View Full Version : Ashamed

stalbanshibby
19-04-2022, 02:37 PM
I liked Maloney. He had vision, but didn't have the players to implement it, on top of selling Boyler, a horrendous injury list and stupid red cards. I suppose it's one thing coaching elite players at Belgium, quite another at Hibs, in the SPL. However, the players were all bought into him and his coaching apparently, but a knee jerk reaction because of a season that was already pretty dire before he came in, and now after 19 games he's gone. So in 4 months the Board have gone from selling him the club and persuading him to come in, to pulling the rug from underneath his feet.

Surely the board must have known when they hired him that his was a long term project and success wouldn't come overnight, that is if they know anything about football or even management? Do you Kensall/ RG - other than being hatchet men (I'm told you read these boards)?? Fair enough he was learning his trade at Hibs, but I reckon given the summer and his own recruitment he would have turned us around.

How do you expect to implement a long term vision when you give in to short term mediocrity, and lets face it Jack Ross didn't exactly leave us in a good place - once we dropped out the top 6 in the first place (under JR) this season was surely all about rebuilding and letting the manager get his ideas and playing style across. I'm not saying SM was the new Fergie, but 19 games FFS!!!

Absolutely brutal by the Hibs Board. Who'd want to work for us now when you treat the management team like that?

19-04-2022, 02:42 PM
The record of Butcher, the charisma of Cathro, the football of Calderwood and a list of excuses longer than the Royal Mile.

19-04-2022, 02:44 PM
Yes, he had a vision and gameplay that would've worked with a hand picked squad worth millions. So basically, someone he'd never have here. 1 win in 14 in the league is dreadful. We have literally sacked better managers for less than that.

19-04-2022, 02:45 PM
Ashamed???

Proud more like. Proud that we acted decisively after making such a monumental mistake in the first place.

As bad as that day was, this is 10x better. Best news since we appointed Lennon.

SMs place in Hibs history is nestled somewhere between Duffy, Butcher, Calderwood and Heckingbottom.

leith lynx
19-04-2022, 02:50 PM
I liked Maloney. He had vision, but didn't have the players to implement it, on top of selling Boyler, a horrendous injury list and stupid red cards. I suppose it's one thing coaching elite players at Belgium, quite another at Hibs, in the SPL. However, the players were all bought into him and his coaching apparently, but a knee jerk reaction because of a season that was already pretty dire before he came in, and now after 19 games he's gone. So in 4 months the Board have gone from selling him the club and persuading him to come in, to pulling the rug from underneath his feet.

Surely the board must have known when they hired him that his was a long term project and success wouldn't come overnight, that is if they know anything about football or even management? Do you Kensall/ RG - other than being hatchet men (I'm told you read these boards)?? Fair enough he was learning his trade at Hibs, but I reckon given the summer and his own recruitment he would have turned us around.

How do you expect to implement a long term vision when you give in to short term mediocrity, and lets face it Jack Ross didn't exactly leave us in a good place - once we dropped out the top 6 in the first place (under JR) this season was surely all about rebuilding and letting the manager get his ideas and playing style across. I'm not saying SM was the new Fergie, but 19 games FFS!!!

Absolutely brutal by the Hibs Board. Who'd want to work for us now when you treat the management team like that?
Tend to agree with you, have sympathy for Maloney, made to look a bit foolish now, even his critics would agree he wasn't given a fair chance, surely?

19-04-2022, 02:59 PM
Tend to agree with you, have sympathy for Maloney, made to look a bit foolish now, even his critics would agree he wasn't given a fair chance, surely?

His record is very poor, no question, but 18 games? It's a harsh decision, but I can see both sides. I would have preferred to give him the the remaining games then take a wee while to take everything into consideration. The outcome may have been the same, but the timing is odd for me. Obviously, everything depended upon reaching the cup final.

the_ginger_hibee
19-04-2022, 03:01 PM
Ashamed???

Proud more like. Proud that we acted decisively after making such a monumental mistake in the first place.

As bad as that day was, this is 10x better. Best news since we appointed Lennon.

SMs place in Hibs history is nestled somewhere between Duffy, Butcher, Calderwood and Heckingbottom.

100%

Anyone having a wobble on the back of today is clearly not good with change or appreciative of the new standards Ron is trying to set for Hibs.

They got Maloney wrong. They corrected it before it took us down. They'll go for experience and I've no doubt the expectations will be clear to the new manager - who again will either deliver or go.

19-04-2022, 03:03 PM
Personally hope that Ron keeps firing managers that are woefully underperforming. The bar is set high.

19-04-2022, 03:04 PM
Personally hope that Ron keeps firing managers that are woefully underperforming. The bar is set high.

How about some consequences for those who keep appointing bad managers, too?

19-04-2022, 03:05 PM
It wasn't working, Had Maloney been able to see that and adapt his approach to suit our league and squad as opposed to stubbornly trying to implement his philosophy to the detriment of our season then he would still be in a job.

This is clearly a new culture for Hibs where failure, or even continued underperformance, isn't tolerated. So be it.

stalbanshibby
19-04-2022, 03:17 PM

100%. Reading between the lines when SM was appointed, Kensall recommended him to RG, who then flew in and sealed the deal. To only give the guy 4 months!!! Disgrace. Reduces our club to laughing stock.

So the bar is set high? For the CEO too, I hope.

19-04-2022, 03:22 PM
It wasn't working, Had Maloney been able to see that and adapt his approach to suit our league and squad as opposed to stubbornly trying to implement his philosophy to the detriment of our season then he would still be in a job.

This is clearly a new culture for Hibs where failure, or even continued underperformance, isn't tolerated. So be it.

As long as that culture and its consequences is applied as unilaterally to executive management and board members as to the men in the dugout, I'm all for it........

19-04-2022, 03:22 PM

Agree with both these points.

Wouldn't be surprised to see BK away soon.

19-04-2022, 03:25 PM
What do you suggest for Ron Gordon? Fire him?

Groathillgrump
19-04-2022, 03:25 PM
The record of Butcher, the charisma of Cathro, the football of Calderwood and a list of excuses longer than the Royal Mile.

That sums up Maloney's short time at Hibs perfectly.

19-04-2022, 03:26 PM
100%. Reading between the lines when SM was appointed, Kensall recommended him to RG, who then flew in and sealed the deal. To only give the guy 4 months!!! Disgrace. Reduces our club to laughing stock.

I doubt we are a laughing stock to many, in fact i dont think we are in the thoughts of many people other than our support and a few gimps.

When we open the doors for applications, we will be inundated with them.

19-04-2022, 03:27 PM

Cough, players who can’t beat bottom six teams, cough.

Steve88
19-04-2022, 03:29 PM
There's no such thing as long term managers anymore, only short term managers that keep on winning...

Also, I'll cut and paste this from another thread because it's relevant to your last sentence:

"Granted the SM experiment was wrong, but he ultimately delegated that decision to BK. Sometimes those type of decisions work (Mowbray/Stubbs) sometimes they don't.

Though I do admire the decisiveness of the club in recognising it isn't working which in turn aligns to their ambitions in not settling for anything less than cup finals/trophy's top 4 and EUROPE

Hibs fans have been screaming for decades for an owner with ambition to step in, well here he is...

It isn't going to be a smooth journey, but I'm all aboard the RG train to transform this club into his vision"

percy veer
19-04-2022, 03:43 PM
Happy he's gone, terrible tippy tappy playing it across the back all game, always thought people saying he needed time that he wouldn't get it nowadays he didn't have the players for that style, wait until you had them for that

Turkish Green
19-04-2022, 03:47 PM
If Budge had adopted Gordon's philosophy, Neilson would have been sacked immediately after the loss to Brora.

stalbanshibby
19-04-2022, 03:48 PM
There's no such thing as long term managers anymore, only short term managers that keep on winning...

Also, I'll cut and paste this from another thread because it's relevant to your last sentence:

"Granted the SM experiment was wrong, but he ultimately delegated that decision to BK. Sometimes those type of decisions work (Mowbray/Stubbs) sometimes they don't.

Though I do admire the decisiveness of the club in recognising it isn't working which in turn aligns to their ambitions in not settling for anything less than cup finals/trophy's top 4 and EUROPE

Hibs fans have been screaming for decades for an owner with ambition to step in, well here he is...

It isn't going to be a smooth journey, but I'm all aboard the RG train to transform this club into his vision"

All managers deserve time to bed in, especially when it's your first appointment - they knew this when they hired him. I like RG too, I have to say. Not so sure about BK. I just think 4 months is really really brutal and Shaun wasn't given a chance. Fergie's first year or so were pants when he first started at Man U, but they stuck with him and look what happened there. I thought SM was intelligent and articulate and wanted to bring cultured football to ER and the board brought him in the first place to deliver that. He inherited a crock of crap from JR. We might as well go for David Martindale (please no!!!) or Malky Mackay then

LewysGot2
19-04-2022, 03:49 PM
If Budge had adopted Gordon's philosophy Neilson would have been sacked immediately after the loss to Brora.

And to think he's back after being given the heave first time round 🛩 no bottle 🛩 no style 🛩Robbie Replay

Sheep_Nae_Mair
19-04-2022, 03:51 PM

Very well said! I couldn't have put it any better.

19-04-2022, 03:51 PM
If Budge had adopted Gordon's philosophy, Neilson would have been sacked immediately after the loss to Brora.

Neilson has never had anything like a 1 in 14 league record. He has done really well for Hearts overall. His win percentage is 58%

Steve88
19-04-2022, 03:55 PM
All managers deserve time to bed in, especially when it's your first appointment - they knew this when they hired him. I like RG too, I have to say. Not so sure about BK. I just think 4 months is really really brutal and Shaun wasn't given a chance. Fergie's first year or so were pants when he first started at Man U, but they stuck with him and look what happened there. I thought SM was intelligent and articulate and wanted to bring cultured football to ER and the board brought him in the first place to deliver that. He inherited a crock of crap from JR. We might as well go for David Martindale (please no!!!) or Malky Mackay then

I agree with your comments on SM. Interestingly, I think SM will go on to become a successful manager.

19-04-2022, 03:56 PM
Hearts fans are gutted he’s gone.

That says it all for me.

19-04-2022, 04:00 PM
I agree with your comments on SM. Interestingly, I think SM will go on to become a successful manager.

Whatever Shaun does, he cannot ever take over a team mid season. He must come in when he has a nice summer to build.

Turkish Green
19-04-2022, 04:00 PM

Sadly, he came across like that.

Turkish Green
19-04-2022, 04:02 PM
Hearts fans are gutted he’s gone.

That says it all for me.

No they are not, they are having a beezer of a time.

kentao
19-04-2022, 04:02 PM
Ron Gordon set the target of better than the rest, failing to finish in the top 6 and only being better than St johnstone is what has cost him his job. His football was dire his tactics didn't work and was too stubborn to change.

Even with our injuries most times our starting 11 was of better quality of the opposition's. There's not many players I'd swap for other teams players from the other 9 teams excluding the ugly sisters.

He had to go.

19-04-2022, 04:03 PM
His record is very poor, no question, but 18 games? It's a harsh decision, but I can see both sides. I would have preferred to give him the the remaining games then take a wee while to take everything into consideration. The outcome may have been the same, but the timing is odd for me. Obviously, everything depended upon reaching the cup final.

Terry Butcher got 25 games.

He achieved the relegation playoffs from a safe, top 6 position, iirc.

He contrived to get us relegated after leading 2-0.

I'm disappointed that Maloney didn't succeed but I fully understand why the club doesn't want to take that risk again.

Hibiza
19-04-2022, 04:05 PM

Me too.

19-04-2022, 04:08 PM
No they are not, they are having a beezer of a time.

I would say nearly every Jambo is gutted he’s gone. They didn’t see him as a threat at all or his team being a threat to beating them.

They may be laughing at us changing management but they wanted him to stay.

19-04-2022, 04:11 PM
I would say nearly every Jambo is gutted he’s gone. They didn’t see him as a threat at all or his team being a threat to beating them.

Almost all the guys i work with are jambos and not one of them was bothered he has been sacked

19-04-2022, 04:12 PM
Football was pretty dire as was his recruitment. How we didn’t sign an experienced striker and a play maker in the January window has cost him his job . Same win percentage as Butcher of 19% is honking . Ross had a 50.6 win percentage.

19-04-2022, 04:14 PM
One of my least favourite managerial spells & 'style' of football watching Hibs. You always felt the manager was more a hinderance than anything. As I said on another thread I cannot think of a single Hibs player that's performance levels went up under SM.

Could not tell what formation we were playing at times. Cadden & Doig at centre half. Lining up with 7/8 defensive players at Ibrox drawing comparisons with Lennon away at Killi and a far cry from pumping them 1-3 at Hampden under JR.

After defeat on Saturday rather than ultimately the buck stops with me and two derby defeats in a week is unacceptable for this club, he went for the delighted and proud of his players route and the fans appreciate what we tried to do - Nobody cares Sean - we want to win and the memories that come with. That's somebody that just does not understand what this fixture means and the expectations of the fans. Best performance of his time here involved 2nil down in the first half and down to 10men after an hour, while he was dismissive of these facts.

There's no way this was working out. So glad we've made the call now. Things are looking up for the club today :aok:

19-04-2022, 04:16 PM
Football was pretty dire as was his recruitment. How we didn’t sign an experienced striker and a play maker in the January window has cost him his job . Same win percentage as Butcher of 19% is honking . Ross had a 50.6 win percentage.

Only person who should be ashamed is Maloney. Done an absolutely hideous job, signed some absolute dross, didn’t even have the decency to resign before now.

stalbanshibby
19-04-2022, 04:17 PM

We'll never know now, but Hibs have lacked a decent goalscorer since Boyle left, and a hardman/defensive mid (think Haring) since Gogic and/or Bartley left. Josh Campbell is not that man. Hibs don't pose a threat to Hearts because we haven't got the players, not because of SM. IMHO of course.

19-04-2022, 04:23 PM

They'll probably feel the same way I felt when Cathro got punted. Gutted the fun was over and worried they brought someone good in.

19-04-2022, 04:24 PM
We'll never know now, but Hibs have lacked a decent goalscorer since Boyle left, and a hardman/defensive mid (think Haring) since Gogic and/or Bartley left. Josh Campbell is not that man. Hibs don't pose a threat to Hearts because we haven't got the players, not because of SM. IMHO of course.

Boyle was the main player they worried about.

It’s imperative we build a team with characters and players who can compete in these games and that means Tynie as well.

Maloney didn’t do anything to worry Hearts - losing games made us a laughing stock.

19-04-2022, 04:26 PM

Sorry but I stopped reading at 'He had vision'

He didn't have a clue. Hibs were far too big a job for him being a rookie manager.

19-04-2022, 04:30 PM
Agree with both these points.

Wouldn't be surprised to see BK away soon.

Keeps appointing bad managers implies he's appointed more than 1, so far his record is 0 for 1.

seanshow
19-04-2022, 04:37 PM
3 wins out of 15 then losing twice to your local rival in a week.
No one is surviving that, so why should it be any different at Hibs.

Let's see der weegie journalists happily going along with the 'give him time,work in progress attitude' when it's one of their clubs, winning 3 out of 17 games, I don't think so.

Good luck to Shaun, but this isn't the time for him as Hibs manager

19-04-2022, 04:42 PM
3 wins out of 15 then losing twice to your local rival in a week.
No one is surviving that, so why should it be any different at Hibs.

Let's see der weegie journalists happily going along with the 'give him time,work in progress attitude' when it's one of their clubs, winning 3 out of 17 games, I don't think so.

Good luck to Shaun, but this isn't the time for him as Hibs manager

Yup - would rather the club be known for being ruthless and not accepting failure then the flair, soft club who gives managers time to practice their coaching sessions and football manager formations.

We want winning football. The management , staff and players need to be aware that no one is comfortable as you can be replaced very quickly.

19-04-2022, 04:51 PM

But it has to be paid for Assume Ron Gordon isn’t paying severance packages out his own pocket

19-04-2022, 04:55 PM
But it has to be paid for Assume Ron Gordon isn’t paying severance packages out his own pocket

Maybe he was still on probation contract and didn’t hit his targets like top 6?

19-04-2022, 04:58 PM
‘Ashamed’ is not the word that springs to mind right now. Disappointed, angry and unconvinced that RG and his team went for a young inexperienced guy, whose coaching highlight was rubbing shoulders with top class players. Inexperienced, blinkered, stubborn and inflexible …… I’m cheesed off that we are back in the search for Mr Right but relieved that SM wasn’t given enough time to take us the whole hog into the Championship. The next couple of games are crucial.

19-04-2022, 05:09 PM
Keeps appointing bad managers implies he's appointed more than 1, so far his record is 0 for 1.

It's not just about appointing the manager in isolation, although that was one huge, monument mistake!

I can't think of a positive thing he has done at the club since he arrived?

Anything?

Catering, gold seats and pricing, family section, singing section, behind the goals.....

Nothing has changed and nothing is in the pipeline regarding these issues despite them being talked about online almost every week,

He's added nothing to our club.

StirlingHibee
19-04-2022, 05:09 PM
Maloney simply did not have the quality of players at his disposal to execute his footballing philosophy. He will have realised that from day one of training but still persisted and ultimately it was his downfall. I sense some of our defenders were scared to punt the ball up the park (even Liverpool's full backs do it occasionally). Just look at the first goal we conceded on Saturday as evidence. Would it not have been a better strategy to set up his team to play to their strengths, pick up the points, gain the trust of the fans and then perhaps gradually bring his style of play. For his lack of flexibility, his persistence to stick with a plan that was clearly not working and an inability to revert to any type of Plan B I'm sorry to say that he deserved to go!

19-04-2022, 05:14 PM
It's not just about appointing the manager in isolation, although that was one huge, monument mistake!

I can't think of a positive thing he has done at the club since he arrived?

Anything?

Catering, gold seats and pricing, family section, singing section, behind the goals.....

Nothing has changed and nothing is in the pipeline regarding these issues despite them being talked about online almost every week,

He's added nothing to our club.

Yes, we have more problems than just the manager right now. The new ownership and board leave a lot to be desired thus far.

JamesHFC
19-04-2022, 05:29 PM
Totally agree with the OP.

If we won the Dundee United match we would be sitting 4th in the league right now. With a fully fit Nisbet, Doidge, Magennis, Clarke and Mitchell from January onwards I think we would have finished 4th. Things were always going to be difficult when Boyle was sold, I feel for Maloney because that wasn’t part of the plan when he came in and he didn’t even get a half decent replacement for him. It’s a result driven business and failing to achieve top six with 1 win in 12 is a sackable offence so I fully understand the decision.

As the OP mentioned though he was brought in as a long term project and given we sold Boyle and have been hit with injuries for key players - Nisbet, Doidge, Hanlon, McGinn, Magennis, Clarke, Mitchell and Newell for big parts of his 4 months here I really think he deserved the summer but it is what it is.

Good luck to Shaun, he seems hungry to be successful and I think he will be. I just really hope we get this next appointment right and back the manager with better quality players which we really need if we want to challenge Hearts.

Three sackings from Gordon since he came in, let’s hope we don’t turn into a green Watford.

19-04-2022, 05:31 PM
Totally agree with the OP.

If we won the Dundee United match we would be sitting 4th in the league right now. With a fully fit Nisbet, Doidge, Magennis, Clarke and Mitchell from January onwards I think we would have finished 4th. Things were always going to be difficult when Boyle was sold, I feel for Maloney because that wasn’t part of the plan when he came in and he didn’t even get a half decent replacement for him. It’s a result driven business and failing to achieve top six with 1 win in 12 is a sackable offence so I fully understand the decision.

As the OP mentioned though he was brought in as a long term project and given we sold Boyle and have been hit with injuries for key players - Nisbet, Doidge, Hanlon, McGinn, Magennis, Clarke, Mitchell and Newell for big parts of his 4 months here I really think he deserved the summer but it is what it is.

Good luck to Shaun, he seems hungry to be successful and I think he will be. I just really hope we get this next appointment right and back the manager with better quality players which we really need if we want to challenge Hearts.

Three sackings for Gordon since he came in, let’s hope we don’t turn into a green Watford.

He brought in 7 or 8 players in January, Clarke would be the only certain starter if everone was fit, how is that good in anyway shape or form?

stalbanshibby
19-04-2022, 05:37 PM
Yes, we have more problems than just the manager right now. The new ownership and board leave a lot to be desired thus far.

The Hibs job is still hugely attractive - it is a huge job in Scottish football and British football. Anybody worth their salt going into Hibs at the moment would need guarantees of backing and you're not going to get a high-quality manager who is going to bow down to pressure from above and not be given time to put his own ideas in place. Ian Murray BBC Web site

JamesHFC
19-04-2022, 05:38 PM
He brought in 7 or 8 players in January, Clarke would be the only certain starter if everone was fit, how is that good in anyway shape or form?

Jasper, Henderson, Clarke, Rocky and Mitchell the only ones brought in to go straight into the first team. Clarke and Mitchell both good enough to be in our squad. Henderson has potential I feel. Jasper and Rocky both loans and I don’t really know what to make of them.

Mueller was already agreed before his arrival and Melkersen wasn’t brought in to go straight into the first team but was forced in through injury.

Again recruitment has let us down, our summer signings MacKay and Tait having to go out on loan because they are obviously not good enough to be in our first team just now.

19-04-2022, 05:41 PM
The Hibs job is still hugely attractive - it is a huge job in Scottish football and British football. Anybody worth their salt going into Hibs at the moment would need guarantees of backing and you're not going to get a high-quality manager who is going to bow down to pressure from above and not be given time to put his own ideas in place. Ian Murray BBC Web site

Exactly that. We will have some amazing applicants. I'm actually glad we're taking our time. I have faith in Dave to steady us.

Bronson
19-04-2022, 05:50 PM
I’m delighted they acted now and not in October when next season is a write-off as well. He’s never a manager, as mentioned previously he is our ian cathro. Probably a good number 2 but his interviews were very telling. Glad we didn’t delay the inevitable.

Brummie_Hibs
19-04-2022, 05:54 PM
Maloney simply did not have the quality of players at his disposal to execute his footballing philosophy. He will have realised that from day one of training but still persisted and ultimately it was his downfall. I sense some of our defenders were scared to punt the ball up the park (even Liverpool's full backs do it occasionally). Just look at the first goal we conceded on Saturday as evidence. Would it not have been a better strategy to set up his team to play to their strengths, pick up the points, gain the trust of the fans and then perhaps gradually bring his style of play. For his lack of flexibility, his persistence to stick with a plan that was clearly not working and an inability to revert to any type of Plan B I'm sorry to say that he deserved to go!
Best summary so far.

If Maloney had been a wise and tactical manager he would have adapted his style and played for time to build his own team mid-season.

He didn't, so deserves what he got.

19-04-2022, 05:55 PM
Jack Ross needs to go

Hibs shouldn't have sacked Jack Ross

Shaun Maloney needs to go

Hibs shouldn't have sacked Shaun Maloney

I think I agree now. It has gotten worse.

19-04-2022, 05:56 PM

1 win in 14 league games, we already were a laughing stock.

Lendo
19-04-2022, 06:03 PM
Jack Ross needs to go

Hibs shouldn't have sacked Jack Ross

Shaun Maloney needs to go

Hibs shouldn't have sacked Shaun Maloney

I think I agree now. It has gotten worse.

This is where I am at. I’m at a loss as to what we as fans actually want. For weeks now all we’ve had is folk moaning on here with “Maloney GTF” but now it’s happened the tides turn and he should have been given more time.

The same with Ross, months of moaning about the eye bleeding football but yet we have people wanting to bring McInnes in……

Any manager, new or old, who has 1 win in 14 record needs removed.

19-04-2022, 06:06 PM

It was his first job in management, I doubt he has any sort of massive severance clauses in his contract. I wouldn’t be surprised if this doesn’t actually cost us anything because of finishing in the bottom 6.

Weighing up the cost of severance against the cost of keeping him for another 6 months and another wasted season next year I’d say it’s a calculated risk in paying what it cost to get rid

19-04-2022, 06:07 PM
This is where I am at. I’m at a loss as to what we as fans actually want. For weeks now all we’ve had is folk moaning on here with “Maloney GTF” but now it’s happened the tides turn and he should have been given more time.

The same with Ross, months of moaning about the eye bleeding football but yet we have people wanting to bring McInnes in……

Any manager, new or old, who has 1 win in 14 record needs removed.

It was the same with Ross anyway.
Took us consistantly to the top three or four in every competition but the fans were unhappy. Unreal.

Ps Then he was sacked as the league cup final was about to be played. Another trip to Hampden.
Incredible stuff from our fans and it has to be said Ron Gordon for listening to them.
Hope they are happy now

19-04-2022, 06:08 PM
My worry now is, can SDG get us the results to stop the rot???
If he can then the players should hang their heads in shame for getting another manager the sack!!!
I truly hope we can secure 2 wins in the last 5 games, that will see us above the bottom 2!
St Mirren are a stuffy team at the best of times, and the rest will see us as easy targets!
Once again we're on the roller-coaster ride that no one wants!!!

19-04-2022, 06:09 PM
I agree with the OP . Crazy decision to sack a manager so soon . Obviously results weren`t great but given the horrendous injury list I can`t see how he could be expected to do much better . Presume club think new appointment will boost season ticket sales but it`ll have to be a big name to do that and that means high salary , high compensation plus Maloney compensation . RG is quoted as saying he`d like Hibs to be like Atletico Madrid . For many years Atletico were famous for sacking managers several times a year while winning nothing and even being relegated . They stopped hiring and firing and with Simeone have competed well in Spain and Europe ever since .

19-04-2022, 06:23 PM
I agree with the OP . Crazy decision to sack a manager so soon . Obviously results weren`t great but given the horrendous injury list I can`t see how he could be expected to do much better . Presume club think new appointment will boost season ticket sales but it`ll have to be a big name to do that and that means high salary , high compensation plus Maloney compensation . RG is quoted as saying he`d like Hibs to be like Atletico Madrid . For many years Atletico were famous for sacking managers several times a year while winning nothing and even being relegated . They stopped hiring and firing and with Simeone have competed well in Spain and Europe ever since .

Athletico stopped hiring and firing because the manager they appointed came in and they started winning. If Maloney had been winning, he wouldn’t have been fired.

19-04-2022, 06:27 PM
Can't get my head around why so many of you wanted to keep a manager with 1 win in 14 or whatever it is.

It's failure, no matter how you look at it, and action needed to be taken.

Paulie Walnuts
19-04-2022, 06:31 PM
Took us consistantly to the top three or four in every competition but the fans were unhappy. Unreal.

Ps Then he was sacked as the league cup final was about to be played. Another trip to Hampden.
Incredible stuff from our fans and it has to be said Ron Gordon for listening to them.
Hope they are happy now

Jack ross took us to 7th, 3rd and 7th. Done well in cups but every one of the runs ended with an absolute horror show. The football was torture.

Jack Ross was rightfully binned imo. Maloney can have no complaints to an extent but I also think when you take on someone who’s never managed a team and is coming on off the back of a terrible run with the old manager and has his only really good player sold within 2 games then the board either need to take full responsibility for their mistake or give him more time.

Think this sacking says a lot more about the state of our club behind the scenes than it does about Maloney tbh. We’re an utter mess just now.

Lendo
19-04-2022, 06:38 PM
Can't get my head around why so many of you wanted to keep a manager with 1 win in 14 or whatever it is.

Contrarianism, they have nothing to moan about after getting their wish.

19-04-2022, 06:38 PM
Athletico stopped hiring and firing because the manager they appointed came in and they started winning. If Maloney had been winning, he wouldn’t have been fired.

Exactly !

We were about to play bottom 6 teams who Maloney had only beaten once (Aberdeen).

He was lucky to survive this long after failing to get into the top 6 which was embarrassing enough.

The Hearts semi loss was the final straw.

Ok the nice part of the fan base could keep clapping him and accept “the good effort award” after the semi but a large amount of fans were severely fed up and had lost patience with Hibs.

He was given a simple task - top 6 - he failed. That’s not acceptable = lose job. We can discuss all day background circumstances but sometimes football is black and white and it’s about winning.

19-04-2022, 06:42 PM
My worry now is, can SDG get us the results to stop the rot???
If he can then the players should hang their heads in shame for getting another manager the sack!!!
I truly hope we can secure 2 wins in the last 5 games, that will see us above the bottom 2!
St Mirren are a stuffy team at the best of times, and the rest will see us as easy targets!
Once again we're on the roller-coaster ride that no one wants!!!If we start playing better now it's got nothing to do with the players getting Maloney sacked and everything to do with us changing our style of play from Maloney's inefective nonsense.

davy67 +
19-04-2022, 06:43 PM
Exactly my thoughts , the same people who appointed him will be in charge of replacing him

19-04-2022, 06:44 PM

For as much stick as he's getting, Ron seems want the bar set higher than some fans. I include myself in that as I think Ross should have got longer in hindsight. If the next appointment doesn't match his expectations I can see the CEO getting his jotters too.

19-04-2022, 06:46 PM
Jack ross took us to 7th, 3rd and 7th. Done well in cups but every one of the runs ended with an absolute horror show. The football was torture.

Jack Ross was rightfully binned imo. Maloney can have no complaints to an extent but I also think when you take on someone who’s never managed a team and is coming on off the back of a terrible run with the old manager and has his only really good player sold within 2 games then the board either need to take full responsibility for their mistake or give him more time.

Think this sacking says a lot more about the state of our club behind the scenes than it does about Maloney tbh. We’re an utter mess just now.

The first season was sorting the inaugeral mess.
Then 3rd then that was was that
If your going to sack that for a rookie then you have to give the rookie at least a summer.
Shocking state we are in and Ron Gordon and the board are needing proper guidance here

19-04-2022, 06:46 PM

Also, simeone had managed for 5 years, at huge clubs and won titles before Atletico. He was a proven manager, he was not straight out the bloody packet.

Gordy M
19-04-2022, 06:48 PM
Exactly my thoughts , the same people who appointed him will be in charge of replacing him

Ive seen this a few times? Under RG and BK we have appointed one manager? Let me know the board/ceo that have never made a mistake and hired someone who didnt work out?

hibbydog
19-04-2022, 06:48 PM

I would agree that action needed to be taken. But sacking the manager is the wrong action.

What is it now, 15 managers in 20 years?

You can count on the fingers of one hand how many have done a good job.

The evidence proves that sacking managers doesn’t work. So why is it the default course of action?

Sack and experienced manager, sell out best player, appoint a rookie then Sack him after 4 months.

Cracking business plan, Gromit.

There are lots of reasons that Shaun Maloney is a turnip. But very few to convince me that the next guy we appoint will be better.

Perhaps we stick by him, let him learn from his mistakes over the remainder of this season, build some kind of momentum, back him in the summer then see where we are?

Pretty poor decision. Just like sacking Ross. It changes nothing.

The next guy will have the same problems. The same budget. And even more players to move on.

It’s back to the bad old days.

Embarrassing.

19-04-2022, 06:51 PM
I'm all for Hibs persisting with a manager. But do it with a decent one who has proved a bit. Like Jack Ross...

19-04-2022, 06:51 PM

Personally, I would prefer the club appointed a good, experienced proven manager, rather thanking down this ever decending spiral of one carp manager after another.

19-04-2022, 06:53 PM
I'm all for Hibs persisting with a manager. But do it with a decent one who has proved a bit. Like Jack Ross...

I’m all for Hibs sticking with managers I like and sacking the ones I don’t too.

Islington Hibs
19-04-2022, 07:10 PM
I am ashamed too. Before our cup final win and the relative success of the Dempster era Hibernian were on the slide big time. Numerous managers, sackings, 100+ players in a decade and a dwindling support. No wonder.

Dempsters time saw a major resurgence and it was uplifting . That is now gone and we are back to short termism , retribution, unrealistic expectations. It’s is truly pathetic.
I have drawn the conclusion the reason Hibernian constantly underperform
Is our own fault - the club I support deserves every failure that has been the last 50 years. Really sad.

Gordy M
19-04-2022, 07:15 PM
Jeez, we have had a bad season and sacked the manager. Ive seen way much worse than this. Was it acceptable.....no, but we made 2 cup semi finals. The way some folk were going on it is the end of the world and we will never recover. Get this new manager appointment right, decent budget, absolutely no reason we wont be challenging 3rd and cups again next season.

19-04-2022, 07:22 PM
I’m all for Hibs sticking with managers I like and sacking the ones I don’t too.

No, I mean jokes aside, surely you must agree sticking with a rookie would be significantly more risky than a proven vet?

It's not about liking or disliking, it's just common sense. Now Ron has binned both, I don't think anyone gets past a bad run...

19-04-2022, 07:43 PM
No, I mean jokes aside, surely you must agree sticking with a rookie would be significantly more risky than a proven vet?

It's not about liking or disliking, it's just common sense. Now Ron has binned both, I don't think anyone gets past a bad run...

Yeah, I was kind of joking about, and do agree with the more risky part. But you could argue it was always a risky appointment that was going to take time to pay-off.

My thoughts on both were/are that although I was sticking up for Jack Ross pretty much up until the last game we lost (Livingston?) prior to him going, it got to the point where I struggled to make a case anymore as the form was that bad.. the sort of form that would have any manager on a shoogly peg.

With Maloney I’m a bit unsure how I feel but ultimately not overly bothered. I suspect in the long run it’s the right call in that he’s not going to be the man for us, but do wonder (given we’re not appointing anyone immediately) what was wrong with giving him a little more time, especially on the back of a decent (granted ultimately unsuccessful) performance at the weekend.

Ultimately they both got sacked for sackable form. The timing of this one surprises me more, as I actually seen the Jack Ross one coming along with everyone else (apart from Michael Stewart apparently 🙄)

DIXIHIBS
19-04-2022, 07:50 PM
I am ashamed too. Before our cup final win and the relative success of the Dempster era Hibernian were on the slide big time. Numerous managers, sackings, 100+ players in a decade and a dwindling support. No wonder.

Dempsters time saw a major resurgence and it was uplifting . That is now gone and we are back to short termism , retribution, unrealistic expectations. It’s is truly pathetic.
Is our own fault - the club I support deserves every failure that has been the last 50 years. Really sad.

There has been some crap posted here today but "the club i support deserves every failure" is the winner.

stalbanshibby
19-04-2022, 10:56 PM

Unfortunately, I agree with a lot of the above. Leann forged a bond between the club and the support because she knew that's what makes Scottish football tick. Stubbs was an inspired choice - I can't quite understand why he's not done better as a manager since he left us, but for us he was outstanding. Now we have an englishman as CEO - who seems full of marketing hype and spin; and a Peruvian/ American owner who although comes across as a decent bloke with honest intentions, thinks Hibs can be turned into some sort of cash generation machine American football style.

We're in a mess and the current board have lost touch. Their aspirations of top six/ cup semis every year will only be met if some serious serious cash is spent, more than the support will bring in.

hibbydog
20-04-2022, 02:31 AM

100% agree

Yorkshire HFC
20-04-2022, 05:11 AM
Maloney should have been at the World Cup with Belgium - imagine luring him away from that with all sorts of promises and then not giving him the chance.

Hibs are just a company run by a bunch of chancers - and I'm afraid they deserve whatever is coming to them.

How many good decisions have they made? Go into a cup final without a manager - great idea. Sell their best player - what happened to the Boyle money?

20-04-2022, 05:18 AM
It was his first job in management, I doubt he has any sort of massive severance clauses in his contract. I wouldn’t be surprised if this doesn’t actually cost us anything because of finishing in the bottom 6.

Weighing up the cost of severance against the cost of keeping him for another 6 months and another wasted season next year I’d say it’s a calculated risk in paying what it cost to get rid

I'd be surprised if there wasn't some sort of break clause. A rookie manager was a massive gamble. Ron hasn't built his wealth being stupid.

20-04-2022, 05:26 AM
I think removing him was the right move, but we should be getting someone in before the end of the season to give them a chance with the current players.

Issue with Maloney for me is that I didn't trust him with the massive rebuild required over summer. We need to spend that Boyle money, and I would be loathed to have given that to Maloney.

No guarantees the new man will be better but our current form and style of football was so bad I think sticking with him would have been a huge gamble.

20-04-2022, 06:58 AM
I'd be surprised if there wasn't some sort of break clause. A rookie manager was a massive gamble. Ron hasn't built his wealth being stupid.

When Appleton was approached, he turned us down because there was a 3 or 4 month pay off if he was sacked, cant remember which one it was.

I'd be astonished if we dont have the same with Maloney, i remember Heckingbotton signed for us under those conditions.

20-04-2022, 07:00 AM
When Appleton was approached, he turned us down because there was a 3 or 4 month pay off if he was sacked, cant remember which one it was.

I'd be astonished if we dont have the same with Maloney, i remember Heckingbotton signed for us under those conditions.

That was under different leadership though …wonder if they’ve followed the same approach these days ?

20-04-2022, 07:38 AM

What a ****ty post.

So called Hibs fans revelling in taking the piss.

Why just stop at 50 years ( which, if you actually knew anything about Hibs, takes us to the early days of Turnbull’s management). Maybe we could back to 1888 and blame the club for not grasping the nettle of professionalism.

Daily Hibs
20-04-2022, 07:51 AM
What a ****ty post.

So called Hibs fans revelling in taking the piss.

Why just stop at 50 years ( which, if you actually knew anything about Hibs, takes us to the early days of Turnbull’s management). Maybe we could back to 1888 and blame the club for not grasping the nettle of professionalism.
It's actually a good post if you take the time to understand what he means. The team that was fielded on Saturday was chucked together and very reminiscent of the 2012 team.

As a club we have started to celebrate just getting to semi finals as a success when our record at Hampden is pretty terrible given how many games we have played there since 2000.

With all the trips post 2016 we should really have added another cup win or two. We haven't and the club hasn't really kicked on properly from 2016 as we are back in a 2014 style mess. A huge mentality change is required at the club.

20-04-2022, 08:02 AM
It's actually a good post if you take the time to understand what he means. The team that was fielded on Saturday was chucked together and very reminiscent of the 2012 team.

As a club we have started to celebrate just getting to semi finals as a success when our record at Hampden is pretty terrible given how many games we have played there since 2000.

With all the trips post 2016 we should really have added another cup win or two. We haven't and the club hasn't really kicked on properly from 2016 as we are back in a 2014 style mess. A huge mentality change is required at the club.

Yep, a good post if you don’t really support Hibs. Right up some folks street though. Which part of 50 years of misery being well deserved do you like the most?

Daily Hibs
20-04-2022, 08:18 AM
Yep, a good post if you don’t really support Hibs. Right up some folks street though. Which part of 50 years of misery being well deserved do you like the most?
When we are still relying on players that should have been released years ago the club is just asking for bother and highlights major problems we have in our team.

20-04-2022, 08:24 AM

It's the only way. Keep firing managers. If it doesn't work out in 120 days pay them off and start again.,

20-04-2022, 08:42 AM
When we are still relying on players that should have been released years ago the club is just asking for bother and highlights major problems we have in our team.

What's that got to do with a post that says Hibs fans deserve all the misery they've experienced over the past 50 years?

As for those players you don't name. They represent everything good about Hibs. They are my heroes and without them, this club would be in afar worse state than it is now.

Daily Hibs
20-04-2022, 08:46 AM
As for those players you don't name. They represent everything good about Hibs. They are my heroes and without them, this club would be in afar worse state than it is now.
I don't think the club can be in a much worse state than it is just now.

Can I ask what it is that makes them represent everything good about Hibs?

stalbanshibby
20-04-2022, 09:04 AM

Lets see. Off the top of my head, recent managers who have turned out a good Hibs side that has excited the fans are:

Mowbray - left for bigger club
Stubbs - left for bigger club
and Lennon - who knows why he left, but ended up at Celtic.

to a lesser extent Collins - left because of lack of backing
for a while Ross - sacked
for a while Mixu - sacked
for a while Yogi - sacked

In between we've had the following disasters:

Fenlon
Calderwood
Heckingbottom
Butcher
Maloney

Much as I dislike Hearts out of principle, because they're Hearts, Robbie Neilsen has put together a decent side and show no signs of wanting to move on, because he's a Hearts man, and they seem to be willing to look after him and back him.

Who have we got that's similar? I can't think of anyone in the current manager-go-round except Yogi who's Hibs through and through but he won't be coming back. Ian Murray maybe - doing a decent job at Airdrie, but probably not worked at a high enough level.

Any other Manager will come in, make all the right noises, 'big club', 'consistent top 4', cup semis' etc etc etc but we could really do with someone decent who completely gets the club and supporters, and sadly I'm not sure there is anyone out there at the minute.

20-04-2022, 09:32 AM
Lets see. Off the top of my head, recent managers who have turned out a good Hibs side that has excited the fans are:

Fenlon
Calderwood
Heckingbottom
Butcher
Maloney

Much as I dislike Hearts out of principle, because they're Hearts, Robbie Neilsen has put together a decent side and show no signs of wanting to move on, because he's a Hearts man, and they seem to be willing to look after him and back him.

Who have we got that's similar? I can't think of anyone in the current manager-go-round except Yogi who's Hibs through and through but he won't be coming back. Ian Murray maybe - doing a decent job at Airdrie, but probably not worked at a high enough level.

Any other Manager will come in, make all the right noises, 'big club', 'consistent top 4', cup semis' etc etc etc but we could really do with someone decent who completely gets the club and supporters, and sadly I'm not sure there is anyone out there at the minute.

If we were ever going to really have someone for years, it was Ross.

20-04-2022, 09:34 AM
I don't think the club can be in a much worse state than it is just now.

Can I ask what it is that makes them represent everything good about Hibs?

Hibs fans know without asking.

More pertinently, which part of Hibs fans deserving 50 years of misery post even refers to the players you cannot mention? Why are you trying to stir the pot even more?

Fenlon
Calderwood
Heckingbottom
Butcher
Maloney

What's this got to do with with my response to a post which said,
"Is our own fault - the club I support deserves every failure that has been the last 50 years. Really sad".

stalbanshibby
20-04-2022, 09:42 AM

More pertinently, which part of Hibs fans deserving 50 years of misery post even refers to the players you cannot mention? Why are you trying to stir the pot even more?

"Is our own fault - the club I support deserves every failure that has been the last 50 years. Really sad".

Because to support the posters point historically we as a club haven't held onto/backed the good managers we have had. And I don't particularly include Ross in that list.

Daily Hibs
20-04-2022, 10:16 AM

Not stirring the pot, I asked a question?

Why are they your hero's?

20-04-2022, 10:32 AM

Because to support the posters point historically we as a club haven't held onto/backed the good managers we have had. And I don't particularly include Ross in that list.

I initially replied to the quoted post, which came to the conclusion that it's our own fault (as in, owner, fans, pretty random?) and then said we deserve every failure we've had over the past 50 years. Surely, you can't find that OK?

Heroes, not hero's. Why wouldn't they be? They epitomise everything good about being a Hibee. Loyal ,talented, dedicated, give it everything they have every time they set foot on the pitch, have a 1000 games between them, both one club men. Why would any Hibs fan not admire the men you cannot name?

gegs70
He seemed a nice guy. He was on a steep learning curve, would he have brought in all the players he needed in January probably not. He also brought in a load of players all of which felt like wide players....

In terms of based on what I saw did I think he was the man for the job.... Honest answer no. But I was of the opinion that this season was written off and was wait and see what happens next season. I guess a more experienced coach is required along with some players that can support the good young players we have. May need to open the cheque book a little wider......

LewysGot2

Heroes happen for a range of reasons. People can be fabulous players, loyal servants, decent people...a range of reasons.

You can look up to someone for different things. Some people's heroes can be other people's villains. It happens and, guess what, it's allowed.

Graham Rix is someone's hero. Paul Gascoigne is someone's hero. Andy Goram is someone's hero.

They wouldn't be mine but there you go

loanheadhibby
21-04-2022, 07:58 AM
Me too.
Good post but I actually think RG was right to pull the plug.
Injuries, losing Boyle transpired against SM but the football was awful and he showed absolutely nothing to make us think he was going to turn things around.

loanheadhibby
21-04-2022, 08:04 AM

Hope they are happy now
Fair point but with our resources you could argue we should be around the top four in most competitions - cup draws permitting.
I found the football under JR pretty depressing and the St Johnstone defeats at Hampden were pitiful.
Ron has been positive in getting shot of JR and SM and hopefully the next guy will be successful.
No guarantees of course.

21-04-2022, 08:18 AM

Fenlon
Calderwood
Heckingbottom
Butcher
Maloney

I thought Stubbs left for Rotherham United?

LewysGot2
21-04-2022, 10:50 AM
I thought Stubbs left for Rotherham United?

He left to be closer to his family

21-04-2022, 10:50 AM
He left to be closer to his family

Yeah that's one way of putting it.

LewysGot2
21-04-2022, 10:51 AM
Yeah that's one way of putting it.

Chose my words carefully. Definitely not a bigger club...

stalbanshibby
21-04-2022, 09:13 PM
Chose my words carefully. Definitely not a bigger club...

OK. Rotherham not a bigger club. I take it back. The point I was trying to make though, knowing that managers will always ask for more cash to spend on players, or be enticed away (by more cash) if they're any good, is have we properly backed a recent manager enough for them to want to stay? Neilsen's a Hertz man through and through. Don't think there's an equivalent Hibs manager out there, other than SDG - who we surely need to keep no matter who comes in so we have a contingency in case we fire the new man.

However, it was interesting to hear RG say yesterday that the cash available to the football operation has increased by 60% since he came in, and he said he won't allow a gulf to open up between us and Hertz, who're on a guaranteed 3m windfall from European football, so can it be assumed that he's putting his hand in his pocket for a) the new manager's wages so we get someone decent and committed and b) the player pool, I wonder?

21-04-2022, 09:44 PM
OK. Rotherham not a bigger club. I take it back. The point I was trying to make though, knowing that managers will always ask for more cash to spend on players, or be enticed away (by more cash) if they're any good, is have we properly backed a recent manager enough for them to want to stay? Neilsen's a Hertz man through and through. Don't think there's an equivalent Hibs manager out there, other than SDG - who we surely need to keep no matter who comes in so we have a contingency in case we fire the new man.

However, it was interesting to hear RG say yesterday that the cash available to the football operation has increased by 60% since he came in, and he said he won't allow a gulf to open up between us and Hertz, who're on a guaranteed 3m windfall from European football, so can it be assumed that he's putting his hand in his pocket for a) the new manager's wages so we get someone decent and committed and b) the player pool, I wonder?

No way is he putting in an extra 3million
So If Hearts invest the bulk of that wisely in recruiting players then you would think they have a chance for third again
But let’s see what happens

21-04-2022, 10:56 PM

However, it was interesting to hear RG say yesterday that the cash available to the football operation has increased by 60% since he came in, and he said he won't allow a gulf to open up between us and Hertz, who're on a guaranteed 3m windfall from European football, so can it be assumed that he's putting his hand in his pocket for a) the new manager's wages so we get someone decent and committed and b) the player pool, I wonder?Is RN a Hearts man ? Played for them and manages them but didn`t support them as a boy and has played for and managed other clubs . Do Hearts fans consider RN to be a Hearts man ?

As for RG`s investment , think the 60% figure was mentioned a while ago . Wonder how Boyle cash affects the figure .

huggie1875
22-04-2022, 01:18 AM

Absolutely brutal by the Hibs Board. Who'd want to work for us now when you treat the management team like that? if he had been a good manager he would have adapted to the players we had strength not the other way round he may be a very good coach but he’s no manager no even close

22-04-2022, 07:30 AM
Is RN a Hearts man ? Played for them and manages them but didn`t support them as a boy and has played for and managed other clubs . Do Hearts fans consider RN to be a Hearts man ?

As for RG`s investment , think the 60% figure was mentioned a while ago . Wonder how Boyle cash affects the figure .

Think RN was brought up a St Mirren supporter

happiehibbie
22-04-2022, 07:40 AM

But it did not work out the Owner of the club decided this is not what I want for my Club.

We all need to except it Football is fickle and a result / performance industry SM failed on both.

I understand its sport however if you employ someone to do a job and you think wait he is not as good as I thought he was and is not performing how you want him to you let them go dead simple. Hibs lost out on Europe this year the money that has cost us is huge. RG accepts he is responsible along with mitigating factors and has said he will fix it.

stalbanshibby
22-04-2022, 09:18 AM
But it did not work out the Owner of the club decided this is not what I want for my Club.

We all need to except it Football is fickle and a result / performance industry SM failed on both.

I understand its sport however if you employ someone to do a job and you think wait he is not as good as I thought he was and is not performing how you want him to you let them go dead simple. Hibs lost out on Europe this year the money that has cost us is huge. RG accepts he is responsible along with mitigating factors and has said he will fix it.

Aye. having heard RG speak about this on Wednesday, I'm reassured. The OP was a bit of a knee jerk reaction itself - at the time I just thought we were in a bit of a mess - in fact we are - but the way RG has put his hand up speaks volumes for RG. At the time I couldn't help feeling for Shaun, who does seems to have left gracefully (to his credit) despite reports of a bust up with Kensall.

evy
22-04-2022, 09:24 AM

Fenlon
Calderwood
Heckingbottom
Butcher
Maloney

He's already upped and left them once for MK Dons, but that doesn't fit your narrative so ignored.

stalbanshibby
22-04-2022, 09:35 AM
He's already upped and left them once for MK Dons, but that doesn't fit your narrative so ignored.

Suit yourself, pal.

Course he left them. Aeroplanes above Tynie, Levein as Director of Football and he couldn't beat Hibs. So he goes and learns his trade elsewhere, back in Scotland with Dundee Utd who he got promoted, and jumped at the chance when offered the Hearts gig again.

I'm not a particular fan of RN or anything to do with Hearts, but much as it sticks in my throat, there's no denying he's doing a decent job and has strong associations with them, and they seem to be backing him. I remember the cup game when Kevin Nisbet hit the bar from a pen and they went on to beat us: Jack Ross had been in the press before hand saying how much he was interested in the financial side of football management blah blah, and you just knew that Nielsen had his and Hibs number.

Ionastreethibs
22-04-2022, 09:36 AM
OK Maloney's results were bad but I'd say he needed more time and was sacked too soon

22-04-2022, 09:41 AM
Suit yourself, pal.

Course he left them. Aeroplanes above Tynie, Levein as Director of Football and he couldn't beat Hibs. So he goes and learns his trade elsewhere, back in Scotland with Dundee Utd who he got promoted, and jumped at the chance when offered the Hearts gig again.

I'm not a particular fan of RN or anything to do with Hearts, but much as it sticks in my throat, there's no denying he's doing a decent job and has strong associations with them, and they seem to be backing him. I remember the cup game when Kevin Nisbet hit the bar from a pen and they went on to beat us: Jack Ross had been in the press before hand saying how much he was interested in the financial side of football management blah blah, and you just knew that Nielsen had his and Hibs number.

Nielson had Ross' number because Kevin Nisbet hit the post from a penalty? If it's 3 inches to the left Hibs win the game, nothing to do with pre predicting Neilson had Ross' number.

22-04-2022, 09:47 AM
OK Maloney's results were bad but I'd say he needed more time and was sacked too soon

He was failing in virtually every measurable metric.

1 win in 14 In league

Not playing better football and barely creating any chances. Our stats in around opposition box were chronic

No players have "improved" since he's come in

Crowds done

ST sales clearly down

Hearts beating us to confirm bottom six place. Ross County sneaked in ahead of us ffs

Hearts beating us in scottish Cup semi final in front of a reduced Hibs crowd

Aye he was a rookie and bound to be bumps but there needed to be some sign that the appointment was right. I can't see any? I say that as someone that posted on Monday morning he needed till end of the season. But listening to RG, I'm far more comfortable with SM leaving than I had been with him staying now

22-04-2022, 09:51 AM
Nielson had Ross' number because Kevin Nisbet hit the post from a penalty? If it's 3 inches to the left Hibs win the game, nothing to do with pre predicting Neilson had Ross' number.

That result was such a sliding doors moment - we should have won. JR lost a section of the support (wrongly imo) and Neilson gained momentum with hearts. A win for us might have saw Robbie replay lose his job yet again. Now look at them...

evy
22-04-2022, 09:54 AM
Suit yourself, pal.

It really sounds like you're not......

They scored a penalty and we hit the bar with one means that Neilson has Ross' number. Nae bother :thumbsup:

Paulie Walnuts
22-04-2022, 10:05 AM

To be fair we were third in the league, well into our season and hearts were a lower league team who hadn’t even played a friendly yet.

It was a close game, but it should never have been close. So in that regard I don’t think it’s unreasonable to say Neilson had his number.

22-04-2022, 10:21 AM
To be fair we were third in the league, well into our season and hearts were a lower league team who hadn’t even played a friendly yet.

It was a close game, but it should never have been close. So in that regard I don’t think it’s unreasonable to say Neilson had his number.

The weather that day was utterly horrendous. I think almost everyone thought it would be off, infact I'd go as far to say it's the worst conditions I've ever seen a game of football been played in. That levelled the playing field completely and it made the game a total lottery.

22-04-2022, 10:21 AM

Some of the worst conditions I've seen a game played in. All Hearts Christmases came at once that day.

22-04-2022, 10:23 AM
The delayed semi was an atrocious result because the relative team standings were flipped - we were 3rd and they were in the second tier.

We should have won comfortably that day but we didn't because it's Hearts. It never should have got to the point where a missed penalty decided it.

stalbanshibby
22-04-2022, 10:23 AM
That result was such a sliding doors moment - we should have won. JR lost a section of the support (wrongly imo) and Neilson gained momentum with hearts. A win for us might have saw Robbie replay lose his job yet again. Now look at them...

Agree 100%. Intelligent and objective post. Is that allowed on here???

22-04-2022, 12:05 PM

Hearts had played 7 friendlies, 3 league cup ties, and 2 league games before playing us.

22-04-2022, 12:43 PM

To be fair.......then you go onto post misinformed gash ? WE can all get basic facts wrong, but that's kind of trying too hard and hoping no one will bother with a fact check.

loanheadhibby
22-04-2022, 05:18 PM
The delayed semi was an atrocious result because the relative team standings were flipped - we were 3rd and they were in the second tier.

We should have won comfortably that day but we didn't because it's Hearts. It never should have got to the point where a missed penalty decided it.
Are you saying we bottled it?
Their centre held his nerve and ours didn't.

22-04-2022, 06:10 PM
**** the hertz, an **** all the hertz supporters.

Paulie Walnuts
22-04-2022, 06:12 PM
Hearts had played 7 friendlies, 3 league cup ties, and 2 league games before playing us.

So they had. My apologies.

Point still stands though. We were much deeper into our season, 3rd place and the league above Hearts. We should have won that game semi comfortably and I don’t think it’s that much of a stretch to suggest Neilson won the battle of the managers that day.

22-04-2022, 06:16 PM

Point still stands though. We were much deeper into our season, 3rd place and the league above Hearts. We should have won that game semi comfortably and I don’t think it’s that much of a stretch to suggest Neilson won the battle of the managers that day.

We outshot them 16 attempts to 8. It was only poor finishing that stopped it being a comfortable win

Paulie Walnuts
22-04-2022, 06:23 PM
We outshot them 16 attempts to 8. It was only poor finishing that stopped it being a comfortable win

Sounds familiar really.

We also had similar amounts of shots on target, the same possession and Hearts got better as the game went on.

We should have had more than enough to beat Hearts that day. The players and the manager let a huge opportunity get away from them.

22-04-2022, 06:35 PM
Sounds familiar really.

We also had similar amounts of shots on target, the same possession and Hearts got better as the game went on.

We should have had more than enough to beat Hearts that day. The players and the manager let a huge opportunity get away from them.

Not sure why you are pushing the manager’s role in this one. If we had scored the pen , would you have been underlining his success ?? He set up the team to win, we created more than enough chances and players failed on the day to take them. The truth is we were unlucky that day . We were the better team - it’s football, it happens . For all the games you can call against Ross - this isn’t one .

22-04-2022, 07:17 PM

Naw it disnae.
:wtf:

Paulie Walnuts
22-04-2022, 07:28 PM
Naw it disnae.
:wtf:

Yes, it does.

Paulie Walnuts
22-04-2022, 07:31 PM
Not sure why you are pushing the manager’s role in this one. If we had scored the pen , would you have been underlining his success ?? He set up the team to win, we created more than enough chances and players failed on the day to take them. The truth is we were unlucky that day . We were the better team - it’s football, it happens . For all the games you can call against Ross - this isn’t one .

We’ll agree to disagree. I’d say it was.

22-04-2022, 07:37 PM
Yes, it does.

I mean, if you can't get the facts right, what does it say for your opinion?

90% of derbies are very close, scrappy games. That was no different. Sadly Kevin lost his dad days before or he'd probably have buried that and we win.

22-04-2022, 07:39 PM

Another one.

Paulie Walnuts
22-04-2022, 07:39 PM

90% of derbies are very close, scrappy games. That was no different. Sadly Kevin lost his dad days before or he'd probably have buried that and we win.

Facts and opinions are two completely different things. So it really doesn’t say anything.

22-04-2022, 07:57 PM
Facts and opinions are two completely different things. So it really doesn’t say anything.

That's correct, but your opinion of the facts are weird.

22-04-2022, 08:07 PM
Are you saying we bottled it?
Their centre held his nerve and ours didn't.

That game shouldn't have even come close to going to extra time given the respective strength of the squads. The whole team bottled it.

the_ginger_hibee
22-04-2022, 08:08 PM
That game shouldn't have even come close to going to extra time given the respective strength of the squads. The whole team bottled it.

How many times do we do that against them? I wish we could root that out. It goes beyond managers, players etc.

22-04-2022, 08:12 PM

But what you thought were the facts, that Hearts had not played even a friendly, was wrong, so that must have guided your opinion.

If you can't get the facts correct that undoubtedly influence your opinion, then don't be surprised when people question the value of your opinion when you put it across.

loanheadhibby
22-04-2022, 08:25 PM

Why did he take it then?

22-04-2022, 08:36 PM
Why did he take it then?

You know i have said the same thing, i've never rated him as a penalty taker or a free kick taker, he's just not very good at either.

Paulie Walnuts
22-04-2022, 09:13 PM
But what you thought were the facts, that Hearts had not played even a friendly, was wrong, so that must have guided your opinion.

If you can't get the facts correct that undoubtedly influence your opinion, then don't be surprised when people question the value of your opinion when you put it across.

It really didn’t influence my opinion all that much, hence why I said the point still stood regardless of that fact being incorrect.

Paulie Walnuts
22-04-2022, 09:14 PM
That's correct, but your opinion of the facts are weird.

Aye ok :aok:

22-04-2022, 09:19 PM
It really didn’t influence my opinion all that much, hence why I said the point still stood regardless of that fact being incorrect.

Except your post and the “facts” you presented were so wrong that it invalidated any value attached to the opinion. Just admit it, you were spraffing Tom Kite :aok:

Paulie Walnuts
22-04-2022, 09:20 PM
Except your post and the “facts” you presented were so wrong that it invalidated any value attached to the opinion. Just admit it, you were spraffing Tom Kite :aok:

If you say so darling.

My opinion hasn’t changed despite the facts being incorrect. We should have comfortably won that game and we never regardless of how many games hearts played before it. The players and JR let themselves and the fans down.

22-04-2022, 09:21 PM

You accepted you were wrong, but was unaware you were at a party. :faf:

Paulie Walnuts
22-04-2022, 09:25 PM
You accepted you were wrong, but was unaware you were at a party. :faf:

Lol bants

22-04-2022, 09:26 PM
Why did he take it then?

Probably something to do with being human.