View Full Version : Do players read hibs.net ?

Babyshamble
10-04-2022, 12:47 AM
Wondered how much an influence the posts on here might have an impact on things, on & off the pitch.

10-04-2022, 01:23 AM
Wondered how much an influence the posts on here might have an impact on things, on & off the pitch.

They'd have to be seriously hard of thinking to pay any attention to this place on a day that we lose a game.

JamesHFC
10-04-2022, 01:26 AM
I’m pretty sure they are advised not to.

The dalmeny
10-04-2022, 07:02 AM

Zero

loanheadhibby
10-04-2022, 07:09 AM
I’m hoping the charlatans have more to worry about than what we write on the net. That’s the least of their problems.

They should be thinking about how they let down 3500 fans yesterday getting rag dolled by their biggest rivals.

I’ve seen plenty better Hibs teams play against poor Hearts team and lose. One thing about our ugly neighbours against us is they fight for everything. No matter what the position they are in, they fight tooth and nail.

10-04-2022, 07:15 AM
I hope not. It would be like getting PDR’s done by an angry, drunk boss every week.

10-04-2022, 07:21 AM
I’m hoping the charlatans have more to worry about than what we write on the net. That’s the least of their problems.

They should be thinking about how they let down 3500 fans yesterday getting rag dolled by their biggest rivals.

I’ve seen plenty better Hibs teams play against poor Hearts team and lose. One thing about our ugly neighbours against us is they fight for everything. No matter what the position they are in, they fight tooth and nail.

the way Hibs started the game yesterday was everything I want from Hibs at Tynecastle. The way they finished it was absolutely unacceptable. They gave up.

10-04-2022, 07:21 AM

I would imagine so, but I'd also imagine that they do.

It would seem incredibly hard not to do so if in their position. I don't have a public facing role and I don't work for a company that has a "following" like a football club but my company interacts on social media and gets comments on their content which I typically read through to get an understanding of how things are perceived.

With regards to the impact it has, I imagine any criticism only makes things worse overall. Being told you're rubbish by an anonymous person online who couldn't lace your boots wouldn't make you play better, it'll just deepen any divide by the player/club/fans that exists.

The dalmeny
10-04-2022, 08:11 AM
I would imagine so, but I'd also imagine that they do.

It would seem incredibly hard not to do so if in their position. I don't have a public facing role and I don't work for a company that has a "following" like a football club but my company interacts on social media and gets comments on their content which I typically read through to get an understanding of how things are perceived.

With regards to the impact it has, I imagine any criticism only makes things worse overall. Being told you're rubbish by an anonymous person online who couldn't lace your boots wouldn't make you play better, it'll just deepen any divide by the player/club/fans that exists.

The players are given guidance the dos and don't of social media.

The point you've alluded to is the initial hook. Once you read something there's a temptation to read more and respond. Let's be honest some footballers aren't very bright either.

I suspect very few folk on .net have played above tier 5 and even less coached/managed. Their involvement with the club is also based on emotion not employment so that throws sense out the window.

Like you my employer has social media, I don't follow any of it as most of the posters are rockets, it's a recipie for disaster

Rondon
10-04-2022, 08:13 AM

Hopefully none based on most of what’s said on here

Renfrew_Hibby
10-04-2022, 08:17 AM
Let's hope not.
There can't be a lot of under 30s in general read hibs.net anyway not really their kinda thing is it?

ShetlandHibby
10-04-2022, 08:18 AM
I wouldn’t be surprised if some of them can’t read!

10-04-2022, 08:21 AM
I think some players will. People are naturally curious and will want to see what people are saying about them (be it here or other social media platforms).

10-04-2022, 08:31 AM
Sensible advice, based on some of the nonsense posted on here.

10-04-2022, 08:56 AM
I wouldn’t be surprised if some of them can’t read!

this is poor shetland

WestStandWillie
10-04-2022, 10:04 AM
They’ll be sneaking a peak at some threads. That’s a gimme

10-04-2022, 04:01 PM
They certainly used to - and indeed I recall about 18/19 years ago a certain Canadian defender posting as “themountie” and giving as good as he got with some of his critics!

10-04-2022, 07:36 PM
The players are given guidance the dos and don't of social media.

The point you've alluded to is the initial hook. Once you read something there's a temptation to read more and respond. Let's be honest some footballers aren't very bright either.

I suspect very few folk on .net have played above tier 5 and even less coached/managed. Their involvement with the club is also based on emotion not employment so that throws sense out the window.

Like you my employer has social media, I don't follow any of it as most of the posters are rockets, it's a recipie for disaster

See this a lot when fans reactions to the performance of the manager, team, or individual players is being criticised, well here's the thing:

I wouldn't know one end of an internal combustion engine from the other, but I've owned cars for years and I sure as hell know when there's something wrong with it.

I can't cook worth ****, but I can tell a good meal from a bad one.

I know that Nicolas Cage has made some entertaining films I've quite enjoyed, but it didn't take me more than 15 minutes to figure out his remake of the Wicker Man was going to be an utter abomination and I wasn't wrong.

I've been watching professional football since I was a bairn and have seen some of the best teams and best players in history in the flesh ... The best I managed was the pub league, but I sure as hell know when a player isn't good enough and when a team isn't up to scratch, I don't have to have played professional football to have an informed opinion.

10-04-2022, 07:46 PM
I'm sure they get enough abuse on Twitter to look on here but in all seriousness wouldn't be surprised if some player did have a look at fans forum.

loanheadhibby
10-04-2022, 07:54 PM
I'm sure they get enough abuse on Twitter to look on here but in all seriousness wouldn't be surprised if some player did have a look at fans forum.

I seriously hope some of them do and they use it for fuel to ram it down our throats next Saturday night.

I’ll be delighted to be eating humble pie.

10-04-2022, 08:04 PM
Twitter is where they get the most abuse as it's not policed on there like on here.

mokie
10-04-2022, 08:07 PM
They certainly used to - and indeed I recall about 18/19 years ago a certain Canadian defender posting as “themountie” and giving as good as he got with some of his critics!

Paul fenwick by any chance ?..

mokie
10-04-2022, 08:10 PM
The players might not but where’s all the media team that were never off here earlier on in the season ??

11-04-2022, 06:32 AM
Maybe the players are starting the negative threads :greengrin

11-04-2022, 07:08 AM
Dean shiels definitely did.

LiamQ
11-04-2022, 08:05 AM
See this a lot when fans reactions to the performance of the manager, team, or individual players is being criticised, well here's the thing:

A person doesn’t have to know a thing about football to tell that the club that always win are better than the ones that always lose.

And neither does a person have to know much about acting to detect a poor film, nor do you need culinary training to know that a meal tastes bad.

All of that is true.

What you’re not grasping, however, is that knowing that something isn’t working properly is not the same things as knowing precisely what is wrong and how it can be fixed.

And too often, football fans are some of the most classic cases of the Dunning-Kruger effect.

11-04-2022, 08:14 AM
I'm sure Stevenson gave an interview a while back saying some players do.

Morais also had his typing celebration when he scored after being slated on here

11-04-2022, 10:23 AM
A person doesn’t have to know a thing about football to tell that the club that always win are better than the ones that always lose.

And neither does a person have to know much about acting to detect a poor film, nor do you need culinary training to know that a meal tastes bad.

All of that is true.

What you’re not grasping, however, is that knowing that something isn’t working properly is not the same things as knowing precisely what is wrong and how it can be fixed.

And too often, football fans are some of the most classic cases of the Dunning-Kruger effect.

Never heard of the 'Dunning-Kruger effect' so I had to look it up.

I'm not entirely convinced it's appropriate here, I know that Hibs current problem can be fixed by not asking the players we currently have at our disposal to play a style of football they are not equipped to play. I know that this style requires players who can take the ball at the back and quickly work it into the midfield, I know that the midfield players need an ability to control the ball in tight areas and very quickly either move forward with the ball or find a team mate further up the park or out wide. I know that in order to turn that style of play into goal scoring opportunities you need midfield players in forward areas supporting your front player / players and not just have one guy in the box hoping the ball falls to him when played in from out wide.

This is a style of football played to devastating effect by Man City, Chelsea, Barcelona back in the day and a few other clubs in Europe. It's a style that many clubs with far more resources and far better players than Hibs still wont adopt because they know it isn't suited to the players the have, or can afford to have.

We currently have a manager trying to instill a football philosophy into a bunch of players who simply don't have the ability to make it work, a manager who is influenced by 3 years working with some of the best footballers the planet has to offer and thinks that has given him the knowledge and ability to turn a sow's ear into a silk purse.

The fact is that when played by Hibs this 'style' of football results in the ball transitioning from back to front at a snails pace allowing our opponents to organise at the back in numbers, because when Man city or Belgium get it into midfield the first guy to get it is thinking of a forward pass and invariably finds one, when it's Hibs 60% of the time the next pass is back the way to one of the back players, with the opposition defenders looking for a book to read or smoking a fag to pass the time waiting for the ball to arrive up their end.
Not to mention that at least twice we have lost goals through giving the ball away at the back as our limited players attempted to play out. The fact is that playing this style has resulted in a league record of played 15, won 3, drawn 6, lost 6 with a miserly return of 15 points from a possible 45.

We have scored 11 goals one of which was an own goal .... the only positive in the whole thing is that we have only conceded 16 goals in those 15 games.

I presume you wont have to resort to Google like I did with 'Dunning-Kruger' to know who the quote 'the definition of insanity is trying the same thing again and again and expecting different results' was attributed to.

So yes you are right in one way, I'm not pretending I know what way Maloney should play in order to get this team winning games, but I certainly know enough through the evidence of my own eyes and with the stats to back it up that he isn't going to do it by doggedly sticking to a style that simply isn't working.

11-04-2022, 10:32 AM
I doubt most of the players know what a forum is tbh. It's a dying breed.

11-04-2022, 10:33 AM
Hopefully none based on most of what’s said on here

In the words of the great Eddie Turnbull when asked about unrest among supporters after a game-" they used to boo me when I played. they knew ****** all then and they know ****** all now".

11-04-2022, 10:59 AM

Twitter and Facebook are much worse than Hibs.net!

11-04-2022, 11:09 AM
In the words of the great Eddie Turnbull when asked about unrest among supporters after a game-" they used to boo me when I played. they knew ****** all then and they know ****** all now".

Aye, well I remember the late great Lawrie Reilly about 10 years or so before he died having a real go at Hibs for being unable to build a team able to challenge for the league. That was easy for him to say coming from an era where it was possible for a Scottish club to assemble a team and keep it together for half a decade, which is what near enough happened with the team he was part of that won the league.

Can you imagine how long Hibs would be able to hold on to a team of players containing the talent that one did at any point in the last 30 years, never mind now. He was comparing apples with oranges and he was one of the greatest players of his generation.

Basically even folk steeped in the game can talk bollox about it, so lets not just presume a player or ex player, no matter how good they were, can't be questioned when they trot out the mantra that fans know nothing, in my opinion it's usually on the back of a petted lip after those self same fans have rightly had a go at them. I remember in Shoot magazine one of these likes and dislikes articles with Ally McLeod who played for Hibs from the mid 70s to the early 80s ... his main dislike was "amateur critics" ... almost certainly on the back of the widely held opinion that though he was very talented, which he was, he could also be a lazy *******, which he certainly was, no tracking back for Ally.

I've lost count of the number of times I've watched so called experts like Alan Shearer or Ian Wright on MOTD say ... aye well the ball should have been in the net there' ... when talking about a so called 'chance' where the keeper was a foot away from the ball by the time the striker had a chance to kick it, with absolutely no chance of getting it past him.

In the end the only difference between pros, ex pros, and fans is that they can talk utter pish from experience and we can talk it from simple enthusiasm for the game :greengrin

11-04-2022, 11:17 AM

All of that is true.

Which player are you?

Only joking :greengrin

Your Dunning-Kruger reference will go over the heads of 90% of this place but nice post.

11-04-2022, 11:18 AM
Some of their parents do😀

11-04-2022, 11:24 AM
Which player are you?

Only joking :greengrin

Your Dunning-Kruger reference will go over the heads of 90% of this place but nice post.

Certainly went over mine, but then that's why the good Lord gave us Google.

The bottom line is when folk post stuff that appears deliberately high brow don't look on it as them being a smart arse, look on it as an opportunity to learn something :greengrin

11-04-2022, 11:30 AM
Certainly went over mine, but then that's why the good Lord gave us Google.

The bottom line is when folk post stuff that appears deliberately high brow don't look on it as them being a smart arse, look on it as an opportunity to learn something :greengrin

Now we just need to work out who is smart enough in the squad to know that and we've got who he is. New poster on a thread about the players :wink:

Might be Maloney?

The dalmeny
11-04-2022, 11:34 AM

All of that is true.

you understood the assignment 👏

11-04-2022, 11:46 AM
Now we just need to work out who is smart enough in the squad to know that and we've got who he is. New poster on a thread about the players :wink:

Might be Maloney?

My guess is James Scott .... there must be something he's good at :greengrin

11-04-2022, 11:50 AM
One of the easiest things in the world is to criticise, being able to do something about it, now that is a different thing altogether, then the boys are sorted out from the men.

loanheadhibby
11-04-2022, 11:54 AM
I think reading the net is the least of the players concerns (where it is reasonably civil).

They are getting slaughtered in Evening News/Twitter/Facebook etc where the admins seems a bit more relaxed.

11-04-2022, 11:55 AM
There is def one poster who I reckon is Paul Hanlon’s Dad

11-04-2022, 11:59 AM
I think it was Kevin Kyle that told the story about Kevin Phillips helping out a young striker who was going through a rough patch.

Phillips told the young striker to meet him at the park in the afternoon.

When he got there he made him watch the Sunday football game and how poor the standard of player was. Telling the player looks how much better at football you are than these players yet they’re the ones abusing you.

I think our players need to keep that in mind.

Not suggesting every fan is in the wrong and not entitled to their opinion, but there can at times be reasons players are doing something and the game isn’t always as simple as fans make out, also a large amount of the abuse they get will be purely emotive.

11-04-2022, 12:30 PM
Aye, well I remember the late great Lawrie Reilly about 10 years or so before he died having a real go at Hibs for being unable to build a team able to challenge for the league. That was easy for him to say coming from an era where it was possible for a Scottish club to assemble a team and keep it together for half a decade, which is what near enough happened with the team he was part of that won the league.

Can you imagine how long Hibs would be able to hold on to a team of players containing the talent that one did at any point in the last 30 years, never mind now. He was comparing apples with oranges and he was one of the greatest players of his generation.

Basically even folk steeped in the game can talk bollox about it, so lets not just presume a player or ex player, no matter how good they were, can't be questioned when they trot out the mantra that fans know nothing, in my opinion it's usually on the back of a petted lip after those self same fans have rightly had a go at them. I remember in Shoot magazine one of these likes and dislikes articles with Ally McLeod who played for Hibs from the mid 70s to the early 80s ... his main dislike was "amateur critics" ... almost certainly on the back of the widely held opinion that though he was very talented, which he was, he could also be a lazy *******, which he certainly was, no tracking back for Ally.

I've lost count of the number of times I've watched so called experts like Alan Shearer or Ian Wright on MOTD say ... aye well the ball should have been in the net there' ... when talking about a so called 'chance' where the keeper was a foot away from the ball by the time the striker had a chance to kick it, with absolutely no chance of getting it past him.

In the end the only difference between pros, ex pros, and fans is that they can talk utter pish from experience and we can talk it from simple enthusiasm for the game :greengrin

Can you even begin to imagine how much .net abuse Ally McLeod would get from our resident .net experts and assorted half-a-heids if he was playing for us now?

leith lynx
11-04-2022, 12:39 PM
Good old Ned!

11-04-2022, 01:19 PM
Can you even begin to imagine how much .net abuse Ally McLeod would get from our resident .net experts and assorted half-a-heids if he was playing for us now?

Yes. But to be fair if it was on the subject of his inability to get up and down the pitch they wouldn't be wrong :greengrin

11-04-2022, 01:44 PM
Yes. But to be fair if it was on the subject of his inability to get up and down the pitch they wouldn't be wrong :greengrin
Frankly they would be wrong. What’s more they would be half wits. Ally had pace and stamina where it counts most. Between his ears.

11-04-2022, 02:16 PM
If they do then here's a message. Get your ****ing finger out. All of you.

11-04-2022, 07:38 PM
There is def one poster who I reckon is Paul Hanlon’s Dad

I'm Paul Hanlon.

hhibs
11-04-2022, 07:58 PM
I'm Paul Hanlon.

I am Paul Hanlon !

Daily Hibs
11-04-2022, 08:12 PM
Hope they do. Especially Hanlon and Maloney. Could not believe Maloney came over to the fans gesturing a tame apology. Was rightly told to GTF.

When Berra was no longer up to scratch across the city what did they do? Why aren't we ruthless like that? It's business.

Rondon
11-04-2022, 08:34 PM
Hope they do. Especially Hanlon and Maloney. Could not believe Maloney came over to the fans gesturing a tame apology. Was rightly told to GTF.

When Berra was no longer up to scratch across the city what did they do? Why aren't we ruthless like that? It's business.

Who cares what they do?

Daily Hibs
11-04-2022, 08:55 PM
Who cares what they do?
They keep beating us?

11-04-2022, 09:01 PM
Paul fenwick by any chance ?..

Spot on!

11-04-2022, 09:19 PM

They got relegated.

11-04-2022, 09:23 PM
Frankly they would be wrong. What’s more they would be half wits. Ally had pace and stamina where it counts most. Between his ears.

Which I think I acknowledged in my original post did I not? Football is different now mate, teams cant afford to have luxury players just wandering about the pitch any more because the luxury players in the other teams are also expected to track back and play their part defensively, something the sorely missed Martin Boyle was good at, even though he was our main attacking weapon.

The question I answered was about how Ally McLeod would be treated by Hibs.Net today, not in the era when he played ... even then he was castigated by fans for a failure to cover back, imagine how that would be now in an era where lack of effort is not appreciated by managers or supporters because even the best players in any team are also expected to be athletic and fit enough to get up and down the park.

11-04-2022, 09:50 PM
They keep beating us?

Do they? One win out of 3 this season. Pretty even the last ten years they had a much better record during their financial doping years though.

1875Sean
11-04-2022, 09:51 PM
I'm sure Stevenson gave an interview a while back saying some players do.

Morais also had his typing celebration when he scored after being slated on here

Ronaldo seen a boy on Hibs.net at the weekend and hit his phone in disgust

11-04-2022, 09:54 PM

And he was absolutely spot on. Cracking quote from the great man.

the_ginger_hibee
11-04-2022, 10:03 PM
They got relegated.

Team gets relegated and releases players not good enough - regardless of past achievements & being one of their own. What a radical idea.

Doesn't appear like Hearts have missed Berra either, we've scored 2 goals against Hearts in the last 4 games.

Daily Hibs
12-04-2022, 02:29 AM
Team gets relegated and releases players not good enough - regardless of past achievements & being one of their own. What a radical idea.

Doesn't appear like Hearts have missed Berra either, we've scored 2 goals against Hearts in the last 4 games.

And we have Hanlon who has been at fault for 3 goals in the last two games which were crucial in defining our season. Simply not good enough, what's the odds we'll probably give him a new contract when he should really be playing for Raith Rovers.

12-04-2022, 06:37 AM
And we have Hanlon who has been at fault for 3 goals in the last two games which were crucial in defining our season. Simply not good enough, what's the odds we'll probably give him a new contract when he should really be playing for Raith Rovers.

Crock after crock

12-04-2022, 06:41 AM
Crock after crock

Not sure anyone can disagree that Hanlon has played a massive part in the goals we’ve conceded in the last two games. What I do disagree with is the absolute chasing he’s had from a couple of posters over the past week or two.

It’s quite clear we shouldn’t still be relying on him/Stevenson and even McGregor as much as we have this season. A massive failure on the part of our recruitment team and managers since Lennon was in charge.

12-04-2022, 06:46 AM
Player makes mistakes after months out...what a surprise.

He will be playing on Saturday so get behind him.

12-04-2022, 06:49 AM
Not sure anyone can disagree that Hanlon has played a massive part in the goals we’ve conceded in the last two games. What I do disagree with is the absolute chasing he’s had from a couple of posters over the past week or two.

It’s quite clear we shouldn’t still be relying on him/Stevenson and even McGregor as much as we have this season. A massive failure on the part of our recruitment team and managers since Lennon was in charge.

Yep it's ridiculous. Still one of our best defenders.

12-04-2022, 07:07 AM

You seem to have a real dislike for Hanlon. He's not exactly Virgil Van Dijk (or even a Porteous IMO) but he's generally a decent player for us.

Our issues are midfield to front, we have no attacking threat at all the majority of time.

And before you say it yes I know he was at fault on Saturday. Doesn't change the fact that's over the years he's been pretty decent for us.

Ardenttwo
12-04-2022, 07:29 AM
I am Paul Hanlon !

No you are not I am Paul Hanlon

12-04-2022, 07:58 AM
I hope not. It would be like getting PDR’s done by an angry, drunk boss every week.

Brilliant analogy! Spot on.

12-04-2022, 07:59 AM
No you are not I am Paul Hanlon

I'm Paul Hanlon and so is my wife.

12-04-2022, 10:29 AM
Do they? One win out of 3 this season. Pretty even the last ten years they had a much better record during their financial doping years though.

It's five games without a win now. We haven't beaten them this decade.

12-04-2022, 11:41 AM

That’s how I think most players see it like that.

loanheadhibby
12-04-2022, 11:48 AM
That’s how I think most players see it like that.

That would be a worrying interpretation. It almost suggests that the player don't care.

I agree booing during a game does no one any favours but I think the players would do well to pay attention to how the fans feel as these same players will lap up the adulation when we rinse the ****bos on Saturday.

12-04-2022, 01:13 PM
That would be a worrying interpretation. It almost suggests that the player don't care.

I agree booing during a game does no one any favours but I think the players would do well to pay attention to how the fans feel as these same players will lap up the adulation when we rinse the ****bos on Saturday.
Seriously ?
The players should take a grown man booing seriously ?😂

mokie
13-04-2022, 11:35 AM
Player makes mistakes after months out...what a surprise.

He will be playing on Saturday so get behind him.

He's been making the same mistakes for years Third goal on Saturday was a carbon copy of Halliday's goal in the cup final of 2016....

mokie
13-04-2022, 11:47 AM

Why shouldn't he get a hard time for the past week ?? The goals he played his part in us losing were utterly horrendous. The type of goal we've been seeing for years infact.......

13-04-2022, 11:51 AM

Nothing to suggest that players dont care Turnbull was correct we know ****** all even now we know ****** all, keeps us happy. As for any of them giving one, for the rubbish on here, come on.