View Full Version : What a support

16-04-2022, 12:59 PM
What a support we've got.

Absolutely nobody can accuse us of not backing out team, win lose or draw.

10/10

😀

LunasBoots
16-04-2022, 01:03 PM
Been fantastic, **** the hearts

16-04-2022, 01:27 PM
We were given plenty to get behind today.

16-04-2022, 01:27 PM
We were given plenty to get behind today.

:top marks:aok:

16-04-2022, 01:30 PM
Support was excellent, as said above there was a lot to get behind in the 2nd half, not our day Newall sending of was soft and Craig Gordon had a world class save. Roll on next season as this one's been pi5h

16-04-2022, 02:21 PM
What a support we've got.

Absolutely nobody can accuse us of not backing out team, win lose or draw.

10/10

😀

Aye but the bbc commentator was saying we all left at the whistle....they just love us really, them nice guys at the bbc who get a nice wee earner that we all pay towards.

CL0762
16-04-2022, 02:41 PM
Just wait until all the moaners come along and say that we’re all accepting mediocrity blah blah blah.

We were undone by 2 excellent goals and also our main midfielder unable to control his emotions.

The players gave the effort and commitment we’ve all been wanting but sometimes the ball just doesn’t break your way and that’s exactly what happened today.

nickwhibs
16-04-2022, 04:07 PM
Absolutely outstanding today. Loud for the full 90 minutes. Couldn’t hear the hearts fans until the last 2 mins.

16-04-2022, 04:13 PM
The support today was fantastic great backing for the team. Hibs support does get a lot of criticism some of it unfairly but the backing today was superb to be part of.

mcfly
16-04-2022, 04:13 PM
Just wait until all the moaners come along and say that we’re all accepting mediocrity blah blah blah.

We were undone by 2 excellent goals and also our main midfielder unable to control his emotions.

The players gave the effort and commitment we’ve all been wanting but sometimes the ball just doesn’t break your way and that’s exactly what happened today.

Maybe your right but how often is this going to be allowed to happen?

Yet another big game at hampden and they beat us.

has maloney improved thing? No
The empty seats in the stands at Easter road and hampden prove that.

He needs to build a team around cadden/Clarkes/melkerson.

The rest - happy if they leave

The Baldmans Comb
16-04-2022, 04:17 PM
Aye but the bbc commentator was saying we all left at the whistle....they just love us really, them nice guys at the bbc who get a nice wee earner that we all pay towards.

Instead of moaning, stop paying as there is nothing they can do about it.😉

A fine support today who did all they could but lack of quality in crucial positions and no strength in depth meant it always going to be an upwards struggle.

16-04-2022, 04:33 PM
Give me 15k supporters like that over 20k silent Tory cardigan wearers every day of the week.

Stuarty1875
16-04-2022, 04:36 PM
Proud of the fans today. Backed the team throughout.

16-04-2022, 04:44 PM
Great to be part of that support. Backed the team throughout and outsung the Hearts support from start to finish. GGTTH.

16-04-2022, 05:00 PM
Great support from the Hibs fans today. We went a bit quiet for five minutes after Newell got sent off, but we roared the team on after that.

Proud to be a Hibby.

16-04-2022, 05:17 PM
Great support today.

But the players played their part also. They gave us something to sing about.

16-04-2022, 05:22 PM

Liam McLeod ?
I turned commentary down after they got the second.

Not so much for the crowd noise from them,but his comments about Hibs and the support.
I kept volume down till the final whistle (that i did not hear !!)

16-04-2022, 05:47 PM
Great support.

Just be thankful we’re not one of them :lolyam:

https://www.facebook.com/100000348515449/posts/5194734510548115/?d=n

LewysGot2
16-04-2022, 07:16 PM
Just watched the game back. What a complete erse McLeod is. Talk about having a hackneyed, pre-written narrative. Boys a total walking stereotype. BBC Scotland and their penchant for Islanders and Highlanders who regurgitate the football establishment clubs script. If it's not the Ugly Sisters they fawn over it's their pals at Pittodrie or the Bungalow Bairns in their twirly scarves and v neck jumpers.

As for the fans at the game, most were good at backing the side. Some were the usual once a season day trippers but that clearly is always going to be the case. There was one absolute melt beside us today with two kids with him. What an absolute embarrassment. Calling every other player for them a nonce **** every second word. Screaming for players to break legs and then rounding on supporters around him for not being up to his expectations. Like that was ever going to work. Daftie and his green bucket hatted bile was a total ridder. Those bairns have no chance.

LewysGot2
16-04-2022, 07:27 PM
Other laugh of the day from the commentary is there is apparently an elegance about Simms? Is that in the same way their was a daintiness about Ikpeazu or genteelness about Ian Black?

16-04-2022, 08:55 PM
Take a bow. Magnificent.

LunasBoots
16-04-2022, 09:03 PM
Just watched the game back. What a complete erse McLeod is. Talk about having a hackneyed, pre-written narrative. Boys a total walking stereotype. BBC Scotland and their penchant for Islanders and Highlanders who regurgitate the football establishment clubs script. If it's not the Ugly Sisters they fawn over it's their pals at Pittodrie or the Bungalow Bairns in their twirly scarves and v neck jumpers.

As for the fans at the game, most were good at backing the side. Some were the usual once a season day trippers but that clearly is always going to be the case. There was one absolute melt beside us today with two kids with him. What an absolute embarrassment. Calling every other player for them a nonce **** every second word. Screaming for players to break legs and then rounding on supporters around him for not being up to his expectations. Like that was ever going to work. Daftie and his green bucket hatted bile was a total ridder. Those bairns have no chance.

Aye we had a green bucket hat wearer beside us, guy kept chanting about Mercer, Tumours and other not so nice stuff, him and his pals all on other stuff other than drink, nobody around them joined in with anything they sang and adults with kids just shook there heads that they had to put up with it, was actually late for the game by about 2 minutes and there was a few Hibs fans being huckled outside the ground and led away.

Vast majority of my experience was brilliant though with a fantastic backing from us fans.

16-04-2022, 09:17 PM
Different class today!! Absolutely phenomenal and outsang them throughout.

norhfc
16-04-2022, 10:16 PM
Proud of our support today, didn’t hear them till the end.

JamesHFC
16-04-2022, 10:20 PM
Proud of our support today, didn’t hear them till the end.

Do they have any songs for any of their players? I don’t think I’ve ever heard one. If a chant doesn’t involve us they don’t want to know.

mcohibs
16-04-2022, 10:22 PM
Well done to everyone who bothered to show up today. Proper supporters.

JamesHFC
16-04-2022, 10:26 PM
Well done to everyone who bothered to show up today. Proper supporters.

Agreed. Everyone got right behind the team. Majority of the people there today are those who stick with the club through the rough and smooth.

Potty78
16-04-2022, 10:46 PM
Was on a flight home from a holiday, left Italy 30 mins before kick off. Worst experience ever not knowing the score. Back into my local 10 mins before the hearts bus. Good banter but hiding my feelings 😥

17-04-2022, 04:32 AM
Do they have any songs for any of their players? I don’t think I’ve ever heard one. If a chant doesn’t involve us they don’t want to know.

It's actually weird. Win a cup semi and all sing about Hibs. Must be a big team thing.

17-04-2022, 05:40 AM

I remember hearing one a wee while back.........

’ Donald Ford Donald Ford give us a goal a goal’........Now Schaedler with the throw......O’ROURKE!!!

Turkish Green
17-04-2022, 05:44 AM
A reflection on how Hibs were playing in the 2nd half; the support stay until the very end hopeful of an equaliser.

PompeyHibs
17-04-2022, 06:38 AM
Greay support today
👏👏👏

Logie Green
17-04-2022, 07:08 AM
Good backing yesterday, though scoring so soon after their second goal definitely helped.

Sadly there’s still too many folk in our support who can’t/won’t behave in a civilised manner. Special mention to whoever it was near the back of Section I in the South Lower who thought it was a good idea to launch a cup of liquid towards the pitch after their first goal which showered dozens of Hibs fans with the contents. 👏👏👏

17-04-2022, 07:16 AM
Just under 16k was probably better than some expected. Backed the team which was helped by the teams fighting performance. Hearts fans were very quiet until the last few minutes of injury time.

17-04-2022, 07:29 AM
For all people moaned, myself included, about the lack of numbers, there is a lot to be said for a smaller, noisier support. It's less diluted and those who are there generally develop a bit of a siege mentality and get right behind the team.

Some of my best Hampden memories have come when we have had vast empty sections and some of the worst have come when we have had 20K+.

Of course there were a few erses around, I'd wager that would be the case if you took a random sample of 16K people in the general population. They shouldn't detract from a fantastic Hibs crowd yesterday that backed the team from start to finish.

17-04-2022, 07:32 AM
For all people moaned, myself included, about the lack of numbers, there is a lot to be said for a smaller, noisier support. It's less diluted and those who are there generally develop a bit of a siege mentality and get right behind the team.

Some of my best Hampden memories have come when we have had vast empty sections and some of the worst have come when we have had 20K+.

Of course there were a few erses around, I'd wager that would be the case if you took a random sample of 16K people in the general population. They shouldn't detract from a fantastic Hibs crowd yesterday that backed the team from start to finish.

Well said 👏

17-04-2022, 08:16 AM

I went for a wee walk round Queens Park before the match and, on my way back to the stadium, I encountered masses of their fans on the way to the game.

Dozens of them were waving Union Jacks and they were all singing about being 'up to our knees in Fenian blood'.

My wife's comment was quite telling... "I thought the Rangers game was tomorrow?"

17-04-2022, 08:52 AM
I went for a wee walk round Queens Park before the match and, on my way back to the stadium, I encountered masses of their fans on the way to the game.

Dozens of them were waving Union Jacks and they were all singing about being 'up to our knees in Fenian blood'.

My wife's comment was quite telling... "I thought the Rangers game was tomorrow?"

would you say there’s more “Billy/Gorgie Boy …Fenian Blood” stuff and union flags from them now than there used to be?

it certainly seems to me that it’s growing by the year. You used to hear the odd one. Now it’s fully incorporated into their song book.

17-04-2022, 08:54 AM

Walking back to the car just off Cathcart Road and there was a Jambo muttering something about “taigs” and whatnot. Tbf other Jambos around at the time were just laughing at him and told him to wind his neck in.

17-04-2022, 08:59 AM
Now it’s fully incorporated into their song book.
What song book ?

Thought there fans were pathetic yesterday. ‘Hearts Hearts & Hibs falling apart’ is their total songbook now.
No songs for their team or players.

On a positive note our fans to a man, woman & child we’re immense.Was Down the front of the east next to the flags section was bouncing all game. Well done to all.

17-04-2022, 10:31 AM
would you say there’s more “Billy/Gorgie Boy …Fenian Blood” stuff and union flags from them now than there used to be?

it certainly seems to me that it’s growing by the year. You used to hear the odd one. Now it’s fully incorporated into their song book.

Definitely more than in recent years but still far less than 40 odd years ago.

17-04-2022, 10:42 AM
Not sure we’d have this thread had we not pulled the goal back so quickly. A lot of fans headed for the exit as soon as their 2nd went in. If it had stayed that way til half time then I suspect things would’ve got a bit toxic.

But it didn’t & I thought the fans were great throughout the 2nd half in particular. Don’t think I heard the poppy thieves until their twirly nonsense around 88 minutes. They know they got out of jail yesterday.

17-04-2022, 10:49 AM
Not sure we’d have this thread had we not pulled the goal back so quickly. A lot of fans headed for the exit as soon as their 2nd went in. If it had stayed that way til half time then I suspect things would’ve got a bit toxic.

But it didn’t & I thought the fans were great throughout the 2nd half in particular. Don’t think I heard the poppy thieves until their twirly nonsense around 88 minutes. They know they got out of jail yesterday.

I went out for a fag, never saw anyone leaving? Yes, lots went up the aisles, probably for a piss

17-04-2022, 11:41 AM
Fantastic support from beginning to end and thanks to that support after the game the likes of me at least had something to chuck back at the gloating Jambos leaning out of car windows as they passed me. They might have won the game, but very definitely for all their numerical superiority they were a distant second best inside the stadium.

Unfortunately for all of that and a very gutsy performance by our team the bottom line is that once again we lost a huge game to Hearts and if this club doesn't put a stop to it we can look forward to being part of outnumbered supports for the foreseeable future. I will never give a pass to so called Hibs fans who fail to show for games like yesterday's, but the fact is that a huge reason for that is a club who for 50 years or more have bounced around from all too brief periods of being decent to long periods of mediocrity.

ErinGoBraghHFC
17-04-2022, 12:16 PM

No coincidence that this has paralleled with the increase of tricolours etc being flown in our support. We define them.

mcohibs
17-04-2022, 12:40 PM

Doesn't help when they wee vans selling merchandise outside the ground were selling tricolours at our end and union jacks at theirs. No doubt will be emptying the rest of their stock at today's bigotfest.

Money to be made in sectarianism it seems.

17-04-2022, 12:54 PM
Doesn't help when they wee vans selling merchandise outside the ground were selling tricolours at our end and union jacks at theirs. No doubt will be emptying the rest of their stock at today's bigotfest.

There was one particular tool down the front of the South strutting about with one on thinking he was some kind of musical conductor.

17-04-2022, 12:56 PM

Saw one of the young team behind the goal with a tricolour that had a picture of the Pope in the middle FFS. I was really hopeful that yesterday was an opportunity to show that, as a pair of clubs, we can rise above the nonsense of the ugly sisters that we often get tarred with. Now, I know it isn’t anything close to being a fraction of what will be going on today, but it was still rather visible at both ends yesterday.