View Full Version : Stevenson
Showed exactly why he should be in the team
16-04-2022, 01:53 PM
Our best player by a distance. Shouldn’t have been taken off.
16-04-2022, 01:55 PM
Would love to slate him as I've always seen him as the weak link, but his all round play was immense today
skyehibee
16-04-2022, 01:56 PM
Sensational performance. Should never have been subbed unless he was carrying a knock.
16-04-2022, 01:56 PM
Lewis was brilliant today
16-04-2022, 01:57 PM
Outstanding performance
Brilliant :top marks
Absolutely superb. Not only does he need to play, he needs to play central midfield
Mr Hibs
Zemamma10
16-04-2022, 01:58 PM
In amongst the disappointment he was immense, brilliant for goal, didn’t stop running, never shirked a challenge and a shining example to others in the squad. Top class efforts today.
hhibs
Sensational performance. Should never have been subbed unless he was carrying a knock.
Exactly and I saw no signal from him that he was done.
Paulie Walnuts
Should be starting every week. Never lets us down and sets the standard for effort and desire.
16-04-2022, 02:00 PM
Yip, and if anything it should have been JDH going off and stevenson could have sat a bit deeper
16-04-2022, 02:00 PM
He should never have been dropped and after today he more than deserves to keep his place in the team.
16-04-2022, 02:01 PM
Why on earth he was taken off will forever baffle me. MOTM by miles.
16-04-2022, 02:02 PM
Why on earth he was taken off will forever baffle me. MOTM by miles.
34. Tired....
16-04-2022, 02:02 PM
He'd been limping for a while after the 40-60 tackle he'd won. We needed fresh legs.
olivebuzzer
16-04-2022, 02:03 PM
In amongst the disappointment he was immense, brilliant for goal, didn’t stop running, never shirked a challenge and a shining example to others in the squad. Top class efforts today.
Tha Cabbage Kid
16-04-2022, 02:03 PM
Why on earth he was taken off will forever baffle me. MOTM by miles.I didn't understand that either. He didnt look like he couldn't carry on. And that fight was less when he wasn't there! Well done lewy! What a guy!
Sent from my moto g(8) power using Tapatalk
16-04-2022, 02:04 PM
He should start in the middle until the end of the season, as should Henderson (not in the middle but he should start)
If only we could clone another few of Lewis Stevenson we would be in a far better place. The threads often become littered with praise for effort or work rate but you know you are getting that with LS. Today, and most weeks, he was just a stand out player. Was alert to every 2nd ball, always wanted to receive the ball in tight areas, knocked it about well, grabbed an assist and dominated his opposite number.
16-04-2022, 02:06 PM
Outstanding performance from someone who knows what it’s all about.
Criminal that he has been omitted in recent outings. Should be first name on the team sheet.
16-04-2022, 02:10 PM
34. Tired....
Was still at that point our most effective player.
The Captain....
16-04-2022, 02:10 PM
He should start in the middle until the end of the season, as should Henderson.
If only we could clone another few of Lewis Stevenson we would be in a far better place. The threads often become littered with praise for effort or work rate but you know you are getting that with LS. Today, and most weeks, he was just a stand out player. Was alert to every 2nd ball, always wanted to receive the ball in tight areas, knocked it about well, grabbed an assist and dominated his opposite number.An absolute mystery why we didn't keep him in midfield after Arbroath. Made such a difference.
One of many selection questions Maloney has to answer for over his tenure.
Sent from my SM-G996B using Tapatalk
hfcok
16-04-2022, 02:11 PM
Much better in midfield, such a calm influence in the middle of the park, outstanding today.
16-04-2022, 02:13 PM
Was still at that point our most effective player.Totally agree.. I think Greencore was just winding up the folks in our support that don't actually follow and understand football and keep telling everyone Lewey is useless :greengrin
H18S NX
16-04-2022, 02:14 PM
Even if he had only one leg,I would have kept him on.Fantastic game today.
16-04-2022, 02:15 PM
Why the likes of JDH and Campbell have been getting game time in that position ahead of Lewis is utterly baffling, one of the reasons why we missed out on top 6. We’ve lost far too many battles on that area of the pitch this season against supposedly inferior teams.
16-04-2022, 02:22 PM
Best player on the park. Wonder how his career would have paned out if he had stayed as a central midfielder.
16-04-2022, 02:24 PM
He was terrific today
The type of character we needed after last week
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
16-04-2022, 02:25 PM
Why the likes of JDH and Campbell have been getting game time in that position ahead of Lewis is utterly baffling, one of the reasons why we missed out on top 6. We’ve lost far too many battles on that area of the pitch this season against supposedly inferior teams.
Manager Is pressured to play and develop younger players ?
Stevenson was tired??
beensaidbefore
16-04-2022, 02:28 PM
Looked like he hurt himself flying into the tackle early second half. Seemed to be in a bit of pain.
Heart of a lion. Great performance today
kentao
16-04-2022, 03:15 PM
Man of the match for me, should never have been subbed.
wee Stevie
16-04-2022, 03:17 PM
Absolutely brilliant today, showed why he has been picked by manager after manager.
allmodcons
16-04-2022, 03:28 PM
Lewis is a living legend.
I have NEVER seen him shirk a tackle.
He was absolutely immense today.
shetlandhibee
16-04-2022, 03:31 PM
if we had 10 Lewis Stevensons on the pitch today we,d have won 7 0:not worth
16-04-2022, 03:33 PM
Hopefully he outlast the manager at the club, remains a key player as today showed
Mr Hibs.
16-04-2022, 03:33 PM
He should never have been dropped and after today he more than deserves to keep his place in the team.
I’m assuming he was dropped to accommodate Newell?
A man who has never let us down giving way to a man who goes missing and sold the jerseys at a time when we were in the ascendancy today.
Lewis just didn’t deserve to be on the losing side today.
16-04-2022, 03:37 PM
MOTM for me and a big reason why we competed so well. I simply can't understand why he was dropped the previous two games, especially the one at Tiny.
18Craig75
16-04-2022, 03:42 PM
Just makes it all the more baffling that this manager has chosen not to play him.
16-04-2022, 03:43 PM
Man of the match for me, should never have been subbed.
Think he was knackered after a dodgy tackle earlier.
16-04-2022, 03:44 PM
He’s, outwith Hibs, a spectacularly under rated footballer.
16-04-2022, 03:45 PM
For me he was our stand out player, and I've never been as big a fan of his as some others on here. When he plays in midfield, the majority of the time he's excellent, and for me personally that plays to his strengths rather than playing him just as a left back. A credit to the team today and worked so hard as well, well Lewis, you've definitely got my vote.
16-04-2022, 03:48 PM
Stevenson played how I think midfielders should play the game. In their faces constantly, closing down and putting in tackles. It’s why I’ll never see what people see in Newall.
16-04-2022, 03:48 PM
He’s, outwith Hibs, a spectacularly under rated footballer.
He’s been under-rated by plenty within Hibs over the years.
If nothing else, I’m pleased to see him finally receiving much of the appreciation he’s long deserved.
16-04-2022, 03:50 PM
Favourite player at Hibs. Criminally underated and one of the only players at the club to leave everything on the pitch every time he plays. Would love for HTC to get renamed the Lewis Stevenson Training Centre. Missed a trick letting his laddie go Rangers if he ends up anything like his Dad.
16-04-2022, 03:54 PM
Would love to slate him as I've always seen him as the weak link, but his all round play was immense today
He's never been our weakest link.
He'll have poorer games like every footballer does, but he's our most dependable player.
He'll be very, very difficult to replace when he finally retires.
16-04-2022, 03:55 PM
Incredible today.
16-04-2022, 03:55 PM
He’s been under-rated by plenty within Hibs over the years.
If nothing else, I’m pleased to see him finally receiving much of the appreciation he’s long deserved.
People are finally starting to see what we’ll be missing when he does eventually retire (hopefully a long way off yet!)
16-04-2022, 04:24 PM
Magnificent performance - will be a huge loss when he finishes playing what us. Absolutely love the guy
16-04-2022, 04:26 PM
Sensational performance by LS. His transition from RB to midfield has been amazing.
Gave everything he had today.
16-04-2022, 04:39 PM
Lewis is the epitome of commitment and professionalism.
It’s a rare thing these days to be living in the time of a Hibs legend.
fiolex1
16-04-2022, 04:41 PM
He was simple outstanding. Imagine if we had 11 players with the same attitude!
gazzag70
16-04-2022, 05:52 PM
His performance today was simply outstanding, what a player he has been. If only we had eleven of him.
16-04-2022, 06:03 PM
My all time favourite Hibee. It’s a shame how often he’s had to put up with players who don’t even have a hundredth of his contribution to the club otherwise his medal rack wouldn’t be able to hold its weight.
16-04-2022, 06:33 PM
It saddens me to say that Lewis Stevenson was, by far, our best player today. The player, who normally plays a supporting role to the SJM, Stokes, Boyle, Nisbet, Brown, Thomson, Fletcher, Benji, Cummings, Holt, Keatings, O'Connor, Riordan, Fyvie, McGeoch etc etc, was, by far, our best player. It shows how far we've regressed.
16-04-2022, 06:35 PM
It saddens me to say that Lewis Stevenson was, by far, our best player today. The player, who normally plays a supporting role to the SJM, Stokes, Boyle, Nisbet, Brown, Thomson, Fletcher, Benji, Cummings, Holt, Keatings, O'Connor, Riordan, Fyvie, McGeoch etc etc, was, by far, our best player. It shows how far we've regressed.
He’s always been one of our best players.
16-04-2022, 06:36 PM
Stevenson has continuously shown he’s one of our better players.
When is Stevenson contracted until ?
JamesHFC
16-04-2022, 06:46 PM
When he retires I fully expect a stand to be named after him or a statue to be made. The only ever Hibs player to win both trophies. Over 500 appearances and gives his all in every match. Players like him don’t come along often.
16-04-2022, 06:47 PM
When is Stevenson contracted until ?
Summer 2023
16-04-2022, 06:48 PM
Stevenson has continuously shown he’s one of our better players.
Yes, but you miss my point. We had better players who scored goals and drove us forward through the midfield. If Lewis Stevenson is our best player, we are in a bad situation. Great player he is, love him, but we need better players who take control.
16-04-2022, 06:51 PM
Yes, but you miss my point. We had better players who scored goals and drove us forward through the midfield. If Lewis Stevenson is our best player, we are in a bad situation. Great player he is, love him, but we need better players who take control.
That’ll be Stevenson who drove us forward today? Who won the ball back when Newell lost it and got an assist for our goal today?
16-04-2022, 06:53 PM
That’ll be Stevenson who drove us forward today? Who won the ball back when Newell lost it and got an assist for our goal today?
You really are missing my point.
LewysGot2
16-04-2022, 07:05 PM
Supporting role? To Fyvie? Keatings? Aye, okay...
16-04-2022, 07:09 PM
Supporting role? To Fyvie? Keatings? Aye, okay...
I mean, he did to Fyvie really. No idea why fraser gets put down. He was part if the excellent midfield that was key to our success. Fyvie and mcgeouch helped Lewis a lot by taking the ball from him so often, meaning he didn't need to go back.
16-04-2022, 07:13 PM
Unbelievable today. What a man! Love the guy.
I get we were going for it but he probably would have been the last player I took off.
LewysGot2
16-04-2022, 07:21 PM
I mean, he did to Fyvie really. No idea why fraser gets put down. He was part if the excellent midfield that was key to our success. Fyvie and mcgeouch helped Lewis a lot by taking the ball from him so often, meaning he didn't need to go back.
Not putting Fyvie down at all but there's no way Lewis is somehow a bit part in any Hibs team down the years. Especially compared to many if not most of the players he's played with in that time
16-04-2022, 07:35 PM
Fantastic today Lewis. Fight & passion is what a Hibs captain is. Make him ours for the rest of the season.
16-04-2022, 07:53 PM
Not putting Fyvie down at all but there's no way Lewis is somehow a bit part in any Hibs team down the years. Especially compared to many if not most of the players he's played with in that time
I agree, he has been very good. I love Lewis.
He has never been our best player, though.
16-04-2022, 08:08 PM
Much maligned and misused phrase but, he's one of our own.
Sioux
16-04-2022, 08:16 PM
Who was the clown manager that decided he was a left back?
beensaidbefore
16-04-2022, 08:25 PM
I think we have all underestimated just how good a footballer LS is. The fact we are talking about him having a MOM game at hampden 15 years afte he did that in the cup final shows us how good he is. Lewis Stevenson is not the problem
16-04-2022, 08:28 PM
He was today
LewysGot2
16-04-2022, 08:31 PM
Nobody is claiming that though
I love Lewis, we’re going to seriously miss that guy when he retires.
LewysGot2
16-04-2022, 08:41 PM
I love Lewis, we’re going to seriously miss that guy when he retires.
He's playing every game as though it was his last and its showing. You don't know what you have got until it is gone
16-04-2022, 08:45 PM
His work for our goal was different class.
Starts in middle of the park every week for me!
34 years young!
loanheadhibby
16-04-2022, 09:29 PM
My all time favourite Hibee. It’s a shame how often he’s had to put up with players who don’t even have a hundredth of his contribution to the club otherwise his medal rack wouldn’t be able to hold its weight.
Sad that Lewis Stevenson is your all time favourite Hibbie.
You've obviously been starved of watching some good Hibs teams over the years.
Lewis would tell you himself he is an ordinary player but I have to admit he was outstanding today and easily our MOM.
If only some had followed his lead we may have been talking about a famous win.
16-04-2022, 09:31 PM
Lewis would tell you himself he is an ordinary player but I have to admit he was outstanding today and easily our MOM.
Just to check, you are being sarcastic, right?
16-04-2022, 09:33 PM
A very reasonable choice as someone's favourite ever player. A Hibs legend and our most successful player in 70 years? Sounds pretty spot on.
Mightve been better teams and players but they all achieved less.
coldingham hibs
16-04-2022, 09:35 PM
I’ve never ever understood why Lewis was moved to fullback after his MOM display in the 2007 League Cup Final. An absolute travesty. He’d have been the best midfielder in Scotland if they had left him in that position, of that I have no doubt. They guy is 100% Hibs and a true legend. Still wears his heart on his sleeve after 15
+ years. Never ever let’s us down. We will miss him big style when he retires.
16-04-2022, 09:38 PM
A very reasonable choice as someone's favourite ever player. A Hibs legend and our most successful player in 70 years? Sounds pretty spot on.
Mightve been better teams and players but they all achieved less.
His achievements at Hibs are the antithesis of ordinary - they’re unique. He’s in the same bracket as the Famous Five, Stanton, Sauzee and the very greatest that our club has seen. Loyalty, achievement, work ethic, character and understanding of the club all impeccable. And wildly under rated as a footballer.
I’d like him to move into youth development at the club as if we have players coming through with half the attitude to the game that he does then we’re onto a winner.
17-04-2022, 10:43 AM
Which is the point that I'm trying to make. Yesterday, he was our best player, by far. Which, to me, is an indication of how far we've regressed!
That often used expression "you are only as good as your weakest link" comes to mind. In seasons past, there were people saying "we need a new left back, one who has more goal threat" etc etc. In some peoples eyes, he was one of our weakest links. We started this season acknowledging that his days were maybe numbered with the emergence of Doig. Yesterday shows that he's our strongest link.
Keyser Sauzee
17-04-2022, 11:55 AM
Aside from the 07 final yesterday has to be his best performance for us, if not then it’s atleast up there. He was all over the place and won everything he went for, got a great assist where he showed great composure and was just all round excellent. I’ve never been his biggest fan but it’s now beyond debate how much a legend he is with us and yesterday was the epitome of a Stevenson performance, pure grit and determination.
17-04-2022, 12:01 PM
Aside from the 07 final yesterday has to be his best performance for us, if not then it’s atleast up there. He was all over the place and won everything he went for, got a great assist where he showed great composure and was just all round excellent. I’ve never been his biggest fan but it’s now beyond debate how much a legend he is with us and yesterday was the epitome of a Stevenson performance, pure grit and determination.
I’d go as far as saying that was a John McGinn-esque performance from him. Attacking, defending, all action.
LewysGot2
17-04-2022, 12:08 PM
I’d go as far as saying that was a John McGinn-esque performance from him. Attacking, defending, all action.
👏
It's a shame some folk can't just see it for what it was without adding caveats. He's never ever been close to being the worst player in any of the squads he's been in. He has always given everything for the cause. He will play anywhere he is asked without question and he adapts. He's fitter than anyone else at 34 years old. He's made the most of every opportunity that has come his way. He's a better player than the doubters say. When he's gone the Stevenson sized hole is going to be hard to fill.
17-04-2022, 12:08 PM
His achievements at Hibs are the antithesis of ordinary - they’re unique. He’s in the same bracket as the Famous Five, Stanton, Sauzee and the very greatest that our club has seen. Loyalty, achievement, work ethic, character and understanding of the club all impeccable. And wildly under rated as a footballer.
I’d like him to move into youth development at the club as if we have players coming through with half the attitude to the game that he does then we’re onto a winner.
He is levels above sauzee.
17-04-2022, 12:10 PM
👏
It's a shame some folk can't just see it for what it was without adding caveats. He's never ever been close to being the worst player in any of the squads he's been in. He has always given everything for the cause. He will play anywhere he is asked without question and he adapts. He's fitter than anyone else at 34 years old. He's made the most of every opportunity that has come his way. He's a better player than the doubters say. When he's gone the Stevenson sized hole is going to be hard to fill.
I honestly reckon he’s got at least two or three seasons in him at this level.
17-04-2022, 12:14 PM
Sad that you can't see why a double cup winning legend with 500+ appearances, who never lets Hibs down, hardly loses a tackle and is the perfect professional still at 34, has set up a foundation to work with local charities, clearly loves the Hibs and feels it when we lose wouldn't be someone's favourite ever Hibs player
sadtom
17-04-2022, 02:22 PM
They estimate that approximately 107 billion human beings have ever lived…only one has a league cup and Scottish cup winners medal for Hibs.
Has our 4th most most appearances ever.
Incredibly consistent.
Utterly professional and a joy to work with by all accounts.
Fit as a flea and hardly ever injured.
Unassuming and humble.
Never hear of complaints or any histrionics when dropped.
Plays like he cares and never has a bad word for the club.
A fantastic ambassador for Hibs who is never involved in any off field shenanigans.
If that doesn’t make you a Hibs legend and puts him in the running for favourite ever player then **** me! What does!?
17-04-2022, 02:24 PM
They estimate that approximately 107 billion human beings have ever lived…only one has a league cup and Scottish cup winners medal for Hibs.
Incredibly consistent.
Unassuming and humble.
A fantastic ambassador for Hibs who is never involved in any off field shenanigans.
If that doesn’t make you a Hibs legend and puts him in the running for favourite ever player then **** me! What does!?
Excellent post.
17-04-2022, 02:33 PM
Incredibly consistent.
Unassuming and humble.
17-04-2022, 02:35 PM
true hibs legend
17-04-2022, 03:01 PM
Favourite players don’t have to be the best - there are a number of obvious reasons why Lewis could be someone’s favourite player …..
17-04-2022, 03:02 PM
It's a shame his laddie plays for Rangers. We should have snapped him up.
17-04-2022, 03:04 PM
It's a shame his laddie plays for Rangers. We should have snapped him up.
I believe he was at our academy and chose to move to theirs ….
LewysGot2
17-04-2022, 03:21 PM
He was at Dunfermline before the move to that other club?
coldingham hibs
17-04-2022, 03:24 PM
He was at Dunfermline before the move to that other club?
Nope
WestEndHibee
17-04-2022, 03:54 PM
Incredibly consistent.
Unassuming and humble.
:top marks:not worth:flag:
LewysGot2
17-04-2022, 04:15 PM
Nope
He definitely played for the Fife academy as recently as last year? Evidence is on his mums social media?
coldingham hibs
17-04-2022, 04:40 PM
He definitely played for the Fife academy as recently as last year? Evidence is on his mums social media?
He played for Hillfield Swifts at the time Hibs scouted him. Hillfield Swifts don’t allow players to join Pro clubs until they are 13 years old. If they choose to join a Pro club then they have to leave the club. At that time Lewis was one of the coaches so his son stayed with Hillfield. He eventually left for Hibs. Then Rangers & possibly Fife Elite later. At the age he was he could play with several clubs at the same time.
LewysGot2
17-04-2022, 04:44 PM
He played for Hillfield Swifts at the time Hibs scouted him. Hillfield Swifts don’t allow players to join Pro clubs until they are 13 years old. If they choose to join a Pro club then they have to leave the club. At that time Lewis was one of the coaches so his son stayed with Hillfield. He eventually left for Hibs. Then Rangers & possibly Fife Elite later. At the age he was he could play with several clubs at the same time.
He's definitely in his mum's photos playing for Dunfermline last May - that's part of the Fife elite cross club programme
Still very young. Who knows where he'll end up 🙏
17-04-2022, 04:49 PM
Got told by someone that takes a youth team through Dunfermline that through Covid they just expected LS to take the team when they furloughed the hibs coaches, LS told them to bolt
coldingham hibs
17-04-2022, 04:49 PM
He's definitely in his mum's photos playing for Dunfermline last May - that's part of the Fife elite cross club programme
Fife Elite changed to Dunfermline this year, I think. He may have been there but it wasn’t before he joined Hibs. During Covid Hibs academy effectively shut down meaning players traveling distances (Fife etc) pretty much fell out of the Academy. I’m guessing Rangers may have continued hence why they became his choice, but that’s just a guess.
17-04-2022, 04:53 PM
Fife Elite changed to Dunfermline this year, I think. He may have been there but it wasn’t before he joined Hibs. During Covid Hibs academy effectively shut down meaning players traveling distances (Fife etc) pretty much fell out of the Academy. I’m guessing Rangers may have continued hence why they became his choice, but that’s just a guess.
Makes better sense than the (I’m not a hun) Dunfermline supporter told me
coldingham hibs
17-04-2022, 04:59 PM
Makes better sense than the (I’m not a hun) Dunfermline supporter told me
Never believe a Dunfermline supporter 😂.
To be honest, the Hibs Academy really need to be better funded. Rangers take players into their academy about 2 years earlier than Hibs so the youngest players are already being picked up before Hibs become involved.
21-04-2022, 08:40 AM
The more I think about it the more I think we should bend the rules as a one off and induct Lewis into the club hall of fame before he retires. It’s going to happen at some point anyway, his achievements are entirely unique, he’s given his career to the club and when you look at how the likes of Josh Doig have benefitted from his knowledge and expertise and also how the local community benefit from the Hanlon Stevenson Foundation I think it’s merited.
Should be awarded it at ER IMHO.
Daily Hibs
21-04-2022, 10:39 AM
The more I think about it the more I think we should bend the rules as a one off and induct Lewis into the club hall of fame before he retires. It’s going to happen at some point anyway, his achievements are entirely unique, he’s given his career to the club and when you look at how the likes of Josh Doig have benefitted from his knowledge and expertise and also how the local community benefit from the Hanlon Stevenson Foundation I think it’s merited.
Should be awarded it at ER IMHO.
Induct him and retire him at the end of this season.
21-04-2022, 10:40 AM
Why would we retire one of our best players? Why do you think it would be the clubs decision to make?
21-04-2022, 10:41 AM
I’d sooner you were inducted and retired.
21-04-2022, 10:41 AM
I think we should leave the decision on when to retire to Stevenson himself, and I would expect that decision should not come shortly after being the standout Hibs player at Hampden.
It actually defies belief that Stevenson is getting grief right now.
21-04-2022, 10:44 AM
Favourite players don’t have to be the best - there are a number of obvious reasons why Lewis could be someone’s favourite player …..
Correct. Ivan Sproule was and still is one of my favourite players. I’ve never been under any illusions as to where he ranks ability wise in our history.
LewysGot2
21-04-2022, 10:44 AM
I think we should leave the decision on when to retire to Stevenson himself, and I would expect that decision should not come shortly after being the standout Hibs player at Hampden.
It actually defies belief that Stevenson is getting grief right now.
Because a fair bit of that criticism is trolls hiding in plain sight. Looking for a bit of sport whilst they wait on the cup final.
Daily Hibs
21-04-2022, 10:50 AM
Because a fair bit of that criticism is trolls hiding in plain sight. Looking for a bit of sport whilst they wait on the cup final.
Hibs fans wanting the club to upgrade on players who divide opinion and who have been at the club for too long now is not trolling.
LewysGot2
21-04-2022, 10:52 AM
Hibs fans wanting the club to upgrade on players who divide opinion and who have been at the club for too long now is not trolling.
Yeah, like I said...not talking about Hibs fans.
21-04-2022, 10:53 AM
There is no "been at the club too long".
Players are either good enough or not good enough, it doesn't matter how long they've been there.
I'm happy to agree to disagree with you regarding whether or not Stevenson and Hanlon are good enough.
If Hibs fancy signing and playing better than these guys then they can be my guest, but the reason they're still here is because they're still amongst our best players.
Daily Hibs
21-04-2022, 10:57 AM
There is no "been at the club too long".
Players are either good enough or not good enough, it doesn't matter how long they've been there.
I'm happy to agree to disagree with you regarding whether or not Stevenson and Hanlon are good enough.
If Hibs fancy signing and playing better than these guys then they can be my guest, but the reason they're still here is because they're still amongst our best players.
And in my opinion that is the single most reason why we find ourselves in the position we are in, again. Looking for a new manager, bottom six and just lost a derby SC semi final. It's not good enough. We are relying on average players and are currently very average.
21-04-2022, 10:57 AM
[/B]
And in my opinion that is the single most reason why we find ourselves in the position we are in, again. Looking for a new manager, bottom six and just lost a derby SC semi final. It's not good enough. We are relying on average players and are currently very average.
Stevenson’s achievements at the club are not average, they are historically unique.
HFC93
21-04-2022, 11:00 AM
Safe to say he has plenty of content for a book on his time at Easter Road when he retires.
21-04-2022, 11:04 AM
[/B]
Fair enough, but I think we'd get better more quickly by improving on our worst players rather than our better ones.
FWIW I think we've just given our weakest link (the manager) the bullet and we can start to properly improve.
If we bring in better than Hanlon and Stevenson then fine. Anyone coming in will need to be on their toes though, because you know for sure that Stevenson and Hanlon will fight tooth and nail to keep their places in the team.
21-04-2022, 11:21 AM
Fair enough, but I think we'd get better more quickly by improving on our worst players rather than our better ones.
FWIW I think we've just given our weakest link (the manager) the bullet and we can start to properly improve.
If we bring in better than Hanlon and Stevenson then fine. Anyone coming in will need to be on their toes though, because you know for sure that Stevenson and Hanlon will fight tooth and nail to keep their places in the team.
That is what all players should have to do or be expected to do, or they should not be anywhere near Easter Road.
[/B]
Funny how that average player was part of the team that won the Scottish Cup and the same average player that won a LC medal and got MOTM.
you do understand that at our level we cannot fill our team with superstars and spend spend spend until other teams.
It’s about balance etc.
As it stands our team with Lewis in it is better. Yes we have been under performing however injuries haven’t been favourable to us.
So a question for you. On our budget and playing to each players strengths etc who would you have replacing Lewis??
21-04-2022, 11:26 AM
[/B]
We need better than what we've got. It's been staring us in the face for a while.
Daily Hibs
21-04-2022, 11:49 AM
Agreed, many thanks for your sensible reply.
Proper competition for places. Not these two being untouchable.
21-04-2022, 11:54 AM
Excellent post.
21-04-2022, 12:04 PM
No one says they are untouchable!
Stop making straw man arguments to justify your ludicrous opinion.
Daily Hibs
21-04-2022, 12:37 PM
No one says they are untouchable!
Stop making straw man arguments to justify your ludicrous opinion.
Ludicrous opinion? Ludicrous opinion of thinking the club should be doing a lot better than it is and has been with all the chances its had? It's a fans forum :thumbsup:
21-04-2022, 02:27 PM
You know Lewis isn't even really first choice?
And Hanlon is a key part of a very good defensive record for the last 2 years?