View Full Version : Shaun Maloney - stay or go
17-04-2022, 10:48 AM
That 'Norwegian' has scored goals for us. James Scott on the other hand doesn't even score goals in training.
He's scored 2 goals so is now a hero. That adds up, that guy Doidge had 1 good season and is almost a god.
We don't half hype players up too much and too soon.
Scott was the correct selection yesterday, held the ball up well and was physically aggressive. Maloney made big changes to our team because we got bullied at Tynecastle and people complain that he doesn't make changes. People complained that Macey kept booting it up to Melkersen and Mueller at Tynecastle as the ball kept coming back. Maloney changes that so we have a presence up top and people complain it isn't the right presence even though he is literally our only option.
17-04-2022, 10:52 AM
Maloney was brought in to improve on what Jack Ross had put in place.
I would say we are 100% worse than before. There are no positives except we pass the ball around at the back more and less diagonals but that’s also lost us a few goals and as I’ve said before playing out from the back is very difficult to do at Tynecastle unless you are very good.
Maloney should be gone today - seems he may get top 6 games but don’t think it’s a wise idea - If Hearts win the cup Maloney has no chance of staying on either as fans will never forgive him.
It’s glaringly obvious we need a new manager - better recruitment and new players. The whole give it time thing will set us back further and just delay what’s to come.
Even if Maloney stays and is a success somehow are we staying the next Hibs manager after Maloney must play similar style ?
Hibs identity and way of playing needs looked at. We haven’t been attacking enough in the games Maloney has been in charge - we don’t create enough and we also have so many average vanilla players - many of them I wouldn’t be bothered if they left tomorrow as they have little connection with the club.
17-04-2022, 10:57 AM
He's scored 2 goals so is now a hero. That adds up, that guy Doidge had 1 good season and is almost a god.
We don't half hype players up too much and too soon.
Scott was the correct selection yesterday, held the ball up well and was physically aggressive. Maloney made big changes to our team because we got bullied at Tynecastle and people complain that he doesn't make changes. People complained that Macey kept booting it up to Melkersen and Mueller at Tynecastle as the ball kept coming back. Maloney changes that so we have a presence up top and people complain it isn't the right presence even though he is literally our only option.
Scott should have prevented the winning goal. He worked hard yesterday but there was zero quality.
17-04-2022, 10:59 AM
I would say we are 100% worse than before. There are no positives except we pass the ball around at the back more and less diagonals but that’s also lost us a few goals and as I’ve said before playing out from the back is very difficult to do at Tynecastle unless you are very good.
Maloney should be gone today - seems he may get top 6 games but don’t think it’s a wise idea - If Hearts win the cup Maloney has no chance of staying on either as fans will never forgive him.
It’s glaringly obvious we need a new manager - better recruitment and new players. The whole give it time thing will set us back further and just delay what’s to come.
Even if Maloney stays and is a success somehow are we staying the next Hibs manager after Maloney must play similar style ?
Hibs identity and way of playing needs looked at. We haven’t been attacking enough in the games Maloney has been in charge - we don’t create enough and we also have so many average vanilla players - many of them I wouldn’t be bothered if they left tomorrow as they have little connection with the club.
Maloney said on the radio after the match that he was happy with the amount of chances we created.[emoji102]
17-04-2022, 11:00 AM
Scott should have prevented the winning goal. He worked hard yesterday but there was zero quality.
Scott should've prevented the free kick goal? Was he only man in wall? Might be forgetting something but can't remember why he would be any more at fault than the other 2 in the wall and those in the vicinity.
17-04-2022, 11:01 AM
Maloney said on the radio after the match that he was happy with the amount of chances we created.[emoji102]
Maloney is deluded. I’m beginning to feel sorry for him as he is so far out of his depth and should never have been put in this position by being appointed by our idiotic owner and his snake oil salesman CEO.
17-04-2022, 11:08 AM
Why does Maloney have to leave today but players can, optionally, leave tomorrow? I'm guessing these are the players that let Jack Ross down or do we just compare 3rd place finish last season and jump to this point in time, forgetting the middle part?
These players are not good enough. Eventually we'll need to tackle that.
Do people genuinely think club can manage to sack 2 managers in 1 season and pay compensation, recruit a new manager, rebuild entire squad in 1 summer based on their track record? Dare I say it, our recruitment has not been good enough. 7/10 Ben Kensell, wake up, you must be kidding man. 3/10 at absolute best.
We've got stadium plans for this summer as well.
17-04-2022, 11:14 AM
Scott should've prevented the free kick goal? Was he only man in wall? Might be forgetting something but can't remember why he would be any more at fault than the other 2 in the wall and those in the vicinity.
I’m convinced he could have done more.
If that was John McGinn or Stevenson they are chucking themselves at that.
Scott who doesn’t care much of the club and wasn’t switched on just tuned his body and stuck out a leg. Summed up the game and his time at Hibs for me.
17-04-2022, 11:24 AM
I’m convinced he could have done more.
If that was John McGinn or Stevenson they are chucking themselves at that.
Scott who doesn’t care much of the club and wasn’t switched on just tuned his body and stuck out a leg. Summed up the game and his time at Hibs for me.
You've just compared a striker/winger to a combative midfielder and defender/midfielder. No way Jason Cummings sprints out to tackle/block, no way Nisbet does that, no way almost any striker at Hibs in recent history does that. Doidge is the closest one to do that but his sprint speed is pretty much a jog.
Why is Scott more at fault than the player that gave a free kick away in that area?
17-04-2022, 11:35 AM
Why does Maloney have to leave today but players can, optionally, leave tomorrow? I'm guessing these are the players that let Jack Ross down or do we just compare 3rd place finish last season and jump to this point in time, forgetting the middle part?
These players are not good enough. Eventually we'll need to tackle that.
Do people genuinely think club can manage to sack 2 managers in 1 season and pay compensation, recruit a new manager, rebuild entire squad in 1 summer based on their track record? Dare I say it, our recruitment has not been good enough. 7/10 Ben Kensell, wake up, you must be kidding man. 3/10 at absolute best.
We've got stadium plans for this summer as well.
I think this shows the mess the club has been allowed to get to. A win yesterday would have been amazing but I would still be concerned about the direction we were heading. Wouldn’t have expected much in the final but least it may have been a turning point for Maloney.
The current players and lack of emerging academy talent making the bench or even playing is a concern - we have had to try buy in players to bridge the gap but even the glimpses have only shown Melkersen to have some promise.
The club and fan base are flat - the only team performing it seems is u18s - men and womens team struggling.
Turkish Green
17-04-2022, 11:36 AM
He didn’t instruct them to do that.
You saying they had the gumption to do it all by themselves? In which case, Newell is just an idiot, and others were lucky.
17-04-2022, 11:41 AM
Spot on. Mediocrity seems acceptable with a large section of our fan base nowadays unfortunately. Season ticket sales will decide the outcome of this thankfully.
Stop blaming the supporters.
17-04-2022, 11:43 AM
You've just compared a striker/winger to a combative midfielder and defender/midfielder. No way Jason Cummings sprints out to tackle/block, no way Nisbet does that, no way almost any striker at Hibs in recent history does that. Doidge is the closest one to do that but his sprint speed is pretty much a jog.
Why is Scott more at fault than the player that gave a free kick away in that area?
The free kicks already been given, so now we defend the free kick as a team. Being a forward is nae excuse for not putting in any effort to stop the shot. A cup semi v Hearts, when we’re already a goal down, he just couldn’t be ****ed to run it down. ****ing imposter. Cannae wait to see the back of him.
17-04-2022, 11:44 AM
Maybe I just expect more from a Hibs striker in a must win game. Fine margins but moments like Gordons save make the difference in these games.
Nisbet missing his penalty in last semi final - Campbell missing that last minute chance at Easter Road - Newell missing in the final minute against Celtic - Melkersen against Dundee Utd last minute - all opportunities but we need to be doing more to be successful.
I think we both agree we have many players not at the level physically, mentally and technically good enough to give us a chance for 3rd and win these important games currently.
sauzeelegod
17-04-2022, 11:47 AM
Stay.
I like what he’s trying to do.
Scottish football is absolutely honking.
Long ball after long ball.
A few good signings and hopefully he can give us what he said he wanted too.
Possession based exciting attacking football.
Fingers crossed.
17-04-2022, 11:50 AM
The free kicks already been given, so now we defend the free kick as a team. Being a forward is nae excuse for not putting in any effort to stop the shot. A cup semi v Hearts, when we’re already a goal down, he just couldn’t be ****ed to run it down. ****ing imposter. Cannae wait to see the back of him.
Defend as a team but pick on a single player? He's the fall guy, that much is clear. People don't like him but would happily comb Newell's hair even though he stupidly got a red card to let his teammates down.
Scott was fine yesterday.
17-04-2022, 11:52 AM
Maybe I just expect more from a Hibs striker in a must win game. Fine margins but moments like Gordons save make the difference in these games.
Nisbet missing his penalty in last semi final - Campbell missing that last minute chance at Easter Road - Newell missing in the final minute against Celtic - Melkersen against Dundee Utd last minute - all opportunities but we need to be doing more to be successful.
I think we both agree we have many players not at the level physically, mentally and mentally technically good enough to give us a chance for 3rd and win these important games currently.
No argument there. Most players aren't good enough, certainly not to be guaranteed starters for Hibs.
Daily Hibs
17-04-2022, 12:03 PM
Stop blaming the supporters.
He's right though, the number of fans who are actually pleased after that yesterday is staggering.
I thought after 2012 things would have changed for the better but here we are in 2022 with players from the 2012 team still losing big games at Hampden against our biggest rivals with fans looking for positives. As a club we are far too soft, it's pathetic.
17-04-2022, 12:03 PM
Defend as a team but pick on a single player? He's the fall guy, that much is clear. People don't like him but would happily comb Newell's hair even though he stupidly got a red card to let his teammates down.
Scott was fine yesterday.
Yeah, we defend as a team. The freekick is given. That cannae be changed, now we regroup and take up our positions. Scott’s job at that point is to be in the wall, then close down the man. We’re talking about one specific moment, where he’s the man that needs to do what needs done, but he couldn’t be arsed.
I dunno what the **** Joe Newell, or his hair, or his comb, has to do with James Scott making a half arsed attempt at blocking the shot that put us 2 goals down? Feel free to slate Newell for being an idiot and letting the team down. I’m no disagreeing, it doesn’t absolve Scott for this though.
17-04-2022, 12:13 PM
Yeah, we defend as a team. The freekick is given. That cannae be changed, now we regroup and take up our positions. Scott’s job at that point is to be in the wall, then close down the man. We’re talking about one specific moment, where he’s the man that needs to do what needs done, but he couldn’t be arsed.
I dunno what the **** Joe Newell, or his hair, or his comb, has to do with James Scott making a half arsed attempt at blocking the shot that put us 2 goals down? Feel free to slate Newell for being an idiot and letting the team down. I’m no disagreeing, it doesn’t absolve Scott for this though.
Watched the BBC coverage back earlier. Scott jumps expecting Kingsley to hit it direct. By the time he lands he’s never gonna get out to block the shot. I don’t think we can really fault him.
Albeit he was the only person in the wall who jumped. So not exactly well organised overall.
17-04-2022, 12:23 PM
He's right though, the number of fans who are actually pleased after that yesterday is staggering.
I thought after 2012 things would have changed for the better but here we are in 2022 with players from the 2012 team still losing big games at Hampden against our biggest rivals with fans looking for positives. As a club we are far too soft, it's pathetic.
Nah stop blaming people who look for positives.
Daily Hibs
17-04-2022, 12:26 PM
Nah stop blaming people who look for positives.
Club are in for a big shock with season ticket sales.
onfire
17-04-2022, 12:28 PM
Think you've got that the wrong way around. People dislike Maloney with such verve as he is the man that replaced Jack Ross. People didn't want Jack Ross sacked. People said recruitment was Graeme Mathie's fault or the clubs fault when Jack Ross was in charge. Now, because they dislike Maloney replacing the beloved Ross, they say recruitment is almost squarely with Maloney. Ross couldn't beat St Johnstone. In my opinion he had a worse collapse against Hearts at Hampden but its not used in such a negative manner as it is with Maloney.
Maloney went to a diamond in midfield against Hearts. So he did change things. People don't want to hear it. If we started going longer rather than passing short people would complain as we have 0 physical presence upfront. Think some of our support would've been screaming "Get Doidge on" even though he is injured.
You are still talking about jack ross tho’
This is a maloney thread.
17-04-2022, 12:33 PM
You are still talking about jack ross tho’
This is a maloney thread.
Maloney was mentioned many times in my post.
onfire
17-04-2022, 12:35 PM
Maloney was mentioned many times in my post.
As many times as ross in fact!
17-04-2022, 12:40 PM
As many times as ross in fact!
A level comparison then.
17-04-2022, 12:41 PM
People that are taking positives from it are not happy, no one is happy with a defeat to hearts at hampden and if you think that people are then there’s no way anyone will be able to reason with you.
17-04-2022, 12:42 PM
Yesterday showed us what playing the Maloney way does, the first goal was a direct result of the way Maloney wants us to play, **** about with the ball at the back, lose it in a terrible position and there you go, 1-0 down.
Time and place to play football, and the time and place is when you have footballers comfortable to play that way.
The amount of time we've fannied about with the ball in our own third of the field only to lose the ball does my nut in, and to do it in a semi final is criminal, yet anyone with eyes could see thats what we've been doing since the minute the man walked in the building.:rolleyes:
Key West
17-04-2022, 12:46 PM
Yesterday showed us what playing the Maloney way does, the first goal was a direct result of the way Maloney wants us to play, **** about with the ball at the back, lose it in a terrible position and there you go, 1-0 down.
Time and place to play football, and the time and place is when you have footballers comfortable to play that way.
The amount of time we've fannied about with the ball in our own third of the field only to lose the ball does my nut in, and to do it in a semi final is criminal, yet anyone with eyes could see thats what we've been doing since the minute the man walked in the building.:rolleyes:
Just as well Rob Jones wasn't playing under Maloney.
Agree Hibs need to mix it up and know when to play out with the ball, the game is not that sophisticated up here.
17-04-2022, 01:08 PM
He’s not asking much of them, they get themselves into trouble and instead of getting themselves out of it they lose the ball. Players are capable of deciding “I’ve taken a bad touch here, get rid of it” rather than just making another mistake and or passing it directly to the opposition.
Obviously the players aren’t capable of playing this way so maloney should do something about that but there are so many times even before maloney arrived that our players would make these terrible individual mistakes and decisions that get us into bother.
17-04-2022, 01:30 PM
You're right. People want a manager change so we can get a manager that shouts alot and might get a bit more out of our mediocre players. For a season at least, then we can have our customary collapse and look at the manager again. Needs to get more from these players even though we know many are average and so on...
What are you slavering on about. Who mentioned a manager that shouts a lot?
We want a manager that knows what he's doing.
17-04-2022, 01:45 PM
What are you slavering on about. Who mentioned a manager that shouts a lot?
We want a manager that knows what he's doing.
OK Ralf, when do you start your interim term and who are you advising as new permanent manager?
17-04-2022, 01:55 PM
OK Ralf, when do you start your interim term and who are you advising as new permanent manager?
Like you. I'm not a manager.
As I said. Someone that knows what they are doing.
17-04-2022, 01:57 PM
What a weak argument.
17-04-2022, 02:02 PM
Like you. I'm not a manager.
So we are both unqualified to determine whether a manager knows what he is doing?
People are complaining about everything Maloney does. It doesn't look reasonable anymore so genuinely doesn't look sensible. Why did Scott start as a debate? Answer, watch last week's derby again - Melkersen couldn't hold the ball at all. Scott did. Maloney made obvious changes and people are saying he changes nothing. Then they complain when he does make changes, like Scott.
He worked with Martinez at Belgium NT and people genuinely make him sound like an idiot.
17-04-2022, 02:05 PM
What a weak argument.
Thanks for your contribution.
17-04-2022, 02:16 PM
The ''accepting mediocrity'' mob do crack me up. What are you doing not to accept it and what difference has it made?
17-04-2022, 02:17 PM
The ''accepting mediocrity'' mob do crack me up. What are you doing not to accept it and what difference has it made?
Agreed. Utterly cringwworthy.
17-04-2022, 02:24 PM
For some reason not able to vote from my phone but I would vote for him to stay. Firstly I do not believe that rapid turn around of managers or knee jerk changes is good for the team. FWIW I would not have ditched Ross when we did - and I dont believe sacking Maloney right now would be a good idea either. Although I'm far from convinced by him, he HAS had a horrendous injury list to deal with and did manage to get a tune out of a patchwork side at Hampden such that we walked away with our heads high even in defeat from the Yams. Gordon took a real gamble in appointing a rookie - even straight from the Belgium set up - and that gamble needs to be seen through to make it worthwhile. Let Maloney see this season out, oversee the summer window and pre-season - then let's see where we are next Oct. If Maloney is in possession of the "X Factor" that makes a good Hibs manager then it should be crystal clear by then.
17-04-2022, 02:25 PM
I think it will be clear to see what 'they are doing' with the crowds against Aberdeen and St Johnstone.
17-04-2022, 02:28 PM
Agreed. Utterly cringwworthy.
It's up there with people that think James Scott played well yesterday.
He was better than he's been but to be honest it was impossible for him to be any worse.
17-04-2022, 02:34 PM
It's up there with people that think James Scott played well yesterday.
He was better than he's been but to be honest it was impossible for him to be any worse.
Not sure i mentioned James Scott.
Its posters laying the blame at other supporters that is cringeworthy.
I appreciate that people are dissapointed but to turn on other fans is pathetic.
17-04-2022, 02:34 PM
I think it will be clear to see what 'they are doing' with the crowds against Aberdeen and St Johnstone.
Ah right. So you just turn your back on the club. You do realise that is far more likely to make us worse, right?
17-04-2022, 02:36 PM
Ah right. So you just turn your back on the club. You do realise that is far more likely to make us worse, right?
Make your mind up FFS. You just asked what people who didn't accept mediocrity where doing about it 🤣 🤣
For the record I have 3 season tickets I'm 50/50 about renewing at the moment but probably will.
17-04-2022, 02:39 PM
Make your mind up FFS. You just asked what people who didn't accept mediocrity where doing about it 🤣 🤣
For the record I have 3 season tickets I'm 50/50 about renewing at the moment but probably will.
Yes, I also asked what difference it would make.
Ah, so you're going to renew? So you're not actually doing anything. So aren't you accepting it as well then?
Sorry. You'll have to spell this out for me. I'm really not understand the concept of not accepting mediocrity.
17-04-2022, 02:51 PM
I said 'people' not necessarily me.
I think I'll just cancel them now just to annoy the **** out of you 😀
17-04-2022, 02:52 PM
Dunno how I'd cope
17-04-2022, 02:54 PM
Not sure i mentioned James Scott.
Its posters laying the blame at other supporters that is cringeworthy.
I appreciate that people are dissapointed but to turn on other fans is pathetic.
Never said you did. I was referring to cringeworthy posts.
But it's OK for posters to turns on fans that won't accept mediocrity? It's pathetic.
17-04-2022, 03:02 PM
Should be asked after the next 5 games. Stupid to make a decision now. I lean on stay because of seeing certain signs ie today 2nd half and the hope of a good summer window. However as the weeks have went on I've been drifting closer to that Go. We'll see what the next 5 games bring. Today's performance can't go under the rug, it can be built on.
Wait until we see if we make top six. Wait and see if we get to the final. Wait and see if we avoid being relegated. Yesterday was fine and dandy but we lost. Again. The longer we hang off hoping he can turn it around the more damage is being done.
17-04-2022, 03:03 PM
But it's OK for posters to turns on fans that won't accept mediocrity? It's pathetic.
When's the "not accepting mediocrity" march/protest? What's the membership fee?
Seen more abuse aimed at people that said they saw some improvement yesterday. So much so in some places people claim they are what's wrong with the club. Not poor players, poor recruitment, poor coaching, poor whatever. No, because a fan saw some improvements in the performance, that's why we are bottom six and knocked out the cup again.
Mrimbetween
17-04-2022, 03:06 PM
Shaun needs time thats patently obvious with a bang average squad he has to play with
Need a summer window with massive support from Ron
Time will tell, Hearts were ***** yesterday but you can only pish with the preverb and up front there was nothing of note
Cant keep sacking managers, money alone tells you that
Give Shaun more time i say
17-04-2022, 03:07 PM
Well I thought that after a wee sleep for most, the hangover starts to go, the slavers start to dry up, but no such luck as yet, still the same amount of slavers.
17-04-2022, 03:07 PM
I'll give it a bash.
We go through a bad patch, and we look for every excuse under the sun as to why we're not winning. Whether it's injuries, refs, time to gel, whatever. It's never just that we're gash. Or our own fault. We alway look outside for the fault.
A fanbase with a winning mentality just wouldn't accept these excuses. They'd demand change. They'd protest, or make their voices heard somehow. Then when that doesn't work, they turn on the board and boom, they usually get their wish.
So, instead of ER being a big library with adverts to watch at each end, the stands would be packed with folk demanding change until we got it.
Thereby, they wouldn't be accepting mediocrity, they'd be agents for change and improvement, and should be applauded as such :cb
17-04-2022, 03:08 PM
Shaun needs time thats patently obvious with bang average sqiad he has to play with
Time will tell, Hearts were ***** yesterday but you can only pish with the preverb and up front there was nothing of note
Yeah, they were but we still lost. Results are what counts in this business. He has to go.
17-04-2022, 03:12 PM
Not sure if you edited that post.
Not really sure what you mean with the 2nd sentence.
17-04-2022, 03:16 PM
Shaun needs time thats patently obvious with bang average sqiad he has to play with
Any decent manager should be able to get the best out of the squad he has. Maloneys not doing that.
Aye, he’ll probably get better results with better players. Any manager would/should though.
Greenwich_Hibby
17-04-2022, 04:09 PM
Out his depth, it's a go from me. Also not big on trying to make a positive of yet another defeat to Hearts.
#2 Double Tap
17-04-2022, 04:11 PM
Yes, I also asked what difference it would make.
Ah, so you're going to renew? So you're not actually doing anything. So aren't you accepting it as well then?
Sorry. You'll have to spell this out for me. I'm really not understand the concept of not accepting mediocrity.
well renewing is doing something, its making sure the club has money to try and fix it.
the people who aint accepting underachievement are expressing frustration and anger, thats what not accepting it is, making sure the club knows that if it continues the cash will stop at some point, everyone has a final straw, i personally know 3 die hards who stopped regularly attending under ross and 2 of them have not been back since maloney was appointed. when those guys stop going we have a problem.
you and the other trolls on here just love twisting words. get over yourself, failing to make the top six and losing again at hampden against a team we have a great chance of beating is **** no matter how you try and spin it.
I went to the game convinced maloney had to go after the awful performance at tynecastle and the way this has been building all year
I heard the team and wondered WTF. Then we go two down with some awful defending and the first goal entirely down to maloneys way of playing. It looked grim and I sank into my seat to contemplate. I stood up in time to see hibs score but didn’t celebrate the goal I was so deflated.
However from then on I thought things improved and I saw enough to think maloney deserves time. He changed formation and addressed one of the issues with Stevenson in midfield.
No one else in the ground would have picked Scott, but he did a good job. Henderson another surprise and he also did well.
So for me unless we get dragged into the playoff which is unlikely then maloney is here and we see how next season goes
I fear it will end badly, but can just hope he gets the players in he needs
Paulie Walnuts
17-04-2022, 06:59 PM
Ooft. That’ll show ‘em.
17-04-2022, 07:07 PM
well renewing is doing something, its making sure the club has money to try and fix it.
the people who aint accepting underachievement are expressing frustration and anger, thats what not accepting it is, making sure the club knows that if it continues the cash will stop at some point, everyone has a final straw, i personally know 3 die hards who stopped regularly attending under ross and 2 of them have not been back since maloney was appointed. when those guys stop going we have a problem.
you and the other trolls on here just love twisting words. get over yourself, failing to make the top six and losing again at hampden against a team we have a great chance of beating is **** no matter how you try and spin it.
You do know those guys are not die hards if they have stopped going. Die hard means absolute and complete loyalty. Nothing Ross did or Maloney can do on the pitch would a die hard going.
I think its has been absolutely dog**** this season. I'm in no way defending that. I'm actually really depressed thinking about it. Its absolutely pathetic we've gone from 3rd to this in 12 months and I'd quite happily bin every single person involved in the footballing side except maybe 10 players. Infact, I actively want Kensell, Ron and his laddie to get absolutely to **** right now. They've failed at every possible turn this season. Utter failures. And worst of all, I think they are too stupid and arrogant to make it any better. Probably sitting there thinking they have a plan and its gonna work.
I really do not think turning your back on Hibernian solves anything. The club existed long before the idiots running things did and it will exist long after they are tattie scone. Turn up and protest. Demand cheaper ticket prices (ours are laughable really, like 30+ quid to watch utter **** this season, how the **** are we gonna attract new fans), demand better on the pitch, demand progress, ensure all staff are held accountable for failure in the way Ross was. Mathie had one awful window and was binned. Ross had one awful run and was binned. Why haven't Maloney and Ian Gordon been held accountable for similar failings so far?
I've actually probably never been angrier with Hibs. This conference league spot has given us a massive oppertunity to have some real incredible moments. Big European fixtures and plenty of them. Money to compete for better players and win cups. It was all there for us. We had the head start. We've made an utter and complete **** of it. Hearts have got it and, if they do manage to win the cup in a month, will be well head of us. This season has been, all things considered, one of the biggest failures in Hibs history. Cant say it will stop me going and hoping we'll turn it around, though.
Paulie Walnuts
17-04-2022, 07:10 PM
You do know those guys are not die hards if they have stopped going. Die hard means absolute and complete loyalty. Nothing Ross did or Maloney can do on the pitch would a die hard going.
I think its has been absolutely dog**** this season. I'm in no way defending that. I'm actually really depressed thinking about it. Its absolutely pathetic we've gone from 3rd to this in 12 months and I'd quite happily bin every single person involved in the footballing side except maybe 10 players. Infact, I actively want Kensell, Ron and his laddie to get absolutely to **** right now. They've failed at every possible turn this season. Utter failures. And worst of all, I think they are too stupid and arrogant to make it any better. Probably sitting there thinking they have a plan and its gonna work.
I'm asking what not accepting mediocrity involves and how it has worked so far for those people.
Did they fail in the 3 rounds of cup fixtures we got through? Or
The wins we got in the league? Or the draws v hearts and Celtic
Safe to say that the idea they’ve failed at every turn is absolute ****ing nonsense.
17-04-2022, 07:19 PM
Safe to say that the idea they’ve failed at every turn is absolute ****ing nonsense.
The wins we got in the league? 😂 There were so many of those we ended up in the bottom six. Everyone involved this season has definitely failed. There’s no other way to describe it.
17-04-2022, 07:21 PM
Oh god, the draws. You're right. What a success its been.
Utter and complete fail of a season. Beating 2 part time sides and 10 men before failing again to Hearts doesn't change that.
Only highlight beating Rangers at Hampden.
Paulie Walnuts
17-04-2022, 07:22 PM
The wins we got in the league? 😂 There were so many of those we ended up in the bottom six. Everyone involved this season has definitely failed. There’s no other way to describe it.
“They’ve failed at every possible turn this season”.
That was the statement I replied to. That statement is really that far wrong that there’s no point in bothering arguing with it.
#2 Double Tap
17-04-2022, 07:25 PM
I really do not think turning your back on Hibernian solves anything. The club existed long before the idiots running things did and it will exist long after they are tattie scone. Turn up and protest. Demand cheaper ticket prices (ours are laughable really, like 30+ quid to watch utter **** this season, how the **** are we gonna attract new fans), demand better on the pitch, demand progress, ensure all staff are held accountable for failure in the way Ross was. Mathie had one awful window and was binned. Ross had one awful run and was binned. Why haven't Maloney and Ian Gordon been held accountable for similar failings so far?
I've actually probably never been angrier with Hibs. This conference league spot has given us a massive oppertunity to have some real incredible moments. Big European fixtures and plenty of them. Money to compete for better players and win cups. It was all there for us. We had the head start. We've made an utter and complete **** of it. Hearts have got it and, if they do manage to win the cup in a month, will be well head of us. This season has been, all things considered, one of the biggest failures in Hibs history. Cant say it will stop me going and hoping we'll turn it around, though.
thats because you are not accepting mediocrity.
17-04-2022, 07:26 PM
“They’ve failed at every possible turn this season”.
That was the statement I replied to. That statement is really that far wrong that there’s no point in bothering arguing with it.
League? Bottom six. Massive failure.
League Cup? Final. Lost. Failure.
Scottish Cup? Semi Final. Lost. Failure.
Pretty simple if we’re using the same standards that Jack Ross was judged by last season.
Paulie Walnuts
17-04-2022, 07:30 PM
League? Bottom six. Massive failure.
League Cup? Final. Lost. Failure.
Scottish Cup? Semi Final. Lost. Failure.
Pretty simple if we’re using the same standards that Jack Ross was judged by last season.
Every single game we’ve won? Massive failure
Winning a quarter final to the team who are now 5th in the league? Massive failure
Skelping rangers at Hampden? Massive failure.
Since it was every turn and all, ya know. Pretty simple.
17-04-2022, 07:32 PM
Winning a quarter final to the team who are now 5th in the league? Massive failure
Yes, the law of averages dictates all teams win a few games. Even Dundee. Would Dundee fans tell you their season has been any kind of success?
17-04-2022, 07:36 PM
Yes, the law of averages dictates all teams win a few games. Even Dundee. Would Dundee fans tell you their season has been any kind of success?
There is bound to be a pedant in the Dee support that will tell them that they haven't failed at every turn.
Some comfort that will be I expect.
Paulie Walnuts
17-04-2022, 07:44 PM
So not a failure at every turn as you say then? In fact not a failure at god knows how many turns.
Just another post to add to the rest of the ****ing nonsense you’re posting.
17-04-2022, 07:49 PM
There is bound to be a pedant in the Dee support that will tell them that they haven't failed at every turn.
Some comfort that will be I expect.
Theres pedantry on both sides of the argument, to be fair.
Has Maloney has a few high points performance wise and results wise? Yes.
Has it been a successful season? No.
Is it ‘madness’ to suggest we can do better? No.
Is it ‘madness’ to suggest we should give him another season to build a squad without a mad injury list and some more quality? No.
It’s a matter of opinion.
17-04-2022, 08:31 PM
So not a failure at every turn as you say then? In fact not a failure at god knows how many turns.
Just another post to add to the rest of the ****ing nonsense you’re posting.
You talk so much p*sh, might have to use the block for the first time ever.
The poster you’re quoting made a perfectly obvious and accurate statement. This season has been an unmitigated failure.
17-04-2022, 09:47 PM
Ross was the manager when we beat Sevco 3-1, not Maloney.
Paulie Walnuts
18-04-2022, 03:20 AM
Ross was the manager when we beat Sevco 3-1, not Maloney.
The poster said Kensell, Ron Gordon and Ian Gordon failed at every turn this season. Not just under Maloney.
Paulie Walnuts
18-04-2022, 03:55 AM
You talk so much p*sh, might have to use the block for the first time ever.
The poster you’re quoting made a perfectly obvious and accurate statement. This season has been an unmitigated failure.
Oh no, how ever will I survive.
The upside of keeping him for a summer and it going right far outweighs the downside of just another replacement for me.
Let's give him a proper chance. He stands up and takes responsibility, let him try and get it right. I give him to October to show improvement and a reason to stick with it.
McGruber
18-04-2022, 09:36 AM
Looks like he has survived the worst case scenario double derby humiliation - no confidence we won't now get dragged to the play offs. It would still seem unlikely but Maloney is so bad it's not off limits
Will the bottom 6 games continue in Maloney style of 7 to 8 men behind the ball, 11 at corners or will we go for a few goals? Exciting times
18-04-2022, 09:42 AM
Looks like he has survived the worst case scenario double derby humiliation - no confidence we won't now get dragged to the play offs. It would still seem unlikely but Maloney is so bad it's not off limits
Will the bottom 6 games continue in Maloney style of 7 to 8 men behind the ball, 11 at corners or will we go for a few goals? Exciting times
Still plenty time for him to get emptied this week.
18-04-2022, 09:45 AM
Still plenty time for him to get emptied this week.
I don’t think he’s going anywhere.
Will be surprised if he’s not here at the start of next season, unless things go disastrously wrong in these last five games.
18-04-2022, 09:51 AM
The upside of keeping him for a summer and it going right far outweighs the downside of just another replacement for me.
Let's give him a proper chance. He stands up and takes responsibility, let him try and get it right. I give him to October to show improvement and a reason to stick with it.
October is enough for us to he out the league cup and well behind 3rd. He should be picking up absolutely minimum of 10 points from the last 5 games or should be sacked.
Next season will be over before its started if we continue to trust him imo.
18-04-2022, 09:52 AM
I don’t think he’s going anywhere.
Will be surprised if he’s not here at the start of next season, unless things go disastrously wrong in these last five games.
Disastrously wrong is what's being happening for months. Does anyone actually believe we're a better team today than we were about 12 weeks ago? We've played all the other bottom 6 teams in those 12 weeks, and beat none of them. 3 losses and 2 draws.
I don't think we'll go down though.
18-04-2022, 10:08 AM
Bit in bold that's the problem. We're all being asked to have faith in RG's judgement, but many are naturally questioning that based on what we've seen from Maloney's performance to date. Yes, it would be expensive to ditch Maloney but it could be disastrous to stick with him in terms of ST sales, loss of revenue and player recruitment.
This is no longer about Maloney, much more about Ron Gordon - his commitment, ambition and decision-making.
Stay. But he has to be backed 100% by the board... including ponying up whenever required.
18-04-2022, 10:15 AM
Disastrously wrong is what's being happening for months. Does anyone actually believe we're a better team today than we were about 12 weeks ago? We've played all the other bottom 6 teams in those 12 weeks, and beat none of them. 3 losses and 2 draws.
I don't think we'll go down though.
All I was really meaning is that, unless we end up relegated, I think he’ll be here in the summer.
blaikie
18-04-2022, 10:21 AM
Go.
I firmly believed letting go of Ross was a bad idea given the lack of support in the Summer and the general bad luck we had (0-1 vs the Huns springs to mind), it took me a while but I came round to giving Maloney support. But he just can't get the results, he was backed in January .. probably more so than Ross was in the Summer.
We are nearly in the mire that we were under Butcher .. lack of leadership and strange going's on behind the scenes.
We need change from the top to bottom, we really need to find another Dempster/Stubbs combo!
18-04-2022, 10:26 AM
Go.
I firmly believed letting go of Ross was a bad idea given the lack of support in the Summer and the general bad luck we had (0-1 vs the Huns springs to mind), it took me a while but I came round to giving Maloney support. But he just can't get the results, he was backed in January .. probably more so than Ross was in the Summer.
We are nearly in the mire that we were under Butcher .. lack of leadership and strange going's on behind the scenes.
We need change from the top to bottom, we really need to find another Dempster/Stubbs combo!
You can't even compare a summer window with a pre season to a January window in which at least 3 of the signings were already made before he came in.
What are the strange goings on? something you just made up?
He's here!
18-04-2022, 10:27 AM
Should be asked after the next 5 games. Stupid to make a decision now. I lean on stay because of seeing certain signs ie today 2nd half and the hope of a good summer window. However as the weeks have went on I've been drifting closer to that Go. We'll see what the next 5 games bring. Today's performance can't go under the rug, it can be built on.
Indeed. If we end up close to a relegation play-off (or, perish the thought, actually in one) then that would be a more realistic reason to admit it hasn't worked out and let him go. Emotions understandably run high when it comes to the derby but the reality is our chances of winning either of the last two games were exceedingly slim. Maloney did, however, elicit a strong performance from his players at Hampden when many (myself included) feared a real drubbing. That, at least, indicates the players are still with him.
I do wonder if Maloney would benefit from a more experienced figure within his management team. Caldwell has managerial experience but his record was patchy. Gray clearly 'gets' the club 100% but hasn't got a huge amount of experience.
Paulie Walnuts
18-04-2022, 10:27 AM
Go.
We brought in a bunch of teenagers and guys who had hardly played first team football before in January. He also had one of the best players in the league sold 2 games after he came in.
Overall I’d suggest he wasn’t backed any better than Jack Ross was in the summer (which was also poor) and due to having Boyle sold, it could be argued he was backed even less.
Being backed in a transfer window is as much about keeping your best players as it is signing good players.
18-04-2022, 10:35 AM
I don't have much faith in anyone involved in running Hibs right now - on and off the pitch.
If we drop to 10th over next three games, Maloney's position will be untenable, even if we avoid a play-off.
Henderson showed glimpses of promise at Hampden but we need players running ahead of him. Getting Clarke on the right of the pitch would help too, I think.
18-04-2022, 10:42 AM
Stay. But he has to be backed 100% by the board... including ponying up whenever required.
He has already been backed by the board and he signed mostly crap in the January window.
18-04-2022, 10:55 AM
If he doesn’t have us in 7th spot at the end he should go.
18-04-2022, 11:05 AM
Go.
This is the worst league in years. The fact that they are comfortably third and the Arabs who are rank rotten are fourth sums it up. Regardless of injuries we have a squad no worse than the teams from 3rd to 6th and could and should have done much much better.
Part of the problem is a footballing "philosophy" that our squad isn't talented enough to implement and SMs refusal to take a pragmatic approach to get results. The other problem is his appointing (and I assume it was SMs decision) Caldwell as his number two, a managerial failure and someone not known for their motivational skills.
It'll be economics, mainly ST sales, that determine whether he goes go or not and I think we're in for a considerable decrease in them.
18-04-2022, 11:24 AM
I really can’t make my mind up. On one hand he’s had loads of injuries and suspensions to deal with (which most managers have to deal with) and on the other he’s had some strange team line ups and his use of subs is poor, so I’m not sure he knows how to manage games. We had lots of chances to secure the points to finish top 6 and he failed. For me, if we don’t win our next game then I think we should cut our losses. Beat St Mirren though (which should probably make us safe) then I’d give him till autumn.
18-04-2022, 11:43 AM
Is Maloney even a good coach? The performances on the whole.have been really poor, his post match tagline of 'i won't accept this' has come out 3/4 times?
He's not coaching the current players to be any better. We've had several mistakes playing out the back that have cost us goals, we aren't scoring enough goals or creating good chances.
Purely on the point on him being a good coach, he's not improving the standard of our play or any players. Wright has improved, but he abrely played, and cadden has improved but I'd say his positional change and general run in the team is probably the cause.
Tactically, there's some mystifying decisions, setups and substitutions.
It's all pointed towards disaster, infact I'd say it already has been under his reign. Bottom 6, beaten at Hampden and he's not brought in any players that have improved the starting XI, maybe Mitchell but even that's being generous.
Go.
18-04-2022, 11:54 AM
I really can’t make my mind up. On one hand he’s had loads of injuries and suspensions to deal with (which most managers have to deal with) and on the other he’s had some strange team line ups and his use of subs is poor, so I’m not sure he knows how to manage games. We had lots of chances to secure the points to finish top 6 and he failed. For me, if we don’t win our next game then I think we should cut our losses. Beat St Mirren though (which should probably make us safe) then I’d give him till autumn.
The problem is, I just can't see there ever being a time when his line-ups and subs aren't head scratching. And I think that will probably get even more annoying as time goes by.
There have been times (under previous managers) when the Hibs team has been announced, I've liked the look of the team and the team has gone on to play poorly and lost. At least if you can see what a manager is trying to do (or even if you can't suggest a credible alternative to what has been attempted) then you feel like you can support him.
With Maloney there's just too much bafflement and bewilderment and I can't see it changing.
Saturday was the first time he's come out with wacky stuff and it's actually come close to working. Even then, it seemed to be a more recognisable formation than the one he usually plays.
October is enough for us to he out the league cup and well behind 3rd. He should be picking up absolutely minimum of 10 points from the last 5 games or should be sacked.
Next season will be over before its started if we continue to trust him imo.
Yup, and so we've got an uphill battle to turn it into a decent season and a bit of pressure on that appointment. But who is that appointment going to be, probably the classic "safe pair of hands". If Maloney is the gamble then let's give him every chance of making a success out of it instead of wondering what could've been following another meh season with meh football.
MKHIBEE
18-04-2022, 12:06 PM
I can’t see the sense in the result of the St Mirren game being the one that decides his future. Either give him the time or get rid now. BTW, I’m in the Maloney to stay camp.
chookyembra
18-04-2022, 12:25 PM
All we are arguing about is another loser of a manager getting a half decent performance in another game we've lost, and arguing that its enough to give him more time. He is a dead man walking, everybody knows it.
I was all for not chopping and changing managers and supported keeping him but after his post match interview in a game we lost and he was happy with the performance he has to go. Losing but playing well just isn’t for me I would have taken playing ******* with 10% possession and a scrappy goal to put those chunts out of the cup.
18-04-2022, 12:34 PM
Shaun Maloney claims he knows precisely what is needed to make Hibernian a “lot, lot better” after two consecutive defeats by Hearts ruined their season’s ambitions.
Maloney said: “I know exactly where the team are, where the squad are. I know exactly what we need to compete with Hearts
“What you saw on Saturday was, in my opinion, a more dominant performance. What Hearts have, and you have got to give them credit, is a very strong squad, they have a lot of experience at this level and at higher levels. Unfortunately you saw Craig produce an amazing save. That’s what happens with players at that level.
“We have got a bit to go, and that’s my job. But literally since February 1, that’s been on my mind.
“I know exactly what we need to get to a point where we can consistently out-perform teams above us. That’s going to be vital over the next few weeks.
Really sorry if these quotes have been posted elsewhere on one of the many Maloney threads.
Let's see what happens Saturday.
18-04-2022, 12:37 PM
Shaun Maloney claims he knows precisely what is needed to make Hibernian a “lot, lot better” after two consecutive defeats by Hearts ruined their season’s ambitions.
Maloney said: “I know exactly where the team are, where the squad are. I know exactly what we need to compete with Hearts
“What you saw on Saturday was, in my opinion, a more dominant performance. What Hearts have, and you have got to give them credit, is a very strong squad, they have a lot of experience at this level and at higher levels. Unfortunately you saw Craig produce an amazing save. That’s what happens with players at that level.
“We have got a bit to go, and that’s my job. But literally since February 1, that’s been on my mind.
“I know exactly what we need to get to a point where we can consistently out-perform teams above us. That’s going to be vital over the next few weeks.
Really sorry if these quotes have been posted elsewhere on one of the many Maloney threads.
It's a shame it wasn't on his mind the day before the transfer window closed.
18-04-2022, 12:37 PM
teams below us would be a start :greengrin
18-04-2022, 12:44 PM
I'm also in agreement that so far the talk has been cheap.
If we was so hurt after the week before then why give away cheap and stupid goals and not change anything earlier.
mcfly
18-04-2022, 12:57 PM
If maloney knows exactly what is needed then I say give him the summer and first quarter of next season.
He HAS to change the losing mindset of the club and get rid of the constant losing mentality of the players.
It’s not acceptable to try hard in a derby. You have to WIN.
18-04-2022, 01:08 PM
I’ve got a feeling the game against Hearts last week was a huge wake up call for him for a couple of reasons
- How the dominated us
- Standard of player and experience they had
- The pressure he felt
And I think that me be the turning point for him. Since then he seems to be alot more assertive and it seems like he now realised playing young players and hoping they’ll get leeway won’t work and we need to compete more.
I think he’ll stay and we’ll see him being heavily backed in the summer, probably the most we’ve backed a manager in quite some time.
18-04-2022, 01:42 PM
Hibs battled against Hearts but still got beat. He might now being saying the right things but it’s performances and RESULTS that count. If we lose against St Mirren and I think we will ( No Porto) I fully expect us to be dragged into the relegation battle. I just don’t think Maloney inspires the players or gives them confidence. I can see us in the relegation play off.
18-04-2022, 01:48 PM
It's a shame it wasn't on his mind the day before the transfer window closed.
Or ideally before he accepted the job.
Any incoming coach / manager should know what he’s stepping into and the past failures.
Shouldn’t exactly be a surprise and surely during the recruitment process of him being hired as new manager this was being talked about ?
18-04-2022, 01:53 PM
thats because you are not accepting mediocrity.
What a pathetic comment. Do I want Hibs to win cups, qualify for Europe every year, yes of course I do. Have I seen much of that in 49 years of going have I ****. We have been mediocre for the vast majority of my time being a Hibby so by your definition I am accepting mediocrity by continuing to buy my ST. Absolute rubbish. In fact unless you want to trot along and watch the bigot twins every supporter of every team in Scotland accepts mediocrity. In fact some actually accept way less than that. Telling hibs fans that they are accepting of mediocrity is a rubbish argument. What should we do? Stop buying STs, stop turning up? Aye that'll help with the team on the park.
18-04-2022, 01:56 PM
Go.
This is the worst league in years. The fact that they are comfortably third and the Arabs who are rank rotten are fourth sums it up. Regardless of injuries we have a squad no worse than the teams from 3rd to 6th and could and should have done much much better.
Part of the problem is a footballing "philosophy" that our squad isn't talented enough to implement and SMs refusal to take a pragmatic approach to get results. The other problem is his appointing (and I assume it was SMs decision) Caldwell as his number two, a managerial failure and someone not known for their motivational skills.
It'll be economics, mainly ST sales, that determine whether he goes go or not and I think we're in for a considerable decrease in them.
Wasn't last year the worst league in years because we were third and only third because it was the worst Aberdeen side in recent memory?
Funny how things change.
18-04-2022, 01:58 PM
I'm also in agreement that so far the talk has been cheap.
If we was so hurt after the week before then why give away cheap and stupid goals and not change anything earlier.
Do you think he set out to give them away? The players were asked to do something very basic and made an arse of it in a big game, we played much better than last week for 90% of that game, but due to errors we were already beaten.
18-04-2022, 02:00 PM
Or ideally before he accepted the job.
Any incoming coach / manager should know what he’s stepping into and the past failures.
Shouldn’t exactly be a surprise and surely during the recruitment process of him being hired as new manager this was being talked about ?
Just not realistic at all for anyone starting any new job ever.
18-04-2022, 02:01 PM
The league has been awful this season. No doubts about it. There are some very, very poor teams in it. Us included sadly. Hearts have strolled to third without being great themselves. Motherwell, Dundee United and Ross County have all had spells of horrific form and are top six. This season is nothing short of an opportunity missed.
18-04-2022, 02:04 PM
We shouldn’t be looking for the vision that a potential manager holds on what we need to do to compete and how he’s going to do that?
They may not stick to it but politicians have manifestos. Many recruitment processes require a presentation on what the person best thinks is the direction for a company or department or team to take.
18-04-2022, 02:07 PM
We shouldn’t be looking for the vision that a potential manager holds on what we need to do to compete and how he’s going to do that?
They may not stick to it but politicians have manifestos. Many recruitment processes require a presentation on what the person best thinks is the direction for a company or department or team to take.
Of course, he should have a plan, but there is almost no job in the world that you really know what you are getting into until you are in it, that is what my reply is stating. To expect any employee to just be instantly perfect at their job is ridiculous.
18-04-2022, 02:09 PM
I'd give Maloney until the end of the season and assess then.
Need to see some real signs of improvement the next five games if not I don't see the point in giving him a transfer window really. Squad we have now we should be bossing the bottom six, other than against Aberdeen, no improvement he has to go for me.
18-04-2022, 02:10 PM
Has to go I'm afraid. Dreadful results and a shocking decline in standards and expectations in a short period.
Poor interview after the game for me - far too dismissive of the two early goals lost and the red card considering that pretty much kills your chances in a semi/ final from the off and derbies will often come down to the fine margins.
I can't think of a single player in a Hibs jersey there under JR that's performance levels have gone up since he came in. Can you?
Cannot see what he is trying to implement at all. Consistency is what we all want but let's admit the mistake now and make the change to give us the best possible chance next season.
Not bothered about anyone else but you can guarantee looking at the parallels with Aberdeen - who have made the change now - will see the benefits into next season.
18-04-2022, 02:12 PM
Of course, he should have a plan, but there is almost no job in the world that you really know what you are getting into until you are in it, that is what my reply is stating. To expect any employee to just be instantly perfect at their job is ridiculous.
Nobody was expecting Maloney to be instantly perfect but you expect them to have a plan of action quickly. He obviously took a few weeks to get to know what was needed (1st February seems very handy as a date) but if he didn’t know that we needed strikers and central defenders who were first team ready or that Hearts were a physical side to beat fairly quickly then that’s concerning.
As such, he shouldn’t have been hired. The problems we have are either a) blatantly obvious and have been for some time or b) the sort of things that happen in football and things managers need to prepare for.
18-04-2022, 02:17 PM
I cant believe I'm saying this but Saturday was a bit of a turning point for me. Yes we lost and I'm not even pretending to be happy about it, but what I did see was a team effort which was clearly night and day from the weekend proceeding it, that did not look like a team unwilling to fight for it's manager and if they have decided they want to play and perform for him that's half the battle for me.
On the back of that I'm not unconvinced that if he can get most of our injured players back in the summer and a few decent signings in key areas that we might not see a vast improvement next season. The first thing he should do is hand the captaincy to Ryan Porteous, yes I know it would be preferable if he could stay on the pitch and I'm not denying that's a concern, but did you see his face as he charged in to get the header on goal that nearly got us an equaliser on Saturday, that's what I want to see from a Hibs captain .... if this team does lack personality why not give the armband to the one player we know has one.
OK I know it was just one game and it remains to be seen if Maloney can get the same drive and determination out of the players on a regular basis, but if he can I for one will be happy to give him at least until Christmas. Give him a couple of strikers and the odd ball playing and winning midfield player and who knows what might be possible.
Like I say, that's a bit of a turnaround for me, but I've been wrong about managers before, maybe I'm wrong in my previous assessment of this one.
18-04-2022, 02:22 PM
I don't understand this thinking at all.
He's not demonstrated anything to demonstrate he has a clue what he is doing.
Same tactics week after week when they are clearly not working. We're struggling to create chances and he chooses to play with an extra centre back game after game. His subs are atrocious as well.
Giving money to him is likely money down the drain.
18-04-2022, 02:29 PM
Surely Maloney coming to the club needs to be a good fit for the club and himself?
Also I've heard of many coaches giving presentations about what they hoped they planned to do with players and set up before arriving.
Now of course they need to get feet in the door to assess players personality etc but there is nothing stopping candidates being prepared.
I would even go as far as Hibs should know who is best to replace Maloney and Maloney should be aware of this able to help identify coaches - top clubs have succession plans in for the furture.
Maloney was either going to be at Hibs and do well and move on to a bigger job during or end of contract or he was going to struggle and get sacked earlier.
Even if he turns a corner I doubt he would stay for full length of his contract as this is a stepping stone for a bigger job.
He's been here 4 months - he signed 3 and half year contract.
Stay. Give him the summer to clear out the dross, bring in his own signings and take it from there.
Original signs are not good but think there are mitigating circumstances and saw enough on Saturday to convince me the ideas are there, just not the players to implement it.
It only takes one good window to turn things around so will give him that. If we are on the same run of form with no obvious improvement come Christmas then time to admit it's failed and cut our losses.
18-04-2022, 02:54 PM
I was looking at the odds for the job after Ross was punted out of curiosity. Doesn't look like he was seen as a serious contender.
Next Permanent Hibernian Manager (via McBookie - correct as of Thursday 9th December)
Alex Neil: 5/4
Callum Davidson: 5/1
David Gray: 5/1
Derek McInnes: 5/1
Jim Goodwin: 8/1
Alan Stubbs: 12/1
Neil Lennon: 12/1
Paul Lambert: 12/1
Ronny Deila: 12/1
Steve Kean: 12/1
Ian Murray: 14/1
John Kennedy: 14/1
Kevin Thomson: 14/1
Gordon Strachan: 16/1
James McPake: 16/1
Scott Brown: 16/1
Shaun Maloney: 16/1
Neil Warnock: 20/1
Sol Campbell: 20/1
Steven Bruce: 20/1
Duncan McKay: 100/1
18-04-2022, 03:02 PM
Stay. Give him the summer to clear out the dross, bring in his own signings and take it from there.
Original signs are not good but think there are mitigating circumstances and saw enough on Saturday to convince me the ideas are there, just not the players to implement it.
It only takes one good window to turn things around so will give him that. If we are on the same run of form with no obvious improvement come Christmas then time to admit it's failed and cut our losses.
Christmas is over 8 months away. If Maloney is still in a job at the start of next season, then the form will have to improve from the first kick of the ball, or he'll not be here by the close of the Fringe Festival.
18-04-2022, 03:07 PM
I was looking at the odds for the job after Ross was punted out of curiosity. Doesn't look like he was seen as a serious contender.
Next Permanent Hibernian Manager (via McBookie - correct as of Thursday 9th December)
[/LIST]
Alex Neil: in a job now
Callum Davidson: god no
David Gray: possibility
Derek McInnes: in a job now
Jim Goodwin: in a new job now
Alan Stubbs: can’t see it
Neil Lennon: in a job now
Paul Lambert: god forbid
Ronny Deila: can’t see it
Steve Kean: moaners would moan
Ian Murray: possibility as doing a good job at Airdrie
John Kennedy: can’t see it
Kevin Thomson: instantly splits the support
Gordon Strachan: can’t see it
James McPake: possibility
Scott Brown: possibility - another newbie like SM?
Neil Warnock: retired now
Sol Campbell: can’t see it
Steven Bruce: in a job now
Duncan McKay: no idea who this is.
18-04-2022, 03:13 PM
Neil 6 wins, 4 draws, 1 loss with Sunderland. Must be one of those weird managers that doesn't need his own players, but can actually work with the squad he inherits. He was the candidate if we had serious people running our club.
18-04-2022, 03:23 PM
Neil 6 wins, 4 draws, 1 loss with Sunderland. Must be one of those weird managers that doesn't need his own players, but can actually work with the squad he inherits. He was the candidate if we had serious people running our club.
I remember thinking at the time i wasn't sure. In hindsight i think he'd have been a great appointment. He may be been wanting another crack down south though but you'd ike to think we could have made him a very attractive offer.
Weir07
18-04-2022, 03:38 PM
As ever, a lot of truth in what you say. Neil was my preferred option when we parted company with Ross. I wonder where we'd be now with him in charge.
18-04-2022, 03:52 PM
I’m not sure he was ever keen on coming back to Scotland at that time. If he was then we’ve ****ed up massively not going for him.
18-04-2022, 03:58 PM
Alex Neil: in a job now
Callum Davidson: god no
David Gray: possibility
Derek McInnes: in a job now
Jim Goodwin: in a new job now
Alan Stubbs: can’t see it
Neil Lennon: in a job now
Paul Lambert: god forbid
Ronny Deila: can’t see it
Steve Kean: moaners would moan
Ian Murray: possibility as doing a good job at Airdrie
John Kennedy: can’t see it
Kevin Thomson: instantly splits the support
Gordon Strachan: can’t see it
James McPake: possibility
Scott Brown: possibility - another newbie like SM?
Neil Warnock: retired now
Sol Campbell: can’t see it
Steven Bruce: in a job now
Duncan McKay: no idea who this is.
SDG with Bartley and McGregor as his backroom staff with an experienced DOF coming in. :aok:
18-04-2022, 04:14 PM
SDG with Bartley and McGregor as his backroom staff with an experienced DOF coming in. :aok:
Cue relegation.
18-04-2022, 11:22 PM
**** no!! SDG is a part of the coaching staff just now and we are ****. We need experience to come in. Not another rookie.
JamesHFC
19-04-2022, 01:30 AM
I’m not sure he was ever keen on coming back to Scotland at that time. If he was then we’ve ****ed up massively not going for him.
He didn’t want the job so I’ve heard.
sunshinejim
19-04-2022, 01:58 AM
He didn’t want the job so I’ve heard.
Who did you hear it from? Anyone official or just some random in the pub? Or in your head?
Paulie Walnuts
19-04-2022, 05:58 AM
I remember thinking at the time i wasn't sure. In hindsight i think he'd have been a great appointment. He may be been wanting another crack down south though but you'd ike to think we could have made him a very attractive offer.
At the time it was quite widely rumoured he had no interest in coming back to Scotland.
Of course that may not have been the case but it seemed fairly accepted that it was.
McGruber
19-04-2022, 06:01 AM
I'd give Maloney until the end of the season and assess then.
Need to see some real signs of improvement the next five games if not I don't see the point in giving him a transfer window really. Squad we have now we should be bossing the bottom six, other than against Aberdeen, no improvement he has to go for me.
There's a few feel the same as this, assess at the end of the season or only 7th acceptable etc.
It's too late. He can be assessed now because bottom 6 finish is abject failure - 7th is failure. Our big games aren't to come, they have been. Zero interest in seeing improvements now in some dead rubber games. We still might have an interest if St J pick up points early. Getting dragged into the play off dogfight hardly exciting prospect though.
19-04-2022, 06:32 AM
Yeah. Today the players and the manager understood what it's about. How its about having a go, attacking and giving your all. The connection between the fans and the team kicked in today and now its about taking that into the last 5 games and winning them all. Then seeing who's worth keeping next season.
I thoroughly enjoyed today and was proud of the team. We won most challenges and got back to attacking football. Its a small step for these players and major surgery is still required in the summer but it's a chink of light in a grim couple of years for the club.. We can't be sacking SM at this point. That's just ridiculous. Let's see if he can build on this with our support.
If you or anyone thought losing on Saturday was acceptable, then this club is really beaten down into accepting mediocrity. The connection is nowhere near back. That team is awful and Maloney has done nothing to improve it.
This rubbish about how well we played. Nonsense. We were garbage up until they went 2 goals up. They didn't have to play after that.
Is this how low Hibs have sunk that people are proud and enjoying losing a semi final to Hearts? Until that sort of loser mentality changes in Easter Road, we will keep losing these games.
19-04-2022, 06:36 AM
If you or anyone thought losing on Saturday was acceptable, then this club is really beaten down into accepting mediocrity. The connection is nowhere near back. That team is awful and Maloney has done nothing to improve it.
This rubbish about how well we played. Nonsense. We were garbage up until they went 2 goals up. They didn't have to play after that.
Is this how low Hibs have sunk that people are proud and enjoying losing a semi final to Hearts? Until that sort of loser mentality changes in Easter Road, we will keep losing these games.
Don’t think anyone has said it was acceptable ..but you can appreciate the performance . Particularly after how poor we have been
Hearts were 2 goals up for one minute of the game ..that is all - this “didn’t have to play after” is complete garbage …they were struggling to keep their lead for the rest of the game …
19-04-2022, 06:58 AM
Don’t think anyone has said it was acceptable ..but you can appreciate the performance . Particularly after how poor we have been
Hearts were 2 goals up for one minute of the game ..that is all - this “didn’t have to play after” is complete garbage …they were struggling to keep their lead for the rest of the game …
I think the bottom line is many fans didn’t care about the performance on Saturday- they just wanted a win.
Just find a way to win first then then we can analyse how to improve. It nearly made it worse that we gave more effort than the week before and played a different team - basically admitting the week before was a failed experiment.
Anyway if we had played like Saturday in Scottish Cup final in 2016 against Rangers and lost would fans be happy ?
In a 50/50 or near equal split game fans just want a win.
Hearts mentality before the game Neilson said - it’s a derby then a semi final. Meaning get the job done.
I think the good performance line not winning a game can only be used as a comfort blanket when you play a far superior opponent.
19-04-2022, 07:08 AM
I think the bottom line is many fans didn’t care about the performance on Saturday- they just wanted a win.
Just find a way to win first then then we can analyse how to improve. It nearly made it worse that we gave more effort than the week before and played a different team - basically admitting the week before was a failed experiment.
Anyway if we had played like Saturday in Scottish Cup final in 2016 against Rangers and lost would fans be happy ?
Hearts mentality before the game Neilson said - it’s a derby then a semi final. Meaning get the job done.
I think the good performance line not winning a game can only be used as a comfort blanket when you play a far superior opponent.
Have you always used "failed experiment" to describe a team going on to the park and losing or is only since Maloney has taken charge?
People are skipping over the fact we have zero senior strikers fit. When that's pointed out they then claim that's Maloney's fault, he should've done better in the January window, should've had a list of signings when he took the job (even though he didn't apply). Really unsure how narrative from summer has shifted from Jack Ross was let down by Mathie and the club to its Maloney's fault.
Very difficult to find a way to win when you are relying on Scott (many want him out the club pronto) and Melkersen.
If Mitchell hadn't got injured we'd have won more games. His pace alone would've made us a much more difficult opponent.
Paulie Walnuts
19-04-2022, 07:12 AM
Have you always used "failed experiment" to describe a team going on to the park and losing or is only since Maloney has taken charge?
People are skipping over the fact we have zero senior strikers fit. When that's pointed out they then claim that's Maloney's fault, he should've done better in the January window, should've had a list of signings when he took the job (even though he didn't apply). Really unsure how narrative from summer has shifted from Jack Ross was let down by Mathie and the club to its Maloney's fault.
Very difficult to find a way to win when you are relying on Scott (many want him out the club pronto) and Melkersen.
If Mitchell hadn't got injured we'd have won more games. His pace alone would've made us a much more difficult opponent.
The narrative certainly has shifted to it being the managers fault if the recruitment isn’t good enough. It’s a huge turn around from the summer when the manager was apportioned pretty much none of the blame for it.
killie-hibby
19-04-2022, 07:25 AM
Ha,ha I started a couple o years before you, and thats what makes us Hibs supporters, we dont just give up and throw oor toys oot the pram when things are no going well.
HA HA HA HA My addiction started in 1956. :flag:. I'm in until I expire.
19-04-2022, 07:42 AM
The narrative certainly has shifted to it being the managers fault if the recruitment isn’t good enough. It’s a huge turn around from the summer when the manager was apportioned pretty much none of the blame for it.
I don’t think the narrative has changed.
The recruitment was poor in the summer. The football and results weren’t good enough. Ross carries the can for not getting enough out of what he had to work with.
Recruitment in January was poor. The football and results have been horrendous. Maloney is to blame for that.
19-04-2022, 07:59 AM
Five games to "save" his job. We've covered to the death about bottom six being a failure, and it is but that's where we are. And if it's ever going to work for SM then now is the time. No big tough games against rivals or OF.
Shackles off, no more square pegs in round holes. play the players you want for next season in their right positions in the style you want to implement and lets see what you've got
19-04-2022, 08:02 AM
We must must show something. Something to give me a glimmer of hope that we might be putting something together for next season. I voted go because if the choice was made tomorrow I'd rather he went. If we can win 5 from 5 or a similarly decent record and really show that this team have some ability then that would change.
19-04-2022, 08:08 AM
Five games to "save" his job. We've covered to the death about bottom six being a failure, and it is but that's where we are. And if it's ever going to work for SM then now is the time. No big tough games against rivals or OF.
Shackles off, no more square pegs in round holes. play the players you want for next season in their right positions in the style you want to implement and lets see what you've got
The style he wants to implement doesn't work with the players we have. That's why we've ended up in the bottom 6.
I'd rather he works with what he has, picks up the points we need to avoid the relegation playoff. After we're safe, he can piss about with his style all he wants.
19-04-2022, 08:20 AM
Tbh, I get that…semi finals are all about the results - not the performance . I absolutely can get the view of - we got beat , it wasn’t good enough. Particularly after such an appalling season - fans have every right to think “enough is enough “. I’m often there myself . There is nuance though, and a Hibs team that performed like Saturday would win many more points than we have recently . That would be a start ! :)
sorrow sorrow
19-04-2022, 08:56 AM
He’s away
19-04-2022, 09:00 AM
He’s away
Apparently so.
19-04-2022, 09:00 AM
He’s away
Really? We are an absolute shambles.
19-04-2022, 09:03 AM
The style he wants to implement doesn't work with the players we have. That's why we've ended up in the bottom 6.
I'd rather he works with what he has, picks up the points we need to avoid the relegation playoff. After we're safe, he can piss about with his style all he wants.
I do agree to an extent, but SM risked going full Terry Butcher had he told the players they weren't wanted or needed next term. Maybe his downfall will be that he only has one style or plan and cant mix it up when needed. Certainly his subs when chasing a game point to that in a way. I don't see us being dragged in to a play off battle if I'm honest
There was a large element of square pegs in round holes due to injuries/suspensions as well as persevering with players hopelessly out of form like Nisbet. With that "pressure" now off all I'm saying is I'd like to see SM discard players he thinks wont be involved and promote youth players if necessary to implement his style. We've saw it 4 or 5 times and if he is to remain next term he needs to show fans (and the board) why they should invest in him
EDIT: HE's GONE
TelaStella
19-04-2022, 09:04 AM
Going, going, gone.
19-04-2022, 09:04 AM
Gone
19-04-2022, 09:05 AM
At least we learned from the Butcher debacle and acted in time.
19-04-2022, 09:07 AM
That'll be that then.