View Full Version : Who do YOU want as new Hibs Manager
19-04-2022, 10:21 AM
As the heading says, I will start it off with the dream team of Lenny & Broony
hibby rae
19-04-2022, 10:28 AM
I genuinely have no idea at the moment. Although the nationality of the manager doesn't bother me so much.
Far easier to say who I wouldn't want, Malky Mackay being very high on that list.
19-04-2022, 10:29 AM
Dirk Lehmann.
I'm just not giving up with this one :greengrin
19-04-2022, 10:30 AM
I hope whoever it is can unite the fans. Both Maloney and Ross split opinion.
19-04-2022, 10:31 AM
No experiments this time.
We are not an academy for up and coming coaches/managers - we are one of the top professional outfits in our country so should hire as such.
19-04-2022, 10:31 AM
At this point, **** knows. None of the realistic names being banded about sound exciting
Steve88
19-04-2022, 10:32 AM
Experienced. Ideally a manager who has won cups/leagues and someone with a career (manager and/or football) that the players admire and look up too.
Increase the manager salary
LunasBoots
19-04-2022, 10:32 AM
Mackay.
19-04-2022, 10:33 AM
Sean Dyche.
19-04-2022, 10:33 AM
Mcpake option? :hilarious
Can't vote in the poll.
Nuno Espirito Santo, Andre Villas Boas or Claudio Ranieri.
I know...but you never know 😄.
19-04-2022, 10:35 AM
Alex Ferguson to come out of retirement with OGS as an assistant.
19-04-2022, 10:35 AM
Dick and Iain Campbell.
Scotty Leither
19-04-2022, 10:38 AM
McInnes, who should have got the gig in the first place, a pragmatist who would've won us enough games to comfortably secure Top 6 and a crack at qualifying for Europe.
Instead we got by all accounts a personal pick from our CEO; whose knowledge of Scottish football can be comfortably written on the back of a stamp in felt-tip pen...same goes for his mate at Head of Recruitment.
Logie Green
19-04-2022, 10:43 AM
Billy Brown, because he’s been places. 😜
19-04-2022, 10:44 AM
Ted Lasso please.
OldEast
Duncan Ferguson
19-04-2022, 10:45 AM
Nobody with an ex Hibs connection please.
Greenworld
19-04-2022, 10:45 AM
Malky mckay. Done a great job a RC and loads of experience
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
19-04-2022, 10:46 AM
Leigh Griffiths as player manager.
leithsansiro
19-04-2022, 10:46 AM
Genuine question, why the clamour for Neil Lennon and Scott Brown? Do folk not remember how toxic Lennon made his ending at Hibs? Or how much of a disaster he left in his wake in terms of players? Likewise Scott Brown? I'm genuinely not seeing what he'd bring to the table.
Anyone voting or wanting Malky Mackay needs to have a word with themselves. Exposed as a homophobic racist, don't want him anywhere near my club.
19-04-2022, 10:49 AM
I'd go for Kirsty Gallagher! Good Hibernian connections too.
19-04-2022, 11:12 AM
Robbie Neilson
:duck:
19-04-2022, 11:16 AM
I'd go for Kirsty Gallagher! Good Hibernian connections too.
She might incease the attendances to be fair :greengrin
PolmontHibby
19-04-2022, 11:19 AM
McInnes - proven he can get a team like Aberdeen consistently near top of league, but that boat may have sailed.
19-04-2022, 11:21 AM
I'd like to see Micheal O'Neil.
19-04-2022, 11:22 AM
Not Derek Mcinnes
Green forever
19-04-2022, 11:23 AM
Could Deek still do a job ? 😃
19-04-2022, 11:26 AM
Sean Dyche.
The Charlston Battery head coach (Conor Casey) looks a bit like Sean Dyche. Stand by for another experiment.:offski:
19-04-2022, 11:26 AM
Ronny Delia
Bertie Wooster
19-04-2022, 11:27 AM
Uwe Rosler.
Has a good track record , good age and experience and has a style which would be attractive to watch
snedzuk
19-04-2022, 11:30 AM
Who's the Array guy? Seems to be rated by all the main candidates
Array Redknapp
19-04-2022, 11:32 AM
Like Lenny and broony but will David Unsworth be in with a shout
leithsansiro
19-04-2022, 11:34 AM
I've got an awful, awful feeling that our next manager will be Steve Kean.
He's already in the club, has previously been a manager etc etc.
Not that I'm in support of that, but I think that's what will happen come the shake down.
19-04-2022, 11:36 AM
David Unsworth might be shout. He just left Everton u23s saying he wanted to be a first team head coach. Apparently well thought of. Not saying I want him, just throwing a name in there
19-04-2022, 11:37 AM
Not that I'm in support of that, but I think that's what will happen come the shake down.
Hope not but surely if he was a candidate he would be caretaker.
Anyone in the world called Pep Klopp?
19-04-2022, 11:43 AM
Like Lenny and broony but will David Unsworth be in with a shout
Unsworth left Everton last week so maybe.
19-04-2022, 11:44 AM
Kjetil Knutson
19-04-2022, 11:44 AM
Genuine question, why the clamour for Neil Lennon and Scott Brown? Do folk not remember how toxic Lennon made his ending at Hibs? Or how much of a disaster he left in his wake in terms of players? Likewise Scott Brown? I'm genuinely not seeing what he'd bring to the table.
Anyone voting or wanting Malky Mackay needs to have a word with themselves. Exposed as a homophobic racist, don't want him anywhere near my club.
Brown as an assistant to the right person I have no problem with. I don’t particularly want us returning to the volatility and instability of Lennon though. His time was up for a reason.
19-04-2022, 12:04 PM
Kjetil Knutson
If he brings the BoboGlint team with him aye
19-04-2022, 12:05 PM
Think it's Knutsen for me too.
He's here!
19-04-2022, 12:07 PM
Jack Ross's sacking seemed hasty at the time to me, but Maloney's exit shows that whoever comes in will have to hit the ground running (and therefore probably get sacked a few months down the line if things aren't instantly magical).
I'd have Ross back. Best available Scottish manager out there IMHO, but I doubt he'd want to work again for the current Hibs ownership.
19-04-2022, 12:13 PM
Knutson or Ronny Delia for me. Norwegian football is doing something good at the moment so would be good to tap into it
19-04-2022, 12:43 PM
Kevin Thomson just seen getting off a number 1 bus at Easter Road, dont know if this means anything.
19-04-2022, 12:46 PM
Jack Ross's sacking seemed hasty at the time to me, but Maloney's exit shows that whoever comes in will have to hit the ground running (and therefore probably get sacked a few months down the line if things aren't instantly magical).
I'd have Ross back. Best available Scottish manager out there IMHO, but I doubt he'd want to work again for the current Hibs ownership.
I don't think they have to be instantly magical, but win more than 3 league games out of the 15 he managed, and only 1 out of the last 13. If Maloney had won even one or two more games he'd definitely be getting time until the end of the season and maybe beyond because we'd probably 4th in the league.
hibby rae
19-04-2022, 12:48 PM
There's the irony, the best option probably would be Ross
19-04-2022, 12:48 PM
Knutson or Ronny Delia for me. Norwegian football is doing something good at the moment so would be good to tap into it
Delia has been in New York past couple of years and think they won the league last year. No chance we getting him.
Knutson is a pipe dream. Just isn't going to happen. More chance of us ending up with someone like John Kennedy.
19-04-2022, 12:50 PM
With Denmark doing so well internationally, whats the domestic scene like? Like with most European teams I often felt their teams were technically superior to us. I wonder if theres a coach from Denmark we could tempt?
19-04-2022, 12:52 PM
Hopefully Ron will ‘listen to the fan base’ and appoint whoever wins this poll. If not Mackay, definitely not McInnes.
Kevin Thomson just seen getting off a number 1 bus at Easter Road, dont know if this means anything.
Been chucked off for singing the Sash.
Delia has been in New York past couple of years and think they won the league last year. No chance we getting him.
Knutson is a pipe dream. Just isn't going to happen. More chance of us ending up with someone like John Kennedy.
Fair point. Kennedy always get kept on by the new Celtic managers so perhaps is happy being an assistant these days?
19-04-2022, 12:53 PM
Dirk Lehmann.
I'm just not giving up with this one :greengrin
With John Rankin as assistant?
The Diggler/Squiggler dream ticket.
Stubbs?
Sent from my Pixel 5 using Tapatalk
HibsNibs
19-04-2022, 12:59 PM
Big Sam :aok:
19-04-2022, 12:59 PM
Voted McInnes, we need to get new blood into the club, not ex this or ex that!
He could bring in new ideas and hopefully can last more than a few months?
This merry go round is costing the club money that could be spent on players not ex managers sitting at home with a big pay day???
How much of Boyle's money will Maloney be sticking in his back pocket???
We need to get this one right.
19-04-2022, 01:03 PM
Stubbs?
Sent from my Pixel 5 using Tapatalk
If there was an agreement that he had to bring Holden and Doolan with him then I could live with that.
I can't see it happening though. I argued for McInnes last time and I'd still go with him now. A lot of recency bias when assessing his time at Aberdeen.
19-04-2022, 01:08 PM
David Gray?
19-04-2022, 01:16 PM
David Gray?
I doubt they'd want to appoint another rookie but if he wins all the post split games and says he wants it he would certainly have a bit of momentum behind him.
19-04-2022, 01:20 PM
David Gray?
They’ll go with him till summer, hoping he can keep us from sinking even lower, before appointing the next temporary manager. What once must have been seen as a plum job, looks now to
be a poisoned chalice.
19-04-2022, 01:23 PM
I’d take Lennon/Brown.
But I honestly have absolutely no idea what direction we’ll go in.
19-04-2022, 01:25 PM
Fair point. Kennedy always get kept on by the new Celtic managers so perhaps is happy being an assistant these days?
Kennedy was interviewed and was offered our job , before Ross got it ..but Lennon and Celtic changed his mind ..and he stayed .
Strangely enough , his plan submitted to the Hibs board at the time, apparently had Maloney as his assistant ….
19-04-2022, 01:29 PM
I'd take the Lennon and Brown combo if it was viable, i'd take McIness too, although there are probably many more who could do a better job than the last guy.
Just make sure whoever you appoint Ron,he is a bit taller please.
19-04-2022, 01:31 PM
Exactly the opposite - somebody with a real and deep Hibs connection please.
One of the may things our club is missing is a pedigree of people running through it who bleed Hibs. Just as you need a strong spine in a team so too I firmly believe we need a core of people who have Hibs in their DNA. I'm not talking about people like Caldwell who pass through on their way to somewhere else. I'm talking about people who have given a significant chunk of their professional careers to the club and who are vested in it.
Just for a start it would mean that derbies against those manky turds would be taken seriously and treated as the life or death battles that they should be.
I'm ready for a manager who wants to be here for a longer haul, is ready to call out the referees and the SFA for their incompetence and their lack of impartiality and sees being top dog in the capital as the first order of business. So that's the kind of DNA of a Beauzelin a Brown or a Stevenson.
19-04-2022, 01:32 PM
They all do. Folk will moan about anyone.
Success and forward momentum will unite the fans, nothing else.
19-04-2022, 01:32 PM
The more I think about it, the more I’d welcome Stubbsy, Taff and Doolan but only if it was all three.
Signed well, good football, got the club, knows the club inside out and just seemed to gel.
19-04-2022, 01:34 PM
Kennedy was interviewed and was offered our job , before Ross got it ..but Lennon and Celtic changed his mind ..and he stayed .
Strangely enough , his plan submitted to the Hibs board at the time, apparently had Maloney as his assistant ….
No thanks, I don't want a Celtic wannabe. I want someone who is Hibs through and through or who has the emotional intelligence to go out and absorb what that means and then adopt it into every fibre of their being. Enough with the bland serving their apprenticeships with us en route to becoming better paid bland elsewhere.
19-04-2022, 01:35 PM
The more I think about it, the more I’d welcome Stubbsy, Taff and Doolan but only if it was all three.
Signed well, good football, got the club, knows the club inside out and just seemed to gel.
In a heartbeat.
19-04-2022, 01:37 PM
I’ll take SDG for now thanks… maybe Daz can join him in the summer?
Doh Rae Me
19-04-2022, 01:38 PM
Lennon and Brown would be my dream team.
19-04-2022, 01:40 PM
With John Rankin as assistant?
The Diggler/Squiggler dream ticket.
I like it!
Lendo
19-04-2022, 01:43 PM
The thought of Lennon coming back makes me feel sick.
19-04-2022, 01:47 PM
It means he caught the wrong bus...
Lendo
19-04-2022, 01:55 PM
It means he caught the wrong bus...
He would have been trying to jump on the 55
19-04-2022, 01:56 PM
He would have been trying to jump on the 55
19-04-2022, 01:59 PM
I'd 100% go for Lennon. If Brown wants to come as asst that would be cool.
If not him, then anyone else who has won something would be my starting point.
I absolutely do not want someone based on their 'potential'.
Getting someone in that has done the job properly in their career would be decent.
19-04-2022, 02:02 PM
The end of Lennons spell was every bit as bad, or worse than Ross and Maloneys poor runs. He also wouldn't have the best midfield in Scotland to work with. We need to look forward not back.
Gordy M
19-04-2022, 02:03 PM
Getting someone in that has done the job properly in their career would be decent.
Like Callum Davidson, John Hughes? They have won stuff? Its not just as easy as that?
19-04-2022, 02:05 PM
The focused Lennon was fine. The one that lost the plot and went missing after getting beat at Tiny, not so much.
19-04-2022, 02:10 PM
Kjetil Knutson
leith lynx
19-04-2022, 02:12 PM
I'd like to see Micheal O'Neil.
Seconded
leith lynx
19-04-2022, 02:15 PM
Unfortunately I would not be surprised.
19-04-2022, 02:18 PM
McInnes for me. Doesn't play great football, is pragmatic, but knows what he's doing. Solid appointment when we need stability.
19-04-2022, 02:20 PM
Kjetil Knutsen break the bank.
19-04-2022, 02:21 PM
The focused Lennon was fine. The one that lost the plot and went missing after getting beat at Tiny, not so much.
Also blamed everyone but himself when the going got tough, announced he would have to 'consider his options' after a loss as if he was too good for us, fell-out with our strikers on a regular basis, made some pretty poor signings, form dropped like a stone, and then he went on to carry his crap form in to a really good Celtic squad.
It was a pretty good season when we finished 4th, that's about it. This idea that he had us playing great football all the time is a myth too - championship season was eye-bleeding (he got the job done though - McGinn and Cummings alone were enough to get us out that league with no huns/hearts), then with a midfield of the best Mcgeough there's ever been, SJM and an in-form Allan, it would be hard for the team not to play decent football.
He done a job, for a while, don't get me wrong. But it wasn't good enough that I'd want to put up with all his nonsense that came with it.. and ultimately we got rid because he wasn't good enough in the end.
Lennon really isn't the answer for me. Stubbs on the other hand.... I could see the argument :agree:
LustForLeith
Sounds like we’re looking for
1) someone with experience
2) preferably whose won stuff
3) knows the Scottish game would be an advantage
4) plays attractive football
5) isn’t Malky Mackay
6) or Dick Campbell
Hate to be THAT person who wonders what peoples wages are, but what have Hibs paid or last couple of manageds roughy? What’s the pay off from Ross and Maloney? Surely this will have an impact on who we’re able to attract to the club? How much we can afford and how much we’re paying to those who didn’t cut it
Lendo
It’s a shame that Scotland aren’t ***** right now as I would have loved to have seen Steve Clarke in the job.
Means he’s been done for drunk driving :greengrin
19-04-2022, 02:24 PM
Michael O'Neill
leith lynx
19-04-2022, 02:25 PM
I'd take the Lennon and Brown combo if it was viable, i'd take McIness too, although there are probably many more who could do a better job than the last guy.
A Lennon/Brown Hibs side at Ibrox would be dynamite!
19-04-2022, 02:27 PM
Rooney
Knutsen
OGS
Deila
Biesla
Anybody else that is way out of our league but would be decent. Wait until Fat Frank gets punted from Everton?
🙂
19-04-2022, 02:27 PM
I don't want Lennon back, no way. We need stability.
leith lynx
19-04-2022, 02:29 PM
Exactly the opposite - somebody with a real and deep Hibs connection please.
One of the may things our club is missing is a pedigree of people running through it who bleed Hibs. Just as you need a strong spine in a team so too I firmly believe we need a core of people who have Hibs in their DNA. I'm not talking about people like Caldwell who pass through on their way to somewhere else. I'm talking about people who have given a significant chunk of their professional careers to the club and who are vested in it.
Just for a start it would mean that derbies against those manky turds would be taken seriously and treated as the life or death battles that they should be.
I'm ready for a manager who wants to be here for a longer haul, is ready to call out the referees and the SFA for their incompetence and their lack of impartiality and sees being top dog in the capital as the first order of business. So that's the kind of DNA of a Beauzelin a Brown or a Stevenson.
A Gordon Strachan/Ian Murray combo would satisfy your needs.
leith lynx
19-04-2022, 02:31 PM
Nae money left for players then....
MichaelBrown
19-04-2022, 02:37 PM
Rooney
Knutsen
OGS
Deila
Biesla
Anybody else that is way out of our league but would be decent. Wait until Fat Frank gets punted from Everton?
🙂
Bielsa.. what are you smoking?
19-04-2022, 02:43 PM
We won't be getting Bielsa or Rooney or Dyche, but we can get a decent manager in.
19-04-2022, 02:44 PM
The green stuff, as always
andrew70
19-04-2022, 02:48 PM
John Kennedy
Scot Gemmill
or
Neil Lennon
19-04-2022, 02:49 PM
I think NL would easily have turned things around if Dempster had stuck by him instead of the wee greeting faced prick Kamberi. She screwed up big time there.
Favourite ever manager in my lifetime supporting Hibs.
Folk are getting excited at the thought of him returning, even though it's never gonna happen. When's the last time we were excited about anything Hibs related??
It's a good feeling to have for a change!!
19-04-2022, 02:55 PM
John Collins.
19-04-2022, 03:00 PM
It will be very interesting to see if Gray can get any more out of these players than Maloney. If he can, and we end the season strongly, it isn't inconceivable he could get the job. Not saying that is my preference btw.
19-04-2022, 03:02 PM
Here’s a left field one.
Patrick Kisnorbo.
Obvious reason why he won’t get it though..
19-04-2022, 03:05 PM
What is Stendel up to these days? :greengrin
sauzeelegod
19-04-2022, 03:10 PM
🙏🏼
19-04-2022, 03:12 PM
If he ends up at us…he should sack his agent …..
19-04-2022, 03:16 PM
Non starter. Dafties on this site couldn't spell Leeann Dempster's name correctly never mind that anagram. F***s sake, it would take them 2 hours to type it with one finger......
19-04-2022, 03:18 PM
Non starter. Dafties on this site couldn't spell Leeann Dempster's name correctly never mind that anagram. F***s sake, it would take them 2 hours to type it with one finger......
If we signed Kjetil Knutsen and took in some additional vowels as loanees at the same time I think we could make it work.
19-04-2022, 03:21 PM
Probably couldn't afford him but Michael Beale, now at Aston Villa anyone? Was regularly stated to be the brains behind Slippy G at Sevco.
19-04-2022, 03:22 PM
Liam Manning
AliboyFC
19-04-2022, 03:32 PM
Sean dyche.
Inconsequential
19-04-2022, 03:32 PM
Ian Blackford must be in with a realistic chance. :wink:
LewysGot2
19-04-2022, 03:34 PM
Judging by the Sauzee meal he'd have the same immediate impact as us appointing Kevin Thomson 😂😉
19-04-2022, 03:34 PM
Ffs. The team would miss kick off if he was giving the pre match talk [emoji6]
LewysGot2
19-04-2022, 03:36 PM
Ffs. The team would miss kick off if he was giving the pre match talk [emoji6]
Haha! That's very true going by the Sauzee meal, too 😂
19-04-2022, 03:38 PM
Agreed. People can learn from their experiences and mistakes too.
Lennon will have gained more experience, grown up a bit, and had a spell out the game since he left us.
I think he's in Cyprus just now. He'd jump at the chance to come back here I bet.
19-04-2022, 03:39 PM
If we are going with a scottish manager it has to be derek mcinnes for me, if we are going foreign then ive no idea!
As long as its not a former manager or a coach with no managerial experience
19-04-2022, 03:39 PM
Pffft.
Read nothing into that.
Different matter if it had been a 26.
19-04-2022, 03:40 PM
Jose Mourinho. Imagine the craven Scottish football media scrambling to attention!
Lenny will do me.
leith lynx
Just finger in KK, problem solved...
Kevin Thomson? Would rather have the other rangers tv commentator Tom Millar
19-04-2022, 03:42 PM
Agreed. People can learn from their experiences and mistakes too.
Lennon will have gained more experience, grown up a bit, and had a spell out the game since he left us.
I think he's in Cyprus just now. He'd jump at the chance to come back here I bet.
What makes you think he’ll have grown-up at 50 years old?
19-04-2022, 03:44 PM
They all do. Folk will moan about anyone.
This is true.
Even if we appointed a top, experienced manager, folk would complain because if he was successful at Hibs, he'd just move somewhere else for more money.
19-04-2022, 03:45 PM
I know who I don’t want.
Kevin Thomshun
Neil freakin’ Lennon
John Kennedy
Brooney
LewysGot2
19-04-2022, 03:46 PM
Was thinking that myself 😂🤔
Also having a break away from football after us is a bold way to describe managing Celtic
LewysGot2
I know who I don’t want.
Kevin Thomshun
Neil freakin’ Lennon
John Kennedy
Brooney
Ach that games too easy 😂
leith lynx
Here’s a left field one.
Patrick Kisnorbo.
Obvious reason why he won’t get it though..
dunno, think he would work well with Craig Levein? anybody?
19-04-2022, 03:48 PM
John Kennedy linked 😂
Do me a favour, he’s brutal to listen to and has done nothing to suggest he is a good coach.
19-04-2022, 03:54 PM
Michael O’Neil
Alex Neil
Alan Stubbs
In that order of preference
19-04-2022, 03:56 PM
Michael O’Neil
Alex Neil
Alan Stubbs
I’ve been struggling to think for myself re a new manager, but I think this is easily the most agreeable post I’ve seen on the matter so far.
stalbanshibby
19-04-2022, 03:57 PM
Malky MacKay
19-04-2022, 03:58 PM
You've answered your own question :greengrin
Leigh Griffiths as player manager.
:hyper
Interesting that more than a third of voters know that they want an American, English, Overseas manager without knowing who that person would be. it seems to imply a large minority feel that knowledge of the Scottish league could be a hindrance to successful management of Hibs.
19-04-2022, 04:02 PM
Interesting that more than a third of voters know that they want an American, English, Overseas manager without knowing who that person would be. it seems to imply a large minority feel that knowledge of the Scottish league could be a hindrance to successful management of Hibs.
Or that a large majority feel that knowledge of Scottish league does not mean successful management of Hibs?
19-04-2022, 04:03 PM
Was going to say myself that I find it strange people saying ‘a foreign manager’ but nobody specific, just a foreign manager. Same with the poll options as you say. Someone’s nationality surely can’t be a pre-requisite for the position, barring any language concerns.
I don’t care if he’s Scottish, English, or Jupiterese if he’s got the right credentials for the gig.
19-04-2022, 04:05 PM
I think we should go foreign this time. Someone based in the Scandinavian leagues, due to the fact the football is similar and he should have a bit of grit behind him, no happy smiley like maloney and Caldwell the bad guy.
Posted this on the other next manager Hibs thread. Whoever we go for needs to have the following traits/experience:
- Has managed/played at a high level in football (knows what it takes to succeed at high level, also gains respect from players given pedigree)
- They or their No.2 have a connection to the Scottish game (knows what is needed to win in this league be it players / tactics / style of football)
- Proven managerial experience in winning cups/promotion/qualification for European competitions (Knows what is needed to deliver such objectives for the Club)
coldingham hibs
19-04-2022, 04:17 PM
Martindale. Would take no nonsense and would treat Hearts in a Derby with the total disrespect they deserve.
19-04-2022, 04:19 PM
Martindale. Would take no nonsense and would treat Hearts in a Derby with the total disrespect they deserve.
I thought the same with yogi when he was manager
1875Sean
19-04-2022, 04:21 PM
Michael O’Neil
Alex Neil
Alan Stubbs
Alex Neil took the Sunderland job not long ago so you can rule him out
19-04-2022, 04:23 PM
The job is Neil Warnocks. Don’t shoot the messenger.
19-04-2022, 04:24 PM
That Jakeball should be nowhere near Hibs.
19-04-2022, 04:25 PM
I really really hope that isn't true.
1875Sean
19-04-2022, 04:28 PM
Current odds, would love to see us be ambitious and go for Kjetil Knutsen
John Kennedy - 2/1
Kevin Thomson - 4/1
David Martindale - 5/1
Scott Brown - 6/1
Ronny Deil - 8/1
Kjetil Knutsen - 10/1
Sabri Lamouchi - 12/1
Bob Bradley - 14/1
19-04-2022, 04:28 PM
Dear Bob, kindly get tae ****, mate :greengrin
That would be catastrophic. Imagine looking at his napper every day
19-04-2022, 04:29 PM
John Kennedy - 2/1
Kevin Thomson - 4/1
David Martindale - 5/1
Scott Brown - 6/1
Ronny Deil - 8/1
Kjetil Knutsen - 10/1
Sabri Lamouchi - 12/1
Bob Bradley - 14/1
Seriously unimpressed with that lot.
19-04-2022, 04:31 PM
John Kennedy - 2/1
Kevin Thomson - 4/1
David Martindale - 5/1
Scott Brown - 6/1
Ronny Deil - 8/1
Kjetil Knutsen - 10/1
Sabri Lamouchi - 12/1
Bob Bradley - 14/1
Only be keen to see Deila or Knutsen appointed out of that list.
19-04-2022, 04:32 PM
Seriously unimpressed with that lot.
Unimpressed by a manager who guided his side to the Europa conference league quarter finals. Horsed Roma 6-1 earlier in the season as well as pumping Celtic out of Europe?
He’s well out of our league so I’d be prepared to be disappointed if your not excited by Knutsen
Oh and won the Norwegian title with them a couple seasons in a row
19-04-2022, 04:33 PM
Unimpressed by a manager who guided his side to the Europa conference league quarter finals. Horsed Roma 6-1 earlier in the season as well as pumping Celtic out of Europe?
He’s well out of our league so I’d be prepared to be disappointed if your not excited by Knutsen
Yes, I stand corrected, he would be great, but surely bigger clubs will be looking at him? Is it realistic?
19-04-2022, 04:35 PM
Yes, I stand corrected, he would be great, but surely bigger clubs will be looking at him? Is it realistic?
It’s not realistic but I’m a bit unsure how you can say a list doesn’t excite you when you don’t even know some of the candidates on it
19-04-2022, 04:43 PM
It’s not realistic but I’m a bit unsure how you can say a list doesn’t excite you when you don’t even know some of the candidates on it
I don't know Lamouchi either, to be honest. Who is he?
The rest are underwhelming. I think McInnes would be ideal at this point. Just my opinion.
StirlingHibee
19-04-2022, 04:52 PM
I'd be ok with Lennon and Brown (at least it would be eventful). Malky Mackay has done well at Ross County and I guess one to be considered. I would support the idea of an American coach although would be another gamble.
19-04-2022, 04:54 PM
I want a coach who doesn't crap in his pants at the sight of the ugly sisters. Which would rule out pretty much any coach raised in Scotland.
cameronw-hfc
19-04-2022, 04:56 PM
The chat of Malky Mckay im seeing on twitter is a bit of a joke. For a club that goes on about "hibs class" that would be the polar opposite. Get the Bodo/Glimt manager.
19-04-2022, 04:56 PM
Thought he said last week that he was retired from football?
19-04-2022, 05:00 PM
The chat of Malky Mckay im seeing on twitter is a bit of a joke. For a club that goes on about "hibs class" that would be the polar opposite. Get the Bodo/Glimt manager.
Bigger clubs will target him. We need to discuss realistic options, mate.
19-04-2022, 05:02 PM
David Unsworth - I’ve mentioned him the last 2 windows but not sure it’s the right time. Very Stubbs like.
The importance of a good assistant cannot be underestimated.
Also do we hire a coach or a manager. Ideally a manager with a good coach alongside them.
Has the American GK coach been sacked too?
1875M
19-04-2022, 05:13 PM
Lennon
McInnes
Stubbs
Nobody available who’s standing out. Bodo/Glimt manager is coming nowhere near Hibs, get a grip, he’ll go to a bigger team. Someone who’s experienced, got a decent knowledge of Scottish football and can motivate a team.
19-04-2022, 05:13 PM
Seriously unimpressed with that lot.Yeah, f it, I'll do it so long as I get to chase the CEO around the room for half an hour before getting sacked.
19-04-2022, 05:26 PM
S*n reporting that we are trying for Kennedy again.. surely not!
snedzuk
19-04-2022, 05:29 PM
Thought he said last week that he was retired from football?
Neil Warnock on twitter - "I don't want a minutes silence when I die. I'd like a full minute of chanting 'Warnock is a ******'."
Paul1642
19-04-2022, 05:32 PM
S*n reporting that we are trying for Kennedy again.. surely not!
His agent surely has a pal in the editor team.
Logie Green
19-04-2022, 05:33 PM
Neil Warnock on twitter - "I don't want a minutes silence when I die. I'd like a full minute of chanting 'Warnock is a ******'."
That would make sense given his name is an anagram of Colin ******.
19-04-2022, 05:39 PM
Betfair odds
John Kennedy 2/1
Kevin Thomson 4/1
David Martindale 5/1
Scott Brown 6/1
Ronny Deila 8/1
Kjetil Knutsen 10/1
Sabri Lamouchi 12/1
Bob Bradley 14/1
Kennedy always gets quoted, I'm sure he's knocked it back before or Celtic wouldn't let him go.
Paul1642
19-04-2022, 05:47 PM
Betfair odds
John Kennedy 2/1
Kevin Thomson 4/1
David Martindale 5/1
Scott Brown 6/1
Ronny Deila 8/1
Kjetil Knutsen 10/1
Sabri Lamouchi 12/1
Bob Bradley 14/1
Kennedy always gets quoted, I'm sure he's knocked it back before or Celtic wouldn't let him go.
Sabri Lamouchi is a very odd addition to that list. Where on earth do bookies get their initial odds for these markets.
DIXIHIBS
19-04-2022, 05:47 PM
I think thompson/ brown combo could do a job. I know there is a lot of anti thompson out there but surely we can move on from that.
cameronw-hfc
19-04-2022, 05:55 PM
I think thompson/ brown combo could do a job. I know there is a lot of anti thompson out there but surely we can move on from that.
More to do with the fact if he does well he's 100% away for me. Maloney was different, it was his first job and had a lot to prove, whilst his other club are in a decent place, so no real worries of Maloney doing well at Hibs and buggering off to Celtic, at least for a while.
GVB isn't a great coach, if Thommo comes in and does a smashing job, we all know where he will end up
Paul1642
19-04-2022, 06:00 PM
More to do with the fact if he does well he's 100% away for me. Maloney was different, it was his first job and had a lot to prove, whilst his other club are in a decent place, so no real worries of Maloney doing well at Hibs and buggering off to Celtic, at least for a while.
GVB isn't a great coach, if Thommo comes in and does a smashing job, we all know where he will end up
I said similar on the other manger threat that
A) We are kidding ourself if we believe that any manager we appoint doesn’t have one eye one his next move. Few exceptions to this rule might be a near retiree such as Mowbray.
B) If rangers are after our manger we have probably had some success to show for it and should just appreciate that. I’d rather loose a successful manager than sack a failure. That’s pretty much our two outcomes for any manger.
19-04-2022, 06:07 PM
Surprised not seen Roy Keane linked. Seems to be linked to most available jobs. Now that would be interesting/good/disasterous or something.
May21/05/216
19-04-2022, 06:10 PM
An absolute joke of a decision I'm fed up with Ron and his way of running the club his son on the head of recruitment getting rid of sue a loyal lady to the club and they gave her a season ticket for another joke then I'm led to believe the club has spent a few quid on hospitality were are football club and maloney has lost the front three from last season and been handed projects to which I think they will end up decent but he needed players to go in the first team and he didn't get them apart from Clarke and that's on the board as I say it rotten I'm a season ticket holder for over 45 years and a fully paid up member of HSL and still contribute I'm pissed off with the club direction is goin and will wait to see who they appoint if I don't agree with then that's me out
Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
Paul1642
19-04-2022, 06:12 PM
An absolute joke of a decision I'm fed up with Ron and his way of running the club his son on the head of recruitment getting rid of sue a loyal lady to the club and they gave her a season ticket for another joke then I'm led to believe the club has spent a few quid on hospitality were are football club and maloney has lost the front three from last season and been handed projects to which I think they will end up decent but he needed players to go in the first team and he didn't get them apart from Clarke and that's on the board as I say it rotten I'm a season ticket holder for over 45 years and a fully paid up member of HSL and still contribute I'm pissed off with the club direction is goin and will wait to see who they appoint if I don't agree with then that's me out
The lack of periods or commas has given me a headache.
19-04-2022, 06:13 PM
I was about to post the same thing lol....
Lendo
19-04-2022, 06:41 PM
**** me, is that all one sentence?!
19-04-2022, 06:49 PM
Are headaches a symptom of lack of periods?
jakeshibs
19-04-2022, 06:51 PM
I have no idea and lost all my faith as who ever we choose is likely to be gone in a few months.
No decent manager would apply for this position as they know they have a short life span with no loyalty from the board or supporters.
we are in a cycle of constant sacking of managers and decline, no progress has been made.
Silky
19-04-2022, 06:51 PM
Nobody available who’s standing out.
Thats the problem when you keep sacking managers. Gets to the point where there is no-one left!
19-04-2022, 06:52 PM
Knutsen is a very ambitious appointment for me. To be honest with the way things have gone the past year or so I have no idea anymore.
Paulie Walnuts
19-04-2022, 06:53 PM
Knutsen is a very ambitious appointment for me. To be honest with the way things have gone the past year or so I have no idea anymore.
I’m not sure even Celtic or Rangers would get him now, never mind us.
HibeeBigFly
19-04-2022, 06:54 PM
Why the love in for McInnes? Brutal football and not really doing anything to shout about with Killie at the moment. Arbroath have drawn 6 games since he took over and it’s not even set in stone Killie will come up. His team also lost to Arbroath recently.
19-04-2022, 06:54 PM
Ole’s at the wheel?
19-04-2022, 07:04 PM
Ole’s at the wheel?
I would love it, he would really lift our profile, and he was on a hiding to nothing at United. Won't happen, though.
19-04-2022, 07:06 PM
Why the love in for McInnes? Brutal football and not really doing anything to shout about with Killie at the moment. Arbroath have drawn 6 games since he took over and it’s not even set in stone Killie will come up. His team also lost to Arbroath recently.
IMHO, he would be a stable appointment, which is what we need just now. We can't keep sacking managers and starting again; we need somebody capable of staying around and building a team. McInnes' long spell at Aberdeen is evidence he can do that. I totally accept his teams aren't great to watch, but I would take that in exchange for improvement and a couple of trophies.
19-04-2022, 07:14 PM
Ole’s at the wheel?
Still mates wi SDG!
19-04-2022, 07:15 PM
Think we need to find a manager who will help us build a footballing identity. One that fans will get behind.
Obviously at a different level but look at Klopp at Liverpool. It's not just great players, he brought a system, he signed players gradually to build it and communicated with fans to get a buy in.
My problem with Scottish managers is they almost always view Hibs as a rehearsal for Celtic and Rangers. Very difficult to build anything over any period of time if that is the immediate thought of the incoming manager.
19-04-2022, 07:20 PM
Ole’s at the wheel?
Maybe he could use some of his £7m pay-off from Man Utd to buy some new players too... It's a win-win.
19-04-2022, 07:24 PM
Think we need to find a manager who will help us build a footballing identity. One that fans will get behind.
Obviously at a different level but look at Klopp at Liverpool. It's not just great players, he brought a system, he signed players gradually to build it and communicated with fans to get a buy in.
My problem with Scottish managers is they almost always view Hibs as a rehearsal for Celtic and Rangers. Very difficult to build anything over any period of time if that is the immediate thought of the incoming manager.
I guess the £500 million quid Klopp spent got nothing to do with Liverpools up turn in fortunes as well :wink:
19-04-2022, 07:30 PM
I agree with this.
Completely different level but think Tam Courts has done well at Dundee Utd.
Just think of their travelling support a few weeks ago. Decent record at home to old firm too.
May21/05/216
19-04-2022, 07:33 PM
The lack of periods or commas has given me a headache.Good .....,,,,,
Hahahahaha ,,,
19-04-2022, 07:33 PM
I guess the £500 million quid Klopp spent got nothing to do with Liverpools up turn in fortunes as well :wink:
It has. Get the feeling we're on the path of being like Man Utd though. Some really good players on paper but a poor team and no identity. Man Utd have spent much more than Liverpool and they look like a pub team.
JXM73
19-04-2022, 07:35 PM
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/trainer/verfuegbaretrainer/statistik
Take yer pick, surely one could do a job....
alibaba
19-04-2022, 07:43 PM
Would get my vote, so what if he ends up with rangers as it would mean he’s done well with us for a couple of years
Any manager who comes to us will probably see it as a stepping stone to something bigger, there is nothing wrong with being ambitious
19-04-2022, 07:47 PM
Jings there’s some names on that list - from Van Bommel to Cathro! Ernesto Valverde for me...just for the name if nothing else
The Wireless
19-04-2022, 07:51 PM
McLeish & Murray 🇳🇬
19-04-2022, 07:54 PM
McLeish & Murray 🇳🇬
Nobody has mentioned Craig Levein yet :greengrin
Paulie Walnuts
19-04-2022, 07:57 PM
Franco Foda.
Wonder if he’d be almost attainable if we really pushed the boat out?
19-04-2022, 08:01 PM
Would get my vote, so what if he ends up with rangers as it would mean he’s done well with us for a couple of years
Any manager who comes to us will probably see it as a stepping stone to something bigger, there is nothing wrong with being ambitious
He’s not going to end up at Rangers and he’s also lacking serious experience managing a club of our size.
Rangers have higher ambitions than him.
mixumatosis
19-04-2022, 08:14 PM
IMHO, he would be a stable appointment, which is what we need just now. We can't keep sacking managers and starting again; we need somebody capable of staying around and building a team. McInnes' long spell at Aberdeen is evidence he can do that. I totally accept his teams aren't great to watch, but I would take that in exchange for improvement and a couple of trophies.
What we also need right now is for some people, at least some people, to buy season tickets for next year. McInnes won't convince enough people to sign up. Not a chance.
Even among the folk recommending him, The best anyone has to say is "stable", "safe", "not great to watch, but..."
There'd be folk talking about eyes bleeding and not going back after 45 minutes of his Hibs career. It would be a suicidal appointment for both sides.
19-04-2022, 08:57 PM
Take yer pick, surely one could do a job....Sometimes maybe good, sometimes maybe ****!
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
beensaidbefore
19-04-2022, 09:12 PM
Steve Clarke. Push the boat out, offer him whatever he wants. Allow him some wriggle room to see if Scotland qualify, on the condition he's focused solely on Hibs whatever the outcome of the world cup campaign.
Took him a more than a year to get a tune out of Scotland, but he did wonders with Killie.
I think he's out our league, but that's not the question being asked!:greengrin
Lee Johnson
maybe Kensall could pick up the phone to Daniel ****e
19-04-2022, 09:18 PM
Franco Foda.
Wonder if he’d be almost attainable if we really pushed the boat out?
Love a shout like that.
I’d love us to appoint someone I’ve never heard of before. Can’t give you a name just now as at this stage I’ve not heard of them.
Ambitious but unlikely would be Daniel F*arke (don’t know why there’s a swear filter there?)
Dream category but would never in a million years happen would be Bielsa.
19-04-2022, 09:33 PM
Steve Clarke. Push the boat out, offer him whatever he wants. Allow him some wriggle room to see if Scotland qualify, on the condition he's focused solely on Hibs whatever the outcome of the world cup campaign.
Took him a more than a year to get a tune out of Scotland, but he did wonders with Killie.
I think he's out our league, but that's not the question being asked!:greengrin
(Potentially) First World Cup for Scotland in decades and the best state the national team has been in since at least the 90s, versus the biggest mess Hibs have been in since at least butcher.
It’ll be a tough one for him 😁
Silky
19-04-2022, 09:52 PM
he’s also lacking serious experience managing a club of our size.
So were Mowbray and Stubbs! Conversely, Lennon had experience of much bigger clubs than us and that didn't turn out well.
EastFife_Hibee
19-04-2022, 09:54 PM
McLeish & Murray [emoji1184]Think Murray would be a great shout, wouldn't bother with McLeish though. Murray's got Airdrie playing some great football after he was given time to build a squad.
Sent from my moto g(50) using Tapatalk
19-04-2022, 10:01 PM
(Potentially) First World Cup for Scotland in decades and the best state the national team has been in since at least the 90s, versus the biggest mess Hibs have been in since at least butcher.
It’ll be a tough one for him 😁Scotland could be out of WC on 1st June or, if not , on 5th June . If Scotland scrape through there might be a way of someone else doing some of his work till November . He took over Killie at the bottom of the league after a disastrous start with Lee McCulloch ( now at Hearts I see ) so coming to a team which got to the LC final , SC semi and was within 1 goal of 4th place at split shouldn`t be so tough unless our injury crisis continues next season .
GreenGray
19-04-2022, 10:05 PM
Why should we settle for “stable” shouldn’t we have more ambition than that?
McInnes would not bring guaranteed trophies whatsoever and the fans would turn on him quickly due to his style of play as fans did with Ross.
beensaidbefore
19-04-2022, 10:05 PM
It’ll be a tough one for him 😁
Totally, but you gotta dream!:aok:
beensaidbefore
19-04-2022, 10:09 PM
Scotland could be out of WC on 1st June or, if not , on 5th June . If Scotland scrape through there might be a way of someone else doing some of his work till November . He took over Killie at the bottom of the league after a disastrous start with Lee McCulloch ( now at Hearts I see ) so coming to a team which got to the LC final , SC semi and was within 1 goal of 4th place at split shouldn`t be so tough unless our injury crisis continues next season .
That's the kinda positive attitude we're needing more of. In a Hibs sense, of course! :aok:
19-04-2022, 10:13 PM
Ex Hibs player ( and a very good one - read he signed for us 3 times ) , knows Scottish football very well , done well at several clubs including this season but not seen him mentioned yet . Paul Hartley . Obviously Hearts connection would put some off but I`d far rather have him than huns like KT or Murray and he has got a good record as a manager .
#2 Double Tap
19-04-2022, 10:24 PM
Ex Hibs player ( and a very good one - read he signed for us 3 times ) , knows Scottish football very well , done well at several clubs including this season but not seen him mentioned yet . Paul Hartley . Obviously Hearts connection would put some off but I`d far rather have him than huns like KT or Murray and he has got a good record as a manager .
put the crack pipe down.....
19-04-2022, 10:35 PM
put the crack pipe down.....I`m not saying he`d be one of my choices but he`s an ex Hibbie and has got a good managerial record albeit at smaller clubs ( similar record to Jack Ross in Scotland before Ross failed in England and was sacked by us ) . Promoting a team a division above Kelty and above Airdrie so if a few are suggesting ex Rangers players KT and Murray why not Hartley ?
Colinton Hibby
19-04-2022, 10:44 PM
1. Sean Dyche
2. Kjetil Knutsen
3. Lenny/Broony
If Thomson is appointed I’ll not be back.
Caldwell was bad enough.
sauzeelegod
19-04-2022, 10:46 PM
Pirlo 😍
Quique Setien 😍
19-04-2022, 10:47 PM
I`m not saying he`d be one of my choices but he`s an ex Hibbie and has got a good managerial record albeit at smaller clubs ( similar record to Jack Ross in Scotland before Ross failed in England and was sacked by us ) . Promoting a team a division above Kelty and above Airdrie so if a few are suggesting ex Rangers players KT and Murray why not Hartley ?
Hartley has a couple of blots on his cv (Dundee and Falkirk?) and some folk will focus on those.
FWIW I don’t have a problem with someone who has tasted failure - you might call it experience.
And I’ve never minded Hartley either.
Although he would be on a hiding to nothing and would struggle for acceptance after his exploits on the other side of the city.
Few interesting names in there that could be realistic targets for us?
David Wagner
Daniel ****e
Andriy Shevchenko
Garry Monk
Jaap Stam
Jon Dahl Tomasson
Slaven Bilic
19-04-2022, 10:58 PM
David Wagner
Daniel ****e
Andriy Shevchenko
Garry Monk
Jaap Stam
Jon Dahl Tomasson
Slaven Bilic
Saw a few on Twitter mention Jon Dahl Tomasson.
Certainly an interesting one, no idea if he’s any good right enough!
19-04-2022, 11:03 PM
Saw a few on Twitter mention Jon Dahl Tomasson.
Certainly an interesting one, no idea if he’s any good right enough!
Anyone this good at ****housery with the Scottish media and Sevco is all right by me :greengrin
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Jt-a4T3bGg
20-04-2022, 12:08 AM
Bielsea
Turkish Green
20-04-2022, 07:06 AM
Of those names known, I'd pick Michael O'Neil but with little confidence.
Certainly not Lennon nor Brown.
JammyDoidger
20-04-2022, 07:06 AM
Darren Ferguson, son of sir Alex..
Daily Hibs
20-04-2022, 07:17 AM
Kenny Jackett
Neil Harris
20-04-2022, 07:18 AM
David Wagner
Daniel ****e
Andriy Shevchenko
Garry Monk
Jaap Stam
Jon Dahl Tomasson
Slaven Bilic
Maybe Garry Monk is realistic - none of the rest are coming anywhere near Hibs.
20-04-2022, 07:36 AM
Can see Steve kean getting it. He is experienced.....
20-04-2022, 07:42 AM
Could see Thomson going for the job. He would see it as a step closer to the Huns though.
20-04-2022, 07:51 AM
I genuinely have no idea at the moment. Although the nationality of the manager doesn't bother me so much.
Far easier to say who I wouldn't want, Malky Mackay being very high on that list.
who knows?
Would we have said Ange Posta…. ? before his Celtic gig.
It’s a bit of a lottery but I’m guessing it’s a return to “steady as she goes”.
It Jack Ross is gone. Not McInnes.
Would Someone outside of the UK may get more leeway with the support? Probably no one will get leeway with the support this time round needs to hit the ground running… so maybe it will be someone pinched from another SPL club (not Malky). I’m not keen on Martindale.
Gordy M
20-04-2022, 08:14 AM
If Kean was a consideration, why would they not give him the caretaker job now? He is already at the club and could easily take the next 5 games??
20-04-2022, 09:05 AM
Rumour has it he told Ron Maloney was ***** :greengrin
Hail-Hail
20-04-2022, 10:35 AM
Lennon or Neil Warnock.
20-04-2022, 10:47 AM
David Artell.
Saint Hibee
20-04-2022, 10:50 AM
I don't think he's tactically a great manager, but at least Lennon would bring a bit of excitement back to watching Hibs.
ads913
20-04-2022, 10:59 AM
100% turned the club around .
20-04-2022, 11:03 AM
100% turned the club around .
The executive turned the club around. It’s the current executive that’s ripping g the club up.
thebausburst
20-04-2022, 11:18 AM
Ronny Delia
sauzeelegod
20-04-2022, 11:21 AM
The more I think about it, the more I’d be happy with Lennon and Brown as his assistant.
Ronny Delia sounds good too.
Just please no Malky McKay or Martindale.
Gordy M
20-04-2022, 11:31 AM
The executive turned the club around. It’s the current executive that’s ripping g the club up.
Genuine question, as ive seen this mentioned a few times now? In what way is he ripping up the club? I mean LD hired managers she also had to sack? Whats the difference?
20-04-2022, 11:33 AM
Get John Collins back, failing that get him in as 6 pack coach
Hibiza
20-04-2022, 11:58 AM
John Collins.
ads913
20-04-2022, 01:18 PM
Who picks the team, high percentage of player signed during that era were quality, regardless who signed them(Mathie or not).
20-04-2022, 01:36 PM
Lennon or Neil Warnock.
Thanks for dropping in from Gorgie, your suggestions have been forwarded :wink:
leith lynx
20-04-2022, 02:13 PM
I would rather appoint Mike Bassett than Paul Hartley.
leith lynx
20-04-2022, 02:18 PM
David Wagner
Daniel ****e
Andriy Shevchenko
Garry Monk
Jaap Stam
Jon Dahl Tomasson
Slaven Bilic
David Wagner would get a tune out of our under achievers....would certainly get my symphony vote.
20-04-2022, 02:39 PM
David Wagner would get a tune out of our under achievers....would certainly get my symphony vote.
He could change the name of the Hall of Fame to Valhalla I guess....
20-04-2022, 02:52 PM
Where's the Ryan Giggs option?
20-04-2022, 03:46 PM
Where's the Ryan Giggs option?
In the hands of a judge I think :)
20-04-2022, 07:36 PM
In the hands of a judge I think :)
Best place for him the prick 😂
20-04-2022, 10:12 PM
McInnes
20-04-2022, 10:13 PM
Derrek McInches
RMQ1967
20-04-2022, 10:18 PM
Ronnie Daila