View Full Version : There are different ways to lose
16-04-2022, 05:43 PM
...you can go down with a whimper, like last Saturday.
Or you can go down fighting, like today after being the superior team for most of the game with 10 men, winning the lions share of the 50/50s and having a passionate support roaring you on.
That's what happened today, and I feel like i'll be called out for defeatism, or 'accepting defeat' or something, but I left that game proud of my team and proud to be part of this amazing fan base.
I've never loved my team more, to be honest. And after being stuck on the train with the union flag draped mini huns singing about 'fenian blood', I remember we will ALWAYS be better than those slimy ***** from across the city.
I've no idea if my tired emotional ramblings are at odds with the prevailing view on here, or if there's more anti Maloney stuff, because I cant be bothered deep diving into other folks posts until tomorrow, i havent seen the missus all day :greengrin And im aware that theres a fair few WUMs and jambos on the troll.
I just love Hibs and thanks to the players and the much maligned manager for that second half. Always Proud.:flag:
16-04-2022, 05:46 PM
Losing a semi final to Hearts should never be something to be proud about.
This type of mentality needs knocked out the club. It’s loser talk and it’s why we keep losing these games.
16-04-2022, 05:52 PM
Mind us all laughing at tears from Bulgarian balcony’s?
That’s us now apparently.
hibee316
This type of mentality needs knocked out the club. It’s loser talk and it’s why we keep losing these games.
Yes. It's the fans mentality that has lost us the last two games...
We would have scored 2 more goals if Dave who was sitting in the East row K had had a bit more belief.
And there was no way Gordon was saving that shot if Shelley at the back of the North hadn't been so pessimistic about our chances.
No wonder they love Hibs as neighbours, beat us when it matters all the time. Shameful. Sick of it.
16-04-2022, 05:56 PM
It isn’t and the only loser talk is from you. Imagine bothering to post this kind of pish, very sad indeed.
16-04-2022, 05:56 PM
You're entitled to your opinion, of course. Even if its as deeply stupid as its my fault we lost today:aok: Have a good evening.
hibee316
16-04-2022, 05:59 PM
You're entitled to your opinion, of course. Even if its as deeply stupid as its my fault we lost today:aok: Have a good evening.
If you had just had a better mentality, we would have won that game.
You could see the players were looking for you in the crowd, and you just didn't give enough back. Definitely why we lost. 😏
16-04-2022, 06:03 PM
There's really no. We lost today and not in the final. That's what matters. Anything else is wrong.
Keepthefaith
16-04-2022, 06:13 PM
Or you can go down fighting, like today after being the superior team for most of the game with 10 men, winning the lions share of the 50/50s and having a passionate support roaring you on.
That's what happened today, and I feel like i'll be called out for defeatism, or 'accepting defeat' or something, but I left that game proud of my team and proud to be part of this amazing fan base.
I've never loved my team more, to be honest. And after being stuck on the train with the union flag draped mini huns singing about 'fenian blood', I remember we will ALWAYS be better than those slimy ***** from across the city.
I've no idea if my tired emotional ramblings are at odds with the prevailing view on here, or if there's more anti Maloney stuff, because I cant be bothered deep diving into other folks posts until tomorrow, i havent seen the missus all day :greengrin And im aware that theres a fair few WUMs and jambos on the troll.
I just love Hibs and thanks to the players and the much maligned manager for that second half. Always Proud.:flag:
This is where I'm at too. We all want things to improve, but sometimes you have to give credit where it's due even if the result isn't what you want, or deserve.
I too was proud to be a hibee today, my team bust a gut and deserved more. Their goals were superbly taken but few other chances.
Expressing these sentiments isn't about accepting less, it's about being pragmatic and then helping the team push on. The club, the manager all know we expect more, constant criticism without being measured is just child like in my view.
16-04-2022, 06:16 PM
There are certainly different ways to lose and we are experts at them all.
16-04-2022, 06:23 PM
No wonder they love Hibs as neighbours, beat us when it matters all the time. Shameful. Sick of it.
it mattered in 2016 and they sure as sh** didn’t beat us then
but yes. I am absolutely sick of losing finals and semi finals
fife hfc
16-04-2022, 06:28 PM
I agree with the sentiment that it is not good enough and for fans to accept this shows that we are happy with mediocrity. Who cares how we played, we lost to our closest rivals and are out the cup and that is the bottom line.
Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
16-04-2022, 06:36 PM
I agree with the sentiment that it is not good enough and for fans to accept this shows that we are happy with mediocrity. Who cares how we played, we lost to our closest rivals and are out the cup and that is the bottom line.
Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
This happy with mediocrity stuff is an absolute myth. I don’t know a single Hibs fan who doesn’t want better for us. Seeing positives and not trying to outdo everybody else as the angriest Hibs fan out there does not equate to accepting mediocrity.
16-04-2022, 06:37 PM
I stayed and applauded the team today as did more than a few others. I'll always acknowledge a team that leaves it all on the park and Hibs did that today. Players can't be any better than they are, we lack quality, but they can show differing levels of effort. The attitude was night and day from last week.
Ultimately though it's the same outcome and whilst I'm less angry as I might have been if we had capitulated and lost 5-0, I'm still totally gutted. That game was there for the taking today and we shot ourselves in the foot due to individual errors.
allmodcons
16-04-2022, 06:40 PM
Great post Bollah. Spot on and sums up my feelings perfectly too
allmodcons
16-04-2022, 06:42 PM
Pure pish. It's your mentality that's messed up
allmodcons
16-04-2022, 06:43 PM
Listen to yourself. Grow up
16-04-2022, 06:54 PM
Cannae really argue with them tbh. A Jambo pal I have has argued many times in the past that they win the games that matter. Its true, they do. Now 4 out or 4 at Hampden. FFS.
Paulie Walnuts
16-04-2022, 06:56 PM
Paulie Walnuts
16-04-2022, 06:57 PM
Cannae really argue with them tbh. A Jambo pal I have has argued many times in the past that they win the games that matter. Its true, they do. Now 4 out or 4 at Hampden. FFS.
One of them was about 140 years ago and the other 3 have been with two squads that drove them into administration due to their overspending and a decent win for them today.
No doubt about it, it’s frustrating. But their record is nothing to do with mentality etc. it’s only a 4 game record and 50% of it is down to spending so much money they should have went bust.
16-04-2022, 07:05 PM
One of them was about 140 years ago and the other 3 have been with two squads that drove them into administration due to their overspending and a decent win for them today.
No doubt about it, it’s frustrating. But their record is nothing to do with mentality etc. it’s only a 4 game record and 50% of it is down to spending so much money they should have went bust.
Some seem desperate to make us not beating them at Hampden the new 1902.
16-04-2022, 07:08 PM
I dont know why, but we have only played them 4 times at Hampden and all since 2006. Seems strange tbh. Anyways these are the games we ALL remember and we've lost them all. Nobody can deny that. They have the bragging rights. Its pish and will probably reamian pish for many years to come.
Key West
16-04-2022, 07:09 PM
Good post.
16-04-2022, 07:12 PM
kinda know where you are going with this. But losing twice in a week to them is never acceptable. They are pish. And we still couldn’t beat them.
16-04-2022, 07:13 PM
Cannae really argue with them tbh. A Jambo pal I have has argued many times in the past that they win the games that matter. Its true, they do. Now 4 out or 4 at Hampden. FFS.Like us they`ve only won 2 trophies this century which suggests they`ve lost a lot of important games too . Brora ad Alloa in the cups last season ,LC final v St Mirren , LC semi defeats at Easter Road against ICT and Motherwell for example . We`ve knocked them out of the SC 3 times in the last decade .
16-04-2022, 07:16 PM
I guess it’s a bit like whether you’d rather be Lewis Stevenson or Joe Newell coming off the park today and having to look supporters in the eye?
One can walk out with his head held high, the other can’t.
Although, at the end of the day, neither of them will be getting a win bonus.
16-04-2022, 07:21 PM
Like us they`ve only won 2 trophies this century which suggests they`ve lost a lot of important games too . Brora ad Alloa in the cups last season ,LC final v St Mirren , LC semi defeats at Easter Road against ICT and Motherwell for example . We`ve knocked them out of the SC 3 times in the last decade .
It's more to do with them winning 4-0 in 2006, we won a meaningless 2-1 win 2 weeks later at ER. They won 5-1 in 2012 we beat the 1-0 6 months later the next season. Why can't we beat THEM when we are the better team when it REALLY matters like today. As a Hibs fan, Its bloody infuriating.
I_Love_Latapy
16-04-2022, 07:27 PM
Great post, Hibsbollah. I completely agree.
As a fan I have little control over what happens on the pitch (and moaning on here is mostly howling into the wind) but what I can do is to shout and sing and support the team and clap them when they leave everything on the pitch, as they did today.
16-04-2022, 07:35 PM
It's more to do with them winning 4-0 in 2006, we won a meaningless 2-1 win 2 weeks later at ER. They won 5-1 in 2012 we beat the 1-0 6 months later the next season. Why can't we beat THEM when we are the better team when it REALLY matters like today. As a Hibs fan, Its bloody infuriating.
we beat them in 2016 and that victory propelled us towards winning the cup. That one mattered, and they know it. Which is why some of them never forgave neilson. Though they may be warming to him now.
but yeah the hampden thing is incredibly annoying. We played awful in two of them and got destroyed. We should have won the other two and lost them. The big moments go against us. We waste chances, we miss penalties, and we stupidly get men sent off. They score worldies from 20 or 30 yards that would normally hit the corner flag if they were playing anyone else, score their penalties (usually ridiculously dodgy penalty decisions at that) and their keeper makes world class saves, which then bounce off the post straight into their hands. Just nae luck.
16-04-2022, 07:46 PM
We’ve managed to go down to them in both styles in one week. My hope today was that we wouldn’t disgrace ourselves and we didn’t. Our ambitions should be a lot higher than that though and we can cut it any way we like but we have failed miserably to capitalise on 21 May 2016.
There is something not right or missing from our club and it needs sorted quickly. I don’t know if Maloney is the answer or not but we have to establish a mentality that doesn’t accept second best, treats every game against them as a cup final and expects every player to play as they did today in every game we play.
I’m proud of how we performed today but that shouldn’t feel the way it does, like an unexpected treat and something that medicates the loss. It should feel unacceptable, a cause of anger and an exception.
Our club has a long road to travel from top to bottom. It needs to rediscover leadership, purpose and unity. Fast.
16-04-2022, 08:15 PM
Gutted we lost obviously and losing to them hurts, as it should, but thought the lads did the shirt proud today, we'll never know if the result today would have been different had we had 11 players on the park but i couldnt imagine a better effort with 10 players. Thought Lewis was superb. Sick about today but hopefull for the future. All down to Ron for me. Prove you care and invest wisely not impressed to date
john rossi
16-04-2022, 08:50 PM
How can you say proud of your team when we always lose to them on a constant basis at Hampden get real they own us and will continue to do so until we have a change of mentality.
LewysGot2
16-04-2022, 08:59 PM
How can you say proud of your team when we always lose to them on a constant basis at Hampden get real they own us and will continue to do so until we have a change of mentality.
We've only played them 4 times at Hampden in total. That's it. Don't over egg the custard.
Hillsidehibby
16-04-2022, 09:00 PM
Do they **** own us. Have a word ya slaver
LewysGot2
16-04-2022, 09:12 PM
For what it's worth, the difference between the two clubs is identity. We don't actually want their identity, that much is certain, but there's no doubt they know what their identity is. It's industrial football, win derbies above everything and at all costs, don't worry about the actual quality, FTH.
They consistently employ managers in that mould - Levein, Robbie Replay, Houston, Mcdonald, Jeffries...some of them more than once over. Their fans buy into it, they have simple taste.
As Joelle Murray told a Jambo today online, she still wouldn't ever want to be one. Most of us understand that.
However, our identity seems to wax and wane on a regular cycle. There are the highs where the right combination of passionate, expansive managers coincide with well balanced groups of players. Those times are infinitely better than anything I've ever seen the Gorgie Gonads enjoy in my entire lifetime. However, when the disconnect happens at our club, the lows are inevitably not good. Sometimes that has been appointing the wrong manager. Other times it has been the stewards of the club not getting it right. The two often go hand in hand. Then the third factor, poor recruitment,inevitably follows. It feels a little like our last couple of managers haven't really understood our identity and that, crucially, too many at the club administration don't even know it.
We'll never be that lot across the road because that's not who we are or who we want to be but we need to get addressing the disconnect pretty soon as, at present, things are hanging by a Stevenson, Porteous and Hanlon shaped thread.
16-04-2022, 09:39 PM
For what it's worth, the difference between the two clubs is identity. We don't actually want their identity, that much is certain, but there's no doubt they know what their identity is. It's industrial football, win derbies above everything and at all costs, don't worry about the actual quality, FTH.
They consistently employ managers in that mould - Levein, Robbie Replay, Houston, Mcdonald, Jeffries...some of them more than once over. Their fans buy into it, they have simple taste.
As Joelle Murray told a Jambo today online, she still wouldn't ever want to be one. Most of us understand that.
However, our identity seems to wax and wane on a regular cycle. There are the highs where the right combination of passionate, expansive managers coincide with well balanced groups of players. Those times are infinitely better than anything I've ever seen the Gorgie Gonads enjoy in my entire lifetime. However, when the disconnect happens at our club, the lows are inevitably not good. Sometimes that has been appointing the wrong manager. Other times it has been the stewards of the club not getting it right. The two often go hand in hand. Then the third factor, poor recruitment,inevitably follows. It feels a little like our last couple of managers haven't really understood our identity and that, crucially, too many at the club administration don't even know it.
We'll never be that lot across the road because that's not who we are or who we want to be but we need to get addressing the disconnect pretty soon as, at present, things are hanging by a Stevenson, Porteous and Hanlon shaped thread.
too right pal. I’d rather eat cat sick than be like them. The dour, humourless, pompous weirdos
16-04-2022, 09:59 PM
Totally agree.
16-04-2022, 10:01 PM
We've only played them 4 times at Hampden in total. That's it. Don't over egg the custard.
And never ****ing won.
Today was a huge missed opportunity.
Daily Hibs
16-04-2022, 10:32 PM
Totally agree. Well said.
Losing is losing and losing narrowly today was the worst outcome for the club.
Far too many celebrating failure and thinking failed experiment Maloney is the right man when he has destroyed our season.
NC1875
16-04-2022, 10:37 PM
We were beaten. AGAIN. By HEARTS.
****ing pathetic people trying to take comfort from it.
The players are probably the same, patting there self's on the back saying “unlucky” we played well.
Bunch of losers, so many players and fans happy to accept mediocrity
Pathetic
Daily Hibs
16-04-2022, 10:41 PM
We were beaten. AGAIN. By HEARTS.
****ing pathetic people trying to take comfort from it.
The players are probably the same, patting there self's on the back saying “unlucky” we played well.
Bunch of losers, so many players and fans happy to accept mediocrity
Pathetic
Exactly this.
Pathetic stuff thinking today was okay.
16-04-2022, 10:45 PM
Exactly this.
Pathetic stuff thinking today was okay.
no one thinks it’s ok. It’s a sore one for all of us.
NC1875
16-04-2022, 10:54 PM
no one thinks it’s ok. It’s a sore one for all of us.
So when are we going to do something about it ? Half the team are probably on George st right now.
Hearts expect to win derbys. Our so called captain says “hopefully” we’ll win the game. That’s the difference.
Too many fans and players accept being beat by they clowns.
It alright because we put a bit effort in ?
Duck off
Postman
16-04-2022, 10:59 PM
This is just a horrible thread! embarrassing, a thread about being proud of them a week after another defeat to them but we were better!!! They will love reading this nonsense! Massive change needed staring with the manager who was speaking the same way after the game
Daily Hibs
16-04-2022, 11:00 PM
I think Robbie Nelson managed to ridicule us in the most back handed way ever after the game saying.... Credit to Hibs for making it competitive.
It was as if he took pitty on us.
Surprised it hasn't been picked up on.
Big mentality change at the club required and amongst the fans.
Postman
16-04-2022, 11:03 PM
Loads on here that are happy we were competitive as well!! Sad sad times
Daily Hibs
16-04-2022, 11:04 PM
Another thing that summed us up today.....
Before kick off the Hearts players organise themselves on the touchline for the European style team photo. Hanlon simply looks over at the cameras, gives a look to the rest of the team and shrugs his shoulders. Hearts expect to win and will make sure they have a team photo of it whilst we couldn't even care. Might sound trivial but it's unprofessional things like that which adds to our hope for the best approach in derbies that's clearly not working.
LewysGot2
16-04-2022, 11:05 PM
I think Robbie Nelson managed to ridicule us in the most back handed way ever after the game saying.... Credit to Hibs for making it competitive.
It was as if he took pitty on us.
Surprised it hasn't been picked up on.
Big mentality change at the club required and amongst the fans.
Oh no, he was giving it all the snide stuff about size, ticket sales, last week, before the game too. He knows the narrative and the clientele he needs to play up to.
Daily Hibs
16-04-2022, 11:09 PM
Oh no, he was giving it all the snide stuff about size, ticket sales, last week, before the game too. He knows the narrative and the clientele he needs to play up to.
Seems to work for them while our 'support' is okay with only losing 2-1 to them.
sunshinejim
16-04-2022, 11:10 PM
Another thing that summed us up today.....
Before kick off the Hearts players organise themselves on the touchline for the European style team photo. Hanlon simply looks over at the cameras, gives a look to the rest of the team and shrugs his shoulders. Hearts expect to win and will make sure they have a team photo of it whilst we couldn't even care. Might sound trivial but it's unprofessional things like that which adds to our hope for the best approach in derbies that's clearly not working.
Hope that they do the photo thing again before being smashed in the final by probably Celtic. Ha Ha.
NC1875
16-04-2022, 11:14 PM
Hope that they do the photo thing again before being smashed in the final by probably Celtic. Ha Ha.
Piss off. Hoping Celtic beat them. How about we grow a set of balls and go and beat our biggest rivals.
We have so many fans happy to accept to defeat. And so many players too.
Pathetic and embarrassing
sunshinejim
16-04-2022, 11:20 PM
Piss off. Hoping Celtic beat them. How about we grow a set of balls and go and beat our biggest rivals.
We have so many fans happy to accept to defeat. And so many players too.
Pathetic and embarrassing
If Celtic are the team that gets through to the final to play Hearts who would you want to win?
16-04-2022, 11:44 PM
The only way I'd find something redeeming in yesterday's game would be that we made more of it than we did last week. But that would be daft. If we hadn't have improved on that I'd be rethinking my football life choices.