View Full Version : Were you watching Ron?
16-04-2022, 05:37 PM
Hope so.
Whatever you've spent this season you'll need to double it next season.
Pony up.
16-04-2022, 07:06 PM
Hope so.
Pony up.
Was he watching? Wtf do you think 🤣
16-04-2022, 07:21 PM
Hopefully he's paying attention.
Hearts are talking about what guaranteed European football until November means to them financially. About using that money to grow the club.
While we're talking about being a good team in the future. After another transfer window. After another season of transition.
I'd have traded some of this pipe dream for a few decent results this season!
16-04-2022, 07:28 PM
Hope so.
Pony up.
He probably didn't even know we were playing. Tv stations to run.
16-04-2022, 07:29 PM
Ron Gordon has to make changes to the football structure at Hibs, or the man he has brought in to run the club day to day has to do it.
The key to the whole masterplan that he has for us is first of all making sure we end the days of 4th one year, 8th the next. That has to be seen as an unmitigated failure this year. The recruitment has to be better, it needs to be more cohesive and we can't keep having huge turnovers of players every 6 months until we get it right, that's scarily reminiscent of the period that culminated in relegation.
Hearts have shown how important having the right man in such a position is. Since bringing in Savage they have recruited well and gone from making heavy weather of the Championship to securing 3rd before the split and a SC final.
At a club like Hibs you have to maximise every resource you have. You can't be sacking managers every season because they can't get a tune out of players. You have to hit with a lot more transfers than you miss and you have to exploit every possible advantage you can find. I'd argue we are failing on every front in that regard at the moment.
I'm indifferent as to whether Maloney stays or goes in the summer even if I lean towards the latter. Without some fundamental changes the next manager will find himself in the same position by Christmas anyway.
Hibs never maximised the 2016 cup win, all the good will and financial possibilities wasted.
16-04-2022, 07:37 PM
Yeah, we can have nice looking large screens at either end of the stands, local bands who give the finger to Jambos and opera singers on stage before the game and what looks like a lovely West Stand hospitality and Fans Bar in the West Stand for next season BUT if we don't get a decent team on the park next season it means **** all. Sort it out Ron.
16-04-2022, 07:40 PM
Hibs never maximised the 2016 cup win, all the good will and financial possibilities wasted.
You're joking right? They kicked the arse out of it. DVDs on rinse repeat, t shirts, key rings, photos with the cup and loads more.
16-04-2022, 07:40 PM
We need to pony up like hearts fans are ponying up. RG isn't going to be able to bridge the gap by himself. Way too many folk expecting someone else to do it, and not putting in to HSL.
16-04-2022, 07:42 PM
We need to pony up like hearts fans are ponying up. RG isn't going to be able to bridge the gap by himself. Way too many folk expecting someone else to do it, and not putting in to HSL.
They're getting plenty from fans. ST's, replica merch and food sales etc. Prices have risen but the product on the park gets worse. Not another penny from me this season.
16-04-2022, 07:42 PM
The thing that gnaws away at me most about Ron Gordon actually stems from having watched those Sunderland documentary series on Netflix.
I think it was the last series, when the new owners had come in and they described the culture at the club prior to their arrival. They had an absentee American owner who had charged various individuals over the years with looking after his toy. By the time came for Ellis Short to get out they were in a total state, but what basically happened was that they would repeatedly fail then send the bill over to America to get paid. The previous owner ponied up on many occasions (he actually ended up losing an absolute fortune) but it was the actually day to day running of the club that was lacking for a long time, some of the decision making and wastefulness was eyewatering.
Farmer may not have had a great interest in what was going on but he made sure that Petrie was present, putting in the hours. I accept that they had their lows as well as their highs at Hibs but you always got the feeling that Petrie was running things exactly the way Farmer wanted them to be run.
For all we argue about the football manager a fair bit, my main reservations are with the man at the top right now. I'm not criticising him for not "ponying up" but I don't think the owner's responsibilities begin and end with putting his hand in his pocket. I've heard a few things I don't like now, and whilst everyone else is ultimately dispensable, when you have a problem with the owner you have a problem.
16-04-2022, 07:43 PM
They're getting plenty from fans. ST's, replica merch and food sales etc. Prices have risen but the product on the park gets worse. Not another penny from me this season.
They're not getting anything like hearts are, though.
LunasBoots
16-04-2022, 07:45 PM
Ron talks the talk like we are all buttoned up backwards, time to pony up Ron, not acceptable what's gone on since you've been here.
They're not getting anything like hearts are, though.
And they’re still losing to St Johnstone Dundee and Ross county.
JamesHFC
16-04-2022, 07:54 PM
When Maloney was asked the other week about getting any of the Boyle money to spend his answer seemed to suggest the money would go into things like a new pitch.
I’m all for improving match day experience etc but the only experience I really care about is the quality and performance of the players on the pitch that day. Invest in the team so we see improvement in results, qualifying for European football each season and then you will see the reward of ticket sales increasing and prize money increasing. That’s when we can start to look into how we take the next steps of improving things such as match day experience.
With Scotland’s coefficient so good right now this is absolutely the best time to be making those investments in the team. Let’s do it sooner rather than later because Aberdeen won’t mess around for much longer.
16-04-2022, 07:58 PM
Thinks he's some sort of healing hands American Televangelist and we will all fall for it and throw money at him. RTC sort this out or gtf
ErinGoBraghHFC
16-04-2022, 07:58 PM
Exactly, but they’re not losing to hibs. Speaks volumes, there’s a big issue at the club and it starts at the very top.
skyehibee
16-04-2022, 07:59 PM
If recruitment continues to be an issue would Ron be brave enough to sack his son? As right now recruitment is where the club is failing.
16-04-2022, 08:01 PM
When Maloney was asked the other week about getting any of the Boyle money to spend his answer seemed to suggest the money would go into things like a new pitch.
I’m all for improving match day experience etc but the only experience I really care about is the quality and performance of the players on the pitch that day. Invest in the team so we see improvement in results, qualifying for European football each season and then you will see the reward of ticket sales increasing and prize money increasing. That’s when we can start to look into how we take the next steps of improving things such as match day experience.
With Scotland’s coefficient so good right now this is absolutely the best time to be making those investments in the team. Let’s do it sooner rather than later because Aberdeen won’t mess around for much longer.
The two shouldnt be mutually exclusive, My deep concern is Ron just doesnt understand the football (sorry soccer) industry.
16-04-2022, 08:04 PM
We need to pony up like hearts fans are ponying up. RG isn't going to be able to bridge the gap by himself. Way too many folk expecting someone else to do it, and not putting in to HSL.HSL is the antithesis of what our owner wants, it's why it had to be neutered quickly and largely ignored since.
Not a problem in itself if the preferred model works. But fans looking to get closer to their club and protecting it isn't entirely on the agenda
You're joking right? They kicked the arse out of it. DVDs on rinse repeat, t shirts, key rings, photos with the cup and loads more.
Your kidding right, DVDs, key rings and Tshirts, then what? After the that year back to normal, improve, grow the club Nope, zip. Key rings your having a laugh.
16-04-2022, 08:09 PM
Another nonsense thread full of lies based on a general dislike of Americans. Brilliant stuff.
16-04-2022, 08:09 PM
Your kidding right, DVDs, key rings and Tshirts, then what? After the that year back to normal, improve, grow the club Nope, zip. Key rings your having a laugh.
Mind we have only gotten worse since that win. Look at us now. ****ed.
16-04-2022, 08:10 PM
We never reinvested in the squad when we got 3rd under Jack Ross. We basically stood still or went backwards in quality. In that time teams like Hearts and Dundee UTD were making improvements to their squads. Even Motherwell and Ross bleeding County have improved. We were miles ahead of these teams 1-2 seasons ago! I don’t know if that was down to complacency or a lack of budget or mismanagement but who knows?
16-04-2022, 08:11 PM
Ron Gordon has to make changes to the football structure at Hibs, or the man he has brought in to run the club day to day has to do it.
The key to the whole masterplan that he has for us is first of all making sure we end the days of 4th one year, 8th the next. That has to be seen as an unmitigated failure this year. The recruitment has to be better, it needs to be more cohesive and we can't keep having huge turnovers of players every 6 months until we get it right, that's scarily reminiscent of the period that culminated in relegation.
Hearts have shown how important having the right man in such a position is. Since bringing in Savage they have recruited well and gone from making heavy weather of the Championship to securing 3rd before the split and a SC final.
At a club like Hibs you have to maximise every resource you have. You can't be sacking managers every season because they can't get a tune out of players. You have to hit with a lot more transfers than you miss and you have to exploit every possible advantage you can find. I'd argue we are failing on every front in that regard at the moment.
I'm indifferent as to whether Maloney stays or goes in the summer even if I lean towards the latter. Without some fundamental changes the next manager will find himself in the same position by Christmas anyway.
100% on the money. The number of players we have recruited in the last 2 transfer windows is incredible and getting it right seems to be more about the law of large numbers than careful analysis. Mr Kensell, as CEO, has a huge amount of work to do in the next few months to make sure the recruitment structure is in place for Hibs to thrive and improve because something is clearly not working at present.
Bridge hibs
16-04-2022, 08:12 PM
Thinks he's some sort of healing hands American Televangelist and we will all fall for it and throw money at him. RTC sort this out or gtfDid you think up that title all by yourself ? Pure drama queenery at its best 🤣🤣🤣
16-04-2022, 08:13 PM
There’s an interesting discussion to be had around things like this.
I read an article a couple of years ago about why Italian domestic football had gone from being the dominant league in Europe through much of the 90s to well behind the likes of the English Premier League and La Liga.
One of the reason put forward was that almost all of the clubs and the league as a whole lacked any commercial structure and couldn’t create global brands in the way the other league could. After Inter won the Champions League under Mourinho they hardly made a penny from it, as one person within the club put it ‘we barely sold one extra mug’. Of course AC Milan, Juventus and so on have global fan bases but on nothing like the scale of Manchester United, Real Madrid and even someone like PSG now.
Again it’s about maximising what you have. Hibs missed a trick after the SC win. Not so much with the tat but with the higher end opportunities and general marketing of the whole story.
WestStandMoaner
16-04-2022, 08:26 PM
Sorry but he owns the club so he needs to pony up. Do you think he bought hibs for the good of his health. He will make a profit when he sells. If he can’t pony up then get out if dodge sick and tired of people thinking the custodian of our club should rely on the fans.
This season at every level is unacceptable
Exactly, but they’re not losing to hibs. Speaks volumes, there’s a big issue at the club and it starts at the very top.
I agree.
This has to fo deeper.We were heading in the right direction when Leeann D was here. Not sure whats happening now but we’re all a bit off course.
16-04-2022, 08:33 PM
Did you think up that title all by yourself ? Pure drama queenery at its best 🤣🤣🤣
What title are you referring to? Ron the Con? Healing hands or televangelist?
16-04-2022, 08:34 PM
Sorry but he owns the club so he needs to pony up. Do you think he bought hibs for the good of his health. He will make a profit when he sells. If he can’t pony up then get out if dodge sick and tired of people thinking the custodian of our club should rely on the fans.
He will not be making a profit on owning hibs
16-04-2022, 08:40 PM
He will not be making a profit on owning hibs
Which really begs the question why is he here?
I’m not aware of any historical ties to us and he’s not rich enough to have us as some vanity plaything.
I don’t think there is any nefarious intent. I just really don’t understand why he is here if it’s only going to end up costing him money. I’m not so much suspicious of him as totally confused by him.
Scotty Leither
16-04-2022, 08:42 PM
Another nonsense thread full of lies based on a general dislike of Americans. Brilliant stuff.
Nah, I'm sorry but that's pish.
Today for me was frustrating on a number of levels, chiefly the lack of a penalty-box striker and a goalie who simply does not inspire confidence in his defence, what with his distribution and lack of command of his area.
We can see it as fans, the manager can probably see it as well, but cannae be seen to be publicly slagging the recruitment for fear of his losing his job.
The recruitment is dick all to do with anybody's nationality and everything to do with the Head of Recruitment being woefully out his depth.
The fact he's the owner's son, and thus in my eyes completely unaccountable, is the nub of the matter here, not any closet xenophobia as you seem to be suggesting.
Zambernardi1875
16-04-2022, 08:45 PM
If recruitment continues to be an issue would Ron be brave enough to sack his son? As right now recruitment is where the club is failing.
Exactly recruitment has been terrible for years, nothing to do with money.
Bridge hibs
16-04-2022, 08:46 PM
What title are you referring to? Ron the Con? Healing hands or televangelist?Oh you choose mate 👍
16-04-2022, 09:04 PM
Nah, I'm sorry but that's pish.
Today for me was frustrating on a number of levels, chiefly the lack of a penalty-box striker and a goalie who simply does not inspire confidence in his defence, what with his distribution and lack of command of his area.
We can see it as fans, the manager can probably see it as well, but cannae be seen to be publicly slagging the recruitment for fear of his losing his job.
The recruitment is dick all to do with anybody's nationality and everything to do with the Head of Recruitment being woefully out his depth.
The fact he's the owner's son, and thus in my eyes completely unaccountable, is the nub of the matter here, not any closet xenophobia as you seem to be suggesting.
We’ve acknowledged months ago recruitment last summer was terrible. It’s a dead horse.
Why does Ron not know football? Why do people keep putting soccer in brackets? The only answers people have are that he is “American”. Why does Ron even need to know football? Tom Farmer couldn’t have given a toss about it most of his life.
16-04-2022, 09:11 PM
We’ve acknowledged months ago recruitment last summer was terrible. It’s a dead horse.
Why does Ron not know football? Why do people keep putting soccer in brackets? The only answers people have are that he is “American”. Why does Ron even need to know football? Tom Farmer couldn’t have given a toss about it most of his life.
I don't think he does need to know football. It would probably help if his son did a bit if he's to do the role he's currently doing though.
My issue isn't with Ron's nationality but with the absentee owner part. Under those circumstances you have to communicate your expectations VERY clearly, have people you can trust 100% in position and keep a keen eye on what is going on.
I'm not convinced he's got this quite right yet. And the buck stops at the very top.
16-04-2022, 09:15 PM
One word - nepotism and I think we all know who we're talking about.
16-04-2022, 09:16 PM
One word - nepotism and I think we all know who we're talking about.
Alec Miller?
16-04-2022, 09:21 PM
I don't think he does need to know football. It would probably help if his son did a bit if he's to do the role he's currently doing though.
My issue isn't with Ron's nationality but with the absentee owner part. Under those circumstances you have to communicate your expectations VERY clearly, have people you can trust 100% in position and keep a keen eye on what is going on.
I'm not convinced he's got this quite right yet. And the buck stops at the very top.
This just brings me back to they why is he here question.
We always knew STF was a reluctant owner but we also knew it was family history and his recognition of Hibs importance to the Leith community that brought him onboard. He was never going to be anything other than what he was.
Ron has made some big promises and a lot of changes but he’s apparently not in it for any financial gain. Fine, but I just can’t get my head around why he has pitched up here as an absentee owner. There’s no money, little glamour and limited scope for growth in Scottish football. I find it all a bit odd.
Scotty Leither
16-04-2022, 09:23 PM
it's only a "dead horse" if we as fans let it become one. it's a valid point to question the owner's knowledge of football, and equally valid to question his son as to precisely what our recruitment model is; I'm still not convinced the manager has the last say on players, we seem to sign a clutch of young players and hope that one of them will make good, instead of signing players for the here and now.
In fact, I'd like our Head of Recruitment and CEO to break cover and tell us what the "recruitment model" is, in the form of maybe an open forum at the ground but I suspect that'll be a long time coming; I get the impression Ron Gordon is none too keen on having his vision for the club questioned with any rigour.
16-04-2022, 09:23 PM
offending tweet has apparently been deleted
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/278383424_10222138003491341_4211930745181319333_n. jpg?_nc_cat=105&ccb=1-5&_nc_sid=5cd70e&_nc_ohc=3GdU67djS-UAX-JpbA-&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AT-YnjSUf5eGN8mJnJYCV-d7c5HtKRjHADRGJFMWlL_mxA&oe=62608AC9
JamesHFC
16-04-2022, 09:24 PM
We always knew STF was a reluctant owner but we also knew it was family history and his recognition of Hibs importance to the Leith community that brought him onboard. He was never going to be anything other than what he was.
Ron has made some big promises and a lot of changes but he’s apparently not in it for any financial gain. Fine, but I just can’t get my head around why he has pitched up here as an absentee owner. There’s no money, little glamour and limited scope for growth in Scottish football. I find it all a bit odd.
It is strange. Then all of a sudden Dempster, Craig and Mathie all leave with his son running the show.
ErinGoBraghHFC
16-04-2022, 09:26 PM
offending tweet has apparently been deleted
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/278383424_10222138003491341_4211930745181319333_n. jpg?_nc_cat=105&ccb=1-5&_nc_sid=5cd70e&_nc_ohc=3GdU67djS-UAX-JpbA-&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AT-YnjSUf5eGN8mJnJYCV-d7c5HtKRjHADRGJFMWlL_mxA&oe=62608AC9
Not sure who he’s replying to here, but genuinely believe hibs social media team should all be punted and the pages shut down. Utter cringe constantly.
tonyrougier123
16-04-2022, 09:27 PM
Hopefully he's paying attention.
Hearts are talking about what guaranteed European football until November means to them financially. About using that money to grow the club.
While we're talking about being a good team in the future. After another transfer window. After another season of transition.
I'd have traded some of this pipe dream for a few decent results this season!
Are we even a good team for the future?where is the evidence of this?
We are a perennial yo yo club and we never seize an opportunity to consolidate when in a decent position.
In this league the shabby quality at other clubs it’s embarrassing to be bottom six,it’s even worse to consider we could still end up in a play off.(shouldn’t happen but can)
We have an enormous job for the summer now.
Please no more budget spent on players who might make the first team.
Get first team players signed hibs.
Today we have had our fate sealed again by hearts,that’s twice in a week.
We have a manager out his depth and an ownership dreaming big but delivering little.(on the park)
We’ve handed new contracts to players not delivering on the pitch,sold our best player and again not invested it at all in the first team to build on.
Needs to be a real shift in approach to first team signings otherwise we are in a for a few seasons as bad as this one.
16-04-2022, 09:28 PM
Not sure who he’s replying to here, but genuinely believe hibs social media team should all be punted and the pages shut down. Utter cringe constantly.
from what i can make out this dude
Valerio Zuddas (@Official_Zuddas) / Twitter (https://twitter.com/Official_Zuddas)
1st team coach
16-04-2022, 09:29 PM
I'm assuming Maloney?
Seemingly he'd put up a post with a picture of the free kick on in and some complimentary comments.
It went a wee bit further than magnanimous and I though it might go down like a lead balloon on a night like this.
16-04-2022, 09:30 PM
Alec Miller?
I'd rather have Graeme and Greg.
ErinGoBraghHFC
16-04-2022, 09:32 PM
I'm assuming Maloney?
Seemingly he'd put up a post with a picture of the free kick on in and some complimentary comments.
It went a wee bit further than magnanimous and I though it might go down like a lead balloon on a night like this.
I don’t even know where to start with that. I like Maloney and I want him to do well, I really do. I’m certainly not vying for his head, but that’s ****ing unacceptable. He seems a lovely fella but that’s just another reason to make me question whether he has the heart/aggression/desire required for the big games, same as Jack Ross. That’s before even considering who the absolute **** let him post that, who’s advising him ffs?! Unbelievable.
16-04-2022, 09:34 PM
I'm assuming Maloney?
It wasn't Maloney, it was the Italian boy who is 1st team coach.
16-04-2022, 09:36 PM
it's only a "dead horse" if we as fans let it become one. it's a valid point to question the owner's knowledge of football, and equally valid to question his son as to precisely what our recruitment model is; I'm still not convinced the manager has the last say on players, we seem to sign a clutch of young players and hope that one of them will make good, instead of signing players for the here and now.
In fact, I'd like our Head of Recruitment and CEO to break cover and tell us what the "recruitment model" is, in the form of maybe an open forum at the ground but I suspect that'll be a long time coming; I get the impression Ron Gordon is none too keen on having his vision for the club questioned with any rigour.
They have done this multiple times and you can find it online if you look hard enough. Ben Kensell has been on fan podcasts talking about how badly it went wrong last summer and what they are trying to do going forward. It’s all out there just go and listen.
Scotty Leither
16-04-2022, 09:38 PM
I saw him at the Maloney Q and A night. Him and Caldwell seem quite tight. They both appear to be a couple of twats with over-inflated egos, to be honest.
Anyone recover the original tweet and put it on here?
16-04-2022, 09:38 PM
I'm assuming Maloney?
Valerio Zuddas - first team coach.
https://www.hibs.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=25795&stc=1&d=1650144959
16-04-2022, 09:42 PM
The 2 Derby defeats mean this year will certainly be considered to be a failure . Tiny margins ( we weren`t far off winning LC , could easily have won today and one more goal against Dundee U and we`d be 4th and near Europe ) but still a disappointing season . That doesn`t mean everything being done at club is bad and I`m not talking about commercial stuff . Get the impression problem is often poor communication . For example , the recent interview with Steve Kean about signing , youth policy etc was really interesting but how many people heard it ? Maybe not important and realise club probably don`t want to put pressure on young signings but letting supporters think not much is being done to improve squad in short and especially long term when it`s not the case just increases pressure on manager and club in general .
16-04-2022, 09:46 PM
It is strange. Then all of a sudden Dempster, Craig and Mathie all leave with his son running the show.According to many here Dempster was well past her sell by date , Craig retired and was Mathie not responsible for terrible recruitment last summer ?
Scotty Leither
16-04-2022, 09:46 PM
[QUOTE=SlickShoes;6925844]They have done this multiple times and you can find it online if you look hard enough. Ben Kensell has been on fan podcasts talking about how badly it went wrong last summer and what they are trying to do going forward. It’s all out there just go and listen.[/QUOTE
Thanks, but Kensell actually phoned me in the summer on the back of an email I'd sent directly to him at the club, where I'd taken them to task as to the piss poor recruitment. This was after they'd sacked Mathie, but before we'd sold Martin Boyle.
Kensell appeared to put the stink on Mathie for the summer window, but here we are again nursing a sore defeat when with a couple of judicious signings that might have improved us in the short term such as a creative midfield player and a CF that can take the ball in and bring others into play have been overlooked in place of "B" team players and ones for the future (maybe).
It's rinse/repeat, and it's right to question the recruitment, especially as we seem to have a biscuit @rsed laddie in place who just happens to be the owner's son overseeing things, yet we've to be patient again?
16-04-2022, 09:51 PM
The 2 Derby defeats mean this year will certainly be considered to be a failure . Tiny margins ( we weren`t far off winning LC , could easily have won today and one more goal against Dundee U and we`d be 4th and near Europe ) but still a disappointing season . That doesn`t mean everything being done at club is bad and I`m not talking about commercial stuff . Get the impression problem is often poor communication . For example , the recent interview with Steve Kean about signing , youth policy etc was really interesting but how many people heard it ? Maybe not important and realise club probably don`t want to put pressure on young signings but letting supporters think not much is being done to improve squad in short and especially long term when it`s not the case just increases pressure on manager and club in general .
The problem is mate we're sliding backwards. We're 19 points worse off than our bitter rivals, we'll finish below Ross County and Motherwell in the bottom half of the league, our recruitment is suspect at best, its not happening on the pitch. Attendances in actual attendees has fallen big time and season tickets will take a further hit next season. Its more than communication its fundamentely the way the club is run.
TelaStella
16-04-2022, 09:52 PM
The anti-Americanism is really pouring out right enough. Pish.
TAHibby
16-04-2022, 09:53 PM
I saw him at the Maloney Q and A night. Him and Caldwell seem quite tight. They both appear to be a couple of twats with over-inflated egos, to be honest.
Anyone recover the original tweet and put it on here?
why folk would get so worked up over that I have no idea
16-04-2022, 09:55 PM
I don’t even know where to start with that. I like Maloney and I want him to do well, I really do. I’m certainly not vying for his head, but that’s ****ing unacceptable. He seems a lovely fella but that’s just another reason to make me question whether he has the heart/aggression/desire required for the big games, same as Jack Ross. That’s before even considering who the absolute **** let him post that, who’s advising him ffs?! Unbelievable.
Valerio Zuddas - first team coach.
https://www.hibs.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=25795&stc=1&d=1650144959
Apologies - my mistake.
I hadn't seen the tweet but a mate had mentioned it via WhatsApp earlier today and I obviously got the wrong end of the stick.
16-04-2022, 09:57 PM
why folk would get so worked up over that I have no idea
agreed, was it not along with a clip of kingsley scoring ? someone mentioned that but if that's all it was then looks like someone is just rather angry
Scotty Leither
16-04-2022, 09:58 PM
The problem is mate we're sliding backwards. We're 19 points worse off than our bitter rivals, we'll finish below Ross County and Motherwell in the bottom half of the league, our recruitment is suspect at best, its not happening on the pitch. Attendances in actual attendees has fallen big time and season tickets will take a further hit next season. Its more than communication its fundamentely the way the club is run.
There's a collective of people at the club who have their heads firmly buried in the sand or, are too feared to lift their heads above the parapet for fear of offending the owner to meet this malaise head-on.
There's too many hingers-on around the club too.
We need a figure we can all rally round; I don't think it's in the manager's make up to be that person, the CEO is posted missing and in its place is a vacuum being filled by banal tweets and cringeworthy social comms.
16-04-2022, 10:01 PM
Are we even a good team for the future?where is the evidence of this?
We are a perennial yo yo club and we never seize an opportunity to consolidate when in a decent position.
In this league the shabby quality at other clubs it’s embarrassing to be bottom six,it’s even worse to consider we could still end up in a play off.(shouldn’t happen but can)
We have an enormous job for the summer now.
Please no more budget spent on players who might make the first team.
Get first team players signed hibs.
Today we have had our fate sealed again by hearts,that’s twice in a week.
We have a manager out his depth and an ownership dreaming big but delivering little.(on the park)
We’ve handed new contracts to players not delivering on the pitch,sold our best player and again not invested it at all in the first team to build on.
Needs to be a real shift in approach to first team signings otherwise we are in a for a few seasons as bad as this one.As bad as this one ? LC finalists and SC semifinalists and anything from 7th to 11th in league . Probably , statistically at least , a good year . There has been a shift to first team signings - give priority to long term so we have more chance of sustained success . A recognition that non OF Scottish clubs can`t buy success since even with group European football , finances are still well below English clubs .
16-04-2022, 10:03 PM
Losing Martyn Boyle, a player who has been our best player for the best part of 2 or 3 seasons and not finding a suitable replacement has been the biggest single mistake the club has made for many a year. Any business, not just football, if they knew they were about to lose their biggest asset would be looking at replacing them immediately. £2m and not a bolt spent on getting someone in, ****** joke. A jambo I spoke to back in January when Boyle was still a Hibs player said he was the only Hibs player he was worried about, we sold him and he was delighted. We sold Garry O'Connor before the 2006 semi, we get rid of our best player this season, don't replace him, wonder why we don't win anything and consistently get pumped by the Jambos.
#2 Double Tap
16-04-2022, 10:16 PM
he's no american.:greengrin
ErinGoBraghHFC
16-04-2022, 10:22 PM
Apologies - my mistake.
I hadn't seen the tweet but a mate had mentioned it via WhatsApp earlier today and I obviously got the wrong end of the stick.
No worries, take what I said above and apply it to the other fella then. Who the absolute **** is the PR advisor for the club atm? That’s just daft and careless.
16-04-2022, 10:40 PM
Losing Martyn Boyle, a player who has been our best player for the best part of 2 or 3 seasons and not finding a suitable replacement has been the biggest single mistake the club has made for many a year. Any business, not just football, if they knew they were about to lose their biggest asset would be looking at replacing them immediately. £2m and not a bolt spent on getting someone in, ****** joke. A jambo I spoke to back in January when Boyle was still a Hibs player said he was the only Hibs player he was worried about, we sold him and he was delighted. We sold Garry O'Connor before the 2006 semi, we get rid of our best player this season, don't replace him, wonder why we don't win anything and consistently get pumped by the Jambos.Presumably we still have Boyle money waiting to be spent after not finding suitable players in January . Doesn`t need to be a direct replacement . I actually think the problem of " give the ball to Boyle "
was one of the problems of end of Jack Ross period . Other clubs had sussed Boyle / us and it limited how much we worked on other attacking options .
16-04-2022, 10:59 PM
Presumably we still have Boyle money waiting to be spent after not finding suitable players in January . Doesn`t need to be a direct replacement . I actually think the problem of " give the ball to Boyle "
was one of the problems of end of Jack Ross period . Other clubs had sussed Boyle / us and it limited how much we worked on other attacking options .
I don't think anybody can deny our goals scored have reduced dramatically since Boyle left. Not a coincidence we've only won one league game since he's left. That money in the bank hasn't helped and probably cost the club hundreds of thousands in lost revenue due to league positions and possible european qualification. I can't deny Boyle wanting to leave and better himself but we all knew it was going to happen sooner rather than later, the club simply wasn't ready for it and handled it terribly.
LewysGot2
16-04-2022, 11:03 PM
I don't think anybody can deny our goals scored have reduced dramatically since Boyle left. Not a coincidence we've only won one league game since he's left. That money in the bank hasn't helped and probably cost the club hundreds of thousands in lost revenue due to league positions and possible european qualification. I can't deny Boyle wanting to leave and better himself but we all knew it was going to happen sooner rather than later, the club simply wasn't ready for it and handled it terribly.
Yup, the single biggest factor in the downturn in our fortunes since Christmas.
Has cost us in more ways than one. Thing is we knew it.
Saw Jack Ross in the South Stand concourse today and a bit of me was pissed off he encouraged Boyle to go. Probably irrational but there you go 😄
16-04-2022, 11:05 PM
I don't think anybody can deny our goals scored have reduced dramatically since Boyle left. Not a coincidence we've only won one league game since he's left. That money in the bank hasn't helped and probably cost the club hundreds of thousands in lost revenue due to league positions and possible european qualification. I can't deny Boyle wanting to leave and better himself but we all knew it was going to happen sooner rather than later, the club simply wasn't ready for it and handled it terribly.Who would you have suggested we spent money on in final days of January window ? Who was available ? In the end we`ve missed out on Europe by league position and cup final by very small margins . We could have kept an unhappy Boyle and still missed out . Hopefully put at least some of the money to good use in summer .
16-04-2022, 11:06 PM
No one seems to have a view on this fundamental question.
I had hoped that Gordon saw Hibs as a club with potential to grow and become a third force. A side capable of regular European football and of winning cups. TBF, we have reached finals and semi finals, regularly, but the joy has been sucked out of that by the results, particularly by St ****ing Johnstone and v them. He's been ruthless and no doubt raised income via sponsorship deals etc, got rid of the old regime and pretty much swept the club clean, from top to bottom.
Just not getting it though. He's put money into the playing side too, but needs to step it up a level.
16-04-2022, 11:10 PM
why folk would get so worked up over that I have no ideaI wouldn't have even known the left pic was Kingsleys free kick
We have some right bairns in our support that's for sure
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
16-04-2022, 11:13 PM
Who would you have suggested we spent money on in final days of January window ? Who was available ? In the end we`ve missed out on Europe by league position and cup final by very small margins . We could have kept an unhappy Boyle and still missed out . Hopefully put at least some of the money to good use in summer .
Yes, that's exactly what we should have done. :agree:
Everybody knew Boyle was away by mid January, it gave us a few weeks to get someone in. Who? Well my name doesn't end in Gordon so I don't get that to make that decision :hmmm: :wink: but with £2m+ in the bank I'm sure we could have went for someone in the lower English leagues or even the Scottish Championship who could score enough goals to get us into top 6 at the least.
16-04-2022, 11:21 PM
And third in the league, guaranteed group stage football and markedly wealthier than us.
HSL is the antithesis of what our owner wants, it's why it had to be neutered quickly and largely ignored since.
Not a problem in itself if the preferred model works. But fans looking to get closer to their club and protecting it isn't entirely on the agenda
The share buying route is over, but HSL is a way of funding the club. Ron needs to make better connections with HSL but when hearts fans are putting in a seven figure amount each season we can hardly wonder why they're all over us.
Who is out there to buy Hibs? He's going nowhere. Why should he get out at a loss? If we want to compete with hearts we need to do something about matching their fan contributions. Cold, hard reality.
Scotty Leither
16-04-2022, 11:31 PM
And third in the league, guaranteed group stage football and markedly wealthier than us.
The share buying route is over, but HSL is a way of funding the club. Ron needs to make better connections with HSL but when hearts fans are putting in a seven figure amount each season we can hardly wonder why they're all over us.
Who is out there to buy Hibs? He's going nowhere. Why should he get out at a loss? If we want to compete with hearts we need to do something about matching their fan contributions. Cold, hard reality.
So who blinks first then? Do the club play the emotional blackmail that the previous regime indulged in by asking us to buy season tickets to fund player purchases, or do the Board make some decent signings to encourage and entice supporters to buy season tickets?
As for HSL, I contribute monthly to them, but they're about as inert as our Board are.
No big characters at any level across the club, and that slow, dull, steady-as-we go mindset seems to be the Hibs way, inherited from Petrie and Farmer, I''m afraid.
Scotty Leither
16-04-2022, 11:33 PM
Yes, that's exactly what we should have done. :agree:
Everybody knew Boyle was away by mid January, it gave us a few weeks to get someone in. Who? Well my name doesn't end in Gordon so I don't get that to make that decision :hmmm: :wink: but with £2m+ in the bank I'm sure we could have went for someone in the lower English leagues or even the Scottish Championship who could score enough goals to get us into top 6 at the least.
I'll give you two names, Forrest from Livingston and Lafferty. Two players that know the league and the physical demands of it. I wonder if our Head of Recruitment even knew who they are, though.
LewysGot2
16-04-2022, 11:40 PM
I'll give you two names, Forrest from Livingston and Lafferty. Two players that know the league and the physical demands of it. I wonder if our Head of Recruitment even knew who they are, though.
35 year old Lafferty that's managed just 12 games for Kilmarnock in the Championship this season? Only played just over 30 games in the last 3 seasons. Who hates us, played us with his agent to get a better deal from the Gorgie Gonads...that Kyle Lafferty?
👀
Dr What If?
16-04-2022, 11:48 PM
My theory (just a theory mind) is it is a vanity project with a chance of some payout, even if it just salaries for him and family.....he might even just find it fun. Scottish football is a seriously undervalued commodity, a bit of better marketing and some commercial sense could see TV revenue and sponsorship shoot up, this is an area that he has been at the forefront of. With that comes more revenue for everyone. Hibs are also in a unique position, and not a good one. Size wise we are akin to Hearts and Aberdeen but our revenues are far, far behind....from an investment perspective its attractive because of the scope for growth. For 2 years we had the third largest attendances in the country but couldn't agree a shirt sponsor, you don't have to do a great deal to improve on that.
That doesn't mean to say he doesn't want the club to do well. I'm sure pride alone will make him want to see the club do well, if money is the only motivator (that I think unlikely) then trophies and Europe will increase inflows further as well. I am sure he will spend money if he thinks it will not be wasted, this is backed up by spending on youth, outlays with a potential of improved future inflows. No I don't think he will chuck us £50m to challenge the OF but yes I do think he is trying to improve the club organically by making us a better commercial vehicle.....dull and slow but I see a plan.
He seems to be a football fan, fans understand more than the inside industry give us credit for. He will know if he looses the goodwill of the support then that threatens his investment, if will also be a hit to the ego. The pains of this season and the failure of 'his manager' to turn it around will not be lost. He won't sack his man and he would be wrong to do so.....he does have to back him though, and if he is going to controversially put family at the head of recruitment then that pressure to back financially is increased greatly.
JamesHFC
16-04-2022, 11:50 PM
I think it’s ridiculous we didn’t sign another striker in January. Okay we signed Melkersen but from day one it was stated he was a long term project. We sold our top goalscorer in Boyle, Nisbet was badly out of form and Doidge was struggling after his comeback from injury. Gullan sold. Scott was obviously deemed not good enough. Murphy also moved on who at least scored a couple of goals for us.
I think it’s really no surprise that we haven’t scored as many as we would have liked since January. Failure to have a goalscorer in the team is also part of the reason I believe Maloney deserves the summer window.
Scotty Leither
16-04-2022, 11:52 PM
35 year old Lafferty that's managed just 12 games for Kilmarnock in the Championship this season? Only played just over 30 games in the last 3 seasons. Who hates us, played us with his agent to get a better deal from the Gorgie Gonads...that Kyle Lafferty?
👀
He's scored 16 goals for Killie in 21 games in two spells....
You're right, i'm maybe clutching at straws with him, but in this league you need a bit of brawn and strength up top. We do not sign these kind of players though, as they don't appear to fit this mystical notion of ourselves as a "flair team" or they don't seem to be in the mind of whatever incumbent is in the dugout's way of playing.
Fact is that's the closest today we've got to competing with them today was when we mixed it up a bit, and that was with the limited squad that we currently have at our disposal.
Paatelainen only costs £75k when we signed him back in 1998. There are players out there that can be unearthed with the right scouting network. Our current Head of Recruitment guru has come up with Meuller so far, who has been a massive disappointment after all the hype, but what does he know that we don't?
Dr What If?
17-04-2022, 12:13 AM
He's scored 16 goals for Killie in 21 games in two spells....
You're right, i'm maybe clutching at straws with him, but in this league you need a bit of brawn and strength up top. We do not sign these kind of players though, as they don't appear to fit this mystical notion of ourselves as a "flair team" or they don't seem to be in the mind of whatever incumbent is in the dugout's way of playing.
Fact is that's the closest today we've got to competing with them today was when we mixed it up a bit, and that was with the limited squad that we currently have at our disposal.
Paatelainen only costs £75k when we signed him back in 1998. There are players out there that can be unearthed with the right scouting network. Our current Head of Recruitment guru has come up with Meuller so far, who has been a massive disappointment after all the hype, but what does he know that we don't?
And here is the fear we all have. Everyone is on board with a signing policy of picking up quality youth and spending money to do it......but we don't have the squad now to have that luxury. We are badly missing 1st team, experienced players now. I want Lafferty no where near my club but that is the type of player we need....plenty of goals and games at this level, an older head with good legs. We are now a bottom 6 team and if we continue our bad run of results then it could be squeeky bum time.....it didn't need to be this way though, a balanced recruitment policy that recognised the need now as well as for the future would have seen problem areas covered by bringing in some less exciting vets that are proven pros and we would be top 6 and maybe even looking forward to another final in May.
EricM
17-04-2022, 12:16 AM
Whoever says there’s no money in Scottish football and Ron is on some kind of vanity project is forgetting that there is big money in play, it’s exploded in the past few seasons and is probably his reason for getting involved.
We all know that the increase in monetary reward for getting into the Europa league group or even the conference league group stages dwarfs the Scottish cup and league rewards.
Ron will know this difference to the pound, two years in a row it’s been missed out on now.
No more transfer fees, it’s time to pay the required day rates to get proven mercenaries in.
Ionastreethibs
17-04-2022, 01:21 AM
Ron probably doesn't even like football!
StevieHendo
17-04-2022, 02:06 AM
and guaranteeing 3rd before kicking ball in Split. he wasn't making the comment for petty feedback he just stated a fact. Our investment isn't good enough , and we need to get the finger out as with europeon revenue yams are only going to get stronger and goodwin will get Aberdeen firing eventually
17-04-2022, 06:56 AM
I’d be happy if he sold the club so we can get our identity back. He’s overseen a horrendous regression and disconnect in short time, his appointments have been sketchy to say the least, and emptying of good staff alarming.
It actually feels worse than the Hamilton play off season, as then at least you knew LD was in place and she had a real energy and drive to succeed and build on and off the pitch. I don’t see those same minerals in Kensall, in fact, he doesn’t connect well at all with me.
The money for the rebuild has to come from somewhere and realistically we’ve only one big sale in Porteous given Nisbet is out all year and Doig has regressed.
In short, he’ll need to provide out his own pocket and I don’t see him doing that. Sorry to be so gloomy, but this season (and last) has scunnered me both on and off the pitch. There’s nothing to look forward to and they’ve lost the support that was in a really good place 3 seasons ago.
17-04-2022, 07:02 AM
I think it’s ridiculous we didn’t sign another striker in January. Okay we signed Melkersen but from day one it was stated he was a long term project. We sold our top goalscorer in Boyle, Nisbet was badly out of form and Doidge was struggling after his comeback from injury. Gullan sold. Scott was obviously deemed not good enough. Murphy also moved on who at least scored a couple of goals for us.
I think it’s really no surprise that we haven’t scored as many as we would have liked since January. Failure to have a goalscorer in the team is also part of the reason I believe Maloney deserves the summer window.
They also quite clearly have little faith in the players we have in midfield to play how they want, having said they are going big to sign a proper #6 in the summer. Why didn’t we try and get a short term solution for that in January? Instead we’ve had to suffer JDH/Campbell/Newell combinations. Horrendous.
17-04-2022, 07:56 AM
Surely if Ron Gordon was out there, then it’s just as likely there were other potential buyers?
Who’s to say that Gordon would lose money by selling Hibs?
There’s an obvious difference in the ownership models between the clubs. Why would Hibs fans want to subsidise Ron Gordon? Just maybe our owner, the guy whose buy out diluted the shareholding of HSL and ordinary fans, should use his own wealth and see how the same fans get behind the team.
Still not many views on why Ron Gordon bought Hibs? It’s almost like we can’t let ourselves go there and give this fundamental question some scrutiny.
17-04-2022, 08:02 AM
I think grown men having tantrums at tweets are the real problem, but you go ahead and try and get some underpaid guy sacked
Paulie Walnuts
17-04-2022, 08:07 AM
I think grown men having tantrums at tweets are the real problem, but you go ahead and try and get some underpaid guy sacked
The tweet in question was one of the first team coaches. He tweeted that we’d played well and he was proud of the team and now we’ve to shut down Hibernian social media and others are replying to the guy telling him he’s everything that’s with our club.
Greenworld
17-04-2022, 08:17 AM
They also quite clearly have little faith in the players we have in midfield to play how they want, having said they are going big to sign a proper #6 in the summer. Why didn’t we try and get a short term solution for that in January? Instead we’ve had to suffer JDH/Campbell/Newell combinations. Horrendous.Makes the contracts given to the midfielders seem strange.
We need bit of strength through the spine of the team.
I think jdh and newall are good enough players but not to play centre mid ( playmaker)
New goalie a must , break the bank to keep porteous but if he's gone then centre half required.
5 signings required and none of them injury prone .
2 million should do the job
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
Slim Shady
17-04-2022, 08:20 AM
We desperately need huge investment in the team.
This is far more important than spending 1.8m on refurbishing the offices and hospitality. And spending £500k on new disco floodlights for Easter Road!
17-04-2022, 08:26 AM
Ron’s a self-made millionaire and is obviously a very clever guy. We all need to pipe down.
17-04-2022, 08:32 AM
How on earth do you know he is ‘underpaid’?
CL0762
17-04-2022, 08:44 AM
I thought when I seen it that it was a bit of a ‘read the room’ moment.
A first team coach coming out and saying we were ‘outstanding’ accompanied with a picture of Hearts second goal was a bit unnecessary especially when there was loads already losing their marbles.
RMQ1967
17-04-2022, 11:52 AM
There has to be a case for doing these things in parallel. I can imagine Ron is tearing his hair out the way things have gone this season and I'm not certain that ploughing money into players guarantees success - in fact it's a sure way to gamble all the funds away. Many aspects need to line up & investment in infrastructure (people & physical) seems like good sense to me.
Blaming Ron for ploughing his cash in is madness - his family is clearly emotionally & financially invested in Hibs & i think he's moving the club in the right direction
17-04-2022, 11:54 AM
Mentioned this on the PM board but it's relevant here too. Our record in "big" games since Gordon took over is atrocious, and needs fixing.
Hearts
Played: 8
Won: 1
Drawn: 2
Lost: 5
Scored: 6
Conceded: 12
Celtic
Played: 11
Won: 0
Drawn: 5
Lost: 6
Scored: 8
Conceded: 21
Rangers
Played: 11
Won: 1
Drawn: 1
Lost: 9
Scored: 9
Conceded: 23
Aberdeen
Played: 10
Won: 4
Drawn: 1
Lost: 5
Scored: 10
Conceded: 11
Cup semis and finals
Played: 8
Won: 2
Lost: 6
Scored: 10
Conceded: 16
17-04-2022, 12:08 PM
There has to be a case for doing these things in parallel. I can imagine Ron is tearing his hair out the way things have gone this season and I'm certain that ploughing money into players guarantees success - in fact it's a sure way to gamble all the funds away. Many aspects need to line up & investment in infrastructure (people & physical) seems like good sense to me.
Blaming Ron for ploughing his cash in is madness - his family is clearly emotionally & financially invested in Hibs & i think he's moving the club in the right direction
Regarding your last sentence I wonder what metric you measure that by.
Failure to achieve on field goals, for example, is not a step in the right direction. The success of a football club starts and ends with results. Not how many sponsors you have or who has the biggest screen.
Flooding the youth ranks with potential could go either way. I'd argue that if it is at the expense of the first team it is not a step in the right direction.
Other than clever soundbites about culture and progress - talk with no results - I'm not sure how right a direction we're heading in.
RMQ1967
17-04-2022, 05:31 PM
Regarding your last sentence I wonder what metric you measure that by.
Failure to achieve on field goals, for example, is not a step in the right direction. The success of a football club starts and ends with results. Not how many sponsors you have or who has the biggest screen.
Flooding the youth ranks with potential could go either way. I'd argue that if it is at the expense of the first team it is not a step in the right direction.
Other than clever soundbites about culture and progress - talk with no results - I'm not sure how right a direction we're heading in.
I pretty much agree - results on the field are clearly massively important. No point in having fabulous facilitiess without progress on it but the on field improvement is clearly much more difficult to deliver due to the influences of incompetent officials, players, managers & factors of bloody good & bad luck.
Investment in facilities is pretty solid & predictable- Investment in people not so much.
sunshinejim
19-04-2022, 12:10 AM
We don't have a so called philanthropist ploughing millions of pounds into our club every year free gratis. Also we don't have the luxury of benefitting from referee's constantly edging the game in our favor unlike hearts and rangers who are the establishment clubs and thus treated as such. Its much harder for our club to thrive in such difficult circumstances than hearts or rangers hence when we do beat the bassas the celebration is so much sweeter.
I'm backing Ron to play the long game investing in youth and infrastructure. Maloney will have learnt a great deal from this season and will hopefully galvanise the experiences into transforming the squad in the close season and making it a priority to fight our corner when the big games come around again.
As an aside I hope the club will insist to the sfa that we will no longer accept the so called Celtic end at Hampden is dished out to us every time. It is a neutral stadium and a coin toss or something similar should be adopted to decide which half of the stadium supporters get allocated. It is a complete nonsense and should be done away with.
LewysGot2
19-04-2022, 04:11 AM
STF sold to RG because he was satisfied he passed all the tests re due diligence and avoiding another Duff/Gray trojan horse ownership model taking the club into territory we never want to see again. Its only a short time since both clubs in the Battle of the Proms Scottish Cup Final were in such a position. STFs legacy was always him being the saviour of the club for the community, stability and sustainability. He was never selling to any fly by night so we are where we are and there's a bit of comfort in that.
However, there's no getting away from there definitely being a lack of leadership in terms of there being a very obvious focal point and/or personality to rally round. And there's no getting away from the fact there's a disconnect with the social media output - they have demonstrated this umpteen times recently with posting of items that any adult Hibs fan would know would be poorly received and in some cases incendiary- Happy Birthday Goram being one such case. Formulaic bland output only goes so far and a genuine understanding of how Scottish football works, the back stories, the nuances, the rivalries does matter. Commercial output still needs the ability to read the room and the customer base. Its a brand loyalty like no other. Classic example being the contrast between the Tanner output on Hibs TV and the Dougie Donnelly output. The latter clearly has a much keener nose for what's needed and how to deliver it. No ties to Hibs but a very different operator to Tanner.
Commercial activities are very important but they need to dovetail with very unique brand loyalty and identity. Authenticity matters. That's why Tanner didn't work out and why there seems to be poor understanding at social media level. You need to know that wishing Grant Holt happy birthday would be inoffensive but that you would be launching a grenade by doing the same for our former goalie.
19-04-2022, 08:25 AM
STF sold to RG because he was satisfied he passed all the tests re due diligence and avoiding another Duff/Gray trojan horse ownership model taking the club into territory we never want to see again. Its only a short time since both clubs in the Battle of the Proms Scottish Cup Final were in such a position. STFs legacy was always him being the saviour of the club for the community, stability and sustainability. He was never selling to any fly by night so we are where we are and there's a bit of comfort in that.
However, there's no getting away from there definitely being a lack of leadership in terms of there being a very obvious focal point and/or personality to rally round. And there's no getting away from the fact there's a disconnect with the social media output - they have demonstrated this umpteen times recently with posting of items that any adult Hibs fan would know would be poorly received and in some cases incendiary- Happy Birthday Goram being one such case. Formulaic bland output only goes so far and a genuine understanding of how Scottish football works, the back stories, the nuances, the rivalries does matter. Commercial output still needs the ability to read the room and the customer base. Its a brand loyalty like no other. Classic example being the contrast between the Tanner output on Hibs TV and the Dougie Donnelly output. The latter clearly has a much keener nose for what's needed and how to deliver it. No ties to Hibs but a very different operator to Tanner.
Commercial activities are very important but they need to dovetail with very unique brand loyalty and identity. Authenticity matters. That's why Tanner didn't work out and why there seems to be poor understanding at social media level. You need to know that wishing Grant Holt happy birthday would be inoffensive but that you would be launching a grenade by doing the same for our former goalie.
There’s a lot of conjecture in this post.
Firstly, we have all heard hints as to STF’s health over the past few years. With due respect to the man, he wasn’t doing due diligence on anything. You will have to credit his family/Petrie with any scrutiny before sale of the club.
In terms of community, future and guarantees. There simply are none. Hibs have Gordon as the main shareholder. It’s his and he can more or less do as he pleases.
Perhaps the sale of Hibs shouldn’t have diluted the shareholding of HSL and individuals. That wasn’t a great way for the STF legacy to end. I was totally pissed off with the loss of the 5% or so that “disappeared” overnight. It wasn’t part of deal when we donated or purchased directly.
I don’t care about “ standard business practice” or whatever excuses we trotted out on here at the time. It was wrong and needn’t have happened.
Fully agreeing about the social media and the general disconnect. That’s symptomatic of a deeper issue at Hibs. Gordon may well be a successful business man, but he’s making a bit of a mess at Hibs just now. Almost fulfilling the stereotype of a wealthy American guy with a massive ego who gets involved in a venture and is hopelessly out of his depth in terms of understanding what he’s actually bought.
19-04-2022, 08:30 AM
There is a dangerous apathy creeping in when it comes to Hibs. People are losing interest again. It feels very much like the pre cup win era. We need players and a management team that will come in and make people think "wow, we are really going for it". We need a spark, a shot in the arm. That is not Maloney and Caldwell. A reconfiguration of Easter Road. Easter Road is a great place for away teams and fans to come and play. Too friendly. Singing section directly behind the goals. We have a young, extremely vocal group of fans. Encourage them, they're the future. Let them make our stadium bounce, suck the ball in to the net and be intimidating for the opposition. Put away fans up in the top tier of the south. Make the away changing room tiny and awkward. Show that you're doing something, anything fractional that will help us win games. Im not interested in B team signings, loans and fancy screens. There you go Ron.
19-04-2022, 08:56 AM
Ian Gordon explained it on the Down the Slope podcast where they interviewed Ben Kensell, and then the Evening News used that to produce articles explaining recruitment. The information is out there.
19-04-2022, 09:09 AM
Well, he was watching then.
tonyrougier123
19-04-2022, 09:19 AM
There is a dangerous apathy creeping in when it comes to Hibs. People are losing interest again. It feels very much like the pre cup win era. We need players and a management team that will come in and make people think "wow, we are really going for it". We need a spark, a shot in the arm. That is not Maloney and Caldwell. A reconfiguration of Easter Road. Easter Road is a great place for away teams and fans to come and play. Too friendly. Singing section directly behind the goals. We have a young, extremely vocal group of fans. Encourage them, they're the future. Let them make our stadium bounce, suck the ball in to the net and be intimidating for the opposition. Put away fans up in the top tier of the south. Make the away changing room tiny and awkward. Show that you're doing something, anything fractional that will help us win games. Im not interested in B team signings, loans and fancy screens. There you go Ron.
To a tee exactly how I feel 👍🏻.
A few of the issues you raised in your comment it beggars belief that we haven’t had anyone hibs minded try to put this to the club.
Behind the goals been debated on here many of times but it really is an eye sore.
Such a placid section of the stadium,yet such a crucial driver for intimidation for away team goalies and defenders.
Gerard
19-04-2022, 09:45 AM
Clearly Ron was watching and has now taken action!
OstKurve Hibs
19-04-2022, 10:39 AM
Another manger sacked, what a joke.
Do one ron and take all your clowns with you
Steven79
19-04-2022, 11:55 AM
To a tee exactly how I feel 👍🏻.
A few of the issues you raised in your comment it beggars belief that we haven’t had anyone hibs minded try to put this to the club.
Behind the goals been debated on here many of times but it really is an eye sore.
Such a placid section of the stadium,yet such a crucial driver for intimidation for away team goalies and defenders.
Yep!
We may as well play all our games away from home as we give up home advantage by letting the away team have the lower tier full of fans chanting while our end is half empty.
We missed a trick this season as it should be the cheapest place in the ground to get it filled every week to help the team in the second half.
Anyone that sat down in the FFL in the second half against Inverness will tell you what a difference it made.
19-04-2022, 05:33 PM
Yep!
We may as well play all our games away from home as we give up home advantage by letting the away team have the lower tier full of fans chanting while our end is half empty.
We missed a trick this season as it should be the cheapest place in the ground to get it filled every week to help the team in the second half.
Anyone that sat down in the FFL in the second half against Inverness will tell you what a difference it made.
That's what swung it for me. It was bouncing. Looked great and looked like it played a part in the win that night. Getting these small things addressed would show somebody wants to make ER a place to hate coming to. At Newcastle I'm sure it is, they have put water pipework at the door of the away dressing room. It serves absolutely no purpose other than to make it awkward for the away team. I love that kind of thing. I'd have them walk further to the pitch, up stairs etc anything like that. We should have absolutely everything in our brilliant stadium to our advantage. Phycology goes a long way.