Oo DAJFWTSM/pqFRMsh5O9OpXakdebQFQJDEKEEkUeiW8FhiPLZDExIw9qCQ8R dCIIBSIqIgkiCkIvOGWBLpguIlYKj40iBQwqoyAqFDQdMYAAAC 4trK4WNBQqpaMMDi26LSglFSuBMay6wy2bJSi7LQ4HyiAnC5gr rsq8KCoLJyDKBwgcKiwqDDUGmgLVugUQLAY1ouEcCDsVCAQGJT 4LLCwFDiq7LCwEaITARwkDBBBU2BEFSQURLFAkOOBAAoQDA76B sNKw4xEab8DVAQGi0SgIUDx2BPNtlEsVKFBweKBSZY0H32LqlE mzphTNChBAXJMJIY3PmjWULEj45GgQAAAh QQJCgA ACwAAAAAHQAPAAAG/UCfcEj00SqPxaNCKzqfwlrFBMvhZK9OpQbtSmE4q0wWi40e3Ce vFCntfD1f5YW7ll0xl0tUgft2bCVrFigbJTYzNB0xZHctjhY0M zYlGygWJQsiKiIRIQ0VK2UxAAAtLaWnfA0hEZsiCwwqsyAqmS6 nLqmopigqCyUqtbMMDKeqNgZ6K8fNKCgsBjYizQwN0C0sFjcLL CICzccFECoINxYs2SgNOicXDxEnPRUiLAUOKsfaASIgFT0nIjy 4cELHExrkUCQ44EAChAMDOKiA0KQLESkSVaDoB2ITCg4PLDqp8 UDis5MfQ4ocWQECCF8fIWxZ aTGkQUEEDARGQQAIfkECQoAPgAsAAAAAB0ADwAABuFAn3BI9NE qj8WjQis6n8JaxQTL4WSvTqUG7UphOKtMFouNHtyus/LCXcuumMslqqiLtE6MDG/1LU13QhUrZWUtiH6IdYJCCy6IkImJKCoLTzoYGSQ3Pj0GkpOiL AY9PjckGRg6EyAqIhQfEwssopMqLSoIEx8UIiogEwwqLMAoJRU iLCstAACIzpUgFSUorsUMCpMgNjQQIogq4uMtEBA0NiCTCjUmH RkaJDxSHAUO48QWARwPPjwkGjJ0MJHGSY0HHBIccCABwoEB/BoVkQIBBIeLHCBskTjxyAICCJjcCQIAIfkEBVAAPgAsAAAAAB0 ADwAABsVAn3BI9NEqj8WjQis6n8JaxQTL4WSvTqUG7UphOKtMF ouNHtyus/LCXcuumMslqqiLtE6MDG/1LU13QhUrZWUtiH6IdYJCCy6IkImJKCoLjT4GkpOcLAaYCyyck yotKgiYFSKipomlKiogdo00ELAssLm5EIGCUhywAADBACgcD1A zHiAfMzo3PjUPwCjV1sdCNzozHyAeMwwquCAoJVEVEOQqxhBbQ iUoIOIqDCUpIyIiHztDNUcLBBAwIbLjQ74RKUoEAQA7

May21/05/216
20-04-2022, 04:05 PM
Ned

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

Key West
20-04-2022, 04:38 PM
Eddie Turnbull.

20-04-2022, 04:51 PM
Turbull
Stubbs/Mowbray couldnt split them as one won the cup and the other had us playing like Brazil for a while.
McLeish 6-2, Sauzee and Latapy enough said.
Ross/Hughes, got us European football.
Miller The cup win.

darwenhibby
20-04-2022, 05:29 PM
Turbull
Stubbs/Mowbray couldnt split them as one won the cup and the other had us playing like Brazil for a while.
McLeish 6-2, Sauzee and Latapy enough said.
Ross/Hughes, got us European football.
Miller The cup win.
Thought you’d have had Hughes first 😉

Chorley Hibee
20-04-2022, 05:30 PM
Stubbs gave me my greatest day as a Hibee, but for me it was Lennon or McLeish.

For a brief period it finally felt as if Hibs would live up to the expectations I, and many others, had for the club.

They provided an excitement I've seldom felt in and around the club and the support.

JOD
20-04-2022, 05:36 PM
Eddie Turnbull

Totally agree best ever. Run into Jock Stein.
Rest is history but what a team and manager.
Some of the stories about his dealings and relationship he had with the players are fantastic along with his attention to detail.
A truly Hibs legend.

20-04-2022, 05:41 PM
Eddie Turnbull closely followed by Tony Mowbray

20-04-2022, 05:44 PM
Mowbray. In the 40 years or so that I have been going to games, I have never looked forwards to Saturdays so much.

Tom Hart RIP
20-04-2022, 05:45 PM
Eddie Turnbull

MikeyS
20-04-2022, 05:46 PM
McLeish followed closely by Mowbray for me. AM's team seemed like the last real 'man's' team we've had that could play and fight and TM's were just really exiting and didn't have a fear about them.

20-04-2022, 06:27 PM
Stubbs
Collins
McLeish (although I went off the GJP very quickly)

20-04-2022, 06:35 PM
Turnbull.

20-04-2022, 06:51 PM
Any Hibs manager who wins a trophy.

angus hibby
20-04-2022, 07:09 PM
Stubbs. Apart from the obvious, there was something special about that team. He signed many really good footballers who all seemed to buy into Hibs - Gray, Fontaine, McGeouch, McGinn, Fyvie, Henderson, McGregor, Malonga, Allan etc.

Used to really enjoy watching that team and the style of football played was very good.

Off the field, we were in good shape too.

buktapurple79
20-04-2022, 07:55 PM
Stubbs for obv reason, but Tony really got us, he knew the Hibernian way and played proper football.

Greenwich_Hibby
20-04-2022, 07:58 PM
Mowbray
Turnbull
Stubbs

7-Heaven
20-04-2022, 08:25 PM
Eddie Turnbull for me

HendoDelivered
20-04-2022, 08:28 PM
Stubbs
Lenny
Mogga

20-04-2022, 08:30 PM
Sort of has to be stubbs, but as has been said elsewhere, that 4 months with lennon was the most exciting period, with mowbray's reign just behind that.

Bobo
20-04-2022, 08:30 PM
Eddie Turnbull.

wandering_hibee
20-04-2022, 08:40 PM
Turnbull followed by Stein and Mowbray. Stubbs get an honourable mention for winning the one trophy that I thought I would never see Hibs win but the first three had winning exciting teams and the first two could have won league titles.

loanheadhibby
20-04-2022, 09:30 PM
Of course you're entitled to your opinion but why do you favour Stein over Turnbull.
Jock Stein was at ER for a very short time.

20-04-2022, 09:51 PM
I started going to ER when we were managed a great manager, Bob Shankly. I’m Going to be a little controversial here. Eddie Turnbull and the Tornadoes gave me the most exciting moments in my time watching teams of this great club. But it was all over too soon. He dismantled the side way too soon and seemed unable to rebuild. It is generally accepted that his man management wasn’t nearly as good as his tactical strengths. Looking back, most of that great Tornadoes side was in place before ET took over. I’m going to argue that Willie MacFarlane was responsible for piecing it together and would have gone on to much greater success had he not fallen out with Tom Hart.
In hindsight, therefore, my pitch is Willie MacFarlane

20-04-2022, 10:04 PM
I started going to ER when we were managed a great manager, Bob Shankly. I’m Going to be a little controversial here. Eddie Turnbull and the Tornadoes gave me the most exciting moments in my time watching teams of this great club. But it was all over too soon. He dismantled the side way too soon and seemed unable to rebuild. It is generally accepted that his man management wasn’t nearly as good as his tactical strengths. Looking back, most of that great Tornadoes side was in place before ET took over. I’m going to argue that Willie MacFarlane was responsible for piecing it together and would have gone on to much greater success had he not fallen out with Tom Hart.
In hindsight, therefore, my pitch is Willie MacFarlaneNot controversila at all : I was just about to post something similar : I`m just old enough to remember MacFarlane`s team winning at Parkhead and Ibrox within a few weeks before he left . I`ve many great memories of great matches when ET was manager but as you say many of the players arrived before and later years with ET were depressing , culminating in relegation ( after he`d left ) . Fact Hearts were even worse may have made people forget how much we`d fallen though from memory Hearts were so bad in late 70s that we rarely considered them to be real rivals.

Mcbizz1998
20-04-2022, 10:06 PM
Stubbs, easily. I’m relatively young though so it’s not much of a contest in all honesty.

Stokesy's on fire
20-04-2022, 10:09 PM
McLeish his Hibs team was the kind of team was class and we should be looking to sign that standard of player again now.

HibeeSince85
20-04-2022, 10:10 PM
Stubbs.

20-04-2022, 11:35 PM
Stubbs - 21/5/16
Mowbray - teenage kicks.
Mcleish - responsible for dieu

21-04-2022, 12:32 AM

That would be my trifecta, although I’d probably put Turnbull before Stein.

sunshinejim
21-04-2022, 12:41 AM
Alex Miller - Won first ever league cup trophy I'd seen Hibs lift as being a supporter since the mid seventies. Some brilliant players during his managership like Keith, Budgie, Mickey, Murdo M etc etc. Best Midweek game ever travelling to Hampden in the semi final and beating Rangers who had multi million pound players. Revenge for 1979.

Alex Mcleish - Frank Sauzee and Russell Latapy among many other terrific players whom big Alex signed. Tore Hearts apart in the 6 - 2 derby demolition. Great memories.

Allan Stubbs - 2016 the greatest ever FA cup win anywhere around the world and didn't the Hibernian supporters celebrate in style.

Favorite other Manager - Archie Knox for the greatest ever substitution of Albert Kidd for Tosh McKinlay. Genius. Biggest bottle job ever in the history of football. No wonder medals mackay and lavvie levein etc are as bitter as fuch. Ha Ha.

Crunchie
21-04-2022, 05:45 AM
That would be my trifecta, although I’d probably put Turnbull before Stein.
He was manager for 37 competitive games, I'll bet the majority of our support don't even know he managed the club. Stubbs for me 100%.

Halmyre Hibee
21-04-2022, 05:50 AM
Eddie Turnbull. Lucky to have watched that era. Would have won more if it wasn’t for a great Celtic team.

21-04-2022, 05:58 AM
McLeish. Brought Latapy and Sauzee here and probably my favourite time watching Hibs.

Stubbs - For the Scottish Cup.

Lennon - Didn't just accept mediocrity and the second half of that 17/18 season was great viewing. Tainted by him working his ticket to Celtic though.

Mowbray - some great football to watch. Would have have been above Lennon if it wasn't for losing twice 4-0 and once 4-1 to Hearts in the same season. But as I say, some of the football was joy at times.

21-04-2022, 06:39 AM
Stubbs.

21-04-2022, 06:44 AM
Turnbull was light years ahead of everyone as far as coaching and tactics were concerned but could take a leaf out of Jock Stein’s man management book

I remember Eddie Turnbull used to watch the match from the Stand and would make the required changes to line up formation at halftime

I am surprised more Coaches do not do this today

His early team was a joy to watch it was not a question will hibs win it was a question of by how many ?

21-04-2022, 07:35 AM
Turnbull
Lennon (for most of his time loved him)
Stubbs

21-04-2022, 07:41 AM
Jack Ross would have been up there if we were allowed to go to games. Unfortunately it's quite hard to feel a buzz watching at home. Best away record in our history I'm sure. Cup finals, 3rd place, Europe. At least I got to see the win at Tynecastle and pumping Rangers at Hampden in the flesh.

21-04-2022, 01:35 PM
Stein
Shankly
MacFarlane
Turnbull
Mowbray
Collins
Stubbs
Lennon

21-04-2022, 05:50 PM
Of course you're entitled to your opinion but why do you favour Stein over Turnbull.
Jock Stein was at ER for a very short time.

Stein was only here a short time but the football was fantastic. He took over a side that had almost been relegated from the old 18 team league and transformed them into a side that I am convinced would have won the league and cup double if he hadn't left for Celtic. Beating Real Madrid, beating a very good Rangers team 3 times in one season, it was a magical time.
Of course Turnbull was great as well but unfortunately the fantastic Tornadoes side was broken up after a couple of seasons and it was a gradual decline after that.

andudare2
21-04-2022, 07:18 PM
Stein,Mcfarlane,Turnbull.

21-04-2022, 07:20 PM
Stein was only here a short time but the football was fantastic. He took over a side that had almost been relegated from the old 18 team league and transformed them into a side that I am convinced would have won the league and cup double if he hadn't left for Celtic. Beating Real Madrid, beating a very good Rangers team 3 times in one season, it was a magical time.
Of course Turnbull was great as well but unfortunately the fantastic Tornadoes side was broken up after a couple of seasons and it was a gradual decline after that.
And got a level of football from Willie Hamilton never to be repeated.

blaikie
21-04-2022, 07:22 PM
Mowbray or Stubbs 👍

21-04-2022, 07:23 PM
McLeish. Brought Latapy and Sauzee here and probably my favourite time watching Hibs.

Stubbs - For the Scottish Cup.

Lennon - Didn't just accept mediocrity and the second half of that 17/18 season was great viewing. Tainted by him working his ticket to Celtic though.

Mowbray - some great football to watch. Would have have been above Lennon if it wasn't for losing twice 4-0 and once 4-1 to Hearts in the same season. But as I say, some of the football was joy at times.

Sadly, he signed plenty of it.

john rossi
21-04-2022, 07:44 PM
Jock steins team wins it for me best football I have seen in my years watching Hibs. Wonderful players Willie Hamilton genius Cormack, Quinn,Martin Scott, Parke oh for those days again.

john rossi
21-04-2022, 07:51 PM
Jock steins team wins it for me best football I have seen in my years watching Hibs. Wonderful players Willie Hamilton genius Cormack, Quinn,Martin Scott, Parke oh for those days again.

Skol
21-04-2022, 07:56 PM
I started watching hibs at the back end of turnbulls time, but as things were going bad.

Best manager by a country mile was Mowbray. The football he had us playing was incredible and I looked forward to every game.

Beyond that it gets tricky. Stubbs, Lennon, Collins and MacLeish had good times and some less good. Alex miller for all the complaints also produced a couple of great hibs teams.

All the rest get filed under not good enough although Ross had the potential to move up a category. Yogi and. I understand as well I reckon could have been better.

Fenlon, calderwood, butcher and sadly maloney were the ones I hated going to watch. There were spells that miller was in this category as well though.

Have I missed anyone other than caretakers. Oh yeah, Stanton and blackley. Not good enough. Of and Williamson as well. Not good enough.

ozwoody
22-04-2022, 12:01 AM
Alex Miller - Won first ever league cup trophy I'd seen Hibs lift as being a supporter since the mid seventies. Some brilliant players during his managership like Keith, Budgie, Mickey, Murdo M etc etc. Best Midweek game ever travelling to Hampden in the semi final and beating Rangers who had multi million pound players. Revenge for 1979.

Alex Mcleish - Frank Sauzee and Russell Latapy among many other terrific players whom big Alex signed. Tore Hearts apart in the 6 - 2 derby demolition. Great memories.

Allan Stubbs - 2016 the greatest ever FA cup win anywhere around the world and didn't the Hibernian supporters celebrate in style.

Favorite other Manager - Archie Knox for the greatest ever substitution of Albert Kidd for Tosh McKinlay. Genius. Biggest bottle job ever in the history of football. No wonder medals mackay and lavvie levein etc are as bitter as fuch. Ha Ha.

Good call RE Miller.
He had Hibs at a difficult time ( sound familiar?) and got some good players in:
Wright, Leighton (from Dundee reserves to playing for Scotland) crunchie, Darren Jackson, Gordon Hunter, O'Neil , Archibald, Budgie etc.
He also won the league cup a year after the takeover attempt and was constrained money wise due to Easter road development.
Yeh, sometimes the football was dire, but who's team isn't at times?
He also spent 8 years at Liverpool, winning a European cup medal as first team coach.

In terms of " feel good football" , Mowbray and Lennon had exciting times and Mcleish had some great players with good winning mentalities

22-04-2022, 12:15 AM
Turnbull
McLeish
Mowbray
Stubbs
Lennon

Hard to choose a favourite because they all gave us joy. Collins gave us a cup but he just didn't do it for me.

22-04-2022, 12:30 AM
Eddie Turnbull then Tony Mowbray. Both had us playing great football.

huggie1875
22-04-2022, 01:15 AM
Mcleish we we’re almost guaranteed to beat them it was just a question of how many we’d score great team to watch too

22-04-2022, 05:45 AM
Turnbull.....what a team, during a purple patch of '72-73.....really spoiled us with some big results.
So I'll say Turnbull, despite replacing Jim o'rourke for Joe harper :confused:

22-04-2022, 06:48 AM
Collins
Stubbs
Mowbray
Lennon

In that order.

22-04-2022, 09:12 AM
Jock Stein. We were on course to win leagues and cups until he went west. This annoyed everyone.
But he was the greatest.

22-04-2022, 09:15 AM
Jock Stein. We were on course to win leagues and cups until he went west. This annoyed everyone.
But he was the greatest.
I'm way to young to remember but my uncle was pretty miffed by Stein leaving and said it was pointless as celtic were well out of the league at that point but he reckoned we would have won it if he'd stayed.

H18S NX
22-04-2022, 09:37 AM
And got a level of football from Willie Hamilton never to be repeated. my favourite player:top marks:aok:

Chorley Hibee
22-04-2022, 11:38 AM
There is an interesting piece of Hibs history in the Laurieston Bar on Bridge Street in Glasgow.

A letter from Jock Stein, addressed to a friend, on Hibs headed paper, castigating the Hibs board for not allowing him to move to Celtic.

He does go on to state that it will happen soon though.

A different era, but thought it showed the contempt he had for Hibs to be so open about it.

I'm always on my mobile and not sure how to share pics on here. Will attach if I find out how.

22-04-2022, 11:42 AM
I'm way to young to remember but my uncle was pretty miffed by Stein leaving and said it was pointless as celtic were well out of the league at that point but he reckoned we would have won it if he'd stayed.

They won the cup though. You could say Stein had 3 teams in the semis, Dunfermline, Hibs and Celtic.

Skol
22-04-2022, 12:01 PM
I dont understand those that rate McLeish so highly.

Yes we had a good team with Sauzee/Latapty et al

BUT when he left things were on the way down and in fact when he joined us, his time at motherwell was on the way down as well. God manager but not one of the best

22-04-2022, 06:52 PM
I hope my favourite manager in my lifetime is yet to come.

22-04-2022, 08:29 PM

Turnbull no question

23-04-2022, 09:42 AM
Stubbs for the trophy
Mowbray for style of play
Mcliesh - for the best team I’ve seen in my 50 years.

23-04-2022, 05:19 PM
Eddie Turnbull

23-04-2022, 06:57 PM
David Gray

24-04-2022, 10:44 AM
Potentially Roy Keane.

24-04-2022, 12:14 PM
Favourite, Stubbsy thanks to the cup win. Best, Ned by a mile

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

24-04-2022, 12:52 PM
Eddie Turnbull
Alex Miller
Alex McLeish
Tony Mowbray
Neil Lennon

delbert
24-04-2022, 02:41 PM

Favourite and best by a mile, Turnbull in his prime 👍

25-04-2022, 10:45 AM
Favourite manager is based on the players he has at his disposal at the time!
All managers want a Ronaldo or Messi, but as we know they come at a price.
At Hibs we have been lucky to get some really classy players, but very rarely throughout the team.
The Famous Five were our pinnacle, they were different class, but our defence was not the same class.
So for that Turnbull has to be the top of the pile!!!

Paul1642
25-04-2022, 11:07 AM
Neil Lennon. Football is all about entertainment and he didn’t half give us that. It was a rollercoaster but it’ll never forget results like 5-5 agains rangers.

We have had better mangers yet I’ve never been more excited for the next game (or press conference) as I was under Lennon.

heid the baw
25-04-2022, 11:10 AM
For me it is
#1 Turnbull
#2 McLeish
Lenny - honourable mention

25-04-2022, 11:13 AM
Neil Lennon. Football is all about entertainment and he didn’t half give us that. It was a rollercoaster but it’ll never forget results like 5-5 agains rangers.

We have had better mangers yet I’ve never been more excited for the next game (or press conference) as I was under Lennon.

:top marksAgree completely.

patlowe
25-04-2022, 11:35 AM

While you'd have to say on the whole his tenure was patchy, I agree that 17/18 under Lennon puts him right up there for me, regardless of it ultimately only culminating in 4th. The back end of that season was ridiculously good of course, but even earlier in the season when Rangers beat us 2-1 at ER, we absolutely played them off the park and I distinctly remember thinking I'm not overly bothered by the result tonight, we just need to enjoy this team, and this football, while it lasts.