View Full Version : Comparing Shaun Maloney's first 19 games with our previous 5 managers
CathroMustStay
16-04-2022, 09:47 PM
Shaun Maloney: P19 W6 D6 L7 F18 A20 GD -2
-Wins: Aberdeen home, Ross County home, Cove Rangers home (SC), Dundee Utd away, Motherwell away (SC), Arbroath away (SC)
-Draws: Hearts home, Celtic home, St Johnstone home, Dundee Utd home, Motherwell away, Dundee away
-Losses: Hearts at Hampden (SC), Livingston home, St Mirren home, Hearts away, Celtic away, Sevco away, Aberdeen away
Jack Ross: P19 W9 D5 L5 F37 A26 GD +11
-Wins: Aberdeen home, Motherwell home, Dundee Utd home (SC), Ross County home, ICT home (SC), Hearts away, St Mirren away, Kilmarnock away, BSC Glasgow away (SC)
-Draws: Kilmarnock home, St Mirren home, Livingston home, Dundee Utd away, Motherwell away
-Losses: Sevco home, Sevco away, Celtic away, Ross County away, Livingston away
Paul Heckingbottom: P19 W10 D5 L4 F26 A14 GD +12
-Wins: Motherwell home, St Mirren home, Hamilton home, Arbroath home (LC group), Alloa home (LC group), Hearts away, Livingston away, St Johnstone away, Dundee away, Elgin away (LC group)
-Draws: Hearts home, Celtic home, Sevco home, Kilmarnock home, Stirling Albion away (LC group)
-Losses: Celtic home (SC), Aberdeen home, Sevco away, Kilmarnock away
Neil Lennon: P19 W11 D4 L4 F32 A13 GD +19
-Wins: St Mirren home, Dunfermline home, Morton home, QOS home, Brondby away (ELQ), St Mirren away, Falkirk away, Dunfermline away, Ayr Utd away, Dumbarton away, Turriff Utd away (Challenge Cup)
-Draws: Dundee Utd home, Falkirk home, Raith Rovers away, Queen of the South away
-Losses: Brondby home (ELQ), QOS (LC), St Mirren home (Challenge Cup), Ayr Utd home
Alan Stubbs: P19 W8 D5 L6 F33 A24 GD +9
-Wins: Livingston home, Dumbarton home (LC), Cowdenbeath home, Sevco away, Livingston away, Ross County away (LC), Dumbarton away, Cowdenbeath away
-Draws: Hearts home, Dundee Utd home (LC), Raith Rovers home, QOS home, Dumbarton home
-Losses: Falkirk home, Hearts away, Sevco away (Challenge Cup), Falkirk away, QOS away, Alloa away
Terry Butcher: P19 W5 D7 L7 F23 A27 GD -4
-Wins: Hearts home, Ross County home, Kilmarnock home, Ross County away, Ross County away (SC)
-Draws: Motherwell home, St Johnstone home, Partick home, Dundee Utd away, St Mirren away, Kilmarnock away, ICT away
-Losses: Celtic home, Dundee Utd home, St Mirren home, Raith Rovers home (SC), Celtic away, Aberdeen away, Partick away
16-04-2022, 09:50 PM
Less wins against top flight opposition than Butcher. Four in total.
16-04-2022, 10:41 PM
Cove and Arbroath.
Depressing.
16-04-2022, 10:47 PM
With Stubbs and Lennon we were in a lower division . When Butcher arrived we were in a comfortable 5th place after a very good run of results before a loss to Aberdeen and a freak LC loss to Hearts . Also , did club decide on long term strategy of signings etc before these managers arrived ?
JamesHFC
16-04-2022, 10:47 PM
Cove and Arbroath.
Depressing.
Would you rather we lost? 😂
Daily Hibs
16-04-2022, 10:52 PM
-Wins: Aberdeen home, Ross County home, Cove Rangers home (SC), Dundee Utd away, Motherwell away (SC), Arbroath away (SC)
-Draws: Hearts home, Celtic home, St Johnstone home, Dundee Utd home, Motherwell away, Dundee away
-Losses: Hearts at Hampden (SC), Livingston home, St Mirren home, Hearts away, Celtic away, Sevco away, Aberdeen away
-Wins: Aberdeen home, Motherwell home, Dundee Utd home (SC), Ross County home, ICT home (SC), Hearts away, St Mirren away, Kilmarnock away, BSC Glasgow away (SC)
-Draws: Kilmarnock home, St Mirren home, Livingston home, Dundee Utd away, Motherwell away
-Wins: Motherwell home, St Mirren home, Hamilton home, Arbroath home (LC group), Alloa home (LC group), Hearts away, Livingston away, St Johnstone away, Dundee away, Elgin away (LC group)
-Draws: Hearts home, Celtic home, Sevco home, Kilmarnock home, Stirling Albion away (LC group)
-Wins: St Mirren home, Dunfermline home, Morton home, QOS home, Brondby away (ELQ), St Mirren away, Falkirk away, Dunfermline away, Ayr Utd away, Dumbarton away, Turriff Utd away (Challenge Cup)
-Draws: Dundee Utd home, Falkirk home, Raith Rovers away, Queen of the South away
-Losses: Brondby home (ELQ), QOS (LC), St Mirren home (Challenge Cup), Ayr Utd home
-Wins: Livingston home, Dumbarton home (LC), Cowdenbeath home, Sevco away, Livingston away, Ross County away (LC), Dumbarton away, Cowdenbeath away
-Draws: Hearts home, Dundee Utd home (LC), Raith Rovers home, QOS home, Dumbarton home
-Losses: Falkirk home, Hearts away, Sevco away (Challenge Cup), Falkirk away, QOS away, Alloa away
-Wins: Hearts home, Ross County home, Kilmarnock home, Ross County away, Ross County away (SC)
-Draws: Motherwell home, St Johnstone home, Partick home, Dundee Utd away, St Mirren away, Kilmarnock away, ICT away
-Losses: Celtic home, Dundee Utd home, St Mirren home, Raith Rovers home (SC), Celtic away, Aberdeen away, Partick away
Key stat.......Lost back to back derbies in consecutive weeks which ended our season and made Hearts season. Unacceptable. Team selection today was unacceptable.
Cost our club literally millions and allowed our biggest rivals access to riches of European Group stage football.
16-04-2022, 10:54 PM
Cove and Arbroath.
Depressing.The sort of cup ties we used to lose regularly in 70s ( Tornadoes ) , 80s and 90s . Credit to Maloney and players for these wins .
K-Zazu
16-04-2022, 11:44 PM
If we went for derek McIness would we have finished in the top 6? Would we have won today?
16-04-2022, 11:46 PM
If we went for derek McIness would we have finished in the top 6? Would we have won today?
no idea r.e. today, but we'd probably have finished in the top 6, as we would have with JR.
16-04-2022, 11:58 PM
no idea r.e. today, but we'd probably have finished in the top 6, as we would have with JR.
Agree 100%
JamesHFC
17-04-2022, 12:01 AM
If JR lost Boyle, didn’t sign a replacement and then had to go without Nisbet and Doidge I think he would have struggled more than he already did before he left.
1875Sean
17-04-2022, 12:19 AM
Goal difference is a telling factor! Even today we played well but don’t have enough people forward
17-04-2022, 12:24 AM
If JR lost Boyle, didn’t sign a replacement and then had to go without Nisbet and Doidge I think he would have struggled more than he already did before he left.
I honestly think JR was intending to sign a centre mid in January. We’ll never know though.
17-04-2022, 04:28 AM
Ross got heckys mess, hecky got lennons mess etc. No excuse really. We've been awful and he absolutely hasn't earned the time he'll probably be given.
17-04-2022, 07:16 AM
Ross got heckys mess, hecky got lennons mess etc. No excuse really. We've been awful and he absolutely hasn't earned the time he'll probably be given.
It's interesting that the only manager who didn't really inherit a mess in recent years was Lennon. He inherited a team that included Mcginn, McGeouch, Fyvie, Gray, McGregor, Bartley, Fontaine, Boyle.... Mess is a variable scale of course, some inherited better than others but Lennon had a core of a very good team there. Some of those players signed at that time provided service to 2, 3 or more managers. It's also the only time we stuck quite rigidly to the structure outlined when LD etc took control. Of course there were bad signings under Stubbs too but even some of the ones that won't be remembered as great for years to come provided a solid service; Malonga and Keatings spring to mind.
More than that Stubbs inherited the biggest mess of all. A squad who's confidence had been destroyed and a fanbase divided and angry. He got a tune out of plenty players who had been written off: Craig and Robertson being the obvious examples.
Yet a majority of fans would strongly oppose the return of Stubbs, I probably would, and some would be horrified. A far greater number would welcome the return of Lennon who made far more dud signings but showed a bit of fire and ultimately got the job done in the Championship and our 1st season back up. For me that is testament to the importance of a clear football structure and identity. We have deviated from that to various degrees since and recruitment has been on a steady decline for a few seasons now. Stubbs worked in the sense that he delivered good, long term recruitment because all the parts were there to allow him to succeed.
Since then it has been a litany of 'insert managers name here just needs to get his own players in'. That's unworkable in modern football and it's a worry that we seem to be back in that position again.
17-04-2022, 07:21 AM
The sort of cup ties we used to lose regularly in 70s ( Tornadoes ) , 80s and 90s . Credit to Maloney and players for these wins .
No we didn’t.
Key West
17-04-2022, 07:21 AM
The stats are interesting up to a point and do not include the loss of your most effective player, covid, fixture congestion as a consequence of that which affected Jack Ross, injuries and suspensions. Stubbs in my opinion worked a miracle from scratch but unfortunately left to go to Rotherham.
17-04-2022, 07:27 AM
Would you rather we lost? 😂
Preferably I would’ve for how yesterday went
17-04-2022, 07:28 AM
The sort of cup ties we used to lose regularly in 70s ( Tornadoes ) , 80s and 90s . Credit to Maloney and players for these wins .
Jeez we're really scaping the barrel now.
ShetlandHibby
17-04-2022, 07:32 AM
Depressing looking stats, especially when you remove the two lower league clubs and team who ten men for the entire game! And a Dundee Utd team ravaged by Covid. Maloney is not the man for the job, 45 mins of kicking herts players is not enough!
17-04-2022, 07:37 AM
I used to post the Jack Ross stats here in all the threads calling for his head, he was at that time one of our most statistically successful managers ever. People don’t want to hear it, once they have decided they don’t like someone they don’t stop complaining until he’s gone.
Paulie Walnuts
17-04-2022, 07:45 AM
Cove and Arbroath.
Depressing.
17-04-2022, 08:02 AM
League results are:
W - 3, D - 6, L - 6
Cup results against Premier League teams,
W-1, L-1
Green_one
17-04-2022, 08:13 AM
Got rid of Jack too early - mistake
Hired Maloney - Big mistake
Hold onto Maloney - Even bigger mistake
And if you think that’s bad, wait for the season ticket renewal numbers and then the first half of next season results.
As General Melchett would say - God it’s a barren, featureless desert out there :cb
17-04-2022, 08:44 AM
No way of knowing but I would be fairly sure we finish top 6, probably comfortably and we most likely wouldn't have lost that first goal through overplaying at the back. Scott might have played well enough but the second goal should have been blocked with anything resembling a decent attempt.
17-04-2022, 09:08 AM
Cove and Arbroath.
Depressing.
And Cove took us to extra time despite being two leagues below us.
I wouldn't describe that as a positive on Maloney's CV.
17-04-2022, 09:12 AM
If you count that as a draw then his record (outwith goal difference) is identical to Terry Butcher’s.
17-04-2022, 09:38 AM
Stubbs left of his own accord but having failed to get promoted, twice, many on here suggesting he was moving on anyway. Legend for winning the cup.
Lennon, as pointed out picked up a reasonable squad, had a perfect January window and had us playing great for 13 weeks. Bottled the lineup at Tynecastle and the following season it became everyone else’s fault.
Heckingbottom was well supported in the summer transfer window but he wasn’t Lennon so was up against it from the start. Not being able to get any of his signings to perform led to his demise.
We got Ross as Hearts dithered and things looked good. Two summer transfer windows where we always seemed a striker short in the squad and didn’t do a lot to replace an aging defence. Boyle, Nisbet and Doidge got him goals and a good 3rd place finish. Results turned this season along with much of the fan base. Loss of McGennis and no other player to provide drive in midfield meant we went backwards quickly.
All of the above got a summer transfer window and preseason. All signed players that didn’t work. Maloney should get the same opportunity and leeway.
Paulie Walnuts
17-04-2022, 09:44 AM
If you count that as a draw then his record (outwith goal difference) is identical to Terry Butcher’s.
Why don’t we just count all his games as defeats. Then he’ll have the worst record in football history.
17-04-2022, 11:35 AM
Why don’t we just count all his games as defeats. Then he’ll have the worst record in football history.
We drew over the standard ninety minutes, the bookies would count it as a draw. Going by taking games over ninety minutes, it’s an identical record.
Colour me suspicious but you’ve seemed oddly chirpy since yesterday afternoon .
17-04-2022, 06:03 PM
No we didn’t.Arbroath ( Turnbull ) , East Fife (Stanton), Clydebank (Miller) in SC for starters . Montrose , Meadowbank , Queen of the South in League Cup . Anyway a long time ago but as Hearts found out against Brora and Alloa last season and Aberdeen several times in recent years , cup matches against lower league opposition can be tricky .
17-04-2022, 06:13 PM
If we went for derek McIness would we have finished in the top 6? Would we have won today?McInnes had great record in league but don`t remember Aberdeen doing much in cups - won one LC and lost to lower league teams several times in both cups .
17-04-2022, 06:16 PM
McInnes had great record in league but don`t remember Aberdeen doing much in cups - won one LC and lost to lower league teams several times in both cups .
Won a league cup. So he'd be pretty much a legend here if he won that. Didn't they go out the Scottish the same year from a handball goal? Got to a few other finals and plenty semis.
Mcinnes done a good job there. I'd probably take him here. Even at his worst there, they were 4th.
JamesHFC
17-04-2022, 06:19 PM
What about getting us to the semi final, not worthy of sticking on the CV?
Silky
17-04-2022, 06:20 PM
Won a league cup. So he'd be pretty much a legend here if he won that. Didn't they go out the Scottish the same year from a handball goal? Got to a few other finals and plenty semis.
Mcinnes done a good job there. I'd probably take him here. Even at his worst there, they were 4th.
I would have taken him too. The problem was he was derided in a lot of quarters for his style of anti-football. That put people off.
17-04-2022, 06:24 PM
I would have taken him too. The problem was he was derided in a lot of quarters for his style of anti-football. That put people off.
Thing is absolutely nobody would have cared if we stunk the place out yesterday but won 1-0.
17-04-2022, 06:25 PM
I honestly just want us to win football matches. I'm so bored of us losing games, especially totally winnable ones.
I just want this season over. Its been abysmal. Roll on the league cup groups and batter some crap teams.
17-04-2022, 06:27 PM
Mcinnes done a good job there. I'd probably take him here. Even at his worst there, they were 4th.Are Alex Miller and John Collins ( as manager ) considered to be Hibs legends ?
JamesHFC
17-04-2022, 06:32 PM
Are Alex Miller and John Collins ( as manager ) considered to be Hibs legends ?
The photo of John Collins holding the cup is something which will stick with me for the rest of my life, I’ll remember him and hold him in high regard for that day ahead of the likes of Fenlon and Ross for example.
17-04-2022, 06:32 PM
I dunno. Collins, by me, probably is. I absolutely loved that day. A brilliant performance and lap of honor afterwards. It was my first trophy as a Hibs fan and I will never forget it. I'd say that to me is legendary.
I know the 91 win is the same for many, many others.
Clarence
17-04-2022, 06:34 PM
Not legends but folk probably slate them less than other managers. Had Collins not played Kevin McCann as a centre half that time who knows what status he might have had.
ShetlandHibby
17-04-2022, 06:55 PM
McInnes was a good manager but we are hibs. A team of flair, skill and class. We don’t settle for boring direct 1-0 wins. We have a proud history of playing football the way it should be played. Some teams and fans are happy being direct and aggressive but that’s not us.
17-04-2022, 06:57 PM
McInnes was a good manager but we are hibs. A team of flair, skill and class. We don’t settle for boring direct 1-0 wins. We have a proud history of playing football the way it should be played. Some teams and fans are happy being direct and aggressive but that’s not us.
FFS we can barely win a game …… a team of flair, skill and class
17-04-2022, 06:59 PM
We are not a team of flair and skill. That nonsense gets trotted out from time to time, aside from a few seasons the last 2 decades we have been pretty pish.
17-04-2022, 07:00 PM
I'd be delighted win boring 1-0 wins. Its significantly better than exciting defeats.
17-04-2022, 07:00 PM
His problem is that he peaked in his second season and couldn’t build on that level of success.
The Aberdeen fans got bored… but McInnes did indeed do a good job there. Had he been able to hold onto his squad rather than rebuild every season he might have had a lot more success.
Paulie Walnuts
17-04-2022, 07:02 PM
We drew over the standard ninety minutes, the bookies would count it as a draw. Going by taking games over ninety minutes, it’s an identical record.
Colour me suspicious but you’ve seemed oddly chirpy since yesterday afternoon .
Aye, I can just see you seeing accepting an extra time/120min defeat/win as a draw going forward :rolleyes:
Mind that time we drew with St Johnstone to reach the CIS cup final? Or the time we drew with Dundee United to get to the Scottish cup final to win the Scottish cup?
Colour me suspicous but you’re ****ing reeking of maroon.
17-04-2022, 07:09 PM
I don’t care about the style. As long as we are winning I’m happy. So far Maloney hasn’t achieved style or results. It’s mostly been boring as **** with no end product. He’s not going anywhere soon so hopefully he picks it up in the post split fixtures to provide a tiny bit of optimism for next season.
17-04-2022, 08:29 PM
Aye, I can just see you seeing accepting an extra time/120min defeat/win as a draw going forward :rolleyes:
Mind that time we drew with St Johnstone to reach the CIS cup final? Or the time we drew with Dundee United to get to the Scottish cup final to win the Scottish cup?
Colour me suspicous but you’re ****ing reeking of maroon.
😂 You’ve been nothing but chipper since yesterday evening. One of us is delighted with a manager who has one win in the league in 2022 and the other one is a Hibby.
17-04-2022, 08:45 PM
The Tornadoes had been broken up by the time we lost to Arbroath. 1977 I think.
17-04-2022, 08:50 PM
McInnes had great record in league but don`t remember Aberdeen doing much in cups - won one LC and lost to lower league teams several times in both cups .
He had a good record at Aberdeen but you have to take into consideration the fact that Rangers, Hibs and Hearts were out of the top division for a large slice of his tenure.
17-04-2022, 09:54 PM
He had a good record at Aberdeen but you have to take into consideration the fact that Rangers, Hibs and Hearts were out of the top division for a large slice of his tenure.Yes . McInnes did well in league for Aberdeen but at a time with no Rangers and someimes no Hibs ( can`t remember exact dates ) but with very little success in cups ( penalty shoot out win v ICT in LC and several defeats v lower league clubs including us ) .
17-04-2022, 10:03 PM
The Tornadoes had been broken up by the time we lost to Arbroath. 1977 I think.It was 1976 . Think Turnbull was still our manager but may be wrong . Also Tornadoes is often used to refer to early successful years of Turnbull as manager but not later years .
18-04-2022, 12:11 AM
why would you count a win as a draw?
Injury list has been awful but I think time is up
18-04-2022, 03:13 AM
I think it's the politically correct thing to do these days, doesn't matter what you are, you just identify as something else and it's all good.....
Paulie Walnuts
18-04-2022, 03:21 AM
Absolute nonsense.
18-04-2022, 05:19 AM
I can't stand this "Hibs way" rubbish. Give me boring direct 1-0 wins every single time. I want to see my team winning games of football. It's a nice notion but it's pure fantasy and it will hold us back. Shopping in the same market as Hearts and Aberdeen but oh wait you have to play with flair and skill at Hibs or the fans will turn...
18-04-2022, 07:21 AM
Because at ninety minutes - where most games end - it was 0-0.
If you went and put a fiver on Hibs to win as a result on that game at the bookies, you’d have lost a fiver.
18-04-2022, 07:23 AM
I honestly just want us to win football matches. I'm so bored of us losing games, especially totally winnable ones.
I just want this season over. Its been abysmal. Roll on the league cup groups and batter some crap teams.It's a shame alot of hibs fans need us to win football matches and play akin to peps Barcelona for it to count
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
18-04-2022, 07:29 AM
Maybe the morons in our support are finally realising their calls for Jack Ross’ head were really, really silly.
18-04-2022, 07:32 AM
Because at ninety minutes - where most games end - it was 0-0.
If you went and put a fiver on Hibs to win as a result on that game at the bookies, you’d have lost a fiver.
The game didn’t end at 90 minutes though. I get you don’t like the manager but this seems a bit desperate, you are itching to make him worse than Butcher. Ultimately the performance that night had me worried, we were utterly pish. Doesn’t change the fact that it goes down as a win.
Given his record so far I wouldn’t be surprised if he managed to be worse than Butcher by the end of the season but let him get there by himself. No need to twist things to suit your argument.
18-04-2022, 07:33 AM
Maybe the morons in our support are finally realising their calls for Jack Ross’ head were really, really silly.
JR being sacked was nothing to do with the fans you moron, it was 100% down to the club.
It was really, really silly bringing in Maloney.
18-04-2022, 07:33 AM
No matter what the outcome is for Maloney doesn’t mean getting rid of Ross was the wrong decision
loanheadhibby
18-04-2022, 07:36 AM
I can't stand this "Hibs way" rubbish. Give me boring direct 1-0 wins every single time. I want to see my team winning games of football. It's a nice notion but it's pure fantasy and it will hold us back. Shopping in the same market as Hearts and Aberdeen but oh wait you have to play with flair and skill at Hibs or the fans will turn...
I quite like the Hibs way. Lucky enough to have seen Mowbray’s team. Granted plenty howlers along the way but a great vibe at the club.
McLeish team was the same. Never won anything but played with a real swagger.
A game that sticks in my mind was a Lennon game v Killie! 2 teams going hammer and tong, break away goal at the end for a 5 3 win. ER was packed out.
I’m not suggesting Lennon back but give us a swashbuckling team that we can be proud off.
Paulie Walnuts
18-04-2022, 07:38 AM
I quite like the Hibs way. Lucky enough to have seen Mowbray’s team. Granted plenty howlers along the way but a great vibe at the club.
A game that sticks in my mind was a Lennon game v Killie! 2 teams going hammer and tong, break away goal at the end for a 5 3 win. ER was packed out.
I’m not suggesting Lennon back but give us a swashbuckling team that we can be proud off.
Great game.
Sure the next home game was the 5-5 with Rangers. 18 goals in 2 home games!
18-04-2022, 07:41 AM
The game didn’t end at 90 minutes though. I get you don’t like the manager but this seems a bit desperate, you are itching to make him worse than Butcher. Ultimately the performance that night had me worried, we were utterly pish. Doesn’t change the fact that it goes down as a win.
Give it a few weeks and his record will be as bad as Butcher's.
18-04-2022, 07:43 AM
Give it a few weeks and his record will be as bad as Butcher's.
Edited my post to say that it’s a distinct possibility!
18-04-2022, 08:30 AM
Given his record so far I wouldn’t be surprised if he managed to be worse than Butcher by the end of the season but let him get there by himself. No need to twist things to suit your argument.
“Over ninety minutes, Maloney’s record is identical to Butchers”
“Only an extra time win against part time opposition makes Maloney’s record better than Butchers”.
Take your pick on how you’d prefer it to be worded.
It baffles me why there’s not thousands wanting him out. The fact that the only thing that Maloney has in his favour is an argument over how you word how atrocious his record is speaks volumes.
18-04-2022, 08:34 AM
“Only an extra time win against part time opposition makes Maloney’s record better than Butchers”.
It baffles me why there’s not thousands wanting him out.
I think it’s because many have become totally uninterested. I think we have bigger issues than the manager at the club just now as well. I’m not sure, in this instance, then ripping things up and starting again will even have any impact.
Paulie Walnuts
18-04-2022, 08:39 AM
I think it’s because many have become totally uninterested. I think we have bigger issues than the manager at the club just now as well. I’m not sure, in this instance, then ripping things up and starting again will even have any impact.
Not with this squad.
Jack Ross couldn’t get a tune out them even with Martin Boyle, Shaun Maloney can’t get a tune out them and I’ve no doubt the next manager won’t be able to either.
We need to sign quality players. That’s the real issue here imo.
18-04-2022, 08:44 AM
The support was unhappy with results but the idea that fans were calling for his head is a myth. A handful of teenagers at Livingston seemingly but I never heard them.
The decision to fire Ross came from elsewhere and anyway, calling your fellow supporters morons is below the belt.
Clarence
18-04-2022, 08:46 AM
I really want to find positives but it really feels like this team will struggle to win games, especially against other teams that are fighting for their life in the league. We should not be too complacent in thinking that our season is over as we could easily slip into more trouble.
Paulie Walnuts
18-04-2022, 08:47 AM
You’re right. We should have kept him and we could have been treated to the same pish we’d been treated to for months and carried on dropping down the table under Jack Ross instead.
18-04-2022, 08:51 AM
Also one of my favourites games under Mowbray era was also against killie
We were 2-0 down at half time won 4-2
No fans were really concerned at 2-0 cause our sheer fire power going forward
Changed days
Malkowski, Whittaker (Rudge 52), Caldwell, Hogg, Glass, Fletcher, Beuzelin, Stewart (Sproule 45), Thomson, O'Connor (Morrow 76), Riordan. Subs Not Used: Simon Brown, Konte, Shiels, Stevenson.
Booked: O'Connor, Riordan, Glass, Thomson.
Goals: Caldwell 53, Beuzelin 61, 80, Riordan 81.
Paulie Walnuts
18-04-2022, 08:56 AM
Changed days
Malkowski, Whittaker (Rudge 52), Caldwell, Hogg, Glass, Fletcher, Beuzelin, Stewart (Sproule 45), Thomson, O'Connor (Morrow 76), Riordan. Subs Not Used: Simon Brown, Konte, Shiels, Stevenson.
Goals: Caldwell 53, Beuzelin 61, 80, Riordan 81.
I remember being at that game and fully expecting us still to win at half time :agree:
18-04-2022, 09:03 AM
The massive fear I have is that St Johnstone aren’t looking at an eight point gap, for them it’ll be six points to reel in over four games. They do that then a win against us on the last day of the season keeps them up.
We’d then face either a Derek McInnes side - hugely experienced - or Dick Campbell - hugely experienced and knows play off games like the back of his hand AND the chance to write a story that would echo far and wide.
We HAVE to pick up four points in our first two games IMO. Any less and we’re sleepwalking in the same way we were in 2014.
We absolutely can’t give St Johnstone a chance going into the final game.
18-04-2022, 09:07 AM
It baffles me why there’s not thousands wanting him out. The fact that the only thing that Maloney has in his favour is an argument over how you word how atrocious his record is speaks volumes.
If we win the next 5 games, people will still say that these games don't count because they are against bottom six teams, much of the support have made up their mind already and even 5 wins won't change that. Just like Jack Ross losing to St Johnstone in the cup final was the final straw for him for a large section of the support.
Maloney has 5 games to make his tenure not the same as Butchers, but even if he does that, now that the comparison has been bandied about it will stick forever.
18-04-2022, 09:08 AM
The support was unhappy with results but the idea that fans were calling for his head is a myth. A handful of teenagers at Livingston seemingly but I never heard them.
The decision to fire Ross came from elsewhere and anyway, calling your fellow supporters morons is below the belt.
You are lying to yourself if you think there wasn't a significant section of our support that wanted rid of him. Just look back at the fallout from the cup final last year, that was the last straw for many people.
18-04-2022, 09:16 AM
If we win the next 5 games, people will still say that these games don't count because they are against bottom six teams, much of the support have made up their mind already and even 5 wins won't change that. Just like Jack Ross losing to St Johnstone in the cup final was the final straw for him for a large section of the support.
Maloney has 5 games to make his tenure not the same as Butchers, but even if he does that, now that the comparison has been bandied about it will stick forever.
5 wins would change a lot. It's never in a million years going to happen though. We've no won 5 game league games in our last 20.
18-04-2022, 09:19 AM
Changed days
Goals: Caldwell 53, Beuzelin 61, 80, Riordan 81.was at this game also and I was sure we could come back from 2-0 down back then with the forwards we had. We go behind now it’s like where are the goals coming from to get back in the game. It’s really depressing at the moment.
18-04-2022, 09:20 AM
5 wins would change a lot. It's never in a million years going to happen though. We've no won 5 game league games in our last 20.
Yeah I can't see it either, right now I would take one win because I have forgot what it's like winning a game.
loanheadhibby
18-04-2022, 09:27 AM
Great game.
Sure the next home game was the 5-5 with Rangers. 18 goals in 2 home games!
And played in front of 2 great home supports. Even outside the ground those days there was a bit of excitement walking to the ground.
I’d take those days again. To dream a little that we can create chances/take risks.
We play too safely just now. If it’s 0 0 v St Mirren on Saturday, I want us bombarding them from the off.
loanheadhibby
18-04-2022, 09:29 AM
Let’s win the 5 games and let others worry what they think. Maloney needs to get as many wins as possible between now and end of season to start building momentum.
portyhibernian
18-04-2022, 09:32 AM
Stubbs left of his own accord but having failed to get promoted, twice, many on here suggesting he was moving on anyway. Legend for winning the cup.
Lennon, as pointed out picked up a reasonable squad, had a perfect January window and had us playing great for 13 weeks. Bottled the lineup at Tynecastle and the following season it became everyone else’s fault.
Heckingbottom was well supported in the summer transfer window but he wasn’t Lennon so was up against it from the start. Not being able to get any of his signings to perform led to his demise.
We got Ross as Hearts dithered and things looked good. Two summer transfer windows where we always seemed a striker short in the squad and didn’t do a lot to replace an aging defence. Boyle, Nisbet and Doidge got him goals and a good 3rd place finish. Results turned this season along with much of the fan base. Loss of McGennis and no other player to provide drive in midfield meant we went backwards quickly.
All of the above got a summer transfer window and preseason. All signed players that didn’t work. Maloney should get the same opportunity and leeway.
I agree with this. To give Maloney one January transfer window (disappointing as it was) is in my opinion not enough time for him to identify and sign guys that fit the system he wants us playing. That being said I think he needs to be more pragmatic and realise this is the SPFL - a simple system that suits the players should really have us winning more than we lose. Give him the summer, a full pre-season and the first round of games and let's see where we are.
18-04-2022, 09:35 AM
Worse record than heckingbottom and similar to Butcher yet 60% of our fans thinks we should keep him. :hilarious
As I recall, Butcher’s problem was terrible man management.
He came in, told the players they weren’t any good and would be emptied putting their motivation to fight for the club in the bin.
Ironic for a man who used to offer lectures on man management.
I can see what Maloney is trying to achieve. My question is whether he can get the kind of football he want to see from the players he will be able to attract to Hibs.
18-04-2022, 10:17 AM
I can see what Maloney is trying to achieve. My question is whether he can get the kind of football he want to see from the players he will be able to attract to Hibs.
There has to be more to being a manager than having a set system in mind, and not being able to adapt. I'd imagine every manager in the SPL would be able to do better if they were allowed to get a better standard of footballer into their squad. If Maloney can only be a success as a manager if he's working with a better quality of players than this, then he's just not a very good manager. This is the squad we have. These are the players he has to work with to get results.
18-04-2022, 10:21 AM
No point in having a pop at fellow Hibs fans. Problem was never about sacking Jack Ross, it was about bringing in someone who was better - and that was 100% down to Ron Gordon. He made both decisions.
mcfly
18-04-2022, 12:20 PM
Jack Ross presided over the worst style of boring football and worst ever Scottish cup final performance I’ve seen from a hibs team.
So a board worrying about the loss of crowds probably had to act.
However the board now have a real problem with maloney and Caldwell as we are in a real slump. We have to win at least 1 game to stay up.
Crowds are only going to reduce, times are hard for everyone now and football is a luxury . Hibs don’t offer value for money at present
The chief executive has been awfully quiet at present. He needs to up his game , give the support a bit of hope
Cause it’s the hope that makes you go back 😀
18-04-2022, 07:04 PM
You are lying to yourself if you think there wasn't a significant section of our support that wanted rid of him. Just look back at the fallout from the cup final last year, that was the last straw for many people.
I remember saying at the time that i believed Ross would turn things around, i remember thinking he also had an injury crisis, but i believed he would remedy that in January.
What we got instead was Ross sacked, a complete novice into replace him, and a signing strategy of kids for the future bar Clarke and Mitchell.
No Midfielder that anyone with a pair of eyes could see we needed, we also needed quality in other positions, and experience too, but no, we got a load of kids who the manager even told us were not ready for the 1st team.
Shamefull management from top to bottom.
Paulie Walnuts
18-04-2022, 07:21 PM
I remember saying at the time that i believed Ross would turn things around, i remember thinking he also had an injury crisis, but i believed he would remedy that in January.
What we got instead was Ross sacked, a complete novice into replace him, and a signing strategy of kids for the future bar Clarke and Mitchell.
No Midfielder that anyone with a pair of eyes could see we needed, we also needed quality in other positions, and experience too, but no, we got a load of kids who the manager even told us were not ready for the 1st team.
Shamefull management from top to bottom.
Did Ross have an injury crisis?
Looking at the starting line up in his last game it was:
Macey
McGinn
Porteous
Hanlon
Doig
Newell
JDH
Campbell
Boyle
Nisbet
Murphy
Subs:
Doidge
Gogic
Stevenson
Dabrowski
Allan
McGregor
Scott
There’s not many stand out players that are missing there off the top of my head. Cadden and Magennis would be the only one but I’m not sure that constitutes a crisis.
Without going back through all the games in his terrible run the starting 11s were not a kick in the arse off full strength minus Magennis and then maybe one other or so most weeks.
Also found it interesting that there was little variation in terms of who was playing even though it wasn’t working. It was pretty much the same team most weeks. Something Maloney has been slaughtered for.
18-04-2022, 07:32 PM
Macey
McGinn
Porteous
Hanlon
Doig
Newell
JDH
Campbell
Boyle
Nisbet
Murphy
Subs:
Doidge
Gogic
Stevenson
Dabrowski
Allan
McGregor
Scott
There’s not many stand out players that are missing there off the top of my head. Cadden and Magennis would be the only one but I’m not sure that constitutes a crisis.
Without going back through all the games in his terrible run the starting 11s were not a kick in the arse off full strength minus Magennis and then maybe one other or so most weeks.
Also found it interesting that there was little variation in terms of who was playing even though it wasn’t working. It was pretty much the same team most weeks. Something Maloney has been slaughtered for.
Maloney has hardly played the same team twice never mind most weeks. Not all through choice it has to be said.
18-04-2022, 07:33 PM
Macey
McGinn
Porteous
Hanlon
Doig
Newell
JDH
Campbell
Boyle
Nisbet
Murphy
Subs:
Doidge
Gogic
Stevenson
Dabrowski
Allan
McGregor
Scott
Without going back through all the games the starting 11s during his run were not a kick in the arse off full strength minus Magennis and then maybe one other or so most weeks.
Ross had numerous injuries to contend with during his last season, Cadden Magennis, Doidge and Hallberg all out for long periods, and he was working with a small squad. I suppose spending £400k on another forward would have helped him, especially if the guy he brought in was ready for the 1st team.
Or he could have spent that money on a decent midfielder, unless of course we didnt need one?
18-04-2022, 07:37 PM
Canny quite believe he’s still in a job. Records getting worse by the week.
Paulie Walnuts
18-04-2022, 07:42 PM
Ross had numerous injuries to contend with during his last season, Cadden Magennis, Doidge and Hallberg all out for long periods, and he was working with a small squad. I suppose spending £400k on another forward would have helped him, especially if the guy he brought in was ready for the 1st team.
Or he could have spent that money on a decent midfielder, unless of course we didnt need one?
Cadden missed the first 4 league games. Since then he’s only missed 2 more.
Doidge, Magennis and Hallberg have obviously been an issue this season but I’m not quite sure that it creeps into crisis territory.
18-04-2022, 07:44 PM
Melkersen was going to be here regardless of who the manager was.
Ross is also the guy that left us with a midfield of Newell, Doyle-Hayes and Campbell. He gave new contracts to the latter two in his last couple of months. Maybe he’d just have been looking for a more attacking midfielder to compliment them, rather than replace them. Someone like Ewan Henderson who we know we were speaking to in October.
18-04-2022, 07:50 PM
Cadden missed the first 4 league games. Since then he’s only missed 2 more.
Doidge, Magennis and Hallberg have obviously been an issue this season but I’m not quite sure that it creeps into crisis territory.
It does when you have a small squad, and McGinn is out for a game, doig out for a game, Porto suspended, Newell out for a game, or JDH the same, even Nisbet for a game. With the size of the squad he had, we were always fixing one position or another, or playing Nisbet on his own up front when clearly not 100% fit.
I think any other manager would have spotted our deficiances, and at least tried to address them in January, not adress them for next season or the one after that.
18-04-2022, 07:53 PM
Melkersen was going to be here regardless of who the manager was.
Ross is also the guy that left us with a midfield of Newell, Doyle-Hayes and Campbell. He gave new contracts to the latter two in his last couple of months. Maybe he’d just have been looking for a more attacking midfielder to compliment them, rather than replace them. Someone like Ewan Henderson who we know we were speaking to in October.
He also left us with Magennis and Hallberg, along with Gogic, but Maloney decided to get rid of the last two and replace them with who?
Maloney had brought in the new boy band, with no dig and little quality, but there's always next year.
Call me old fashioned, but i always thought you replaced someone with someone better, and if they were better, that would show up in his results.
18-04-2022, 07:59 PM
He also left us with Magennis and Hallberg, along with Gogic, but Maloney decided to get rid of the last two and replace them with who?
Maloney had brought in the new boy band, with no dig and little quality, but there's always next year.
Just as well there’s next year where Magennis is concerned. He’d pretty much stopped using Gogic and don’t think Hallberg was in his plans either.
Will agree that I wouldn’t have got rid of them both without a replacement.
Don’t really believe January would have looked too much different but Ross was a big reason we needed so much work done then anyway.
18-04-2022, 08:59 PM
It does when you have a small squad, and McGinn is out for a game, doig out for a game, Porto suspended, Newell out for a game, or JDH the same, even Nisbet for a game. With the size of the squad he had, we were always fixing one position or another, or playing Nisbet on his own up front when clearly not 100% fit.
I think any other manager would have spotted our deficiances, and at least tried to address them in January, not adress them for next season or the one after that.
Add to that he had a striker that couldn’t be bothered trying a light and we were definitely in crisis territory. But Ross, sadly, is history now and the whole club needs to move on.
18-04-2022, 10:01 PM
I remember a match a couple of months ago where we had a full team unavailable cause of injury . That was one match but almost every match since SM arrived we`ve had half a dozen out .
Every team gets injuries and suspensions ( I don`t include suspensions as an excuse for bad results as indiscipline could be interpreted as manager`s fault too ) but for a new manager to take over a struggling team then have constant injuries throughout the team for several months is unusual and surely must be taken into account even by people who have criticised him even before he arrived at Hibs ? Most weeks the team has picked itself with so many players out and probably means some players have been rushed back sooner than ideal at least . We`re not the only team to have terrible luck with injuries ( St J would probably have made top 6 instead of a relegation battle with fewer injuries for example ) but I certainly can`t criticise SM for results or performance given limited squad he`s had . Maybe a cause for praising him in fact . We were very close to making top 6 and starting post split in 4th - Melkerson takes late chance or we get and score late penalty for foul on Muller v DU - despite massive injury list . Positives are that several young players have been given a chance cause of injuries and SM has been forced to adjust team so has also learnt more about squad . If SM continues next season , we should benefit from that .
The decision making at this club lately has been absolutely shocking. Sacking an experienced manager who had an overall good record but was on a poor run of results to bring in a rookie to turn the situation around was a huge mistake. I have nothing against Maloney. I liked watching him play for Scotland and wanted him to do well but I just can't see it happening. He was brought in with promises of attacking exciting football but we have rarely been worse to watch. I don't even go into games expecting us be able to score goals now, never mind actually winning matches. I am really concerned about the rest of this season and probably will be until we are mathematically safe from the play off place. I hate to think how bad this situation could have been if we hadn't had a really strong start to the season.
Paulie Walnuts
19-04-2022, 06:03 AM
Those 5 players you mention as being in and out through injuries missed 7 league games combined under Ross with most of them having been before our bad run started.
We’re not going to agree so I’ll leave it there but to suggest he was contending with an injury crisis is a massive stretch to me.