16-04-2022, 01:15 PM
Certainly needs to improve his kicking, but not much wrong today
Sent from my EML-L29 using Tapatalk
aarsan
16-04-2022, 01:15 PM
And his kicking into touch ?
16-04-2022, 01:16 PM
Can't believe people actually like macey.
Calm doon, his kicking apart he done nothing wrong
Dan Sarf
We need a new keeper, fill stop
This Phil Stop sounds good. Who does he play for?
16-04-2022, 01:17 PM
We need a new keeper, fill stop
What did he do wrong today? Or are we just rushing to start threads dedicated to trashing our own personal scapegoats? :greengrin
hibbytam
We probably do, but he wasn't the reason for not winning today
Calm doon, his kicking apart he done nothing wrong
He can't shot stop, he's *****. Wake up.
16-04-2022, 01:18 PM
Aye ok
leithsansiro
16-04-2022, 01:22 PM
Couldn’t have stopped either of those goals.
That said, Gordon has easily earned Hearts about 8 or 9 points this season with world class saves.
cameronw-hfc
16-04-2022, 01:22 PM
As a goalie coach myself I'd be telling my keepers if they conceded either of those goals to keep their head up as there was nothing they could have done. But aye, he can't save shots.
Inconsequential
16-04-2022, 01:23 PM
I think he is as good a keeper as Hibs will get. Marciano is gone get over it. Honestly some people. Why not criticise Newell instead?
16-04-2022, 01:23 PM
As a goalie coach myself I'd be telling my keepers if they conceded either of those goals to keep their head up as there was nothing they could have done. But aye, he can't save shots.
... shot stopping, one on one. He palms them away, naw, you're right. He cannae. Pish. Behave.
cameronw-hfc
16-04-2022, 01:25 PM
... shot stopping, one on one. He palms them away, naw, you're right. He cannae. Pish. Behave.
Not sure what you're attempting to accomplish by repeating the types of saves keepers make when shot stopping, but I've seen Macey make plenty of top saves for us, the derby at Tynie comes to mind earlier in the season. Keep your agenda up though, can tell you definitely know your stuff :)
16-04-2022, 01:30 PM
There is a reason top clubs spent 50 million on goalies who can pass it about. Its rare. Feel for Macey. It's not his game whatsoever. Wouldn't ask mcgregor to pass it about, that's why he's not been involved. Or Gogic.
Modern keepers need distribution skills. End of.
cameronw-hfc
16-04-2022, 01:34 PM
Gordon does alright with awful distribution. Always been one of his weaknesses but he gets by alright. You're just looking for a reason to slate him
Never mind wake up you need to sober up, while he's not Andy Goram he certainly didn't let us down today
Not sure what you're attempting to accomplish by repeating the types of saves keepers make when shot stopping, but I've seen Macey make plenty of top saves for us, the derby at Tynie comes to mind earlier in the season. Keep your agenda up though, can tell you definitely know your stuff :)
Difference for them was Gordon today, we had macey. If you think he's decent and we are bottom six you know nout about coaching a goalie. ;)
16-04-2022, 01:35 PM
Difference for them was Gordon today, we had macey. If you think he's decent and we are bottom six you know nout about coaching a goalie. ;)
Gordon made a good save. He was equally dreadful with his feet.
16-04-2022, 01:36 PM
He’s never good enough. I thought Marciano was bad with the ball at his feet but Macey is way worse.
Never mind wake up you need to sober up, while he's not Andy Goram he certainly didn't let us down today
Well what did he do to keep us in the game? Kicking =*****, one on one's pish.
Behave.
The dalmeny
only to be expected, usual @rseholes who no nothing about keeping
Paulie Walnuts
Not good enough. People were suggesting he’s just as good as Marciano lol
16-04-2022, 01:37 PM
Gordon wouldn't have saved any if the tarts goals. In fact I would go as far as to say no keeper would have
Gordon does alright with awful distribution. Always been one of his weaknesses but he gets by alright. You're just looking for a reason to slate him
Im sorry but I don't need to look that hard, and Gordon's distribution, while not great, is better. Plus, Gordon more than makes up for it with his shot stopping.
Something that definitely needs working on by Macey if he's to stay.
cameronw-hfc
I do think he's a decent goalie, and id say my years of playing and coaching there goes a lot further to judging akeeper than your delusion.
Gordon would have conceded both of those shots btw, keep going though, keep talking out your backside, making you look really knowledgable! Not like you've got a gripe or anything.
Gordon made a good save. He was equally dreadful with his feet.
A few more better saves then macey though.
I'm.not saying he was our worst player, far from It but we can do better
cameronw-hfc
16-04-2022, 01:38 PM
Im sorry but I don't need to look that hard, and Gordon's distribution, while not great, is better. Plus, Gordon more than makes up for it with his shot stopping.
Something that definitely needs working on by Macey if he's to stay.
I'm not arguing he's a great keeper or anything, but to pick him out after today is comical. It's scapegoating a player for the sake of moaning and blaming someone and it's no fair on Matt, who done nothing wrong bar a few shoddy passes.
I do think he's a decent goalie, and id say my years of playing and coaching there goes a lot further to judging akeeper than your delusion.
Gordon would have conceded both of those shots btw, keep going though, keep talking out your backside, making you look really knowledgable! Not like you've got a gripe or anything.
🤣🤣🤣🤣
Hes pish. Accept it
You'll feel much better.
at last 61
This Phil Stop sounds good. Who does he play for?
Cheeky bar steward 😁 in my defence I've got long covid and my brain isn't mine sometimes, anyway I don't have any confidence in macey he's just not got any confidence you can see it in his face, anyway roll on next season
16-04-2022, 01:39 PM
I'm not arguing he's a great keeper or anything, but to pick him out after today is comical. It's scapegoating a player for the sake of moaning and blaming someone and it's no fair on Matt, who done nothing wrong bar a few shoddy passes.
I didn't say he was our worst player I'm just contributing to the thread. I don't rate him , op doesn't rate him, why comment ?
16-04-2022, 01:40 PM
Well what did he do to keep us in the game? Kicking =*****, one on one's pish.
Behave.
What do you mean by "what did he do to keep us in the game?"he didn't cost us any goals, do you expect him to top the assists or goal scoring charts?, he's only a few behind our top scorer right enough which should tell you where the problems lie
16-04-2022, 01:41 PM
A keeper who could have saved those two goals today is never signing for Hibs.
cameronw-hfc
16-04-2022, 01:42 PM
I didn't say he was our worst player I'm just contributing to the thread. I don't rate him , op doesn't rate him, why comment ?
I commented to defend him, because there's a random thread about a player who was the least of our problems today. I'd get it if he made howlers for goals, but both were screamers he could do nothing about. Plain snd simply scapegoating
I agree that he shouldn't be used as a scapegoat. There shouldn't be any today and everyone has faults in their game I suppose. If he does improve his distribution, we'll have a real assert on our hands.
ErinGoBraghHFC
16-04-2022, 01:42 PM
He’s rank, other than him hibs were decent today
16-04-2022, 01:43 PM
I commented to defend him, because there's a random thread about a player who was the least of our problems today. I'd get it if he made howlers for goals, but both were screamers he could do nothing about. Plain snd simply scapegoating
Fair enough, I agree with their goals, screamers. I just don't rate his all round play will agree to disagree, cheers.
A keeper who could have saved those two goals today is never signing for Hibs.
I don't believe a keeper exists that would have saved those shots. Hats off they were outstanding strikes.
16-04-2022, 01:44 PM
he’s rank, other than him hibs were decent today
sent from my iphone using tapatalk
ffs😱
16-04-2022, 01:45 PM
Apart from a couple of bad kicks he was fine today though he didn`t really have much to do .
What do you mean by "what did he do to keep us in the game?"he didn't cost us any goals, do you expect him to top the assists or goal scoring charts?, he's only a few behind our top scorer right enough which should tell you where the problems lie
Lololol, expect him to pick the right players to pass too, to not be under pressure by the filth, 2 good goals by them but all round play not for me.
🤣🤣🤣🤣
Hes pish. Accept it
You'll feel much better.
:top marks:aok:
I don't believe a keeper exists that would have saved those shots. Hats off they were outstanding strikes.
No, I agree. But all round play, not good enough.
16-04-2022, 01:49 PM
I prefer Dabrowski.
No keeper was getting to the goals today though and focussing on a couple of dodgy kicks misses the point about today's game.
No, I agree. But all round play, not good enough.
I think someone else mentioned it, but he actually didn't have that much to do today. Did today really tell us anything about Macey that we didn't already know?
If Maloney brings in better, then great. But a Macey who works on his weaknesses will be a good option for next season too.
16-04-2022, 01:51 PM
I think someone else mentioned it, but he actually didn't have that much to do today. Did today really tell us anything about Macey that we didn't already know?
If Maloney brings in better, then great. But a Macey who works on his weaknesses will be a good option for next season too.
Yes his build up play to attacking in the hearts end was terrible.
Debrowski loyal.
16-04-2022, 01:54 PM
Yes his build up play to attacking in the hearts end was terrible.
Debrowski loyal.
If its a keeper who is really good with the ball at his feet then you won't find him at Hibs. None if them are very clever when they have it at their feet
ErinGoBraghHFC
16-04-2022, 01:57 PM
Better log off before Mummy and Daddy come home, child
Aw behave yourself, Maceys distribution is manky. Can’t blame him for the two goals, two wonder strikes.
16-04-2022, 01:58 PM
No too keen on Macey, for a keeper his size he doesn't seem to get close to much, and his distribution is poor.
In saying that, 2 top class goals beat him today.
16-04-2022, 02:00 PM
No too keen on Macey, for a keeper his size he doesn't seem to get close to much, and his distribution is poor.
In saying that, 2 top class goals beat him today.
He was nowhere at fault for the 2 goals although he may have been a bit off his line to stop either. He is not a very good keeper in my humble, 6ft 7in and jumps 6ft 5in naw no for me.
Tha Cabbage Kid
16-04-2022, 02:01 PM
For a team who want to play from the back Macey is not the answer
Sent from my moto g(8) power using Tapatalk
pedroorange1875
16-04-2022, 02:01 PM
No keeper in the world for any amount of money gets the 2nd....I'm not so sure about the first
16-04-2022, 02:02 PM
If you get a shot on target against us, there’s a fair chance you’re scoring. At the other end, the goalie that makes saves gets them through the tie.
AL-Qaholik
16-04-2022, 02:13 PM
Singled out by John Collins after the game as one that’s nowhere near the level we need.
I agree. His distribution alone is reason enough to replace him.
16-04-2022, 02:14 PM
Singled out by John Collins after the game as one that’s nowhere near the level we need.
I agree. His distribution alone is reason enough to replace him.
John collins should be the last person to comment on keepers!!
16-04-2022, 02:16 PM
Not good enough. An absolutely atrocious kicker of the ball. Killed any momentum we had twice in injury time because he can't pass the ball 15-20 yards. The shank right out the park that was about 10 yards behind Porteous who he was aiming for would have been laughable if it wasn't so important.
One of the priorities for the summer is to address the goalkeeping issue.
16-04-2022, 02:16 PM
Couldn’t have stopped either of those goals.
That said, Gordon has easily earned Hearts about 8 or 9 points this season with world class saves.Totally agree, in fact I'd say he's got them over the lone even more than 8-9 points
hhibs
16-04-2022, 02:17 PM
Macey is not the answer because he is not very good,in fact in my opinion he is a liability and contributes nothing more than making for a nervy Hibs defence.
OldEast
16-04-2022, 02:19 PM
What did he do wrong today? Or are we just rushing to start threads dedicated to trashing our own personal scapegoats? :greengrin
I thought that's what happens here after every game 🤷🏻
16-04-2022, 02:21 PM
We do. He's a foundational problem for our playing style with his inability to distribute properly.
Finding a keeper that's good with his feet and a sound all rounder at our level will be easier said than done though.
Paulie Walnuts
16-04-2022, 02:21 PM
If you get a shot on target against us, there’s a fair chance you’re scoring. At the other end, the goalie that makes saves gets them through the tie.
Yup.
From the Oxley school of keepers. Won’t make many mistakes, won’t save anything at all that you wouldn’t expect him to.
16-04-2022, 02:25 PM
We do. He's a foundational problem for our playing style with his inability to distribute properly.
Finding a keeper that's good with his feet and a sound all rounder at our level will be easier said than done though.
I'd be on the phone to Adam Bogdan to see is he fancies coming back for a 3rd stint.
Not sure what he's earning at Ferencvaros and whether he fancies leaving Hungary again though.
OldEast
16-04-2022, 02:29 PM
I'd be on the phone to Adam Bogdan to see is he fancies coming back for a 3rd stint.
Not sure what he's earning at Ferencvaros and whether he fancies leaving Hungary again though.
Should never have let him go.
16-04-2022, 02:30 PM
Should never have let him go.
I was really disappointed that we did. A huge mistake.
Bearders
16-04-2022, 02:33 PM
No keeper in the world for any amount of money gets the 2nd....I'm not so sure about the first
Agree with this - no chance with second. Got to do better with first.
hhibs
16-04-2022, 02:44 PM
I was really disappointed that we did. A huge mistake.
Agreed .
Bridge hibs
16-04-2022, 02:52 PM
Not sure what he's earning at Ferencvaros and whether he fancies leaving Hungary again though.Have a look at the absolute **** up from the ManCity keeper, they are only human at the end of the day, whether on £100,000 a week or £2000 a week they all have their weak points. Macey isnt bad, there are far worse out there
16-04-2022, 03:00 PM
Have a look at the absolute **** up from the ManCity keeper, they are only human at the end of the day, whether on £100,000 a week or £2000 a week they all have their weak points. Macey isnt bad, there are far worse out there
Bring back Budgie, great keeper and great character.
hhibs
16-04-2022, 03:00 PM
Have a look at the absolute **** up from the ManCity keeper, they are only human at the end of the day, whether on £100,000 a week or £2000 a week they all have their weak points. Macey isnt bad, there are far worse out there
Macey truly is not at all good.
itslegaltender
16-04-2022, 03:15 PM
We need shot of Macey and Dabrowski looks a bomb scare in waiting. Desperately need new ones.
StirlingHibee
16-04-2022, 05:24 PM
Macey's distribution is not good but look at Allison Becker's poor distribution this afternoon and he's world class! Macey doesn't make too many mistakes but for me a keeper has to contribute throughout the season with some good saves which will result in points gained and I don't think we get that from him. Agree that we need a new keeper for next season.
JamesHFC
16-04-2022, 05:47 PM
I’d like to see us go back for Scott Bain.
16-04-2022, 06:28 PM
Yes, but have you seen the shocking performance of the Man City and Liverpool goalkeepers, I believe the best two teams in the world, lately.
Imagine if a Hibs goalkeeper had made the same mistakes.
16-04-2022, 06:33 PM
Yes, but have you seen the shocking performance of the Man City and Liverpool goalkeepers, I believe the best two teams in the world, lately.
Imagine if a Hibs goalkeeper had made the same mistakes.
I'm pretty certain there will be plenty discussion among Man City fans about their managers decision to change their goalkeeper today.
Had they played Ederson there is every chance they would be looking forward to an FA cup final now.
Highwayman
16-04-2022, 08:27 PM
Here’s a question for the anti Hibs keepers brigade.How many out of the last 10 keepers would you give pass marks to and what actually are you looking for in a keeper.As undernoted.
(1) Matt Macey
(2) Kevin Dabrowski
(3) Ofir Marciano
(4) Dillon Barnes
(5) Chris Maxwell
(6) Ross Laidlaw
(7) Adam Bogdan
(8) Mark Oxley
(9) Conrad Logan
(10) Otso Virtanen
16-04-2022, 08:30 PM
Here’s a question for the anti Hibs keepers brigade.How many out of the last 10 keepers would you give pass marks to and what actually are you looking for in a keeper.As undernoted.
(1) Matt Macey
(2) Kevin Dabrowski
(3) Ofir Marciano
(4) Dillon Barnes
(5) Chris Maxwell
(6) Ross Laidlaw
(7) Adam Bogdan
(8) Mark Oxley
(9) Conrad Logan
(10) Otso Virtanen
1. Qualified pass.
2. Juries out
3. Pass
4. Fail. Was honking in the 100 and something minutes he played.
5. Fail. Decent enough keeper but didn’t happen for him here
6. Pass as a back up, fail as a number 1
7. Pass. The one that got away.
8. Qualified fail.
9. Pass. Glad we moved on from him though, was only going one way.
10. Fail. Albeit his flap at ICT paved the way for the Logan legend.
ErinGoBraghHFC
16-04-2022, 08:34 PM
(1) Matt Macey
(2) Kevin Dabrowski
(3) Ofir Marciano
(4) Dillon Barnes
(5) Chris Maxwell
(6) Ross Laidlaw
(7) Adam Bogdan
(8) Mark Oxley
(9) Conrad Logan
(10) Otso Virtanen
1) nope
2) jury’s out
3) pass
4) honestly can’t remember him playing many games
5) pass
6) nope
7) pass
8) nope
9) other than the semi final, very average
10) see no. 4
16-04-2022, 08:36 PM
Gordon wouldn't have saved any if the tarts goals. In fact I would go as far as to say no keeper would have
They were good goals but to say no keeper would have saved these is mince. Also look at James Scott effort to block the second goal, get him to f*** out if our club and let’s no see there likes again. Pissed off with huddies hanging about our club like a bad smell.
LewysGot2
16-04-2022, 08:39 PM
Macey's distribution is not good but look at Allison Becker's poor distribution this afternoon and he's world class! Macey doesn't make too many mistakes but for me a keeper has to contribute throughout the season with some good saves which will result in points gained and I don't think we get that from him. Agree that we need a new keeper for next season.
Macey shouldn't be in the same breathe as Allison. It's not even a contest. Imagine Macey under pressure from the kind of forwards at the disposal of Man City or, indeed, Liverpool...
His distribution from feet is average and his distribution from hand is non-existent. Lost count of the times he has resisted a javelin pass or even a rolled out ball to feet.
In my lifetime we've had some top keepers - especially Goram and Leighton and not far behind them Rough. Then Marciano was solid and a good shot stopper. Andersson was good, Colgan reliable.
Then there's been others we'd all rather forget and everything in between.